Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Air Bottoms

Write Your Review

4.61 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 28 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Air Bottoms

4.61
Kinda Large
March 3, 2020

Doesn't hold up

I wear these bottoms primarily under my dry suit while kayaking and hanging out at camp/ sleep in on cold nights so they are hardly every exposed alone. However, they have formed a quarter size hole on the butt somehow. This has happened to me before with wool baselayers which is why I paid for these. I thought since they were a mixture of wool and... Read More polyester they would hold up better. I hope I can get them repaired because they are cozy and warm.

Response from Patagonia
April 5, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Kelli! While the Capilene Air Bottoms aren't exposed to the elements, it sounds like there may be some abrasion occurring between them and the boat, perhaps. Please [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us so that we can help you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) them to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund. We'll be happy to make some other product recommendations as well!

February 25, 2020

Best Patagonia Piece I Own

This is my all time favorite piece that I own from Patagonia. It is so versatile, warm but breathable, and soft. I wear these under my waders, ski pants, and jeans when its extremely cold. The waist comes up to the belly button which is helpful for layering. They are thin enough that you can get another tight layer on over them if need be. Im never... Read More too hot in these and always warm. These are a must have!! Best baselayer on the market to date.

February 3, 2020

Scratchy, Not made to last

I used these mainly to sleep in at night during a month long backpacking trip where I'd be at high elevation for most of the time. While they did keep me warm, they were uncomfortable to wear. I didn't like the feeling of them next to my skin. They were scratchy feeling and I dreaded putting them on each night. I had really bug bitten leg... Read Mores and the leggings just irritated them even worse. They also started to fall apart on the first week of my month long trip. There was a hole in the crotch and two holes on each side where the waist met the leg (likely from pulling them on). After washing them once, they were pilled and funky looking -definitely an under layer only. I did end up returning them, but I would not purchase these Capilene® Air Bottoms again, even though they're super lightweight.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2020

Hi Kate! Thank you for your review, and we're sorry to hear the Capilene Air Bottoms didn't work out for you. You might have some better luck with our [W's Thermal Weight Bottoms](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-thermal-weight-bottoms/43692.html?dwvar_43692_color=CCNX&cgid=womens-baselayers#tile-7=&start=1&sz=24), as this style does not feature any merino wool. They also have a taller waistband which promotes a more articulated, comfortable fit. Please feel free to [contact](https://help.patagonia.com/s/#searchterm=contact) us if we can offer any additional guidance on the best kit for your needs. Cheers!

January 3, 2020

Warmest, Warm Pants

I got these pants before heading to Southern Utah for a winter adventure (low temps were -15 windchill - real life). We snowshoed, hiked the narrows, and hiked all over Zion, Bryce, and Grand Staircase-Escalante, and these pants were absolutely perfect. I was so warm, but not too warm. They never got funky after wearing them for many days in a row.... Read More They're soft af too! Thank you!

January 2, 2020

Superb. Very stretchy, light, soft,

Superb. Very stretchy, light, soft, and toasty. They don't get clammy, itchy, or stinky. Pure magic.

December 28, 2019

Warm and toasty!

Been teaching skiing for 25 years. These are the warmest and lightest thermals I've ever worn. It's been 12 degrees with wind and I'm comfy!

December 18, 2019

Best base layer ever

I love the Capilene line of base layers. They are lightweight and so very comfortable, yet are also very warm and cozy. The bottoms fit comfortably under jeans, yoga pants, hiking pants, because they are thin and not bulky. They also are not tight or binding. I bought another pair for my daughter for Christmas.

December 13, 2019

W;s Capilene Air bottoms

Love them, nice and warm but not woo warm, soft too!

December 12, 2019

had to order a smaller

had to order a smaller size than I expected, they needed to be tight against my skin so I ordered the size xs. they fit great except that my legs are too long. I am 5'8" and about 130lbs to give the idea. patagonia needs to work on more consistent sizing I think, and include the long-legged slender gals!

December 3, 2019

Toasty and Comfy

These are the warmest, coziest base layer under snow pants or jeans and great solo for running or just hanging out in a coolish house.

November 30, 2019

Love it!!!

It’s so light and warm, so excited to wear’em to my next trip to Patagonia in couple of weeks.

November 29, 2019

Nice n warm

They’re really good leggings and super warm, I will say I sized down like all the reviews said to do and got an XS and they were still big on me (I’m usually a small). I’m 5’2 and about 110 pounds and got xxs, just for reference!

November 28, 2019

Bottoms seem a little large.

Bottoms seem a little large.

November 22, 2019

Really comfortable, warm and i

Really comfortable, warm and i love the way they are shaped, so nothing is too short or tight

November 22, 2019

Warmth

I bought these for winter fishing when running out in the boat can be really cold but once you’re on the flat it warms up. Very comfortable in both situations, I.e., not hot when the boat stops and sun gets higher. I liked so much O ordered an extra pair.

November 21, 2019

Great base layer

These bottoms are super warm when layered. As other reviewers have mentioned, they do seem really thin on their own (due to the air insulation) and have already started pilling with light wear so far. The tag is rather itchy in the back so I'll probably end up cutting it off. Overall they will serve their purpose of being a warm layer for skii... Read Moreng and winter camping (and PJ bottoms on cold nights!).

November 19, 2019

Thumbs Up!

These capilene air bottoms are perfect for layering on a cold winter's day. I wear them for alpine touring, and I'll be sweating on the way up and they wick perfectly! On the way down, they stay cozy and warm! They also wash well and maintain their loft.

November 9, 2019

The best.

soft, fluffy, warm- couldn't ask for more. The seamless design is a dream to wear, and they're incredibly warm. Tag was a little itchy but easy to cut out. Absolutely love these. Runs a little on the big side, I'm 5'3", 135 lbs, athletic build, and the XS is perfect. S fit too but wasn't really tight, I'd worry ab... Read Moreout them getting baggy if they stretched out at all.

November 7, 2019

You get what you pay for

Great base layer! I live in Montana and need all the warmth I can get. These do not disappoint. I sized down to an XS and they fit perfect. I’m 5ft 6in and 125lb.

November 5, 2019

WOMEN'S CAPILENE AIR BOTTOMS

I MEASURED MYSELF PRIOR TO PURCHASE AND ORDERED THE XL, THESE WERE WAY TO BIG. PRODUCT WAS NOT TRUE TO SIZE AND AM UNSURE WHICH SIZE TO ORDER NOW

October 15, 2019

Extremely comfortable, no itch, pants

Extremely comfortable, no itch, pants stretched a bit in butt/front

September 26, 2019

The updates are better

I used to own a pair of full fleece Capilene bottoms - I believe these updated are much warmer. I'm not sure how - when you hold them up to the light, you can see a LOT of light pass through. But they are indeed very warm under a layer of clothing. My new favorite leggings

August 13, 2019

Super Warm and a must have for winter camping

These leggings are a game changer for colder blooded people for winter camping. Im 5'10 and 160 pounds and got a size large and they fit wonderfully on their own or over a pair of another leggings for extra warmth. Wore these car camping in 0-20 degree weather over another pair of simple leggings and was perfectly warm. my only complaint was t... Read Morehat the seem (although marketed as seamless) in the crouch popped open even though I mainly wore these to bed with not alot of hard activity at all. Patagonia has a wonderful return policy though so i was able to exchange them super easily. Even though they had a small error it didnt stop me from re-ordering and even considering buying another paid because they are just that warm and weightless. The Air top that matches is also A MUST if winter camping!!

February 9, 2019

Tag fail

These long johns are really warm and comfy, but I gotta wonder why, after going to the trouble of making a seamless baselayer, they had to go and sew in not one, but TWO itchy labels. They’re so tightly stitched I’m afraid my trusty seam-ripper will damage these expensive pants if I try to remove them. Wish they came in a lighter color, too, as the... Read Morey are a golden retriever hair-magnet. It’s a shame, because the product is very nice otherwise.

December 11, 2018

love these!!

These are wonderful. They are very soft, adequately warm, and fit me perfectly (5'8 120# size small). They have held up very well after a few cycles of washing and drying, with no shrinkage. I can wear them for a few consecutive days without them getting too stretched out. Only minor issue is that the tags were itchy (even the patagonia tag t... Read Morehat shows on the back) but I removed them with a seam ripper without any issues. Love that you made these, Patagonia, thank you!

November 16, 2018

Highly versatile

Patagonia base layer bottoms must keep me warm! These fit perfectly in the stride, leg length and waist and are comfortable. I have a vast number of Patagonia bottoms, but this is different. I like the new weave, the warmth of merino, and the knit is pretty enough to wear these as leggings with a shift. Like the navy blue, too. I have to be very ha... Read Moreppy with this base layer to pay this much. Have worn them only once, so time will tell about how they hold up. Another review mentioned pilling which I would not like.

November 15, 2018

Perfect Weight

These pants are so good! They are really stretchy and not scratchy at all. Have already had to wear them several times and they are just a light, comfortable layer. I’ve had the mid weight capilene layer and much prefer these for the stretch they offer. I’m a large in most Patagonia bottoms but think I could get away with a medium in these. I kept ... Read Moremy size large but they do stretch out around the knees and tush after a few wears.

September 22, 2018

these are EVERYTHING

if i were to make a perfect pant - these would be it! they go up to around your belly button and zero digging with a elastic. i strongly dislike when companies use thin elastic in pants. The fabric is seamless, no digging and just so comfortable. I am 5'4, 130 with average build and got the medium, and the sizing is great. Please make in lots ... Read Moremore colors because I will buy them all. Thank you Patagonia for figuring these out.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches