Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Midweight Bottoms

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 59 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Midweight Bottoms

4.5/5
Kinda Large
August 7, 2021

Really good

Exceptional quality. Expensive but worth every cent. Use it for fishing the Amazon. A little large but it is the only brand I will ever use.

June 28, 2021

Perfect weight for warm and comfort

The weight of this material is perfect for most cold weather activities. Keeps me warm but not too warm and stays comfortable even if the temperature swings a little high in the middle of the day.

June 7, 2021

Not "butter soft" like they were a couple years ago :-(

Since I basically live in these as my pajamas during pandemic, I recently purchased another pair. Unfortunately, they do not have the "butter soft" feel that my pair from a couple years ago has. I'm not returning them, but I'm disappointed. :-(

May 16, 2021

Great Fabric Update

I replaced a couple aging pairs of midweight Capilene bottoms with new midweight offerings. Thus far, I feel the new bottoms are a step above the previous product. The material has changed to the newer diamond-shaped pattern and the waistband is now that of the Sender Boxer Briefs (a MUCH needed improvement). I haven't worn the bottoms in cold... Read Moreer weather just yet, but I reckon them to be as warm or a shade warmer than my old ones. The newer bottoms fit just as the others did (I'm a medium in both), but these appear to be a wee bit looser in fit. Overall, I'm extremely pleased with the newer product. They're very comfortable, do a great job of wicking moisture and managing stink. I also have a midweight top in the newer fabric and all the above holds true for it as well.

May 14, 2021

Extreme comfort

Hard to find a better first layer for any activity, from lounging around the house to wading in rivers with slippery, wet rocks!

May 8, 2021

Perfect weight

Just right for running in cool and/or breezy conditions, or under and outer layer in the winter. Good fit and well made. They seem like they will hold up well.

May 7, 2021

My Go-To Long Underwear Bottoms. . .

It took 15 years of hard use for my first pair to finally need replacing. These get worn in the cold season for everyday use, work, backcountry snowboarding and as my base layer when kayaking/rafting in my drysuit. Great product!

April 28, 2021

Generic Fit

I bought these to replace an older pair that was getting some holes from years of abuse. The newer fabric seems more durable, but still comfortable. My main issue with the newer model is that Patagonia seems to have gone to a more "generic" fit than in the past, with a higher rise and shorter legs. This design change was probably a busine... Read Moress decision to make their product more marketable, but it's annoying for us tall skinny folks with long legs. The "higher rise" really means a lower crotch, which translates to a limited range of motion in the legs. The fit isn't a deal-breaker, but just be aware that they'll probably ride up your calves a bit when taking big steps or sitting down.

April 5, 2021

A Little Too Big

Purchased Men's Capilene Midweight Bottoms in size Large ~10 years ago and loved the fit. These new ones are a little too baggy and I would like them to be more athletic fitting for a base layer.

April 5, 2021

Kept me comfortable and pleasantly warm to wear all day

MY original sets of capilene base layers (Manufactured in Ventura, CA) have been slowly wearing out. (Especially since moving to the PNW in 2016) I wear the bottoms continuously thru the Fall and into the late Spring.) I have purchased these as a replacement for these original sets. They have proven to be both comfortable and very durable. I expect... Read More these newer sets to be just as comfortable and durable.

March 7, 2021

Perfect Base layer

This is the perfect base layer from 30-50

February 21, 2021

Super warm

We had frigid weather (in the negative wind chills) in Northern Michigan and this was absolutely perfect to wear. 100% recommend this to anyone.

February 20, 2021

Warm, functional, updated

The pair of Capilene Midweight Bottoms that I purchased was through a Patagonia sale 2 years ago. They are size M and I am 6"0', currently 160 lbs. These fit perfectly right now, but they were quite tight when I was 180 lbs. 2 years ago. The fit was slightly small, but it appears that has been adjusted in the newer rendition of this layer... Read More. I also, notice a slightly scratchy feel that is not as soft and stretchy as other Capilene I own, but I see that too may have been adjusted in newer styles. Mine had a waffle grid pattern, and I see that there is more of a diamond pattern in the current photos. It looks softer just from the pictures, ha! That being said, I love this layer. They are suitable for me for now, and being on sale they were a steal. They keep me warm on cold morning hikes, and runs, as well as late night climbs and at camp. They've only ever really been too warm rather than the other way around! Not a bad problem to have. Would purchase again!

February 12, 2021

Solid product as always

I have been wearing some form of these capilene long underwear for almost three decades and they never cease to amaze me.

January 18, 2021

A little baggy in the legs.

Waist and length were perfect size. Legs seemed a little baggy. I realize I ordered XL but it seems like gear use to be a bit more athletic in trim? Just me. Been wearing Pgonia gear since the first catalogue came out in the 70's.

January 4, 2021

A must for Alaska!

Comes in very handy here in Alaska. In the Winter I wear them everyday and in the Summer wear them on cold fishing days. Very comfortable.

December 25, 2020

Very comfortable

The bottoms are warm and very comfortable. They are perfect to wear when hiking, hunting and angling.

December 11, 2020

Warm and comfortable!!

This underlayer are fantastic. They are warm, comfortable, and breathable. I use them in below 30 degrees fahrenheit temperatures and they perform great. I will be buying another pair in the future.

November 27, 2020

Very light and comfortable

Amazing fabric. Use as casual wear, it has warmth, easy care. Love this bottom . Patagonia makes great products.

November 23, 2020

Great Materials, Baggy Fit

I got size small and medium to try out, and found that the waist and leg lengths of the medium fit perfectly. However, the long underwear was not form fitting at all in the calves and thighs, which is what I had been looking for. If patagonia made mens long underwear out of this material, that was form-fitting, I would wear it in a heartbeat.

November 22, 2020

Good quality however fits larger than previous.

I have purchased this product over the years. The most recent pair was much larger than previous - I have no idea what occurred to result in Patagonia changing the size? As always, quality is excellent.

November 16, 2020

Comfort Warm

Usually we migrate south during the winter time, but 2020 is just such an abnormal year. We decided to stay put and the base layer is just what the mister needs to get by. Love at the first sight and will buy couple more pairs for alternation.

November 10, 2020

Comfortable and warm!

This pair of pants does wonders to keep you warm, without being too clingy!

November 10, 2020

Little loose

The waist fits just right but the rest of it is loose. Doesnt fit like the picture.

October 30, 2020

Warm and comfortable

Ive been pretty much living in these since I got them. They function as great to hang around the house as they do as liners under your hiking pants. The midweight is perfect for the Seattle area in the fall and winter. I am 63 220lbs, athletic thighs and the large size was on the money.

June 25, 2020

Capilene® Midweight Bottoms

Simply, the best. The waist band of previous versions of this product have kept its integrity over time. The location and functionality of the "relief opening" (for men) is perfect, thank you.

June 8, 2020

Great quality, dries very slowly

I am a commercial fisherman in Alaska and I bought the mid-weight pants and the half zip top. The items were very comfortable and the material felt really nice, but moisture was a huge problem. The garments seemed to soak up most of the moisture, which did leave me fairly dry but the items were SOAKED. It would take 24 hours on average for the item... Read Mores to dry even hanging in the engine room leaving me without base layers to wear.. honestly would not buy again, another crewmember had a cheap pair and they outperformed patagonia

April 1, 2020

Waist band rolls up - Thigh area very loose

Alpine Patroller - Trying to return this base layer. By the end of a shift the waist band is rolled up and does not hold base layer up. Other brand offered to Pro Alpine Patrollers does not have this issue. Lays flat for full shift - very stable. Separately, the thigh area of this base layer is very loose. This creates a bunching of fabric that is ... Read Moreuncomfortable. I am 205lb 6ft 1in.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Greg. Thank you for the product feedback! We are sorry to hear that the fit on your Capilene® Midweight Bottoms is not quite right. We would be happy to assist you with a [Return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Our [Capilene® Air Bottoms](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-capilene-air-bottoms/36555.html?dwvar_36555_color=BLK) might be better suited for your needs.

January 24, 2020

Please bring back the one-peice suit!

I do love these bottoms. But the do not compare to the Patagonia Capilene Thermal Weight One-Piece Suit. I would do anything to get another!!! Please re manufacturer the one piece! I’ll buy three this time!

January 1, 2020

High quality as usual

High quality as usual

December 31, 2019

Always 5 Star

Perfect!

December 30, 2019

Great Gift

My son loved receiving these for his birthday, as a long lasting option for his outdoor activities, which include rock climbing and backcountry skiing at this time of year.

December 30, 2019

Bottoms

Good for warmth

December 20, 2019

Best product ever

Best product ever

December 18, 2019

Hoping for another 20 yrs

The last set of midweights I purchased was in 2000 and they are still kicking w/ a few holes and tears along the way. My new set is super comfortable and have served me well to kick off winter here in Maine.

December 16, 2019

After a month or so

I wear these long underwear every day for work, doing construction. They don't itch or bunch at all, I can't tell I have them on (except that my legs stay warm). It hasn't gotten very cold yet, daytime highs in the 20's or above. I have a very low body fat index, so I need all the help I can get! I'll be interested to see ... Read Morehow long the knees hold, since I kneel on the right (and wear holes in my pants there). I love the feel of these, though, and appreciate Patagonia's priorities and way of running their business. That, and the fact that I expect these will last, justified the price.

December 13, 2019

Just the very best and

Just the very best and warm too. Dale

December 8, 2019

Good but pricey

I bought these to replace a pair that has lasted for years. Great quality and comfort.

December 7, 2019

Capilene® Midweight Bottoms

This is a great product to serve as a light weight liner when seeking to add some warmth and comfort in fall and winter.

December 3, 2019

Still the best!

Have worn PATAGONIA products for a good forty years and they just keep getting better and better!

December 1, 2019

Midweight sizing

I like the quality and overall weight of the midweight bottoms, but they seem a tad big for mediums. Not a big deal, just different from previous sizing

November 27, 2019

Runs big

These are very warm but they run bigger than I thought. I'm 6'1", 175lb and the medium is too long and too big. Very comfortable and still keeping me very warm this cold Fall.

November 27, 2019

Excellent Product

Perfect fit without “bunching”. Very comfortable.

November 27, 2019

Excellance pants keep me warm.

It might not be the attic, but it gets cold supervising a crew in site at 20 degrees. These pants are perfect. They keep me warm without the need for bulky, clothing.

November 26, 2019

Best gear bar none

Best gear bar none

November 26, 2019

Warm

Excellent product

November 22, 2019

Like!

Like!

November 20, 2019

Well made. Fits true to

Well made. Fits true to size. Warm and comfortable.

November 14, 2019

Camouflage perfection

Fit, materials and cool camouflaged perfection!

November 13, 2019

As good as always

These are just fine. They’re long underwear that work as you want and expect. I use them for skiing, but I suspect they’d work for anything.

November 5, 2019

Breathable and warm

Nice fit not to tight nor to lose, love the camo print will definitely be buying more to stay warm this season.

November 5, 2019

Thinner material than previous.

Thinner material than previous.

November 4, 2019

Proper fit and great fabric

At 6'3" it is nice to order a garment that has the proper length legs. Patagonia sizing chart is accurate.

October 31, 2019

Ms Capilene Midweight Bottoms

Overall a well made, comfortable base layer. Outer clothes slide over the material with ease. Don't feel a tugging sensation on knees and the comfort and warmth is top notch. Only reason for the 4 stars is in the product description it claims to have a locker loop for hang drying and the sage khaki didnt come with that feature. It doesn't... Read More change the functionality and I'll be keeping them.

October 31, 2019

Breathability with moderate warmth

Do what they're supposed to. A bit of warmth (with softshells good down to the 20s, wouldn't use above 45) and very breathable. Haven't done a multi day yet to figure out stink factor. Felt a bit in between sizes, especially with length.

October 28, 2019

I gave product to son,

I gave product to son, so I don't know how the fit is yet

October 26, 2019

Perfect

The fit is good. Comfortable and warm. Only used them hanging around a camp site in upstate New York so far... good addition to the layering process. Looking forward to ski season.

October 25, 2019

Have not found any better.

These are the best med base layers.

October 12, 2019

A staple, but why such sizing weirdness?

Oh Capilene baselayers! We have done much together. Slogging up the snowy hills, Alpinerring for the Steep, icy, thrills. When running in the Cold, They Comfortably ride where told. Nary a pill or a tear, just softening withe the wear.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches