Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Thermal Weight Bottoms

Write Your Review

3.96 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 48 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Thermal Weight Bottoms

3.96
True To Size
February 21, 2020

Brilliant

Wore these in -16 degrees in Niseko and they kept me very warm. Also wore them walking around Tokyo and they didn't smell even after 8 days.

February 10, 2020

Excellent Pant Baselayer

I am very glad I invested in the Thermal weight pant. They are warm, not restricting/skintight, and, with all Patagonia gear, reliable and consistent high quality. I am 5'1, 95 lbs, and wear size XXS in all Patagonia Capilene baselayers. Normally I wear size XS in everything else Patagonia. The length is perfect - right at the ankle. I bought ... Read Morethe Black pair, and can see how they would be considered sheer when stretched/in use due to the open-grid pattern. I wear them under an insulated or wool skirt for work or running errands, or under a shell pant for nordic skiing. I can also see myself hiking in these for those colder fall/early spring hikes, and wearing them to sleep in summer/fall camping. I also own the Mid weight pant which are considerably thinner (more of a tight/legging) and less warm. I also own the Thermal weight crew top and notice that the Thermal weight pants are thinner than the top, although just as warm. This is a great versatile piece and a staple in my winter active (and casual wear) wardrobe.

December 23, 2019

Excellent product

Excellent product

November 22, 2019

Capilene® Thermal Weight Bottoms

I love how thin and moveable these are. It's a nice, thin, warm layer without the restriction of most thermals. I also love the larger wasteband to help comfortably keep them in place. Great product!

November 18, 2019

Nice and warm. A bit

Nice and warm. A bit too long. The elastic is a bit too tight in the waist. But easy to wear.

November 17, 2019

best base layer ever

i own these thermal bottoms in black and blue. they are comfy and warm for chilly runs out on trails, or just simply wearing around the house. they stretch well and would work for yoga or other activities.

November 15, 2019

Fine but only as a base or under layer

The leggings are fine but only serve as a baselayer since they are rather see through that cannot be avoided.

November 11, 2019

Always like the long underwear

Always like the long underwear from Patagonia. Keeps me warm and is never bulky.

November 9, 2019

Not what I expected

There's nothing wrong with them, but based on the description as "thermal" I thought they'd be heavier weight than the medium weight crew shirt I also bought (and love). In fact, the bottoms are quite sheer, to be worn as long underwear, which also makes sense as "thermal." Anyway, I don't need this type of thing,... Read More so I returned them.

November 7, 2019

thinner than i thought

They fit well, are warm, and comfortable. They are a great base layer. Perfect for backpacking where I can sleep in them and then hike in the cold mornings with them.

November 6, 2019

Comfy and warm!

These bottoms are phenomenal and really excited to have them in rotation for skiing! Only downside is because of the checkered capilene they may potentially be a little see through if you wear them from skiing to the store or something without a layer over. But for an outdoor layer theyre phenomenal. Fitted but not skin tight fit on legs and then s... Read Morenug elastic waist.

October 22, 2019

💡MASTERPIECE Squared: Most Important + Valuable of all Products.

💡Loved this treasure. Wonderful in every way. Perfectly warming, almost in an adaptogenic way. Have tried more than 11 thermal products (ever since school in Boston more than twenty years ago) and these are the first thermals I put on and comletely forgot being too cold. 💡Five Stars. At least!

June 1, 2019

Perfect for my rafting trip

While rafting the Owyhee River in SE Oregon, the thermal weight tops and bottoms kept me very warm even when I was soaked from river splash and continuous rain. They dried out every night in my tent hanging from a tent shelf, so I could wear them the next day. The waffle weave is warm but light and I don't think it will pill easily like so man... Read Morey other tech products. I will also use them for xc skiing, bike packing and camping in colder climes.

May 8, 2019

Warm: Not Bulky

My husband and I are moving to Illinois, so we flew out in early March to go house hunting. I have never lived in cold weather (I’m moving from Florida). I mistakenly thought a pair of J. Jill pants from the “Wearever” collection (that is the company’s title—not a misspelling) would keep me warm. Well, at eight degrees plus wind chill, I discovered... Read More I needed thermals. I had Patagonia overnight ship me these bottoms, and they were perfect. The thermals are light enough to wear under the J. Jill pants without causing bunching or adding bulk, yet they kept me perfectly warm. I will definitely buy more of these, as well as some for my husband. I was worried about sizing, but the medium fit just right. I am 5’ 4” and weigh 165. I have a muscular build from years of competitive swimming, but I am carrying about 35 pounds of extra weight in my lower body. The medium size still fit really well. I had ordered a large in the past (December 2018), but I returned it because it was too big. I highly recommend these thermals.

April 19, 2019

Warm but will tear/run (extremely sensitive!)

It's my first piece ever from Patagonia and I was so excited to take them out on a multiday hike as they're really light and space saving compared to other baselayers with similiar warmth. Unfortunately, when being back in town after the track and taking off my hiking pants I wear on top, my boyfriend discovered a long run/tear on the bac... Read Morek from the top of the waistline to the second half of my thigh. It's really very disappointing for such a pricey "quality" which did not even last one multiday hike. I did really love wearing them and had them on day and night due to their great heat performance. But seeing how extremely fragile they are I really cannot recommend these to anyone who doesn't plan on wasting money....

February 27, 2019

Comfortable but oddly shaped

I ordered size XXS but fit for the thighs and butt is loose. My old thermal weight wool base layers in size XS was tighter than this XXS. It feels comfortable so I may just keep it and wear my wool layer under on a very cold day.

February 24, 2019

Warm but rip

I loved these bottoms the first time I wore them but after taking them off on the second day of wear, I discovered two holes in the crotch area along the seams. Also, the thermal is striped so the bottoms are actually kind of see through; don't plan to wear them on their own anywhere.

October 11, 2018

Comfortable, warm, lightweight and long enough!

I am 5'8' and I have very long legs so every single pair of leggings I own are short on me and don't even go past the ankle, however, these capilene leggings are actually long enough that they go past my ankle! I am so happy about this! The waistband is also nice and thick to stay put and not roll down,. They are higher rise so they ... Read Morecover my behind perfectly. The crotch area is looser on me but I love that because I don't get the dreaded cameltoe and I get some nice air flow in that area. They fit like a glover and are so warm. They are also very lightweight. I will be getting more in more colors!

September 5, 2018

sheer but still functional

I originally purchased these because the tag said "Wear alone or as a base layer". They are too see through to wear alone and I purchased them in the navy color. They are wearable with a tunic or dress (something to cover your rear) to use as a warm legging. I love the waist band as it is a thick elastic which I find more comfortable and ... Read Morehave a very high rise which keeps the belly warm. These will be good on early morning cold runs when no-one else is around and will fit perfectly under many other pants. I'm keeping them because they are functional and flattering but not for "stand alone" as the tag leads you to believe.

April 23, 2018

waistband isn't for me

I'm a small because I'm a little human but the waist band is uncomfortable. I dont think I'd go a size up either... seems the old ones had a thinner waistband which made it easier to wear

February 24, 2018

Comfy pants

Bought these specifically for snowmobiling. Thighs are always ice cold and I hate the bulk of everything you have to wear to stay warm. My son swears by Patagonia since his trip to Iceland. I've worn once and I still need to figure out the layering affect. I tried these with just a pair of cotton thermals over them and a pair of snowboard pant... Read Mores but still cold. I gave 4 stars because they are still warmer then previous gear and very comfortable but not as warm as I need. Not giving up! Waistband stays up and fit great.

January 17, 2018

Disappointed!

I expected better quality. I bought this in August and finally had a chance to wear it this past week. After just wearing it once, I noticed there was a large tear in the crotch area. I did not do any activities to cause the tear--- just wearing it around the house.

January 16, 2018

Perfect Fit!

I've been wearing these all winter under my hardshell pants. For how thin they are,they keep me plenty warm. The only time I wasn't warm was on a hike in -30C weather (in which everything was cold). They are long enough and the elastic waistband holds them up. They are slightly see through but because they are a baselayer I'm not bot... Read Morehered.

January 6, 2018

odd fit and wishing for wool

I went to get my old pair of wool leggings repaired and was told they couldn't be and that Patagonia isn't carrying any wool products until next year due to supply issues. Totally understandable and grateful Patagonia has quality sourcing standards,and though I was hoping for a natural fiber I accepted the trade for these new capilene leg... Read Moregings. They do seem to be just as warm if not warmer than wool,but unfortunately the fit is much different...a higher waistband that does not sit at my waist or on my hips but in that muffin-top-y inbetween area,the fabric is too opaque to comfortably wear alone,and the fit through the thigh and seat is much looser than previous size small leggings I've had,even after trying to shrink them in the dryer. I'm bummed all around but at least I have a stand-in at no cost until wool comes back around.

December 20, 2017

Absolutely Amazing

I just got these two weeks ago and absolutely LOVE them. If this is the only base layer you buy,make it this. I wear them every night walking my dog in the winter and look forward to wearing them when I am skiing over New Years. I am 5'11,150 pounds and a medium fit perfectly. Thank you so much for an amazing product. I am now a forever custom... Read Moreer.

November 13, 2017

Excellent quality over the years!

I bought the Cap 4 (thermal weight) bottoms about three years ago and have worn them a TON ever since. They haven't stretched out at all,the material has lasted amazingly over the last few years. I wear them backpacking,hiking,skiing,and rock climbing,they are warm but also very breathable. Last winter I lived in my camper van at 10k ft elevat... Read Moreion and wore them every day and they are still going strong! Excellent purchase.

September 11, 2017

Perfect fit!

Just put them on and they are perfect. Lounging or hiking. They are true to size.

April 10, 2017

Love them

I've had the merino bottoms for years and it was time to get a new pair. I am 5'7 and 120-125 lbs and I got the Small. They are a great fit with a little extra room. (I got the midweight in XS for a tighter fit.) Very warm and comfortable for under jeans/carhartts/snowboarding pants or just relaxing around the house :)

March 12, 2017

Super comfortable

Used these capaliene bottoms for CO downhill skiing and found them super. Very comfortable - ski pants slid over them like a breeze. Kept me warm and dry.

March 6, 2017

Perfect base layer

These bottoms are perfect for when I go skiing,and I love the thermal capilene material.

March 5, 2017

great for keeping you warm

the are great for winter sports,breathable and they don't catch smells. The dry really fast. they are not like thighs,very high waist and comfortable

February 17, 2017

Keeping Me Warm

These are a great thin,lightweight thermal I can fit under almost anything and stay toasty warm. Living in the mountains temperatures can become cold,in the double negative digits. These bottom have helped me combat the coldness when I am doing anything from working outside to snowboarding. The fit is right on,snug without being restricting and not... Read More too long,I am around 5ft 7in.

February 16, 2017

Why do you make it hard to love you?

Dear Patagonia. I love you. I really do. But why do you make it so hard? How many women in these reviews say "I have athletic thighs." We get after it. We are quadzillas. Does your model have athletic thighs? No. Do I but a pair of bottoms without being able to see the rear first? No. What gives?

February 12, 2017

Great warm layer

Bought these before a ski trip to Japan. They are amazing to wear on their own and on super cold days they can easily be warn as a layer.

February 11, 2017

Super layer

I've been giving these a workout and they have not disappointed. Light weight,thin enough to wear under jeans and perfect base layer for warmth. I do think I could have bought the size large .

January 14, 2017

Several drawbacks

I really love the feel of these,and wanted to love them to death,but there are two big detractors: - They're a bit see-through,so you won't want to wear them as standalone leggings unless they're loose on you (which defeats the purpose of base layer leggings) - The waistband seems oddly loose. I first bought the size large,and the w... Read Moreaistband was loose and wouldn't stay up even though the rest of the legging fit well. I exchanged these for mediums,and the same thing happened,despite the fit being more appropriate around the thighs. Not sure how to get them to stay up,but this is the main reason I don't use them that much. Disappointed! The pros,however,while we're at it: - Extremely lightweight - Extra soft - Wicking

January 11, 2017

Warm and comfortable

I have been wearing my new capilene thermal weight bottoms for the last 4 days. They are so comfortable and warm that I am able to wear them around the house once I come inside. I did notice tonight,some wear or fraying in the outside seams that I hope will not affect them long term. I do have a pair that are over 15+ years old and I still wear the... Read Morem regularly.

January 11, 2017

Comfy and Keeps me Warm

I wore these when the weather a couple weeks ago was 11 degrees out; I could walk comfortably the mile or so that I needed to. Thanks,Patagonia. I can always count on you.

January 11, 2017

warm and comfy

I like the color and I like how warm they are. It gives me peace of mind to know how they are enviornment friendly

January 9, 2017

Perfect - if you don't get a hole!

I bought these bottoms for my AT thruhike as camp pants in the winter. They were a perfect fit,totally comfortable,and didn't hold odor. I LOVED these bottoms,except for one thing: once you get a hole,it's over,folks. I got a hole in the inner thigh,even though I didn't do a ton of walking around in these pants. (Remember - used for... Read More camp pants.) Once the hole started,it quickly went to the size of a quarter. I sewed it up,but soon another hole appeared on the OTHER thigh,then the crotch,then further down the leg,always around the seams. The cloth seemed to be very thin,and the holes grew even as I stitched them shut. I did wash them in the clothes washer with my other clothes,but I never put them in the dryer. They managed to make it to Maine (they were sent home for about 2.5 months in the summer),but didn't last long after that before they were totally shredded. I loved these bottoms,but they didn't hold up to the test.

December 29, 2016

Great Warm Active Base layer

I usually wear these under a softshell pant while skiing (generally cross country on cabin trips and longer day trips). I like that they are not super thick so you do not overheat while being active,but if you open the side vents on your pants,these will prevent you from getting too cold. If I do not wear these on ski approaches I will most often b... Read Morering them to wear at night (paired with a warm jacket this allows me to get away with a higher rated sleeping bag). I also wear them around the house as an alternative to pajama bottoms or leggings,I think they are super comfortable. The only draw back I have found is they do seem to run a little short (I am 5'6",135-140 lbs and wear a small),and the elastic has gotten twisted up in the waistband,although this doesn't bother me too much. I will definitely buy another pair of these once my current ones wear out.

December 4, 2016

Warm and comfortable

I bought these two years ago. They keep me warm on the ski hill and under fowl weather gear in cold damp environments.

November 29, 2016

Mixed bag

I'm torn on these. While I don't like the fact that they are see-through due to the striped construction of the fleece inside,they are *very* comfortable and fit great -- including,for me,the waistband. But they wear out easily and are a little cold for being 'thermal weight'. I like to be able to wear these as an outer garment ... Read More('leggings') when I feel like it -- bouldering,quick trips to the grocery store,sitting at a picnic table on a camping trip,etc and they fall quite short in that regard.

November 22, 2016

Weird Waistband

Don't like the waistband in these. It has a sticky plasticy feeling and is too tight. Uncomfortable. Fit is appropriate in the rest of the garment,so I don't think I was in wrong size. I'm always a small in Patagonia,and I got the smalls. On the plus side,they seem a bit longer than some previous year's capilene bottoms. Wish th... Read Moreey'd bring back the R1 tights from a few years ago. That is the warmest base layer I've ever found. Keep trying to find something comparable with no luck. Will be returning these,unfortunately.

August 28, 2016

Good Color

Where's the length? I'm 5'4" tall,and these fit like they're cut for a petite height. No good,gotta go back. Plus,they're a bit transparent,and the whole world could see your butt cheeks or thong color. Not cute.

June 20, 2016

Not sure if it's worth it

They work fine and I use them. However,for leggings that cost more than $50 and are designed to be warm,I expect them to be opaque (not see-through). I saw previous reviews and decided to purchase anyways but I'm not sure if I'd purchase again. I'd like to be able to wear them alone as a morning layer for around camp. I used them in... Read More the Grand Tetons as an underlayer with a fleece for 30 degree night temperatures in the "tent cabins". I was moderately warm,but not overly impressed.

February 27, 2016

Warm but See-Through

They fit well and are warm but I thought these would be thicker. They are somewhat see-through, especially if you are wearing dark underwear. I bought these for under my snowboarding pants so it will be fine, I'll just have to wear nude underwear if I want to wear them by themselves.

January 10, 2016

Perfect Layer

These are comfortable, durable, and flattering. I would buy more of them if I could. They run true to size and have a comfortable and effective waist band so they stay up well (best waist band on any Patagonia leggings I've ever bought). I'll admit I thought they would be a little thicker because they are called "thermal weight"... Read More but they still seem plenty warm.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches