Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Thermal Weight Zip-Neck Hoody

Write Your Review

4.71 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 38 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Thermal Weight Zip-Neck Hoody

4.71
True To Size
May 9, 2020

Versatile and awesome

I've used this as a mid-layer (over a capilene cool tee) for two thru hikes now - The AT and PCT It just works great. It wasn't too warm like most other fleeces, and the zip is great for venting. Whenever I would work up a sweat it dried off surprisingly fast, and the hood is the perfect thickness for me. I'm still using the same one... Read More, with only 2 minor tears. I used it today as a stand alone layer for a 40 degree trail run and it worked great.

April 16, 2020

NICE TOP

GREAT TOP BUT I LIKE THE CHEAST POCKET AS WELL AND WHAT ABOUT MOREV COLOUR CHOISE

March 5, 2020

Love, one small ask. Bring back the chest pocket!

Have been wearing the old version of this for around 9 years. Its literally my favorite garment I own. I just wish they didnt get rid of the chest pocket!

December 13, 2019

I prefer the last generation

This years top doesn't fit around the neck as nicely. Its too loose and lets drafts in. It also gets in the way of zipping jackets to the top. Its also missing the breast pocket that was useful when needing a little body heat along with the pocket.(keeping a phone warm or a powerboat of sorts). Meh I like the old one better!

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

Thank you for your feedback on this and we are sorry that this is missing the mark in some aspects. Your satisfaction with our product is always guaranteed so if you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us, please feel free to do so.

December 13, 2019

My absolute favorite go-to cold weather active layer.

Patagonia's capilene thermal weight layers are so phenomenal. The cut/fit is great, really comfortable, no bulkiness, the thumb loops are incredibly welcome, and the fabric is much warmer than one might think just holding it, but with an outer layer and/or shell it really does provide incredible warmth, but even more importantly to me: incredi... Read Moreble breathability. I tend to run hot and sweat easily during medium-to-high output activities, so I absolutely need breathability in cold weather and the cap thermals breath SO well and I'm able to perfectly manage heat buildup. The cap thermal hoody I actually use as an outer layer over a t-shirt a lot hiking/trekking in cool weather. It's also served plenty of days snowboarding, but if it's cold enough to warrant needing the hood on the mountain, I'm likely wearing the crew neck version with a wool one-piece hooded union suit I have and use that hood. Love the chest zip picket on this too. Only improvement I can think of: I wouldn't mind seeing this hoody version have a slightly longer sleeve cuff and incorporating a thumb hole in the cuff instead of the thumb loop. I think it would complement the hooded version nicely since it's designed to provide the most standalone warmth of all the cap thermals.

December 5, 2019

Great piece for being outside

Great piece for being outside and active

December 4, 2019

Great for cold weather runs

The CAP TW ZIP NECK HOODY is great for cold weather runs. I've been using it in 35° temps and am sweating by the end of the run when paired with the Capilene Midweight Zip-Neck and Wind Shield Gloves. It also works great on its own when the temps are 50°+.

November 30, 2019

Winter Running

The thermal zip-neck base layer is great for running in very cold temperatures. The combination of the seamless hoody and high zipper keeps the wind and the cold away from the neck. When worn under a running jacket the base layer is warm but will not result in overheating. I bought a medium size but should have bought a small as I think this item w... Read Moreould perform better with a snug fit.

November 28, 2019

Amazingly Versatility - favorite piece on the PCT

I brought this on a 500 mile hike of the Washington section of the PCT. Wore it to sleep in and early mornings and evenings setting up and breaking down camp under the Houdini shell, perfect combo on trail. Love the hood to hold warmth. Size medium perfect for me - 5'10" ,170, 42 chest 32 waist. Thumb loops so nice to keep sleeves down wh... Read Moreen layering. Could use one more inch in sleeve length. Wore it in trail towns casually - find myself reaching for it at home all the time. Breathes well and drys fast!

November 11, 2019

Great

Great

November 6, 2019

Love it

For those times when an R1 is probably too much and a lightweight capilene just isn't enough. This is basically an R 0.5.

November 4, 2019

See through

The shirt is see through. Exchanged for different hoodie.

October 26, 2019

Comfortable and warm

Great layer to have on a recent camping trip!

September 30, 2019

Great Piece

Haven't worn it in the mountains yet but it's perfect for around town and on a plane etc. Kinda of like an R1 but more like a R0.5, lighter and breathable.

September 25, 2019

Lightweight R1

As some one who runs really hot sometimes my trusty R1 hoody is just a bit too warm. I've been looking for a piece that that was just a little bit lighter and this works perfectly.

April 3, 2019

Best baselayer I own

Im a sucker for anything with a hood and this bad boy has put in the work i need. From Spring canyon hikes to winter backpacking trips it has stayed true to form. Not overly hot in the spring sun but kept me warm while on the move. I need to pick up a few more.

December 14, 2018

Absolutely the most comfortable base layer on the market!

This shirt feels like stepping into a warm bath after a long march through the bitter cold.

September 7, 2018

Bring back the chest pocket

I own an older version and it is my go to baselayer for colder ski touring or rock climbing. I'd love to see Patagonia bring back the chest pocket on this layer!

August 25, 2018

Best purchase I made for Kilimanjaro

This is an excellent base layer. I just returned from a 12 day trip to Africa which included a 7 day hike to summit Mt. Kilimanjaro. This is the one piece of clothing that I wore all 7 days. It was breathable yet kept me warm. The hood kept sun off of my neck in cooler weather and allowed me to bundle up in the coldest weather (12 degrees on summit... Read More day). I wore this at night to sleep in, along with capilene base layer pants. It worked great. AND, even after 7 days, smelled great. Great piece of clothing.

February 28, 2018

AMAZING performance piece - uh,where's the pocket

This is an AMAZING performance base layer for aerobic activities!!! I wear this for trail running along with a nano puff vest in temps down to the teens and have absolutely no issues with warmth or heat regulation. I have yet to find a base layer that serves the same functionality. I love that I don't have to worry about a beanie and can easil... Read Morey regulate the heat and ventilation by removing/replacing the hood and zipping/unzipping without having to stop running of unzip/zip a pocket to stuff a beanie in. I'm getting ready to buy another one,but noticed the chest pocket has been removed!!! What?? Bring it back (pretty please)!!It IS NOT an urban compatible piece. When I first got it,I tried wearing it out around town under a vest and it just looks and functions a bit weird. If you leave it partially unzipped,the flaps flop around and look strange. Who cares what it looks like if you're on the way to do something amazing,but sitting at the pub it will definitely stand out.

December 14, 2017

Great piece and very versatile

The Thermal Weight material is a big improvement over the old capilene 4 material as itI can be worn over a wider range of temperatures. Its also more packable. I'm 6' and 178 lbs and the large is a perfect fit except the sleeves are too short. I wear a 33/34 inch sleeve dress shirt,so my arms are a bit long. Even so,when I hold my arms ... Read Morestraight out in from of me the sleeves ride up 2" above my wrist bones. Adding another inch or two would make it perfect.

November 13, 2017

Lived in this piece

Got this as my all around base layer/hoody for my 2017 PCT Thru Hike and it survived the entire hike,never popping a single stitch!!! The thumb loops are awesome,and the long zipper makes breathability super easy.

November 3, 2017

Great for running and sleeping.

Bought it as a mid-layer for skiing,but warm temps mean New England ski season is still a distant hope. For cool morning runs and cold nights,the light stretch fabric and the hoodie are great. Never gets hot,sweaty,or cold. Great as a pajama top as well.

September 1, 2017

Best long underwear ever

Used this in AK as part of multi-layer system. Stayed warm in -44 degree F!

April 16, 2017

capilene

I'm a long-time fan and customer of all things Patagonia. Very good products for the things I like to do. I also like your support on protecting the environment.

April 2, 2017

Perfect Cut

This shirt is absolutely wonderful. The cut is perfect; when it's cold and blowy,I'll zip up the neck and wear the hood underneath my ski helmet. The top of the collar falls just below my lip,a perfect place to maximize protection while not getting soggy from my breath. I'm a very skinny guy and it fits genuinely slim,which is rad. G... Read Morereat product.

February 22, 2017

Perfect Base Layer

I bought this top for a deployment to Afghanistan and I could not have been more pleased with its performance. I wore this as my sole base layer under my combat top and that's all you need (at or around 35 degrees F). Not bulky which is great. I am 5'9" 180lbs and have a Medium.

February 6, 2017

Perfect fit

I got this as a base layer for my patrol uniform as well as free ski days. Fits perfect and is comfortable.

February 6, 2017

Sooooo comfortable warm and not bulky

Great product,has a lot of utility,hood is great fits well!!!

February 4, 2017

BBLE

Best baselayer. Ever. Perfect balance of warmth,breathability,low weight. Most cross-functional and versatile. Excellent stretch with hip coverage. Thumb loops are money. Great neck seal when zipped up/hood down. Best active combo award: as a mid layer between a LW Cappie t-shirt and an Airshed pullover. Smokin.

January 21, 2017

Love it

Perfect for cold nights in the Sierra and for the northern section of the PCT. Extra comfy and looks/fits great. 6'3/200lbs. XL

January 16, 2017

Comfortable and/but light!

I got this hoodie to hike in and it is great for that. It is a little lighter/thinner than I expected despite going for the thermal weight. I'm 6'1",190 lbs and I bought a large.

January 14, 2017

Excellent hoody that I would buy again

Everything about this hoody is spot on. The fit,fabric,warm (almost too warm for high intensity unless below 35 degrees--please make a lighter version),arm & torso length spot on,hood fit is perfect,thumb loops are small and work very well when using or out of the way when not using. The funk stays away for longer than other synthetics,but stil... Read Morel not as good as wool. But,with wool you get a short life span,the moth issue,and wool takes longer to dry. I would buy again in a heartbeat. I also own the air hoody. It is tough for me to decide which one I like better. This piece is slightly warmer and will probably last longer. I tend to wear the air hoody more as a casual piece around the house and this one for performance/warmth.

January 12, 2017

Gold standard baselayer

The Capleline 4 is the best weight that Patagonia makes. It feels more breatheable than midweight,but it is considerably warmer. It feels great against the skin,and wicks sweat like a champ. My only gripe is the fit,and really that's only because I recently have begun wearing the Merino Air Hoody. That piece has awakened me and shown me that... Read More not all baselayers need to be insanely form-fitting. So,if Patagonia made a Capeline 4 Hoody without a zipper,and that fit SLIGHTLY looser than usual baselayers. That would be baselayer perfection.

January 11, 2017

Just right,

Purchased a month ago,perfect,very warm for the weight,fits well

April 16, 2016

This is the single best piece of clothing I own

I literally wear this piece all the time. Whether it's dry-tooling an M9,BC skiing,a mountain rescue call,or slepping my 3 year old around on my back. The fabric is amazing and always seems to retain just the right amount of warmth and breath-ability. Fit is perfect and the increased stretch compared to other Capilene pieces just adds to its c... Read Moreomfort. The thumb loops are great for vertical endeavors or keeping things tucked when layering in colder weather. The hood is a perennial favorite of mine,from blocking out spin-drift whilst belaying,keeping the sun off my neck ascending,and most importantly a snot barrier when carrying my toddler around...:-). There are a few minor things that could be improved,like bringing back the small chest pocket and lengthening the zipper a bit to allow for better venting during aerobic activities. Otherwise,this is a must have piece for climber/skier/dad types.

October 31, 2015

Favorite piece of gear

I have the Cap 4 Hoody, and I carried it the entire time while thru hiking the Appalachian Trail and Pacific Crest Trail over 2015. I changed a lot of gear and warming layers, but kept this hoody with me from the below freezing February conditions in Georgia to the 100 degree August SoCal days. It's lightweight and has an awesome hood. I used ... Read Morea down quilt for a sleeping bag and the hood was perfect to pull over my head on most nights and in the morning durning the trip. In colder conditions I would put a beanie over it with no problems. Like someone else said, the fit is slim, but I am 6 foot and 160 lbs and still wore a Medium. It isn't loose and I would buy a large if I wasn't buying it as a hiking mid/warming layer. Favorite piece of gear, I won't go backpacking without it.

August 15, 2015

Great piece, tighter fit vs other Slim Fit

I have the previous version that was called Capilene 4. For cool weather rock climbing or as an ice climbing layer, this is a great piece and is well designed and thought out. The only caveat is that the sizing is snug compared to other Patagonia slim fit garments, so for me it is less versatile--I can't wear it as a thin fleece, only as a ba... Read Morese layer (i.e. as intended). For reference, customer service confirmed for me that the garment chest measurement for a size medium is 37.5". By comparison, the new Merino Air hoody chest is 39.5", even though it is also listed as a slim fit.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches