burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Women's Capilene® Cool Merino Tank Top

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 28 Reviews

Clear All

Women's Capilene® Cool Merino Tank Top

4.3/5
True To Size
October 20, 2022

I like the material and

I like the material and it will work well for a base layer in the winter months.

September 6, 2022

Flairs at the armpit

Extremely comfortable to bike in even during summer months. Dries quickly and keeps your temperature regulated. The fabric flairs out at the seem under the armpit which just looks strange and rubs a little. And the fabric gets nubby with not a lot of wear. I have run into this several times with capilene cool trail fabric and now with the wool.. a ... Read Morelittle disappointed with knowing that it will look worn and frumpy in a short amount of time.

September 5, 2022

Strange fit

This top just didnt work for me. It was wide at the bottom and the shoulders were too exposed. It maybe wasnt my style and would work for someone else.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Linda. We're sorry this fit wasn't good for you, and glad to see you were able to get it returned. You might find the [Capilene Cool Daily Tank](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-cool-daily-tank-top/45295.html?dwvar_45295_color=VKNX) to be a better fit. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

August 21, 2022

Perfectly light

A lightweight shirt, perfect for a run, or an errand. Got it in two colors, love it.

August 8, 2022

Wrong back contours for hiking

Women's hiking tops need straight straps, not contoured or cross strap style, to fully cover the back and shoulders and provide a layer of protection between the wearer and the pack. Because of an unnecessary style choice, this tank does not provide the necessary coverage to wear for hiking/backpacking. Probably fine for a short frolic in the... Read More woods, but anything serious and the user will get hot spots and calluses on their shoulders/back. I'll keep this for "casual wear", but please don't call it a hiking shirt.

August 1, 2022

Great for Backpacking

I brought this tank along for a week-long backpacking trip and wore it every day. It was breathable, quick-drying and did not smell even after seven days of strenuous activity. It did pill a bit where my pack rubbed it but did not significantly impact its integrity. Ordering more colors because I loved it so much.

July 19, 2022

Comfy!

Perfect fit, a little see through but not bad. Comfortable and soft

July 8, 2022

Disappointed with Pilling

I bought this tank to walk the Camino de Santiago and was not impressed. It pilled within four washings. I love Patagonia products and do not mind spending more for quality items however this tank did not live up to the Patagonia name.

Response from Patagonia
July 11, 2022

We're so sorry to hear that this top was a disappointment. We recommend gentle machine wash on cold with a mild detergent, then lay flat to air dry naturally. Your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so please don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team to set up a free return. We'll be happy to help!

May 6, 2022

Love the merino line

I admit, I have bought this piece previously and have somehow lost it in my travels. This is a favorite and worth re purchasing and adding to my running line up! at 5ft and 100lbs it is perfect in the arms, chest and the length. The merino cool fabric is a favorite of mine to run in...cooling, doesn't chaff and dries quickly! More colors pleas... Read Moree :)

April 17, 2022

Smaller sizes please!

Love Patagonia clothing and was excited to try the Capilene collection, however it doesn't work on petite frames :( The models are wearing size S and are 5'9" so I guess I should have known better that the XS would be too big... I really wanted it to fit though, and definitely this would be a wardrobe staple if it came in a smaller o... Read Moreption. Would love to see you expand your XXS options in more styles for those of us who are short and have petite frames! I wasn't sure how to rate this... I would give it 5 stars for quality and style, but 0 stars for not having it in a small enough size, so I went down the middle with 3 stars.

Response from Patagonia
April 19, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Maria. We're sorry to hear this top was too large for you! We're working on expanding our sizing options in more of our products, but it's a work in progress. We are passing your feedback along to our product team. Please remember you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you wish, or you can reach out to our Customer Service Team for assistance.

March 10, 2022

Sexy tank top

Love this top, got it in black in addition to blue since it looks so good with the high neck. And I can run in this all day. Or go out in it. Love love love it.

October 25, 2021

Great tank top, wish it came in more colors

I love the silhouette and fit of this tank. I can wear it anywhere, so its super versatile. After hiking and sweating in it for four days, it doesn't have the same stench that my synthetic tops would have. I hope to get more light merino shirts like this one in the future. One caveat is that the material seems to be a little bit fragile. There... Read More are a few small places where it has already pulled or pilled where it was rubbing against my pack. Not a huge deal in terms of function, but for the price I would expect better.

October 25, 2021

Perfection

This tank has become my part of my every day "uniform". Perfect for running in hot weather or layered under a sweater/fleece in cooler weather. It is the first thing I pack when headed out for a trip. The fit and fabric are perfection. It is holding up well after near daily wear.

September 10, 2021

Lightweight and comfy!

This shirt is worth the splurge! Very lightweight, soft, and comfy. I wouldn't say it's fully see through but it is slightly sheer. Due to its breathability and how lightweight it is, it is prone to snagging which is unfortunately. The slightest splinter or rough edge will tear it which happened to mine after the first wear. Overall thoug... Read Moreh, I definitely recommend! It's light enough on its own or makes for a great light layer with a jacket.

September 7, 2021

Year-round comfort

I have worn the Cap Cool Merino tank in the heat of summer (by itself) and now into autumn (as a base layer) and conclude it will be valuable all year-round. Although the cut is generous, it does not gap out with wearing, but it also doesn't shrink in the dryer. Best of all, it never gets stinky! Love it.

September 5, 2021

Best tank hands down

I absolutely love this tank top and Ive received so many compliments while wearing it. The fit and cut are excellent! Loved it so much I bought a second one!

September 5, 2021

Perfect

This is a perfect merino tank. Fit looks great. Fabric is soft and airy. Can go from work out to office shirt. I wish I could order one in many colors. Its a tad see through, but the right bra can help.

August 23, 2021

Favorite Tank

This is by far my most used tank - it runs a bit big but its so cozy! I love the high neck & the low stink. I find myself reaching for it more than any other shirt & wear it day after day. Would highly reccomend! As a note, im usually a size M, but the S was great with the larger sizing.

August 10, 2021

Amazing Fabric

Love this and I stay cool running and hiking in the heat, however, after 1 use I saw a hole on the side, very delicate fabric I am sad I love this and I wanted to get more when more colors are available.

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2021

Thank you so much for leaving a review. We are incredibly sorry to hear about the hole that occurred on your top. Please know you are always welcome to [return or repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your items at any time!

July 26, 2021

Perfection

I love wool for the summer and when the employee at the St. Paul store declared this the best item of the season, I bought 2. I wear one every single day. I run in this, sleep in this and even dress it up a little with a necklace and a skirt.

July 15, 2021

Pilling after a few wear

It is comfortable tank top with good coverage for wearing hydration vest without chaffing. However lots of pilling after just a few wear :/

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Thanks for the review Ling. unfortunately when wool blends meet friction pilling is bound to happen. Luckily there is an easy fix. Check out our [how to video](https://youtu.be/2aFbPb6Rn8o).

July 8, 2021

So soft, perfect for my runs

Loved this so much I bought two more after it arrived.

May 20, 2021

Soft and comfortable

After three children I didnt know how well this would fit. The description with the model including height and size helped me pick the most appropriate size. It fits perfectly and the fabric is so soft and comfortable. Totally worth it for walks, working the garden, and chasing after my three young children. Great quality and true to size. Im usual... Read Morely a small but after reading the product info and seeing the model info it helped tremendously to make the best decision on size. Im 57 and 140 lbs and small is snug but perfect.

May 10, 2021

this tank is my jam

This capilene merino line is great! I have long sleeve, tee and tank (medium) because I love how this fabric performs. I wear the tank in run and strength sessions. The hem stays down and I prefer exactly this type of crewneck when doing all kinds of floor work and inversions. After I soak it with sweat it's usually some time before I can get ... Read Moreto a shower, but unlike cotton or tri-blend, this doesn't cling and get clammy. It dries really quickly and remains odor-free. This fabric is among the best of the new introductions from Pat's spring/summer '21 line, no doubt.

May 4, 2021

lightweight, flattering fit

Super lightweight material and a really flattering fit, in my opinion. I'm an athletic build with wide lats/shoulders, narrow hips (5'5, 145 lbs) and the M fit me well with a decent amount of drape in the lower torso area. Under the armpits kind of flares out a bit (you can kinda see it on the model) but not noticeable when your arms are ... Read Moredown.

April 6, 2021

Nice color & good quality

Sometimes I'm better off with Mediums instead of Large, but I chose Large in this shirt & hope it shrinks a bit. The material is wonderful, but the armpits are quite large and show more bra than I'd like... That's the only reason I gave it a 4 star.

Response from Patagonia
April 9, 2021

Hey there, thanks for the review! It's not too late to make an exchange if you'd like, to get started click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 31, 2021

Perfect tank

Soft, breathable. The kind of tank I can wear casually, work out in, and nap in. Note Patagonia for improvement: The tag is stiff and pokes. Even after cutting off, that area irritates. Could the tag be attached differently, earier to remove?

March 17, 2021

My New Uniform.

When I find something I like I wear it like it's my uniform. This is one of those items. I bought this tank a week ago and I've worn it everyday since. It's still cold here in the Sierra's so I've been layering with it. I'm 5'7 and 155. I bought a M & L I'm keeping both but the M fits best the L is just a... Read More bit bigger through the torso. The feel is soft and silky it has a nice drape without being clingy and tight next to the skin. I love a classic tank to wear with everything and this is it. Thank you Patagonia!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches