burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Men's Capilene® Cool Daily Hoody

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 408 Reviews

Clear All

Men's Capilene® Cool Daily Hoody

4.8/5
True To Size
November 24, 2022

Great for sun protection

Im 5'10 and bought a small. I love the fit. I normally wear medium but wanted something that wouldn't billow in the wind and get caught on stuff. Great sun shirt, hood keeps the sun off the neck.

November 16, 2022

The Best

Look no further, best light weight hoody for the Keys in cool or warm weather. Ultimate comfort!

November 7, 2022

Breathable, Lightweight and comfortable

Capilene® Cool hoody keeps you cool on those warm days.

October 21, 2022

Make it with thumb holes please!

I lived in this hoody for two weeks on the Continental Divide Trail gravel biking route, riding up and down the spine of the Rockies and sweating thru it multiple times / day. The material and functionality is phenomenal, I was always dry, it never smelled. Two items of feedback: 1) make it with thumb holes! I bought this so that I didn't ... Read Morehave to mess with sun sleeves every day, but because there were no thumb holes, I had to wear my arm sleeves as wrist guards to prevent sun burn on the skin gap until my cycling gloves begin. 2) the sizing of the hoody is VERY different from your equivalent Capilene daily long sleeve tshirt. I am now an L in your capilene daily long sleeve T, but an XL in the hoody (the L is skin-tight strangely) Make it with a thumb hole and no one will even consider the Outdoor Research Echo or Black Diamond Alpenglow ever again. Great product!

October 21, 2022

Comfortable sun protection

I wore this shirt on a 7 day summer backpacking trip at high elevation in the Sierra Nevada. Despite the heat and exertion, I was comfortable in this shirt, and the sun protection was excellent. I liked it enough to buy a second one.

October 15, 2022

Bought it again

I liked my first one so much that I bought another same color and a few more in different colors.

October 12, 2022

Nice weight for warm sunny days

Love it. Perfect for cooler fall temps but also comfortable on sunny summer days.

October 8, 2022

Good sun protection

Very good sun protection. Surfing one afternoon with the hood in use, was very satisfying. On the beach with hood in use and a hat on was great. Before I realized, the shirt was dry. The only disappointment is the sleeve length is to short, exposing 3 inches of my wrist.

October 6, 2022

Go-to top layer

I love these capilene hoodies - super soft, but durable, great colors, great fit, I have three of these, I often sleep in them! And my preferred shirt in the day, from Fall thru Spring

October 5, 2022

The Patagonia Cool Daily Hoody

The Patagonia Cool Daily Hoody is a must for any outdoor activity in the Rocky Mountains.

October 3, 2022

I find your clothes needs

I find your clothes needs to be cut for a looser fit.

October 3, 2022

Versatile top

Lightweight, packable, quick wash top that can be worn year round - as a standalone or a layer. I probably have a half dozen by now.

September 26, 2022

Perfect Light Hoodie

The hoodie fits me well at 6'2" and 250lbs. It has been the perfect item for the fall weather as layering becomes necessary again. Even better is how small it can compact when not in use. I'm even able to ball it up and stick it in my shorts' pocket when the sun comes out. I have not tested it below 50 degrees, but anything abov... Read Moree that the hoodie is the perfect addition for just the right amount of coverage and warmth. Very happy with this purchase!

September 24, 2022

Really comfortable

This Capilene hoody is really soft and comfy. It is cool to the touch and provides nice protection from the sun. Glad I got it !

September 23, 2022

Excellent product

I really love the Capilene hoodies. Super comfortable, lightweight, moisture wicking, etc. Perfect for hot summers as well as hiking and other outdoor activities. I like them so much I have four of them and will probably buy more when new colors come out

September 21, 2022

Super comfortable and quality

Great lightweight hoodie with tremendous quality as always

September 20, 2022

Full sun protection, breathes easy

First wearing I wore it 4 days straight in the backcountry in Sierra, temps in the 80s, blazing sun. Kept me from burning - and overheating as it breathes easy - easier even than the Tropic Hoody I've long worn in sun spots. Great piece for high exertion at elevation

September 19, 2022

bought two, but they don't fit the same

One of the two that I bought fits perfectly. Sleeves are good length and there's a bit of room in the body so feels great while moving (biking, beach, hiking, etc.) There must have been cutting error with the other piece, because it feels like it's pulling across the chest while standing still, it's too tight, and the length is sho... Read Morerter than the other one. Absolutely love the item, just inconsistent sizing

September 18, 2022

Patagonia quality, but why?

I ordered the wrong product. I was looking for a hoodie that would get through a year or so as go to town wear, then turn into work wear. Which is inevitably what happens on a farm. This hoodie was nice but too light right out of the box. If you are okay with a cool casual hoodie that is not going to transition to crawling under the car at some poi... Read Morent. this could work for you. And it will no doubt last forever.

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2022

Hi Kenneth, we're sorry to hear that you picked up the wrong gear. You may have been looking for something like the [Men's Long-Sleeved Work Henley Pocket Tee](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-long-sleeved-work-henley-pocket-tee/53390.html?dwvar_53390_color=CGLD). This long-sleeve shirt rocks it as work wear and everyday wear. It's made with a super abrasion proof fabric that will last through any job.

September 14, 2022

Great casual lightweight hoody

Fits great but sleeves are a bit short for me. I do have long arms.

September 14, 2022

The short is light, breathable,

The short is light, breathable, and dries quickly. It immediately became a routine part of my attire.

September 13, 2022

Good gear

Perfect for just about any outdoor activity. I wear it hiking, and bike commuting. Cool enough for hot sunny days.

September 12, 2022

Its different!

Doesnt have the thumb holes or neck button as in the past which is a bummer. Also, its a little slimmer or Im a little rounder. Either way, I miss the model from a few years ago.

September 12, 2022

Just like this shirt

Great shirt/hoodie to wear around the house , take for a ride , beach or hike , especially love the cooling properties,I am a sweaty guy but like to keep covered for sun , my second one , nice enough to go out in

September 10, 2022

Great material

Ive got several of these, love them. The material is soft and silky, breathes well, and has a bit of stretch. Im 5 ft 11, 175 lbs, I can wear a medium or a large but the medium is a bit tight. The large is big enough that it allows airflow and it keeps you cooler. The hood goes well over a hat. Overall an excellent shirt!

September 10, 2022

Very comfortable, surprisingly stylish

Purchased to add some protection from the sun. The hoody is very stylish and fits well.

September 10, 2022

Lightweight protection from sun, bugs

This shirt is a farmer's dream. After trying several other hooded sun shirts that either snag, stretch out, fray, or have loose stitching, I found Patagonia's version. It's beyond expectations - after a full season of use on my organic farm, it still looks new aside from a few farm related dirt and vegetable stains. The shirt fits ... Read Moregreat and the hood is a perfect size to stay put but not too tight. Definitely recommend - I own 2 of these. 6', 160 lbs, size M

September 10, 2022

Great sun hoodie

Im happy with how very lightweight, breathable and sun protective this shirt is. Ive only used it on two short backpacking trips but its holding up well and not very stinky as advertised. The one change I would make is to have a half zipper in the front for extra ventilation. When my back is to the sun or Im mostly in the woods I dont need the same... Read More amount of sun protection.

September 9, 2022

Great design

Patagonia has improved their design on these. Replaced an older version and love the new.

September 9, 2022

Go to piece for lightweight warmth

I love this piece. It's really nice for long days on the trail in the sun. It keeps the sun off and the bugs away and works well as a lightweight lawyer under a wind breaker. I bought a second one to allow for a change after a few days of sweaty use. I love it so much I bought one for my wife and several friends who were jealous of it as we en... Read Morejoyed some bug filled warm days in the mountains. It's works perfectly with a running hat to shield the sun and keep it off the forehead. This is one of my select pieces that will see lots of use especially since it looks good at the office as well.

September 9, 2022

Super versatile, comfortable, functional. Great

Super versatile, comfortable, functional. Great fit and look. Essential item for year-round active folks.

September 9, 2022

Great backpacking hoodie!

Amazing how these do not stink after several days of backpacking. Great sun coverage, feels cool to the skin and I like the feel of the fabric.

September 8, 2022

Breathable, lighweight, and comfortable.

I live on the coast and often it can be sunny hot, but with a cutting breeze that leaves one a little chilly. This layer is a great in between when you are active, but get hot quickly and a sweatshirt would be sweltering. Also, I am chonky dude and this fits decent.

September 8, 2022

Great Product - especially for hot weather water activities

First used this product on my grand canyon rafting trip and it was absolutely fantastic for the hot and wet weather......wore it every day!

September 8, 2022

Versatile Layer

Bought and wore this layer on a high alpine, overnight climb within a week and it really performed. Protected from the sun while fairly cool feeling. Dried fast. Did well as a base layer under my puffy. (Heart)

September 7, 2022

Fits snug

I have had trouble recently with sizing with Patagonia. I have 30+ Patagonia pieces, and I have run into issues with the consistency of sizes. I typically wear a large, but thats been too big at times. I went with a medium on this piece and its snugger than I like. Given the circumstances, I didnt have the time to exchange the size on this to take ... Read Moreadvantage of the sale prices. I will continue to wear and use Patagonia given I believe in the mission, but I am a little concerned about the sizing with my subsequent orders. Thanks- Lukas McKnight

September 7, 2022

Super comfortable

Super comfortable for all body types.

September 7, 2022

very comfortable and light weight

very comfortable and light weight

September 7, 2022

A miss

Great material and super comfy...but three silly design errors make this a loser unfit for purpose. The arms are too short and without thumb hoops for covering hands. The hood is too loose without any adjuster (small snap or draw string) so would flap about or blow off in the wind. The shirt is silly short. This shirt is great for short fat people ... Read Morewatching TV, but not so good for anybody athletic doing anything outside.

Response from Patagonia
September 16, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Kyle; it will be shared with our design team. We're glad to see you have returned a shirt that won't work for you, since we want you to be happy with everything you get from us. Please let us know if we can help you find a different shirt that will work better for your needs!

September 7, 2022

Great feel to the fabric,

Great feel to the fabric, color is unusual in a good way

September 7, 2022

The perfect summer shirt

My kids live in these in the summer and I finally got myself one. Keeps your arms and neck from getting burned but is also super light and airy. Wearing a long sleeve hooded shirt shouldn't feel this cool. I feel less hot wearing this than a typical short sleeve cotton tee. Material has stretch to it and is perfect for any activity. My new go-... Read Moreto shirt for long summer days outside.

September 6, 2022

Hood Too Small

I'm not sure why it was changed, but the hood is smaller on this version of the capilene hoody. A sun shirt with a hood should have a hood that adequately protects the head/face from the sun, but unfortunately this one does not. I have an average size head and it covers my ears on the sides but leaves my cheeks, forehead, neck and face exposed... Read More. If you prefer a small hood, this could work great for you.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2022

Hi Josh! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the size of the hood. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 6, 2022

Easy everything layer

Really happy with this one. Great for paddle boarding, climbing, hiking. Fits easy under a top layer shirt. I probably could have gotten the medium but my arms are along and this size Large fits great. Drys fast, keeps me cool in the heat, all around winner.

September 6, 2022

This is the 2nd Cool

This is the 2nd Cool Daily Hoody I've purchased in the last six months. I love these hoodies so much. Light and easy. Great for just about any occasion.

September 6, 2022

Light, Comfortable

Thin, comfortable, and great for lounging and workouts.

September 6, 2022

Great lightweight hoody for sunny days

Great lightweight hoody to protect you from the sun when out on the water.

September 6, 2022

Runs small

I wear a large in everything else Patagonia for the past 30 years. This runs too small.

Response from Patagonia
September 13, 2022

Hi Kim, thank you for sharing this review. We're sorry to hear this Hoody was too small for you! We want you to be happy with everything you get from us, so we will reach out to you about options.

September 5, 2022

Nearly perfect

I love that as a long sleeved garment, it keeps me cooler that any other long sleeved top when I'm active on hot summer days. It fits me well in the shoulders and chest, but is long in the sleeves. If I were to design perfection, I'd add a zippered pocket somewhere (perhaps like Patagonia's older "tropical" hoodies had), st... Read Morerong enough to hold a phone or a wallet.

September 5, 2022

Perfect Mt. Biking shirt

I have 3 of these now and become my go-to for mt. biking. breathable but helps a lot with sun protection. On long exposed climbs I'll stash the helmet and use the hood. Big fan

September 5, 2022

Ideal transitional layer

Perfect first or second layer for biking, running, and hiking when the day starts too cool for short-sleeves. Great for post-swim coverup (Lake Superior is a chilly swim). Rode 40 miles in and out of fog and lake wind (~20-30mph) and hoody was warm enough, dried fast when I got splashed, and never got sticky or clammy in the sun and heat. Got a men... Read More's men size xs in green because I did not like any of the women's colors. Surprisingly, it was not too long. I am 64 inches, short torso, long legs, athletic build, and the xs fit well, drapes nicely, close to PG's regular fit. Long sleeves kept hands covered while biking (good sunblock). Have worn it for a week or so everyday w/o washing.

September 5, 2022

Comfortable versatile shirt

Love this shirt! Our whole family now enjoys these Capilene hoodies. Its cool enough to wear when its warm out and protect from the sun, also very layerable. Easy to wash and dry, and doesn't smell.

September 5, 2022

Great relaxed fit and colorful

Great relaxed fit and colorful fabric that provides sun guard on summer days and doubles as a great bed shirt in winter.

September 5, 2022

efficient

perfect for keeping the chill off when active; its not going to keep you warm while sitting, but that's not what it was meant for

August 31, 2022

Solid purchase

Super soft, stretchy, and thin. Perfect.

August 25, 2022

Itchy synthetic

If your skin does not like synthetics, this is not for you. Good fit, nice design, but an irritant to synthetic-sensitive skin. I applaud Patagonia's commitment to making synthetics sustainable, but they do not belong in products like clothing where alternatives are available.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2022

Hi John! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're very sorry to hear about the disappointment with the synthetic material in the hoody. We appreciate this feedback. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 24, 2022

Hoody = good

All is well with this item, just wish it had a neck button.

August 24, 2022

Oooooh man

This could be the best shirt I have honestly ever bought! The first one I purchased I wore every single day on a week long canoe trip on the Allagash. It kept me cool, warm, didn't get a bad odor, kept the sun off of me, was so impressed with it. I came home and wore it to work, wore it to barbecues, and then bought two more before going on a... Read More an anniversary trip with my wife to Miami. Then I wore them every day there as well. Then I cam home and volunteered at a summer camp for a week and wore them there every day too. They look great and feel great! Definitely give it a try if you have any interest!

August 13, 2022

Blocks the sun well

keeps the sun off my skin, light weight

August 12, 2022

Light & Soft

Just came back from a week long sailing trip and the hoody was perfect for long days in the sun. So light and soft that I almost didn't notice I was wearing it. I usually wear a medium, but the large fits perfectly for a slightly loose fit or wearing over another shirt.

August 8, 2022

Supreme comfort

Extremely lightweight, sweat wicking, and breathable, with awesome UV protection that I love versus of carrying a tube of sunscreen around. Packs down super small and is great at all times of day- cool mornings into sweltering afternoons. Definite thumbs up!

August 8, 2022

Humongous BO amplification

Great shirt for Sun protection. Feels good, looks good, Hood has a nice shape. One big drawback is after a few hours in the sun it gives me the stinkiest BO Ive ever had in my life. I am not an effervescent or overly stinky person in every day clothes but this shirt cranks your BO up to 11. If you were to design a shirt to make you smell like a dog... Read More that rolled in a dead animal this would be it. I fish solo so it doesnt bother me. I have two of them.

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2022

Hi James, thank you for submitting this review. We're so sorry to hear this shirt is enhancing odor; with its Hei-Q Pure odor control this should not be happening. If you are dissatisfied for any reason, we encourage you to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

August 8, 2022

Miss the tropic comfort

Great product, but miss the fit of the OG capalene sun shirt.

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2022

Hi Patrick, thank you for this feedback. If you're looking for the relaxed fit of the Tropic Comfort Hoody II you might check out the [Capilene Cool Daily Graphic Hoody - Relaxed Fit](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-capilene-cool-daily-graphic-hoody-relaxed-fit/45335.html?dwvar_45335_color=AGIB). Please let us know if we can help you find a better fit!

August 4, 2022

Perfect Sun Shirt

Lightweight, comfortable, and stylish, this sun shirt is perfect for the beach, park, or around town. It provides much needed protection from the sun for those long days outdoors. I especially like the fitted hood which protects the back of the neck and ears. Highly recommended for all outdoor endeavors.

August 3, 2022

Good, but room for improvements

I've tried more sun hoodies than I can count. From a comfort standpoint, the Capilene Cool hoodie fabric feels better than any others. But it has some shortcomings. As a regular sun hoodie, it's just fine. But for certain environments, it lacks considerably. The hood has the largest flaw. It has a very broad enclosure which limits the abi... Read Morelity to block sun along the anterior neck, lower face and under the chin-places that desperately need protection in the alpine and marine environments. I'd also really like to see a slightly longer back to prevent riding up, similar to the cut on the R1 fleece. A version with thumb loops or extension of the sleeves to the palms would also improve this shirt as a base layer for those environments. As a non-technical shirt, this is a great shirt in any of the forms, but would really love a more technical version, or some of the improvements (or in the least improve the hood). Also, as a preference thing, I would really love to see more light colors available and keep it free of large logos on the chest or back (one reason I didn't like the Tropic Comfort was the large logos)

Response from Patagonia
August 8, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, James! We will share your thoughts with the appropriate team here.

August 2, 2022

I originally bought this for

I originally bought this for after surfing, which worked out great to stand around in the sun and watch the surf. Then I started using it for commuting to work on my mountain bike in the summer, and for the office when the air conditioning gets too cool. Its my first choice to grab since buying it. I also have an older grey shirt too.

August 2, 2022

Amazing

Just what I was looking for! Protected me from the sun at RockyGrass 2022. Totally recommending this hoodie!

August 1, 2022

Super comfortable! Weather at the beach, chillin at home this is my go to hoodie

Super comfortable! Weather at the beach, chillin at home this is my go-to hoody

August 1, 2022

Cool in the sun

This long sleeve provides a reprieve from the sun while kayaking or hiking without feeling stifled or restricted. Perfect for those humid days where the sun just wont stop.

August 1, 2022

Missing features

Nice hoody but really wish these had thumb loops and a definitive UPF rating not just a UPF average rating of 34

Response from Patagonia
August 4, 2022

We're sorry to hear about your disappointment in our Men's Capilene Cool Daily Hoody. We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some help with your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

July 29, 2022

Needs better hood design

The hood has no drawstring or any other way to tighten it around the head. If the wind's blowing in your face, it blows the hood off

July 29, 2022

I cheated and am glad I did

I'm a woman but I like the dark green color in the men's version. I'm 5'6" and 117lbs. Some men's stuff doesn't fit at all but this was perfect in XS. It's so comfy with just the right amount of bagginess for air flow. Think I need to cheat more often.

July 29, 2022

Almost perfect

A excellent sun hoody. The anti-odor treatment works well, and the piece dries quickly. Suggested improvements would be to add thumb holes, and for really hot days (greater than 90-95 degrees F), a more breathable (=more open weave) fabric.

July 23, 2022

Great!

Wish they made a short sleeve version

July 22, 2022

Very cool

I was looking for a hoody to wear in hot, humid conditions. This showed up when I was halfway through cutting my lawn on a 90+ day. Good time to try it. The effect was immediate. It actually felt like it created a breeze. Obviously there was a slight breeze, but it was undetectable in my sweaty t-shirt. Since then have used it for the beach, runnin... Read Moreg, and working outdoors in hot conditions. Fits true to size, slightly loose. Only suggestion I have is to make the hood a little deeper for more coverage. Highly recommend.

July 22, 2022

Very comfortable in the heat.

Great shirt for sun protection while on my bike. The addition of thumb loops to close the gap to my cycle gloves would be the only improvement I would like to see.

July 20, 2022

Incredibly Lightweight and Great Sun Coverage

My husband loves this shirt because the neck comes up high to protect from the sun. It is very lightweight, so can wear in the hot sun and still have protection from the sun. Great alternative to having to wear sunscreen.

July 19, 2022

My favorite fishing shirt

Great shirt for fishing in buggy areas, the hood is great for when the mosquitoes get bad.

July 15, 2022

Great shirt but hoody too small

The shirt is great and super breathable, allows me to avoid wearing sunscreen while being comfortable in the sun and heat. However the hoody is too small.

July 14, 2022

Just. Great.

These hoodies are perfect to throw on over a shirt on a nice cooler summer day or if its hot out to just wear by itself. Super sweat wicking keeps me cool in the sun, feels like you don't even have a shirt on!

July 13, 2022

Excellent

Super lightweight and great sun protection! I especially bought this for going out on my boat and it is perfect for boating! Highly recommend!

July 12, 2022

Great light-weight shirt for tropical travel

Simple and less 'fisherman' than some of the other sun shirts. Bought for tropical travel when I need a little more cover but still want to stay cool. Great looking casual hoody for travel and every day.

July 10, 2022

Best last minute decision

Right before heading out on an 11-day backpacking trip on the Tour du Mont Blanc in the Alps, I bought this layer to cover the gap between a wool t-shirt baselayer and a micro puff jacket. I'm so glad I did. Paired with my Patagonia Quandary shorts, the capilene hoody was my daily go-to for cool morning breakfasts and evening dinners in the re... Read Morefuge mountain huts, village restaurants, and in the few hotels we stayed in. It was very comfortable, easy to wash in the sink, did not hold odor, and dried overnight. It's also lightweight and compressible for easy backpacking. This hoody is going to be a regular addition for all hiking, camping, and fly fishing outings in the future!

July 8, 2022

The first step

Admitting I have a problem. I'm addicted to this shirt. I have three of them and will often pack an extra one on outings in case someone else gets cold. As soon as they put it on, they comment on how perfect it feels. As someone who has a capilene mid-layer that has been worn every year since the early 90s, it came as no surprise to me that th... Read Moreis shirt was soft, breathable, comfortable, warm, but not too warm. I find myself putting one of these on when the sun's out and I'm getting roasted, as it keeps me cool and shaded. I can easily pack this into my fanny pack on bike rides where I might get chilly, and generally throw one on right after a workout before I cool off. This has displaced my longtime favorite hoody as a go-to because of it's comfort, weight, and packability!

July 5, 2022

Excellent and Comfortable

Holy fart! This is a great piece of gear!

July 3, 2022

Love this hoodie, just what I needed

This is a great hoodie. As a personal trainer working in a very cold gym, this hoodie is a great layer to have on hand as you cool down. I also use this as a casual shirt. It's light, flexible, and warm. You won't be disappointed in having this in your gym bag, carry on when traveling and just laying around the house.

June 29, 2022

Cool in the sun

This is perfect to keep the sun off you as well as a chilly summer night.

June 24, 2022

Nice product

Great for wearing in the cold or warm weather. Protects from the sun. Well made product.

June 23, 2022

Damn near perfect shirt

I have 2 of these and they are just ideal. I bought them to replace a couple of well used (and smelly) synthetic shirts for hiking and working out. These are very light weight and almost feel like nothing at all. They dry in a flash, seem to be plenty rugged so far, and look great as well. I'm so happy with these, they are my new summer WFH at... Read Moretire paired with my Stand Up shorts. I always initially cringe at the price, but I have yet to regret spending on anything from Patagonia. These shirts are no exception. Great quality as always.

June 22, 2022

Farmer approved

Capilene kept me cool and covered while working on a farm under the subtropical summer sun! My only suggestion would be to make the hood slightly larger to get better facial protection.

June 21, 2022

excellent fit and comfortable wearing

excellent fit and comfortable wearing hoody. great fabric.....NNL

June 14, 2022

Love the feel

This shirt has an amazingly comfortable feel to it. Its perfect for warm summer days when you want some sun protection. Highly recommend for river trips.

June 14, 2022

Most comfortable long sleeve shirt ever

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Daily Hoody is awesome! It's in my rotation to help hide from the Arizona sun and keep cool on hot days. I use it for everything from mountain biking to hiking and even air travel to get a comfortable layer between me and all the gross things in airports and on airplanes. The Capilene feel is super soft and ... Read Morenatural. Simply can't say enough good things about this piece, go get some for yourself. Buy two to start because one won't be enough.

June 8, 2022

Great fit and comfortable

Last year a purchased a Tropic comfort hoodie. I loved it. But they got discontinued. This is really close and still really good. It doesn't have thumb holes or the hood button. The Tropic Comfort is still in good shape after a year of fairly heavy use. I have only worn the Cool Daily hoodie a few time so I can't speak on longevity.

June 7, 2022

Lightweight and cool

Got this hoping for lightweight UV protection for long days in the sun. Happy with the fit, and the fabric is so light and cool. When a breeze blows through this shirt, I feel it cool against my skin.

May 30, 2022

Nice hoody

Im using to get protection from sun when Im at the pool

May 19, 2022

Glorious hooded shirt

Wake up, toss this on, and enjoy wearing the comfortable shirt in the world. It's silky, it's smooth, it's fantastic.

May 16, 2022

Great for Colorado Weather

I love this as a sun blocking layer in the summer and as an active layer in the spring and fall. Really I wear it all the time.

May 16, 2022

Poor Fitting Shirt

The hood on this shirt is extremely small and offers no sun protection whatsoever. Had to return to Patagonia, just seems like there is very little consistently in their sizing at this point.

Response from Patagonia
May 18, 2022

Hi Nels, thank you for sharing this feedback. We're sorry to hear this shirt didn't fit you right! This shirt was part of our UPF recall, when we discovered that some of our UPF styles didn't have the level of protection we had believed they did. Still good sun protection, but not the 50+ UPF we had anticipated. We're glad you got this one returned and refunded.

May 12, 2022

Great Fit

This hoodie is very versatile and comfortable. I highly recommend it!

May 10, 2022

Versatile piece! Hot or cool weather

Wore 24 days straight on colorado trail couldnt be happier.

May 9, 2022

Super comfortable

It is so smooth on skin. I wear it on cool to warm day. On cold (40~50 deg-F) day I wear it under fleece jacket. The hood keeps me warm around my neck.

May 8, 2022

Lightweight, protective and comfortable

I love that this shirt is lightweight and cool and gives some shade from the sun on a hot day. The main reason I bought it is because of its coverage and the fact that I can wear the hood under my bike helmet with no problem. It keeps my ears and neck covered and shaded from the sun when I ride. Size-wise, its hard to say how it would fit a male bu... Read Moret it fits me perfectly and I normally wear a womans medium.

May 7, 2022

Essential

I use the capilene cool hoody, coupled with a ball cap for spring skiing on volcanoes and glaciers to protect from the reflective oven type conditions. I also wear them every day in the summer for outdoor ski area work where the UV at 9,000 ft is intense. The lightweight fabric keeps me cool and has proven to be very durable. At 6 170lbs skinny-ath... Read Moreletic the medium size is perfect. I own 3 and love em!

May 6, 2022

As always

The usual excellent quality and thoughtful design that has made me a patagoniac since the Ventura store opened

April 25, 2022

Great for keeping the sun off you

Lightweight and protective from the sun. My last one lasted through a couple years of pretty intense use. Unfortunately, the new one is 2 or 3 inches longer. I have no clue why. Otherwise, it is cut identically. Id probably buy again, but I was it were 3 inches shorter again.

April 25, 2022

Best Hot Weather Shirt

I have about 5 of these from over the last few years-plus the t-shirt style as well. My absolute go to during the hot summer months- I basically wear nothing else. They are durable- breathable- great on scorching hot days. Five stars- would recommend to anyone.

April 24, 2022

This hoodie is your new best friend

I love me some hoodies. When it gets too warm for a regular hoodie, this one is the best of all worlds. Great fit, you stay comfy as hell (unless you wear an undershirt, then youll get warm), and just so soft. No kidding, this is a steal. Like all Capilene clothes, it gets static-y, but rub a dryer sheet over it and its not a problem. Buy it, for r... Read Moreeal.

April 18, 2022

So far so good

I've only taken it out once, but I'm sure to get countless days out of it as the weather warms. Seems great so far.

April 16, 2022

Tight around my neck

I was hoping the hoodie would be good to protect me from the sun rays on warm days. Unfortunately it keeps me too hot and is tight in the neck. I do like it on cool mornings but I think I might have to add a zipper in the neck so it doesnt choke me. I have a normal neck size for a 5 11 man.

Response from Patagonia
April 18, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Zachary. We're sorry to hear this hoody is uncomfortable for you! Given how light this fabric is you may not want to try adding a zipper. You are absolutely welcome to return this hoody if you wish. If the neck is uncomfortable you might take a look at the full-zip Men's [Stretch Terre Planing Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stretch-terre-planing-hoody/86187.html?dwvar_86187_color=CLSE), which is a little heavier but offers flexibility in fit around the neck. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team at (800) 638-6464 if we can help you with a return or exchange.

April 11, 2022

High Value

I have similar hoodies from different companies, but you can tell that Patagonias hoodie is a better quality. It may cost more but the value is still worth it.

April 7, 2022

Great fit, but hood needs modification for running/hiking.

Great fit, super soft and comfortable! Only problem is the hood needs a either elastic around the edge or a snap closure at the neck to make it snug enough that it is viable/stays on if you are using it for running or even hiking when there is any sort of wind. I just bought a pearl snap kit and put one in myself and it works great now!

April 6, 2022

The perfect shirt for all occasions

I have a few of these, they have proved to be an excellent fast drying base layer during winter activities, and obviously they get worn every day during summer, the hood isnt noticeable but it sure is nice if your head is getting scorched in july, or an icy breeze is blowing down your neck in January here in Wisco, really a do all shirt for every n... Read Moreeed that I have.

March 23, 2022

Comfy!

Super comfy light weight hoody. Used for a fishing under-layer and sun protection. Very soft and breathable.

March 23, 2022

Light weight & easy care

The fit is good. I use the hoody for hiking, biking, camping and daily wear. Easy to hand wash and air dries quickly. Seems to be less prone to funky odors than synthetic shirts from other vendors.

March 19, 2022

very comfortable

This was a gift for our grandson and he absolutely loves it! Wore it the very day he received it!

March 17, 2022

Good base

Im 6 foot, 180 lbs, size 42 chest. Purchased a medium. Slightly snug, which is what I wanted for a base layer. If I were buying to wear over a t-shirt, I think a large would be better

March 17, 2022

Super soft

Good fit

March 17, 2022

Very Comfortable

I really like this lightweight hoodie.

March 16, 2022

Great quality and looks good!

This shirt was a perfect fit. Its super comfortable and looks good on me. The first time I wore it I received a few compliments. Its a little too pricey though. I would buy more if price wasnt so high.

March 16, 2022

Light and breathable

Works great as mid layer for 3 season hiking

March 16, 2022

Very Comfortable

I enjoy how quick drying it is. On a hot summer day, you can put it on right after getting out of the water and it dries very quickly. Also, the hood does a good job staying in place which is a common issue with thin hoodies

March 16, 2022

Practical, comfortable - looks good!

I wear this in and out of the water at the beach. Dries so fast I dont notice it. Great sun protection. Bought a second.

March 14, 2022

Awesome

I love this shirt. Super soft and comfortable. Wicks sweat away nicely and also keeps me warm in 50 degree weather. I would like to buy a few more.

March 14, 2022

Cool Daily Feels Better on My Skin Than the Best Cotton

Maybe silk would feel better. I would not know. I much prefer the shawl style hood since it can go under or over a helmet. The material seems to wear better than cotton. Capilene has come a long way since its early days. This is a higher use for petro-chemicals than combustion. Someday, all these synthetic materials may be made from "green&quo... Read Moret; hydrogen and carbon dioxide. If we live, that is.

March 13, 2022

Just Right

Just right for a walk down the beach on cool, windy evenings in a warm climate.

March 1, 2022

Great fitting shirt

Great shirt that fits well. My wife loves how I look in it!! A win in my book

February 25, 2022

Great all around top

This is the second one I purchased. Highly recommend

February 23, 2022

Great hiking sun hoodie

Super soft, fits great and helps protect me from the sun. This is my go to hiking shirt.

February 13, 2022

My favorite

I really love these shirts. I am 6'5 with an athletic build. Really wish the sleeves and torso where a little longer in a size Large. I have to get XL for the length but it backs the overall fit a bit baggy

February 10, 2022

nice, soft, and comfotable

I'd buy another if the sleeves were long enough. The medium is cut for 5'10'' fit person... I'm 5'11 with long arms so the sleeves are a tad short and it is a little snug, but that will improve when I get into better shape. Patagonia's fit has just not been consistent for me lately.

February 9, 2022

Cool hoodie

Light weight, dries fast.

February 7, 2022

Perfect cover.

Comfortable. Lightweight uv protection that keeps me mobile and active

February 7, 2022

Just a great hoodie

No frill, No crazy graphics, Just a great fitting shirt, Ive been wearing it today while at home and running errands and absolutely love it,

February 5, 2022

Go to pullover

I have three of these in different colors. This hoody is perfect for fall soccer games, summer beach trip evenings, and spring hikes. The fabric is soft, wicks well, and layers without bunching. Contrary to some reviews, I did not have any shrinking and found the fit true to size.

January 23, 2022

relaxed and weightless

love this shirt - have 2 now

January 18, 2022

Just right

I now own 5 of these. They are a great summer shirt with a hood to keep out the sun and breath, and a great layer in the winter with a hood to keep your head warm. They are also very durable and long lasting. Simply the best shirt in their class.

January 12, 2022

Another great product

Simply one of the best Patagonia products and I have almost all of them. Versatile and amazing in all conditions.

January 5, 2022

Comfortable

Very pleased with the fabric and fit.

December 28, 2021

size up and be happy

this material shrinks on conventional washing-drying cycle. Size up and be happy

December 26, 2021

Great but still smells

I have bought 5 of these garments and will most certainly buy more. They are great in the sun nut they are not odor proof at all and hold the funk more than cotton or wool. I do allot of whitewater multi day trips and after a few days the garment stinks and just like in the old days of poly pro, it holds that funk smell that you cannot wash out.

December 25, 2021

Size up

For a relaxed fot, size up. Material tends to shrink after washing and drying. Great soft fabric, comfortable for all day wear

December 21, 2021

Lightweight and Comfortable

At 5'7, 160 lbs I think this hoody's sizing is great! I have good range of motion when working out and the material is both comfortable and breathable. Don't sleep on the turquoise color as I think it's quite unique and bright enough to make you stand out in the sea of grays and blacks.

December 15, 2021

Basically perfect, minor issues

I love this shirt so much I can't believe I never wrote a review for it. I've worn it to hike numerous 13,000ft peaks, and really put it through the wringer as my only shirt on a three-day, 30-mile trip backpacking the north rim of Yosemite valley. This shirt did everything as advertised: despite the UPF rating recall, it still offered g... Read Morereat sun protection even when I spent a lot of time at high elevations. It does a fantastic job wicking sweat and kept me dry all day, and even after three days of me sweating in it it didn't smell disgusting. Unless you happen to get a lemon, it should perform exactly how it's supposed to. It's also a great fall base layer under a jacket. I own two, and bought one for my girlfriend, her sister, and her mom. For casual use, you won't find a more comfortable shirt to lounge around in either. My only criticism: it could DEFINITELY use some thumb loops. That's the only bummer. And one last observation: it's perfect for dry climates, but I wore it in North Carolina in high humidity and it clung to me, so manage your performance expectations according to your climate.

December 9, 2021

Super warm layer that shields the sun and wind.

I have ordered 3 of these for my family and love it. It is comfortable, stylish, protects from sun and wind. Wear as a layer, over a bathing suit or yoga top and great for walks and hikes.

December 7, 2021

Incredibly comfy

I want to wear this all the time and wish they had more colors. For someone who runs hot, it's been surprisingly good in sunny mid-80s temps. Will need to try it out when it gets warmer, but it's winter here.

June 1, 2021

Sun shield

Ive worn this in hot sun playing tennis to protect from the rays and hiking in the snow; not a hoody guy but this protects my head and neck. Wearing it now on the couch as I write this.

May 30, 2021

New Favorite Sun Hoody

This has now become my go to top piece for hiking/backpacking. It is light, cool against the skin and provides excellent sun protection.

May 26, 2021

Comfortable

Soft and comfortable but sleeves are short and a little tight under the arms. My last tropic hoody was a large and I was "swimming" in it so I went for a medium. Nice product but sizing is not great for me. Probably should have gotten a large.

Response from Patagonia
May 26, 2021

Hey there, it's not too late to exchange! If you'd like to switch yours out for a size large, you can begin that process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 24, 2021

Perfect Sun Hoody

This has made me a convert to wearing sun hoody's while hiking in the desert and on sunny days in the mountains.

May 22, 2021

Great piece for hot days!

Definitely the best non flashy hot weather piece you guys make! Only problem I found was it ran a bit small when i ordered my regular XL sizing... I went up 1 size and the fit was much better for me!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches