Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Organic Cotton Midweight Fjord Flannel Shirt

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 73 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Organic Cotton Midweight Fjord Flannel Shirt

4.5/5
Kinda Large
May 18, 2022

Great fit

Excellent product with great fit. I have two of these flannels and the are a go to for most occasions.

May 18, 2022

The Perfect Fit

These flannels are perfect. It is so hard finding 100% cotton anymore; they always seem to have a little polyester or rayon, which I hate. Im also a woman who purchased a handful of these mens flannels, and they fit exactly the way I hoped they would. I wanted them oversized with more of an outdoorsy, dare I say even grunge look, and these delivere... Read Mored. Being on the curvier side, I was never happy with womens fitted flannels. They were always just a little too snug in the chest and hip areas, and never long enough. They had more of a country and western vibe, which was not what I was going for. These flannels are oversized, extremely soft, and super warm. They are great for outdoor activities. I will be able to throw them on over a sweatshirt in colder weather. They would even make great sleep shirts. Who doesnt love an oversized mens shirt to sleep in? I highly recommend these.

May 7, 2022

Great shirt!

I own 5 of these shirts and they are my go tos in cool/colder weather. Soft and warm and hold up well thru the wash. Some variability from shirt to shirt in sizing and material feel, but excellent overall!

May 4, 2022

Family Favorite

Perfect flannel for all occasions. When you need an extra layer it keeps you warm without the bulk of traditional flannels. Excellent fit and looks great. My favorite Patagonia flannel and I have been a Patagonia customer over 35 years. Only problem is my wife and my daughter love it too.

April 26, 2022

fjord flannel

product description says "relaxed fit" yet the sleeves are relatively narrow at the elbow to forearm to wrist and the body has a slightly tapered "waist". Chest pockets are a bit higher and more widespread (to create a more hip snug feel/look?) understand the styling/fit direction here, but figured it would have a more classic ... Read Morefit with the "relaxed" descriptive. fabric is good with a nice weight

Response from Patagonia
April 27, 2022

Hey Duncan, thank you for sharing your feedback with us on the Fjord Flannel. We're sorry to hear that you weren't a fan of the fit. You're correct that it should be relaxed. If you think sizing up might help with the issue, you're welcome to exchange or you can return as well if you prefer that. To begin both options, click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 19, 2022

Super Soft

Great plaid colors and the material feels great on my skin yet with a tough durability.

April 13, 2022

Great flannel shirt

These shirts are so well-made. They are incredibly comfortable and look great.

April 11, 2022

Comfy and warm

Great for my morning walks!

March 27, 2022

Soft and warm

Great shirt!

March 25, 2022

Great shirt

I use this shirt for outdoor, winter adventures here in the Northwest. Fits well and a great layer on cold wet days!

March 22, 2022

Warm enough for working.

Wish the pickets could hold securely a cell phone, but otherwise they are great

March 17, 2022

Great shirt.

This shirt is well made, looks good, very comfortable and warm. Gotta get one.

March 15, 2022

Great Midweight Shirt

Love this shirt! It fits perfect and is perfect for 60-70 degree weather. Too heavy for summer but it's perfect for the other seasons. As with all Patagonia shirts, I size down from my usual Medium with other brands to a Small. The small fits perfect for me and I'm 5'11" and 175 pounds. Highly recommend this!

March 14, 2022

Great Flannel

Supper warm. Love these flannels. Great for just about anything.

March 14, 2022

Very Nice!

Like this flannel shirts. Fits well and looks good. A bit expensive though.

March 10, 2022

Top notch flannel

So warm. Fits great.

March 7, 2022

Best Flannel There is

I owned the same flannel but different print for years until I've finally worn holes into the elbows. This is the softest and best weight flannel I've ever had and the patterns are subtle but complimentary . Very usable for Camping, hiking, around town, or just a throw on for an extra layer. Honestly the best flannel. I'm a fan of th... Read Moree flan. Oh but I should note, I normally wear a medium in everything, but I bought a small in this flannel.

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2022

Hi Bryan! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're stoked to hear that you're a fan of the flan. Also, we appreciate the call out on sizing. This flannel is a relaxed fit so some customers may find that they need to size down. Thanks again for the feedback, its greatly appreciated.

March 7, 2022

The best flannel shirt

This is the third Patagonia organic flannel shirt I have acquired. Like the others, the sleeves were too long (I wear a 32" sleeve), so I roll them up for a year, until I'm sure there's no more shrinkage (there hasn't been), and then I have them shortened. Any other flannel shirt and it would last another year, maybe two, before... Read More it began to fray, and I'd say the extra cost isn't worth it. Not Patagonia flannel. You'd best like the color and pattern you buy; you're going to have it a long time.

February 28, 2022

Great shirt!

This is a super-comfortable, easy to care for, shirt. It keeps you warm when it's cold out, but isn't too thick so you get overheated. Like all Patagonia products, this one seems really well made. I am not easy on my clothes, and this shirt has held up well.

February 27, 2022

Comfortable and functional=Patagonia

I bought one of these shirts and almost immediately recognized I hated another. Within a month I had six hanging in my closet and found myself rotating through the weekly. They are comfortable and probably the best every day shirt that Patagonia makes. I love the feel agains my skin, on cold days I wear a capilene layer underneath. What is wonderfu... Read Morel is the weight of the cotton and the warmth. I have been buying Patagonia since 1974-75 and these shirts are excellent.

February 14, 2022

Perfect Flannel

Great shirt. Wonderful flannel and warm as could be.

February 14, 2022

Quality fabric

This is the perfect weight flannel. Not too thin or thick. My husband loves it. He has larger pecks and wears XL in most other brands but large is perfect in most Patagonia items. The length and shape of the hemline are so perfect. Looks great untucked.

February 12, 2022

Not as good as it used to be

Dissapointed again, I had to return this for 2 reasons: Sizing: way too snug compered to earlier versions of the shirt. Material: not nearly as soft or thick as earlier versions.

January 31, 2022

A Cozy Shirt Useful for Indoor and Outdoor Use

When this shirt first arrived from Patagonia, I assumed from looking at it and feeling, that it was going to be useful only for outdoor use. Not true; it's really an all-purpose shirt that feels good both indoors and outdoors. Excellent fit and finish. I'm glad I got two in different colors. I enjoy them both.

January 27, 2022

Great shirt

Comfortable and well constructed.

January 24, 2022

Wonderful shirt!

This shirt is super comfortable, easy to care for and looks great. It keeps me warm but isn't overly thick. The fabric holds up well. Highly recommended!

January 24, 2022

satisfied customer

happy with the shirt, however, it seems a little long

January 21, 2022

Thinner material

Not the same thickness or fit compared to previous shirt. Much thinner material and smaller fit. Both sizes were large but this one is smaller and thinner material.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and will follow up with you in an email to investigate what might have caused the difference. As always, we welcome you to return it if you are unhappy with the performance. Our Customer Service team will be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

January 18, 2022

Classic Comfort

This midweight flannel shirt seems a tad bit lighter and a smidgen less snuggly than previous iterations. So perhaps my daughters wont be in such a rush to take it for themselves. It keeps an old man comfy both outdoors and inside, during the desert cold. The plaid design remains classically Patagonian.

January 18, 2022

Super Comfy

Gifted this to my dad and he's been nonstop raving about this shirt, so I got one too.

January 13, 2022

Finally!

Finally Patagonia comes up with a modern fit for one of their flannels! Would love to see this pattern applied to the lightweight (shirt tail hem) and heavyweight Fjord flannels, as well. I'm a muscular 225, 6'5" and XL fit perfect.

January 9, 2022

Super warm

This is a great shirt.

January 8, 2022

The shirts are different this year

I have three of these hanging in my closet from last year and the year before--I have loved these shirts. But this year's shirts are different. I agree with the review from 11/19. The same "large" size from past years that still fits so well is much tighter this year. And the fabric doesn't feel the same, either--thinner this ye... Read Morear. I really wanted to add to my collection but ended up returning the new shirts I ordered. Super disappointed because I have loved these shirts so much.

January 7, 2022

You won't print this review...

after finally getting it delivered two weeks after I was told it was delivered (someone mistyped my address) the saving grace was the shirt cam in a plastic bag, because the package had sat out in the rain for two weeks. As to the shirt...well....Five stars! I have been wearing Patagonia products since 1973/1974 and have gifted them for years...ver... Read Morey rarely is there a product I don't like...

January 7, 2022

Sharp shirt, good look!

Nothing to write.

January 6, 2022

Love this flannel

I love these flannels. The mid weight is the best fit and feel for me. It is very soft, comfortable and warm for winter days! I have several of them. They are quite expensive but worth the cost.

January 6, 2022

Warm and Cozy

The perfect thickness for a winter work shirt.

January 5, 2022

Perfect Christmas Gift

I bought this for my SO as a Christmas gift. He's 6'0, medium/slender build. It fits perfectly, is a great quality, and nice and warm for cold winter days. It's pricey as far as flannels go, but when you feel it, and look at the stitching and material, you understand why!

January 4, 2022

Nice shirt

The shirt fits well and is soft

January 4, 2022

True comfort and quality.

I have purchased fjord flannel shirts in every weight and never been disappointed. They are about all I wear from November through March here in NE PA. Patagonia shirts always fit me perfectly.

December 30, 2021

Warm shirt

Looks great, fabric is warm and looks durable... but fit is not relaxed - more slim than my last year regular fit lightweight flannel shirt, in same size S.

Response from Patagonia
January 11, 2022

We appreciate your feedback on the fabric, sizing and fit. If you'd like to return it, we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)! Thanks for taking the time to review it, Boris!

December 29, 2021

Fits snug

I agree that its a different fit than last year. I ordered my husband another shirt in the same size since he really liked lasts years Fjord shirt. The color is great and the shirt is very nice. But the sleeves are tight on him he cant roll them up and its a little snug around his middle. Granted he is older and has a bit of a belly in front. I thi... Read Morenk it would be fine for a slimmer person. Its not unwearable but when directly compared to last years sleeves definitely narrower.

December 28, 2021

Beautiful But Runs A Bit Small

Beautiful, soft Flannel. But definitely runs a bit Small. I have other brands and other Patagonia XXL that are way bigger than this Flannel. A little tight in the shoulders and back.. I am hoping it will adjust a little bigger as I break it in, but I would suggest going a size higher if possible.

Response from Patagonia
January 7, 2022

Thanks for your feedback, Darrin! This particular flannel shirt is a "relaxed" fit design, while we have others that are "slim" or "regular" fit, so we're not sure if the shirt you received might have been defective, but if the fit isn't right, please reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

December 25, 2021

Very comfortable and great looking

The soft organic cotton is warm and the thickness of the cloth gives it a great feel and I love the warmth of the vibrant colors. This is my first Patagonia purchase but wont be my last as I love the products and the company ethos. Thanks

December 21, 2021

PILLING. Pilling. Pilling.

Simply Touching/rubbing the fabric causes PILLING!!! Worst Patagonia product I ever bought in 10+ years.

Response from Patagonia
December 22, 2021

Hi Mike, we are sorry Fjord Flannel has begun to pill. This is not a known issue with these flannels though pilling can be inevitable with knit garments as it is the nature of those fibers. With that being said, there are various products that can remove the pilling so your flannel can look good as new! We recommend using a Sweater Stone or fabric shaver to remove pilling. To prevent pilling in the future, try washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. Of course, if you are not satisfied with your purchase, you may send it in for a warranty evaluation. Just give us a [call or chat in](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can set that up for you.

December 21, 2021

Soft work casual

We love supporting Patagonia, because, frankly- we give a damn! Great shirt.

December 17, 2021

Great shirt good quality

Waiting on more colors to choose from

December 13, 2021

Comfy

Thick and comfy! Comfortable enough to wear without a t-shirt under and excellent quality.

December 9, 2021

Beautiful Plain with a Gorgeous Feel

Unlike the boxy fit of the Fjord Flannel I ordered a few years back, this piece now fits my body perfectly. Thanks for revising this design, Patagonia! The fabric is soft, supple and warm, and the colors brighten my day. Highly recommend.

December 6, 2021

Another Perfect Product

Not too thin... Not too thick... JUST RIGHT! Warm, soft, and the color = Perfections. It feels like it'll last for years to come. Loving the bright fun blue/green color.

December 4, 2021

Great fit

Great fit, very warm, excellent shirt as always.

December 4, 2021

Very Comfortable

I bought this shirt to replace my previous Fjord flannel. Hundreds of days of comfort and then my dog got ahold of it. I just had to have another one! It is incredibly warm and comfortable, Works great for all my adventure trips and camping as well as everyday wear. Fantastic flannel!

December 2, 2021

Warm

My son absolutely loves this shirt. Hes in college in Syracuse NY and its warm and comfy.

November 19, 2021

DIFFERNT FIT from last season

I've had at least 1 Fjord Flannel in rotation for the last 8+ years and this was the first time i was disappointed with the shirt, the fit of the shirt is pretty different from the previous years. I even reached out to the CS team and they said everything SHOULD be the same, fit/cut/measurements, but they either changed the fabric supplier or ... Read Morefactory from last year and that should be the only difference. Comparing the new shirt up to the one from last season, you can tell that things are different and in some places by about an inch (while the shirt is laid flat). Ended up returning this one to find one from last season from a retailer. Was pretty disappointed in the change, hope they sort this out or call out that there is a difference.

November 19, 2021

In between sizing

I'm 5'11", 215lbs, broad shoulders, barrel chested, with a longer torso. I'm in between a L and a XL for Patagonia, in most other shirt brands I'm an XL. I purchased both the L and XL. 'Out of the box' the L was a little too snug in the chest and the XL is (unfortunately) too long in the sleeves. A shirt too small... Read More/too snug is a shirt I'm not going to wear. I went with the XL, I'm hoping it shrinks a little in the wash.

November 16, 2021

One of the best flannel shirts around

These shirts are great! They are super comfortable and are easy to wash. They also hold up to some serious use. Highly recommended!

November 15, 2021

Comfortable and warm

Very comfortable and fit is true to size

November 15, 2021

Great quality

This button down is easily my new favorite. Its soft but durable, warm but light, and really great quality.

November 12, 2021

Good Quality

Super soft and great quality. Had to return because it was too wide, would be great if it came in slim fit.

Response from Patagonia
November 18, 2021

Hey Erica, thanks for the review. We don't have many slim fit long-sleeved button down options, but we do have one worth checking out! It's our [Men's Long-Sleeved Vjosa River Pima Cotton Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-long-sleeved-vjosa-river-organic-pima-cotton-shirt/53900.html?dwvar_53900_color=PGBE&cgid=mens-shirts). Another option would be to exchange for a size down.

November 6, 2021

Biceps/Upper Arms Too Constricting

This re-designed (Midweight) Fjord Flannel is now too tight/constricting around the biceps/upper arms, including armpits and shoulders. I definitely feel a restricted range of motion with this new version, compared to the previous design of the Fjord Flannel. Not sure why you guys list this as "relaxed fit". The fit around the torso seems... Read More like a regular fit to me but the upper arms seem like a slim fit, due to the lack of range of motion. I'll stick to my Lightweight Fjord Flannels, which are much better dialed in, fit-wise.

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2021

Hi J, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback! We're sorry to hear the sizing didn't quite work out. We'd be happy to assist with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if you haven't already done so.

October 30, 2021

Fits just right

100% cotton means no petroleum on my skin. Fits perfect Im 64. Not as thick as previous year styles but still awesome, love Patagonia products.

October 30, 2021

Changed Design Since Last Year

I bought several of these last year in large and they fit great! I bough two more this month and they no longer fit! The new design has a smaller chest and smaller arms. Its much more fitted. In fact, I cant really wear at all. Its too small. The large from last season still fits great and looks great. Very disappointing they switched the d... Read Moreesign/size/construction since past year! XL is too big and boxy, and Large is too tight in the arms and chest. I am 511 and 212lbs (very lean and muscular, with 46 chest, 54 shoulders,18 arms). There should be notices when Patagonia changes design or suppliers or sizing.

Response from Patagonia
November 9, 2021

Hey Michael, thank you for leaving us a review on the Long-Sleeved Organic Cotton Midweight Fjord Flannel Shirt. We're sorry to hear that you've experienced size discrepancies between your older version and this new version. We double checked to see if any changes were made in the fit, but all we could find is that we now source the cotton used in this shirt from Portugal, the fit should be the same. We've emailed you to gather some more information to make sure this is not a wide spread manufacturing issue. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention!

October 29, 2021

Good, with potential to be great

This product is very well-constructed. The quality is excellent and will likely last you many, many winters. However, I find the sizing to be less than ideal. The arms are tighter than the lightweight fjord flannel and so is the torso. They also run longer than the lightweight shirt. I wear a S in the lightweight Fjord flannel and have to size-up t... Read Moreo an M for these shirts. Unfortunately, the M ran way too long despite fitting in the arms and torso, so I ended up returning it. Wish they made them fit like the lightweight shirts, especially since this shirt is probably worn by most as a mid-layer, it would make good sense to make them baggier to allow for layering underneath. Hope Patagonia can fix this issue because I really WANT to love this shirt, and hope to add it as a staple in my wardrobe alongside the lightweight Fjords in seasons to come.

October 21, 2021

Its a Standlex

I have 12 Fjord relaxed flannels.. 8 lightweight flannels.. this is a tweener! Call it a Standlax!! Im 511 and 215(I hate reviews who dont post this!!). As mentioned, I have many relaxed fit Fjord flannels in my inventory. This is a tweener. It is slightly more narrow in the midsection and slightly longer. By slightly, I mean 1/2 inch more narrow a... Read Morend longer. It is very soft and comfortable!! I do not dry any Patagonia product. I hope this helps.

October 17, 2021

Sizing complaint

First off, I love the Fjord shirts. I own 2 lightweight versions in XL that fit pretty well in the shoulders but too much fabric in the front. When I tried a size large, it was too tight across the back and under the arms. So XL it was. Then recently I tried to buy a medium weight version in XL. The sizing is completely different. 3-4 inches longer... Read More in the body, longer arms and fits more like a L across the back (tight) if I try to reach for anything. The options above about and when returning dont give enough options to pick from to explain this. Bottom line is that not everyone who needs an XL for their shoulders and chest size is 64. I am about 6 and 205lbs. It would be good to make all weights to the same size specs so one could buy the medium and heavy weights. Not sure why you would change the sizing when you change the weight, thanks.

October 11, 2021

Perfect weight flannel

Great new addition to the Fjord line. Perfect weight flannel. Very soft, exceptional quality and good styles (love the Sage Khaki). However, it's cut from a different pattern than the super comfortable original heavyweight Fjord Flannel. This version is much less comfortable due to arm holes that are too small, it pulls through the biceps, upp... Read Moreer chest and back, shoulders and elbows (and I'm skinny). A larger size would be way too big. The original Fjord and Pima Cotton shirts are much more comfortable, despite all being relaxed fit. This one is on the slim side of regular, definitely not relaxed. Even the regular fit Lightweight Fjord Flannel and Lightweight Fjord Flannel Hoody are more roomy. With improved tailoring, this would be a year-round, go-to favorite piece that I would own in multiple colors as I do other Fjords and Pima shirts. Until then, and sadly, one and done.

October 8, 2021

Soft and warm

This shirt is super comfortable and soft. Fits relatively loose, which is nice if you're layering. Highly recommend.

September 21, 2021

Comfortable

Very happy with this flannel, super comfortable and made like it will last for years.

September 21, 2021

Super Soft

This is a very nice weight for "swing" season. Not as heavy as some, but enough insulation for most above-freezing days. Very comfy.

September 19, 2021

Perfect everyday flannel

Looks & feels amazing highly recommend

September 17, 2021

Great Color

I love patagonia quality when it comes to material and fit. Great color selection! Was wondering if anyone else noticed how much further the pockets are from the middle of the shirt in this style? Just curious. Pocket seems to almost go into armpit on outer edge. Just wondering if anyone else noticed this, if it was intentional or a flaw by designe... Read Morer? Thank you all and I look forward to hearing back from other buyers and patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2021

We appreciate your feedback, Brian! This shirt is a "relaxed" fit design which might affect where the pockets fall. You might prefer one of our "slim" or "regular" fit styles. Don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any further questions. We're happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

September 16, 2021

Excellent flannel

Husband loves it! Fits his 5'10" slim frame well with layers underneath. Another Patagonia win.

September 7, 2021

Dry comfortable

Love this shirt. I have a couple others like it. Good weight for Fall and Spring or a layer in Winter.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches