Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Merino Shirt

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 39 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Merino Shirt

4.8/5
September 12, 2021

Size up

Since its a slim fit and tends to shrink in the dryer, consider sizing up. Wonderful shirt with amazing attention to details. Bring more colors please

September 6, 2021

Perfect

Amazing fit. Feels and looks great. Do know at the right angles you can somewhat see through the shirt, and your nips will be present.

September 4, 2021

Make more of these!!!

Love this shirt!!!!

August 20, 2021

Great Shirt, Drying Cord needs revision - breaks after wash

I love these shirts and will keep replacing them as I wear them out. I live in Florida and can wear these on the hottest days and feel cool, and I can wear them in cool airconditioned spaces and feel very comfortable. I wear these in the ocean because they dry very quickly and keep my fair skin from burning up. Buy these, but don't expect the ... Read Morecord used to dry these shirts to hold up. They need a revision and strengthening.

August 9, 2021

Material science is top notch! Nips might say otherwise!!

First off I just wanna say I haven't had a bad product from Patagonia (yet). Lets first discuss the pros!! a) color matches University colorways and is perfect for tailgating in the cold! b) fit is loose with this line but fits my athletic bod perfectly! I would say true to size! c) use case: to hiking in cold temps! Even as a baselayer for... Read More skiing/snowboarding! b) thin but versatile I need to test it out on hot days but I see this as a fall/winter piece mostly! CONS: a) if you nip out this may not be the L/S for you! b) piling may be an issue but a special stone can be purchased to relieve this! c) great fit at the top but loose at the waist! - if you have a longer torso this would be great on you! - shorter torso may look wonky unless you have a built upper body!

July 28, 2021

Terrific!

Love these. I wear them year round. New version seems much more robustly designed than the previous version. Terrific product. Waiting for navy blue!

July 1, 2021

All Is Well Save the Sleeves

Love this shirt except for the cuffs which I can't pull up much past my wrists. They're just too tight. Maybe with a little wear (and hopefully no tear) I'll have them around my elbows, but not new, not now. I'd love this shirt forever more if you guys just did the sleeves like you did on the sun shirts (with the thumb holes!). ... Read MoreNice and loose, please. Bonus points if you make a version with 3/4er sleeves. In light blue. with feet on it.

June 25, 2021

My new favorite shirts

Have a few of these now. I normally wear a large but got a XL for a more relaxed fit. These shirt serves me as a warming layer, a layer to block the sun or something to wick sweat on hikes and climbs. Loving this new blend of wool.

June 16, 2021

Fit review only

I have a 44" chest, 34" waist, 16" biceps (relaxed), broad shoulders (50" circumference), 33" sleeves. The XL fits perfect. Good through shoulders and chest. Not tight, not baggy, but just the right amount of room so the shirt won't stick to me when I start to sweat. Sleeve length long enough to not uncover my wrist ... Read Morewith arms raised over my head. Body length long enough also. That's a fit review only. Haven't worn this outside yet. It's too hot out!

June 7, 2021

Cool in Wool

The long sleeved Capilene cool merino shirt is a perfectly balanced light weight wool layer. I recently took it on a multi day canoe excursion and it provided perfect coverage from the sun while still being comfortable enough to paddle all day. As a bonus, it dried super quickly and didn't get that awful smell that synthetic knits get after a ... Read Morefew hours of sweat. I've recommended it to quite a few people already.

June 1, 2021

Work

Awesome for work. Doesnt stink despite hard sweat. Keeps you warm when damp.

May 27, 2021

Embracing

The material is so soft and cozy that you barley know your wearing it.

May 16, 2021

The perfect sunny day shirt?

Ive been wearing my shirt now for a week and I dont want to remove it. Ive layers it under a light tee shirt to contrast the color when I go out on the town. At the beach and in the hot Florida sun, its sublime. It regulates my temperature perfectly and the cools the suns effects on the skin and it lets the right amount of breeze through. I use thi... Read Mores as a base layer for mountain biking as well and think it may be the perfect base layer in any weather. The soft feel of the fabric is unlike anything. No wonder they are selling out of each size quickly.

May 11, 2021

great fit and warmer

Great product. Had old Capilene shirt that finally gave up...pointed elbow hole in sleeve. This fits better and is warmer...will see if it can last 20+ years of use like old one.

May 8, 2021

Super lightweight

This is a perfect fit and so light I hardly feel it. Even with long sleeves it is perfect for a warm day. Holds its shape after washing. I wish they offered more colors

May 8, 2021

Great shirt for office or trail

Love the color, fit, and feel. It is a bit thin but also therefore lightweight

May 2, 2021

Perfect casual shirt. More colors?

Amazingly comfortable shirt. Dozens of Patagonia purchases for distance running, I use this more for casual wear than as a base layer. Wear with sweats around the house or with jeans out - you wont take it off. The fit is slim and perfect. Have both l/s and s/s. The short sleeve fits 1000x better than the horrible boxy, loose fit of the Road To Reg... Read Moreenerative tee (the single Patagonia purchase Ive made I would describe this way). Anyway, for the Capilene Cool Merino shirts: Perfect, More colors please!

April 28, 2021

Surprisingly nice

I bought and use this shirt for running, where it's nice to have a long sleeve when things get a bit windy and sunny. It feels more fragile but more pleasant on the skin than the Cap Cool Trail Shirt.

April 27, 2021

Great fit for the brave nip-bearer

The fit is fantastic (much unlike the wonky fit of the capilene cool daily). Very lightweight, very soft and comfortable. Nipples are fairly visible. I will show mine to the world...you couldn't pry this thing off of me.

April 27, 2021

Good material!

Bought this for a base layer. Its comfortable against the skin, keeps heat under layers, but sheds heat and moisture as a solo T. Late winter in NorCal now, so thru a day it fits a variety of functions. Im impressed!

April 26, 2021

Great feel!

Fits just right-does great with reg wash. Has a warm feel but not hot . After wearing the long sleeve version I immediately ordered the short sleeve version. Very satisfied!

April 25, 2021

Great shirt

Perfect lightweight combination of merino and synthetic; merino keeps it from stinking but it dries almost as quick as synthetics. Quickly became a goto for warmer weather as a stand alone or base layer. Love it.

April 25, 2021

Too Thin

A merino-capilene blend? The minute I got the email I bought 2. Unfortunately both colors were essentially see through and didn't hang well. Returned for another regular Capilene Cool long sleeve, which is still awesome, and not see through.

April 24, 2021

Great base layer

The material is very soft and wears well under a middle layer. Does not smell after several days and provides a good amount of warmth. I will use it to layer for an up-coming hiking trip to Iceland.

April 24, 2021

Always comfortable

Super soft material that drapes nicely. Is so comfortable that you forget you're wearing it.

April 24, 2021

Super Warm

Price?

April 24, 2021

Pretty sheer fabric

Normally I feel that Patagonia sizes run large. I am 61 170 lbs and usually find I am a Patagonia medium. This one seems a tad smallish but what you might expect in a great baselayer shirt. The fabric is quite light and clinging so it is a bit too sheer for me. Although I am fairly well built, at my age I dont think many want to see me in something... Read More so transparent . I have this same criticism of a lot of performance shirt fabrics. My favorite so far has been the Cool Trail shirts which have a cotton weight feel to them. If I like it you can probably bet it will be discontinued. Haha.

April 23, 2021

Capilene long sleeve merino wool shirt

Good moisture transfer

April 23, 2021

Literally Perfection

This is my first merino light long sleeve from patagonia and its perfect in every way. I have an outdoor voices merino long sleeve and this absolutely trumps it. Thank you patagonia for your attention to detail. Lightweight for fall and spring layer and even in the summer for under 80 temps. Bought two colors just so I could make sure I had enough

April 23, 2021

Good shirt

x

April 22, 2021

The perfect shirt doesn't ex......

I wore this shirt while hiking in the southern Utah desert for 8 miles in 80 degree, sunny weather. This shirt keeper me cool and comfortable. It's super cozy and works well as a warm base layer as well. I'm so glad Patagonia found a way to source wool from a more sustainable method in order to bring merino wool base layers back.

April 20, 2021

Warm Enough

I have a 260 Ice Breaker shirt which is nice in winter but wanted a lighter wool. The Capilene Merino is perfect for spring weather when around the house. Surprising it hold the heat really well while riding my bike,much better then my light weight Castelli wool top which I love too. The Patagonia top is the most versatile of the two.

April 14, 2021

Great Purchase

The shirt is incredibly soft and so light weight that you hardly notice it's on. My wife was so jealous she bought one for herself. It did fit a little more snug than I expected, but not enough that I wanted to size up.

April 11, 2021

Best long sleeve I own.

Super comfortable and lightweight. Love the quality and color. I hate to take it off. Money well spent. Cant wait to see how it holds up once the summer comes around. Nice added layer under a jacket and comfy in warmer spring temps with no fuss and discomfort.

April 10, 2021

Versatile

This shirt is very soft and very solid for the price point. To be 65% merino and 35% polyester, it has the full capabilities of merino wool (wicking, preventing smell, and temperature regulation) and the lightweight feel of polyester. The Sage Khaki color is slightly lighter than on the site, as well as with a little dash of jade. Depending on your... Read More height and arm length, the sleeves offer lots of coverage; for me, they stop right at the radius on my wrist. I have worn this for work, riding bikes, around town, and the shirt still has several uses before it will have to be washed.

April 10, 2021

Sheer and clingy

By clingy I mean it fit real nice.But since it was yellow and thin because it is a base layer it was showing my nipples too much but nevertheless it was not for me

April 9, 2021

Very comfortable material

Perfect long sleeve to wear anytime.

March 26, 2021

Versatile

Took a gamble and brought this as my shirt for a 7 day bikepacking trip without testing it prior. It did wonderful in a range of conditions (drizzle/windy/sunny and 30-60F) and performed nicely as a base layer when it got a little too cold/windy for it to be worn alone. This shirt is more fitted (than say the cap daily) which is great for being a... Read More base layer. It packs small and is quite light for what it provides. But with that, this is a thin material so if you run cold and/or are in conditions below 25F then youre going to need a heavier base layer. I strongly recommend the cap air in that case. Oh and no smells :) Highly recommended as a technical shirt all the way to an around the house shirt.

March 12, 2021

Lightweight & Comfortable

Purchased expecting weight similar to past season's Nine Trails long-sleeved t-shirt, but is much thinner and stays comfortable into a higher temperature range. Back to the closer fitting collar, which is personally preferred, but not noticeable as the fabric is exceptionally smooth and comfortable. Size was exactly as expected for a medium.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches