Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R1® Regulator Fleece Pullover

Write Your Review

4.2 /5

Filter Reviews

All 89 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R1® Regulator Fleece Pullover

4.2
True To Size
August 16, 2020

Breathable beyond expectations

Nice formfitting cut. Very nice layer for when breathability is your primary concern. Sleeves are nice and on for those of us with lankier limbs.

August 9, 2020

Please bring the old R1 back!

I have a bunch of the old R1s & love them. The new material does not feel near as good on the skin. It feels thin & lacking the quality I had become a custom to.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2020

Hi Matt, thanks for your review and for your feedback regarding the material. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the pullover back to us if you're unsatisfied with its performance.

August 7, 2020

perfect feeling and fit

love wearing it. feels great on my body.

August 4, 2020

Armpits are too high

Issue: The fit is nice and slim, which is perfect for me, but the armpits are just too high. Any shirt, no matter how form fitting, bunches up in the armpit when I put on the R1 pullover. High/tight armpits seems to be an issue in a lot of Patagonia's garments in 2019/2020. I'm hoping Patagonia will fix this in the future with the same sl... Read Moreim fit but with looser/lower armpits. Me: I'm a fairly tall and thin individual with a long torso (6' tall, 165 lbs, 31" waist), so the Medium fit me perfectly. Unfortunately the armpits were just too high, as previously mentioned. I really wanted to keep it because I love the material and is a perfect mid layer when I am outdoors, but the armpits proved to be too big an issue.

Response from Patagonia
August 4, 2020

Hello William, we're really sorry that the armpits were too high for you. We went ahead and passed your feedback over to our Design Team. Please feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team if you have any questions regarding your return. Thanks for your review!

June 30, 2020

none better

One could argue the R1 is so ubiquitous that it needs no review. For years it has been the fleece of choice, through all it's iterations, and still is. My go to piece.

June 29, 2020

none better

One could argue the R1 is so ubiquitous that it needs no review. For years it has been the fleece of choice, through all it's iterations, and still is. My go to piece.

June 21, 2020

Regulates temperature perfectly

Never too hot or too cold when this is in my layering system! Use it for a variety of activities, including under my dry suit for whitewater kayaking the other day. The plush fleece grabs onto heat, and the gridded channels dump excess. The smell protection is an added bonus! Great product, will always have a few in my closet.

June 17, 2020

Regulates temperature perfectly

Never too hot or too cold when this is in my layering system! Use it for a variety of activities, including under my dry suit for whitewater kayaking the other day. The plush fleece grabs onto heat, and the gridded channels dump excess. The smell protection is an added bonus! Great product, will always have a few in my closet.

April 19, 2020

Disappointing Fit and Minor Decrease in Quality

The other reviews regarding the fit of the new pullover are absolutely correct. This is my third R1 and the other two are some of my favorite pieces of clothing. This one is getting returned. I am 5'10" and 175 with a moderately athletic build. My shoulders are not very wide, which makes it super surprising that the armpits on this thing... Read More are so incredibly tight. No matter what I do the material from whatever shirt I am wearing beneath this garment gets crumpled up in the armpit and leads to a sweaty underarm mess. Again, I say this as someone who normally never has this problem. It really is extremely tight in the chest, armpit, and arms. Additionally, there seem to be some minor downgrades in the quality of this batch/year or R1s. First, the wrist cuffs are not as stretchy as previous ones. This makes it difficult to push the sleeves up and have them stay up. This was not an issue with previous versions. Additionally, the bottom of the interior chest pocket is no longer stitched along the bottom to attach it to the rest of the garment. This means that when you put it on, your hand can catch in this opening. I personally find this to be an indicator of lack of attention to detail. Why would they change this when it previously was so perfect? All in all, this was an incredibly disappointing purchase. My other two R1s are my favorite pieces of clothing and I would certainly rate them 5 out of 5 starts, so to see these modifications and drop my rating to a 1 is sort of a bummer. Hopefully Patagonia reverts to the quality and design that so many have come to love. P.S. The recent version of the R1 hoody does not seem to have any of these issues. It's great! I wish that this was the same thing, just without the hood.

Response from Patagonia
April 21, 2020

We are very sorry to hear your disappointment with the revisions we've made to this pullover. Feedback like this is incredibly helpful and we really appreciate you taking the time to detail your thoughts to us. Please note, we guarantee everything we make and if you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us, please feel free to do so.

March 27, 2020

Not like the old

I have owned a couple R1s over the years and always loved them. Wanted another one in a different color. I echo the other reviewers that this years version is not the same. The sleeves and cuffs are much tighter, to the point where I have to stretch the cuffs to go over my watch. There are also multiple seams over the shoulder now so they dig into... Read More my shoulder when wearing a pack. The older versions had the seams offset. Not sure why things changed, the previous versions were great. Pleas bring back the older versions.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Renjan. Thank you so much for your feedback on the R1® Regulator Fleece Pullover. I am sorry to hear it isn't what you were hoping for. We will pass along your feedback to our product design team. If you would like to initiate a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) please feel free to do so.

March 6, 2020

Bad fit

Seriously... the fit is ridiculous. Its like baselayer tight. Why would they change the fit so much? Patagonia does 1 thing better than anyone else and its fleece. But not anymore.

Response from Patagonia
April 14, 2020

H Matthew, we're so sorry to hear that you're unhappy with the fit of your R1. You're more than welcome to initiate a return under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

February 22, 2020

Oddly Clingy, Not For Me

I wanted to like this, but I just couldn't make it work. I was looking for a slim fitting mid layer that would layer well and play nice with others. It doesn't. I tried putting it on over even the thinnest, smoothest, compression-fit base layer I own and it still it was so clingy with so much spandex that it twisted and tugged both layers... Read More into an uncomfortable armpit clinging mess. It took me several minutes of fiddling to realign the 2 layers back into an almost comfortable position. A bigger size might have been a little less clingy, at least on my shoulders, but then the arms would be be too long and the torso too baggy. Bottom line: The fabric's combination of clingy spandex paired with a grabby gridded fleece lining makes this new R1 almost impossible to layer comfortably. Life is too short to spend it fighting your clothes. I returned it.

February 22, 2020

Newer is not better

I have owned many R1s over the years. Unfortunately, the poor reviews of the newest version are accurate. I typically wear a medium and it is smaller/tighter than years past. If you wear a shirt underneath, the sleeves bunch up and are difficult to get straight. The cuffs around the wrist are tight. It also feels tighter through the torso. Sizing u... Read Morep to a large makes the R1 too big. The material seems to not be as nice of quality and not as warm. Please bring back the older version!!

February 18, 2020

Versatile Layer For All Seasons

The Patagonia R1 pullover is still one of the best all-season layers out there. The interior "waffle" pattern creates a fleece grid that has a way of venting when you need breathability during activity, but at the same time it bulks up the insulating properties when used alone as an outer layer or as a mid layer under a jacket or shell. T... Read Morehe trim fit and slightly slippery outer fabric make it perfect for layering. The 1/2 zip neck opens wide for easy on/off (much better than 1/4 zip designs). Start your cold-weather activity with this piece layered under a jacket, then shed the jacket as you warm up and the R1 will provide a functional balance of warmth and breathability for the much of the day. Head out with the R1 alone for cool weather activity and you're good. Also great for crisp summer mornings/evenings in high altitude climates. I love mine, you'll love yours -- highly recommended!

February 9, 2020

Thinner than older R1

Have to agree with so many others. I own an older R1 which is my favorite pull over. Its a perfect blend of size, material and wearability. I bought two of the new model and they are tight and THIN! I can hold them up to the light and see right through them. My older one is solid. Still nice, but if Patagonia could bring back the older design/ma... Read Moreterial - it would be great.

January 17, 2020

great insulation

Have been wearing this for winter morning bike rides in the 25-35 degree range with a base layer and windproof shell. Works great. Very warm and keeps you dry. Works as advertised!

January 13, 2020

One piece everyone should own

I have two but, one is enough. I wear my R1 most days of the week late fall through early spring. I carry it in my pack for any trip to the BWCA ( Boundary Waters Canoe Area ) wilderness. Super comfortable. Feels cozy but, rarely overheats.

January 9, 2020

Patagonia broke a great pullover

I have several of previous year RI pullovers and they are great. Love them. I just replaced one with the new version and it is no where near as good. Same material but feels cheaper. They also messed with the sizing. The arms and chest feel very tight compared to previous versions. Patagonia has a great product and jacked it up. Whoever changed the... Read More sizing must hate anyone with upper body strength.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Kevin! Thank you for your review, and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the revisions we made on the R1 Pullover. We are happy to pass your feedback along to our product designers for consideration. In the meantime, if you'd like to return this item, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 31, 2019

Perfect

Perfect

December 29, 2019

Great Pullover! Husband loves it!

Great Pullover! Husband loves it!

December 28, 2019

Wonderful!

I purchased as a gift for my son. He loves it! The quality is exceptional. It is a slim cut and fits him well.

December 27, 2019

Patagonia

Ordering from Patagonia was simple and knew I would receive a quality item.

December 27, 2019

All Everything Pullover

The R1 is a workhorse for any outdoor activity. Skiing, fishing, hiking, biking and casual wear. I can hardly leave home without it.

December 26, 2019

Durability???

I love the comfort, feel, and breathability of the product I question its longevity. I’ve had this one for a year and use it as a daily pullover at the office and around town. I’m pretty gentle on it and maybe only washed it a handful of times since there hasn’t been a need to. My issue is the pilling that is occurring. I spend the money on Patagon... Read Moreia products because they last, however not sure this one will. I am little disappointed considering what they cost.

Response from Patagonia
January 17, 2020

Hi Lou, Like all fleeces, the Better Sweater has a tendency to pill. Due to the knit appearance of the face fabric of this particular item, this pilling can be more noticeable in places where the sweater rubs. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your Better Sweater, you are absolutely welcome to send it in for a warranty returns evaluation under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can start that process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return.

December 17, 2019

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PULL OVER

It looks really good on, and fits true to size. You can dress it up with a tie underneath, or you can go climb a mountain in it.

December 17, 2019

R1 Fleece Pullover - TERRIFIC!

10 years ago the US Navy issued me the R1 Fleece Pullover as part of a uniform package I received . Throughout my time in the Navy (still serving) it has proven to be the best between seasons clothing item I own. So much so that I bought one for myself and will be buying others to gift them to family members. Awesome product.

December 14, 2019

Great Waffle Top

Great ventilation. I don’t even wear it as a base layer. I wear it as a hoodie or jacket.

December 12, 2019

R1 pullover

No problem ever. Keeps getting better.

December 11, 2019

Perfect mid layer

Perfect mid layer

December 10, 2019

I'm impressed

When the pullover first arrived, I thought it seemed too thin to be much use for cross-country skiing, which is what I intended to use it for. I was pleasantly surprised, though. With a capiline first layer, and a thin shell on top, it works in a wide range of temperatures.

December 9, 2019

Perfect weight. Freedom of movement

Perfect weight. Freedom of movement as a top layer or base is excellent.

December 8, 2019

A slim fit. Very warm, cozy!

The R1 tops are a lot warmer than the Patagonia expedition weight Capeline tops. I bought a few small R1 tops years ago and the cut was boxy. The newer R1 tops have a slimmer cut, so I ordered a small and a medium to see which would be a better fit. I usually order a small for most tops but the R1 small was quite tight, so I kept the medium. Also, ... Read Morethe length of the sleeves on the small was surprisingly short, a little above my wrist. The inside lining of the R1 is very soft. I would recommend hanging the top to dry after washing to keep the softness of the inside. Putting the top in the dryer tends to diminish the soft lining over time.

December 3, 2019

Awesome!

Awesome!

December 2, 2019

Perfect layer

Not too thin, not too thick. Perfect.

November 30, 2019

Light weight & warm

Wrist closures are a nice unexpected addition.

November 29, 2019

Lousy Fit

I was looking forward to using this as a mid layer. The fit is terrible. I realize it’s a “slim fit” pullover, but this is just tight every where - sleeves, chest, abdomen. And the sleeve length is sized for a monkey - way too long.

Response from Patagonia
December 14, 2019

Hi Scott, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with sizing. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 27, 2019

A little snug in the

A little snug in the sleeves with a cotton t-shirt underneath, but no bunching-up etc. Looks great and provides great warmth for the weight of it.

November 21, 2019

R1 pullover

I have had the R1 pants for awhile which I wear as a layer under my waders when steelhead fishing. Having been very satisfied with the pants, the logical conclusion was to purchase the top as well. Have worn it twice so far while fishing, and not disappointed. In the garment, I mean. Landing a steelhead left something to be desired. 🙄

November 19, 2019

Great layer

I have not used it much but, I can tell it is soft and comfortable layer!!great layer!

November 18, 2019

Great product!

This is a great product and it keeps you super warm as long as you have at least a wind resistant outer shell. It’s very breathable which is great if you sweat easily when snowboarding or hiking, however it’s not great if you are just wearing it as a sweater because the wind eats through it very easily.

November 18, 2019

Bring back the old R1

My husband LOVES his old R1's and wears them all the time. They are lightweight , warm, and COMFORTABLE. He is athletic and normal weight. The new R1 is tight in the arms and chest. Moving up to the large is not an option. The arms and chest are still tight and the body looks like a sack. The totally new fit is not a change for the better. Bri... Read Moreng back the old R1!

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2019

Thanks for your review, Kathy! It is definitely disappointing not finding the new fits/designs as favorable as the previous ones. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that if you were looking to do so and haven't already.

November 15, 2019

Always great

Patagonia makes the best products.

November 14, 2019

Very nice product fits and

Very nice product fits and works as expected

November 13, 2019

Review R1 fleece

Great fleece, fits a little tight but was expecting that. Super great lightweight layer, also fashionable.

November 12, 2019

R1 is a great all around piece

I love my R1 pullover. Just the right weight for casual. Great wicking for fall hikes. expect it to be a staple in my ski kit.

November 11, 2019

Love this shirt. So warm

Love this shirt. So warm but breathable.

November 11, 2019

Great layer

24 degrees, without wind, had lite dry long sleeve fit underneath and a shell over the R1. I will wear this always.

November 10, 2019

Quality Fleece

Ideal midweight fleece for layering, or as active wear on a cool day. I'm 6'2", 180 and got an XL. It fits in the shoulders, but is a little loose around the midsection. (L was too tight in shoulders, but fit around the midsection)

November 10, 2019

Runs too small

I was concerned about sizing from other reviews; I normally wear XXL and would have ordered XXXL for that reason but it’s available so I ordered the XXL and had to return it (the Patagonia rep was helpful and nice). Bottom line, it just runs a size smaller than what it should.

November 9, 2019

Great looks

I purchased this as a gift and it is fantastic. Good fitting and warm too

November 7, 2019

Classic, versatile, comfortable

This is my second R1 and It is hard to pick a better piece of kit for all occasions. The fit is perfectly dialed in. In the Pacific Northwest I use it 12 months a year and it adapts to all occasions and especially shines in the shoulder season.

November 7, 2019

Excellent

Always a superb quality of apparel

November 6, 2019

Warm comfort

This is a very comfortable as well as warm long sleeve shirt.

November 5, 2019

2019 Mens Patagonia R1

I purchased the 2018 R1 and have never been more satisfied with a purchase. I liked it so much I purchased the 2019. Very disatified with this product. The fit is different, the zipper is different(cheap), logo is different and the overall materials just seem cheaper than the 2018 model. However, the product price point remains the same. A company ... Read Morewith Patagonia's reputation simply cannot allow a product to degrade this quickly year over year. I have a feeling this review comes as no surprise so please make the internal adjustments so you don't have this problem again. I will continue to purchase your product because I've been buying it for years now, but you really missed the mark on this item.

November 3, 2019

Awesome again!

I love the fit of the R1 again! It's back to being the slim fitting technical piece that it was originally designed to be. It fits like the R1s that I have from 5-10 years ago. The past few years the R1 has been a relaxed fit fleece. Patagonia already has a ton of casual relaxed fleeces for those who like a relaxed fit. I'm 6'1"... Read More 180+ pounds and the medium fits great. It's a nice slimmer fit that goes nicely over a daily capilene shirt. I've bought more R1s than other garment that Patagonia makes. It's great for layering for hiking, fly fishing, or just wearing around town. My only complaint is that they don't have very many new colors available. There's always a black, gray, navy and usually two other colors. The balkan blue color has been around for a few seasons now as well. This would be great in a nettle or plains green or even resin yellow.

October 31, 2019

Very satisfied

Very satisfied

October 30, 2019

Perfect all around base/mid layer

I've had the older version for probably 6 or 7 years now. It pulled double duty mainly for skiing and hunting. This is about as perfect as it gets. I slip a light weight tight wicking layer underneath, and then this r1. Perfect for mild to cold temps as a layer. Can get a little warm if temps start climbing into the upper 50s-60s and you'... Read Morere active. Liked my first one so much I bought 3 more. Only complaint with the newer version is there isn't a thumb hole cut out anymore. I really appreciated that feature. Otherwise, they are as good as the older version I have. Also, the fit is an "active fit". I am not a small guy at 6'7"/325# and Patagonia stuff is generally made for more of a slender build. So this fits kinda tight for a normal XXL. But I'm used to the fit and that is why I use this for essentially a base layer. Highly recommend this shirt.

October 30, 2019

ZH

Great product! Loved the pullover so much I purchased a second one. Highly recommend

October 28, 2019

Tight fit but love the

Tight fit but love the material

October 25, 2019

Practical

Just bought a second, works well for layering, durable and stylish

October 22, 2019

Thinner, cheaper feeling than previous versions

Second review for this. first post was to exchange the medium for a large to see if I could make it work. I'm 6.2" - 155 and wear small or medium stuff. Since the medium was extra tight (nothing like my 2015 version medium) I got a large- yup, it's swims on me. I may have been ok with a "roomier" 1/2 zip if the material was... Read More the same as my older version. BUT, it's not. It's thinner and feels cheap. My guess is it's marketed as a lighter weight and more packable R1 than the previous version. All I know is that it feel cheaply made, is thinner and definitely not as warm. I know this is just one man's opinion but Patagonia went and ruined a great 1/2 zip. I'm off to find another brand.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the current design of the R1. We understand that the recycled fabric may affect its thickness and feel, though the R1 was also designed with a minimalist intent. If you were looking to return this but haven't already, just [reach out](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to us so we can facilitate that process for you.

October 21, 2019

S W

I’m a 5’8” 140lb male, smallish build. Skier and cyclist. The top (small) fit as expected., snug (not tight) over a base layer. Arm length and overall length worked well on a bike. Not bulky works with shell over top.

October 21, 2019

A reverse dobby texture

A really great shirt. Slight stretch to the fabric. The inside of the shirt has a raised square fleece pattern which imprints to the outside to give a unique look. Somewhat thin material is breathable yet warm. A really adaptable shirt for either sport or casual wear. Sizing is as expected.

October 16, 2019

Still good, but 2 changes not for the better

Same great quality as the one I had before, but I miss two of my favorite features from the previous version. The "deep venting zipper" used to go several inches lower, so allowed for better venting, and the thumb holes on the sleeves were eliminated. It would seem that those who didn't like those features wouldn't have to use t... Read Morehem, i.e., don't zip it down that far if you don't want to, and ignore the thumb holes in the sleeves. Those of us who liked those features no longer have the option.

October 14, 2019

New fit makes a perfect piece almost perfect

I’ve had a R1 3/4 zip hoodie for years that fits perfectly. A campfire ember got the better part the sleeve and while it was getting repaired, I thought I’d pick up a regular pullover for the times when a hood isn’t required. It may be a bit greedy to own 2 of these but it speaks to how much I love my R1 hoodie. I nearly live in it in the chilly mo... Read Morenths, which is most months in Maine. At 5’10” and 165lbs, I thought the old school men’s medium hoodie fit perfectly. The new slim/trim fit in the medium R1 I picked up is too tight in the shoulders & arm pits. I have to work each time I pull it on over a base layer to shove the sleeves of a t-shirt down in the sleeves of the R1. It feels fine if I only have the R1 on, but it makes any kind of base layer bunch up and feel constrained. I actually ordered a men’s large to see if it fit better. The sleeves/shoulders/arm pits are a perfect fit for me in the large but the torso of the piece is way too big for my body size and flaps around aimlessly. I returned the large and kept the medium, resigned to acclimate to arm pits that rub, base layers that bunch up and shoulders and arms that feel too tight. One solution would be to have “regular” and “slim/trim” fits as options on this piece. I don’t need it to fit like a wetsuit. Maybe some people want to show off their physique with skin tight Patagonia clothing. I’d like my R1 to function like a proper mid layer and have a bit of space to accommodate a base layer and an active range of motion. I wouldn’t hesitate to give the old R1 five stars - it’s one of the best pieces I’ve ever owned. The change Patagonia made in the R1 fit took a perfect piece and made it almost perfect

October 12, 2019

R1 all day

I put this on over capilene in the morning and leave it on all day. Perfect all day comfort. Love the willow color also.

October 5, 2019

Smaller and thinner

I'm returning my Medium for a Large. My current Medium (bought 2015) is both thicker and better fitting. I'm hoping the large both fits like my old medium and it doesn't show the color of the t-shirt I'm wearing when I put it on. The one I'm returning was so thin it showed my red t-shirt underneath when I put it on. Patagon... Read Moreia please tell me you didn't change a perfect fleece.

September 30, 2019

Unfortunately everyone is right about this years R1

I decided to ignore the negative reviews about this years R1 and picked one up at REI, my wife has had an R1 for a number of years now and cannot say enough good things about it. I finally decided to get one for my self but I guess this year patagonia kinda messed them up. The arms are far too tight. Upon donning the garment the arms cause whatever... Read More shirt you’re wearing as a base layer to bunch up in your armpits so you have to awkwardly rearrange your base shirt and pull your sleeves back down and after doing that it just isn’t comfortable. The pullover squeezes your biceps and I’m no body builder very average build. I really wanted an R1 and still do but I don’t think this is the year. I will be returning my R1 and hoping they fix whatever they did with the arms in next years version.

September 20, 2019

Pitifully tight

Honestly, who comes up with this sizing? I am a 39” chest, 175 lbs, and this M fits me like a sausage casing. I fit fine into every other Patagonia Medium , generally with room to spare. This is unusable. Why? Why make my buying experience so frustrating? A “M” should not fit like a 34”” when you say it can fit 40”. I have to think the loss of equi... Read Morety will catch ulp.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

We're sorry to hear the fit was too tight. You're more than welcome to start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 12, 2019

adds the layer i was

adds the layer i was missing in between the base lay er and the shell jacket i have..

September 11, 2019

Great warming layer

Great fit and finish, very comfortable, well insulating and flexible both as an outer garment or below winter garments. One of my favorite articles of clothing; too bad it’s also painfully expensive.

September 4, 2019

Good but not Great

I’ve been wearing R1s for 15 or so years. They have always been my go to shirt from 60 degrees and lower. The current version feels thinner and not as tough. Maybe a year from now I’ll appreciate this version too but had I not wore two of my older R1s to thread bare I’d be sending it back. I still trust Patagonia makes products that work.

September 1, 2019

Quality R1 but…

Good item, fit well but if you have large cheat or large shoulders it will bunch-up in the arm pits.

August 31, 2019

R1 pullover

I have an R1 pullover from a few years ago and the new one has a different fit. On the old style the L was baggy and longer sleeves (I could wear a M but a little short in torso), the new one is a slimmer fit with shorter sleeves. I prefer the new fit, but definitely size up if you are between sizes. The newer fit is better for wearing under jacket... Read Mores and such.

August 24, 2019

Bring back old r1

Unfortunately Patagonia has changed the r1 for the worse. If you’re like me and have been using them for years the fit and material have been changed and made much more for city wear than the perfect technical piece it’s always been. PLEASE bring back the old r1!

August 23, 2019

Frustrating Redesign Issues

I owned an R1 pullover that I bought about 8 or 9 years ago and it was (still is) perfect..one of the best pieces I've owned, and it fit perfectly. It is getting worn so I ordered another of the same model and size, and it is very tight in the upper arms. It is very close to fitting, but it doesn't and I'm going to have to return it.... Read More..not sure I want to go up a size either, because the garment will probably be too long and baggy. So now what? Why do you have to keep pulling these lame moves, Patagonia? This isn't the first time, more like the 10th. The R1 Pullover is probably one of your biggest successes since the 11 oz. Synchilla Jacket that you also don't make anymore.. Why mess with success? You guys keep doing it over and over. I'm honestly about done with Patagonia, as much as I have enjoyed and still enjoy many of your products, I just don't need to play this guessing game anymore and when you aren't in one place for very long, returning and reordering is a pain in the rear too (sometimes impossible...) I really wanna like this jacket..but it doesn't fit...and I wonder exactly who this would fit...someone XL but with Olive Oyl arms? Get it together over there....seriously.

Response from Patagonia
September 10, 2019

I'm sorry to hear your R1 isn't meeting your expectations. Feel free to send that R1 back for a return if you'd like. You can start your return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

August 23, 2019

The right warmth, weight, and breathability

The first thing you notice when you put on the R1 pullover is how soft it is. Even the inside of the chest pocket is really pleasant feeling. But what makes this a great piece is the warmth it provides at a light weight while being extremely breathable.

August 18, 2019

Great layer

Recommended by a friend, this layer will be perfect for hiking in Scotland!~

August 15, 2019

The Perfect fleece?

Great slim fit, warm but breathes really well.

August 10, 2019

Amazing mid layer!

The R1 is breathable and EXTREMELY comfortable!

August 10, 2019

R1 pullover

Awesome fabric, not so awesome fit. Torso fit well; nice and loose like a normal shirt. The arms were base layer tight, all the way to the armpits. Chest zipper goes all the way to abdomen. I like the older design much better, I wore that thing for about 8 years before passing it on to my nephew. I returned this new one, couldn’t wear it.

August 5, 2019

Favorite cool weather clothing

This is an excellent piece of clothing. The interior fleece is very soft and comfortable. I generally use the pullover for casual wear, but also use it as an under layer on cold days in the backcountry (skiing). I have long arms (I'm 6'5"), and size large fits me reasonably well. I will be ordering another.

May 8, 2019

Great mid layer

This is very comfortable and versatile insulation.

May 8, 2019

Three cheers for R1!

Wear it for days at a time without having to wash. Hate to take it off because it is so comfortable. Love how it fits too.

May 8, 2019

Great Bag

Made of resilient materials, functional size, shape makes excess easy, and I like the color. I would like to the internal pockets to have zipper closures.

May 8, 2019

R1 versatility

Why didn't I get this sooner. This is the most versatile piece of mid-wear I have ever owned. I have used it skiing (alpine and nordic), running, early season road cycling and early season golfing. Light but very warm with great flexibility in the arm area. No binding in the golf swing.

May 8, 2019

Awesome Quality

This is my second R1 the other one I wore out! I teach and coach skiing and purchase the pullover to have at the PSIA National Academy. It keep me warm on cold days and vented well when it was warmer. The 3/4 zipper works great for venting. The chest pocket is great for your cell phone. Another great product by Patagonia!

April 1, 2019

A classic undone

I have own various versions of this R1 since it's introduction in 1999. The original last until about two years ago. I own two at the moment, one with thump holes and one without. The thumb holes were a brilliant addition. Why they were eliminated I cannot understand. It was perfect and now less than perfect. There is always one in my pack or ... Read Moreon my person. I'll keep my bright green one with the thumb holes until it disintegrates or Patagonia reintroduces thumb holes.

March 21, 2019

Great Fleece

This a great fleece, amazingly warm and comfortable. I got it for a trip to Scotland but have found I can use it for all kinds of cool weather activities.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches