burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Long-Sleeved Capilene Cool Merino Shirt Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 85 Reviews

Clear All

Women's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Merino Shirt

4.7/5
True To Size
January 28, 2023

My go to first layer for wide variety of conditions

Cool merino is my favorite base layer for cool-warm (mid 30s to 70s F) temperatures be it every day wear, walking, hiking,or skiing or snow shoeing. Depending upon the temperature I switch among long sleeve, short sleeve or tank top. One request I have is for Patagonia to offer one or two lighter colors not just bright or dark colors.

January 20, 2023

Detail around neck and fit

Detail around neck and fit are wonderful. Although it is light in weight, it is warm.

January 19, 2023

My new fave baselayer!

Love this merino/capilene blend baselayer! It is really soft and cozy -- not itchy at all. Perfect weight. It is definitely my new favorite. I really like the cuffs at the wrist to help keep sleeves in place.

January 17, 2023

soft, comfortable

this shirt is so soft, moves with you, fits well, and has held its shape (so far)

January 5, 2023

Merino!!

I really like the softness of the Capilene layers but I just cant wear synthetic, I sweat too much and its Not great with odor. I was thrilled when I saw they made a merino version! Being anti microbial its so much better and I dont have to wash it as often. Incredibly soft and comfortable.

December 26, 2022

Poor quality

I want to love this shirt so much! I bought it because I have the short sleeve version and it's light and breathable merino, which is a perfect combo. However, both shirts developed holes within a few months of normal wear. I'm really disappointed in the quality for Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
January 6, 2023

We're sorry to hear about the disappointing durability in this merino fabric. We recommend visiting one of our [Patagonia-owned stores](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/) with the shirts. They can evaluate the fabric issues in-person, discuss product care and help with a warranty return. We can also help you with a return under warranty from our main service center. Thank you for taking a moment to send us your feedback, Wilson!

December 23, 2022

Best Overall Long Sleeve

This has become my favorite long sleeve shirt. It wicks moisture, provides warmth, and layers well. I thought it was slightly itchy at first, but it must improve with washing because its not a problem.

November 16, 2022

Great staple (wish there were more colors).

This is a wonderful shirt. I have one in all 4 colors. I wear it to work (an office downtown), out hiking, and really anywhere. It is lightweight enough for late summer and its also great for layering in colder temps. My only wish is that is came in an off white color and a few (light and dark) gray options. Other than that, its a wonderful shirt.

October 30, 2022

Fabulous

I have one of these in all colors. Perfect for layering or by itself. Love them.

October 28, 2022

This Shirt Is the Star Utility Player of My Closet

I purchased this shirt a few weeks ago and have worn it hiking, gardening, and have thrown a blazer over it for work. I travel for my job and it is lightweight, versatile, and so comfortable. I have since purchase several more (wish there were more colors to choose from). I am tall (5ft10 and 140lbs, usually a size 6-8 in tops) and the length is pe... Read Morerfect. The shirt has a nice drape. Its slim but does not hug my torso. It has a nice finish, with slits at the sides of the hem, so it looks great tucked in or untucked. It is a lightweight fabric, but I don't find it too sheer. I am not wearing it as a tight shirt, which may account for the sheerness other reviewers have mentioned. Patagonia hit a home run with this shirt and I look forward to buying more.

October 24, 2022

I really love these shirts,

I really love these shirts, but for outdoor gear they are kinda delicate. This shirt ripped on the second or third day I wore it, which really sucks since Patagonia doesnt repair their merino wool shirts.. Other than that, great piece of gear.

October 23, 2022

Cozy, Soft, & a great layer!

I have several of these tops--both in short sleeve and long sleeve. The fabric is a mix of Capilene and Merino wool--and can go for many wearings without being stinky. It fits well and is a great layering piece. Waiting for a purple color.

September 17, 2022

Light weight,

Warm, great every day top! I got two of them! The red and the black; Patagonia, please bring more nice colors!

September 8, 2022

Great for Travel.

I first bought this in a short-sleeve T while on a surpise extended stay in NYC in the summer (hot!). To my delight, a quick wash in the sink and it was dry in no time. So now the long sleeve version to take on a long extended trip -on) (with only a carrythat will see summer heat dissipate and lots of cold airports. This is just the thing.

September 4, 2022

Super comfortable, kinda sheer

I love the color (borealis green), and the feel and comfort of this fabric. Sized down (I am 5 ft 7 in and 140 lb) to a small as I do not like a flowy midsection of fabric). I have short and long sleeve in this color. The short sleeve does not have noticeable sheerness but for some reason the long sleeve does. Reviews and listing photos show the me... Read Moredium and lighter shades consistently have this sheerness problem. Am unable to wear the long sleeve for work like I hoped because of this, and have passed on most of the other colors for this reason. What is with the sheerness issue? We are not strippers or club goers.

Response from Patagonia
September 9, 2022

Hi Anne, we understand how the sheerness you're experiencing would be very uncomfortable. You're welcome to complete a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

August 28, 2022

Solid desighn, Alas too small

Its a sweet and versatile material. Am a dude and patagonia Womens Large has always fit, however, this time its pretty small both arm length and torso, so if you're used to the similar and classic size Med or Large for example, be sure to go a size larger. Shirt is comfortable on the skin and seems very versatile ocross climates and temps, woo... Read Morel blend is legend idea!

August 23, 2022

Very soft, comfortable and flattering

I love this top for its quality, fit and comfort. But I am still trying to figure out its weather profile. I purchased it for hot weather activities but given its weight, I'm thinking it might be best for cooler days as a base layer.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2022

It was designed for summer activities, keeping you covered and cool from the sun. The material is lightweight, wicking and quick-drying. We hope you enjoy the versatility as a base layer all year long, but don't hesitate to reach out to our team with any questions. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

August 14, 2022

light weight

Light weight merino wool to wear in different weather conditions so versatile, also comfortable and looks good.

August 10, 2022

Great for a slightly warmer extra layer

This is a beautiful shirt. I expect to wear it a lot on cool fall mornings and as another layer in winter. It's so nice that I'll be able to wear it under my "best" sweaters as well as for everyday use.

July 27, 2022

Excellent, more colors please!

Perfect fit, comfort, and cut. I love the crew neck and long sleeves and my only complaint is that I wish they made it in even more colors!

July 7, 2022

Shirt perfection

Incredibly perfect for hot summer days. The fabric is soft, thin, and super breathable. I just ordered this in another color and I wish there were even more colors to choose from. I know there is the graphic tees as well, but I love the plain design. Very flattering and comfortable!

June 26, 2022

Comfortable, easy to wear

Thin but warm. I bought three and wear them to layer under other winter clothes. The look nice and dress up or down well. I am careful with washing (use a mesh laundry bag) and hang to dry. So far they have held up well and no pilling.

May 30, 2022

Pleasantly Comfortable Amazingly Versatile

This little light weight top can be dressed up or down. It is warm and cool at the same time. Very hard to explain how a simple top can meet all your requirements. Try one you won't be disappointed. The colors are amazing also.

April 21, 2022

Beautiful Shirts

I love the Black shirt because it feels like silk, and so comfortable. I also have the blue shirt and I like everything about it. I would like to see some more colors. I love Patagonia!!

April 15, 2022

Nice fabric - uncomfortable stitching

Unfortunately had to return since the stitching used for under the armpit was terribly irritating . The shirt itself was lovely, soft, nice colors and perfect for under flannel shirts. If they reversed the stitching pattern to where outside was on the inside it would have been perfect!

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2022

We're very sorry to hear that this one didn't work out for you, but we appreciate the feedback on that stitching. Please reach out if you need any assistance to return it. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 24, 2022

new fav longsleeve

love this merino longsleeve. fits true to size. sleek, warm, lightweight. wear it running and also when i go out!

March 23, 2022

Excellent base layer

Love this shirt. Its lightweight yet very warm. I wear when active outside but also use as a base layer under dress clothes if I know Im going to a cold place.

March 21, 2022

New favorite shirt

Love this shirt! Would highly recommend

March 15, 2022

Great!

I bought this to wear both as a baselayer as well as a hiking shirt. It's warm when layered but keeps me cool and dry when I'm hiking in chillier weather. I'm obsessed with it and hope to buy in more colors!

March 14, 2022

Nice fit, see through.

Really like the fit. Got the purple/muav color and wish it wasnt as see through.

March 12, 2022

Good fit, good feel

I have several of these shirts in both long and short sleeves. Some are pretty see-through, depending on the color, but they all fit great--and are a perfect layer under a fleece or sweater. The drape on the shirt is nice and the sleeves are just the right length. I'm 5'5", 135lbs

March 11, 2022

Fabric Feels Nice

I have a bunch of these in different colors. I bought a size up because I was was concerned about shrinking. They don't shrink and even though they are slightly loose, they look great, later great.

March 3, 2022

Very scratchy tags!

Got this as a gift, probably would be better off with the Small, not the Medium, as there is a lot of extra "webbing" under my arms. It's cool and comfortable. But quite thin and sheer, which might be a problem for some people. My biggest gripe is the horrible scratchy tags- one with the Patagonia logo on the lower hem, and a set of ... Read Moreseveral others with washing instructions sewn inside the side hem. I found those unbearable. It took about 45 minutes of very careful clipping with sharp pointed sewing scissors to remove both sets of tags, thankfully without harming the fabric. I would not buy this product for that reason- Patagonia, please do not do this to us!!

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2022

Hey Liz, we appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback with us. We'll pass the word along about the tags for future consideration. One thing we'd like to mention is that so long as the item was purchased through our website, you're eligible to exchange it out for a different size even if it's a gift. We do ask that the item come back in new condition and since the tags were cut out, we would not be able to accept it back, but something to keep in mind for future.

February 21, 2022

Daily Wear

This shirt is my basic long sleeve daily wear with jeans. It comes in different weights so you need to be careful in choosing the warmest versus the lightweight.

February 16, 2022

Cozy

I love these tops so much that I bought 3 more. I wear them under my Patagonia vest during the cooler months.

February 1, 2022

Lightweight but warm, not form-fitting

I love this top; got it for cool-weather hikes, and an upcoming walking trip in Wales. I love the fit which is a little loose, so that I find I'm wearing it all day as casual wear too. It's warm but very lightweight, so perfect for travel. I just ordered a second one.

January 16, 2022

All I use for winter running now

I bought one of these this fall and soon had to get a second! On all but the coldest days I wear this shirt under the Houdini jacket for runs and am nice and comfortable. It's soft and I don't feel super sweaty after a run. It even airs out fine so I can wear it multiple days before washing. No odor. Well worth the price to invest in a co... Read Moreuple of these. No more running in old poly race shirts in the winter and I'm much more comfortable!

January 10, 2022

This is simply the best shirt for the outdoors

This is simply the best shirt for the outdoors. It's comfortable, durable, soft, stays smelling and feeling good on multi-day trips, breathable, and best of all made more from wool than it is from plastic. I've worn it every day on a three-week-long canoe trip, on regular trail runs, backpacking trips, cross-country skiing, and more. It&#... Read Morex27;s great as a base layer for cold weather activities, but it really shines as sun protection -- it's light and soft and comfortable enough to wear as a full-sleeve sun blocking option on warm days too. I am usually between a size small and medium (bust measurement 35-36", for reference) and the small is a great fit for me. My only request: Patagonia, please make this in more/better colors! I'd love warmer colors like a terracotta/sierra.

January 9, 2022

Light weight and warm

Fit advise was spot on

January 6, 2022

Super comfortable!

Another color - another choice - My partner now has 3 colors to choose from in this shirt and wears them constantly. Her favorite shirt for so many different activities from work to play. The material is light yet warm and wears well over time.

January 5, 2022

Please never stop making this shirt!!!!

I love these shirts, use them for everything, everyday in all seasons. They are ideal for layering. The fabric does not hold odors and washes well. I will buy them always. Cute new colors and basics. Dont wait for them to be on clearance, they are worth full price! Love, love, love!

December 26, 2021

lightweight

It looks like Patagonia is making its new XL women's gear a bit larger. Overall this will be great. This new LS T is a wool and nylon blend, with wool around 70%. It is very lightweight and will be great for travel, as packs small. It is a looser fit than other XL baselayers I have from other entities and I might try a L next time I order, as ... Read MoreI wear these under midlayer wool hoodies that are close fitting. They are also longer than the typical women's baselayer, which is a definite plus. I only gave 4 stars, as not as warm as I like for winter, which is what it now is. I suspect I will appreciate them more on summer evenings!

December 21, 2021

Perfect First (or only) Layer!

I now have 4 of these, 2 short sleeves and 2 long. This is the perfect, not too warm, highly breathable, doesn't get stinky, easily layered piece. Perfect by itself in warmer weather and a great first layer under both technical midlayers or my favorite cashmere sweater. My only complaint is that the sleeves are barely long enough - shorter tha... Read Moren other Patagonia capilene T's.

December 20, 2021

Love this shirt

Great, light weight and thin long-sleeve. Super comfy and I love the teal color. Mainly bought it for a multi-day hiking trip for sweat absorption but haven't taken that trip yet. Works well for casual day to day with jeans though.

December 19, 2021

Just right

Comfortable and very breathable. Lovely material.

December 16, 2021

Lightweight baselayer

I really love these light baselayer tops. Not at all itchy, they don't become smelly eitherI! have several and wear them under scrubs for work in the winter months, plan to buy more.

November 20, 2021

Wonderful!

This is my 2nd cap cool merino. I love the fit, the length, & the softness. I will get lots of wear out of it I hope, as a first layer under a fleece or sweater. Plan to get more colors

November 16, 2021

Very pretty and useful

I bought an XL because I wanted a loose fit and some room for accidentally shrinking it. The fabric is so lovely it looks great even though it is a little big. I wore this on a weekend to the city- wore it in a bistro and went running later. Layers great with super thin capilene underneath for extra warmth. Havent washed it yet.

November 15, 2021

Just right!

I was concerned it would be itchy- I have a hard time with wool. No problems!

November 11, 2021

Looks nice feels great

I love merino and this one is great.

November 11, 2021

So comfortable

Its the perfect weight and size for me. Delightful!

November 5, 2021

Just Right

I can wear this in both 70 degree weather, then go for a run in the evening at 50 degrees and stay dry. This keeps me the perfect temp all day during the seasons where it is warm during the day and cool at night. Please make more in more neutral colors! White, gray, or beige would be awesome!

October 30, 2021

LS capilene cool merino

This is 2nd one and I wear it as a base layer When the the weather turns warm you can wear it alone Great shirt and very comfortable

October 25, 2021

Cozy Baselayer

This shirt is cozy and lightweight. It keeps me warm without adding a lot of bulk. I bought it to wear hiking, but its so soft and cozy Im choosing it on lazy days too.

October 24, 2021

Light, Warm Merino Wool

As other posters have mentioned, this is a thin, light merino shirt (I have both the long sleeve and the short sleeve versions). Because it is on the thinner side, I do imagine that some of the lighter colors are see-through...this isn't a problem with the black color, and since I wear it running, hiking or under longer sleeve shirts, the see ... Read Morethrough nature of the lighter colors (yes, I have more than one!) isn't a problem for me. Like all things merino, these shirts absorb sweat well, and don't stink - even after a week+ camping and hiking on the AT. It also holds its shape well - it doesn't stretch out. I've taken it on travel and been able to wash it out in the hotel sink - and had it dry by AM. I do wash these in a delicate bag and hang to dry - I do wear them quite a bit and they look like new. As far as length goes, these hit below the hip - if you plan on carrying a pack with a waist belt, that means it's long enough to not get caught in the belt and ride up - so it stays put throughout the hike. I've also thrown one of these on underneath a blazer in a pinch while on travel, and been able to pull off a more casual work look. If you're looking for a thinner merino shirt (short or long sleeve), I highly recommend these - wash with care and they'll last! Highly recommend!

October 22, 2021

Love!

As other posters have mentioned, this is a thin, light merino shirt (I have both the long sleeve and the short sleeve versions). Because it is on the thinner side, I do imagine that some of the lighter colors are see-through...this isn't a problem with the black color, and since I wear it running, hiking or under longer sleeve shirts, the see ... Read Morethrough nature of the higher colors (yes, I have more than one!) like the jellyfish yellow isn't a problem for me. Like all things merino, these shirts absorb sweat well, and don't stink - even after a week+ camping and hiking on the AT. It also holds its shape well - it doesn't stretch out. I've taken it on travel and been able to wash it out in the hotel sink - and had it dry by AM. I do wash these in a delicate bag and hang to dry - I do wear them quite a bit and they look like new. As far as length goes, these hit below the hip - if you plan on carrying a pack with a waist belt, that means it's long enough to not get caught in the belt and ride up - so it stays put throughout the hike. I've also thrown one of these on underneath a blazer in a pinch while on travel, and been able to pull off a more casual work look. If you're looking for a thinner merino shirt (short or long sleeve), I highly recommend these - wash with care and they'll last!

October 14, 2021

Keeps you cool & warm simultaneously

I was hesitant to buy this top because it is a mixture of the capilene and merino wool, but it has performed better than expected. The only complaint I have is that it starts out being too long and then after one or two washes in cold water and line drying, the top is now almost too short. Not sure where to find the happy medium, but maybe the stru... Read Morecture needs some refining.

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Pamela. You can try what's called blocking, where you lay it flat after washing and stretch it to it's original shape to dry.

October 6, 2021

Perfect shoulder-season running shirt

This shirt is the bestwarm when its cool outside and cool when its warm outside. I wear it for running and it keeps me temperate and my sweat situation manageable. The medium is kinda big (I dont understand Patagonia sizing, particularly when it comes to arm length), but I purchased a M bc my other Patagonia shirts in S are too short in the torso a... Read Morend sleeves. I purchased two of these shirts and exchanged one for a small. The small is better for someone with my build (runners body, kinda a big chest), esp for running, but ymmv.

September 15, 2021

Bring Back Cool Daily

I looove the cool daily shirts. I did not buy the cool daily for the UPF rating and would buy cool daily again knowing of the voluntary recall. The Cool Merino runs slightly smaller than Cool Daily and is not as soft and the neckline is tighter. I wish I had tried the Cool Merino in store bf buying online. Im returning the purchase -the material i... Read Mores too clingy and scratchy, not at all buttery smooth like the daily and not worth it for the price and reported poor wear (w pack).

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Heidi! We hope to have the Cap Cool Daily back in 2022 sometime.

September 15, 2021

Great fit.

Great shirt. Cool in warm weather. Love the cuffed sleeves. Will be nice for winter as it has some merino wool

September 10, 2021

Love this merino shirt

This is one of two shirts in my backpack on a 7 day trek. It is fabulous and dries quickly when washed. Happy merino is back!

September 4, 2021

Versatile, no stink, but fragile shirt

I traded in my tropic sun hoodie for this shirt on a whim before starting the John Muir Trail in August this year. I ended up wearing this longsleeve merino blend capilene cool shirt every single day of a 21 day hiking trip because it was that great - decent sun protection, excellent temperature control, and no stink at all. I only rinsed it out a ... Read Morefew times in a couple of lakes, but otherwise it was fine and did not smell even after long days hiking and no true wash for the whole time. However, my one complaint about the shirt is that it is a bit fragile. It held up to my backpack no problem and did not really pill, but it quickly developed several small holes where my arms rubbed my sides on the hike. I would love to own more of these shirts, but I can't justify given the price and the fact that the one I do have is disintegrating and I've only owned it for about 5 weeks and run it through a washing machine only once! These are not moth holes, and are not where I caught it on something - just from normal wear.

Response from Patagonia
September 14, 2021

Hi Laura! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the shirt developed holes after such little time. That definitely sounds like a warranty related issue so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it to us.

August 27, 2021

Perfect lightweight versatile layer

This shirt is the perfect lightweight versatile layer for the "shoulder seasons" in Vermont where it's cool in the mornings and evenings but warms up during the day. This shirt keeps me warm in cooler temps, but the wicking wool fabric keeps me cool when the temps warm up midday. It's also a great layering piece. The wool fabric... Read More is so soft and the color is really flattering.

August 20, 2021

Super cooling

Does an excellent job of both sun protection and cooling. Wore it first time for a 24 hour event that was in the 90's during day. Did an excellent job of managing body temperature and wicking away perspiration. Runs a tiny bit short in the sleeves (medium for 5'9")

July 29, 2021

Perfect base layer for the Alaskan summer!

I purchased this shirt as a base layer for a trip to the Kenai Peninsula and Denali. It was comfortable in temperatures from 40F (with a vest and jacket) up to 70+F and did a great job at sun protection. It was also super soft!

July 26, 2021

Soft, light, but shrunk a bit.

I really liked this shirt at first, it's lightweight, breathable, soft, and lovely color. I washed/dried it a couple times and now it is way too small. It fit perfect when I received it, so maybe order one size up to account for shrinkage. I'll be gifting this to a friend since I can't wear it anymore.

Response from Patagonia
July 28, 2021

Thanks for reaching out Autumn. We're so sorry to hear your shirt didn't work perfectly for you. Merino wool can always experience some shrinkage if washed in hot water or tumble dried on high. We're happy to go over product care with you for any future purchases.

July 6, 2021

Wool is wonderful!

I have two of these and I only got them because I couldnt get more of the Capilene Cool shirts locally - but now these are my favorites. I actually sleep in these shirts in Houston, Texas in the summer (a/c + ceiling fan = cold arms at 3 am) but I also plan to wear them as a base layer during our cool winters. Very lightweight. I ordered up (M) fro... Read Morem my normal size (S) to get a looser fit and they are perfect for my needs. I am biased because I am a knitter, but wool really is the best!

June 28, 2021

Comfortable, soft, just the right weight

Bought 2 of these to wear as a light layer for running. Took them on a camping trip and basically never took them off. Hiking, running, lounging, on the drive home. Love them. Will buy more if/when these wear out.

June 14, 2021

Almost perfect.

Years ago Patagonia made an awesome part wool v-neck baselayer. It pilled a bit but was otherwise excellent. They were only available a couple years. I still have three, the worn wear guys stitched one for me a couple years ago. Now, this is the next generation: wool + capilene. I love that there is a long sleeve option. Nice hand, soft against the... Read More skin, nice drape. I'm 5'11" and 160 lbs and buy an extra large so it is roomy and long enough in the arm. I think I'd of had some room even in the Large. A little bit of static cling comes along with this but not a deal breaker. Love the split hem. I'm on the fence with the neckline and the finishing of the arms at the wrist. Would prefer no cuffs. But I'm going to buy another - waiting to see some new colors first...

June 2, 2021

Runs really large

Very lightweight and breathable. The light blue color is extremely sheer and more of a light blue-ish grey. I feel this runs 1-1.5 sizes large. Too loose for my liking, but if I sized down, I'm afraid the arms will be too short for my taste. I wore this while road biking with a vest and I was very comfortable.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2021

Thanks for the review! We would be happy to send over some measurements to you to see if a size down would work. Please reach out to our customer service team [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

June 2, 2021

So beautiful

I got my package today, try them on it was so comfortable and nice I am in love. I brought two one short sleeve and other long sleeve. Patagonia never disappointed me so far. I am 54 and 140lb I order medium it fits me perfectly.

May 18, 2021

Very comfy and breathable

I've only worn this twice so far as a light weight base layer under a sweater and it is very comfortable and warm but not too warm, it's kind of a "fall and early spring" base. I can't wear it as a normal shirt at work because you can see my bra underneath but I expect to wear it as such while camping and wearing a sports b... Read Morera.

May 11, 2021

Year Round Comfort

I love this shirt. Sizing, sleeve length, & fabric. I want a drawer full. I bought the black. The nights are cool here in New Mexico, even in the summer, & I plan to wear this a lot, especially to the local brewery!:). Will buy more when there are more color options.

May 9, 2021

sophisticated and well made

Crazy about this fabric! I have one capilene cool merino top in each style now. I wear the long sleeve for early morning hiking, running, cycling. It feels great, really elegant cuts, and so far very durable. I have processed up to a ml of water (ok, perspiration) through this shirt in a single day and it just continues to perform without trapping ... Read Moremeddlesome microbes. I try to air dry but I have accidentally thrown it in the dryer without any noticeable repercussions. I hope Pat continues to innovate in this area--capilene and performance materials for hot weather--and subsequently offer more options. This entire spring/summer merino line is a solid investment as temps continue to climb.

May 9, 2021

Amazing shirt

I decided to splurge for the merino shirts after loving the capilene cool shirts. These are next level; the fit is true to size, color is lovely. The weight of the material is light enough for me to wear on a warm day's bike commute, but when layered upon keeps me warm. Special effects: it handles underarm odor extremely well.

May 7, 2021

Great material, comfy

I love the fabric and wear the shirt as a layer while biking or by itself while working at my desk.

May 4, 2021

Great Purchase

This shirt is one of my favorite Patagonia purchases. It is lightweight, comfortable and provides a balance of casual wear and active wear. Makes for a great base layer or single layer. Highly recommend.

April 27, 2021

Cool Merino Long Sleeve Shirt

Great shirt but would like sleeves to be 1-2 inches longer.

April 25, 2021

All weather first layer

I love all my old Patagonia capilene tops but some have worn out so I am replacing----at first I missed that old slippery feel but now I love this one and just bought my second. It is year round first layer in San Francisco and washes beautifully.

April 23, 2021

The Perfect Shirt

I have worn this shirt for several different outdoor activities that worked up a sweat and stayed comfortable all day. The best part was the shirt smelled just as good at the end of the day as it did in the beginning. Beautiful blue color and feels great on!

April 10, 2021

So comfy and soft! And not stinky ...

What I haven't liked about Capilene before is the way it holds smells. But this part-wool shirt does not have that problem. It's elegant and functional and oh so comfortable. I wear it alone for morning runs and it adjusts to my body temp, keeping me warm at the start but not overheated after the first mile with the sun coming up. Exactly... Read More what I was looking for.

April 7, 2021

Super comfortable and comfortable

My wife loves this new top. The color is beautiful mauve color. It fits so well and the size is perfect. On cool mornings she layers it under a fleece vest, its a great long sleeved top.

April 4, 2021

Soft, warm and super comfy

Soft, warm and super comfy. I've barely taken this off since I bought it. I'm 5'4 and 120lbs and this fits perfectly. Love it so much I will purchase in other colors.

April 2, 2021

Poor quality

This top was made with thin flimsy material. It was very long and tight fitting. After purchasing many consistent size small products, I was shocked with this piece. Very sorry to have to return it!

Response from Patagonia
April 5, 2021

Hi Cathleen, thank you for your review! We are very sorry to hear the material and sizing were not what you expected. The fabric blend of 65% RWS-certified merino wool and 35% recycled polyester is designed to be soft while still providing its technical performance in a slim fit style. Please know, we are always happy to provide with exact measurements along with information on performance fabrics to ensure you are comfortable and confident in your next purchase. Feel free to [contact](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) us for any assistance on your return if you haven't already.

March 17, 2021

Perfect weight and fit

I was looking for something to wear under my Nano vest and this is perfect. The color is true to the picture and the fit is spot on. Bought it last minute for a camping trip to Joshua Tree and I think this will be perfect for the mild days and chilly nights.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches