Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Midweight Crew Neck Shirt

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 83 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Midweight Crew Neck Shirt

4.7/5
Kinda Large
September 16, 2021

Super soft

Lightweight, warm and soft to the skin. Wicks away moisture. Looks good after several washes and dries fast.

September 16, 2021

Perfect base layer for XC skiing

Soft, well made and with a cute pattern. I bought this for XC skiing but its cute enough to wear on its own with a pair of jeans. I live in far north Minnesota so warmth is key when skiing and this fits the bill. Love Patagonias merch.

September 15, 2021

thinner than I expected, bigger than expected

I don't think I read the description closely, I liked the way it looks, just thinner/lighter weight and longer, bigger than I expected.

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Rebecca! You're welcome to exchange it for a different size. We're also always happy to provide garment dimensions prior to purchase.

September 15, 2021

Stuffed Sausage

If you like having every dimple and roll on display this top if for you. Midsize girls don't a want slim fit - even sizing up to the XXL didn't help. Please be more inclusive in your sizing and design, Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2021

Hi Julie, thanks for taking the time to write a product review and we're very sorry to hear about your experience with the Capilene Midweight Crew Neck Shirt. We resonate with your frustration and please know we take this feedback seriously. We have no doubts that people of all shapes and sizes get outdoors and can benefit from our clothing. Over the past several years, we've begun to expand our sizes and it is our goal to continue this to make our clothing more accessible. For context, our items come in three different fits - slim, regular, and relaxed. The Capilene Midweight Crew Neck shirt is intended to be a baselayer, which means it is meant to fit next to skin or with a close fit to the body for insulating reasons. It is also a slim fit item so you may be better off going for a different product if you're not a fan of this cut. You could consider checking out the [Long-Sleeved Capilene Cool Trail Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-long-sleeved-capilene-cool-trail-shirt/24491.html?dwvar_24491_color=CNY&cgid=root) which is relaxed fit. Of course if you aren't satisfied, you are always welcome to return this. We hope to not disappoint you in the future.

September 11, 2021

so very pretty and comfortable

I am a picky shirt buyer, and usually buy wool but decided to give this shirt a go. WOW, is it warm! I mean, for the lightweight feel of it it is soft and warm. Neckline is just right. And the color is beautiful - between dark blue and purple. The permanent anti-stinky treatment closed the deal. Go for it!!

September 9, 2021

Warm

I wore this to northern Oregon coast on a cloudy day, along with a windbreaker jacket. It keep me warm and its lightweight.

September 3, 2021

Warm

I had to make 3 exchanges because of the fit snd your customer service folks could not have been more pleasant and helpful! I was thrilled.

September 1, 2021

Truly midweight

ok, so truth be told, what i was really jones'in for is silk weight. Can't wait to wear this midweight top on cooler days.

August 25, 2021

Fit Issues for Me

I am 5'5", 150 lb, in my seventies. I first ordered XL as that usually gives me the comfortably loose fit I want. But XL hung on me like a sack, so I exchanged for L. Sadly, L is form-fitting on me, not the look I'm after these days. Epic fail. I love the fabric and the colors, but the fit simply doesn't work for me.

Response from Patagonia
August 31, 2021

Hello Beverly, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry the fit did not work out. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the shirts at your convenience. We are always happy to provide garment measurements for reference.

August 23, 2021

bit strange fit

I do like this shirt but not so sure about athletic slim fit on a not so athletic person :) Found the fit a bit odd thru the arm pits. Fabric is a bit see thru. Yes I like this enough to order another.

June 10, 2021

Awesome shirt!

This is not only a nice looking shirt and fabric pattern, but a great fit. Medium weight so a bit warm for summer hiking, but great for the rest of the year. I bought it for my mom for her birthday and liked it so much I'm going to get one for myself too....

May 20, 2021

Great for 3 seasons

Love the texture and softness. Very comfortable and looks great if you want to wear as a shirt. Also great as PJS

April 28, 2021

My favorite base layer shirts

I love these base layers. They are perfect for backcountry skiing. Even though mid-weight, they are actually pretty light and are warmer than you would think. I don't really use the little loops at the wrist, but they don't get in the way. I especially love that they do not have any wool. No matter what wool or wool blend I try, I am alwa... Read Moreys really uncomfortable. These base layer shirts are soft and comfortable. Please don't stop making them!

April 14, 2021

Comfortable and trendy

Unused this top for a hike in VT. It is true to size. It feels nice on the skin and it is great to layer up. The color is very nice. I highly recommend it.

April 13, 2021

Runs big

Great for layering. Thin but warm. Im 52, 115 lbs and small seems too roomy.

March 27, 2021

excellent

I wear this piece frequently - running, working, hiking, and more. I am right in between sizes (S-M), so the small I wear is just a little bit too tight. The first few times I wore it, the stitching on the neck chaffed me a little, but after wearing and washing it a number of times, it softened up, and now I have no complaints. absolutely love this... Read More piece - it's warm, breathable, and functional!

March 22, 2021

Powerful warmth in a pretty thin layer

I wear this all day at work where I am up and moving indoors. It keeps me warm, but never too warm. I have used this as a base layer while hiking in near freezing temps with only a single outer fleece. It does have a tendency to catch on velcro. One of my sleeves is pilled up from catching on velcro repeatedly, but still works fine. One excellent f... Read Moreeature is that it never smells weird. Some synthetic base layers have a weird odor after use.

March 20, 2021

Love the weight, but...

I had to return this item. Im 5 5 and 125 pounds. I have a straight and narrow body type. Ive left similar reviews for other items. My perfect size lies right in the middle of a M and L. This M was too snug. I returned it, but could not get the L in the color I wanted. I do love the capilene material... so soft on the skin.

March 17, 2021

Super comfy

This is a great, snug fitting base layer. It is soft, warm and comfy and perfect for layering.

March 8, 2021

Great midweight

Love this shirt. Very comfortable and adaptable.

March 5, 2021

Snug at my mid section

Cute shirt but it fit too tightly around my tummy, which has been my observation with other Patagonia womens wear. Im 5 4 and 127 lbs and still felt like it was too slim to be flattering. Sorry I had to return this one. Would love to see a more forgiving fit.

March 4, 2021

Great base layer

I got many compliments is a great layer, or just as a every day outfit, great quality and color

February 28, 2021

perfect midlayer

I wear this with a wool base layer over, like Smartwool 250. Then a puffer vest for hiking or puffer jacket for skiing. The capilene is comfortable, light and warm and protects my skin from the wool, which is always itchy for me.

February 28, 2021

Base layer

This is a great base layer for xc skiing.

February 27, 2021

Perfect base layer

Bought this midweight crew on sale. It was a great deal. Perfect base layer for cold winter runs. Wicks moisture and keeps me warm at the same time. Wear on cold morning runs when temperatures have been in single digits.

February 26, 2021

Great travel top

This top is warm but very light. It washes beautifully and dries quickly. It's great for travel; doesn't wrinkle and can be washed and dries overnight.

February 26, 2021

Comfortable and warm

This shirt is a perfect under-layer for warmth. It has a nice pattern and the raglan sleeves are comfortable.

February 26, 2021

Great layering

As a Muslim woman I adhere to guidelines that call for me to be covered. As an extremely fair skinned person covering saves me from a world of hurt. Many womens tops are designed with those hated 3/4 sleeves, so I buy the capilene tops as a great way to wear styles I wouldnt otherwise wear. In the winter these heavier tops are an awesome layer for ... Read Morewarmth as well. So, while this is not an outer layer for me, it would be nice with casual pants or jeans without being a layer.

February 26, 2021

Soft and comfortable

I bought this shirt to fit loosely. It is very soft and it works perfectly for my needs - and it looks good !

February 25, 2021

Nice looking top

I like the looks of this top but the fabric is not very soft and did not feel good against my skin. I returned it

February 25, 2021

Great base layer

easy fit. Breathes well. Great base layer. Longer than needed, but covers more rump this way.

February 25, 2021

Versatile - Attractive Shirt

This product is multi-purpose - comfortable, durable, dress up or down, quality technical fabric, washes beautifully. I have two of these shirts for a change off when one is in washer. Highly recommend this all climate shirt.

February 25, 2021

Not made for athletically built women

I will start by saying how much I love Patagonia and their products. However, the base layers do not fit my body type. I originally ordered large top, medium bottom (my normal sizes) in the thermal weight. The thermal weight sizes I got were HUGE. So I spoke with a super friendly customer service agent who helped me exchange for a size down, I ende... Read Mored up deciding to go with the mid weight instead because the bottom cuff on the pants looked like it would go better in a ski boot. So I got medium top and small bottoms, they were WAY too small. I don't know whats up with the sizing with these items, but I guess they just arent designed for my body type of thick thighs/ butt, and long arms/broad muscular shoulders with a small waist. The material of both styles were great, and if the shirt/pants fit your body type I think they would be a great base layer. Customer service reps helped me multiple times to exchange and then ultimately return everything. Hands down best customer service I have ever dealt with.

February 25, 2021

Snowy running

I bought this base layer shirt to keep me warm and dry on winter runs. I go for 4-5 hour runs in 20 degree and colder weather and this shirt keeps me warm. I still sweat when I run even when its so cold and this shirt keeps me dry. Its the best base layer Ive found.

February 25, 2021

Super versatile and great looking!

Awesome shirt. Can be very warm but is not heavy. I wear it for many activities-looks great and washes well. Just get it!!

February 25, 2021

Warm

Fit well and warm. Kept me super warm while shoveling snow for at least an hour or just hanging out wearing only this under my down jacket in freezing temps. Thumb loops are helpful for gloves. The pattern on the shirt is ok... wouldnt wear it outside of winter or by itself, but it was on sale.

February 25, 2021

Great layer

Great product to use as I layer during fall and winter in montana

February 24, 2021

Perfect mid weight

Great for cooler days to wear casually and perfect for a single layer under my coat on a warmer ski day

February 24, 2021

Lightweight base layer

Love the light blue color on the sleeves and pattern on the front. Ive worn as a base layer for cold weather workouts as well as underneath my tee shirts for casual wear. Washes great & I air dry it. Comfortable fit but not tight.

February 24, 2021

Cute and Functional

Fits perfectly around my curves.

February 23, 2021

Perfect for backcountry skiing

This was the ideal layer for skiing uphill in warm temps (~30-40s). It kept me warm despite being in the shade, but also cool enough to keep from sweating so that I could throw on a midlayer and shell for the ski down. Plenty of room in the arms/shoulders for movement and a longer cut that's practical for skiing if not exactly flattering with ... Read Morejeans.

February 13, 2021

Comfortable!

Medium warmth. Great for skiing and sledding!

February 8, 2021

Warm & Comfortable

Staying close to home these days during COVID & a cold Michigan winter. I bought this as a layering piece to stay warm on daily walks & even indoors (I tend to be cold much of the time). This has been perfect - warm, light, very comfortable. Some days I wear it under a thick sweater; others I wear it as a shirt with a wool vest popped over ... Read Moreit.

February 7, 2021

Job Well Done!

This shirt does what its intended to do. For outdoor fitness in the cold it wicks moisture, dumps heat and dries quickly. The initial texture of the fabric took a little getting used to the first 20 minuts, but once you are training outside and witness its performance you become grateful that Patagonia has such well thought out gear. It has literal... Read Morely allowed me to do an indoors spoort outdoors during quarantine.

February 6, 2021

Warm base layer!

This is the first time I have tried this type of base layer and I am delighted that it keeps me warm! I sized up because of the description and I am glad I did. I wear it hiking in the winter under many layers and this morning I wore it running at the beach at dawn. If it was still clean, I would wear it to work under my clothes. It seems like I am... Read More always cold so I am delighted to find something that keeps me cozy outside or inside. I just bought another one this week so I can wear one outside and the other one at work. It is very useful!!

February 1, 2021

The absolute best midlayer I've found!!

I have been searching for the perfect mid-weight layer that keeps me warm, but not hot, wicks away my sweat and stays relatively dry during a long run (10+ mi). This is the magical shirt! I sweat a lot during my runs, and this shirt keeps the sweat off my skin which helps me not freezing my tail off once I've stopped running. In fact, the othe... Read Morer day I wore it on a snowy trail run. I slipped off a log and fell in the water, but lucky for me this shirt while it did get wet of course (i fell in a freaking river), it was fairly quick to dry and helped my core temp not get too cold before I could run the 2 miles back to the car. Thank you Patagonia for saving me!! Truly, I think you saved me from getting dangerously close to hypothermia. Maybe I'm being dramatic, but I'd prefer not to find out how I'd fare without this layer!

January 28, 2021

Surprisingly warm!

Very interesting material- wasnt sure how I felt about it. Seems thin. BUT whoa!!! Totally works! I use it as a base layer along with a mid (with outside temp range 10-30 degrees) and found myself sweating. After removing my mid, I expected to be slightly cold but it dried very quickly so it was a non-issue. I absolutely love it!

January 18, 2021

Just what I was looking for!

This makes long walks at the dog park much more comfortable.

January 18, 2021

Best layering shirt ever!

I now own 3 of these shirts. They are the best for layering to help keep you warm, but not too hot!! I LOVE them!

January 16, 2021

A Perfect Winter Base

I bought this shirt to wear for running and as a base layer for casual/work winter outfits. This shirt does a marvelous job of keeping me warm but comfortably ventilated. It is very fitted (moreso than the Thermal Weight Crew) so it layers very well. The seams are comfortable and flattering and I feel able to move around freely, regardless of the a... Read Morectivity. l like that the shirt doesn't look too casual or sporty, so it's not super obvious I am halfway dressed for a run at work. I am 5'9 and 135 lbs and the XS fit perfectly snug. My arms are too long to use the thumb loops, but I also appreciate that I don't need to fold back a giant portion of sleeve to see my watch the way I do on other running shirts with thumb-caps. My only complaint is the giant tag--I would ask the design team to work on minimizing it or making it easy to remove the tag in future iterations of this shirt. I would definitely recommend this shirt to others and I will definitely buy more.

January 14, 2021

Favorite shirt!

I have 3 of these capilene shirts. They are my favorite. Warm alone. Thin enough to layer up.

January 11, 2021

I would not recommend

I find this top to be extremely uncomfortable. It is something in the actual material and the seams. I had to take this off after 2 hours of wearing. Ugh never again do I want this shirt against my skin. I do not find it comfortable or good for movement.

December 31, 2020

Another favorite!

My first Capilene®Midweight but another favorite to add to my closet. Fits great, looks and feels good.

December 30, 2020

Fantastic fit

Great fit. Very comfortable!

December 30, 2020

Perfect

This was a gift for my daughter in law size small She loved it!

December 28, 2020

Best Base Layer!

We are spending a ton of time outside - and these shirts are keeping me super warm under my sweaters. I am so grateful - my core is never cold.

December 22, 2020

Fits perfectly excellent base layer

I wore it for the first time last week and loved the sizing, the fact that it didn't smell horrid after my workout, and it was an excellent base layer so I was warm on a super cold day. I'm short but busty so I require the length to be ample enough and this shirt is great. I love the thumb holes too, this will definitely serve as a great ... Read Morecool weather running top. I have about 2 Patagonia base layers in wool, and two in capilene same size, but this one is much better fitting then the other cap products I own. I purchased one for my daughter for Christmas, excited to give it to her for her next adventure.

December 19, 2020

All good except tight under arm pits

Great shirt. Arm length and torso length are great but it runs small under the arm pits

November 30, 2020

Perfect Base Layer for Walking

I love the color and fit. I felt warmer with just the base layer on. I did return the top, because I wanted matching bottoms that were no longer available after I received the top.

November 25, 2020

Warm, but disappointing fit :(

I was really excited to purchase this shirt after reading multiple positive reviews...and I didn't see that it was listed as a "slim fit". The inside texture feels weird, the sleeves are too long, and the thumb holes are ridiculously large. PLEASE make this shirt in a "regular fit" as well! I'm so tired of spending my ... Read Morehard earned money on outdoor gear that is mostly tailored to skinny women! From reading other reviews on other Patagonia items, this seems to be a common theme. I love this brand and everything it stands for, but please be more mindful of various body types & kinds of fit going forward.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2020

Hi Paula, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of the crew neck. With that said, our base layers typically feature a slim fit so that its easier to layer over the top of them. Nevertheless, we understand that this isn't the best fit for everyone and we really appreciate this feedback. We're going to pass this along to our design crew. Also, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 24, 2020

Lightweight but cozy

I love this top alone for a chilly run or a fall hike. Its also a great base layer for winter hiking. The shirt is lightweight, but traps heat well. The navy color is also very vibrant and pretty. In a perfect world, the sleeves would be a bit longer, but I definitely plan on buying this top in other colors.

November 19, 2020

So comfortable

I wear these all day in the wintertime with the matching bottoms and they are perfect for staying warm and not sweating or being uncomfortable because of the fit under jeans.

November 3, 2020

Smart purchase

This is great base wear. Not sweater like, but warm like a sweater. I wear them under my scrubs and actually stay toasty. Will be perfect under ski gear. They are thinner than other base layers but warmer

October 8, 2020

scratchy

Warm and stays dry but scratchy next to the skin. Disappointing, from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

We appreciate your feedback on the midweight capilene, Karen! Your purchase is absolutely covered under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) so please don't hesitate to reach out to us to return it.

June 17, 2020

Beautiful shirt

I have not worn this yet, since it hasn't been cold enough, but I'm sure I'll love it when I do. It's a beautiful shirt and can be worn as a layer or by itself (it's too beautiful to hide as a layer under clothes).

June 17, 2020

Great shirt

This is a great shirt, true to size, and the green color is beautiful.

May 1, 2020

Great Midweight Baselayer

The Capilene Midweight Crew Neck Shirt is a great single layer in cold weather or baselayer for very cold weather. It's comfortable, durable, and offers just the right amount of warmth. Also, it can be worn several times before needing to be washed.

April 9, 2020

Perfect all around under top

This top is great, goes well with the matching bottoms. Lightweight and breathable, but also keeps you warm. I wear this under my work gear, anytime Im outside during the winter, running, doing yoga, basically always. Its great.

March 12, 2020

Its perfect!

I live in the midwest, and am always cold. I bought this as a base layer for snowshoeing, but have been wearing it almost daily under my Patagonia fleece. My only complaint is that the arms are too long. I have long arms, and end up rolling the sleeves up 2 inches so they dont stick out of my cuffs. I will definitely be purchasing more of these!

February 24, 2020

Perfect as a baselayer or standalone layer!

I used this baselayer for x-country skiing in Colorado. The temperature was about 37F and it felt so warm that it worked as a standalone layer for the uphill. Very nice piece of clothing to layer up, for example with an R1. I also like that it is long enough in the back. I bought two of them, my favorite baselayers now. Keep the bright colors comin... Read Moreg!

January 9, 2020

Loved this midweight layer

I have some older Patagonia midweight crew shirts but they are really scratchy and not very nice against the skin. This shirt was awesome. Super soft and comfortable against the skin. It was a great base layer for a cold Colorado backcountry ski day, so plenty warm. Also seemed to stay dry even though I was working hard uphill. I am going to order ... Read Moremore because most of my base layer shirts are 20+ years old and falling apart. But I still use them because they are soft. I wish I could trade in my old scratchy Capilene shirts, which I never wear because they are scratchy!

December 31, 2019

Perfect crew for trail running at altitude

I bought this crew for trail running (fall-winter-spring) at altitude in California, and have really been pleased with it so far. For 45 ºF - 60 ºF, it's great on its own. It definitely keeps you warm even when the sun goes down! When temps dip below 45 ºF, I do find I need another layer, but that's to be expected. I've taken some t... Read Moreumbles on the trails, and its encountered some thorns and brambles, but even after regular 20-mile runs, it's still looking (and smelling!) new. Great job wicking away sweat, and despite weekly long runs in it, I haven't had any issues with chafing yet. Ladies who lift or rock climb should probably size up to get more room/freedom of movement in the shoulders/arms. I'm 5'7", 135 lbs, and based on my measurements should be a small. I went with a medium, and it fits just right for a climber's upper body.

December 30, 2019

Will Buy Again

The medium fits great. Love the thumb slips to keep my sleeves from riding up when putting on another layer. Great for hiking outdoors in the cold. Will be using for an upcoming ski trip!

December 24, 2019

It’s soft, comfortable n keeps

It’s soft, comfortable n keeps the warmth in.

December 19, 2019

Awesome multi-season layer

For running in 35 to 60 degrees, this is the top! It's a layer, but functions well on it's own. I love all Patagonia Capilene and would live in it every day all day if I could. As a yoga instructor, I practice 90 minutes every day, and I can easily wear this for my morning practice, and then later on a run or under a sweater. It wicks moi... Read Moresture better than any top I've ever worn and hangs to dry easily, without retaining odor (yay, minimal washing!). This is perfect for all my favorite activities - yoga, running, rock climbing, skiing, white water kayaking, and even layers nicely under a sweater. I am almost 5'4" 122 pounds, and wear a AA or XS bra, and the XS was the perfect fit, not too tight in the shoulders and great arm length. I will but this again and again and love the beautiful Piki Green color!

December 13, 2019

Excellent colors

Great for a college guy

December 10, 2019

A Must-Have Item

I swear by the Capilene Mid-Weight Crew for winter running and cross country skiing. On a 20 degree day, all I need is this as a base layer and the Houdini Jacket to block the wind and I am all set. The top is sweat wicking so it doesn't get you wet, and thus colder. I like the version of the shirt I have from 2015, it's a bit thicker, bu... Read Moret they are both great.

December 7, 2019

An essential baselayer gets better

Now more breathable and comfortable for high output activities, the capilene midweight crew has long been my preferred baselayer for mountain biking, alpine skiing and snowboarding, hiking running and kayaking. Layered over a lightweight Capilene and under a shell, vest or drysuit, the midweight crew gets used all winter as well as the shoulder sea... Read Moresons.

December 1, 2019

capilene midnight crew

its lightweight and warm...i wear over a shirt to provide me extra warmth. Would have preferred solid color and a better color palette to choose from.

November 22, 2019

Awesome layer for patrolling

Awesome layer for patrolling

November 20, 2019

Love love love

Love love love

November 18, 2019

Great multi-use purchase

I bought this for a hiking trip and never wanted to take it off! The shirt is a comfortable material, great and flattering fit (not too snug but not too big), lightweight and easily layered. I really like the thumb hoops at the ends of the sleeves to keep the shirt from moving when layering.

November 16, 2019

Really no stink

I literally wore this several days in a row and was amazed that it didn't stink. Trying it out next on an overseas trip.

November 6, 2019

Love the Capilene Crew!

This is so warm and perfect for my daily hikes in the fall. Can’t wait to wear it cross country skiing. I purchased the icefall - big blue sky in a medium. Great color and fit!

October 27, 2019

Comfortable and stylish

I love this layer! It is warm but breathable. Gorgeous vibrant colors too!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches