Back to Product

Patagonia Women's R1® Air Full-Zip Fleece Hoody

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 48 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's R1® Air Full-Zip Fleece Hoody

4.6/5
October 17, 2021

Super comfortable

This is a perfect mid-layer for cooler days or I use it as a sweater right now. Super comfortable. I have also received many compliments when wearing. I got a small. It's perfect for a mid-layer. I'm 5'9" 140lbs so I find myself constantly between small and medium. This small fits great but snug. The sleeves are long enough thou... Read Moregh which is awesome!

October 16, 2021

Love the color and look but.

It fits tighter than I was expecting. I wear size M in all Patagonia jackets and tops and this is snug. Wouldnt be able to wear much of a first layer underneath. Fabric and features are outstanding!

October 15, 2021

Almoossttt perfect!

I have Ben obsessed with wearing my R1! I even got my boyfriend the mens style! It would be PERFECT if it had thumb holes! When I layer over it it drives me nuts that the sleeves will get caught on other material and bunch up! Easy fix of course but still, details matter! It doesnt bother my boyfriend to not have thumb holes though, just a me thing... Read More! Super durable and warm! Hiking in MN and was almost too warm with it being in the 50/60s degrees F!

October 9, 2021

Almost Perfect

I love this jacket. Its lightweight, not too warm, but warm enough. I wear it inside, outside. Can wear a vest over it when colder. Although M is my normal size for fitted garments it is a bit more fitted than I would like, but the length and sleeve length are good so I know sizing up wont work. It has exactly the right amount of stretch. There are... Read More lots of pockets; 2 inside, 2 zipper outside however all this pocket space cant really be used with a fitted garment. I wish this jacket had all these good things, including the feminine fit with just a little more body/hip room. I like to use my pockets!

October 8, 2021

Weird pattern

I have a few R1s and R2s and this version feels like a regular fleece w a herringbone pattern. I havent put it to work yet and I probably wont Bc it feels pretty low tech.

September 27, 2021

Functional & fun!

The length is great! Ive been using this layer when biking and its perfect for 50-60 degree east coast weather. I love the option of the hood when I bike and then go for a walk. The more durable material around the wrist makes me feel more comfortable wearing it when Im biking.

September 24, 2021

73 and sunny

This is the perfect shoulder season jacket (or layer for inside when it's not cold enough to turn on the heat). This jacket has been my go-to so far this fall, perfect with a puffy vest for the mornings (35 degrees) and by mid afternoon when it's 73 I toss it in my bag and forget it till the sun goes down. Looking forward to layering this... Read More more this winter once activities heat up and the temperature goes down!

September 22, 2021

Great jacket

Overall I really like this jacket. It is very lightweight yet warm. It does seem to be pilling on the sleeves a bit already, which is why I'm not giving it 5 stars. I have an R1 pullover from 2014 that I love and I like that material better. I do wish this jacket had thumb holes. I would say this runs a bit small. I wear a small in most brands... Read More but for Patagonia jackets I wear medium. This fits loose and I can wear shirts underneath. In the past the smalls have been too tight. I am 5'8 125lbs with narrow shoulders for reference.

September 21, 2021

Perfect

Great color, fits well, cozy!

September 12, 2021

Great added layer

I love this jacket. Sizing may be right in target but so many other small products run larger that this one is very fitted in comparison. Definitely need a medium in this instead of my regular small.

September 11, 2021

Very nice feel

Excited to wear this in Fall/Winter. Very very nice!

September 8, 2021

Perfect hoodie

The fit is perfect. I am 58, long torso and thin. Its soft and comfortable and warm. No complaints from me!

September 5, 2021

perfect

needed a lighter fuzzy for some higher altitude hiking (I live at sea level) and this one was perfect. squishes smaller than regular fuzzy and not as fussy as puffy. prefer the full zip for easy layering. Cut is on the slimmer side so don't be afraid to go up a size if needed.

September 5, 2021

Great fit, looks great

This is a great fleece. It's warm and looks great. I'm 5'2" 124lbs with an athletic build and purchased an x-small. It's very slim-fitting, but fits well. If you want something you can move around in more I would recommend sizing up.

September 5, 2021

Warm

Very comfortable

September 4, 2021

Love this jacket

This jacket is great because it is lightweight but a great warm layer with helpful pockets

September 3, 2021

Versatile

I bought this in anticipation of a trip to Glacier and obviously the rest of life afterward. Ive been wearing it everyday since we got on a plane and its been great. I had an R1 years ago and ever since I got rid of it Ive missed it. Its a great layer that works well as an extra layer when its relatively warm and a warm layer when its cold. Very ha... Read Moreppy I went back!

September 2, 2021

Weird Fit

The large was little tight around the hip area. So I tried the XL at the store & it was then too long. It had a weird cut. I actually like the contrast of the yellow zipper. But unfortunately, I had to return.

Response from Patagonia
September 10, 2021

We're sorry this didn't work for you Maria. You might like our [Women's Capilene® Air Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-air-hoody/36505.html) as it's a warm base layer but a different styling.

September 2, 2021

In love with the Pockets

Love this piece. I've hiked to the top of 14ers to a walk around the block in it. Will also probably wear this backcouuntry skiing too because the interior pockets look like they can fit my skins! Surprised it is so form-fitting with 5 pockets (2 outside zipper, 2 inside and what I call the car key/Gu pocket on the chest). The color is fabulou... Read Mores and the hood is also a nice touch so it's one less thing for me to bring on a hike. I think I've worn this every day since I got it.

September 1, 2021

Great layering piece

I like a contoured fit for greater warmth and better layering. Its a lightweight piece but also quite warm. Its longer and sits closer to the hips

August 31, 2021

Soft, Lightweight, and Warm

This is a great hoody. It's softer on the skin than other technical hoodies or sweatshirts, and surprisingly warm given how little it weighs. I love the high neck and the color. Slim fit items tend to fit me well, and this one is true to size, except for the arms. Patagonia size M tops usually have arm lengths that work for me, but this one se... Read Moreems shorter than usual.

August 25, 2021

Love this iacket

This jacket is soft yet very functional. It is slim fitting. The pockets are the right size for my phone. I have received many compliments on the blue jacket.

August 24, 2021

Super Comfy!

This jacket is going to get a lot of wear time this fall & winter! It is super comfy, warm and yet breathable. I am normally a Medium in Patagonia jackets but because of the 'slim fit' description I went with a large. Honestly, I could have gone with the medium for a more fitted feel but kept the large in case I wanted to layer a thic... Read Moreker long sleeve underneath the jacket. The arms on the large are generously long! I bought the black, which is a little softer charcoal black in person. Really love the style, quality and breathability. Can't wait for cooler weather!

August 22, 2021

Perfect weight

I was looking for an in between jacket. This is perfect. Not too heavy and not too light. Great for fall days. The fit is very flattering and I love the color!

July 20, 2021

Sharp Look Great Slim Fit

Love the slim fit for those of us with long arms. Arms could have been a little more generous but doable. Flattering fit. Smoke Blue looks very succinct. Recommend!!

July 18, 2021

Great Jacket

I really like this jacket and it's cozy. I never use a hood- and this jacket's hood is not going to get used. The hood is simply too short to gracefully be worn. But the jacket is great.

June 11, 2021

EARTHY IS BEAUTIFUL

This new R1 Air sweatshirt-type jacket is now my absolute favorite garment. Here's why: I LOVE the colors, the size fits like a glove, its weight is just right, and the hood adds a very attractive component to the overall excellent aesthetics.

May 14, 2021

Warm and lightweight

Love the fit , the style and the color combo Thank you so much

May 13, 2021

Lightweight, warm

Lightweight but warm on chilly days. Fit is perfect for older active person who cannot wear the fitted apparel anymore️

May 10, 2021

Works well!

This is great for cool-weather mountain biking. It keeps me warm but is super breathable, so I don't have to stop and shed layers. It is super functional, yet feels like a cozy sweater. I'm worried about its durability. The fuzzy exterior seems highly prone to pilling and getting snagged on trail-side branches. I was originally going to... Read More wait for different colors of the regular R1 zip up hoody (I would love to see chicory red!!), since it seems more durable, but I will try this out and see. The steller blue is brighter than expected, but I ended up loving the color even though I usually prefer wearing deep earth tones.

May 4, 2021

My new go-to cozy outfit

I am loving my new R1 Air full-zip hoody. I have two regular R1 full-zips, both in size Medium, but the R1 Air felt better in a Large, so I think it seems to run a little smaller than the regular R1's. It's super cozy and warm, love the high zip neck, but it's also breathable. I will say that the lower arm appears to be pilling a lit... Read Moretle bit, but I guess I don't really mind, but that might be one down side compared to the regular R1. 5'8" 160lb and the size large is perfect.

April 29, 2021

Not warm but lightweight

It was very lightweight but not warm at all. It was soft. Also the front pocket was way too small. Nothing fit in there. May be better for someone who runs warm. I switched to the R2 regulator fleece and am happier.

April 27, 2021

Love it but runs small

I wanted to love this jacket so much. The shoulders fit perfect, but the body of it ran small. Sadly, this is going back. I'm worried about getting a Large and have the shoulders be too baggy.

April 22, 2021

Lightweight

I am planning on taking these on my thru hike. I am planning on hiking the Appalachian Trail. On my warm up hikes they keep me warm and toasty.

April 21, 2021

Sizing is off

Over the years Patagonia sizing has changed drastically so I really didnt know what size to purchase. I currently have an R1 hoody in size medium which fits me well. I tried on the size medium in the R1 Air Hoody and I could barely zip up the sweater. The size large fit fine, slim fitted but too tight to be comfortable during high output activities... Read More. The XL was massive compared to the large, much longer and wider at the bottom. I really dont understand this years sizing. Would I recommend? Maybe. Performance wise yes, fit wise, only if you can try on the item or be prepared to exchange sizes.

April 19, 2021

Ugh. Yellow zipper.

First off, I want to thank Patagonia for the Regen Green this season. It is likely my best color, so I get excited when I see it. I have it in the Torrentshell 3L jacket. After discovering the jacket I went searching for more Regen Green. Unfortunately I'm too late on many items. Clearly I'm not the only person who loves this color. Also ... Read Moreunfortunately, the number of Regen Green items I can wear well is limited due to Patagonia's choice of frequently adding neon yellow zippers to the jackets of this color like on the fleece above. (I'd also get rid of the black and make that a satiny green because when one looks good in green, it's best to have it around one's face.) One or two styles with that zipper are fine for those who can pull off neon colors, but for many people, neon looks awful. Had Patagonia stuck to a green zipper, we could have all enjoyed more style options in Regen Green. But alas, that yellow zipper is all over the place. For those of you who can pull off neon yellow, good on you, you lucky shoppers! I will enjoy my Torrentshell immensely and hope it isn't too many years before Patagonia brings the color back again...this time hopefully rarely paired with anything neon.

April 1, 2021

Gorgeous color, flattering fit

This is a beautiful lightweight fleece I will use as a base layer on cold days or outer layer on warm days. It is well made, the color is stunning (stellar blue) and it is fitted and stays put. I purchased the XS, which usually fits me (5'9, 120, athletic) except for the arms, which are always a little short at Patagonia. My one complaint is t... Read Morehe arms on this jacket are very short--probably 2 inches too short but still very wearable. Hood is also a tad snug but good for under a helmet.

March 29, 2021

Shrinks

This is very comfortable but it does shrink about 1 size when you wash and dry it. The medium was actually a little big on me but after one wash it is snug. I am 5'6 and weigh 125lb.

Response from Patagonia
August 10, 2021

Thanks for your feedback Sarah! We recommend machine wash in cool water with mild detergent, no bleach, no fabric softener, and let air dry or tumble dry on low heat setting. Please reach out if you need any [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) from our Customer Service team.

March 27, 2021

Wowza warm!

Wow! I could not believe how warm this fleece is, especially for its weight! I wished that I had this fleece for skiing -we had a few days in Jackson Hole where it was pretty chilly on the chairlift, but warmer skiing in the trees, so a breathable insulation layer wouldve been perfect! The fleece is super soft and feels nice on your skin! The fit... Read More is good too- form fitting enough (so not bulky), but not tight. Im 55 and about 108lbs and I got size S (perfect for layering for me).

March 26, 2021

Workhorse Tech Fleece

I have owned the R1, R2, R3 and I traded in the R1 and R3 for the new R1 Air Hoody. I love the close fit, although with XXS the sleeves are *almost* too short. I feel like the R1 Air def wicks away moisture and feels light weight. I'm usually an XS in most Patagonia but actually recently started buying XXS for the R1 Air (and the Micro Puff Ho... Read Moreody) - It's overall a better fit for me. I am 5'1 and 95 lbs. I couldn't keep waiting for the back order on the green color so just went with Smolder Blue and it's fine! Grey but neutral and I honestly don't think about it. I wear it A LOT. Layers well over base layer tees/tanks and under Micro Puff Hoody. Definitely grab it all the time, unlike my older version of the R1 Zip Jacket circa 2011.

March 20, 2021

Great but where's the zipper garage?

My new favorite mid-layer. Warm and soft while also very wicking and breathable. Great to layer under a shell, and good pockets. But where's the zipper garage? The zipper is cold and chafing against my chin unless I'm wearing a buff. Almost perfect, save for this one flaw.

March 18, 2021

Super Wicking

I skinned up a local ski mountain in my Air Capeline and was all sweaty from climbing. At the top of the mountain, it was really windy so I put on my R1 Fleece hoping it would let me dry out and keep me warm. It was great. Let me dry out and kept me warm. I did have a shell over it. The R1 alone is not warm if there is a wind, you'll need a sh... Read Moreell but under a shell, it keeps you warm and dry.

March 7, 2021

Great product

Great fit, warm, light weight super product for backpacking

March 7, 2021

Not a good fit

Not true to size at all. Runs very very small

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Womens R1, we are of course sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations. The R1 is a slim fit item which can impact how it will fit we can always be reached at 800-638-6464 for sizing chart and fit assistance.

March 4, 2021

Freakin love it.

I love this thing. Ive hardly worn any other mid-layer since I got this in the mail. Insanely breathable! So cozy! And cute! I ordered a size up from my usual size, because I wanted it to fit easily over a variety of base layers. I am 6ft tall, but still the sleeves are a bit on the short side. (They are notably shorter than the sleeves on my R1 an... Read Mored Better Sweater). I have come to love the shorter length which makes it easier to layer under jackets. The body length is pretty long! Again, I sized up, but it covers a good portion of my backside. I LOVE the way it feels. I wear it just as much around the house as I do outdoors. Oh and the pockets are super big and made with a sort of shell-ish material, which works great for snow sports. Note that it has already pilled a little bit, if thats the sort of thing that bothers you, but I expect that when something is this soft and breathable and I grind it up on snowboards, granite, and dirty vans. Excellent layer! Treat yoself!

March 3, 2021

Warm and comfortable

I love this re-design of the R1. It's warmer than the standard R1 but still breathable. Great while hiking, mountaineering, climbing. One drawback is the arms are a little tight, all other aspects of the fit are spot-on.

March 3, 2021

Very Comfortable

This is so soft & comfortable. I wear it in my 60F cool home. I will wear for high elevation outdoor later but for now.....

March 1, 2021

Warm mid-layer

Purchased to use as a mid-layer while skiing. It's perfect! I stay warm but never overheat. I can't stop raving about it; my boyfriend purchased the men's version!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches