Product Safety Recall

Due to safety concerns about the snaps on the Infant Capilene® Midweight Set, we are implementing a recall of units purchased between August 1, 2021, and January 12, 2023. For more information, including how to identify this product, how to return it and how to get a full refund, please click the link below.

Learn More

Web Specials

Our Web Specials collection is brimming with perfectly sweet products—think last season’s jackets, fleeces, you name it—for a fraction of the cost.

Explore

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Free Shipping on Orders Over $99

Orders are shipped within 1-2 business days and arrive within 3-10 business days. Need it sooner? Concerned about the environmental impact? Flexible shipping options are available.

More Details

Back to Product

Men's R1® Daily Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 43 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R1® Daily Jacket

4.3/5
True To Size
April 20, 2023

Warm and comfortable.

I have an R1 (size L) bought many years ago. I wear it in the winter to layer and it has held up well. Recently I bought a new R1 (size M) and am using it for the same purpose as the old R1. Both are warm and well made. Both fit, but the recent R1 (M) is a little small and I like the baggier fit better. I am 5ft8in and weigh 174lbs.

March 8, 2023

Great casual jacket

I work in an office thats usually a bit cold, most people either end up with their outside heavier jacket on or toughing it out, but to be honest, it just looks silly. I ended up buying a cheap fleece from some no name brand, that while it kept me at the perfect temperature, ended up looking ratty and unprofessional. This jacket has been great for ... Read Moreeveryday wear around the office, not to mention the few compliments I got on it, too.

March 2, 2023

Perfect for long term traveling

This sweater packs small while providing a good amount of warmth! It's very nicely fitted and makes me feel great so if you are on the thiccer side, you might want to reconsider. It isn't perfect though, the arms run a bit long. Would be a perfect sweater to have once they fix the arm's length issue.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2023

Thank you for your feedback, Felix. We're sorry to hear that the arm length was too long! If you need garment measurements in the future to ensure a perfect fit, please reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*1uwbkpk*_ga*MTE3MzgxOTU4OS4xNjQ3NTMxMTc0*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY3ODI4NzY2OS42MTkuMS4xNjc4MjkwMjYwLjAuMC4w).

February 26, 2023

Nice but runs small

This R1 jacket fits much differently from other similar R1 models. I own several in 'S' size and could not find a comfortable fit with the R1 Daily. The small was too tight; the medium too big. Bummed, because it felt otherwise wonderful!

February 25, 2023

As noted, I'm 6 ft

As noted, I'm 6 ft tall with long arms. I know that in recent years the sleeves on most garment seem to run a bit long. On this item, the sleeves were 2 inches too long. Just Saying! You did ask... Cheers, TM PS: I'll still wear it after I have the sleeves shortened.

February 22, 2023

Good casual jacket, decent fit

Comfy, casual jacket, that's pretty light weight. Great for office work or running around town. You'll want something else if you think you'll see any weather. I have oddly wide shoulders and a trim waist so finding a jacket that fits is always a challenge, but the stretch of the material makes this one work for me. It is more of an ... Read Moreathletic cut as well so there isn't a bunch of extra space around the mid section.

February 19, 2023

Comfy and lightweight

The zipper doesn't connect as smoothly as I'd like, and I wish the jacket was a little tighter at the bottom, it hangs a bit loosely. I'm being nitpicky, but my standards are very high for Patagonia since they make such exceptional stuff.

February 10, 2023

Nice feeling but use case too specific

The texture and feel of this were nice but the Large for me wasn't quite enough. I think this is simply designed for a very specific use case which was not for me. Ultimately I'm not sure what this sweater's particular use case is... It's a little light for even slightly cool weather, and when I tried to wear it to work it w... Read Moreas a little too tight going over my shirt and it was too tight. Anyway it's really nice I just couldn't fit it into anything I do...

February 9, 2023

Form Fit and Warm

I bought this in both a small and a medium. I use the small as a layering piece. Its pretty trim on me. The medium I use like a zip up sweater for work over a dress shirt. It has a nice finish thats not overly technical. Both have a nice stretch, are cut trim, and are very cozy. The medium is a little long in the arms and waist for me but Im kind o... Read Moref between sizes.

February 6, 2023

Warm Jacket.

Good fit, feels good. Easy to use and looks good.

February 2, 2023

Runs Small

Nice soft material like the jersey material. Problem is its pretty thin and don't think it'll really keep you warm if its 50F or below. Would make a good jacket to wear if running or going to the gym. Jacket size runs small. I normally wear a size Small for the Patagonia Better sweater fleece so I ordered small here but it was too tight.... Read More Would probably size one up if planning to purchase this jacket.

January 16, 2023

Cardigan alternative for husband

I got this in "salt grey" for my husband, who needed a replacement for his old zip cardigan sweaters. He loves it, wears it constantly, at work and on the weekends. It is thinner and lighter than a "real" jacket, but just right as a sweater alternative. Holds up great through a lot of wear! The fabric seems nice and somewhat d... Read Moreelicate (like a soft smooth scuba material) so he doesn't risk wearing it for heavy outdoor work or woodsy hikes. Fit is perfect for his tall-ish slim but athletic body type, especially the good torso length, size M, 6' tall. Only gripe is the zipper: it sometimes snags, maybe needs a quality upgrade?

December 31, 2022

too tight

I'm not a large person - 5'10', 170 lbs. The medium was too small and the large was a little too roomy. But both sizes had sleeves that were much too form fitting for a jacket. It was uncomfortable to wear a long sleeve shirt under the jacket. I returned both sizes.

Response from Patagonia
January 11, 2023

Hi Don, we're very sorry to hear that the sizing for the R1 Daily Jacket didn't work out. Please know that we value your feedback and we'll be sure to keep this in mind for future iterations.

December 24, 2022

Reminds me of my old capaline jacket

The jacket is great for taking the bite out of a cold morning. The Micro D provides more bulk than the Capaline lining - so the jacket is a little more bulky around the waist line. The pockets are all zippered and functional. I will enjoy this piece for years to come.

December 17, 2022

Poor quality zipper. Snagged on

Poor quality zipper. Snagged on top, unable to unzip as it got caught at first zip down. When zipping up, doesn't catch easily.

Response from Patagonia
December 22, 2022

Hi Violetta, we're sorry to hear about the trouble with your zipper sticking. We'd be happy to help out with a [warranty return or free repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We'll reach out to you privately with further assistance.

December 13, 2022

Product review

Can't really wear it when it's around 40-60 defF but it would be great for most of the California weathers (I just got it in December 2022). Its size was not perfectly fit to my size but it's good enough (92%). I really like the product.

December 12, 2022

Super comfortable

This is a great jacket. I'm 6'2", 200 lbs and bought a large. It very comfortable and looks great. It also includes 2 drop pockets inside for additional storage.

November 27, 2022

Perfect

I was on the fence at first because of the price and whether or not the fit would be great or not It exceeded my expectations. the quality is top notch and feels so comfy. I am 29 yrs old, 173 pounds, 32-33 waist, semi-athletic build and the M size is beyond perfect Sleeve length is perfection and the material is so soft and stretchy the back h... Read Moreangs loose enough as it does not bunch up behind you the inside material is so plush and soft, like a material you would have in a carrying case for your macbook pro i love the logo which gives it the sleek sophisticated look to it i can go on and on. 10/10

November 4, 2022

This is very versatile jacket,

This is very versatile jacket, good at blocking wind and keeping me warm. I own two of them and look forward to more lively colors (red, orange, light green etc...)

October 28, 2022

Good buy!

Nice jacket. Used for everyday where, and layering when heading out. True to size for my height - I'm a shade over 6ft. But needed the XL for the sleeve length, which run long, but the L would have been too small in the body. Would recommend.

October 26, 2022

My new favorite jacket

I love it. I wear it constantly in my work from home basement office. I would wear it daily if people didn't tease me.

October 21, 2022

Wonderful Jacket!

Great jacket for all occasions. Easy to grab and wear. One of the favorites in my closet now!

October 7, 2022

Comfy

Very comfortable, perfect for a early fall weather hiking.

October 7, 2022

This is a great everyday

This is a great everyday jacket. Soft and comfortable. Highly recommend

September 25, 2022

Very versatile jacket that is also very good looking

I like the fact that it is well fitted and not loose. I would welcome some other colors, I have the black and the dark grey. The weight of the fabric is excellent and the wind protection also great.

September 13, 2022

Everything great but the fit

Really wanted to like this jacket. The sleeve and jacket length are great, but the fit in the torso is just too narrow if you have an athletic build. Had to return unfortunately.

September 4, 2022

Just what I was looking for

I tossed my new Men's R1® Daily Jacket into my carry-on before I hopped a flight for LAX. I thought it was probably overkill since my App says it'll be 74 degrees in Marina del Rey. I immediately pulled that soft sweatshirt-like layer on in the increasingly cool terminal and zippered it as the aircraft doors shut and flight attendants wai... Read Moreted on shivering passengers. I was comfortable; not only is it fairly form fitting, it was just the right amount of lightweight warmth. When we arrived, our hosts remarked how cool it can feel along the water. The truth is that the weather in those beach communities is ridiculously moderate with about six degrees of variance through the day. So how did my layer do? Appearance? I mean you're in the LuLu Lemon capital of SoCal and all of the fit young people who look like they just came from Central Casting probably did. So, yes, it fit well and provided just the proper amount of Pattagucci to hold its own strolling Albert Kinney. The tailoring seems solid and my medium, six foot frame seems to like the sizing. The tag promises that the workers who made this in a far-oft land were treated well. It ended up being the perfect extra garment and addition to my beach bag. It would easily give Vuori a jog for its money. Now, if all these smart design folks could get their arms around microfiber...

August 30, 2022

Nice lightweight jacket

I'm 6"1" 180lbs. 32" waist. Bought a size Large. This jacket is long enough in the torso and sleeves, but I wouldn't consider this a true slim fit. The jacket has too much excess material on the back that balloons out. I took it to a tailor and had it tapered for a few bucks. Overall, very happy with this jacket as it can b... Read Moree worn dressed up for work or dressed down on the weekend.

July 30, 2022

My 2nd Skin

I have worn my full zip-up Black R-1 for 10+ years and love it. It is my daily, keep warm & comfortable jacket for 3+ seasons and has been with me at all times when hiking, under-jacket liner riding motorcycle in cool weather, bicycling and boating. It fits me perfectly and i especially like that its sweat-wicking with no odor after a hard work... Read Moreout. I have worn the zipper out so I am buying another one, same size, same color. I cannot praise this enough- exceptional jacket.

Response from Patagonia
August 3, 2022

Hey David, thanks for the review. It makes us so happy to hear that you love your R1 Daily Jacket. We wanted to let you know that we do offer a repair program if you'd like to keep your original jacket in rotation, and get that zipper fixed. To begin a repair, click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 27, 2022

Sleeves are too long

I looked at this product at your store in Dublin, Ireland, liked it and would have purchased but the sleeves are way too long compared to the body size. I have a number of the old style R1 fleece tops (please bring them back!) and do not have this problem with them. Any reason why the sleeves are very long?

May 30, 2022

Cozy jacket

Nice jacket, fits me perfect at 6'1" and 183lbs. It is a slim fit as indicated but still has sufficient room if wearing a tee shirt. As others have mentioned the fabric does feel a bit delicate for hiking type activity. I would prefer it to be a bit more durable on the outside but its great for casual wear and I'll probably wear it o... Read Moren the golf course and biking around town. still going with 5 stars the fit, warmth (for a base layer) and comfort are just too good and that is primarily what I bought it for.

April 30, 2022

Super stylish and sporty looking!

This daily jacket became my new found everyday wear in East coast, already a fan and bought second one in different color.

April 22, 2022

A warm hug

I've been buying Patagonia fleece for over 30 years, from the technical to the casual. This ranks among my all-time favorites. For its intended use in cool conditions, it's without peer and checks every key box: comfort, warmth, fit, style and feature set including essential chest pocket. I'm not usually one for smooth faced fleece, ... Read Morebut I got over that immediately once I wore it and besides, its slides effortlessly under another jacket, serving equally as a midlayer on cold days or an outer layer in milder conditions. And FINALLY, a Patagonia slim fit garment that isn't restrictive and uncomfortable in the arm holes, upper back and shoulders - they've nailed it with this one! I love the smolder blue color with contrasting gray trim. I love this jacket so much I sold my Better Sweater and Synchilla fleece jackets into Worn Wear because I wasn't wearing them anymore. Enough said. Awesome fleece!

April 2, 2022

Nice, light, warm up jacket.

The R1 has been my go to for 50ish degree days when I need to keep the cold at bay. It is moisture wicking which is nice. The fit is a little slimmer than Id like but that just keeps me warm. Plenty of pockets and the collar is nice and close when fully zipped.

March 12, 2022

Perfect

Im 64 and 185lbs. Most anything size large from Patagonia fits me perfectly and this did not disappoint. This is super nice jacket. Its definitely more of a spring, summer, or fall weight. I tend to wear it around the house over a T-Shirt as opposed to a jacket. The material is super soft and smooth. You wont be disappointed.

March 7, 2022

Winter running gear must have!

The Patagonia Men's R1 Daily Jacket is my go to running jacket when temps drop below 30. Room to move and not heavy so it wont weigh you down. Fits nice and clean, close cut and comfortable for miles.

February 23, 2022

I wear this every day

The fit and look are perfect for casual wear -- and since COVID I'm not dressing up much, so I wear this pretty much every day. Though as another commenter said, it's thin and so seams and contours can show through. But it's so perfect for "winter" in LA, worn over a Patagonia cool merino long sleeve.

January 23, 2022

A good looking jacket for daliy activity

A fan of the R1 series so bought this new R1 daily in Smoulder Blue. First impression is that the look is more everyday as opposed to outdoorsy. The material feels very smooth and has this sleek look to it. The material is also very stretchy so M size fits me well, and in comparision size M on the old R1 runs slightly small for me. I can see this g... Read Morearment can serve multiple purposes even in the urban environment. On the technical side, the material is thinner than the Polartec of tradditional R1. So I'd say it is more compact and less warmer than the R1. Lastly, a bit of suggestion for improvement regarding the long front zipper. It is made of plastic and can run a little coarse at the beginning, especailly in my case the insertion pin is a little askew. The way how the bottom part of zipper tapes is sewed into the garment can be also done more securely. Overall, a versatile, good looking slim fit jacket that is very comfortable to wear.

December 30, 2021

Daily Jacket

Perfect fit. Quality material and workmanship.

December 30, 2021

Great fit, good looking

I really like the fit and look of this zip up - the slim fit works well as a layer but is sharp enough to hold up on its own. Even with the close fit, it doesnt bind across the shoulders - very good for climbing and hiking. My favorite Patagonia purchase of the last few years.

December 29, 2021

Fabric

Fabric is too light. Has no body.

Response from Patagonia
January 10, 2022

Hi Gerald! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket. Your feedback is truly appreciated and we'll pass this along to our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 16, 2021

Perfect fit

Nice base layer for 50-degree weather. Not thick enough for colder temps, but very happy with it as is.

November 3, 2021

Soft but not doe everyone

I love that this is soft, but I think this is better as a performance gear than everyday jacket. Due to the slim cut and material, you will see the outline of the shirt worn underneath. The Better Sweater jacket will probably be better for what I need.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches