burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R1® Air Full-Zip Fleece Hoody

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 135 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R1® Air Full-Zip Fleece Hoody

4.7/5
True To Size
November 15, 2022

Upgraded Fleece

Got this for my husband to replace the older version Patagonia fleece he's had for almost a decade. New knit style feels nice. Cut seems slimmer and to run a bit smaller than the original. He loves it regardless. Everyday piece to layer. Will see how it performs for outdoor bouldering.

November 12, 2022

Awesome product, needs just a few tweaks to be perfect

I love the comfiness of the item, Im 5-11 and 140# and the medium fits great. Its super cozy and I love the material and tall neck on it. I wish they would add some sort of elasticized hem thats a bit snugger than the one provided to seal out wind and same for the cuffs, maybe full elastic cuffs to seal out the elements. And lastly zipper garage- w... Read Morehen its all zipped up theres a cold metal zipper touching your chin so it kind of ruins the party a bit. But other than that this is a comfy cozy fleece that breathes!

November 7, 2022

Warm & Confortable

Size S nicely fit to me (5'8, 146). Works fine for 2nd layer as well.

November 7, 2022

Close to great

Surprisingly warm for a light midlayer. I considered the R1 pullover hoody but opted for this due to the full zip and hand warmer pockets. I love the style and innovation. The wavy blue color looks really great. However, the fit will limit its use as technical midlayer. As compared to the R2 Techface, the R1 Daily and the R1 pullover, (like this, a... Read Morell are slim fit), this is more restrictive in the arm pit and shoulders and it's at least 2-3" too short especially in the back - leaning forward even slightly and the jacket lifts above my waist in the back. I also find the zipper a bit stiff, the jacket bunches up in the front when sitting and it reminds of the old R4 windstopper jackets circa 2005. I have a bias for added length for technical technical pieces. Still, I love this fleece and have it in regular rotation. I probably won't ski or mtb ride with it due to the short torso, but it makes a fine hiking and trail running layer under a Houdini and great for around town on cool calm evenings.

October 28, 2022

Prefect weight

Perfect for Fall weather, just what I wanted. Warm without bulk This thing also weighs nothing, you dont even know its on!

October 26, 2022

Runs small - Size up!

While I love this coat, I would note that it runs quite small. After sizing up from a small, I found that a medium still fits very tight and was short in the arms. Other than the fit, I would note that the material pills, especially around the arms.

October 19, 2022

Body Likes what the Body Likes

I wanted a decent fleece for fishing and casual outdoor rec for the fall and spring - found it! It's fits well for me, is cozy, and I dig the slighter tighter hoodie it comes with. Especially when fishing because you can kind of snug it to your ball cap. I will say the breeze goes through this fleece a little bit, but hey, who said a hard pec ... Read Moreisn't a good thing out there! Besides, layer up through Patagonia and you'll be solid!

October 19, 2022

Warm and cozy material, super-funky fit.

R1 Air is soft, light, warm, and breathable. Maybe more cozy than sherpa/high pile fleece. A really cool technology. I hope Patagonia continues to push this fabric with new designs. But the fit is really odd... I'm 6'0, 174, and fit, and M doesn't come close to fitting me in the shoulders/back and arms. L sort of works, but the ar... Read Morems are still borderline short, and the lower back hem flares out. And the hand pockets are teeny tiny, and really low. Because of the high collar when zipped up all the way (which is crucial for winter sports), and the fact that its very warm for its weight, this hoody still serves a purpose as an active mid-layer, but I can't wear this as a stand-alone jacket in public, because the fit is so funky. I don't know what's going on! They need to rethink the cut of this hoody big time. But its worth a try as a purely technical piece. (If it fits.)

October 12, 2022

Not too warm, not too cool - Perfect!

This piece has a nice fit that makes it perfect as a layer or as just a nice outerwear piece. Once I have it on, I tend not to take it off regardless of whether I'm inside or outside. It keeps me at the perfect temperature either way. Love it!

October 11, 2022

Warm, yet breathable.

I guide upland bird hunters, and we love mikes upon miles in sometimes not the most ideal conditions. This fleece keeps me warm while dumping moisture and excess heat. When I stop to water dogs I never get cold from sweat. It keeps me protected t from a lite rain and harsh wind. The hoody fits nice and close to keep my ears warm while walking back ... Read Moreto the truck. Its still nice and stylish to go out on the town and have a few cocktails with friends. Will be ordering more in different colors.

October 7, 2022

Best fleece jacket around

This R1 air is by far the best fleece jacket I've ever owned. Looks good but also keeps you warm while maintaining breathability. I truly love hiking in this jacket.

September 30, 2022

great mid layer

I saw a friend wearing one of these and knew my outdoor wardrobe needed on. Great midlayer over a thin wool top and under a shell. Was very frustrated at first as the women's fit was awkward for my slender body type and I couldn't get the medium or large to feel good, so I tried the mens and it worked way better for my more slender body. ... Read MoreGlad I kept trying and finally scored! I'll be rocking this layer for years to come!

September 19, 2022

Cozy, athletic fit, breathable, lightweight

Patagonia made the classic R1 warmer and more comfortable with this versatile piece. It does feel just a tiny bit tight, but I do like the athletic fit.

September 18, 2022

Amazing light fleece jacket

Warm, light, comfortable and fits very well.

September 15, 2022

Best hoody ever

I think this is the best hoody I have ever had. Packable, warm, versatile, built with recycled materials, lots of useful pockets, soft, and a great hood. Excellent product!

September 13, 2022

Great addition for winter hiking

Love this lightweight hoody that will keep me warm and not sweaty while winter hiking. Wish it was a bit more fitted, but other than that it's awesome!

September 6, 2022

Thin, Comfortable, Good Color

I'm 6'2" with long arms and long torso. The arms on this are *just* long enough. Torso is good. Would enjoy one more inch of arm length, but that's just me. Otherwise, the material is thinner than expected, but it's still cozy, and it looks good.

September 6, 2022

Superb mid-layer

This product has gotten very good tester reviews but I'd never been able to find the color I wanted in my size (M) till the recent sale so I grabbed it. It fits snug so easy to layer under an outer layer. I only gave it a 4 because the upper chest pocket is too small to fit my iPhone 11, the ideal pocket to put it. Most apparel companies have ... Read Moremade zippered chest pockets large enough for phones, an obvious feature.

September 6, 2022

So super comfortable

I love wearing this thing so much.....I wear it almost everyday. It is the perfect weight and is so comfortable but also looks great. Ended up getting it in another color I loved it so much.

September 6, 2022

Small in the armpits

XL R1/2 products have alway fit me well but this one is too snug under the armpits. This one has to go back.

September 5, 2022

Excellent!!

Wonderful piece! Very soft and comfortable. Slim fit, so size up, if you are not a skinny person. Quality is top the line

September 1, 2022

Fits great, super comfy and great to wear warming up at pickleball games or staying warm between games.

Love it, bought it in three colors.

August 12, 2022

Awesome InnThe Mountains

Have worn my R1 Air Full Zip up several 14ers this summer in Colorado. Warms me up when we start in the dark. Keeps me warm as we head off. Breathable to keep all the way up to the summit and back down on Pyramid and North Maroon to name two climbs. Awesome product and found the hoodie could slide over most all of my climbing helmet. Highly recomme... Read Morend climbers give this piece a try. Both of mine are Black. My snag a Rust come day too.

August 7, 2022

Warm and flexible

Great product! Thin and very warm!

July 21, 2022

Comfy, great looking

Started with size small, went to med., which, other than being a tad long, is a great fit. love that sleeves of this piece slide freely over my long sleeve, lw capilene. love the exterior pattern, LOVE the rust color. weight and stuffability seem very good. goal was to find a lw, vesatile piece that could also keep me toasty when worn under a lw ra... Read Morein shell. wish i could get exactly the same thing with no hood. one design miss: chest pocket all wrong for cell phone; better suited to a pack of cigarettes. . .ironically.

June 25, 2022

Is Patagonia mens clothing intended

Is Patagonia mens clothing intended to fit only dudes with skeletal frames and 32-inch waists? Geesh. (I gave high rating because I love Patagonia; hoping to exchange for next size up, which means the sleeves and torso will be too long).

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear about this sizing issue. If you have any questions regarding your return, please feel free to reach out to our Customer Service by clicking [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

June 6, 2022

Perfect hoody

I usually run hot to the extent that I have to take my hoody off the moment I get into a car or a building from outside. The r1 Air is lightweight, breathes extremely well and suits a wide range of temperatures. I keep it on in the car/stores or outside. It has become my go to jacket during fall, winter and early spring. A shell on top helps during... Read More rainy, windy or extremely cold days.

May 22, 2022

Great zip up. Wierd hood

I love the zip up sweat shirt very comfy,i. wish i paid more attention to the hood which looks strange and has no pull strings to close hood, again fantastic zip up hoodie with minor defects.

May 16, 2022

lightweight, great pocket position,

haven't tested for wind rating, but so far, this is great really light hoodie, to wear on those cold so-cal mornings before sunrise run

May 16, 2022

light and cozy

I love this thing. I hadn't bought a fleece in a while and had moved into merino wool but this thing is really breathable and feels nice -- and it doesn't hold smells like old synthetics did. I can't recall the last time I washed it, and it still smells fresh. I often sleep in it, and it's light and compact enough to layer and i... Read Mores cut to move in all directions. Very breathable. Runs small, and I'm in-between sizes.

Response from Patagonia
May 18, 2022

We're glad to hear this one is working well for you, Jonathan! The R1 Air is one of many "slim" fit items in our technical fleece category, so it will fit closer to the body than our "regular" or "relaxed" fit products. Great [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) will keep this in prime condition for many years to come. Thanks for the review!

April 26, 2022

Warm and comfortable

Very well executed hoody with only one gap that I have noticed which is the lack of waist adjustment, similar to a compression cord or draw string. Hood is well designed so the base of the hood acts as a full functional neck gator when hood is down and zipper is all the way up. Fabric feels good when worn directly against skin. R1 fabric is thicker... Read More than the R1 Tech Face, warm and breathable, noticeably not very wind resistant. I have noticed the bottom of the garment not close enough to my hips and I wish for an adjustable cord or string to stop the air from entering from the bottom. I often use the hood alone or over a cap and its a great fit, unlikely to work over a larger helmet. Very happy with the product.

April 15, 2022

Does not Hold up

The is a great item while it lasts, but the outer pile gets compressed and looks shoddy far to rapidly. After about 2 weeks to a month of heavy wear, it loses a lot of warmth and doesn't look that great.

April 14, 2022

Great product but smelled "chemically" out of the bag

Warm, light weight. Good for all-out hikes in the New England springtime and also for strolling around Central Park in NYC. Only problem it had a faint weird chemical smell out of the bag. I washed it before wearing it and it is fine now. I have a very similar Patagonia product (the 1/2 zip no hood version, same material) and no such smell. I wonde... Read Morered if it had something to do with the recycled material but I wasn't going to chance holding my infant grand daughter until I washed it and it passed the "sniff test"

April 10, 2022

Super comfy.

This is a super comfy layer. And very easy to regulate comfortably through a huge temperature range from fully zipped open to fully zipped closed with the hoody on. It is also a great mid-layer in cold weather under a shell. It did smell a little funky straight out of the package for some reason, but it aired out in a few hours outdoors. Highly rec... Read Moreommended.

April 8, 2022

Runs a bit snall

Sizing is a bit smallfor reference Im 6ft, 165lbs and sized up to a large. The sleeve length in this size fits me perfectly, but I had tried a medium and the sleeve length was too short and the overall fit was very tight. If you are looking to also wear this casually I would recommend sizing up one size.

March 31, 2022

The base layer I was missing

This base layer is . Recommended. It breathes. It keeps you warm. Its not too hot. Not too cold. Its just right.

March 29, 2022

Perfect fit - keeps warm and dry

The R1 Air Zip-Hoody has become my favorite layering piece within a short time - with a previous R1 version being it before. It sits snuck and moves well with the body, wicks moisture be it sweat or melted snow away from the body. The combination of fit and function makes this a winner!

March 18, 2022

Worth The Hype

I read several raving reviews and decided to give it a try. This is definitely my go-to piece for backpacking. I wear an XL and ordered the XL, knowing it was a slim fit. I wear it only for backpacking. If you want to wear it casually, then size up. Warm, super comfy, and wicks moisture well. If it's windy, throw on a wind jacket and you'... Read Morere good to go. Worth the hype.

March 16, 2022

My go to active fleece.

This hooded fleece quickly transitioned to being my new favorite piece of gear. It is a light fleece perfectly designed for high output active pursuits. I commute both to work and the climbing wall on my bike and this jacket provides the perfect mid layer on colder days so that it insulates when covered with a wind resistant/proof layer but if you ... Read Moreneed to dump heat it is fantastic at quickly doing so! Also works fine as an outer layer if highly active around 45F-50F. It fits more like an active piece so no unwanted material getting in the way. The hood is absolutely fantastic for biking because it fits nice and snug under the helmet and moves with your head while looking around without blocking vision, which is crucial so you don't get hit while on a bike! I love how the collar when fully zipped almost acts as a neck warmer/half mask even if you aren't using the hood. The hand pockets are nice and roomy and lined with a wind resistant/slick material so things won't catch on the fleece material. It also has interior stash pockets. My only dislike is the chest pocket is too small for a regular sized cell phone, but it does fit a wallet/credit card nicely. This is an extremely well thought out and designed piece of clothing. It's by far my favorite addition to my kit this past year.

March 15, 2022

Great Tech Fleece!

I love my new R-1 Air Full-Zip Fleece Hoody - skinned 21,000 vertical feet in 24 hours with it on! It's very light, highly breathable, fits well, and does exactly what it's supposed to! (I'm almost 5' 10", 155 lbs.)

March 14, 2022

A good sweater

I could move easily in it. I intent to play tennis in it.

March 9, 2022

zipper issue

The front zipper is not straight. It runs in a gradual "S" from top to bottom like the material/stitching is poorly executed. What happened, Patagonia? This is not the razor sharp clothing that you used to make. I'm having way too many quality, stitching, and overall execution of products lately. Sending way too many things back and ... Read Morethis is one.....

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2022

Thank you for your review, Brannon. We're so sorry to hear that zipper isn't right! This is a new product, but we haven't been hearing about such a problem in the line. Of course, we want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, so if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it for a refund, or you can exchange it.

March 5, 2022

Almost great, but returned.

I wanted so bad to like this, but I ended up returning it. The fabric is amazing and the texture looks great. I intended to use this for casual wear and for hiking & backpacking. For me, the fit was way off - it was clearly designed for long slender body types, which is frustrating. Patagonia has increasingly gone this way in recent years and t... Read Morehe clothing is less and less accommodating for body types that aren't skinny. I am fit and healthy but I am not tall nor slender. If this was offered in a non-hoody zip, and/or with a regular fit, I might give it another try.

Response from Patagonia
March 14, 2022

We appreciate your feedback on this hoody and we're sorry it was disappointing. This series of fleece is all designed in a "slim" fit but we offer many other [fleece jackets](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-fleece?prefn1=fit&prefv1=regular%7Crelaxed) that are "regular" or "relaxed" fit and would be happy to guide you to a product that we hope you'll love for years to come. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us. Thanks for the review, Elias!

February 28, 2022

Perfect lightweight fleece for everyday

Really like how this feels and looks. Its a great addition for travel and even daily wear or around the house.

February 26, 2022

love this fleece

This fleece is just what I needed for winter riding and works as a great midlayer. I have been really happy with the overall fit and the hood is cut perfectly for wearing under your helmet. I wear this on a daily basis for all my subzero rides here in Minneapolis and definitely recommend it to anyone looking for an extra layer of warmth for their w... Read Moreinter kit.

February 21, 2022

Comfy Base Layer

Comfy base layer, great for layering under other garments for additional warmth and comfort. Am 61 165lbs and the M fits like a glove, which is perfect for a base layer. Great for having under a larger hoodie or puffy when hiking, or great for around camp when more stationary. Comfortable enough to sleep in, and seems sturdy. Feels like a modern cl... Read Moreassic.

February 17, 2022

Love the Uphill

This is the piece you want when the R1 is too warm and you want breathability! With a thin merino layer next to my skin, this is my uphill, cold weather, ski touring go-to piece. If the wind picks up, I pair it with the R1 TechFace or a shell. I love the slim/athletic cut. My only complaint is that the chest pocket is too small for a phone.

February 10, 2022

Great jacket

I wear this to walk my dog every morning in cold New Engkand weather. Sensational as a layer under my winter coat, then alone on warmer days. Super warm yet breathes as well! One of my best gear purchases ever!!!!

February 8, 2022

10/10

I use it daily for backcountry splitboarding and it is my favorite layer yet. Perfect as a base layer for sub freezing days. Wicks sweat incredibly well too. I got a large but have broad shoulders so it fits great.

February 6, 2022

Perfect layer

Excellent layer for the cold or as a stand alone without a shell or a moderate day

January 27, 2022

NICE

Great fit and function

January 22, 2022

Warm

The Patagonia R1 fleece hoody was the missing link in my layering system. It is wonderfully warm by itself but when I add a wool base layer underneath and an ultralight synthetic down jacket over it I can hike/backpack in low twenties and stay warm. I havent been out below twenty degrees yet but I fully expect to stay warm when I do. With just a fe... Read Morew clothing items I can hike comfortably in a wide temperature range. I usually wear xtra large gear and it fit perfectly. I highly recommend the Patagonia R1 Hoody.

January 21, 2022

Solid - don't like the squiggles

It's classic patagonia gear, a great piece of gear. I just can't handle the squiggle aesthetic. I get that the squiggle (zigzag) pattern has an intentional utility to it, but I don't like the way it looks, and I wear this out and about a lot, so I care about how it looks.

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2022

Thank you for your review, Kellen. We're sorry to hear that fabric surface doesn't appeal to you. Of course, you can absolutely [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Please let us know if we can help!

January 6, 2022

Perfect

I have worn this every day since I received it. It is so comfortable and I am planning on getting another one.

January 4, 2022

Great Fleece

This jacket exceeded my expectations in every way. The jacket is extremely light yet super warm. Also the fit is perfect. Another great Patagonia product.

January 1, 2022

Great base layer

Amazing base layer or wear as a light jacket!

December 31, 2021

The best hoodie Ive owned

This hoodie is amazing soft and warm. Patagonia has somehow engineered a fabric that keeps you a comfortable temperature from 45-65 degrees Fahrenheit without overheating or freezing you while just wearing a cotton long sleeve shirt underneath it. It also looks much more professional than your old baggie hoodies so it can be dressed up or down. Thi... Read Mores was so amazing that I went ahead and bought each item from the R1 lineup

December 30, 2021

Great for layering or on it's own

I use this as a mid-layer on winter 4000+ peaks in the White Mountains, NH... or on it's own in Spring and Fall. Always have my hard shell on the ready for wind and rain.

December 23, 2021

Warm like a hot dog bun!

This top has a great fit and is nice and cozy like a frankfurter at the ball park! Just add mustard!

December 12, 2021

High quality, high price

Full zip, light weight hoodies are hard to come by. This is an excellent example, its light in weight but very warm I wear it for lounging around our house and for walking our dog. The only downside is the very high price, about $100 more than it should be.

December 1, 2021

perfect warmth when on the move

I purchased this to use as an insulation layer when I am active. Most synthetic insulation jackets I have run too warm and overheat me when I am moving uphill in cold weather. This jacket hits the sweet spot where it does keep me warm but not overly so when I am on the move on a hike or scramble (especially uphill). It may not be ideal for warmth ... Read Morewhen you are stationary but if you are clearly aware of your body temperature regulation, this might be worth a try.

December 1, 2021

Everything I expected it to be.

Im recently joining the Patagonia family, This is my Third purchase! With that being said, I have yet to be disappointed. Im rather tall so I was nervous about getting a medium. But, I like my clothes to be fitted (but not to fitted) and this jacket met my standards. If it was any smaller though, it would be slightly uncomfortable. The overall de... Read Moresign of the jacket is amazing And it goes with any outfit of choice. Also, I love how breathable the material is, but at the same time, it gives me the right amount of warmth when its needed. Patagonia has yet to let me down! This jacket is a MUST.

November 30, 2021

Comfy

Super comfortable. True to size. Great mid layer with a shell. Excellent sunny (but chilly) day outer layer to be relaxed or active.

November 30, 2021

Upgrade, except for small pocket

I purchased this year's (2021) Air Full-zip Fleece Hoodie to use primarily as a mid layer for skiing. It fits well, feels great, and the hood works well under a helmet (eliminating the need for a neck buff and beanie). I also bought last year's model (with the waffle weave) to compare. The new model is not quite as warm, has hand warmer p... Read Moreockets that are comfortable and don't pooch out like the older model. The new model moves very well, and the elastic band on the hood is more comfortable than the older version. The only shortcoming I have found is the chest pocket is too small (the older version's pocket is more generous). As a result, my regular size iPhone, in an average size protective case, barely fits and stretches the garment.

November 29, 2021

Durability to be Determined

Overall a respectable lightweight fleece. Hats off to the colorists working within Patagonia, the "Sandhill Rust" color is a triumph. However, the nature of the fabric leads me to question its long term durability as one month's light use has already caused the fabric to heavily "pill" in high abrasion areas (around the cuf... Read Moref, under the forearm, etc.). Final review is a tastefully designed fleece better suited to a night at the bar than a day out on the trail. Unfortunately for me I don't drink.

November 29, 2021

Too short in torso

Good product

November 26, 2021

Perfect for high aerobic activities in cool/cold weather

Just took my new R1 Air Hoody out for a spin on a 10 mile trail run. Cloudy day with temps in the upper-20s and a stiff breeze. I wore an old crew-neck long-sleeve Capilene 1 base layer underneath and brought along a Houdini Air in case I needed it. To my surprise, I didn't. I sweat a lot, and consequently tend to get chilled in the second hal... Read Moref of my runs when it is windy and cold out. But the R1 Air is so breathable that I stayed pretty dry underneath. It is also very warm for how thin it is, at least while you're moving. As a result, despite feeling the wind going through the fleece, I didn't get cold. I can see the R1 Air quickly becoming my favorite cold weather running piece. It's warm, comfortable, and wicks incredibly well. As for sizing, I'm 5'9", 155 lbs, with a 40" chest, 31" waist, and 33"-34" arm length. I tried on a small and a medium. The small fit closely around my torso and the sleeve length was ok, but it felt a bit tight in the shoulders and chest. The medium is, obviously, a bit looser in the torso but fits well in the chest and shoulders. Arm length is perfect - I can extend my arms and not have the wrists ride up. My only complaint is that I would prefer it was a tad bit shorter. But I'm a little short-waisted, so I say that about a lot of pieces of clothing. I went with the medium and am very happy with it.

November 24, 2021

Awesome jacket!

This is my new favorite mid layer. The fit is good although I feel it is a little looser than my regular R1 and R2. I wear a small in those and they fit great but had to go XS in this one and it's a little snug in the waist but at least it doesn't look baggy like the small did.

November 19, 2021

Great Mid Layer

Great for hiking or chilling outside, as long as you have an outer layer if there is wind or rain. I work at home and probably wear it 6 hours every day, instead of turning the heat up further, its so comfortable! The hood makes a big difference in temperature, I feel like I could hike in sub freezing temperatures with this fleece and a light rain ... Read Morejacket, as long as both had hoods.

November 17, 2021

Cozy meets functional meets stylish

Love the trim fit of this R1 Air Full Zip and its ability to shed heat, wick sweat, and serve as a flexible layer. I've worn it from grocery store runs to hikes to ski layers and it continues to impress.

November 16, 2021

Great Lt. Wt. Jacket

Bought as a gift and it was very well received. Sized up to fit in length (body and arms) but good as a casual piece. Great fabric and all around function!

November 15, 2021

R1 Air hoodie

This piece is perfect for high output activities because it breathes so well, while also being quite warm. It reminds me of polartec alpha insulation but a little heavier. I've been waiting for Pat to make something like the Cap air but more durable as a midlayer and this is it. Polyester is more durable as an outer layer than wool. It's ... Read Morebasically a fleece sweater. Very breathable technical layer. A full zip, non-hooded would be a nice addition to the line!

November 12, 2021

Im not athletic build but love the R1

Sure, its snug (XL) across my chest, so I exchanged it for XXL and Im happy. I weigh 207 and 60 years ago could run sub-5 minute miles in XC. The material is soft enough to wear without a tee shirt underneath and the R1 worn under my Macro-puff hoody keeps me plenty warm on cold days. I live in northern Vermont. Highly recommend the R1, I do.

November 12, 2021

Excellent Breathability + Warmth

Excellent breathability and warmth without the bulk.

November 10, 2021

Best active mid layer

The R1 Air is the best active mid layer for ski touring, hiking, running or anything else in the cold. Also super comfortable to wear casually. Highly recommended. Fit is supposed to be tighter with space for a base layer or two, but if you want a more relaxed fit order a size up.

November 9, 2021

R1 Air Fleece Hoodie

As always Im very happy with my purchase of this fine Patagonia product. Ive used it as a base layer for both alpine skiing and hiking by my home in Mammoth Lakes. When we get enough snow Ill also use for backcountry skiing. Its very comfortable and keeps me warm but dry. Lots of ventilation if needed. I also have the regular R1 hoodie which Ive us... Read Moreed for a couple years now for both Alpine and backcountry skiing that Ive loved the performance of. The R1 seems to fit slightly tighter than the R1 Air. But overall not much difference in performance that Ive been able to notice so far. I especially appreciate the hood which can be zipped up and worn under my helmet on those cold and blustery days we get in the Eastern Sierras . Overall an incredible product and has performed as I had hoped.

November 8, 2021

Cruising through ice on Grandfather Mtn.

My wife and I both wore these on our recent hike of the Profile trail at Grandfather Mtn. Ice and snow on the trail and boulders, hard winds on top of the ridge and freezing temps. No outer layer needed. This is gold as a midlayer, but if you are moving, it is often good enough on its own. Very pleased with the performance of these garments.

October 26, 2021

Warm and cozy

Nice midlayer for climbing; looks good by itself for casual.

October 23, 2021

Fabulous hood for a bald guy

The hood that fits the head comfortably. The weight to warmth to how well it breathes all work together for a satisfied customer. Short comings, the breast pocket is too small to get the smallest iPhone in and the cuffs are a bit tight in the sleeves.

October 11, 2021

Base-layer/Mid-layer Hoodie

Great use for fall activities or worn casually. Fits close to body, so size up if you're in between sizes.

October 10, 2021

Great layer for outdoor activity

As a fly fishing guide in Idaho the fall brings lots of temperature changes. This has been my go to layer from sun up to sun down with rain jacket over layer when needed. Regulates heat and breathes extremely well!

October 10, 2021

Excellent fit

Keeps me warm on cool bike rides; great for chilly mornings on the way to feed the horses; perfect for camping and staying warm in the sleeping bag.

October 7, 2021

Fantastic Sweatshirt

Very warm, comfortable, and easily packable. Versatility is great.

October 3, 2021

husband loves

my husband layers this or will wear it alone a lot! he is obsessed lol super comfy warm light and breathable

October 1, 2021

Bit warmer

Different from prior year material but generally warmer

October 1, 2021

Best purchase

Super warm

September 28, 2021

Perfect golf jacket

I bought this awesome fleece for a week of cold weather golf at Pebble Beach and i DID NOT disappoint! I'm a loyal Patagonia customer bc everything you make is of the highest quality with style that never goes out of style. TY for continuing to make amazing, planet-friendly products - I'm looking forward to wearing this fleece for many, m... Read Moreany years to come :)

September 24, 2021

Versatile

A very versatile piece. I use mine when I climb or when I am just taking my pup for a walk. Surprisingly warm for how thin it is. Only thing I want is more colors.

September 17, 2021

Perfect early fall layer

Great for early morning walks and day hikes... not too hot, not too cool. Liked it so much I ordered the crew neck for a winter mid-layer (prefer no hood under a jacket). Only (mild) issue is the neck is a bit tight when zipped all the way up, and I'm not a big guy at 170lbs/ 6'.

September 15, 2021

Need Plus Sizes

Love my new R1 air hoodie, it's warm, lightweight, and I love the rust color. My only complaint is that Patagonia doesn't offer plus sizing. I'm a 2XL in everything and at 6'4 280lbs this fleece fits but is a bit snug. I would love to have the option to size up for a looser fit. I'm a big guy, but I'm very active as a ... Read Morewildlife biologist and hike daily for work and leisure and I want to have the best gear for the job, but Patagonia's sizing makes that difficult for us active plus sized folk.

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on sizing Roy. We are working toward having more inclusive sizing across our product line. We currently offer up to 3XL in some items. You can search by size on our website.

September 15, 2021

Great Performance Hoody

Its a slim fitting hoody and warmer than expected given how lightweight it is. The purple looks amazing. Really glad I was able to purchase this on sale!

September 12, 2021

warm and comfortable

Very comfortable and warm but not heavy, breathable, mid layer, good for activity,

September 10, 2021

Order a Size Down

This piece is awesome. Its lighter than an R1 and feels like I can push harder without sweating it out completely. Size like many items is a crapshoot. Im 6-2 178lbs and the medium is perfect. Id be swimming in the large. This is a great piece that I will likely by a follow up in a diff color.

September 6, 2021

Super comfortable

Warm, comfortable, light, and breathable. What more can you ask for?

September 3, 2021

Comfy and warm

Perfect jacket for fall/ winter hiking with hood.

September 2, 2021

Super comfy

Fits great is really warm and just down right cozy

August 24, 2021

The Hood is Freakin Perfect

Ive been looking for a fleece hoody for a while and this one is pretty close to perfect. Its simple and functional, made from recycled polyester, and it layers really well. Looking forward to fall and winter adventures in Utah, lots of sunrises and sunsets and star gazing.

August 23, 2021

Fantastic fleece hoody

From October to April I wear this thing so much for so many things that I bought a second.

August 9, 2021

Great Coat

This coat is great. Lightweight, confortable and keeps you warm/comfortable at a wide range of body temperatures and outside temperatures. Only criticism is chest pocket is not big enough for phone but that can be good to just leave it behind.

June 16, 2021

Perfect Layer

When temps can change quickly, this has become my go to. Perfect for chilly mornings and campfire evenings. On cooler days, its not too hot and allows for activity without become overheated.

May 21, 2021

Cozy, Bright & Well Made

I've been an R1 Hoodie fan and user for almost two decades now. The Air Full-Zip is a new addition to my line up and I like it very much. The new "Air" material looks different from what I'm used to in outdoor clothing, but it feels amazing on my skin - plush, soft and warm. The pocket on this piece is smaller than on other R1 H... Read Moreoodies, which is a bummer because my phone does not fit inside it. I like the lining of the hand pockets, which have a tougher, nylon lining that feels like it can handle keys or anything rough better than the Air material could. Overall, I'm super happy with this and look forward to developing a long relationship with it!

May 17, 2021

Great product!

This jacket is cozy and warm! The fit is relaxed but the comfort is amazing!

May 17, 2021

Soft as cashmere

Replacing my nano puff as a layering sweater. Great in humid weather where nano puff gets clammy. Hardly notice it's on!

May 14, 2021

Review for R1

I recently purchased the R1 and I love it. It is really light weight and keeps you worm. I used it at pennusula state park in Door county wisconsin on a hiking trip. Love the color and design. I have been wearing your products for over 25 years and I really appreciate all that this company stands for. Keep up all the success and God bless. Jorge M.... Read More

May 3, 2021

Slim fit, warm

Product feels warmer than previous R1 hoody versions. Definitely thicker, breathability is about the same. Sleeves could be longer (they ride up when moving arms around) , and would be great to add a velcro adjustable cuff vs the banded cuff. I am 6'1" and 155 lbs, medium is a trim fit. Very good with a single base layer underneath in man... Read Morey types of variable conditions. Needs a shell for high wind or significant moisture. feels like a cozy fleece inside and out.

May 1, 2021

Why reduce chest pocket size?!

I received the R1 air only to be very disappointed with the fact that the check pocket size reduced compared to the R1. I have the iphone 12 pro and it now barely fits in the pocket; it is a tight cumbersome squeeze to get it in there. This seems like a wildly stupid decision because the same size pocket as the normal R1 would be negligible in term... Read Mores of weight, and the jacket has plenty of real estate there. This is the best pocket for my phone and now I will not be able to easily remove/insert my phone while I'm climbing and don't always have both hands free. For this reason I am giving the jacket 3 stars, otherwise it seems great. Poor design decisions, Patagonia..

April 28, 2021

Super comfortable

What a great piece, I'm a medium but I had to size up to large medium seemed a little tight the medium jacket would raise up if I raise my arms above my waist. I can't say enough good things about that jacket sized up so I can have a looser more comfortable fit.

April 27, 2021

Nice Fleece

I love how the zig zag pattern looks. Nice and comfy fleece that performs very well while ski touring and ski mountaineering. Wicks moisture and dries super fast which is great during high exertion cold weather activity. Less stretchy, but slightly warmer and blocks wind a touch better than regular R1. The fit is a bit boxier than the regular R1, I... Read More wish the hem was more tapered on the R1 Air. Kind of holds odor more than R1 too. I'm 155lbs and 6', forever between a M and L. I opted for a Large as I like my mid layers a little longer and less restrictive in the armpits and chest. Not a fan when base/mid layers barely go past my belt as a taller skinny guy. Taper the hem and it's a perfect fit for me. Overall still love it, but my regular R1 full zip hoody fits better.

April 20, 2021

Great fit

The sweater fit great, and I love the style.

April 15, 2021

Super warm

I bought the zip neck of this same item & liked it some much. I definitely decided to get the jacket as well. Super soft, warm very comfortable against your skin or with a capilene tee under it. Get one you'll love it & wear it a lot.

April 15, 2021

Best Base Ever!

I bought this to have as a base under my puffy while hiking in NoCo. This thing keeps you warm while avoiding the dreadful heat fatigue while hiking. Its comfy, versatile and awesome. Oh and youll get the random hiker complimenting you while wearing it.

April 6, 2021

Excellent comfort range

Snowshoed the Wild Basin portion of Rocky Mt Nat Park, temp in the 40s and coming on to dark. Cap 4 hoody underneath, put the Air on at the car and didnt take it off for the jaunt and then for the 2 hour car ride home! Didnt sweat out working up the steep trail, stayed warm coming down w temps in the 30s and then was blown away that I didnt have to... Read More take it off for the car ride home! Its comfy through a very broad range of temperatures and exertion levels. On the flip side, the pockets are way to low, the pack waist belt cuts right across em. Im 62, 225 with long arms and broad shoulders, the fit with the xxl works for that part but the body is large. Ill see if a Patti retail store has an xl to try on to downsize the torso. Excellent addition to the R1 line! Well done!

March 29, 2021

Hot Ember is Orange

I really enjoy how breathable and soft this jacket is, BUT it is substantially lighter in color. It looks red, but is 100% Orange. Again, I love the R1 jackets, but I think I will exchange it.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2021

Hi Leonardo, thanks for sharing your thoughts on the R1 Air and we're so sorry the color wasn't what you expected. Let us know if you want some [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) finding an alternative style or color!

March 27, 2021

Very breathable and warm.

Very comfortable and warm. Fabric feels great on skin. Had to exchange and size up to an xl because I have broad shoulders. 62 210.

March 27, 2021

Very warm

Light weight and warm

March 27, 2021

Comfort and Warmth

This slim cut hoody is extremely versatile for any activity you can think of. I bought for Back Country Skiing and have used it for MTB, Hiking, Alpine spring Skiing and Causal wear. Hi quality and warm, it's super light and is also an excellent wind barrier. I love it. Great job Patagonia!

March 26, 2021

Tight fit for me...

I purchased the quarter zip version in large and its a great fit. I love the hoody version but it is a slimmer fit. Still love the item just wish it had a little more room.

March 26, 2021

Super soft!

I bought a medium to be a little more snug than my usual large size. It's a bit tight in the arm pits but all around comfortable fit. I love how soft and cozy it is in morning hikes around 45 degrees it's all you'd need. In colder mornings I throw my nano puff over top and the double layer is outstanding. Morning workouts are great f... Read Moreor getting warmed up in the R1 and once I get too warm I'll shed to continue. Overall great construction and great comfort from Patagonia. Would highly recommend for all around use!

March 26, 2021

Great layer and cool wear!

True to size and warm! Great warm but lightweight layer! Convenient pockets and hood is great when temps drop!

March 25, 2021

Best Fleece

I love this fleece and it is an instant staple in my collection. The fit is perfect. I am 6 foot 2 and 180 and it fits me without any issues (even my longer arms). I love that it is snug through the body and then expands out at the neck/face so I do not feel choked. Some other scuba hoods often cover my eyes, but this fits perfectly around my head.... Read More The fleece breaks the wind much better than I anticipated and keeps me plenty warm in 40-50's with a long sleeve underneath. I would absolutely recommend this product.

March 25, 2021

great piece

To be fair, haven't put it through much yet. Very soft, fit is great. I'm 5'9" 160ish athletic/lean and the medium is nearly perfect. Breathes very well, but warm. Pockets are good. Note the ember color is burnt orange. No biggie just thought it would be redder based on website pics. Very happy with it and would buy again.

March 25, 2021

Comfy

Great fit, super comfy for layering but after wearing a few times it really pulls the body odor into the armpits. Have not done any crazy activities in it yet or am a heavy sweating person.

March 21, 2021

Twice As Nice

I've biked to work 473 days in row. My R1 Hoodie is now my go to mid layer for fighting Colorado cold, snow and wind. I especially like the form fitting hood that zips up tight. I wore mine twice in some challenging conditions and bought a second one.

March 19, 2021

Warm & Breathable

Works as described. If you're standing around in the cold, this is not going to keep you warm. This changes if you're hiking where it keeps you warm while being breathable. The hood, and full length zipper, allow for further modulation of comfort. I've very happy with it.

March 8, 2021

Not that soft & Tight in Chest

Bought size Large. 1. Fabric was not as soft as it looked (online) to me...but still comfortable. Certainly not soft like the capilene air crew. 2. Patagonia tops often do not fit my body type. This is unfortunate as I really like the quality and the company ethos. 3. If you have an athletic shape (V taper of X body type), you'll have difficul... Read Morety fitting properly into most Patagonia fleece, jackets, tops etc. 4. I'm 6ft 1", 170lbs with 44 chest and broad shoulders. If I buy a Patagonia top that fits my chest/shoulders (size L or XL)...the torso and arms are too loooong (R2 techface hoody). 5. Apparently I'm the same height/weight as most of the male models on the site, but we must have different proportions. A medium is very constricting to movement for me. 6. Oddly, i think their tops are great for people with a little mass around the middle or skinny runner types. 7. I've tried about 12 different tops this year and only two have fit my shape. Hope that helps :)

March 8, 2021

My new favorite hoodie

Lightweight, warm, and comfortable. Plus pockets are huge. A little on the snug/athletic side for sizing, which is what I wanted.

March 4, 2021

The Best Midlayer

I love this midlayer. It's warm, soft, comfortable, and fits snugly, but not tight on my slender frame. The hood is nice and snug and turns with your head. It does everything a midlayer should do and does it better than anything else I've found. The only issue I have with it is that Patagonia's sales and marketing department is so i... Read Morenept that they only offer a handful of these to the US public, so they sell out in the most popular colors and sizes in the first few days, and in some cases, in the first few hours that they come out. I even signed up for a notification when a different color came back in stock and within four hours of receiving the email notice I tried to order it and they were already sold out!!! This is not an inexpensive garment in a low quality store - I expect better. They need to clean house on the inventory management team who handles this. . . . Then deport them.

March 2, 2021

Marshmallow Light

Love this new update to the R1. Purchased a week ago and have used it during two runs and for work. Great in a variety of temps (17F snow and 43F rain). Dries amazingly fast after wash and does not become saturated with sweat during a run workout; wore my Patty Houdini overtop. Ill be purchasing a second one for casual use in a brighter color when ... Read Morethey are available. Purchased a small as im 57, 160lbs, 38chest, 15.5arm and this fits great even with a baselayer underneath. Light and durable. My new favorite piece from Patagonia

March 2, 2021

Yeah buddy

Quite a gem in my layering system! Fits perfect as a second layer and is snug...but not too snug

March 1, 2021

Great style

I have 4-5 kind of fleece jackets of Patagonia. Usually small size is a little small, medium size a little bit bigger for me. So weirdly Im in between. In this jacket problem is solved. Medium and slim; perfect.

February 26, 2021

Great Piece, maybe misleading name

So I really love this hoody. It is the most comfortable piece I've had from Patagonia thus far. The next to skin feel when you just have a tshirt underneath it is amazing. It does run a little large in my opinion and has more of the patty boxy cut than fitted. The pockets are awesome, very low profile so they don't add bulk to the jacket.... Read More The interior dump pockets are great too. I really recommend this jacket. I'm a huge fan of the R1 line. I have the techface hoody and standard pull over hoody as well. I expected this to be more of an "air" version of the R1, kind of like the nano air is to the nano puff. This however is a completely different piece. The standard R1 is lighter, thinner, more breathable and has the fitted cut to layer very easily. This jacket is closer to a better sweater or synching in terms of insulation and warmth. This piece blocks more breezes than a traditional R1 as well. These aren't negatives but just something I thought would be helpful. Based on the "R1" title I wasn't really expecting this type of jacket, again I'd say this is more a "synchilla air" than an R1 at all. It does breathe well when you're working but in cold months I use an R1 as a layer to stay warm on runs below freezing. This jacket gets too hot too fast. It's also a boxier fit than the standard R1, again more like a synching. Great jacket but definitely the wrong name imo.

February 25, 2021

LOVE this zip hoodie!

Soft, comfortable, I love everything about this hoodie. Bought 1 size larger than usual and the fit is perfect for a relaxed look without being bulky.

February 24, 2021

Solid for ski touring

When ski touring the R1 is my go to. Breaths really well and at the same time keeps heat whens it cold. Funk factor is minimal and I have put long hard days in. Hood is good tight fit when the wind is whipping. Like most Patagonia products i get I find myself saying I could buy a few of these. The material is also softer then other R1 products. If ... Read Moreyour looking for a jacket for the skin track this is the one. Patagonia got this one spot on for high output in colder temps.

February 12, 2021

Warm & Great All-Around

Really like the material and feel of this hoodie. It retains a lot of heat, without feeling too heavy. Two small additions I would like, would be for a zipper cover by where the mouth rests, and also thumb holes on the sleeves. Otherwise, a pretty great product!

February 2, 2021

Plusher and warmer R1 with decent breathability

Feels much warmer and has a homogeneous fabric compared to the variable thickness of the r1 pullover hoody. Hand pockets are reinforced with a more durable fabric so the inside doesn't pill up too much. Initially bought an XS. The armpits were way too constricting. Chest too tight. I am an xs for 2016 nano air, 2018 torrentshell, 2017 sidesen... Read Mored but S for 2019 r1 pullover hoody. The S r1 air full zip is more relaxed in the pits but still baggy along the chest. If you've got broad shoulders/chest definitely size up. The hood fits looser and isn't scuba diver tight which means it's comfortable to zip all the way up with the hood down. Nice to have zipped pockets compared to the regular r1 full zip. Chest pocket is great for keeping those snack bars warm when its cold out. r1 air hood is a bit lumpy and loose. Kind of an oblong cone shaped top. Wish that the zipper pockets rode above where the harness would go. Worn while skiing in temps between 30s to 40s. Warm but not sweaty hot for casual hikes around 50s and below.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches