Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Capilene? Cool Merino Shirt

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 60 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Capilene? Cool Merino Shirt

4.7/5
Kinda Small
April 30, 2022

Way too short in torso and arms

Awesome fabric, super comfortable and love the concept. I would have 3 or 4 if they fit. Unfortunately its way too short in the torso - barely covers belt loops, no chance of tucking it in - and the arms are also too short, the sleeves ride up above my wrist. So, sadly, its functionally limited to leisurely walks around town. I'm 6'2&quot... Read More; and wear medium in all things Patagonia. Large would be too big.

April 19, 2022

Best ever

A true must-have! Great base layer or as a casual top. I wear these near daily.

April 4, 2022

Super light and warm

Received the merino wool shirt. Heard so much about the hype and theyre all true. The shirt is fantastic at wicking moisture as I never felt clammy when I was snowboarding. Kept me feeling dry and warm. Its light enough to be worn just under my jacket. I suggested to many others to try this shirt as compares to other base layers. Love it.

March 12, 2022

Soft and not too hot

Great shirt. Thin and breathes well. Protects me from the sun during the 70 degree winter days we've had in California this season. Perfect for low 70's rounds on the golf course as well as hiking. Good all round long sleeve. Only complaint is the tag down the left side at my waist. Had to cut it off. Way too much tag for such a thin sh... Read Moreirt. Keep making them. Add the hoody version and we'd be dreamin'

February 8, 2022

Super comfortable but also very delicate

Really comfortable long sleeve perfect for runs in mid 40s to mid 50s temperature - but also very delicate and easily prone to getting holes in the washer and should be hand washed. I'm on my second shirt.

February 8, 2022

Great Winter Base Layer

This shirt is a great winter hiking base layer.

February 1, 2022

Great Customer Service

Yes yes the shirt is great, but what is even better is the customer service I got at the store when I went to exchange the shirt for a better color. The clerk went overboard to find me the right color.

January 17, 2022

Great for cross country skiing

This under layer stays warm and dry during skiing.

January 14, 2022

Wonderful shirt / baselayer combo

Really loving the feel and cut of this shirt. It works well as a lightweight shirt in the summer or base layer for active winter pursuits. Please keep merino in the lineup Patagonia!

December 29, 2021

Wear it all the time

I love this garment and wear it all the top me. Fits great, very comfortable.

December 26, 2021

All conditions comfort

You have to love the easy way this sweater wears; for all situations merino wool is the best in terms of flexibility: for everyday casual, a hike, walk the critters, or a fast ride to do errands. From the 40s to the 'Teens it is great for all conditions. Dinner with family, crunching through leaves, or zipping through chilly city traffic it is... Read More the simply the best

December 25, 2021

Soft

Fits perfectly, feels great.

December 21, 2021

Nice but a bit fragile

Sizing is same to the Lightweight Caps, slim yet has space to breath. A bit warmer than Cool Daily, Tho I still wear it on a sunny day but not that it was design for. It would be a great piece for layering while hiking, climbing etc. You can wear it on its on and still be warm (ok warm). The only gripe is the fabric easily pulled, I got few on the ... Read Morefirst day wearing it from carrying my daughter around town. Other than that its a nice shirt.

December 13, 2021

soft, warm, thin, breathable

Like it. Wear it as a base layer and by itself. Looks good and feels good. Wish it were slightly more fitted to an athletic build but it's not overly baggy around the mid-section which is my most common complaint.

November 22, 2021

had high hopes..

I had high hopesI have an older version of the merino wool Capilene shirt that I absolutely love and reached out to customer service, this was the recommended replacement. The material appears to be very similar, the fit is way off. I simply dont understand why sizing drastically changes. As a long time Patagonia customer this frustrates me. The sl... Read Moreeeves on this one are significantly longer to the point I have so much material it is uncomfortable. Additionally, this runs large, I normally wear an XL and this was way too big. Love the quality and fabric, but will be returning.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2021

We're sorry to hear that this one was a disappointment. This one is a "slim" fit so it may vary greatly from our "regular" or "relaxed" fit items. Please reach out if you'd like assistance to return or exchange. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

November 11, 2021

Extra layers

Ive head this item for a limited time and cannot yet determine how it will hold up to repeated washings, hard wear and abuse thats why I can only give it 4 stars. Thus far its a good fit, Im 59 and 175lbs with, what I would describe as, an athletic build. The item fits my frame well and can effectively be used as a base layer beneath mid and outer... Read More layers. The shirt is comfortable and feels great against my skin. Ive worn it on hikes, long bicycle rides, motorcycle trips and around the office. Thus far, Ive no complaints.

November 10, 2021

Comfortable but delicate

Fantastic experience. Great service! The shirt itself is a little bit thinner and more delicate than I expected. Does not feel like it will hold up after a few washings, but we will see.

Response from Patagonia
November 17, 2021

Thank you for your feed back on the Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Merino Shirt. If it does fall apart on you after a few washings, please do not hesitate to reach out to us!

November 9, 2021

Great as an outer layer

I wear this shirt indoors in winter and a bit outdoors as an outer layer over colored undershirts. I have a similar yellow mango-colored long sleeve shirt that I wear for sun protection in the summer. I am 5'10" and relatively fit (no extra belly weight). Two reasons I bought size Large, which is a loose fit for me: [1] Medium is the rig... Read Moreht size for me and the size guide is accurate. HOWEVER medium is slightly tight for me when worn as an outer layer over undershirts. [2] If I wear this shirt as one layer without an undershirt, the thin light-colored fabric shows nipples, which my wife declared is not a good look for me as a man. (Although I think would be a lovely natural look for a woman.)

November 9, 2021

So Damn Cozy!

This is an incredible top that works from adventure sports to lounging around the house. The fabric is so soft against the skin and extremely lightweight. It is a bit see through as an FYI, if that matters to you but the function of this piece is top notch. I've worn it mountain biking many times and it's shown to be more durable than I i... Read Moremagined for how thin it is. This should be considered a Patagonia "Essential"!

October 27, 2021

Just get this shirt, trust me

This is the perfect shirt. I love long sleeve shirts. This one is really soft and has a bit of stretch to it. It feels great and works great in a large variety of temperatures such as 75-55 degrees. It's so comfortable and looks dang awesome.

October 23, 2021

Nice product so far

Very happy with this layer so far. Most merino layers are rather itchy in my experience, so far so good with this one, its very soft. Would like to see more colors, such as white or off white be made available.

September 12, 2021

Size up

Since its a slim fit and tends to shrink in the dryer, consider sizing up. Wonderful shirt with amazing attention to details. Bring more colors please

September 6, 2021

Perfect

Amazing fit. Feels and looks great. Do know at the right angles you can somewhat see through the shirt, and your nips will be present.

September 4, 2021

Make more of these!!!

Love this shirt!!!!

August 20, 2021

Great Shirt, Drying Cord needs revision - breaks after wash

I love these shirts and will keep replacing them as I wear them out. I live in Florida and can wear these on the hottest days and feel cool, and I can wear them in cool airconditioned spaces and feel very comfortable. I wear these in the ocean because they dry very quickly and keep my fair skin from burning up. Buy these, but don't expect the ... Read Morecord used to dry these shirts to hold up. They need a revision and strengthening.

August 9, 2021

Material science is top notch! Nips might say otherwise!!

First off I just wanna say I haven't had a bad product from Patagonia (yet). Lets first discuss the pros!! a) color matches University colorways and is perfect for tailgating in the cold! b) fit is loose with this line but fits my athletic bod perfectly! I would say true to size! c) use case: to hiking in cold temps! Even as a baselayer for... Read More skiing/snowboarding! b) thin but versatile I need to test it out on hot days but I see this as a fall/winter piece mostly! CONS: a) if you nip out this may not be the L/S for you! b) piling may be an issue but a special stone can be purchased to relieve this! c) great fit at the top but loose at the waist! - if you have a longer torso this would be great on you! - shorter torso may look wonky unless you have a built upper body!

July 28, 2021

Terrific!

Love these. I wear them year round. New version seems much more robustly designed than the previous version. Terrific product. Waiting for navy blue!

July 1, 2021

All Is Well Save the Sleeves

Love this shirt except for the cuffs which I can't pull up much past my wrists. They're just too tight. Maybe with a little wear (and hopefully no tear) I'll have them around my elbows, but not new, not now. I'd love this shirt forever more if you guys just did the sleeves like you did on the sun shirts (with the thumb holes!). ... Read MoreNice and loose, please. Bonus points if you make a version with 3/4er sleeves. In light blue. with feet on it.

June 25, 2021

My new favorite shirts

Have a few of these now. I normally wear a large but got a XL for a more relaxed fit. These shirt serves me as a warming layer, a layer to block the sun or something to wick sweat on hikes and climbs. Loving this new blend of wool.

June 16, 2021

Fit review only

I have a 44" chest, 34" waist, 16" biceps (relaxed), broad shoulders (50" circumference), 33" sleeves. The XL fits perfect. Good through shoulders and chest. Not tight, not baggy, but just the right amount of room so the shirt won't stick to me when I start to sweat. Sleeve length long enough to not uncover my wrist ... Read Morewith arms raised over my head. Body length long enough also. That's a fit review only. Haven't worn this outside yet. It's too hot out!

June 7, 2021

Cool in Wool

The long sleeved Capilene cool merino shirt is a perfectly balanced light weight wool layer. I recently took it on a multi day canoe excursion and it provided perfect coverage from the sun while still being comfortable enough to paddle all day. As a bonus, it dried super quickly and didn't get that awful smell that synthetic knits get after a ... Read Morefew hours of sweat. I've recommended it to quite a few people already.

June 1, 2021

Work

Awesome for work. Doesnt stink despite hard sweat. Keeps you warm when damp.

May 27, 2021

Embracing

The material is so soft and cozy that you barley know your wearing it.

May 16, 2021

The perfect sunny day shirt?

Ive been wearing my shirt now for a week and I dont want to remove it. Ive layers it under a light tee shirt to contrast the color when I go out on the town. At the beach and in the hot Florida sun, its sublime. It regulates my temperature perfectly and the cools the suns effects on the skin and it lets the right amount of breeze through. I use thi... Read Mores as a base layer for mountain biking as well and think it may be the perfect base layer in any weather. The soft feel of the fabric is unlike anything. No wonder they are selling out of each size quickly.

May 11, 2021

great fit and warmer

Great product. Had old Capilene shirt that finally gave up...pointed elbow hole in sleeve. This fits better and is warmer...will see if it can last 20+ years of use like old one.

May 8, 2021

Super lightweight

This is a perfect fit and so light I hardly feel it. Even with long sleeves it is perfect for a warm day. Holds its shape after washing. I wish they offered more colors

May 8, 2021

Great shirt for office or trail

Love the color, fit, and feel. It is a bit thin but also therefore lightweight

May 2, 2021

Perfect casual shirt. More colors?

Amazingly comfortable shirt. Dozens of Patagonia purchases for distance running, I use this more for casual wear than as a base layer. Wear with sweats around the house or with jeans out - you wont take it off. The fit is slim and perfect. Have both l/s and s/s. The short sleeve fits 1000x better than the horrible boxy, loose fit of the Road To Reg... Read Moreenerative tee (the single Patagonia purchase Ive made I would describe this way). Anyway, for the Capilene Cool Merino shirts: Perfect, More colors please!

April 28, 2021

Surprisingly nice

I bought and use this shirt for running, where it's nice to have a long sleeve when things get a bit windy and sunny. It feels more fragile but more pleasant on the skin than the Cap Cool Trail Shirt.

April 27, 2021

Great fit for the brave nip-bearer

The fit is fantastic (much unlike the wonky fit of the capilene cool daily). Very lightweight, very soft and comfortable. Nipples are fairly visible. I will show mine to the world...you couldn't pry this thing off of me.

April 27, 2021

Good material!

Bought this for a base layer. Its comfortable against the skin, keeps heat under layers, but sheds heat and moisture as a solo T. Late winter in NorCal now, so thru a day it fits a variety of functions. Im impressed!

April 26, 2021

Great feel!

Fits just right-does great with reg wash. Has a warm feel but not hot . After wearing the long sleeve version I immediately ordered the short sleeve version. Very satisfied!

April 25, 2021

Great shirt

Perfect lightweight combination of merino and synthetic; merino keeps it from stinking but it dries almost as quick as synthetics. Quickly became a goto for warmer weather as a stand alone or base layer. Love it.

April 25, 2021

Too Thin

A merino-capilene blend? The minute I got the email I bought 2. Unfortunately both colors were essentially see through and didn't hang well. Returned for another regular Capilene Cool long sleeve, which is still awesome, and not see through.

April 24, 2021

Great base layer

The material is very soft and wears well under a middle layer. Does not smell after several days and provides a good amount of warmth. I will use it to layer for an up-coming hiking trip to Iceland.

April 24, 2021

Always comfortable

Super soft material that drapes nicely. Is so comfortable that you forget you're wearing it.

April 24, 2021

Super Warm

Price?

April 24, 2021

Pretty sheer fabric

Normally I feel that Patagonia sizes run large. I am 61 170 lbs and usually find I am a Patagonia medium. This one seems a tad smallish but what you might expect in a great baselayer shirt. The fabric is quite light and clinging so it is a bit too sheer for me. Although I am fairly well built, at my age I dont think many want to see me in something... Read More so transparent . I have this same criticism of a lot of performance shirt fabrics. My favorite so far has been the Cool Trail shirts which have a cotton weight feel to them. If I like it you can probably bet it will be discontinued. Haha.

April 23, 2021

Capilene long sleeve merino wool shirt

Good moisture transfer

April 23, 2021

Literally Perfection

This is my first merino light long sleeve from patagonia and its perfect in every way. I have an outdoor voices merino long sleeve and this absolutely trumps it. Thank you patagonia for your attention to detail. Lightweight for fall and spring layer and even in the summer for under 80 temps. Bought two colors just so I could make sure I had enough

April 23, 2021

Good shirt

x

April 22, 2021

The perfect shirt doesn't ex......

I wore this shirt while hiking in the southern Utah desert for 8 miles in 80 degree, sunny weather. This shirt keeper me cool and comfortable. It's super cozy and works well as a warm base layer as well. I'm so glad Patagonia found a way to source wool from a more sustainable method in order to bring merino wool base layers back.

April 20, 2021

Warm Enough

I have a 260 Ice Breaker shirt which is nice in winter but wanted a lighter wool. The Capilene Merino is perfect for spring weather when around the house. Surprising it hold the heat really well while riding my bike,much better then my light weight Castelli wool top which I love too. The Patagonia top is the most versatile of the two.

April 14, 2021

Great Purchase

The shirt is incredibly soft and so light weight that you hardly notice it's on. My wife was so jealous she bought one for herself. It did fit a little more snug than I expected, but not enough that I wanted to size up.

April 11, 2021

Best long sleeve I own.

Super comfortable and lightweight. Love the quality and color. I hate to take it off. Money well spent. Cant wait to see how it holds up once the summer comes around. Nice added layer under a jacket and comfy in warmer spring temps with no fuss and discomfort.

April 10, 2021

Versatile

This shirt is very soft and very solid for the price point. To be 65% merino and 35% polyester, it has the full capabilities of merino wool (wicking, preventing smell, and temperature regulation) and the lightweight feel of polyester. The Sage Khaki color is slightly lighter than on the site, as well as with a little dash of jade. Depending on your... Read More height and arm length, the sleeves offer lots of coverage; for me, they stop right at the radius on my wrist. I have worn this for work, riding bikes, around town, and the shirt still has several uses before it will have to be washed.

April 10, 2021

Sheer and clingy

By clingy I mean it fit real nice.But since it was yellow and thin because it is a base layer it was showing my nipples too much but nevertheless it was not for me

April 9, 2021

Very comfortable material

Perfect long sleeve to wear anytime.

March 26, 2021

Versatile

Took a gamble and brought this as my shirt for a 7 day bikepacking trip without testing it prior. It did wonderful in a range of conditions (drizzle/windy/sunny and 30-60F) and performed nicely as a base layer when it got a little too cold/windy for it to be worn alone. This shirt is more fitted (than say the cap daily) which is great for being a... Read More base layer. It packs small and is quite light for what it provides. But with that, this is a thin material so if you run cold and/or are in conditions below 25F then youre going to need a heavier base layer. I strongly recommend the cap air in that case. Oh and no smells :) Highly recommended as a technical shirt all the way to an around the house shirt.

March 12, 2021

Lightweight & Comfortable

Purchased expecting weight similar to past season's Nine Trails long-sleeved t-shirt, but is much thinner and stays comfortable into a higher temperature range. Back to the closer fitting collar, which is personally preferred, but not noticeable as the fabric is exceptionally smooth and comfortable. Size was exactly as expected for a medium.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches