Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Merino Shirt

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 63 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Merino Shirt

4.3/5
September 10, 2021

Heavy Pilling After One Hike

I expect more from Patagonia. Especially for a shirt that costs this much and is meant for active use. I bought this shirt to go on hikes. After one hike in calm, sunny weather, it is already showing heavy pilling on the front and back. I am very disappointed in this product.

Response from Patagonia
September 20, 2021

Hi Francisco! Thanks for letting us know about your shirt pilling. When fabrics, especially wool, meet friction pilling will occur. Often this can happen if there's abrasiveness from a pack or something similar. You're more than welcome to return this for a warranty. You might prefer something like our [Men's Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-capilene-cool-lightweight-shirt/45760.html) which has a fabric that's less prone to catching or pilling.

August 19, 2021

HOLEY shirt !!!

Beware, I washed as per instructions and after 2 washes I started to see fraying and beginning of holes in near the bottom half of the shirt ! Disappointing

Response from Patagonia
August 20, 2021

Hi Michael, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're so sorry to hear that your shirt developed a hole. We definitely expect better durability out of our gear so we're also very disappointed by this. We've reached out to you directly with further assistance!

August 11, 2021

Delicate

Went for a run, came back with a soaked shirt. As I was taking the shirt off, I ripped a fist sized hole in it. The fabric is great but not strong when wet with sweat.

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2021

Hello JR, yikes, so sorry to learn about the tear. We are happy to take a look at the shirt under our guarantee. You are welcome to send it [back](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a warranty evaluation at your convenience.

August 10, 2021

I Want to Love It

I really, really want to love this shirt. Especially because I purchased two or them! The pros: they are super light weight and soft, definitely the most comfortable shirts I own. I am also so happy Patagonia makes mens XS sizes as most womens merino clothing is super fitted and too long for me, so the fit is great! My only complaint is durability.... Read More My shirts began piling after two wears and only moderate use. I wore a small pack with a 1 belt on a short hike and immediately noticed A LOT of piling on an already thin shirt. This is so important in my opinion as most people purchasing merino wool intending to wear it multiple times while backpacking or hiking and will be experiencing piling as well. I truly want to love these shirts but I feel like my investment isnt going to last very long. I hope Patagonia creates a more durable version of this shirt and hopefully adds more colors as well.

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2021

Hi Kori, due to the knit of this item, pilling can be more noticeable on a Capilene® Cool Merino Shirt. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded.   To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again.  Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your Capilene® Cool Merino Shirt, you are absolutely welcome to send those in for a warranty returns evaluation under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

August 5, 2021

Shirt of the Summer

By far my favorite shirt of the summer to be in, whether I am fly guiding or chasing after my toddlers. This shirt has been my go to all summer long here in the RF valley of Colorado.

July 31, 2021

Great all-around shirt

I have one of the old cotton and capilene shirts that I am literally wearing holes in. I wanted to replace it but Patagonia stopped making suitable a replacement. I didn't really care to much about the price since I knew that I would get at least a decade (if not two like my other shirt) of use out of it. I have only used it once on a longer... Read More outdoor day, MTB riding in Tahoe, but I think it was a good test day. I was sweaty enough that I was getting salt rings on my pack then got a tiny bit of sprinkles on it on the way back to the car. Afterwards, we hung out and chatted over lunch. I was never too warm or cold. The only thing I am worried about is the thinness and getting snagged on a tree or something like that. Otherwise, I am sure I will enjoy this shirt for a while.

July 29, 2021

This one has limits

This shirt feels so great you'll want to wear it all the time. Unlike many of my other Patagonia Wool shirts, this one has limits. I purchased 3 short sleeves and 3 longs sleeves and the issues are: 1. Shrinks a good amount (washed on cold, dried on low), not a dealbreaker. 2. Can not handle any type of friction from a pack; my day pack straps... Read More caused 2 minor holes in the shoulder/collar area and my backpack belt created many holes around my stomach. Patagonia made good as they always do, I just now have to limit what I do in this shirt. It will be great for runs, short hikes without a pack and hanging around. I imagine it will also be a great layering shirt come fall/winter.

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2021

Hi Kenny, we're so sorry to hear about the untimely wear on those Men's Capilene® Cool Merino Shirts. We'd be happy to take those back as a warranty return under our Ironclad Guarantee. Please feel free to begin that process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 25, 2021

Extreme comfort

Great packable base layer/ shirt for any occasion.

July 21, 2021

New Favorite Shirt!

Just when I thought I couldn't find a better shirt they had to release this thing! Absolutely hands down the best shirt I own, I actually own 3 of them now. It's insanely soft and comfortable. Super breathable, and you can wear it multiple times before it gets stinky. Love the merino wool and recycled polyester blend. Hopefully new colors... Read More come out soon!

July 16, 2021

Perfect!

The fabric is soft and comfortable. It wicks well but also has the benefit of not retaining odors. It has become a favorite.

July 14, 2021

Great fit. Nice and light.

They wick really well, dry fast, and seem to be holding up to heavy wear.

July 11, 2021

Great fit but not made for all activities

This shirt is so comfy for hiking! But as with other technical shirts from Patagonia this year I have had pilling. It happened on a week of 5-7mile day hikes in the Red River Gorge of Kentucky. Anywhere the waist belt and lumbar pad contacted the shirt it pilled up. This shirt less than other materials.

July 7, 2021

Super comfy and lightweight

This shirt is great! Very breathable and perfect for summer hikes. The merino wool is fantastic, I can easily get away with 4 or 5 wears before I feel it needs a wash

June 30, 2021

Great tee

I'm 5'6/5'7 with a slender/slim build and XS fits great. It's super light and made well. It's now my go to tee for everything.

June 27, 2021

No stank!

Finally! I usually can't wear wool... too itchy. But this is fine for my sensitive skin. I deliberately wore if for 3 days and it was fine. I'll be getting more of these.

June 11, 2021

Very comfortable

I like the silky feeling of it. Very thin, breathable, and the color is nice too.

June 3, 2021

Amazing But...

Got this shirt a week ago and loved everything about it! The fit is amazing, super soft, great color(s), and just overall amazing. But within the first 2 hours of wearing there was a snagged thread. I didn't think much of it because it was only one thread. I have had it for a week now and climbed in it twice and there are about 7 new snagged t... Read Morehreads. I have never ever had this happen this bad in a shirt. I'm not sure what is going on but I am super disappointed. I loved this shirt so much until this started to happen. If this wasn't an issue It would easily be one of the best shirts I have ever bought.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Henry! We're so sorry to hear about the snagging. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team to get set up with a replacement.

May 27, 2021

Festively Cool

The color is great for the season. The fit is soft and cool.

May 17, 2021

Don't expect a beefy T.

Obviously in normal times, I would have had the opportunity to feel this shirt in a store but I didn't and I'm glad. For the price, my initial thought where, where's all the fabric!? Maybe someone with more experience would have known but I didn't. As I hate returns ,I put it on to try it out. Its a thin merino wool shirt that f... Read Moreelt great to wear while hiking and running. Really think it fits a great niche in my closet.

May 13, 2021

same shirt for days

I will never buy an all synthetic t-shirt again. I bought 3 of these and love the marino feel against the skin and even more I love that it just doesn't stink. I can wear the same shirt for days and days! They run a tad small but great fit and cut.

May 12, 2021

Perfect Casual T-Shirt

The fit is true to size. Not baggy, not too tight. Fabric is soft and the right weight for when it warms up outside, plus a great base layer for chilly early mornings or cool evenings. Presentable to wear to a casual restaurant or cafe. I will get more of his shirt.

May 11, 2021

Bobs opinion

Fits perfectly

May 10, 2021

every day

I bought the predecessor to this t-shirt many years ago. At the time, people complained about it pilling and whatever else (maybe due to a higher wool content?), but it quit pilling long ago, I still have it and I wear it often, though it's nearly see-through now. So, when I saw there was finally an updated version I bought 3 right away and I&... Read More#x27;m happy I did. Glad to have a merino (mostly) t-shirt to go to every day.

May 8, 2021

Perfect Shirt

Perfect weight - super lightweight. Holds its shape well after washing. Simple and classic.

May 7, 2021

Warm soft, very comfortable

This is a good shirt. Is pretty warm, I wouldn't wear this in weather warmer than around 70. Its makes me sweat a-lot. It doesn't smell though, which is a plus.

May 7, 2021

Perfect for warm weather, hiking/workout/running

Its thin and light (cant speak to its durability) but have used it to run and workout at home and love the thin and lightness of it! Also appreciate the style touch with the split hem at bottom of shirt at the sides! Will def be my trail running/ hiking/ workout shirt ! Gotta get More colors !

May 6, 2021

Several runs and yet to wash it

I have wore this shirt for several runs and have not washed it and it still smells good. Shirt is very comfortable and keeps me cool while using it.

May 6, 2021

Great Shirt

Great shirt. Super comfy and light. Packs down small and fits true to size. Im probably technically a M but I like my T shirts a little more snug and sometimes I feel like their shirts are a tad large. Only issue with the shirt is I wore it camping last weekend and had three separate locations have a small thread come out which left little holes.... Read More Not sure if it was just the shirt or if I was doing something stupid which is more likely. That being said I just bought another one. Gonie or die

May 4, 2021

Wool all the time

Great shirt. Super comfy.

May 4, 2021

Really great Merino blend shirt...

I bought this shirt primarily for activity, but it's also nice enough to wear out. It's a really soft great fitting shirt, with a true to size fit. I liked it so much that I bought a few more after the first one arrived. A perfect shirt for summers in Montana.

May 2, 2021

Forgot I was wearing it

I'm a software engineering graduate student. I got really busy and wore this shirt for a whole week without changing and never felt uncomfortable.

April 30, 2021

Warning of Wearing on Long Runs or w Running Vest

I have ran 3 ultras in my Patagonia High Endurance gear. I bought this tee to wear for an upcoming ultra and wore on one 10 mile training run. After the run I have SERIOUS chaffing burn in R armpit. I have never chaffed their (or anywhere else) on a run. The other issue is that after only the one 10 mile run, that the shirt has visible piling where... Read More the lower running vest strap goes across my body. I wear my merino wool shirt (from other maker) and it has never had this issue.

Response from Patagonia
April 30, 2021

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on our Capilene Cool Merino Shirt. We're sorry to hear that you experienced chaffing while wearing it, it could be that a different size could make all the difference. As far as the pilling is concerned, friction will always be the main culprit, and unfortunately that is not always avoidable. The good news is a sweater stone usually does the trick! If you haven't already and you'd like to return or exchange, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 29, 2021

No stank

6'1", 175. Originally ordered a medium since that is what I wear in almost all of my Patagonia shirts. Fit was definitely slim and a bit tight across the chest. It would have been fine for active wear and using as a baselayer but I wanted a little more versatility from a casual standpoint. Large fit better in the chest if not just a tad l... Read Moreong in the torso. Shirt is super soft and breathes well. No stank after 3 hikes on consecutive days. Love the blend. Haven't had it long enough to comment on durability but have not had any issues.

April 28, 2021

Great Fit

Great Fit, I wore it for 5 strait days. I noticed some piling before washing, but the shirt did not carry any odors.

April 27, 2021

Too Thin

I'm all for a super lightweight shirt but this was so thin it was sheer.

Response from Patagonia
April 28, 2021

Hi Caleb, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that the fabric was not to your liking. Our products are backed by Patagonia's Ironclad Guarantee so you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. For a comparable baselayer, the Men's Capilene Cool Daily Shirt may be worth consideration.

April 27, 2021

Great material

Love this very practical merino wool T!

April 27, 2021

Great base

Excellent shirt. Great for wearing under whatever. keeps me nice and cool under work uniform, and warm while out fishing. A little tight in the collar when new.

April 25, 2021

Overall nice - if not a bit thin.

Really soft and feels good on your skin. True to size and fits nicely. My only issue is its really thin and almost see-through.

April 24, 2021

Merino t-short

I bought this t-shirt for my husband. You had them a few years ago and couldn't get the merino wool for a while. I am so glad they are back - this is positively the best men's t-shirt ever made. They last a long time even with daily wear and they always look immaculate. Never a wrinkle - the fabric drapes and has a low sheen- it covers an... Read Mored the fit is perfect. If you want to look you very casual best - wear this shirt. I also like your woman's longer down vest. Covers your backside and longer under tops.

April 24, 2021

Nice T-Shirt

Ive bought previous versions of this shirtusually when I see a color that inspires me. The last one was a few years ago, in a dark loden green/turquoise. This one is a deep rust. The fabric is greatfeels mostly like merino, its soft and moderates temperatures and perspiration well. And I deeply appreciate being able to find XS at Patagonia to fit m... Read Morey small, slender frame. Unfortunately, they typically run out of stock quickly enough that I don't even see them before they're gone. I still have the previous shirt, and there's no comparison in cut and execution. The older shirt I would describe as a tailored T-shirt. The seams are flawless and smooth. The neck is a better fit, and lies perfectly flat, as do the tops of the sleeves. The sleeves are noticeably longer, which I prefer. For many years now, the sleeves on Patagonias short sleeve shirts, in general, remind me of what was available at places like Pennys when I was growing up in the midwest. I thought they were too short and tacky thenstill do. Short sleeves that come up just shy of the cubital crease look and feel much better to me. Shirts that end with the deltoid just don't work for my taste. You emailed me, and asked for a detailed review, and this may be more than you bargained for. But while Im here, lets talk about color. The colors you choose for women's clothing are great, but for some reason you seem to think that men should be stuck in drab, depressing Microsoft blues, reds, greys, black or moss. Or maybe a screaming chartreuse or Microsoft orange for variety. To me, this is mistakenly giving men the short end of the stick. Loosen up! My recollection is that Patagonia didnt suffer from these tendencies in the Kris McDivitt days, and there was a very distinct shift at some point after. But I wasnt paying attention that closely. Because of the general quality Patagonia has tended to offer over the years and appropriate sizes for the small people, I tend to rely on them more than others. But I think there are some ruts that could be departed from, and I imagine youd be surprised at the reception. Could be mistaken, but you asked. Now that I'm finishing up, I see that the page has removed apostrophes and em-dashes from my review. Hopefully, that's not intentional.

April 23, 2021

Excellent piece.

Excellent fit, comfort, and weight.

April 23, 2021

Nice shirt

Nice shirt for warmer temperatures.

April 23, 2021

Versatile

Great, lightweight T to wear with a sport coat or with jeans or shorts

April 23, 2021

Quality material, good fit, but still not perfect

This is only my personal preference. But most of the Patagonia t-shirts I have purchased are too loose around the collar. For a perfect fit, I wish they were tighter at the collar. Otherwise, great shirt. Quality material, good length and fit through chest and arms.

April 23, 2021

Too thin

Shirt is too thin. Can see through it. Also runs small. Could work as base layer but not for everyday wear.

April 23, 2021

Great work shirt

Great undershirt for my work longsleeve. dries quickly and is very comfortable. right at the cusp of being too short though. I wish it was an inch or tow longer.

April 22, 2021

So comfortable

One of the most comfortable shirts Ive ever worn. Doesnt stink after getting sweaty.

April 21, 2021

Great summer shirt

I'm not built for humid heat, despite having lived in the tropics and places with miserable summers like Atlanta. So, I'm willing to splurge on lightweight, hot weather clothing for daily use and for travel. My shoulders are on the upper end of most mediums, so a large fit for me. The shirt dries quickly and although the mercury hasn&#x27... Read More;t gotten too bad yet, it seems to work well enough that I plan to buy another.

April 21, 2021

Meh

The gold standard is the discontinued Outlier Runweight Merino wool t-shirt. Performs great, wears well and drapes well

April 20, 2021

Wool for the Summer

I've been wanting to give merino t-shirts a shot for a while but never pulled the trigger because of their high price tag. Once Patagonia came out with them I decided to give it a go and I'm stoked that I did. These are super soft, lightweight, and don't build up odor even after wearing multiple times. Like others have said -they are... Read More quite thin and don't exactly scream durability, but time will tell. I'd also note that they are definitely slim fit, so if you're like me and mainly looking for an everyday t-shirt, I'd go a size up. I tend to prefer a looser fit so I returned the Medium for a Large and I am about 5'8", 150lbs. Overall, great shirts for being active and travelling in warmer weather!

April 19, 2021

Merino is real.

There are so many merino shirts out there. I trust Patagonia to have figured out wear, stretch, and washability. This shirt fits well, wears well, and is easy to take care of. I can wear it comfortably under another shirt or by itself.

April 14, 2021

Decent Merino Tee

Pro: --Merino wool --Fits great --Great construction Con: --Too expensive --Too thin Overall I like it, but I just with it's a little heavier.

Response from Patagonia
April 14, 2021

Thank you for the review on our Capilene Cool Merino Shirt. We're glad you have had some positive experiences with it. The weight of the shirt was designed to help with keeping you cool and the shirt breathable. We're not sure what you were intending on using the shirt for, but if you wanted something warm and heavier, we'd recommend checking out our [thermal weight line](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-thermal-weight-baselayers).

April 12, 2021

Thin and easily torn

Tore this the third time I wore it when I was trying to take it off. It's a great workout shirt except it doesn't have a lot of stretch so when I was removing it I tore a hole in it. Bummer.

Response from Patagonia
April 13, 2021

Hey Andrew, sorry to hear this tore while you were taking it off! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you are unsatisfied with its performance.

April 7, 2021

Perfect shirt

This shirt is great: thin, wicking, lightweight, and comfortable. I've been wearing it under my Airshed Pro pullover for runs on cold spring days and it's been a fantastic combo that keeps me feeling light and supple while keeping the wind off me.

April 5, 2021

I want more colors!

This is my all time favorite shirt. Its so comfy after I tried one I had to get a few more just so I could wear them all the time. Now if I could just get it in new navy or some other cool blue.

April 1, 2021

Pure luxury

Not sure what kinda of magic Patagonia uses to make these shirts, but they are warm and cool at the same time. Every time I pull over my head it feels like quality and luxury at the same time. Never retains odor and looks great in a casual setting. Treat yourself and add this to your closet. You will not regret it.

April 1, 2021

So Comfortable

I love how breathable, stretchy, and well fitting the shirt is. I will definitely be buying another. Please add more colors!

March 30, 2021

This is THE tee shirt.

I dont need any other tee shirts except these in my life. Sooo soft and comfy. Its hard to get any work done when I put this shirt on because my brain is telling me oooo its relax time. I wish there were a few more color options. I got one of each.

March 28, 2021

Light and Breathable

Light and breathable, cool and comfortable. Perfect for runs, hikes or casual wear. Very durable, love it!

March 18, 2021

Best Merino T on the market

I've tried Icebreaker, Smartwool, Ibex etc. and after buying three of these Patagonia ones in different colors decided this is by far my favorite t-shirt out of all of them. They are COMMMMFY

March 18, 2021

Runs small, slightly clingy.

Great hand feel and moisture wicking, went up a size after trying on because the fabric is a bit clingy.

March 14, 2021

Good overall

Nothing special but is a good shirt for any type of active wear. Due to how thin it is I wouldn't wear as a casual item as it is semi transparent and can show some nip outline. The shirt will absolutely help keep you cool and you can tell it is made of merino due to its ability to control odor. I think I still like the original Capilene cool b... Read Moreetter.

March 11, 2021

What happened with the stitching?

So glad to see the merino Capilene is back after a ?two? Year absence. Fabric seems similar to the old one, a good thing. The elegant stitching of the old style is gone, as is the offset style. The offset let you wear the T without abrasion from a backpack, and it looked much more sophisticated than this one. I tried a few other brands while the me... Read Morerino Capilene was not in production, didnt like that they were heavier or had boring stitching. This new model has the same stitching, and I dont like it.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches