Back to Product

Better Sweater™ Gloves

Write Your Review

4.26 /5

Filter Reviews

All 34 Reviews

Clear All

Better Sweater™ Gloves

4.26
True To Size
February 5, 2020

Great gloves overall

These are great gloves overall! I use them for dog walks and when needed while commuting for work. I wish the button and loop design was a magnet or snap button for better experience when not using mitten though! Fit is great for me but may be small for others!

January 6, 2020

Great convertable mittens!

Love the warmth of these and ease of putting them on and off. I have larger knuckles so they were a little snug at the beginning but have loosened in a week or so of wear. Would recommend!

January 3, 2020

Wonderful

The gloves are perfect for biking, when your hands are too hot you just take the cover off.

January 3, 2020

They look & feel great.

They look & feel great.

January 2, 2020

I want to love these but........

These gloves are fine if you wear them on a relatively warm day. Lots of air passes thru the material that covers your finger tips. This is not the same material as the Better Sweater - it is lighter. That being said, I'd take a Better Sweater in this material and color. I"ve been wearing these gloves on walks with the dog on days ranging... Read More 25-35 degrees. Once you are generating body heat, the gloves are fine. They are pretty mittens. I would have sent them back if they came with the rest of my order but the cost to ship them back is not worth sending by themselves. They glove length is quite short so if you have long hands, the elastic wrist band will most likely lie right at the end of your palm.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2020

Hi Kris, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the gloves. The Better Sweater Gloves aren't the warmest that we offer so you may want to opt for something warmer like the [Nano Puff Mitts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/nano-puff-mitts/22425.html?dwvar_22425_color=COB&cgid=womens-hats-accessories-gloves-mittens#start=1). We don't want you to hold onto the gloves if they're not meeting your needs so we've reached out to you directly with some return assistance!

December 31, 2019

Lightweight mittens

I wanted to love these mittens. I was hoping the accessibility of fingers would be helpful but they were just too thin to be practical for me. I need them for long walks with my kids and a general everyday mitten. The wind whipped right through them so I had to return. I got a size large as my hands measured 7.5” (top end of medium). They fit wel... Read Morel. Glad I read the reviews that they run a bit small.

December 29, 2019

Great fit and comfort

I bought the largest size (I am female with pretty average size hands) and the gloves fit perfect. They are very comfortable and easy to wear. They are great for being able to use my hands/fingers when I need to and still be warm (ish). When the temps are colder, they won’t be the warmest gloves I own but they are vest useful. I love them!

December 25, 2019

To small

I bought the large for my father as a birthday gift. He is 5'9" and his hands are average size. I exchanged them for an extra large and the gloves are still too small.

Response from Patagonia
January 15, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Bryce! We're sorry to hear these gloves were too small for your father. If you'd like to return them, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). I would recommend checking out our [Wind Shield Gloves](https://www.patagonia.com/product/wind-shield-running-gloves/33336.html?dwvar_33336_color=BLK&cgid=mens-hats-accessories-gloves-mittens#tile-9=&start=1&sz=24) as an alternative. This simple, low profile style does not lack on warmth, and customers found them to generally run a little bit big.

December 21, 2019

Warm but

They’re good gloves but the design of them is the reason they get 4 stars and not 5

December 20, 2019

Snug Fit and Warm for Cold Weather

These gloves fit great and they keep my hands warm.

December 13, 2019

Mittens

Love the color, the style, the fit. Thank you.

December 7, 2019

gloves

fit nicely and are warm,

December 4, 2019

Comfy fabric, uncomfortable structure

I thought that these gloves would make a practical stocking stuffer for my daughters, but they made the ends of the fingers too restricting. Rather than fitting comfortably on your hands, the finger sections were sewn so that they fit very tightly. There's no ignoring it, or getting used to the tight fit. I have slender fingers, so it's c... Read Morelear that the design is flawed. I am returning them.

December 1, 2019

Better Sweater Gloves

I need winter mittens that can expose the fingers for taking pictures and these glove are perfect. They are a heavy weight and work well in the cold. The website is not clear that these gloved are unisex. The sizing guide indicates both men's and women's hand sizes, but they do not apply to the gloves. My women's had size is 7 and th... Read Moree medium fit well, however my husband's size 8.5 hand needed an XL size. Also, the fingers are quite snug, though I think that this due to the thickness of the knit, and I expect that will relax a little with use.

November 29, 2019

Functional gloves

Love these gloves because you can wear them with or without the mitten cover

November 28, 2019

Design Flaws

Was stoked to see these as the only convertible gloves I could find out there were poor quality. Initially, size was off. I thought I would need a small-ish medium and ended up with a large -- the medium was way too small. The bigger issue is the retainer for the mitten flap -- it doesn't work! The button (or loop, however you want to look at... Read More it) isn't positioned to the point that it stays secured back. I feel like no one at Patagonia actually tried wearing these before putting them up for sale. A snap button here, though it wouldn't look as good, would work much, much better. On the plus side, they're that lovely better sweater fleece we all know and love. I wore these out for a walk in very windy 40 degree weather and was plenty warm. Overall pretty good gloves, but not well thought out.

November 27, 2019

Great Gloves, Thumbs are Trapped!

I love my new Better Sweater fingerless mittens however, there isn’t a slit in the thumb to open for thumb access. This detail would be helpful for using door knobs, opening dog waste bags, using devices, etc. The gloves are warm and look great so I’m not returning, but four stars due to the missing thumb design detail. (May try to add it myself bu... Read Moret they’re still too new at this point for alterations.) As far as fit - I went by the glove size chart on the product page and that worked well to find my fit.

November 25, 2019

warm, convenient to be able

warm, convenient to be able to remove tips and use your fingers!

November 24, 2019

Great gloves for dog walking

Love these gloves. Keeps my hands and fingers warm and allows to me give my dog treats and grab poo bags without taking my gloves off.

November 23, 2019

Great fit, solid product, keeps

Great fit, solid product, keeps my fingies warm :) It's nice they connect together so they don't get lost in transit. They're a little hard to get off but other than that I've been loving them

November 23, 2019

Patagonia ROCKS

These gloves are the bomb! Warm, cozy, and functional! I bought them for work but use them all the time. One of my favorite Patagonia purchases! I highly recommend! Thank you Patagonia for supporting our planet and offering great products! Keep up the great work! You ROCK!

November 21, 2019

Ran very small, and it

Ran very small, and it feels as if the glove is cutting off the circulation to my fingers. 2 days in of using them and there’s a hole by the fingers as the stitching came undone.

Response from Patagonia
December 10, 2019

We are sorry to hear that these are running too tight on you and that you are experiencing some issues with the stitching. We'd recommend that you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) those back to us so we can get you either a refund or exchange for a larger size. Thanks for the feedback!

November 19, 2019

Almost Perfect

First, sizing. I tried to follow the adult glove sizing guide and this is what I got: circumference 8.5". Based on this, I could have ordered size M but have had problems with gloves being too small in the past and decided to go with a size up to be safe. So I was really surprised when size L barely fit on my hand - in particular the thumb len... Read Moregth, which was way too short. Anyway, I exchanged for size XL, which is much better but still a bit snug. My second observation is that the seam of the thumb runs more down the back and front, fleshy part of my thumb rather than the sides. Otherwise, I'm really happy with the quality of the materials - they're warm, seem durable, and are exactly the style I wanted.

November 16, 2019

Soft, but not as warm as I was hoping.

These gloves aren't quite as warm as I was hoping, but my hands are always cold and I should probably stick with traditional mittens for most warmth. Very soft, though, and I like the color.

November 16, 2019

Perfect Winter Gloves

These gloves are so toasty warm!! They are perfect because you can keep them on and still use your phone.

November 16, 2019

sweater gloves

just what I was looking for

November 11, 2019

Solid gloves

These gloves are pretty good. They’re fairly warm but beware that they are fleece. Fleece is not known to block out wind and if you’re wearing these on a particularly windy day, you will feel that cold wind through your hands. Sizing was spot on so make sure you get the right size using the size chart.

November 11, 2019

Fingerless gloves

The better sweater fingerless gloves are great! They are well made and I appreciate the little details. There’s a way to button the finger covers back when you don’t need them and a little “strap” to help pull them on and off.

November 7, 2019

Love these, very functional!

I am very happy with these gloves - they are the perfect thickness and warmth, and without the mittens they are easy to work with and use my hands. Great product, as always!

November 7, 2019

Perfect for use with a camera

I can just remove the finger cover and use my camera without pulling my gloves off and on. This would help with cell phone use too. They are nice and warm too!

November 6, 2019

true to size

true to size

October 31, 2019

Warm and Toasty

Super warm. I wish the thumbs were also half sewn. Having your thumb fully covered while fishing or shooting and the rest of your fingers free makes it difficult to feel the action. The hook is nice to keep the pair together and the construction is well made.

October 29, 2019

These gloves were well-made but

These gloves were well-made but ran small and not warm enough.

Response from Patagonia
November 14, 2019

Hi Rose! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback, it's truly crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the way the fit and warmth. Your satisfaction is important to us, so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 10, 2019

Great gloves for cold weather photography

You can wear these looking for great shots and be warm until you pull the cover back when you need fingers.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches