Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Midweight Bottoms

Write Your Review

4.37 /5

Filter Reviews

All 19 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Midweight Bottoms

4.37
True To Size
June 17, 2020

Lightweight Bottoms

Super comfortable. These were looser than I expected, and hit above the ankle on me (I'm 5'10''). Great print

April 9, 2020

Not-your-dads long underwear from the 80s

A new personal favorite, lightweight and breathable, perfect for under my gear at work or for any snow activity year round. Fit really well, perfect amount of stretch.

February 29, 2020

Perfect for the coldest conditions!

I recently traveled to Antarctica during its Spring season and ordered a bunch of new Patagonia gear to test. I have to say, the quality and comfort couldn't be better. Especially these Capilene® Midweight Bottoms! They kept me warm and dry. From trekking with penguins and seals, to hiking icy/snowy mountains. True to size (I ordered a M), for... Read More reference, I'm 135#, 5'4', and curvy.

January 15, 2020

unbelievable comfortable

I have been wearing Patagonia for 30+ years. I love my midweight bottoms. I weighed 110, athletic fit with big calves and small waist I wear xs and it fits perfect, more on the loser side which I like. I am going to purchase 2 more pairs! These are great under the nano air pants too! :)

January 5, 2020

Very little stretch. Maybe good

Very little stretch. Maybe good for walking around but not great for anything sporty.

December 31, 2019

comfortable and of course well made

Although I still have my 25-year-old capilene in my drawer, I decided to try the new version. They are very comfortable and unobtrusive under outerwear.

December 30, 2019

Soft and stylish

I bought several of the tops and bottoms for my 12-year-old daughter who will be an exchange student in Quebec this winter. They are well-made, soft and cozy, and the cool designs make them feel more like yoga pants than long underwear. She loves them! She is 5‘4“ and 115 pounds, the extra small fit her well.

December 30, 2019

Just What I Wanted

The bottoms fit perfectly. I am 5'4 with an athletic build and the mediums fit perfectly. I wear them under my pants for work out in the field. I am excited to try them for an upcoming ski trip.

December 29, 2019

Super comfy

I love these pants! They're incredibly comfortable and provides me that extra layer I was looking for.

December 26, 2019

Runs large

Thanks Zack at The Reno Center for helping me swap the size, as these run one size bigger than my other Patagonia pants. I got them today and can test them out before my Oregon trip next week to see if they will help keep me warmer.

December 10, 2019

Too stiff

The pants are short, not even reaching the top of my ankle and the material did not have enough elasticity making them tight in the knees when I bent them.

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

We are sorry to hear that the fit didn't work out for you in these and we thank you for providing that feedback. Please know, your satisfaction is guaranteed and if you decide you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) those back, we'd be happy to offer a credit.

December 7, 2019

Even better!

Now more breathable for high output activities, the Capilene midweight bottoms have been a winter essential because they provide warmth without bulk under shell pants, drysuit or even hiking or casual pants on cold days. I like the midweight for most of my winter adventures alpine skiing and snowboarding, backcountry skiing, whitewater kayaking and... Read More hiking.

November 18, 2019

Perfect Baselayer

I bought two of the midnight bottoms and love them. They are super comfortable, wash well and dry fast.

November 7, 2019

Warm but loose fitting

I finally got my first pair of base layer bottoms. I own the Thermal weight tops (love!) but went with Midweight for bottomsbecause I wanted a thinner pant to fit under nordic ski pants/tights. These Midweight bottoms are awesome for warmth. I think if I had bought the Thermal weight bottoms, they would have been too thick and too warm. Maybe great... Read More to have as a single layer pant to wear while hiking or camping in fall/winter/early spring. I have used my Midweight bottoms for running at night in 30-40 degree weather, and have used them to sleep at night while camping in 20 degrees. Stayed warm! Why have I waited this long to invest in a pair?! They also fit well under skinny jeans. I have even worn them to work under a quilted skirt. So versatile! Will probably invest in a second pair! My only gripe is they are slightly loose on me - but I am tiny. 5'1 and 95 lbs and wearing the XXS size. So while they do not fit like yoga leggings, they definitely still fit like tights. Just slightly looser but could just be me!

November 4, 2019

True to size and great

True to size and great under layer

October 31, 2019

Next Level

Okay, these may be one of the comfiest things I've ever worn for a base layer. Or maybe even any layer. I have worn these twice now for walking across campus in below zero weather and they have surpassed my expectations. With only one other layer on top of them, I was exactly where I needed to be for warmth. I can see myself wearing these camp... Read Moreing, hiking, skiing, really anything. It's awesome to not feel the instant reaction of peeling off a base layer after a day in chilly weather. I liked the waistband a lot too, it didn't squeeze me too tight and it's a nice size band.

October 30, 2019

Not Stretchy Enough

I had to return my xs Capilene bottoms because they were not stretchy enough to wear skiing under my nordic and alpine pants. They were also quite short - only hit the upper ankle. I have a pair of Capilene that are 20 years old and I am sad to say these new ones just don't measure up!

October 29, 2019

Great fit and fabric

I have worn Patagonia bottom base layers for so long, I wasn't even sure what weight they were. The two pair I have must be 12 or more years old, but they are finally showing some wear (I wear them every weekend in the winter!), so I bought a new pair of midweight capilene bottoms. I was thinking maybe these were too heavy for backcountry skii... Read Moreng, but they are a similar weight to my old ones. The fabric is very soft and the fit is perfect, maybe a little closer fit than the old ones. The seams are smooth and I'm looking forward to wearing them skiing.

October 16, 2019

Underwear? Outerwear? You decide....

All this talk of whether leggings can be worn as pants and then, Patagonia gives the world these...I ordered the Arctic Ox print in Navy with the plan to just replace the previous version of midweight baselayers I had that had basically worn out after many, many years. So, intended purpose: baselayers for all things outside and cold. Where I am act... Read Moreually wearing them: Everywhere. It turns out if you throw some kind of tunic or sweater over them and then finish off with a pair of boots you are actually dressed. I've worn them working (even in the office, although I do work in a generally casual setting), hiking, momming, sleeping, sports spectatoring, travelling and camping. They only stretch out a tiny bit--which is a (good) change from the old, old styles. And, I have to add, they are really cute. Compliments on the regular. I am 5'7" and 140 lbs with muscular legs; the Medium are a good fit. Breathable, comfortable, versatile and cute....Win!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches