Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Air Crew Neck Shirt

Write Your Review

4.27 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 66 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Air Crew Neck Shirt

4.27
True To Size
February 26, 2020

Comfortable but awful quality

Wearing the product for the third time and have yet to wash it, It tore in the back while i was putting it on today. Areas that rub against each other have become fuzzy and thin. It has a great feel but is falling apart so fast that it has me questioning patagonia as a whole. Also lacks a presentable look now, overall not mad just disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2020

Hi Theodore. We're really sorry that your Capilene Air shirt is falling apart. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty once we reopen. We went ahead emailed you with all necessary instructions. Thanks so much for your review.

February 24, 2020

The Strange Tale of How It Works

I am a natural fiber guy. I don't buy all-synthetic clothing as a rule, for a number of philosophical reasons but let's just go with: comfort and sustainability. I bought this piece a few years ago to try the half-n-half approach to fabric, but also the seamless side of things. This very nice piece breathes very well, doesn't feel cl... Read Moreammy when I sweat (very synthetic attribute), and retains its shape well even after days of continuous use. I just did four days backpacking in Grand Canyon, and this piece was my base layer during the day, and my sleeping shirt at night. I honestly didn't want to like it as much as I do for the high synthetic content, but my many reviews over the years about a balancing act between using wool for all it's qualities and just enough synthetic to contribute what it offers, I never really saw 50/50 as the ideal number. 75-80% wool? Sure, but only half? Yet, this garment has proved the two can pull near equal weight and function well enough for me to praise it...not here, but by wearing it. More wool would only make this better, but it's a great shirt as-is.

February 20, 2020

Best base layer yet.

Absolutely love this piece. Purchased a M in gray and it runs true to size. Very versatile temperature wise: works great from cold to hot. Hugs the body so it keeps your temperature constant, both hot and cold. Neck and wrist collars are snug but not tight. At first, I thought I might stretch and snap the neck collar because it seemed like one thre... Read Moread was encircling it, but it does stretch and tighten. Has held up to multi-day heavy use when traveling and hiking. Does a great job of keeping odors away too. Easily my new favorite base layer. Just be sure to keep any pets with claws away from it.

January 30, 2020

It really is that good

I was excited to see Patagonia bring back their merino wool products, and jumped at the opportunity for an air crew. It may be the best shirt ever made. It is true to size, comfortable, and doesn't retain oder. I've worn it as a baselayer snowboarding and doing odds and ends work in snowy Pennsylvania. It's great as a single layer wo... Read Morerking out, with superior breathability. Honestly, I'd wear it every day if my wife agreed with my "wash once every few weeks" approach. Outstanding product, and sincerely hope Patagonia keeps it around for a while.

January 28, 2020

The finest base layer tops I own!

At a recent count I have 9 merino base layer tops ranging from 150 to 260 weight. Using a friend/employee recommendation at The Mountaineer in Keane Valley NY, I decided to try this piece in crew. I planned to use for 3 season hiking, backpacking, skiing, lounging, and winter ice climbing. The Capilene Air has been flawless to date for all of these... Read More. I used in November and then December both on 3 day backpacking trips in the Northeast. My typical plan is to hike in Capilene and then wear a heavier to dry merino top at camp, using the Capilene over it to dry under layers for the next day. I did rotate some layers on both trips but only wearing this to hike, occasionally swapping the base with a dry merino. I have also done the same and just put a merino over it as it drys super fast and really never seems to get too wet. It is actually the layer I prefer on my skin compared to Capilene and pure merino. It feels like cashmere, almost, and when you put it on, warm in your skin, unlike most layers. When it’s wet from hiking it doesn’t feel heavy or soaked like merino and more comfortable than Capilene mid weight. For climbing ice I just spent 5 days in it as my only base with an R1 zip over and no issues, was awesome. I don’t feel that it will be super wet and uncomfortable the rest of the day if approaching is long, can always us a Capilene light T under for the hike if you want. I feel it’s as warm as any 230-260 weight merino I have but also can hike or move in it like it’s 200 lightweight merino. Durability has been good so far but I have worn mostly as a base and usually something light over it. Have not had much pilling and washes well, inside out, and can be wiped with a lint tool, which seems to help. As I have loved this so much, I just bought the hoody version for climbing ice. I was hesitant that it wouldn’t fit well under my R1 or Piton hood, but it does and will make up for day where I pack an extra light balaclava for under. Plus, it’s a neck gaiter built in, I like variability and options. Good luck with this, but I feel you won’t be dissatisfied if the fit is good. I am 5-9/10 and 165-70, the medium fits me slim as a base should and has great stretch and multi day resilience. It’s cut a bit long to tuck in but not so long it looks super specific like the R1 hoody.

January 5, 2020

Capilene Air Crew

I love this! It's perfect at keeping me warm and still breathe's well so it doesn't overdue it. I'm sold! The fit is perfect too.

January 5, 2020

New Favorite Baselayer

I've worn almost every version of baselayer made by Patagonia, until the Capilene Air. The pricetag seemed steep, until I finally tried it. I wore both the top and bottoms skiing and have never experienced better temperature regulation than the Capilene Airs. We had 0 degree (F) days and 32 degree (F) days, and the Cap AIrs have kept me warm w... Read Morehen needed and cool when needed. The technology is awesome - I will be buying multiple pairs for skiing and winter activities.

December 31, 2019

Soft and warm

Very light, soft and warm base layer. I was surprised at how warm it kept me on a cold (12F) winter day. Will be able to reduce layers next time.

December 23, 2019

Light and very warm, not sure about durability

This is soft, extremely light but very warm. The only thing to be determined is the durability. It looks a bit flimsy to be honest, and there is some pilling after one (gentle) wash only. Time will tell.

December 19, 2019

I have a long torso

I have a long torso and have to get the extra large for length...

December 15, 2019

Another classic

We have relied on Patagonia base layers for many years. This one is perfect.

December 12, 2019

Sizing is all over

I have two of these, the first one fits great 6’1” 190# size large, the second one I bought is is two inches too long, and wide. It feels like an xl fit. If you do decide to buy one buy multiple so you can get the one that fits, this is a similar problem I had with a better sweater purchase.

December 6, 2019

Everything it's supposed to be

Insulation properties of this are amazing and it looks great to boot! The only problem for me is that I got a M to use as a next-to-skin baselayer but I also want a L to wear as a sweater!

December 6, 2019

Super Comfortable

Great base layer for layering in cold weather. Good and minimalist casual wear.

December 4, 2019

Love the feel and fit

Love the feel and fit , just a little long in the torso.

December 4, 2019

NOT a warm top layer for sedentary people

I'm not an outdoors person; I'm someone who sits at a computer in an old, cold house. I've used Capilene Expedition Weight tops and bottoms to keep me warm for years. I decided to try Capilene Air to see if it's even warmer. It's not if you're sedentary, and it's the top layer. The "breathability" means... Read More that drafts go right through the fabric. I expect Capilene Air would fare much better if you put on a wind-stopping layer over it, and if you're active. But it's not a good base layer for sitting around in.

December 2, 2019

Speedy delivery. True to size

Speedy delivery. True to size and very warm. Will buy more.

December 1, 2019

Comfortable, but not durable.

I wear this shirt for trail-running. It's very lightweight, warm and wicks nicely. The one problem with this garment is that the fabric is not strong nor durable. After one wash there were several broken threads and pilling.

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2019

Hi there, we're sorry that you're unhappy with the performance of your Men's Capilene Air Crew. If you are ever unsatisfied with your gear, you're more than welcome to initiate a return by following this link, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return.

November 25, 2019

Just when I thought the Capilene couldn't get any better...

The Air came out and shattered all my expectations. I have had iterations of the Capilene base layer throughout the years, all of them plenty warm and comfortable, but the Air is the best yet. It seems impossible that something this lightweight can be so warm, it's the perfect base layer for being active in cold weather, and is so comfortable,... Read More I find myself wearing it almost daily. The fit is slim, but not constricting, which is exactly what you want in a base layer. I cannot recommend the Capilene Air highly enough.

November 24, 2019

Great Tee!

I bought these as my daily Tee as I was tired of buying Tee’s (that still are not cheep) and wore out in a year. These are high quality, fit great and are durable. Disappointed that the white were all sold out, please bring those back soon!

November 22, 2019

Persechini

great product - design, fabric, execution

November 22, 2019

Very comfy

These make great casual shirts or base layers. I love these for winter layering because I almost never overheat.

November 21, 2019

Capilene® Air Crew

The Capilene® Air Crew is a terrific shirt or undergarment. It is light, soft on the skin, warm, and has freedom of movement. While I pull it on, I can immediately feel the soft fabric warming my skin. Its that fast. It is attractive enough to wear by itself as a shirt, soft and warm enough to wear as an undergarment to stay warm in cold weather. I... Read More love it.

November 21, 2019

Pretty awesome

About the broadest range of comfort available. Very light weight, and as a base layer, very comfortable against the skin. Alone under a shell, or under an insulated shell - they are awesome. Depends on the outside temp and your activity, but it is easy to dial them into the perfect layer.

November 20, 2019

crew

nice ,light and very comfortable will buy more colors.

November 18, 2019

Most comfortable

Very comfortable base layer while being ultra-lite. I ordered a size larger so shirt tail would not slip out on more active adventures. Let's see how it holds up to a Montana winter?

November 14, 2019

Super comfortable everyday base layer

These are great. I bought one and had to order a second a few weeks later when I realized how much I wanted to wear these just about everyday. I've used it as a base layer for cold weather activity and as a casual around the house/town shirt. It almost looks like a regular knit sweater. One small gripe, the oxide red version shows a blue contr... Read Moreast line at the base of the sleeves and waist. This blue contrast line was not on the actual garment when it arrived. Not sure where it went?

November 13, 2019

Keeping the cold at bay

Comfortable and warm. Easy care.

November 12, 2019

This is my third capilene

This is my third capilene air crew. These shirts are really nice because they can be warm when layered, but can also be cool if it starts to get hot out.

November 9, 2019

Nevermore chilly

I don't know how often you hear from customers about this kind of use-- I was playing Edgar Allan Poe on a ghost tour of Fells Point Baltimore on the Day of the Dead. After dark, the temperature was in the low 40s F. I'd just gotten the capilene air shirt and wore it under my tux shirt and tail coat, and I was comfortable and not cold the... Read More whole time (fingerless gloves also helped).

November 8, 2019

Love It

Perfect fit: snug, not baggy. Light, comfortable feel against skin. Great base layer..breathes easily. Not bulky so fits under other layers well. Seems lie flat. Great piece for 3 layer systems of dress.

November 7, 2019

Great base layer

This purchase was my second one.

November 7, 2019

I basically live in these

I basically live in these during the winter at work and at home

November 6, 2019

Love everything but the durability

The Cap Air is extremely cozy for how thin it is! Like a lot of people, I’ve ended up wearing it more as a light sweater than strictly a baselayer. And, like a lot of people, I can already see it starting to pill or fuzz up, which is a bit of a bummer, albeit not a surprise given how many reviews mention that as an issue. That said, the fit and com... Read Morefort are top notch, and the seamless construction is pretty unique. It is cut rather long in the torso and arms, which is a little odd at first but that does help keep the cold out by keeping it tucked in and ensuring your wrists covered if your arms are raised, ie while climbing. The pattern on the fabric, and the sweater-like cuffs and hem, add a nice look. I’d probably get another despite the pilling issues, but hopefully Patagonia will figure out a way to make these a tad more durable without sacrificing the things that make it a great piece!

November 6, 2019

Looks good feels better

The first thing that I appreciated about this piece was the way it felt: soft yet durable. There is a decent amount of stretch to it too. Enough stretch that if you got form-fitting or slim-fit, it can still move with you while climbing or any other cool weather active endeavor.

October 30, 2019

Perfect!

Perfect lightweight base layer. Soft against the skin. Can be worn by itself when its cool, or under a sweater or fleece when colder.

October 29, 2019

Perfect

Perfect all-rounder. Wearing it casually as a sweater almost daily. Pop a fleece over it for serious warmth. Take it off to get airflow and stay comfortably warm while cooling off. For active wear it’s the perfect item. I wear merino (smart wool and icebreaker) all winter long. Only issue is the temp regulation is just a bit harder when serious ph... Read Moreysical output is happening. This item solves that, and allows air to virtually pass right through you. I think it’s the holy grail. I wore it 7 days before washing, no stink until about day 7. Highly recommend for the one-shirt-that-does-it-all people amongst us. I hate having one pile of a active gear and one pile of casual gear; utility across life is key; as is function, style, and quality.

October 29, 2019

Comfortable warmth

Super soft, warm and great fit. These are not as loose as the pants, but not super tight like a standard base, which is my favorite thing about these tops. I use them for work mostly doing high rise/bosun chair window cleaning when the temperature dips. I pair them with the Capilene air bottoms, and it is a perfect base.

October 27, 2019

Best base layer for cool to cooler temperatures

This is my favorite base layer for cooler weather. Even when the day warms up a bit, it doesn’t become too warm. I tend to sweat quite a bit especially when it rains I wear a rain jacket. This base layer keeps me warm and just doesn’t get wet. It is the best performing base layer I have ever had in that regard

October 21, 2019

Best ski / snowboard baselayer!! 🏂

This is my favorite snowboard layer I own. I usually wear it with one light layer on top (sometimes even just a t-shirt) and then my powslayer jacket and I am perfect temp all day. It’s so comfy and regulates heat and moisture really well.

September 24, 2019

The best piece I own

This is seriously the best piece of clothing I own. I bought one of these a couple of weeks ago and immediately ordered another as soon as I tried the first one on. I've used it backpacking, camping, and even taking the wife to dinner because she likes how it looks on me. Extremely versatile. You should just buy one, period.

September 11, 2019

New Style

I love this shirt! I really want a henley version to be available though.

August 11, 2019

Great Base Layer For Antactica

I had this shipped to McMurdo station for my winter season. I love it. Perfect layer. I wear it everyday!

August 10, 2019

Soft and Confortable

I like the blended material which feels soft. Have only tried it at home and felt comfortable. Will try out the warm part compared to the Smartwool 150 and 250 at Yellowstone this August. Perception wise, it looks flimsy compared to Smartwool. Not sure if it were the weave.

August 10, 2019

The fabric pills! Otherwise nice

The fabric pills! Otherwise nice cozy shirt.

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the pilling! With the nature of garments like these, sometimes pilling can be inevitable. We'd recommend trying some of the products out there that help to remove pilling. This is the best way to extend your product lifespan and keep it out of landfills. As always though, if you are unsatisfied, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back for a warranty evaluation.

May 22, 2019

Perfect Layer

I love this thing! It works as a baselayer or as a standalone sweater. I've worn it to family functions and received compliments for how it looks and fits on me. In addition, it's kept me nice and warm in outdoor ventures. It's an awesome all-around piece! My wife has already told me to get more colors!

May 8, 2019

Best base

Love this shirt, super soft and comfortable. great at temperature regulation.

April 1, 2019

Capilene air top

Although I do have some concerns about long term durability, my new capilene air top is currently my favorite piece of clothing I own, eclipsing even my belay puffy, r1, and socks with corgi butts on them. Extremely soft and practically scentless after most of a week spent on mt whitney. Worn through negative nights and all day in the sun equally c... Read Moreomfortably. What little dirt stuck came out quickly in a motel sink, and after hanging it up in the shower, the whole shebang was bone dry in the morning. As I mentioned, durability is concerning. The fabric has started pilling after a handful of uses, and my not-exactly-manicured climbing hands tend to catch on the super thin fibers while handling it. All told, nothing has worn or torn yet, so as long as you take good care of your gear, it may be only a bit of paranoia. Add in that it looks good enough to wear to an office as a sweater, and I'd buy 12 if I could afford them.

April 1, 2019

Capilene air top

Although I do have some concerns about long term durability, my new capilene air top is currently my favorite piece of clothing I own, eclipsing even my belay puffy, r1, and socks with corgi butts on them. Extremely soft and practically scentless after most of a week spent on mt whitney. Worn through negative nights and all day in the sun equally c... Read Moreomfortably. What little dirt stuck came out quickly in a motel sink, and after hanging it up in the shower, the whole shebang was bone dry in the morning. As I mentioned, durability is concerning. The fabric has started pilling after a handful of uses, and my not-exactly-manicured climbing hands tend to catch on the super thin fibers while handling it. All told, nothing has worn or torn yet, so as long as you take good care of your gear, it may be only a bit of paranoia. Add in that it looks good enough to wear to an office as a sweater, and I'd buy 12 if I could afford them.

March 26, 2019

Excellent quality. I expected it

Excellent quality. I expected it to be warmer. I prefer the tighter Merino products.

March 24, 2019

Fabric Durability Issues with Patagonia Capilene Air

My Wife and I enjoy many Patagonia products, sadly however, I've the fabric's durability of the Capilene Air products are exceedingly poor. After only two months of casual use (No Backpacking), I have requested a refund of this expensive product. I purchased two Capilene Air Crews and the fabric started to pill and fray giving the garment... Read More an almost furry appearance to the manufactured quilted pattern. In addition, the fabric began to stretch and become baggy, losing the qualities that you would expect from a baselayer. I would recommend that this product be avoided until Patagonia corrects the problem with this fabric.

March 21, 2019

Amazing Product

Very Comfortable and keeps me toasty. I little itchy on bare skin, but I don't like wool directly on my skin anyways, I just wear something technical under it and it keeps me warm and dry. My lady also loves how it looks, I got the Balkan Blue.

February 25, 2019

Pilling sleeves

Feels good, but the sleeves are pilling terribly. Also developed one small hole within the first month. The price is way too high for this poor fabric wear.

January 31, 2019

massive temperature range

the combination of waffle weave and very loosely woven material means this is the ideal base layer in a wide range of conditions. i've used it skiing in the alps, where it's warmer and more humid than the western US, as well as on the east and west coasts of the US. Never been uncomfortable or clammy. I would wear it every day but for the... Read More expense.

January 29, 2019

Travels well in heat and cold

I took this thing through half a dozen airports and as many different climates and it always seemed to adapt. It was breathable when it was warm out and an insulating layer when it was cold and could easily go over whatever I was wearing. It's light to pack and keep in a day bag with little trouble and less weight. It does pill up a bit and is... Read More a lint magnet, but that's not the point of it and it cleans up easily enough.

January 14, 2019

Really warm and confortable

I finally got this for christmas, had to ask several people because the cost (hard to justify the price tag). After wearing for several days, I love this product. This last weekend was snowing in Denver with a temp around 30-F degrees and windy. My dog and I went to the state park, weared this plus my R1 and down coat, I was worm for the two hours ... Read Moreplaying in the snow !! Wish it was cheaper to have another one !!

November 26, 2018

Test Metadata

"Neque porro quisquam est qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit..." "There is no one who loves pain itself, who seeks after it and wants to have it, simply because it is pain..."

November 26, 2018

Pro Badge Test Review

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Pellentesque aliquam eget nulla et maximus. Ut vel egestas metus. Vivamus non maximus arcu. Vestibulum bibendum, risus eu posuere hendrerit, lorem nisi efficitur libero, sit amet ullamcorper odio dolor nec velit. Nam dignissim pharetra dui vitae congue. Sed condimentum dolor nec odio efficitu... Read Morer, et tincidunt lacus gravida. In ut erat magna. Proin massa tellus, suscipit vitae cursus vel, luctus in neque. Cras eu ipsum ac sem fermentum gravida id pulvinar tellus. Ut semper turpis vel nisi eleifend imperdiet. Fusce ante nisi, bibendum eu orci sit amet, maximus congue orci. Sed at malesuada lacus. Nulla facilisi. Proin ornare tempor nunc, id gravida nisl consequat sit amet. Nam posuere auctor erat ac tempus. Nulla facilisi. Sed at elit sit amet est euismod imperdiet. Cras eget justo odio. Aenean iaculis turpis diam, a fermentum sapien sagittis non. Vestibulum ante ipsum primis in faucibus orci luctus.

November 19, 2018

Best midlayer I've ever owned

Bought this and took it on a two week climbing trip to Mexico. I've been out and about in the mountains in various professional and recreational capacities for 10 years, so I'm pretty settled in my ways when it comes to layering. Within three days, this thing had quickly become my favorite layer of all time. It packs a bunch better than a... Read Moren R1, but throw a shell on top and it's just as warm! With no shell, it's breathable enough for climbing in morning temps without getting sweaty. When a storm rolled in and temps dropped to below freezing overnight, it was ideal for wearing to bed so that I didn't freeze in my 3-season sleeping bag that I had optimistically brought on the trip. This isn't a sponsored review, I paid retail for this thing (which I rarely do for gear), and I'm still damn pleased with the purchase. Straight-up excellent gear. I will note - if you want a typical sweater-ish fit, size up. I wear a men's medium normally, and the medium was definitely a next-to-skin baselayer style fit for me.

November 18, 2018

Perfect so far

Wore this around Matsue Japan cycling in 15C to 18C damp windy weather with only another brand wool T shirt under it. It was perfect!! Light and thin but plenty warm. Very surprised at how warm this shirt is... Any thicker and it would be too warm!

October 24, 2018

Merino Air Crew thumbs down

I am a long time Patagonia user (since 1980). This Merino Air Crew is the same product from Fall 2015 except the wool is sourced from New Zealand. The product does not work well in Wet climates and you will feel clammy. It may work in Colorado, but skiing Oregon with the higher humidity never worked for me after multiple uses. Not recommended, stay... Read More with the Tried and True Patagonia Capilene product which I can't rave enough about.

October 18, 2018

2 Shirts in a week

I really want to like this product but i got a hole in the left armpit of the first shirt i got. I returned it to the store and had another one ordered for me online. Received it. Put it on. And within 2 hours or wearing the second one another hole formed in the left armpit! I am the correct size for the shirt i got so i have no explanation other t... Read Morehan poor sowing quality. Very disappointed.

October 8, 2018

Please bring back the lightweight merino 2 products.

Please bring back the LW Merino 2 Zip Neck and LW Merino 2 LW bottom long underwear. I've been buying Patagonia long underwear for 20+ years and they were/are the best long underwear I've ever owned. They're comfortable, warm, and packable (light weight and compact) and they didn't retain odor like capilene does. It was really n... Read Moreice having a product with minimal synthetics. It felt really great to wear. I know they had some synthetics but with 77% merino, they had a lot more natural material than the Capilene Air Crew. Thanks.

October 2, 2018

Fragile

Already has developed a hole in a non-high wear area. A tad itchy.

September 18, 2018

meh

This product has so much promise: warmth, lightweight, soft...but it pills up something terrible! Please improve this Patagonia

August 26, 2018

Make a a sweater and polo out of this material please

This is the best and most comfortable fabric/garment that I've ever worn. Please double the thickness and keep everything else exactly the same and offer as a sweater/midweight layer. I'm wearing this as a light sweater over a capilene lightweight t shirt and love it. Again, please offer a sweater and polo in this incredible material.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches