Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Thermal Weight Zip-Neck

Write Your Review

4.29 /5

Filter Reviews

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Thermal Weight Zip-Neck

4.29
True To Size
September 14, 2020

Warm and very versatile

Warm for it's weight. Does a surprising good job as wind breaker on a bike.

May 19, 2020

Great base layer

Used this past fall while sitting in a tree stand for three days in temperatures in the 40's. Comfortable and warm without being too bulky - great base layer!

May 18, 2020

Great base layer

Used this past fall while sitting in a tree stand for three days in temperatures in the 40's. Comfortable and warm without being too bulky - great base layer!

January 6, 2020

Gift

Great Service in getting my gift before Christmas.

December 31, 2019

Comfy and warm

Can’t believe something this thin can be so warm!

December 13, 2019

My go-to baselayer.

Patagonia's capilene thermal weight layers are so phenomenal. The cut/fit is great, really comfortable, no bulkiness, the thumb loops are incredibly welcome, and the fabric is much warmer than one might think just holding it, but with an outer layer and/or shell it really does provide incredible warmth, but even more importantly to me: incredi... Read Moreble breathability. I tend to run hot and sweat easily during medium-to-high output activities, so I absolutely need breathability in cold weather and the cap thermals breath SO well and I'm able to perfectly manage heat buildup. This is a regular choice for me for snowboarding when the temps aren't frigid but are still relatively cold. Home for snowboarding for me is Vermont so it get cold. I wear the cap daily tee, cap thermal and the Untracked shell jacket, and that keeps me warm from about 20F (maybe even slightly less) to about 35F. On the lower side of that range I'll usually be a little chilly on the first lift ride or two, but after building up some heat after the first couple runs I'm good to go and don't sweat much - and any sweat is able to escape through the extremely breathable grid/fabric. The reason this got 4 stars instead of 5: I'd really like to see a chest pocket on this. Even if it had just that minimal hidden zipper rather than the kind of zipper on the hoody version. When I'm riding I like to keep my phone on the inside of my jacket on colder days to keep the battery warm, and - at least for me with the Untracked jacket - the internal pocket on the jacket is too small for a phone. On the cap thermal hoody or the R1, I'm able to keep my phone in the chest pocket of either of those, but if I'm wearing the zip-neck solo, there's no chest pocket on it unfortunately. So that would be a massively welcomed addition for me. But that's the only change I'd make.

December 9, 2019

Quick drying, and super warm....

A super body sock, perfect under layer for activity. Wicking, warm and a daily wear for me.

December 9, 2019

Awesome comfy warm

Good stuff get yourself some!

December 5, 2019

Arm length a little short

Arm length a little short but over all good fit

November 28, 2019

Functional and Versatile baselayer

Very comfortable against the skin, odor control works well. I'm 5'10", 170lbs, 32 inch waist, 42 chest and a medium is form fitting, but not tight, I can wear alone as a casual piece. The fabric regulates temp extremely well and doesn't give you that synthetic clammy feeling when you start to sweat from activity. Durability is a... Read More plus. I'd love to see more products with this material - boxer briefs, hoodie with pockets etc

November 22, 2019

Great base layer for sedentary activities!

Great base layer. Used several times under an R1 fishing - wicks and insulates well. Used alone for a cool trail run (about 50 degrees). Cold at first (lots of air penetration) but warmed up well after 1.5 miles in. The layer worked great for the rest of my run. Fit is spot on for a base layer - you want it snug. The arms are a good length unless I... Read More'm trying to use the thumb loops, then they could be an inch longer.

November 17, 2019

Terrific base layer. Lightweight, warm,

Terrific base layer. Lightweight, warm, fits perfectly and is very comfortable. I wear when I play cold weather golf and I love it.

November 5, 2019

Soft and warm.

Soft and warm.

November 5, 2019

Great everyday layer

Great everyday layer

November 4, 2019

super slipery

I have ordered some many under layers but this one is different. It is slippery fabric. I prefer the nappy fabric actually, but this is cute.It is a dark print too. I can wear it as a underlayer or a second layer under an vest or coat for mild days. great for camping, hiking and skiing.

October 21, 2019

Great fit and warm.

Great fit and warm.

October 18, 2019

Good choice for around the house on cold days or outside as base

Not as heavy as older Regulator, but I’m very satisfied.

August 29, 2019

Men’s capilene medium weight and thermal weight base layers

I just got these, so I haven’t worn them in winter, BUT both tops and bottom fit really well. Very comfortable fabric. I can tell these will be a great base layer. We live in the Rocky Mountains, so I am looking forward to being warm this winter.

May 9, 2019

the old one was excellent

have used a Capilene® Thermal Weight Zip-Neck for the last 20 years in winter sports, It's becoming ratty looking but still functional. reserving 5 star rating for new one until end of next winter season

April 15, 2019

Great athletic and lounging wear

I took four of these zip T-neck tops, and two pairs of the bottoms, on a trek to Kangchenjunga in the fall of 2018l, wore them all winter backcountry skiing and skate-skiing in Jackson Hole, and took them on a trip to the Lyngen Alps in Norway in March 2019. They're very comfortable, wick extremely well, and look good lounging around after ski... Read Moreing or traveling on plane.

November 18, 2018

Thin/cheap

This was given to me as a gift. I said i needed a warm fleece base layer for riding my motorcycle in the cold. This is about as thin as tissue paper, and practically see-through. Not only would it not be warm, it wouldn't last very long either. Definitely not worth the insane amount of money that it costs. Guess i'll go back to wearing my... Read More 20 year old, actual fleece long underwear.

October 26, 2018

Light and comfortable

Pro: Light, comfortable - fit is not slim, but if i use baselayer all day long in mountains - its better. Also is better for using in city. Cons: Face of the fabric not very durable, so need be careful. Is not very warm - but is light and super breatheble. I use this baselayer with merino t-shirts under, and stay warm enough with correct outerlay... Read Moreers.

March 27, 2018

Not Thermal Weight

Half the weight of mid-weight capilene. Half the weight of competitor products. Not warm because there is too much emphasis upon breathability\vapor transmission. My 17 year old thermal weight Patagonia capilene is superior and toasty. The neck is too large and the arm length is too short. I am 6' 2",190 lbs with a thin build and 35-3/4&q... Read Moreuot; sleeve length. The neck size on a large is always too big... it hangs like a drape around the neck,but the sleeve length is just right. A size medium fits the neck just right,but then the sleeve length is 2 inches too short. This is always an issue with Patagonia's neck and sleeve sizing. Why isn't Spandex,Elastane or some other design solution used in the neck and neck area in the baselayer and other tops to make them compression for better fit,heat retention and more aesthetic appearance ?

March 22, 2018

Great shirt

Great shirt. So light and yet so warm. Sure wish it came in more colors especially white.

January 20, 2018

Love this top!

I bought one on a that was a discontinued color nearly a year ago. I loved it so much that I bought the four current colors too. They work well around town as an outer layer in mild weather. They work as a good middle layer when skiing. I wear them around the house and nap on the couch in them. The fabric is a waffle pattern on the inside surface m... Read Moreaking them very light for their thickness. The cut is perfect for me which I almost never find with any clothing. I have broad shoulders compared to my belly and waist. My arms are of a long and athletic form so most regular clothing leaves a large sleeve gap at my wrists. . The sleeves on this actually cover my wrists and the shoulders aren't restrictive while there isn't a bunch of dangling fabric in the waist. I'm 6'2",wear a 42 long suit,and have a 34" waist. My only minor gripe is that the zipper can be annoying to my neck if pulled all the way up. Also beware that the size labeling in them also includes the "Asian fit" sizing which although has smaller lettering than the regular sizing,it sort of stands out more. With one of my orders I ordered XL since that is what I saw when looking at what I already owned. XL was considerably larger and didn't fit me in a desirable way.

January 9, 2018

Soft and warm,but tends to irritate skin

I own a lightweight and mid-weight Capilene shirts,along with their R3 fleece and Nano-air hoodie. All of these products are quite perfect. This one,however,tended to irritate my more sensitive skin (ie not the arms): I think it's the alternating/waffling pattern of the warming fibers. I'm gonna give it a try for a little longer,but I&#... Read Morex27;d recommended choosing a smoother fabric to touch your skin. I may just have to wear a Capilene lightweight layer underneath.

October 31, 2017

Odor control? Not really

I bought this about a month ago and am disappointed with the "no smell" claim. Never had issues with my smart wool tops after a full day of wear,but these need to go into the wash after one wear with moderate activity.

October 1, 2017

Great piece

Suprised by how great this is. Fit is athletic and spot on. Love this piece and will buy another at some point.

September 27, 2017

Thermal Weight Capilene SUCKS!

To replace my treasured Capilene Expedition Weight zip-neck top (that was stolen),I went with what is apparently their new version - thermal weight capilene. This product SUCKS and I am returning for a refund. It is thin,flimsy and does not look like it would hold up to wearing as an outer layer for long. Any tiny nick would easily cause a tear o... Read Morer hole. It had alternating strips of A) gauze-thin material (see-through without holding up to a light) and B) still pretty thin material. Why oh why Patagonia did you kill a classic? PS Also returning (this time for exchange) the Men's Baggies that they totally changed the sizing on. Same size that fit me for 30 years (L) now fits like a bloody tent.

September 23, 2017

True Patagonia gear

I bought this thermal first layer in a trip to NYC,some weeks ago. When I came back to my country,Argentina (where,funny to say,Patagonia region is located) I had the chance to try it,given the fact that's winter down here. I was gladly surprised about the quality and design of my new purchase. Glad to incorporate Patagonia to my list of favou... Read Morerite outdoor equipment brands!

August 21, 2017

Disappointed

I've owned a dozen or so Capilene 4 tops,which was the R.5 top before that,and which is now a Thermal Weight Capilene (zip top). I wear nothing else from October through May,even in the summer if it's cool,or if I'm in the mountains. As is the case with the R1 tops,which i also used to also live in 6 months of the year,the necks ke... Read Moreep getting baggier and baggier. Look at the model,who is 6". The neck is not close to snug fitting,and neither are any of the three tops i just bought. Slim fit ain't what it used to be. Even more surprisingly,the body is tight. I cannot reach forward/put my arms in front of me,without significant resistance in the arms,and a tight feeling in the back. The guy who reviewed a medium as too small is right. I'm 5'11",150 lbs,far below average. The tight body,when coupled with the baggy neck,is quite annoying. I'm sure that if this were any other brand than my beloved Patagonia,I'd give it one or two stars. Nearly all of my clothes are Patagonia,so I'm having a bit of an anxiety attack figuring out what I'm going to wear!:). I've literally lived in this stuff the last 12 years,nearly year round. I've never not loved this top,and I'm probably going to return 2 of the 3 I just bought hoping the one I'm keeping magically improves somehow. Probably wishful thinking...

May 13, 2017

Just right!

Spring time guiding in Virginia means some cool morning and hot and humid afternoons. This is a great top for the first hours on the creek or mountain stream and is easy to stow when not needed.

March 18, 2017

Great heavier insulation layer

I wanted a more breathable insulation layer other than an R1 and this is perfect.

March 12, 2017

Great base layer

Just back from multiple weeks in Utah and Wyoming. The thermal weight top and bottom performed fantastic through a variety of conditions. They are comfortable,light weight warm and breathable.

February 25, 2017

Too small

I purchased this a month ago and when I tried it on it seemed to fit but when I got home and wore it skiing it was definitely too small. Great product but the medium fits a bit small.

February 25, 2017

Warmer than I thought,...

For it's weight,this pullover / base layer has kept me warm during our epic (fingers-crossed) winter in Tahoe 2016-17. Four stars instead of five b/c I am a bit concerned about durability of the PowerGrid fabric. Fit is perfecto for me.

February 15, 2017

Great Purchase

Fit is comparable to other Slim Fits that I've purchased. I use it mainly for casual wear and outdoor running. Not heavy enough to use solo in sub freezing but great addition to runs. I have a Nike cold-weather pullover I like as well but I prefer this.

January 28, 2017

Great looks,great feel and warm to boot!

It has been a cold winter season so far in northern Idaho so I decided to add some heavier weight baselayers to my collection. What struck me upon their arrival was the way these felt...lightweight and soft....but they are surprisingly warm and very comfortable. Very happy!

January 13, 2017

Great fit and performance for ski and fish

Living in WY,this is a perfect piece for alpine,cross country skiing,fishing and surviving the daily winter extremes when facing Mother Nature's tricks. Worked well managing sweat during the intense pucker factor dropping into chutes,tree avoidance runs and skate skiing. Worked well with an R1 pullover to address mercurial warmth challenges in... Read More sub-zero temps in WY. This is one piece I use year long to manage our Northern Rockies climate...

February 29, 2016

Great lightweight base layer

I have five of these now. They are my go to base layer for backpacking,running,general aerobic activities. Highly packable. It is intended as a base layer so it definitely hugs. Don't expect it to be loose. I am 6'0" 190 lbs and I like the medium.

July 9, 2015

Just The Best

I bought this for fishing in the cold waters off Ocean Beach in San Francisco where it's almost always foggy and windy particularly in the summer time. It's amazingly warm for it's thickness and lightness. What I like so much about the shirt is that it really regulates and adapts to the surrounding temperatures. San Francisco has man... Read Morey many micro climates, and it can be freezing in one place and warm in another in the city. I never feel the need to take this shirt off except when it's really warm outside. It's the perfect all around shirt for me. It helps of course that the styling is impeccable about this shirt and I like the slim fit.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches