burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipses50th logo50th logo50th logo50th logopro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary profilenavigation primary profilenavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Product Safety Recall

Due to safety concerns about the snaps on the Infant Capilene® Midweight Set, we are implementing a recall of units purchased between August 1, 2021, and January 12, 2023. For more information, including how to identify this product, how to return it and how to get a full refund, please click the link below.

Learn More

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Free Shipping on Orders Over $99

Orders are shipped within 1-2 business days and arrive within 3-10 business days. Need it sooner? Concerned about the environmental impact? Flexible shipping options are available.

More Details

Back to Product

R1® Daily Beanie Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 29 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia R1® Daily Beanie

4.7/5
True To Size
March 21, 2023

Light and Stretchy

This hat is great and I love the super comfy fabric on all types of products. I typically use this hat for high-output winter pursuits such as running and uphill skiing. I run super hot and sweaty, and rarely need anything more than a ball cap and an R1 with a hood, until about 10 degrees or below. In comes the R1 daily beanie. It stretches to fit ... Read Moremy big head, covers my ears, and absorbs some sweat, yet it's still light enough so that I don't continue to over heat.

February 15, 2023

nice looking

the inside is fleece and the outside is not, it is kind of, well, like a smooth fabric, very nice. It will look nice wearing my navy hiking pants and top, fits good.

February 15, 2023

Super Warm, fits snug!

Super warm for a beanie that thin! I pair it up with my micro puff hoody and then im ready to face cold, 20 degree days! :D

February 13, 2023

Keeps my ears warm!

This is the first "beanie" style hat that covers my ears and stays in place. I bought them on a whim and then turned around and bought another one because I like them so much.

January 23, 2023

Excellent product

Super quick drying, Fit is great fit me. I purchased a second, because I was so impressed with the performance. I would highly recommend

October 28, 2022

Just what I needed

Just what I needed when heading out to walk the dogs!

October 19, 2022

Looks Fantastic

Love this beenie, I feel like it looks absolutely fantastic on me. The only thing I don't like, is that it seems to slide up just a bit when I am wearing it; as a result, I end up adjusting it often.

October 5, 2022

Almost perfect

Soft, warm, lightweight material, but the size was a bit snug and short for my liking. I felt it squished my ears. I found last year's model at a local store and snagged it. The cut is about an inch taller and slightly bigger circumference. For reference, I think my head size is pretty average, and I have a buzz cut.

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2022

Hi Penny! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. That said, it doesn't look like we've made any changes to the beanie from last season. However, we'll share this feedback with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 28, 2022

Perfect beanie!

I am so glad I ordered the R1 beanie! It fits perfectly and covers all of my ears. Its replacing my 20+ year old Patagonia beanie. I will use it for riding my bike, hiking, fishing, working and everyday use. Im a long time Patagonia customer for a reason- its an excellent product and it lasts for years! Well done, thank you!!

September 24, 2022

A bit small

I purchased this hat last year (2021) I came back this year (2022) in hopes of finding a large. I live in R1 in the late Fall and Winter and would love to have it on my head. The beanie is just a bit too small. That said, Patagonia beanies are the only item in the product line that doesn't fit me perfectly - never have!

July 23, 2022

Best Fitting Beanie

I have tried many beanies from many brands and at many price points. They are usually just too small, or they fit my head but they don't totally cover my ears, are too hot when active, or they are super high priced. I finally found the perfect beanie. It fits perfect, it covers my ears, it doesn't have a giant logo, it was in-stock, and i... Read Moret's a really good price. It is also my favorite color. As I once heard someone say: I will take any color, as long as it's black.

July 1, 2022

Great beanie

I have two of these beanies. Light weight, warm, and good looking. Great for the bald head on cold days. I would say I have an average head size. I keep one in my work jacket and one in the van. Easy to store in your jacket pocket.

June 18, 2022

Nice beanie, but they put the close pin through the material

It is a nice fitting beanie. One of the only beanies that fits my big head and covers my ears. Nice inside material. My only complaint and reason for return was the close pin (or whatever the proper word is for the pin) that holds the tags on goes right through the material. I'm not sure what the thinking was on doing this, but it's reall... Read Morey aggravating. If the pin through the material doesn't bother you, totally get this hat. I had purchased it in black. It's a nice color, with a small Patagonia label. It also has long tags inside the beanie with materials, etc on them. I like it doesn't have a gigantic logo.

Response from Patagonia
June 21, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Noah. It sounds like there was something on the beanie that was uncomfortable for you. We're sorry this happened, but very glad you were able to return it. Please let us know if we can be of any further help!

April 29, 2022

Essential

Being a skin head, I am quite attentive about what goes on my head. This beanie nailed it! Its comfortable for all day wear, snug without acting like a vice over glasses or headphones, and fits well under a helmet. Looks sharp. Essential piece of kit.

April 29, 2022

Warm and low profile

Absolutely Awesomeness for the head!

March 13, 2022

Lightweight warmth

I have a pile of Patagonia's R1 beanies purchased over the last couple decades. They're such useful hats - just what's needed for cool weather or under a hoody when's truly cold - that I'm wearing them constantly from September to May. This R1 Daily Beanie continues the tradition. A warm and quick-drying light fabric, a sim... Read Moreple shape, fits my head well. In fact this new R1 is a bit deeper cut than earlier versions, which covers my earlobes nicely. Feels soft, which becomes important when you wear a hat for hours and hours, especially under a helmet. I do miss the flat seams of earlier versions. Not sure why the change away from that; perhaps this fabric doesn't hold them well enough? And I wonder if this fabric might prove to be too warm for spring/autumn exploits. I need more testing. But overall I like the hat, and I think I will be wearing it a lot.

March 1, 2022

Just warm enough

I keep this in my car and wear it for hiking, out and about when a baseball hat won't do and working around while not skiing.

January 27, 2022

Nice fit, wrong color?

I bought this to match a jacket I have from Patagonia and though the colors were stated to be the same, they couldnt be any different.

January 10, 2022

comfy and versatile!

I have a larger head (23.5") and was looking for a beanie with some stretch and breathability that covers my ears and works for athletic activities. While this beanie does have more stretch than it looks like it does, unfortunately it rides up just a little bit on me. I think I'd need just a slightly larger size and it would be perfect. S... Read Moreince it didn't work for me, I was able to gift it to my more-average-head-sized boyfriend, and it's his new favorite beanie. He loves how it's low profile and warm but not too warm- he wears it pretty much everywhere!

December 15, 2021

Wonderful

Very comfortable for all day wear, great for running in ~30 degrees. Well made ad probably the best one I ever had

December 6, 2021

great for cool

Great for cool days or under another hat

November 28, 2021

Very comfortable for cool weather runs

This has become my new favorite beanie for cool weather running. I don't feel like I overheat with it and it keeps my head warm even when sweaty.

November 18, 2021

Great hat

A lightweight, comfortable, warm hat that covers my ears. Just what I was looking for.

November 16, 2021

Don't buy this beanie unless ...

... you love hats that are warm, fit great, are super comfortable and soft, look great, provide versatile use across a broad range of activities and temperature, are easy to care for, don't cost a lot, wad up to the size of an apple for EDC, dry quickly, fit under a helmet and are just plain awesome. I'm suddenly a huge fan of the entire ... Read MoreR1 Daily line and you will be too once you dive in!

November 11, 2021

Just a Little Bit too Small

Just a little bit too small. I wish that it were about 1 in longer, and about 1/4 in wider. I can pull it over my ears, but the fabric is stretchy, and when I move my head it doesn't stay over my ears. (My head is very average-sized.) The fabric is great, and it would be my favorite, everyday hat if it were a tiny bit longer and wider.

November 4, 2021

Just what I was looking for

I wanted a beanie that would keep my ears warm and not overheat or get itchy. This did the job. It fits well under a hood in the rain and will keep you warm down to about 32 degrees inactive. As the temperature drops you might need a warmer hat, but everyone is different.

November 3, 2021

Super Cozy and great style.

Excellent, stylish, warm, and just "patagonia" perfect.

October 21, 2021

Great product

I typically wear the merino wool liner beanie for most of the year and I purchased the R-1 beanie for colder conditions. The fit between these two products is very similar. I wear a 7-1/8 fitted hat, and this beanie fits me great and is very warm.

October 15, 2021

Another R1 WINNER!

This is my go to beanie, Ive got a larger head and this beanie fits just great. It keeps me comfortable on cool morning hikes. I think it looks great!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches