Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Air Crew Neck Shirt

Write Your Review

4.65 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 80 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Air Crew Neck Shirt

4.65
Kinda Large
February 24, 2020

Love this Top!!!

This top looks great, feels great and is awesome as a base layer or worn alone. Mine have washed well so far but I do use the gentle cycle, Woolite and air dry. Just to let you know what a fan of this top I am, I bought one, and three months later, I have six all together.

February 14, 2020

What a great product.

Just received my air capilene crew in cobalt xxs. I am 5'2" 100 pounds and the xxs fits perfectly. What a great garment and insulation piece. Thank you, Patagonia!

January 7, 2020

Best Baselayer/Product EVER.

I've owned my Cap Air (then Merino Air) since 2015, and it is the single most important piece of technical clothing that I own. You are pretty much guaranteed to find me wearing it while doing any outdoor activity when it’s under 40 degrees (cycling, running, backcountry skiing, traveling, …anything to be outside! It is the absolute best.

January 6, 2020

I love this fleece-but it

I love this fleece-but it needs pockets...

January 1, 2020

Great Product

Warm, well-made, and stylish. Love it!

December 31, 2019

Incredibly Comfortable

I ordered one. Loved it so much I ordered another one.

December 31, 2019

So warm

Bought this for my sister (I already own the men's pair). She loves it and wears it whenever we travel to cold spots. Highly recommend.

December 26, 2019

This is a very versatile

This is a very versatile sweater. Can be a baselayer or a comfortable and attractive sweater to wear for daily chores and activities. I also plan to wear it for yoga classes. It has enough stretch to be worn to yoga class. The sleeves are long on me, but I just push them up.

December 24, 2019

Love this

The shirt is the best. Stylish fit that, flatters, and it’s warm, soft and sleek. I want it in all the colors.

December 19, 2019

Excellent piece

This is a real gem! A great lightweight sweater on its own, but I find it to be a killer mid-layer, where it provides excellent warmth under a fleece. Score, Patagonia.

December 16, 2019

Love!

I really love this sweater! Wore it as my base-layer skiing and again for a presentation at school- incredibly versatile! Would absolutely recommend!

December 10, 2019

Comfy

Great product! I ordered a size up to wee as a shirt. Keeps me warm, looks good, and doesn’t snag easily due to the stretch in the material. For sure getting another color! Washed well in a delicates bag, low dry. Could not change the height option - 5’8”

December 5, 2019

Very comfy, nice stretch and

Very comfy, nice stretch and fit. Love it!

December 2, 2019

Warm and lightweight

Excellent product. Lightweight, but comparable to a mid- to thermal weight capilene crew base layer.

December 1, 2019

Excellent

Really thrilled with the quality, fit and comfort . I am long of limb and it is so nice to find garments with length to spare. I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for. I'll be wearing my Patagonia for years to come!

November 28, 2019

Warmes baselayer ever!

Nice looking snd very warm. Perfect!

November 27, 2019

Another staple

The cap air is incredible. Perfect for cold weather running. Anything above 45 degrees and you might get hot. Also transitions well for causal or work wear because it looks so nice. I will be buying another!

November 27, 2019

SO WARM. I run cold

SO WARM. I run cold so I wear it under lots of things in the winter, even just running to the grocery store. I get warm but not stinky-sweaty.

November 27, 2019

Great fit! Great product!

Great fit! Great product!

November 27, 2019

Love it!

This soft warm top is so comfortable I want to wear it all the time. It's also great looking, with lots of texture and nice details like the slightly darker trim around the wrists and the gently rolled neck opening. I usually wear it over a light weight T while road biking or for yoga and often get the comment, "Nice sweater! Where'd... Read More you get it?" I'd wear it out to dinner too, but don't want to spill food on it. With a windbreaker on top, it's unbeatable for warmth. I'm 5'6", weigh about 115, and the Small is a great fit. For a more rugged fabric, try the capilene thermal weight crew: good for climbing/mntn biking, can be washed several times a week with no special care, and is very warm.

November 26, 2019

Love this base layer!

I was so excited to get this, and really fell in love with it off the bat. I'm in between small and medium sizes, but the medium just had a little too much material for me. I'm 5'2" and 143lbs but slim build on top. The material is soft and I haven't had issues with itchiness either. Really pleased with the purchase and wou... Read Moreld definitely buy this again.

November 25, 2019

Kept me warm while hiking

Kept me warm while hiking yet breathable too

November 24, 2019

the best I have ever found.

These Capilene Air pieces are the best. They keep you from getting sweaty while keeping you warm and comfortable. They have become my go-to tops for almost all my activities. Can't go skiing without this layer & my cold weather mountain bike riding is much more comfortable without overheating. This top is easy to wash and dry and has heald... Read More up extremely well considering how much I use & wear. I have 4 now in different colors because I choose these over every other winter top. The ones with the balaclava included (like a hood) are the ones to get!

November 24, 2019

Soft and Warm

Love love this new base layer! It’s light as a cloud and very warm. I used it for the first time on a horseback ride in 40 degree weather and was so pleased. It washed beautifully too!

November 23, 2019

Love this sweater

Love this sweater. Slim, flattering fit. I am a dress size 6 and bought in medium. Good quality, lightweight yet warm. I wear to work. Thin enough to wear under blazer. I intend to purchase in more colors. Would recommend.

November 23, 2019

Great piece!!

Lightweight, warm, and is nice enough to be worn as a sweater Im 5'7-135 lbs. The small fits-probably like its supposed to, but I opted for the medium so I could also wear it like a sweater.

November 22, 2019

Love it!

Not super soft, it is wool after all, but much softer than lots of other wool garments out there. The structure feels great. So light and breathable and yet so warm too. Amazing. I will be using this for work, casual, going out on the town and of course epic exercise adventuring - it really can do it all! 5’7” 140 / straight build and the medium is... Read More perfect. Snug but plenty of room to move and stretch and nicely long (hits mid-butt pulled all the way down).

November 22, 2019

MT hiker

The capilene air crew met my expectations and more. It is soft and warm, great as an underlayer or comfortable on its own in warmer conditions. Lightweight and warm, can't beat that. I was previously a fan of the merino wool top, that has been discontinued, and this is the first time I have found an item to replace it for warmth and comfort.

November 22, 2019

Itchy

Very light weight and seemed that it would be warm for weight but I wanted to wear next to skin and was too itchy for me so I sent it back.

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

Sorry to hear the Capilene Air was too itchy for you, but we really appreciate the great feedback, Ona! In the future, we're happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the item to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

November 22, 2019

Love the Air

Got a medium bc that's all that was left, but could have probably used a small... great price for the thermal air... love, love, love

November 22, 2019

Great top

This is an amazing top. Works for long underwear but can also pair with jeans. Very warm. I plan to buy in every color.

November 21, 2019

outstanding

outstanding

November 21, 2019

So comfy!

This top has been super comfortable and warm as a base layer. It looks cute on its own too. I have both the top and the bottoms and the top seems to be holding up better than the bottoms.

November 21, 2019

So warm (and soft)

Love this top - it fits nicely and is very warm.

November 21, 2019

wish I knew about this earlier

great fit, great feel and the perfect layer for cold nights or but also breathable if worn as a layer for cold weather activities

November 20, 2019

Misleading product

Not as described. Its actually just a cheap looking knit texture uberthin sweater from China.... the kind you find at Ross for $9.99. Don't waste your money.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

Hi Kristina, thanks for writing us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 20, 2019

Too big...

This top is super warm! But, way to big. I am 5'7", 130 lbs, I ordered this top among several others in small and they were all too big.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

We're sorry to hear this was too big, Tory! If you'd like to try the size XS, just let us know and we'd be happy to waive the shipping charge. Thanks for your feedback.

November 20, 2019

warm

I bought the Capilene Air Crew. It is warm, yet light. I will wear it often in the winter. I like the crew neck, so many winter shirts are too low around the neck and don't keep me warm enough. This crew is not too tight, it is just right.

November 20, 2019

A bit see through but

A bit see through but it's super warm.

November 11, 2019

warmth and comfort

so far love it I used it for light walks and hikes around the our town in the Rocky Mountain, in 0 F degrees and it was pretty awesome. My only concern and question is how well it will last over time.

November 9, 2019

It’s so fluffy

Cozy but also a solid layer. I stayed warm with just that layer at 45* weather

November 7, 2019

Great quality

I bought these to match the bottom base layer and the top is awesome. Super warm and incredibly comfy

November 6, 2019

Great fit. Can also be

Great fit. Can also be worn with jeans on a casual night out.

November 6, 2019

Ridiculously warm!

One of the warmest base-layers ever!

November 4, 2019

Magic Top!

Wore this on a multi-day backpacking trip through the Grand Canyon and it was so comfortable/versatile/warm/cool/quick drying! New favorite top. I'm 5'3", 125 pounds and the small fit well.

October 31, 2019

Flaws

I was not expecting to see so many finishing flaws in the shirt such as loose threads. In addition, it runs very small. I am 5'0 and weigh 115 pounds - I ordered a medium and it is snug except for the sleeves that go beyond my fingertips. I washed it and hung it to dry and it shrunk so now I cannot wear it at all.

Response from Patagonia
November 18, 2019

We're sorry to hear this shrunk and that it has some loose threads. As always, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty. We went ahead and emailed you a free shipping label in this instance. Thank you for your review!

October 30, 2019

Stretchy, soft, and warm

My new favorite. 5'3" 125lb size small is perfect fit. You may need an undershirt - the material is sheer so a dark bra makes the shirt see-through if you aren't wearing layers over it. I got the Feather Grey with Birch White, this is a light grey, my computer made it look like it had more of a brown tint than reality. It's su... Read Morech a nice material, it could be used for just about any sport but also looks great for work.

October 28, 2019

BEST BASELAYER EVER!

I have this crew in the gray and I LOVE it! I live in Montana where the winter is brutally cold. I used it for running, skiing, hiking, and mountain biking last year during a record breaking winter! It is super cozy, not itchy at all despite its wool blend. I would recommend it to anyone who runs, or skis in colder conditions, or just runs cold. I ... Read Moreeven have worn it casually to and from class and work on some really cold days. I plan on ordering another one soon. The fit is pretty true I consistently wear a medium in other Patagonia tops and the medium fits great. Definitely order this if you're a cold weather adventurer!

October 28, 2019

Great Product!

Love this product. Great fit, very warm, looks good.

October 19, 2019

SO warm & lightweight

I am chronically cold due to an illness that caused me to lose a substantial amount of weight. I was looking for a warm base layer for everyday life that wasn’t bulky. This fit the bill. It made me so toasty. It’s pricey, but definitely worth it. If I can afford another, I’ll buy one bc I think I’ll be wearing this every day during my New England f... Read Moreall & winter. Thanks!

October 18, 2019

Runs a little big

I bought this top to use for layering during longer bike rides. It keeps me perfectly warm and was so soft. I ordered a large thinking it may run small but really I could’ve gotten a medium, the arms are a little long too. I’m a 10/12 size and 34DD.

October 15, 2019

So comfortable, no itch, breathes

So comfortable, no itch, breathes very well. I found the shirt to be a bit too long, a little extra bulk

October 14, 2019

Beautiful and warm I will

Beautiful and warm I will be using theses. A sweaters. So bummed you ran out of the Light green , chose green color on my size:( please bring it back I’ll buy it! I am thin and love how it form fits and flatters!

October 9, 2019

The best sweater ever!

Nice! It’s both stylish and cozy!

October 5, 2019

LOVE this piece!!!

The Capilene Air Crew is light and snug. It's warm, but breathes for me well. Well done Patagonia!

September 14, 2019

Love the Air crew

I love to layer this and it feels nice against the skin. XS at 106 lbs is just right.

September 10, 2019

Favorite Baselayer

I bought my first Cap Air Crew last winter and found myself digging through my laundry basket every time I went skiing and decided it was time to add another to my rotation. This is also a piece I wear casually since it looks so much like a regular. Great ski day to Apres piece!

August 9, 2019

Great Base Layer

Capelene Air Crew Long underwear is the first base layer containing wool that has not caused any skin irritation or itchiness on my skin. It is so comfortable, flexible, and nearly weightless, Yet, it certainly keeps you warm. The open weave and texture is quite an ingenious invention. Congratulations to the Patagonia fabric engineers.

June 26, 2019

Classic all-around piece for looks and performance

I would call this a light sweater. It's so nice, I haven't yet worn it for activities involving sweat. But that time will come while traveling and adventuring! The cut, fit, material (soft, no itch and no chafe for my sensitive skin) and features are all high quality and functional. Hugs in all the right places for my taste.

June 25, 2019

Fit and texture are great

I thought this would be a good layer for chilly riding conditions and luckily, I was right. I ended up buying 2 for a 4-day bike-pack tour. I slept in it, wore it when it was damp from dew. I also wore it on the 4th day without washing it and it was just fine. Great casual sweater and was not itchy or too hot, except in direct sun while exercising ... Read More/ riding uphill. Got tons of compliments from other riders, too! Style points.

May 29, 2019

Just bought a Second One

This Spring while on a hut to hut ski trip one of my friends was raving about her new "favorite" shirt. So much so that I purchased one several weeks ago. Because it's still been early Spring and slightly cold, I found myself wearing this as a light "sweater". And I'm embarrassed to say that I wore it 5 out of the 7 da... Read Moreys last week. So I just went in and ordered another one. Because you know how that goes, you find something you love.........

May 12, 2019

Love it and may never take it off

Light weight and breathable yet warm, maintains shape yet stretchy and comfortable, does not stink like my R1 with wear yet also does not itch and I am very sensitive to wool. Super versatile and works as technical apparel, everyday, or travel piece. I wear it to work with a skirt and leggings, and then drive to the hill and am ready to skin up for... Read More an afterwork backcountry ski lap without changing clothing. Fits true to size for Patagonia. I am 5'4 120 lbs and typically wear a XS to S in most brands, but have been a S in Patagonia since they made their sizing quite small about 5 years ago or so. I bought this in a S and it fits great. Win win and why not add an extra win just because.

May 11, 2019

Can’t live without Capiline Air

I used my leggings and top all winter and now am using them into spring. Went on a road trip south and was able to throw them on during chilly nights. They are warm when you need them to be but they vent if it’s a bit cooler. I love them. The texture is interesting but I personally loved it. I will be getting another set going into winter!

May 9, 2019

The Everything Shirt

Capeline Air. A fine merino sweater destined for adventure. Is it expensive? Yes. But I wore this recently for 5 days straight. It was laundry day, but I was busy. Not only did I look good, I DIDN'T SMELL. And I wore it skiing, after skiing, riding my cargo bike around town with 2 kids in it, cooking dinner, skiing again....I may even have sle... Read Morept in it. Imagine your 5 favorite shirts. How much were they? Yeah. Now imagine you spent less on one great piece that will do everything and allow you to pack that much lighter. When I pulled it out of the package I felt like it was too nice to use as a base layer. Well it is nice, but it's SO nice you can wear it as a base layer all the way to a fine sweater over a collared shirt for a PTA function ON THE SAME DAY. tldr; buy it, no regret.

April 12, 2019

Looked terrific...before I wore it.

I purchased a black Capilene Air crewneck and a navy Capilene Air hoody (fall 2018). I wore the crewneck twice before a large hole appeared on the front of the garment. The navy hoody hasn't fared much better--lots of pilling. It's disappointing, particularly because neither top was used as activewear. Patagonia clothing usually withstand... Read Mores my outdoor pursuits and I've enjoyed years of wear. I hope these will be improved in the future.

March 26, 2019

Best thing ever

This is the softest, warmest, most breathable baselayer ever. I’ve worn it almost every day this winter, from skiing to working in the shop. The fabric is a little delicate, but it’s still worth the price. And yes, it pills, but I appreciate it’s functionality enough to overlook that. I want 5 more. Please keep making this product!

March 8, 2019

Great idea. Looks terrible after one wash.

I loved the feel of this baselayer. It's warm, but stretchy (unlike heavier Capilene). After one wash, the top was totally pilled. After three washes, it had a handful of holes in the fabric. Really disappointing. I hope they PG goes back to the R&D phase to get this product right. I'd buy a stack of these shirts if they didn't l... Read Moreook like garbage after a bit use.

February 18, 2019

Pills after two washes

I bought two at the San Diego Patagonia. One for skiing and the other casual wear. I wore both three times and washed. Both pill. I splurged on these because quality is so much better than quantity, but I am disppointed they look like I have had them a year. I don’t find them warm at all. They are comfy and breathable. The red color is pretty. This... Read More is the most disappointing Patagonia clothing I have purchased.

January 29, 2019

Beautiful, warm...and delicate

I love the look, feel, and fit of this Capilene Air. For being so thin and breathable, it is surprising how warm it is. However, it pulls easily, attracts tons of lint, and is disastrous when it comes into contact with Velcro. I want to love it and wear it for all my adventures, but am not good with clothing that can't take a bit of rouging-up... Read More. What I wanted to be a cute base layer that I can wear as an outer-layer will remain as an inner-layer, hidden in all its balled up, linty pulled, glory.

January 14, 2019

Warm and Dry - Game Changer

I encouraged my wife to try this upgrade to her very old Capilene baselayer system. She had invested in newer outer and mid layer patagonia pieces and was still not quite warm enough at points throughout the day of skiing. She found that replacing her older base and expedition weight capilene with the capilene air crew she was warmer and dryer than... Read More the past. We wash it in the Nikwax base layer detergent and air dry. Fit is down one size from her normal Patagonia size, no odor retention, and piece has retained its original soft feel after a month of use.

January 4, 2019

High Maintenance

I loved the feel of this top for a few days. It was a great insulator for both downhill and backcountry skiing. Then I washed it (according to manufacturer directions) and dried it on low heat. It's been pretty scratchy ever since. I tried washing it again with fabric softener and hang drying it. It's no better. I don't have the incl... Read Moreination to coddle my athletic wear. This is a base layer and meant to be worn next to my skin. It needs to feel good! It's going back. One of my few Patagonia purchases that have ever been returned.

January 2, 2019

Awesome baselayer!

I'm usually sensitive to wool, but this layer so sweet. Its not itchy, and super soft! I wore it for 2 days straight backcountry skiing in 10 degrees and it was warm, yet I didnt get too hot. Its so stretchy too. I'm 140 lbs, 36 d and got a medium in red, its fantastic, I will be wearing it a lot!

December 18, 2018

Perfectly multi-purpose

This proved to be an excellent base layer for field work and a nice looking primary layer as a sweater. I spend a large portion of time working in the field (often in cold-water trout streams) and either this or the hooded version are always in my bag. Do not get too cold or warm. Holds up great to challenging conditions in the field. This is an al... Read Morel-purpose piece of gear, I wear it in the field as a base-layer and then converts to a nice looking sweater when teaching in the lab or working on fisheries research in the lab. Since I regularly wear these as a primary layer so elected to order one size up (L) so it wouldn't be too snug.

December 9, 2018

So versatile and cute!

I wore this all day skiing and it was everything I needed--warm, comfortable, and no stink at the end of the day. The next day, I realized I had forgotten to pack something a little fancier for dinner. I put this base layer right back on. It works perfectly as a cute sweater, for apres ski or anything else. Thrilled with this purchase and definitel... Read Morey getting more!

November 23, 2018

Favorite baselayer

This lightweight but warm top is my new favorite. I wear it as a top indoors, then layer over it for cold weather activities. I like the higher than usual crew neck as it gives added warmth around my neck without needing a turtleneck and allows me to add a scarf. The torso and sleeve lengths are perfect.

November 15, 2018

Perfect Weight

Loving this layer. The stretch is really nice and it’s soft. Originally ordered a large but exchanged for a medium. The top is nice and long so it’ll stay in my pants while skiing or working outside.

November 14, 2018

Awesome

Love these sweaters (Base layers?), I now have 2! I usually can't wear wool products as they are too itchy, but these I can wear no problems. They look fantastic, I wear them all the time as a sweater, but also great for hiking/skiing etc as a base layer. So incredibly warm but also super breathable so you don't get too hot. The Arrow Red... Read More color is gorgeous, I wish they would make more products with this color! (AKA marsupial better sweater please???). I usually wear a Small or XS, went with Small in this. 5'3" 115lbs 32DD.

October 14, 2018

pilling

I love this sweater but I have worn it only a couple times and its already pilling:(

August 21, 2018

Excellent Baselayer Piece

The biggest draw for me = blending merino wool into this Capilene. It fits a lot tighter/closer to skin than the Thermal Crew. I bought same size for both = XXS. I am 5'1 and 95lbs. The sleeves and torso are great length (longer). Very breathable and warm. Thanks Patagonia and keep on finding ways to give us Merino Wool pieces!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches