Back to Product

Ms Capilene® Air Bottoms

Write Your Review

3.6 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 40 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Capilene® Air Bottoms

3.6
Kinda Large
January 6, 2020

I am missing a fly

I am missing a fly opening. Kind of looser and baggier than I was expecting.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Kurt, we're sorry to hear these bottoms aren't what you expected. Feel free to check out the [Men's Capilene Thermal Weight Bottoms](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-capilene-thermal-weight-bottoms/43687.html) for a slimmer fit and a fly opening feature. If you're unsatisfied with the Capilene Air Bottoms, please don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us. Thanks so much for your review.

January 5, 2020

Long johns

Great, but I got a size too big. I got large, but should have gotten medium. I’m 5’10”

December 18, 2019

Too long to be useful

If you look at the video, the model is six feet tall and wearing a size medium and the material is all bunched up at his ankles. I've been wearing a size medium in Patagonia long underwear for twenty five years and this "medium" is much too long. the issue is ski boots. I don't want the material creeping into the upper portion o... Read Moref the ski boot. this weekend I skied with midweight patagonia long underwear which fits snugly and with NO bunching. Simply trying these air bottoms on, the amount of material bunched at my ankles is a deal breaker. waist fits fine, material is excellent, stretch is excellent. When I ordered these, I watched the video and ordered the small to cover all bases, yet as I suspected the waist of the small is too tight. How do we go from small is too small and "medium" is too big. out of curiosity I measured the inseam on my patagonia expedition weight bottoms and they are 27 inches while the new air bottoms are 32 inches long. It could also be that the expedition weight (older style) have a panel crotch vs the air bottoms which don't. My patagonia midweight bottoms are closer to 27.5 inch inseam and again with a panel crotch and also fit great.

December 14, 2019

Capilene Air is wonderful!

I’ve been wearing Air tops for a year, in all kinds of conditions. Ultra light weight, breathes well, and warm. These bottoms fit and feel great as well.

December 12, 2019

Warm and comfy!

Love all my long underwear from Patagonia, these are particularly warm. I would say they run a little bigger than the other pairs I've had, so I got a LG instead of XL, and they're perfect.

December 12, 2019

Incredibly Comfortable

After opening them and trying them on, I didnt take them off for 4 straight days because how comfortable they are. Great for everyday wear under lighter outdoor pants in the colder months, not too hot with a lighter pair of pants, not too warm. Can’t say anything bad about them.

December 7, 2019

Capilene bottoms

Awesome product, warm and very comfortable

December 6, 2019

Complaint

These long john bottoms do not come with a sewn in fly. Seriously? My bad, upon more careful inspection of the picture it does not show a fly, so I'm just passing along what I found out the hard way. They did offer to exchange or refund, but I wanted the wool so I'm going to a seamstress. I've been skiing for 67 years so there is a l... Read Moreittle experience here about ski gear and I have been an ardent fan of Patagonia for years. I still wear a pair of long johns I purchased from these guys in the 90's. Please keep the flys guys.

Response from Patagonia
December 28, 2019

We're sorry these were lacking a key feature for you, Geno! Please note that alterations will void the warranty, but we hope that your seamstress is able to fulfill the design you're seeking.

December 4, 2019

NOT a warm top layer for sedentary people

I'm not an outdoors person; I'm someone who sits at a computer in an old, cold house. I've used Capilene Expedition Weight tops and bottoms to keep me warm for years. I decided to try Capilene Air to see if it's even warmer. It's not if you're sedentary, and it's the top layer. The "breathability" means... Read More that drafts go right through the fabric. I expect Capilene Air would fare much better if you put on a wind-stopping layer over it, and if you're active. But it's not a good base layer for sitting around in.

November 25, 2019

Great!!!

Great product! Love the warmth from them!!

November 25, 2019

Good for on the ski

Good for on the ski hill, but the Medium I found to be a but long.

November 23, 2019

Wishing for more

Great Capilene bottoms but they could be better. A wider variation of sizes would help make me feel like you actually cared about ME. Not Maine, me. One size does not fit all. nor does three or four. We are not all the same height. I am a trim person at 5’9” yet the medium waist is too tight, the length too long, and the volume too voluminous. On t... Read Morehe positive side, the soft comfort and the cozy warmth are wonderful. And finally, it’s early November, barely the start of the cold season in the Northern hemisphere and yet Patagonia is totally out of medium navy colored men’s Capilene Air bottoms. Big let down. The lightweight Capilene bottoms of the very early nineties are still the best. Why was such a good thing abandoned?

November 22, 2019

When one layer doesn’t cut it...

This should do the trick in most circumstances. Not bulky, nor bunchy - just right

November 22, 2019

Would not recommend

Nice material but the material pilled up first wash

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2019

Hi Adam, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that the bottoms pilled after the first wash. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 14, 2019

awesome for cold days

I just went wade fishing on the Kenai River and it was cold. The air bottoms kept me really warm and they were super comfortable.

November 14, 2019

Whose brilliant idea was it

Whose brilliant idea was it to make this without a fly? The older bottoms have a fly! I have returned it. FWIW, I wish it were a bit longer in the legs (I'm 6'2).

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Christopher, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment, but we'll pass this along to our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 11, 2019

Mens Cap Air Bottoms

Comfy, roomy, warm, true to size, i wouldn't call them slim fit, they kind of fit like the old expedition weight bottoms (2 gens ago), which is awesome. I use them as camp/sleeping bottoms so i like them a little bigger. That said, I would have bought a L instead of the XL. I bought the larger size b/c of my experiences in the last 2 years wit... Read Moreh your sizing. "Slim Fit" seems to be a little all over the map (maybe you all are playing with the range in size a bit?).

November 11, 2019

GREAT

Love my gear, came on time and is in perfect condition.

October 31, 2019

Soft warmth

The Air bottoms are nice and soft and warm and comfortable!

October 29, 2019

Comfortable Warmth

Super soft, warm and great fit. These are a looser fit than any other base layer that I have worn, which is my favorite thing about these pants. I use them mostly for work doing high rise/bosun chair window cleaning when the temperature dips. I do find them to hot for skiing or ice climbing. I pair it with the Capilene Air top and it is perfect!

October 24, 2019

Great product

I've had the tops for well over a year and just added the bottoms for the upcoming winter. Light, warm and comfy.

October 20, 2019

Not quite thermal pants, not quite long-underwear.

Love the material and fit of these bottoms. But the lack of a fly leaves me confused as to how I should categorize these. I bought a size larger (L) than I usually wear (M) so I can wear these over other capilene bottoms sort of like a thermal mid layer for super cold days.

October 7, 2019

Capilene Air Bottoms

Wish they had a fly! Other than that they are great. Run a bit large, mostly in the length.

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2019

Hi Nate! Thank you for bringing that to our attention. We are always looking for ways to better improve our products. In the meantime if you are for any reason unhappy with your Capilene Air Bottoms we would be more than happy to return or exchange them for a baselayer that has that feature. Check out our Men's Thermal Weight Bottoms that have fly access.

August 19, 2019

Great under wader pant for summer time

This is my first pair of these and Im definitely getting more. super breathable to let you stay cool when the sun is cookin, but provide enough warmth for endless hours of wading on northern BC rivers. A+

August 16, 2019

Really Warm Bottoms, Run Larger. NEED A FLY!

I got these with the top to wear as a set when snowboarding and climbing in cold weather situations. The bottoms run large, I would say I am a true to size medium for most bottoms. I wish I had a small for these. They are very warm and comfortable against the skin. I am not sure how Patagonia decided to not include a fly with these bottoms. A huge... Read More design flaw.

May 8, 2019

Capilene Air pants

Wore them fly fishing and slept in them at night during a camping trip on the Colorado River in Grand Canyon. Super warm and the fit is great. Worth every penny!

May 8, 2019

Love these

I can go from chopping wood to hiking to teaching my yoga class without an outfit change. Great fit and color. I have 3 pair and they are always my go to!

May 8, 2019

Great for under waders

Great fit, fabric and warmth. Pairs well with the RPS rock pants, and puff pants, as a base layer under waders.

February 27, 2019

Excellent

Good fit a little room to move, warm and breathable. Don't mind the no fly like some others - with a pair of underpants underneath the fly doesn't seem that useful anyhow.

February 25, 2019

Fio

I have used these on ski trips 4 trips this year. I agree with other reviewers; why emasculate men's bottoms and not include a FLY? Albeit warm, hey are little too loose fitting for my liking especially when searching through layers to find a a FLY that's not there.... Seems more of a design for lounging than layering Maybe gen 2 will fi... Read Morex mystery of unrecoverable tackle.

February 3, 2019

Review

Needs a fly. Besides that it’s a great layer. But the no fly makes it not worth the hassle

February 1, 2019

No fly!

These would be much better if there was a fly! I didn’t notice that until I put them on to go skiing. The fit is a little loose also, but comfortable.

January 12, 2019

Soft and comfortable

Warm, light, comfortable, you feel this pants like air layer :) Not tight, this is very good for long days in mountains. No fly? But no extra fabric and no uncomfortable points if you use Nano-Air pants (with stiff long zipper) with this layer.

January 1, 2019

No Fly makes these a no go

Own both the 100% wool version of the hoody, as well as the 50/50 crew neck top and though I question the decision to go away from a 100% wool base layer, I figured I’d give the pants a go as well, with the mind to use them as a winter mid-layer. The fit is a bit loose and funky, but passable. However, I didn’t notice until they were on and nature... Read More was calling that there was no fly, WTF Patagonia, these are now basically useless?! Why would you make your warmest weight base layer bottom that will be likely worn in a multiple layer winter scenario with no fly? Now I have to drop my shell pants and all my other layers to pee when it’s -5 outside? Frankly, the marketing speak that the no-fly is warmer strikes me as an excuse for a manufacturing cheap out...as does the move to a 50/50 wool/capilene blend from the original 100% wool garments, which I will say performed perfectly for me before the change. These are going back, interesting that a small design decision like this can turn the product into a fail.

December 12, 2018

No Fly!!!!????

No fly is a deal breaker. Same on the R1, no fly. Patagonia you're killing me!

December 12, 2018

Freeze when you have to go

Very nice and warm, it has legs long enough not to leave any gap around the socks. No fly might help keep you warm, but you will freeze when you have to go. If it had a fly it would be great. It would be nice to have the previous 1, 2, 3, or 4 on the label to make it easier to pick the right weight garment out of the drawer.

November 27, 2018

Very warm

Great pants, very soft and warm. They are a big long but fit as designed in the waist. Also the lack of a fly does not bother me at all. This product is a 5 out of 5 even if that is an issue for you these pants are worth taking that extra 10sec to unbutton pants.

September 28, 2018

No fly - No Buy

Title says it all. Fabric sounds enticing and I would be in but for the no fly zone.

September 20, 2018

No fly ain't fly

Love the material but the lack of a fly drives me (and a certain male part) nuts. Can't use them with a harness so the can't be used ice climbing, mountaineering, ski no, etc. Do any alpinists work at Patagonia anymore? Bad trend, bad decision.

August 9, 2018

The Return of Capilino!

The rebirth of the MerinoAir line is the best news: I wore my MerinoAirHoody daily for a month in the Alps - and nightly - and only got two or three chances to do something like a wash, and it turned out to be the perfect garment. Disappointed when the line went away, I ordered these the moment I found them (concealed by their new name). The new Ca... Read MoreplineMerino is softer than the first go around, appears to have transitioned away from what some 'men' felt was a feminine pattern (zigzags? really, guys?) and into the much more masculine waffle knit. I wore the hoody as a midlayer most days, and if it wasn't on me it was at the top of the pack. If anything, their sizing is slightly paranoid: I ordered the medium bottoms and they came in... too big, so I'm exchanging them for a small. Love this product, glad to see it back.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches