burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Capilene Air Bottoms Reviews

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 93 Reviews

Clear All

Women's Capilene® Air Bottoms

4.2/5
Kinda Large
January 25, 2023

Breathable yet so warm!

I saw the holes in the pattern and not gonna lie, cold not picture this keeping me warm. Ummmm, and after wearing it I can say it is the most comfy, breathable, and cozy warm baselayer I've ever worn! I bought like 4 more of the bottoms and pants and wear them as baselayer in snow or on cold camping trips. I also wear the bottoms as pj pants. ... Read MoreJust be careful not to snag it against anything... truly meant as a base layer. To wash I just toss in a bucket with soapy water, rinse, and lay flat or hang gently. Dries fast and looks great!

January 7, 2023

Great warm underlayer or cold weather leggings

Warm without being bulky or constricting, these tights make the perfect light underlayer inside snow pants. I also wear them as tights on a cold day. I love the wide waistband. They can be a little bit itchy and they run large. I'm curvy, and the small fits well.

December 7, 2022

Warm and Moisture-Wicking

These are very warm and actually wick away sweat. My only complaint is the waistband-I wish it was a thicker elastic so they didn't feel saggy after a few wears. Overall, best base layers for variable conditions (I've skinned, skied groomers, skied powder) and staying warm and dry.

December 2, 2022

Runs big. Tag itches. Still good though.

I got two pairs of these. First, a small, since that is what I tend to be in Patagonia. The smalls were too big, but I kept them anyway. The tag was super itchy, so I cut it out, which unfortunately left two holes. I will sew those up. I bought an extra small soon after and when I was pulling them up and on me, the crotch ripped. I sewed that up to... Read Moreo. The folks at the store were super nice and willing to replace them for me, but I opted to just see those back up too. I dont think I have a particular sensitivity about tags, but both the tags on these pants were too much. Either way, I like the pants overall. They are a good base layer option for me. I would recommend them for anyone who runs cold, and would suggest sizing down for a more snug/close to skin fit if thats what you are looking for.

November 17, 2022

The material went downhill

What happened? These used to be soft and now they are scratchy and irritating. Loved my pair from the original release. Returning these.

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2022

Hi Joanna! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We haven't made any changes to the material in recent seasons so we're sorry to hear about this disappointment. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 4, 2022

Comfy

I got these to throw on cold morning dog walks and wear around the house. They aren't as warm as I was expecting. My previously bought pants with fleece lined are tighter woven and warmer. They were listed as warmest base layer so I assumed they would be warmer. Maybe will work well underneath ski suit but as a layer my pants are warmer. Could... Read More't find laundry directions in English but appears to be needed to wash on delicate. Would have preferred to be able to throw in with rest of laundry on normal.

Response from Patagonia
November 14, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! When it comes to laundering this item, you will want to machine wash on a cold gentle cycle and tumble dry low. Hopefully this helps!

October 18, 2022

Weird, but Warm

The texture is weird and grabs everything you sit on - fuzz, dog hair, dust, you name it. It's like velcro. And despite them being *extremely* thin, they're honestly very warm. When I layer under ski pants, they're perfect and wick sweat away while keeping me toasty. But they're not useful for anything other than skiing since t... Read Morehey are literally covered in dog hair with no hope of ever cleaning them no matter how many washes.

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Mary. This fabric can indeed attract and hold pet hair, and you're right that it's designed to be worn under other garments. If this becomes too much of an issue, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

September 7, 2022

Amazing! But the crotch rips.

Ok, this has been my second purchase of Capilene Air bottoms. I now own four bottoms, two crew neck tops and two hooded tops. I LOVE the Capilene Air product line because it has the comfort and texture of a sweater, with the flexibility and fit of your bottom-most layer. Love them. BUT! Two of my four pairs of bottoms have a hole in the crotch. Why... Read More? Well, I decided to put them on while sitting on the floor. There is an odd combination of leverage between foot-putting and waistband-grabbing that results in a ripped hole. If the awesome folks at Patagonia could reinforce the crotch, they would be perfect. But hey! I still wear them, hole and all!

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2022

We're sorry to hear about the durability issue but we're so glad the Capilene Air Bottoms have otherwise worked well for you! As always, please do reach out to our team if you need any assistance with a return. We'll be happy to help!

August 30, 2022

Easy to layer and warm

I bought these to use as a base layer for everyday wear in the winter since I'm always cold. These work great for layering - they aren't restrictive and tight, but are snug to my thighs and calves, making them easy to wear under other pants. I'm 5'5" and 97 pounds and am glad Patagonia carries something small enough to fit!... Read More

August 20, 2022

The fabric is inconsistent from pair to pair

I bought two pairs. One pair is a softer wool and the other pair is a rougher polyester. I complained to customer service.

Response from Patagonia
August 24, 2022

Hey Nancy, thank you for the feedback. These are a 51% RWS-certified merino wool and 49% recycled polyester blend, so they have both. You can read more about it on the product page under the product description. If you think you might have a warranty situation on your hands, you're absolutely welcome to [send them in](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for an evaluation.

July 1, 2022

These were so uncomfortable that

These were so uncomfortable that I returned them immediately. I really miss the Capilene silk weight long johns. Please bring those back!

Response from Patagonia
July 5, 2022

We're sorry these bottoms weren't comfortable for you! Thank you for sharing this feedback, Christina. We will definitely pass it along to our design team. In the meantime, you might be happier with the [Capilene Midweight Bottoms](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-midweight-bottoms/44492.html?dwvar_44492_color=BLK&cgid=womens-baselayers), which have a smoother finish. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

March 24, 2022

Not soft enough

I generally wear small but these xs were no problem because they have a lot of stretch and run, maybe, slightly large. They are fine for most people but I wanted them to be a little softer.

March 23, 2022

Best baselayer!

I usually wear a large in pants, but got the medium on the recommendation of the reviews and feel very happy with that size. I love that these bottoms don't make my middle feel squished. They are super warm. They are perfect for winter yoga in the park layered under the packout tights. I love how soft and cozy these are. After a long day o... Read Moreutside, once I strip off all the outer layers I will often wear these to just lounge around the house. Definitely recommend!

March 21, 2022

These are so terrible its embarrassing

Wow, what a disappointment. I bought these last winter and they have been a continual letdown. They are so thin and impossibly un-warm. I may as well be naked under my snow gear. They stretched out immediately, to the point where they fall down below my hips and I have to tuck them into my top. I honestly thought I got a defective pair so I switche... Read Mored them out for a new pair at the Patagonia store but the new ones did the same thing. The store manager said thats just what happens to them and its normal... umm??? What?? Im a PSIA/AASI Snowboard Instructor so Im teaching in cold conditions every day in the winter. I thought I could trust Patagonia with my money and gear quality but this was such a let down.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2022

Hey Lily, thanks for the review. We're really sorry to hear of the disappointment with the Capilene Air Bottoms. It sounds like a couple sizes down would have been beneficial for you as the whole line is super stretchy. It also sounds like the warmth these provided wasn't cutting it for the conditions you're working in. We suggest checking out the [Women's Capilene Thermal Weight Bottoms](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-thermal-weight-bottoms/43692.html?dwvar_43692_color=BLK&cgid=womens-baselayers-thermal-weight) as a replacement. We'll be sure to share this feedback with the team.

February 28, 2022

Women's Capilene® Air Bottoms

These are the warmest, coziest long underwear I've ever owned! I liked the first pair I bough so much I bought a second! Great for winter commuting, winter sports, and all day wear.

February 23, 2022

So comfy

So comfortable you forget you have them on. Wore them under my ski pants, legs were neither hot nor cold

February 9, 2022

Amazing for cold days

These bottoms instantly keep your legs warm on cold days. If you redesign them Id love if you could make them a bit sleeker.

February 7, 2022

Comfy & warm

These are great! Id say I wear a Small in most clothing lines. These are a little big- but not much at all!

February 6, 2022

very comfortable and warm

Not itchy, very warm, fit great. Worried they may stretch out over time but we'll have to see.

February 6, 2022

Super-comfortable, but have an issue with durability

I loved these bottoms for several reasons. The knit is very light and airy, stretches and rebounds gorgeously and the wide waistband is the most comfortable I've found on a baselayer. No itch from the wool, and the odor control is great. The length was just above my ankle and the rise was just right. I wore these bottoms for hiking and XC skii... Read Moreng a handful of times this season and the temperature regulation was perfect for active movement in temps from 0-20 (I need a lighter-weight baselayer for skiing above the 20s or else I'm too hot). HOWEVER, I have initiated a return for the bottoms, as they now have a hole in the crotch "seam" area. I could repair it but I'm not sure how the knit would take stitches without tearing further, and I think that for the cost of this piece, I should be able to expect it not to wear out with fewer than 10 wears and a couple of washes. I saw a couple of reviews about holes where thighs touch, and wonder if that would be next (the hole in this pair is just on the "guesset" area). I sincerely hope Patagonia can somehow design a way to reinforce this area, because this material is awesome in every way.

February 1, 2022

Perfect under layer

Finally! The perfect under layer for walking, hiking, snowshoeing, fat biking! Light, doesnt bunch, fits well under wind pants!

January 31, 2022

These are Perfect!

Love these so much! Work perfectly under my ski pants and also under my joggers to take the pup out for a walk. Probably could have gotten size S but these are so thin they work! And comfy! So warm!

January 26, 2022

Dreamy, most comfortable base layer ever

The moment I put these on, I knew I had found my base layer, after never having loved any previous ones. The lack of a restrictive elastic waist band makes these the most comfortable ever. The fabric feels like a light cashmere, and you'll barely notice you're wearing these, other than a magical cozy feeling on your legs.

January 24, 2022

So warm, so light

This is the only layer I wear under my snow pants for skiing in temperatures from single to double digits. They provide warmth without bulk and also breathe well for warmer conditions. The xs should fit a range of body types. I'm pear-shaped and these stretch enough for me across the hip/butt (~38").

January 12, 2022

Wool is bad for earth no matter what

I purchased these. They are not as warm as the capilene only layer. Theres no scenario in which raising animals for human products is sustainable. As a brand its tragic Patagonia is compromising its brand to produce these given that the only reason anyone would purchase these over the capilene only is for the false perception that the wool adds a l... Read Moreayer of quality and I would argue anyone who claims it does is just snobby. This whole line should be removed before the brand loses its credibility.

Response from Patagonia
January 21, 2022

Hello Annie! We agree that the humane treatment of animals is of most importance, which is why we have worked hard to develop a strict supplier evaluation process, as well as the Patagonia Wool Standard (PWS). You can read more about our efforts here: https://www.patagonia.com/our-footprint/responsible-wool-standard.html. Nonetheless, we truly and deeply appreciate your feedback and we will ensure to pass it along to the appropriate member of our team!

January 5, 2022

Best backcountry layer

Decided to treat myself to some nice warm base layers for backcountry skiing this year. Just finished my first yurt trip of the season with temps in the teens. These are perfect for keeping you warm but not too warm and wick moisture so well I didnt even want to take them off after a day of touring. Im 59, 140 lbs, medium was good for me.

December 25, 2021

Best Patagonia Bottom Layers Yet!

These are the best bottoms ever! I have had 3-4 different versions of the Patagonia bottoms and these are by far superior to the others. They are warm, soft, and don't stretch out. I have had them for two weeks and worn them everyday. I have worn them under jeans, skirts, and leggings while hiking, working, and just relaxing. Honestly, these a... Read Morere superior in every way.

December 5, 2021

Warm but not enough for very cold weather

I love how seamless, breathable and comfortable this base layer is. I hope someday there is a thicker version. They are enough for 30 degree day if youre only out for a short period of time or intense activities. But I work outdoors in 20-30 degree windy weather for 10 hours a day. I have to wear this together with REI Midweight base layer tights t... Read Moreo be just warm enough. I also do the same layering for winter hiking and camping. I have eczema so I usually cant wear merino wool. But these are ok for my legs, (I had to return the top shirt because it made my back too irritated). All in all I still recommend it as a good base layer. Im 5ft 6 and 135 lbs. Small fits me perfectly.

November 3, 2021

versatile

Good pair of pants to have for the winter.

October 28, 2021

Perfect fit and functiom

I especially like the absence of a thick elastic waistband.

August 22, 2021

Bummer

The only product I've sent back for reimbursement via the Ironclad guarantee. Sadly, both pair I purchased wore through in the thighs. These are the most comfy and warmest base layers ever, so I was really bummed that there was no repairing the holes and that it happened on a second pair. I imagine that if you are wearing anything aside from a... Read More really smooth synthetic over top (think ski pants) and your thighs touch, there'll be holes, and it won't take long. Can't wait for Patagonia's awesome designers to get this sorted so I can invest in another pair.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2021

Thank you so much for the feedback Johanna. We appreciate knowing where the problem areas are so we can adjust. We'll pass it along to the design team.

August 6, 2021

The perfect baselayer as long as your thighs don't touch

I bought my first pair from a local outdoor gear store in Alaska when they first came out. After 1 wear there was a hole in the inseam of the crotch and I was like oh that's a bummer, maybe it was just a fluke. The hole turned into the entire crotch getting blown out within a month and the pants had to be retired which is such a bummer because... Read More they are my favorite (and expensive). When they released the navy color I bought a second pair thinking the first was just a one off. Same thing happened. Worthless within a couple wears. For Xmas my mom got me a pair and I was over the moon because I had since gone through 2 pairs and desperately wanted them to work. Same thing happened. I own 3 of the air tops and the leggings even with the crotch worn out with holes were my staple for wearing under a layer for field work outside. If your thighs touch, these pants will not work for you. ever. I saw Patagonia respond to a review saying "there must have been some sort of abrasion happening at the seam" yes, Patagonia, it's called thighs touching. IF your thighs do not touch, these pants are the greatest. So warm. So soft. The perfect base layer. Sigh.

July 15, 2021

Warm and cuddly

I bought these for my upcoming JMT backpacking trip. Light weight, warm and cuddly for my sleeping bag at night after a long day of hiking. Perfect

June 16, 2021

Two months and going strong

I've been using this piece on the Pacific Crest Trail for the past two months and I still love it. I hike in it in cold temps, hang out in camp in it, sleep in it, then repeat the next day. Incredibly warm for its weight, yet still breaths well. I have gotten a couple holes in the crotch that I have easily repaired. Curious to see if it will h... Read Moreold up for a few more months!

May 10, 2021

Showing your underwear

Someone can clearly see your underwear when wearing these. Not okay!

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2021

Hey Hedvig! We're so sorry you had this problem. These bottoms are built as a base layer, or long underwear if you will. They aren't expected to be used as an outer layer. You might like our [Centered Tights](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-centered-tights/21961.html) if you're looking for a nice legging.

April 22, 2021

So comfy, want to wear them all day

Just as comfortable as they look to be. Soft and breathable. Seams in all the right places. Looking forward to winter sports in these.

April 10, 2021

Warm enough... easily torn

Ive had these pants for only a few months and there is already a tear in the inseam... Im frustrated because the cost of these are high! I will see myself but beware these are delicate.

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Megan! We're sorry to hear that they aren't holding up. They're covered by our Ironclad Guarantee so please reach out to our Customer Service team to set up a return.

March 27, 2021

Never want to take them off

Love these! Warm and cozy for both lounging and running in a snow storm. Looking forward to using these on my upcoming thru hike.

March 10, 2021

Super comfortable

These pants are amazing. Some how they manage to be warm, at at the same time feel like your wearing nothing.

March 7, 2021

Love them!

These are perfect lounge-around-the-house tights. Warm but breathable, wooly but not itchy. Im sure theyll be a great base layer, I just havent needed that yet. Nice relaxed waist that does not bind. Im 5 5 and about 122 lbs. Size small is perfect. Highly recommend!

March 3, 2021

Great fabric, construction and design need work

I am 5'9", 150lbs and generally a small/size 4-6. I love the fabric, these kept me super warm and toasty dry for snowboarding. Never felt the wind on the lift. They have a short inseam and fit more like a capri for me. I wish they offered a tall version. On the second day I wore them, the crotch ripped when I was pulling them on. The rep ... Read MoreI spoke to said this is an issue they are working to correct, and that I should treat them gently, which seems counterintuitive for base layers (they're not stockings). He also said I shouldn't pull them up too high, and that they should sit on the hip. I would honestly prefer a high waist fit for base layer pants, it feels more secure. I hope Patagonia updates these with reinforced seams, especially in the crotch, a longer inseam and a higher rise so they stay up.

February 21, 2021

Warm and a bit of unexpected stretch just after a few washes

These are very warm. The first few times I wore them as a base layer I was happy with them. However, after a few washes they started to ride up and are kinda more loose than I would like. Just based on cost alone, I expected these to hold up better. Id recommend looking elsewhere, especially if these will be in regular rotation in your winter wardr... Read Moreobe.

February 18, 2021

Warm layer for skiing

This layer is great for warmth and maneuverability when cross country skiing! Only issue is it does pull up from fuzz and hair because it is textured.

February 16, 2021

Perfect Fabric

The fabric is lightweight but very warm. Garment can be worn under fitted clothing easily. Only change I would like is a much shorter waistband. I am petite and the waistband is way too tall for my body.

Response from Patagonia
March 6, 2021

Thank you for your excellent feedback on the rise, fit and fabric of these Capilene Air Bottoms, Judith!

February 14, 2021

Best yet for Winter fun!

I bought these long underwear hoping for less than I got. WARM, COMFORTABLE, easy to add a layer on top for single digit mountain weather. So good I bought a second pair... So GREAT, I bought a pair for my outdoors sports daughter. SHE LOVES IT too.

February 13, 2021

What a great difference these make!

These are great for layering under pants or sweats. Unlike other "thermals" this actually kept me warm! Love them.

February 8, 2021

Great ski base layer

Super thin, stretchy fabric. Kept me perfectly warm on many ski trips!

February 2, 2021

Best Base Layer I've Ever Worn

I was hesitant to purchase these because of the price. Since the description and reviews described exactly what I wanted, I gave them a try. My primary use is warmth with a nice stylish look under skirts and dresses. I'm sure they will also be great under pants when I do some cold weather hikes. They look great, the few seams they have are act... Read Moreually difficult to find, they air dry quickly, they are extremely comfortable and warm, and the fit is perfect for me. I am 5'0" 113 lbs. and I purchased an XXS. I recall someone describing them as a sweater for your legs and I completely agree. After multiple wears, I am starting to notice some pilling on the thighs where my skirt rubs with movement. I think that's to be expected for this material and an easy fix. If they came in grey or brown, I would buy another pair.

January 25, 2021

Happy

Purchased the air bottoms for my wife. She absolutely loves them and has indicated that they are light weight and extremely soft and comfortable. She wore them out today for a 3 mile walk in 20 degree temperatures with a windchill making the temperature around 12 degrees. She is suggesting I purchase a pair of mens for myself.

January 24, 2021

Very comfortable

These are the best light long underwear I have had from Patagonia. Had many over the years too. Go great under all their pants. Warm but not stuffy feeling. Good wicking. Wear around house after an outdoor day.

January 16, 2021

GREAT; I THOUGHT!

I was happy to get these so quickly. The weather in Wisconsin is not kind. Previously, I have had the very warm Patagonia bottoms. Thought these would be the same. They were not. I had them on for around an hour hiking and the completely stretched out. Had to remove them because the waist and behind became huge. I ordered down a size in case there ... Read Morewas an issue like this. Will return them. so sad they do not fit correctly.

January 8, 2021

Super Warm and Soft

I like how warm these are (I also have the top which I love even more) and they're very comfortable you can barely feel them BUT they have no elastic on top at all, therefore, they can fall down when running, etc. so I don't use them for that. I recommend these for outdoor activities like climbing, hiking, as a baselayer doing outdoor wor... Read Morek, etc. For that, they're excellent.

December 24, 2020

SOFT

I would not usually spend this much on base layer, but I did because hooray they do NOT have a seam in that place where I do not want a seam! Most base layers and tights seem to have a seam there. You know where. Thank you for finally offering a base layer without "that" seam!

December 22, 2020

Great Fit

This is the second pair of Air Bottoms I've purchased. I wear a pair everyday in the winter. They fit like a sweater around my waist. No painful waist band! Very warm and comfortable.

December 15, 2020

Shockingly Durable

I rolled my ankle and took a tumble on an asphalt trail last weekend while I was wearing these Capilene air bottoms. When I removed the pants to check my knee, I was surprised to see that my knee was so torn up and bloody because the pants had not sustained any damage at all. While these pants will not protect your skin (I never thought they would)... Read More, they are insanely durable (or maybe this was just a fluke incident?).

November 27, 2020

Definitely super cozy but pilling after one wash

When I put these on I felt love - seriously. Super cozy and kept me warm in wintry Yosemite recently. But, when I got home and washed them on gentle - and hung dry - they're pilling all up and down the sides of the legs : (

Response from Patagonia
December 23, 2020

Thanks for your feedback. Pilling is bound to happen on garments like this that encounter friction. Check out our [repairs videos](https://www.patagonia.com/repairs/#repairvideos) on how to take care of that!

November 20, 2020

Super warm

I got these for MN winter and they were so warm layered under my yoga pants. The material is unique knit- I probably Should have sized down.

November 19, 2020

Warm and comfy

Wished I could wear these all day long. So comfortable! Great fit, awesome look and very warm worn under hiking or running pants. Also wonderful to wear by themselves around the house on a cold morning.

November 11, 2020

Warm and lightweight-- but pills

Very warm and lightweight. I am 5'6" 128 lbs and usually wear small or sometimes medium bottoms. The small fit perfectly. I have used it backpacking and bikepacking and they work great. When I first got them as a christmas present and I was living in my van in the winter (very cold) so I wore these to sleep in every night. They immediatel... Read Morey pilled and got lint allover them even though I had only slept in them and hadn't worn them for anything active yet. They still work great but have gotten a small hole in them. I think these issues might just be because they were the first edition. I later got an air capilene balaclava which has none of these issues at all. So I feel that the new base layers probably don't have these issues.

November 10, 2020

Sweater legs

Surprisingly fluffy and sweater like, these leggings are warm and comfy for running and hiking but I wouldn't wear them without a skirt over them when going to town.

October 30, 2020

Fabulous!

They are so soft and warm. I wear them almost every day, early in the morning when the house is chilly. I ll wear them to walk and jog outside in the upcoming colder weather. Love, love love.

October 4, 2020

Breathable and warm, unfortunately not durable

Have been wearing these around the house with the intention to take them on an upcoming backpacking trip. The material is breathable and super warm, fit is true to size. In so many ways I'm happy with these leggings, however they wore a sizable hole in the crotch in less than 5 wears, no washes, with me just sitting in them around the house. T... Read Morehe seamless quality of this base layer is great, however I recommend finding some way to reinforce the areas of these leggings that may receive more day-to-day stress. For the price I paid for these, they unfortunately don't hold up.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2020

Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to write this review. While the coziness of this baselayer makes it tempting to wear on it's own, it's intended use is to be layered. Layering will help to extend the use of the garment. With that said, it should not be tearing with such limited use, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to send it in for return. You could also consider looking at the Capilene Thermal Weight Bottoms for a baselayer option with a sturdier fabric.

September 23, 2020

Wow, wonderful material, but super big

I bought this baselayer for going home to the Arctic Circle. I'm 5'7" and almost 200lbs. By my measurements, I should be squarely in the XL category but when I put these on they fit less like a base layer and more like sweatpants. Rather than being skintight and good for wearing under jeans, there was actual loose fabric bagging and ... Read Moresagging behind my knees! Yes the material is super stretchy but this is without even the stretch being activated! I am ordering two sizes down to make up for this weird fit because I was SO impressed with the seamless soft knit material. As a Lapplander I have owned a LOT of base layers and these seem spectacular. I really hope they're opaque in a Medium despite my 44" hips and 34" waist, because I will wear them exclusively underneath skirts, jeans, and everything else if so!

August 8, 2020

Very cozy but...

These are 100% see through. I'm keeping them anyway bc they are super comfortable. A little loose but I am on the edge of a small and medium so I went with M to be safe, should have got a small. But if you hold these up to your eyes you can see through them very clearly. Just wear black underwear with them

July 20, 2020

Not designed for activity

Im currently hiking the John Muir trail and purchased the Air bottoms and top to wear to sleep. With minimal movement the pants have begun to rip at the side hip by night 4. Shocked this happened by just sleeping in them.Very comfortable and warm but basically as fragile as womens pantyhose. Im returning and will reordered a cheaper and more reliab... Read Morele base layer. Beautiful and form fitting but the most disappointing patagonia product I purchased.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

Hi Debra, we're so sorry to hear about the untimely wear of your Women's Capilene Air Bottoms. Please feel free to begin a warranty return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

March 3, 2020

Doesn't hold up

I wear these bottoms primarily under my dry suit while kayaking and hanging out at camp/ sleep in on cold nights so they are hardly every exposed alone. However, they have formed a quarter size hole on the butt somehow. This has happened to me before with wool baselayers which is why I paid for these. I thought since they were a mixture of wool and... Read More polyester they would hold up better. I hope I can get them repaired because they are cozy and warm.

Response from Patagonia
April 5, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Kelli! While the Capilene Air Bottoms aren't exposed to the elements, it sounds like there may be some abrasion occurring between them and the boat, perhaps. Please [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us so that we can help you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) them to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund. We'll be happy to make some other product recommendations as well!

February 25, 2020

Best Patagonia Piece I Own

This is my all time favorite piece that I own from Patagonia. It is so versatile, warm but breathable, and soft. I wear these under my waders, ski pants, and jeans when its extremely cold. The waist comes up to the belly button which is helpful for layering. They are thin enough that you can get another tight layer on over them if need be. Im never... Read More too hot in these and always warm. These are a must have!! Best baselayer on the market to date.

February 3, 2020

Scratchy, Not made to last

I used these mainly to sleep in at night during a month long backpacking trip where I'd be at high elevation for most of the time. While they did keep me warm, they were uncomfortable to wear. I didn't like the feeling of them next to my skin. They were scratchy feeling and I dreaded putting them on each night. I had really bug bitten leg... Read Mores and the leggings just irritated them even worse. They also started to fall apart on the first week of my month long trip. There was a hole in the crotch and two holes on each side where the waist met the leg (likely from pulling them on). After washing them once, they were pilled and funky looking -definitely an under layer only. I did end up returning them, but I would not purchase these Capilene® Air Bottoms again, even though they're super lightweight.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2020

Hi Kate! Thank you for your review, and we're sorry to hear the Capilene Air Bottoms didn't work out for you. You might have some better luck with our [W's Thermal Weight Bottoms](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-thermal-weight-bottoms/43692.html?dwvar_43692_color=CCNX&cgid=womens-baselayers#tile-7=&start=1&sz=24), as this style does not feature any merino wool. They also have a taller waistband which promotes a more articulated, comfortable fit. Please feel free to [contact](https://help.patagonia.com/s/#searchterm=contact) us if we can offer any additional guidance on the best kit for your needs. Cheers!

January 3, 2020

Warmest, Warm Pants

I got these pants before heading to Southern Utah for a winter adventure (low temps were -15 windchill - real life). We snowshoed, hiked the narrows, and hiked all over Zion, Bryce, and Grand Staircase-Escalante, and these pants were absolutely perfect. I was so warm, but not too warm. They never got funky after wearing them for many days in a row.... Read More They're soft af too! Thank you!

January 2, 2020

Superb. Very stretchy, light, soft,

Superb. Very stretchy, light, soft, and toasty. They don't get clammy, itchy, or stinky. Pure magic.

December 28, 2019

Warm and toasty!

Been teaching skiing for 25 years. These are the warmest and lightest thermals I've ever worn. It's been 12 degrees with wind and I'm comfy!

December 18, 2019

Best base layer ever

I love the Capilene line of base layers. They are lightweight and so very comfortable, yet are also very warm and cozy. The bottoms fit comfortably under jeans, yoga pants, hiking pants, because they are thin and not bulky. They also are not tight or binding. I bought another pair for my daughter for Christmas.

December 13, 2019

W;s Capilene Air bottoms

Love them, nice and warm but not woo warm, soft too!

December 12, 2019

had to order a smaller

had to order a smaller size than I expected, they needed to be tight against my skin so I ordered the size xs. they fit great except that my legs are too long. I am 5'8" and about 130lbs to give the idea. patagonia needs to work on more consistent sizing I think, and include the long-legged slender gals!

December 3, 2019

Toasty and Comfy

These are the warmest, coziest base layer under snow pants or jeans and great solo for running or just hanging out in a coolish house.

November 30, 2019

Love it!!!

It’s so light and warm, so excited to wear’em to my next trip to Patagonia in couple of weeks.

November 29, 2019

Nice n warm

They’re really good leggings and super warm, I will say I sized down like all the reviews said to do and got an XS and they were still big on me (I’m usually a small). I’m 5’2 and about 110 pounds and got xxs, just for reference!

November 28, 2019

Bottoms seem a little large.

Bottoms seem a little large.

November 22, 2019

Warmth

I bought these for winter fishing when running out in the boat can be really cold but once you’re on the flat it warms up. Very comfortable in both situations, I.e., not hot when the boat stops and sun gets higher. I liked so much O ordered an extra pair.

November 22, 2019

Really comfortable, warm and i

Really comfortable, warm and i love the way they are shaped, so nothing is too short or tight

November 21, 2019

Great base layer

These bottoms are super warm when layered. As other reviewers have mentioned, they do seem really thin on their own (due to the air insulation) and have already started pilling with light wear so far. The tag is rather itchy in the back so I'll probably end up cutting it off. Overall they will serve their purpose of being a warm layer for skii... Read Moreng and winter camping (and PJ bottoms on cold nights!).

November 19, 2019

Thumbs Up!

These capilene air bottoms are perfect for layering on a cold winter's day. I wear them for alpine touring, and I'll be sweating on the way up and they wick perfectly! On the way down, they stay cozy and warm! They also wash well and maintain their loft.

November 9, 2019

The best.

soft, fluffy, warm- couldn't ask for more. The seamless design is a dream to wear, and they're incredibly warm. Tag was a little itchy but easy to cut out. Absolutely love these. Runs a little on the big side, I'm 5'3", 135 lbs, athletic build, and the XS is perfect. S fit too but wasn't really tight, I'd worry ab... Read Moreout them getting baggy if they stretched out at all.

November 7, 2019

You get what you pay for

Great base layer! I live in Montana and need all the warmth I can get. These do not disappoint. I sized down to an XS and they fit perfect. I’m 5ft 6in and 125lb.

November 5, 2019

WOMEN'S CAPILENE AIR BOTTOMS

I MEASURED MYSELF PRIOR TO PURCHASE AND ORDERED THE XL, THESE WERE WAY TO BIG. PRODUCT WAS NOT TRUE TO SIZE AND AM UNSURE WHICH SIZE TO ORDER NOW

October 15, 2019

Extremely comfortable, no itch, pants

Extremely comfortable, no itch, pants stretched a bit in butt/front

September 26, 2019

The updates are better

I used to own a pair of full fleece Capilene bottoms - I believe these updated are much warmer. I'm not sure how - when you hold them up to the light, you can see a LOT of light pass through. But they are indeed very warm under a layer of clothing. My new favorite leggings

August 13, 2019

Super Warm and a must have for winter camping

These leggings are a game changer for colder blooded people for winter camping. Im 5'10 and 160 pounds and got a size large and they fit wonderfully on their own or over a pair of another leggings for extra warmth. Wore these car camping in 0-20 degree weather over another pair of simple leggings and was perfectly warm. my only complaint was t... Read Morehat the seem (although marketed as seamless) in the crouch popped open even though I mainly wore these to bed with not alot of hard activity at all. Patagonia has a wonderful return policy though so i was able to exchange them super easily. Even though they had a small error it didnt stop me from re-ordering and even considering buying another paid because they are just that warm and weightless. The Air top that matches is also A MUST if winter camping!!

February 9, 2019

Tag fail

These long johns are really warm and comfy, but I gotta wonder why, after going to the trouble of making a seamless baselayer, they had to go and sew in not one, but TWO itchy labels. They’re so tightly stitched I’m afraid my trusty seam-ripper will damage these expensive pants if I try to remove them. Wish they came in a lighter color, too, as the... Read Morey are a golden retriever hair-magnet. It’s a shame, because the product is very nice otherwise.

December 11, 2018

love these!!

These are wonderful. They are very soft, adequately warm, and fit me perfectly (5'8 120# size small). They have held up very well after a few cycles of washing and drying, with no shrinkage. I can wear them for a few consecutive days without them getting too stretched out. Only minor issue is that the tags were itchy (even the patagonia tag t... Read Morehat shows on the back) but I removed them with a seam ripper without any issues. Love that you made these, Patagonia, thank you!

November 16, 2018

Highly versatile

Patagonia base layer bottoms must keep me warm! These fit perfectly in the stride, leg length and waist and are comfortable. I have a vast number of Patagonia bottoms, but this is different. I like the new weave, the warmth of merino, and the knit is pretty enough to wear these as leggings with a shift. Like the navy blue, too. I have to be very ha... Read Moreppy with this base layer to pay this much. Have worn them only once, so time will tell about how they hold up. Another review mentioned pilling which I would not like.

November 15, 2018

Perfect Weight

These pants are so good! They are really stretchy and not scratchy at all. Have already had to wear them several times and they are just a light, comfortable layer. I’ve had the mid weight capilene layer and much prefer these for the stretch they offer. I’m a large in most Patagonia bottoms but think I could get away with a medium in these. I kept ... Read Moremy size large but they do stretch out around the knees and tush after a few wears.

September 22, 2018

these are EVERYTHING

if i were to make a perfect pant - these would be it! they go up to around your belly button and zero digging with a elastic. i strongly dislike when companies use thin elastic in pants. The fabric is seamless, no digging and just so comfortable. I am 5'4, 130 with average build and got the medium, and the sizing is great. Please make in lots ... Read Moremore colors because I will buy them all. Thank you Patagonia for figuring these out.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches