Back to Product

Patagonia Women's R1® Air Full-Zip Fleece Hoody

Write Your Review

4.5 /5

Filter Reviews

All 12 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's R1® Air Full-Zip Fleece Hoody

4.5
April 1, 2021

Gorgeous color, flattering fit

This is a beautiful lightweight fleece I will use as a base layer on cold days or outer layer on warm days. It is well made, the color is stunning (stellar blue) and it is fitted and stays put. I purchased the XS, which usually fits me (5'9, 120, athletic) except for the arms, which are always a little short at Patagonia. My one complaint is t... Read Morehe arms on this jacket are very short--probably 2 inches too short but still very wearable. Hood is also a tad snug but good for under a helmet.

March 29, 2021

Shrinks

This is very comfortable but it does shrink about 1 size when you wash and dry it. The medium was actually a little big on me but after one wash it is snug. I am 5'6 and weigh 125lb.

March 27, 2021

Wowza warm!

Wow! I could not believe how warm this fleece is, especially for its weight! I wished that I had this fleece for skiing -we had a few days in Jackson Hole where it was pretty chilly on the chairlift, but warmer skiing in the trees, so a breathable insulation layer wouldve been perfect! The fleece is super soft and feels nice on your skin! The fit... Read More is good too- form fitting enough (so not bulky), but not tight. Im 55 and about 108lbs and I got size S (perfect for layering for me).

March 26, 2021

Workhorse Tech Fleece

I have owned the R1, R2, R3 and I traded in the R1 and R3 for the new R1 Air Hoody. I love the close fit, although with XXS the sleeves are *almost* too short. I feel like the R1 Air def wicks away moisture and feels light weight. I'm usually an XS in most Patagonia but actually recently started buying XXS for the R1 Air (and the Micro Puff Ho... Read Moreody) - It's overall a better fit for me. I am 5'1 and 95 lbs. I couldn't keep waiting for the back order on the green color so just went with Smolder Blue and it's fine! Grey but neutral and I honestly don't think about it. I wear it A LOT. Layers well over base layer tees/tanks and under Micro Puff Hoody. Definitely grab it all the time, unlike my older version of the R1 Zip Jacket circa 2011.

March 20, 2021

Great but where's the zipper garage?

My new favorite mid-layer. Warm and soft while also very wicking and breathable. Great to layer under a shell, and good pockets. But where's the zipper garage? The zipper is cold and chafing against my chin unless I'm wearing a buff. Almost perfect, save for this one flaw.

March 18, 2021

Super Wicking

I skinned up a local ski mountain in my Air Capeline and was all sweaty from climbing. At the top of the mountain, it was really windy so I put on my R1 Fleece hoping it would let me dry out and keep me warm. It was great. Let me dry out and kept me warm. I did have a shell over it. The R1 alone is not warm if there is a wind, you'll need a sh... Read Moreell but under a shell, it keeps you warm and dry.

March 7, 2021

Great product

Great fit, warm, light weight super product for backpacking

March 7, 2021

Not a good fit

Not true to size at all. Runs very very small

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Womens R1, we are of course sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations. The R1 is a slim fit item which can impact how it will fit we can always be reached at 800-638-6464 for sizing chart and fit assistance.

March 4, 2021

Freakin love it.

I love this thing. Ive hardly worn any other mid-layer since I got this in the mail. Insanely breathable! So cozy! And cute! I ordered a size up from my usual size, because I wanted it to fit easily over a variety of base layers. I am 6ft tall, but still the sleeves are a bit on the short side. (They are notably shorter than the sleeves on my R1 an... Read Mored Better Sweater). I have come to love the shorter length which makes it easier to layer under jackets. The body length is pretty long! Again, I sized up, but it covers a good portion of my backside. I LOVE the way it feels. I wear it just as much around the house as I do outdoors. Oh and the pockets are super big and made with a sort of shell-ish material, which works great for snow sports. Note that it has already pilled a little bit, if thats the sort of thing that bothers you, but I expect that when something is this soft and breathable and I grind it up on snowboards, granite, and dirty vans. Excellent layer! Treat yoself!

March 3, 2021

Warm and comfortable

I love this re-design of the R1. It's warmer than the standard R1 but still breathable. Great while hiking, mountaineering, climbing. One drawback is the arms are a little tight, all other aspects of the fit are spot-on.

March 3, 2021

Very Comfortable

This is so soft & comfortable. I wear it in my 60F cool home. I will wear for high elevation outdoor later but for now.....

March 1, 2021

Warm mid-layer

Purchased to use as a mid-layer while skiing. It's perfect! I stay warm but never overheat. I can't stop raving about it; my boyfriend purchased the men's version!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches