Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Thermal Weight Bottoms

Write Your Review

4.37 /5

Filter Reviews

All 41 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Thermal Weight Bottoms

4.37
Kinda Large
June 26, 2020

Not as warm or comfortable as older version

I bought these to replace the capilene thermal pants my husband lost and was disappointed with the new fabric. The previous set of thermal weight capilene was warmer and felt more comfortable. Love Patagonia but for me this updated pant feels like a miss.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2020

We are sorry to hear that this missed the mark for you and appreciate your feedback. Your satisfaction is so important to us so please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back.

February 22, 2020

Best long underwear ever

I put these on this cold morning and decided I had to tell someone how great they are. Theyre warm and hug your legs as you put them on. Theyre plenty long, no gaps.

February 10, 2020

great!

I wear this baselayer under a gortex dry suit and love the warmth and feel these give me. The normal baselayer isnt enough on cold days or nights. true to size and an awesome piece to have in your quiver.

January 17, 2020

Bomb mountain base layer

I use these skiing, skinning, hiking, etc. They're just the right combo of warm and breathable plus after a few days of wear they still don't smell. They're great.

January 4, 2020

Like the fit, feel and

Like the fit, feel and warmth.

December 28, 2019

Oh yeah

My old bottoms were all stretched out so these new bottoms were great to have on our trip to Taos this week.

December 17, 2019

Really warm

These light long johns are surprisingly warm and they are plenty long

December 13, 2019

My go-to baselayer.

Patagonia's capilene thermal weight layers are so phenomenal. The cut/fit is great, really comfortable, no bulkiness, and the fabric is much warmer than one might think just holding it, but with an outer layer and/or shell it really does provide incredible warmth, but even more importantly to me: incredible breathability. I tend to run hot and... Read More sweat easily during medium-to-high output activities, so I absolutely need breathability in cold weather and the cap thermals breath SO well and I'm able to perfectly manage heat buildup. I use the cap thermal pants for everything. Hiking/trekking, fly fishing, and especially snowboarding - you name it, I've worn them for it. Don't ever discontinue these!

December 12, 2019

More awesome comfy warmth

Great product good fit. Bought 2 pair 1 M's med and later 1 mens large. I'm a 33/34 waist and the Lg are about perfect, the Med are a little tight at the waist for all day use ( for me).

December 9, 2019

warm and functional

worn two weeks commuting in ~35* NYC. great addition to the closet’s midweight long-johns. really warm and well constructed.

December 5, 2019

I’ve had 5 or 6

I’ve had 5 or 6 sets of your Capilene Long underwear. In the past I’ve bought small sizes without thermal bottoms. Since it’s been awhile since I had a new pair I went to your size chart and bought mediums. They are way too long and from the knee down they are baggy. I hesitate to return underwear that don’t fit. I’m 5’7” tall, weigh 148lbs and hav... Read Moree a 33-34” waist.

December 4, 2019

Great fit

excellent material and great fit

December 4, 2019

Little long but very comfortable

Little long but very comfortable

November 26, 2019

Extremely Warm

I tried these out around the house. Too warm! These are for outdoors walking/hiking in freezing weather. I'll give them a workout soon. Very well made.

November 23, 2019

Warmth

Although the workmanship was good (as usual) this product does not provide the warmth which the "title" represents. They are likely fine for one who on occasion ventures out of the office, I need a non-see through fabric. It feels like a breeze is penetrating my outer wear which is a tight weave and a Patagonia pant.

November 23, 2019

Slick Nick

Best ever fishing thermal underwear

November 12, 2019

Thermal weight Bottoms

Very comfortable and warm. Great for colder days on the mountain or on the water.

November 6, 2019

Pleasantly surprised

I wasn't sure I'd like these with the waffle texture. But they are great! Wore them under jeans on a motorcycle ride and they kept me warm and toasty. Can't wait to try them skiing this winter. Very happy with my purchase.

November 5, 2019

Ordered based on sizing chart

Ordered based on sizing chart and they were way too small.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Hello Maria! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear that the size you ordered based off the size chart didn't fit right. Your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 5, 2019

Warm and soft

Warm and soft

November 4, 2019

Great jacket

Nice and light and the perfect level of warmth

November 3, 2019

Warm.

Warm.

October 15, 2019

Go to base layer

Capilene bottoms are my go to base layer here in Colorado. Whether shoveling snow, biking to work or taking the dog for a morning walk these bottoms are just the right weight to take the chill out.

December 28, 2018

Excellent Breathable Base Layer

I've been wearing Capilene thermal weight bottoms for a little over a year now and I continue to be impressed by their performance. The tops and bottoms are extremely lightweight and pack very well. The material is thin - almost 'see through' in between the insulation grid but this does not seem to hinder the warmth at all when layer... Read Moreed under a shell. I have skied 10+ hours with temperatures in the 10-25F range with only a pair of ski pants on over top and never had the slightest bit of a chill. I've decided to purchase a second pair of Capilene Thermal bottoms over merino wool because I really don't feel like the extra warmth of merino wool is worth all the fuss of taking care of it. You can toss Capilene in the wash and it's nearly dry enough to wear after the spin cycle.

November 18, 2018

Bombproof Thermals

These are the one's for when you are standing out in the cold, working or doing non-cardio activities. Extra warm not hot. But too hot to ski, bike, or hike

November 15, 2018

Expedition Weight Capilene Seekers

I've seen quite a few reviews on hear discussing the current Thermal Weight Capilene not being as warm as their predecessor the Expedition Weight Capilene. I believe the current iteration is meant to strike the balance between warmth and breath-ability. However, if you find yourself wanting the warmth of the Expedition weight I would suggest t... Read Moreaking a look at the Men's Crosstrek Fleece Bottoms. They are made from the exact same material as the old Expedition Weight (Polartec Power Stretch). They may not be as tight as other baselayers but aren't too much of a compromise. If you are looking for breath-ability and overall versatility these are perfect. Hope this helps!

October 26, 2018

Comfortable

Super comfortable, very light and packable. Not super warm, but its breatheble. Cons: waistband get twisted after using.

October 5, 2018

Capilene thermal bottoms-mens

I haven't used them hiking yet but wore them around the house on a cold evening. They feel very comfy and as warm as expected. They fit well; I'm 5'5" and got a small. Unfortunately, the listed weight was way off; very much misadvertising. They are listed at 4.7oz for a medium and i was told 4.3oz for a small. My small weighs 6.... Read More4oz, about 50% more then the listed weight. As someone trying to lighten their pack with an efficient clothing system, this was very disappointing and has me reconsidering patagonia for other lightweight options like rain jacket. Unfortunately i had worn it around for a couple hours and ripped the tags off before weighing it.

January 17, 2018

Lightweight and packable,not very warm

I purchased these a month ago. They feel nice and are easy to pack. However,they are not warm. They aren't as warm as my older edition Capilene Midweight bottoms. They aren't as warm as some older,cheaper bottoms I have. If you're looking to save ounces,they're great. If you want to stay warm,go with something else.

September 1, 2017

Great product

Tested in AK in -44 Degrees F and it was perfect as the base layer of multi-layer system. Love this long underwear!

April 16, 2017

capilene

I'm a long-time fan and customer of all things Patagonia. Very good products for the things I like to do. I also like your support on protecting the environment.

April 8, 2017

Warm/ comfortable

Get the job done,stay warm and hardly notice youre wearing them,the true ideal

March 28, 2017

Long Johns

I am a Skier and Fly Fisher,needed a medium weight and heavy weight Long Johns. Couldn't be happier with the Patagonia line. Always top quality,love the companies Environmental stand,and the overall comfort is yet to be matched.

March 6, 2017

Very Warm

I wore these up to Squaw in February and they kept me very warm and dry. A good fit,true to size.

March 4, 2017

Ribbed.

One could argue these pants are in the gradation between the mid-weight bottoms and a pair of fleece pants,but for me this is not entirely the case,read on. These thermals are ribbed with a 1/2 inch wide horizontal band of insulation and then just the thin carcass material for the the next 1/2 inch. Which in a 3 layer set up below a pair of fleece ... Read Morepants,with the wind and water resistant outer layer,would make the over all set up slightly lighter weight/less bulky but equally as warm,compared to a not ribbed full insulation design. I intended to use these in a 2 layer set up below a pair of rain pants that are not air tight at the ankle,this setup allows a little cold wind up the ankle,which would be of no consequence,if your bottom layer had a full insulation design. Zoom in really close on the web pictures,and you can see what I mean.

January 29, 2017

The fit in the legs is extremely disappointing.

The legs would fit someone weighing 100 pounds more than my 185. The legs are cut so different and huge than the same exact item in MIDWEIGHT. Compare the specs yourself.

January 21, 2017

A bit disappointed

Bought these thermal weight bottoms believing they would a good replacement for my 10+ year old thermal weight bottom. They are not nearly as warm of comfortable as the original fleece type offering. I am not saying that they are not useful or well made,but they require heavier shell insulation to achieve the same overall warmth and they just don&#... Read Morex27;t give the same instant comfort of the expedition fleece. They are fine if you know what you are getting,but definitely not an equal replacement for the great expedition weight Patagonia classics.

January 12, 2017

Love these!

These are great and are a perfect weight for wearing under my shell while backcountry skiing. I got them just before Christmas and I just returned from a hut trip to Canada where we had a week of cold temps (high temps of -20 C on several days). These did a good job of both keeping me warm and also breathing enough so I didn't get too sweaty. ... Read MoreThey were perfect and I will be wearing them often this winter and in the winters to come!

January 12, 2017

a layer of comfort

best long underwear ever... low bulk and super warm with a low profile waistband that makes for a comfortable fit under every layer i have. awesome.

January 11, 2017

Awesome base layer!

Love the new fabric style. Very warm for the weight and moves with my legs better than the older version.

January 11, 2017

Versatile

These baselayer bottoms work great in a variety of conditions. I wore them under lightweight hiking pants with temps in the 40s and was not cold while on the trail. They also work well to layer under jeans for walking around town in the winter,and even inside with jeans they don't feel too hot. I love that I can leave them on all day,whether I... Read More'm inside or outside,active or lounging. I tried on the merino thermal weight bottoms to compare and these were a looser fit (more comfortable for me),whereas the merino bottoms were more like tights.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches