Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R1® Air Fleece Crew

Write Your Review

4.91 /5

Filter Reviews

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R1® Air Fleece Crew

4.91
March 28, 2021

Great fabric, but did not like the collar.

I have been wearing R1 and R2 products for years. This was the first time I tried a crew collar design. I didn't like the fit, feel or appearance and retuned it and ordered the 3/4 zip R1 version with a tall collar and really like it. Very comfortable and easy on/off.

March 27, 2021

Warn and comfortable

This is the most comfortable R1 every. Would like a thicker R2 like this as well. How about a full zip jacket version with pockets.

March 20, 2021

My New Fav

The R1 crew is very comfortable. I find myself wearing it all the time inside and outside. For the fabric weight, it does a better job of keeping me warm compared to other similar weighted Polartec products so you stay warmer with less bulk. The sizing guide stated that this crew was slim fit and it was true to size. I wanted a little looser fit so... Read More I ordered the next size up and it fits great. I liked it so well I also bought the Patagonia R1 full-zip hoody.

March 18, 2021

Super Warm and Versatile Layer

To be frank, good base layers aren't that hard to find--Patagonia, obviously, makes great baselayers, but so do REI, SmartWool, etc. What sets this apart is its versatility. Yes, it's a great base layer out in the field--it keeps me super warm in camp, dries quickly, does a great job suppressing human funk, and is super packable/light wei... Read Moreght, but it's also a piece that I wear around the house or out on the town. I've only owned this crew for a month so this isn't a long term review--but I'm loving it so far.

March 12, 2021

Super warm and comfy!

One of my favorite things about this crewneck is how quickly it drys. I typically run with a tshirt under my r1s, but with this Id rather just wear without another shirt because of how warm and quickly it drys. Super impressed with this product, and would definitely recommend!

March 12, 2021

So glad I got it

The reviews on the R1 air crew peaked my interested so I ordered the Mulch Brown colorway. The color was exactly what I expected in person so that was nice. The size is true to size, I was worried it was going to be too short in the body but it hits at a good length. I wasn't sure if I would keep it at first but after trying it on and wearing ... Read Moreit around the house I ended up loving it. It's great with pet hair and holds up to clawing and scratching from our two cats. The sleeves could use a resigned cuff that would stay up better when you have to roll up you sleeves. Overall I'm happy I got it and can't wait for more colorways to come out.

March 8, 2021

fits well

i like the slim fit of this. its more like a heavier long sleeve shirt than sweatshirt, but warm and functional.

March 8, 2021

Gift for Son-in-law

Loved mine so much, decided to share the and get one for my son-in-laws birthday. Will see if he like his as much as I do.

March 8, 2021

Super Comfortable. Not too hot or cold

I loved it so much I bought another color and the sweatshirt!!

March 5, 2021

Great, as always

Super warm, light and comfortable. I like that it responsibly made.

March 4, 2021

Nice piece!

Really pleased with this piece and happy I pulled the trigger. I sized up based on some of the reviews and am glad I did. Typically a Patagonia L, but there's a little more room with the XL and I can comfortably wear with a long sleeve base. Super comfy around the house and will be a nice layer outside when needed. Material is soft, warm and b... Read Morereathable.

March 4, 2021

Awesome Fleece

Buttery soft, warm and comfortable. I wear it in a variety of settings; from around the house as a cozy sweater to a midlayer during cold winter activities. You won't want to take it off. I am 5 11", 185 lbs and have a muscular athletic build and like things on the form fitting side so I found the large too boxy around the middle and went... Read More with the medium. Wonderful fleece, highly recommended.

March 4, 2021

Amazing new R1

R1s I have always found to fight small than all other Patagonia clothes. Went up to a large and was happy. But, I wear a medium in everything else Patagonia

March 3, 2021

Lightweight, Soft, Warm (as advertised)

Fits perfect unless you like things on the more loose and relaxed side of things. I am 6'0" and 190 lbs, with an athletic build and longer than average arms. This fits pretty much perfectly on me. Could use another inch on the sleeves, but my arms are long. I may have to get another one because I always wear it as soon as it comes out of ... Read Morethe laundry. I go running in the am when it's 30 degrees out wearing only an air knit capilene base layer and this R1, and I am warm but able to vent thoroughly the whole time.

March 3, 2021

Excellent product

It fits great and is very warm while still being very breathable. It's lightweight as well. Loving it so far.

March 3, 2021

Very warm, great fit!

I have used the R1 air fleece crew as a base layer and as a stand alone layer depending on outside temperature. Very warm and comfortable. Stylish enough to where out casually. Great product.

March 2, 2021

R1 Air Fleece Crew

Great garment, I have the R2 zip up jackets in multiple colors. I love everything about the R1 Air Fleece Crew, but it's a bit short (overall length) in comparison to the Patagonia "slim fit" fit. The neck diameter could 1/8 to 1/4 smaller. We need more color ways, overall AWESOME job ! Thank you, Teva.

March 2, 2021

Favorite mid-layer

Im not sure how they did it but this R1 is so light, so warm, and has a cool casual look. I wear it for snowboarding either as a mid layer or even just a base. It breathes so well. Ive never felt too hot. Definitely found a new favorite piece.

February 27, 2021

Cozy & lightweight

Favorite fleece to date. Works for a wide range of temperatures thanks to its insane breathability. Works on its own for active use and is a great midlayer in colder conditions

February 26, 2021

Super light

Best mid layer!

February 20, 2021

Best Shirt Ever!

100% best shirt I have ever owned. Material is supper soft and very comfortable on the skin. The fit is perfect, I typically wear a large but bought an xl based on size chart and that I have a heavy weight capilene that also an XL. The fit of this R1 Air is just right. Not loose and not too tight. I handles movement well, doesnt pull. Again it is t... Read Morehe most comfortable shirt I have ever worn.

February 19, 2021

Versatile and warm

6-0, 215 - usually like XL in anything "slim fit" and L generally works in "regular fit" patagonia apparel. The XL is slightly baggy and works perfect as an around the house/stay warm layer. When outside and still, it has the warmth of an R1, but when moving, air flow is great and regulates heat well. I'm totally sold on... Read More the "air" products for any type of aerobic/high exertion - they do better than any other product at providing warmth and dealing with any sweat. Nano-air hoody, thermal airshed, pro pullover all great and have a better fabric for cutting the wind; this provides slightly more warmth but you feel the breeze (burrrr when hiking up a mountain at 20 degrees). Wore it while WFH for about a week straight after its arrival.

February 18, 2021

Cozy and soft

I know this is a technical piece but it is so warm, cozy, and soft that I've ended up wearing it at home almost every day since I got it. Significantly warmer than the regular R1 (I have a pullover R1), but I find it just as breathable, if not more so as well as I found out when I was out shoveling snow in just the R1 Air...venting was excelle... Read Morent but kept me warm when I stopped shoveling. Liked it so much I'm trying to buy another Crew but it's sold out, so I got a 1/2 zip instead.

February 17, 2021

Like a Cozy R1

Really happy with this R1 Air. Feels a bit warmer than the regular R1 and in my opinion looks less technical / more casual than the regular R1 making it great for trail to town activities. Also lets be honest, were all spending a lot of time at home these days and this is a perfect work from home sweater.

February 17, 2021

Stylish mid-layer

This is as warm as a sweater, but with breathability and good looks. Perfect for early part of a hike. Love it.

February 15, 2021

Super Soft and yet technical.

Purchased a L (6ft, 165lbs, 32in waist) fits perfect on me. A medium would of been pretty tight and restrictive I feel. In comparison to the original R1 style it feels bagger and more airy. Has a more softer feel on the inside and outside. My original R1 hoody is going strong and is a staple for outdoor activities, this r1 air feels a little more f... Read Moreragile than the OG but excels more in breath ability. A trade-off I think that many might consider when pushing it towards its limits. But if the original R1 is any indication on how tough the R line is I think the R1 air isn't gonna break without a fight. 10/10 would recommend to all lovers of the R1 original.

February 14, 2021

New Standard

I have R1 and R2 mid layers that have been my go-to favorites for many years, and this fleece truly is much warmer at a lighter weight than the previous grid fleeces.

February 12, 2021

lightweight, fleece sweatshirt

I've been looking for a fleece crewneck for a while and was excited to try out the new R1 air fabric. Fits great over a t-shirt and slides on and off easily (not too grabby unlike the regular R1) It is significantly warmer than the R1 fabric, so I'm glad I got the crewneck. I think I'd overheat with the zip neck. I was worried abo... Read Moreut pet hair, but has surprisingly not been much of an issue. My favorite mid layer in a while. It has the warmth of a heavier merino piece, with the lightweight, quick dry times, and structure of a fleece.

February 5, 2021

Design?

Nice design... except for the pocket???

January 28, 2021

The best yet

Ive tried every R_____ they make and this one is my favorite. It fits true to size as a base/mid layer not jacket. For me a XL like a glove 6- 240lb. Though Im an avid outdoors men, I not only work construction for a living but have a 35 acre farm too. So I find myself working and tending to animals more then climbing these days but havin this on m... Read Morey back is unbelievable, Im in love and I enjoy the crew neck so much. If your lookin to add another piece to the arsenal pick any R1 air model and if youre new to the game, best way to wet your feet.

January 25, 2021

Great addition to R1 line

I have both the R1 pullover and R1 jacket and love them. Ive now had the R1 air crew for two days and love it even more. Fit: has a similar fit to my other R1 pieces, which for me are true to size. Warmth: Im in the Midwest and its currently 20 F. I wore this outside for two hours (no base layer underneath and no jacket over it) and felt pretty go... Read Moreod. Similar in warmth to my R1 jacket which was very surprising considering how thin and light this crew is (Large weighs 9.7 ounces on my scale). Wind goes through it but It did trap my body warmth very well. Comfort: honesty one of the most comfortable Patagonia pieces Ive ever worn. Extras: chest pocket is small (about the size of your palm, so no phone). Will be a welcome part of my hiking and running repertoire and I feel I can wear it out and about as well.

January 24, 2021

Warm, soft and cozy

So far I've worn this hiking and mountain biking. It is very warm breathes very well. Even at idle in colder weather - worn over a merino base layer - it remains cozy. A great all around top! And I love the mustardy color. Not sure I'll use the pocket, but I like the style of it. Harkens back to old photos from Himalayan climbs with sim... Read Moreilar designs. I don't climb alpine like that, but I walk and hike often and this will be my new mid-layer staple.

January 1, 2021

Just wow...simply blown away, AMAZING!

I am a huge fan of the current R1 and Polartec. I was also very much looking forward to this release and curious about what could possibly improve the current iteration. Well needless to say I am blown away. I got the black and green in quarter zip and a brown in crew. They are sooooo light and sooooo warm. I have been wearing air chaser tee under ... Read Moreand its been in the mid 30's and the combo is so light and warm for hikes and fishing. The mobility is much better than the R1 (not air version). The feel is warming, almost like the fleece itself is warmed, possibly by the heat released by body heat and the air ventilation allowing it to move through the garment. I am a huge fan--this is my new favorite Patagonia item!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches