Back to Product

Patagonia Women's R1® Regulator Fleece Full-Zip Hoody

Write Your Review

4.49 /5

Filter Reviews

All 55 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's R1® Regulator Fleece Full-Zip Hoody

4.49
True To Size
June 18, 2020

Live in it!

Love my R1 Hoody and just finished living in it during my 4 days of off-grid camping and fishing. Perfect for layering, allows for ample movement while fly fishing and comfortable enough to sleep in. The hoody was perfect for the cold Eastern Sierra nights! Might just get another to have while my current one is in the wash!

June 17, 2020

Great all around sweatshirt

No idea how this sweatshirt is able to keep you warm while also being thin and soft! Only change I would make for this is to include thumb holes.

March 27, 2020

Great functionality, but mediocre quality

I have heard many great things about the R1 hoody, so I finally decided to give this a try during Patagonia's 50% off. The hoody is great--it's lightweight, very warm, has a zip pocket for your phone, and the fit is flattering enough for active wear. However, after just wearing it a handful of times, the stitching in sleeves is coming u... Read Morendone and the fabric is experiencing pilling! I am disappointed in the quality especially since Patagonia is supposed to pretty good quality. Soon I will need to repair it which is very inconvenient. I would expect better from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Sorry to hear the quality isn't holding up, Sophia! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the hoody, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

December 19, 2019

Awesome!

I wrote a review back in May But I’ve come back to write another one since reading some of the reviews that were written after mine. I am 5’3” and weigh 100 lbs, and the reason why I purchase Patagonia is because I can find clothes that fit. It is very challenging to find clothes that fit my small frame here in the USA. I own many products from you... Read Morer company including the better sweater, long underwear tops and bottoms, some hoodies, etc. I will be wearing this primarily for travel.

December 6, 2019

Great for SoCal winter hiking

Hoodie is breathable and warm. A bit chilly if it is windy which is expected from grid fleece. Nice hood coverage, long sleeves and overall length. I also appreciate the small zipper pocket.

December 3, 2019

I only weigh 112. I

I only weigh 112. I wear extra small in most Patagonia. I ordered a small because of the slim fit but even that was too narrow in the hips. It was almost the same measurement as the extra small. The medium was too big.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2019

Hi Chris, we're sorry the fit was odd! Don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so and haven't already. Thanks for your review.

December 2, 2019

Nice fleece

Solid overall fleece. I absolutely love the tasmanian teal color and that is why I got this, but like at Patag stuff, quality is good and its comfy. Just what I expected.

November 30, 2019

Loved the fit and the

Loved the fit and the light weight!

November 27, 2019

Nice color and quality. Full

Nice color and quality. Full length zipper of good quality. No secure pockets, just an open type pocket. The size is a little snug through the trunk. Sleeves are long enough. I am 5'11 and wear an XL. This jacket provides a nice extra layer for travel. I recently used it on a week long trip. The material doesnt wrinkle and travels well.

November 26, 2019

I really like the fit

I really like the fit and the inside of the pocket zippered pocket

November 23, 2019

Very warm

So warm and soft! But I wish the sleeves were a bit longer and had thumb-holes.

November 22, 2019

Awesome product

If it works don’t fix it. This hoody did not disappoint. Highly recommend.

November 21, 2019

The BEST Hoody!

Although the style changed a bit - no more zip pockets and it fits a bit snugger than my original go to hoody the R1 Full Zip Hoody is still a favorite go to hoody. It's warm and comfortable and stylish.

November 21, 2019

R1 full zip hoody

great layer for climbing. Kept me warm but also breathable. I am definitely stoked on this purchase

November 21, 2019

R1 once again modified

To my knowledge this is the 3rd time they have changed the R1. This time they even eliminated the zip pockets which is one of my favorite features on the old R1’s.

November 21, 2019

New all the time top

I had a long loved "house layer". A track jacket that I wore in the chilly seasons as a layer to keep me warm in my cool house. It died and I bought this magic little number. It is so slick that now it is my all of the time layer. Warm and stylish and long enough that the gap between the top of the jeans and the bottom of my top is never ... Read Morethreatened with exposure!

November 20, 2019

LOVE THIS JACKET

THIS JACKET IS AN AWESOME COLOR (LIGHT ORANGE/PEACH) IT FITS PERFECT!

November 20, 2019

Love the color

Love the color, but sad to say I do not like the length. For a hooded light jacket, I prefer the length to be at the waist or just under, like most jackets. This jacket rests below my hips. I'm 5'6 which I think is fairly average. Will be returning.

November 20, 2019

I don't usually write reviews

I don't usually write reviews but I have worn my R1 nonstop (except sleeping) since I got it 3 days ago. I have an older one without a hoody which inspired me to get another. Keeps me warm but is light enough and allows me to move freely.

November 20, 2019

Exactly what I wanted

How had I not discovered these before? This is just another example of an item that I saw in a competitive brand but it didn’t fit right. Now I’m happy and cozy!

November 20, 2019

Lives up to the hype

Great investment. I am 5'4" 135# average to large chest and Medium is a good size. Fits slim but not tight with room under the arms. Sleeves are a bit long as is the torso, but I like that for staying warm while active as it won't "ride up". The hood is not adjustable but it fits very snugly (it's stretchy so not tight... Read More) and does not cover my eyes at all so it's surprisingly not a problem.

November 19, 2019

Excellent Product

This hoody is a gorgeous color and fits well. Material is wonderful and is very comfortable.

November 19, 2019

Exactly what I wanted

This hoody is great! I got it for layering on my 2020 AT thru-hike, but for now I am enjoying its light coziness. It runs a little long, hitting my mid-hip, which will be nice on hiking trips but makes me self-conscious when wearing it zipped.

November 16, 2019

Jessica

Love this jacket! Perfect mid weight layer! Easy access to feed my new little 6 week old explorer. I’m 5’11” and 170 and small chest, the medium fits very snug. Maybe should have tried a L, but was too anxious to wear! Hubby has even complimented he likes it!

November 12, 2019

Very comfortable and flattering

Very comfortable and flattering

November 11, 2019

Great for hiking and climbing

Exactly what I was looking for in a fleece! It's thin and slim-fitting but moves easily and layers well. The hood is perfect--close-fitting enough to layer easily under a hard shell or a helmet. I ordered a size up from my usual Patagonia size for extra length and more ease of movement in the arms. Based on comparing the fit between the should... Read Moreers and elsewhere, I think this probably runs a bit small in the shoulders, so I'm glad I ordered up. The hidden zip pocket is great. Definitely recommended as a layer for climbing or hiking.

November 11, 2019

Warm but light feeling hoody!

Love the pockets and waffle material - very warm. Nice length on arms and body!

November 8, 2019

Wife’s new favorite

She absolutely loves her new hoody!

November 7, 2019

Best fit ever

I have to upsize because of my wide shoulders. This slim fit totally works, no bagging in the back or opening around the hips. Great jacket and I love the inner zip pocket.

November 4, 2019

sizes are a little bit under what web site describes

product seems to be nicely made very nice detail in stitching and overall layout of pockets and sleeve material change.

November 3, 2019

Wish there was a version without a hood

I used to buy these every year, I must have bought at least 15 of them (I would buy them for my sisters too). Since I wear one virtually every day I like lots of colors (I wear them instead of a sweater). The last version was too tight in the hips and there were a lot of online review complaints. Now it's been fully updated, with patch pockets... Read More and only offered with a hood. While I am glad the fit was improved, I am sorry to see the design changes - I love zip pockets for holding dog bags, phone, keys. Patch pockets make it all look bulkier. I also don't like the hoody, unless it's up it leaves my neck exposed and colder. I returned it, so sadly. The end of an era. Patagonia, any chance you could go back to the fit from a few years ago?

Response from Patagonia
November 21, 2019

Hey Ann. We're glad to see you're satisfied with the fit, but it's a bummer the design changes aren't up to your satisfaction. We definitely understand though and appreciate your feedback! Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes.We hope that we don't disappoint you in the future. Thanks for your review!

November 3, 2019

The R1

The R1 is a must have in Alaska! It’s a great layer that keeps you almost too warm!

October 31, 2019

Love this hoody!

I have the R1 in the zip up with no hood but recently moved from sunny Ventura to Seattle where it’s necessary to layer up a bit more. This is my go to light jacket and layers great with other outer layers. 5 stars!

October 25, 2019

Terrific jacket

It's only been a few days but my wife loves this jacket so far. It has a long cut so it doesn't lift off your back and it's quite warm.

October 15, 2019

Perfect lightweight jacket to be used on its own or under another jacket

This fits great - I got a medium so it wasn’t too tight. Yet, it’s very flattering and form fitting. I’ve worn it alone with a shirt underneath as well as under a down coat - both options work amazing depending on the weather. I would highly recommend! Oh and the fabric is fantastic!

September 20, 2019

Love this product

This was my go-to fleece last winter. I loved it so much I just bought a 2nd one. It seems to fit true to size. It is a great layer under another coat, or on its own during warmer weather. I love the zippered pocket and the handwarmer pockets.

September 19, 2019

R1 hoody

I already had an R1 hoody so I knew how awesome they were... the other one I have is a bright yellow and good for when I want to be seen at night or on a backcountry trip but this one is a neutral teal color which matches everything and is better for everyday casual wear. I do miss the thumb holes in this new one... other than that, love it!

September 14, 2019

Awesome hoody!

Totally ordered another one because I liked it so much!!

September 11, 2019

Too long

I have an older version of a full zip hoody made for a short time by Patagonia. Size medium fit me perfect. I like the larger pockets and the zippered inner pocket on this new hoody but the length on my 5 foot frame is long enough it will look funny when I layer it under my puffy jacket this winter. I'm keeping it cause it feels nice and I nee... Read Mored a new hoody but I'm disappointed in the latest fashion of extremely long tops with no petite options.

September 3, 2019

Women's R 1 full zip hoodie

Outside fabric rough to the touch. Fits odd. Medium was too tight. Large was way too big.

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this didn't work out for you. We are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) you process a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on this. Reach out if we can do anything to help ease the process.

August 29, 2019

I Really like this Product!

I am actually wearing it as I write this I love this jacket the fit is great I am 5,61/2 and 112 lbs long waisted I bought a small it is fitted but not tight arms are long enough and it is not to short in the waist. I have washed it once it did great all and all I hope they don't change the design! Zip pocket has come in handy!!!

August 25, 2019

Comfy!

Fits great. I took it on a recent trip to Ecuador where the temperatures varied greatly. It was a great layer and I wore it daily.

August 15, 2019

awesome mid weight layer

I love my R1 hoodie. It is an awesome mid weight layer and even works great as an outer layer in San Diego's mild climate. Definitely a great item to add to your outdoor gear.

August 10, 2019

Awesome Year-Round Top

The R-1 zip makes a great mid layer any time of year. I keep it in my pack— ready to go for all adventures. The black color is classy enough to wear with dresses or around the campsite. The torso is a bit long but it works.

August 10, 2019

Love it!

This jacket, hoody is perfect for chilly summer mornings/evenings. Like that the hood has some tighter trim to keep it on. It fits really well - nice snug bottom trim. Somewhat shaped through the waist so it's nice looking.

May 27, 2019

Warm but not too thick

I purchased this to take to Italy in May, but decided not to take it as I thought it would be too warm. I was wrong. I should have taken it since the temperatures in the mornings were around 40 F and climbed in to the 60s, but it was very breezy, and I get cold very easily. I'll be sure to take it to Colorado this summer as we'll be stayi... Read Moreng at 10,000 feet.

May 15, 2019

Womens full zip hooded R1

This jacket moves more towards fashion and a little away from function. My preference would be to have the full function with the fashion, and I was sad to loose certain features. This jacket will be good for my traveling and working in inclement weather but not for my long alpine climbing and guiding. With a few tweaks it could be perfect. Make ... Read Moretinny zippers for the hand pockets so that you can store a phone or food while climbing, mountaineering. Please add the thumb loops back! and maybe even the chest zip pocket. I could have gotten a pull over with no hood but I LOVE the food-it gets used on and off approaches and climbs if the wind picks up.

May 13, 2019

Great layer for ski touring, mountaineering and climbing

I love this layer. I have the R1 with 3/4 zip and always thought it'd be even more versatile if there would be a full zipper version of it. So I'm happy that it's here! I use this layer for spring skiing, mountaineering, rock climbing...the hood fits great under the helmet.

May 9, 2019

New Favorite!

The R-1 hoody is warm, soft and reliable. The hidden zipper pocket is an added bonus. Thanks Patagonia for keeping me outside in the elements.

May 8, 2019

Great purchase, wish it had zipped pockets

Functionality is great, fits great. Only wish that it had zippered pockets!

May 8, 2019

Unflattering runs super small

Tired of Patagonia’s women’s sizing being so drastically smaller than other brands. Even went a size up and still small. But this style was very unflattering in the belly area. Won’t order from them again.

Response from Patagonia
May 16, 2019

Sorry to hear that the sizing and fit didn't work for you. You are always welcome to return anything you are not fully satisfied with. [Reach out](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) to us and we would be happy to help you with a return or exchange.

May 7, 2019

Missing some features

This full-zip hoody would be just about perfect except I was surprised that it has no thumb holes, a critical feature in my opinion -- please bring them back! It would also be nice if there was a women's pullover hoody (like there is for men).

April 19, 2019

PERFECT! LOVE THIS JACKET

I bought this jacket for hiking and running and it is as close to perfect as I have found in a light weight jacket so far. ! It is the perfect weight for high exertion activities as well as for walking in warmer temps. Easy to layer under a jacket or over a light weight tee or tank. Love that it zips all the way down as compared to the R1 pull over... Read More. Easier to regulate body temp with out having to completely remove it. The hood fits well over a ball cap and is easy to pull down as you warm up. It is definitely a slim fit especially through the hips. The fit is great for me as I have smaller hips and bigger up top. I'm 5' 7in and weigh 137 lbs and got a size medium but the small fit well except through the hips (a little tight). I would love to see it in more colors, please!

March 28, 2019

Great Product, But Too Small

PLEASE make the R1 Full Zip Hoodie in a size XXL that would fit a larger bust size!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches