Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Daily Hoody

Write Your Review

4.87 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 70 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Daily Hoody

4.87
True To Size
March 13, 2020

Should be could called Gold!

This thing is amazing. Worth its weightlessness in gold! Wore this every day on the Arizona Trail for 115 miles. Super lightweight, protected from the sun. Great as a base layer in the wind and rain but not when it is cold. Slept in it cause it let heat out into the sleeping bag to keep me warm. Yes, I stunk, but not as bad as I could have. washed ... Read Moreout in a stream and dried in the sun quickly. Was worried that it might ride up the back, many brands have a longer "tail", but mine did not ride up at all. Cuffs were not tight and easily stayed in place as I pulled them up, just 3" above my wrists. Perfect for me in every way. Only shirt I'll carry now. This thing is among the best of the Patagonia gear that I own.

January 29, 2020

Most have staple for any outdoor enthusiast.

I've done 2000ft days in Yosemite climbing in this, soaked it fishing rivers and hiked my sweaty backpack hauling a toddler on my back. This light weight miracle does it all. I have it in 3 colors.

January 12, 2020

What a gift to the hiker

Phenomenally light and protective. It's like nothing I've ever worn before. Doesn't hold the sweat like normal wear. hoody comes hand to tuck into my wide brim hat. Great for the heat and sun.

December 30, 2019

Awesome shirt!!

Great sun protection, quick drying, comfortable fabric

December 28, 2019

Capilene® Cool Daily Hoody

Actually, wouldn’t change a thing. Well, it would be nice if all the colors were available.

December 23, 2019

Liked it very much. Light

Liked it very much. Light weight and comfortable

December 23, 2019

Ideal light runner’s hoody

Essential winter running wear in Southern Oregon with occasional light rain and more.

December 1, 2019

Super comfy / Pills quick

This hoody is super comfy and fits well for slim/athletic build. It was quickly becoming my go to hoody. Unfortunately, it pills super quick - within a week, without washing, it was already pilling on the front and sleeves.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

Thanks for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear about the pilling. By their nature, knitted garments are prone to pilling. Removing pills can help lengthen the life of your Patagonia hoody, plus it’s easy to do with a sweater stone. Learn about removing pills on [Worn Wear](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/repair-and-care#/Guide/How+to+Remove+Pilling+from+a+Patagonia+Sweater/19439). You are also welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us if you find that you are unsatisfied with the performance.

November 4, 2019

PCT Approved

I wore this top pretty much 24x7 for 6 months while thru hiking the PCT this year (and it had seen about 100 miles before I started). Despite hiking in it all day and then sleeping in it most nights, it stayed fresh for ages (can't say the same about myself though). I love the loose fit and soft feel of this top, and how it protected me from t... Read Morehe sun, negating the need for a sun umbrella (the hood fits great by itself, or over a ball cap). Apart from being faded by the sun the only sign of wear is a small hole in the right shoulder (and it was a tough trail this year, with a lot of snow, blow downs and overgrown trail). Some experienced hikers say don't buy expensive tops as they don't last while thru hiking and I certainly saw a lot of hikers fashioning tops with more holes than fabric - however, they obviously don't know about this top. I would definitely buy another, but my current one is still going strong.

October 30, 2019

Beat the heat, protect your neck, look good doing it.

Somehow this hoody makes me feel less hot than wearing nothing at all. The hood is a good size and stays in place. Keeps me from getting sunburned. Very handsome. I am 6'2", athletic build, and the XL fits without being too loose in the midsection, wouldn't go shorter because I need the extra length.

October 22, 2019

Fantastic Layer

My girlfriend stole this from me and won't give it back, its that good.

October 16, 2019

Great layer

This is a great lightweight hoodie. It fits great (5'9" athletic build). The material is super comfortable. It was a little thinner than I expected, but makes it fit well under a pullover sweater or vest for layering. I comfortably wore it on its own in 60 degrees but might not go much lower, it's light enough to wear in much hotter ... Read Moreweather.

October 9, 2019

Great comfort and style, plus

Great comfort and style, plus SPF50. After wearing my purchase, I bought one for my wife too.

October 2, 2019

Excellent sun hoody

As always, the light-weight capiline is the best base layer material on the market. It's light and comfortable even in the heat. Fit is perfect for climbing. I have long arms, and the long sleeves are a bit short for a casual feel, but perfectly lengthed for climbing.

September 23, 2019

This shirt is a staple

This shirt is a staple for everything I do, it's the perfect layer for keeping you cool and protected from the sun and wind. It excels as a lightweight moisture wicking top for high aerobic activity in cool weather and it feels buttery soft against your skin which makes you never want to take it off! I sometimes sleep in it too.

September 16, 2019

Perfect Hoody

I was worried that the shirt would fit, but the hood would be too small. I was delightfully surprised. Everything from the hood down fit perfectly.

September 14, 2019

Cool daily hoody

One of the most comfortable shirts ever. Great for being outside while the sun is beating down on you whether on the boat or just hanging out. Fit is slim but not too tight in my opinion, makes you look athletic. Need more color options!

September 12, 2019

awesome

This is the dopest shirt ever. Keeps me cool when it's super hot and humid. Also kept me from getting gross and clammy when I wore it under my rain jacket. And it didn't get stink during a backpacking trip, which was nice. I have two, and I wish the xs wasn't all sold out cause I'd fer sher get more. I call it my magic shirt, an... Read Mored I told all my friends to get it. I only have like 4 friends but that's beside the point. Also, thumb holes or something would be a nice addition. Other than that, it's pretty much perfect.

September 7, 2019

Daily Hoody

Perfect second layer for trail running,. Been unsung pre and post run, especially as mornings are getting cooler

September 2, 2019

Great sun hoody

I have four of these hoodies. I like the fit and fabric. Great choice to keep the sun off.

August 31, 2019

truly for everyday

Comfortable to wear, looks good, can be dressed up with a scarf and skirt or nice pants or a day of hiking or on the beach, makes sun protection a pleasure instead of a chore. Washes well and dries in no time.

August 23, 2019

My new favorite sun shirt

I’ve been using this shirt over the summer to fish and climb. It’s the coolest long sleeve shirt I own but in South Carolina it’s still a ls tee. Still better than wearing sun screen. Def recommend.

August 19, 2019

Another perfect piece

Super lightweight which is perfect base layer or for summer use. Only wish that it had thumb holes.

August 18, 2019

Sun Protection That Lasts All Day

River guides, whitewater kayakers, fishermen, and ultimate frisbee players who want to save their skin without all the chemicals will love this lightweight layer that protects the arms, neck, and ears from harmful UV rays. It’s my new go-to base layer for whitewater kayaking on bright sunny days.

August 16, 2019

Capilene Cool Daily Hoody

I love this hoodie, especially when belaying and hiking. It provides protection from the sun but doesn't add much heat at all. Super comfy too, highly recommend.

August 16, 2019

Awesome Hoody...

A go to hoody for summer months and workouts..

August 15, 2019

Great for a budding beach baby

Got this for our 18 month old daughter, and our trip to Hawai'i. Worked really well for both hikes and the beach. It was hot and humid but she never seemed to fuss about heat, and never got burned.

August 15, 2019

Cap Hoody

Great intermediate layer, love the feel and it’s also a “go to” when a tee shirt isn’t enough!

August 15, 2019

Best sun shirt ever

The fabric is light and feels cool on the skin. This shirt has become my favorite for ultra running. I’ll put the hood up and it seems it channels cool air down my back. I’ve never had a long sleeve shirt I felt was cooler than a tank top.

August 15, 2019

Fabric, fit, feel...

The shirt is perfect. Well done!

August 15, 2019

Awesome Hot Weather Hoody with 1 problem

These capilene cool shirts are my favorite hot weather outdoor material. The way the material handles sweat, sun, and humidity while maintaining a good feel on the skin is incredible. They do have a big issue though - the fit. I have multiple version of the Capilene Cool, and every single one has the same problem of being too short. I am 6’3” 175lb... Read More with a tall torso, if these shirts were any shorter I couldn’t wear them because my waist would be exposed to the public! Size Medium. The hoody version also has extremely short sleeves when compared to the tropic comfort hoody. I have another capilene cool shirt in Large and it is also very short.

August 15, 2019

The light weight sun hoody

The light weight sun hoody is perfect, Great sun protection, loose fit, dries quickly. 👍🏼

August 15, 2019

Ms Capilene Cool Daily Hoody

Great hoody that only gets more complements every time I wear it. I've worn it in the Midwest at carb day for the Indy 500, I've worn it on the coast in Oregon, and I just wore it for two days straight in the Hoh Rainforest on a 40 mile backpacking trip.

August 14, 2019

Great shirt

Light, comfortable, fits great.

August 12, 2019

Loved it so much, l Bought a Second

Great shirt! Perfect for sun protection even on the hottest days! I’m 6’2” 200 lbs....bought a large and it fits perfectly.

August 12, 2019

Fantastic!!!

I love this hoody! Super soft against my skin and with the minimal stiching, there are no issues when wearing a backpack all day. I just completed a section of the PCT and wore the same hoody all day, every day and there was NO SMELL!!! Also, I love having the sun protection. Great job Patagonia.

August 12, 2019

Best shirt ever.

I wear this to the beach and kayaking all the time. Keeps me cool and the sun off. Fits great. I love it.

August 11, 2019

Great shirt

Easy to carry, light weight layer. The material is very comfortable and breathable. Haven't used the hood yet, but seems like really good insurance for late hike warmth.

August 10, 2019

No more sunscreen!

Wearing this hoodie to roof in the PNW this summer. I wear a baseball cap and pull the hoody up all the way then spend all day on a hot roof. I come home without a farmers tan and without the tips of my ears being sunburnt. Haven’t worn sunscreen all summer. Shirt is lightweight and breathable, easy to work in.

August 10, 2019

Go to shirt

This shirt is so comfortable and performs well in just about any situation. I’ve slept in it, exercised in it, had chill brews in it... the list goes on. Get you some.

August 10, 2019

Cool and comfy!

Best shirt for everything summer. Wish it came in more Caribbean colors.

August 10, 2019

Great!

Blocks UV, breathes, dries quickly

August 10, 2019

Great shirt!

Comfortable, cool, soft, and very light weight. 5 stars

August 10, 2019

Best sunny day shirt ever!

I never pictured myself wearing a long sleeve hoody on a sunny day, but here I am wearing it EVERYDAY. Seriously, I took the 'No Stink' challenge and wore this shirt for over a week until I spilled mustard on it before washing and it made me a believer. Lightweight fabric, (Incredibly so,) that breathes but also provides as much sun prote... Read Morection as you need. Hiking, mountain biking, on the river and pool side, it really is the all around one shirt you should own.

August 10, 2019

Perfect for the river, biking,

Perfect for the river, biking, and daily use

August 10, 2019

Best Sun Hoody Ever

See title. This shirt is the best, i have 3 colors. I live in sun hoodies and these win.

August 10, 2019

Ideal summer protection . Sized

Ideal summer protection . Sized correctly for 5 ' 11" ; 200 lbs.

August 10, 2019

cool daily hoody

Fits well, nice layer for sunny hot Texas summers and Colorado high altitude sun.

August 10, 2019

Sun protection 👍👍

I love the cut and the functionality of this hoodie. Great sun protection for time in the high mountains. The only thing I don’t like about this hoodie is that I make it smell horrible after only an hour or so of wearing. Alas, synthetic fibers.

August 10, 2019

Perfect for a sunny day hike

This has become my go-to summer sun outdoor gear. The material is thin (but still blocks the sun), super soft, a little stretchy, and cool. Even on a hot day in full sun, I don’t overheat — and in fact I put the hood on to further block the sun. It also does a great job keeping mosquitos from bothering me. I like it so well, I bought a backup! I’m... Read More 6’2”, 175 lbs and the medium fits me pretty well. That said, I do wish the sleeves were an inch or two longer. I think the large would have been too big, but didn’t try it.

August 10, 2019

Love not wearing your 50+ UPF surf wear instead of sunscreen

I purchased a couple of your 50+ UPF shirts for my recent trip to Hawaii and they kept me protected from the sun better than sunscreen ever could. Great product that protects me from the environment and protects the environment and me from the chemicals in sunscreen.

August 10, 2019

Capilene hoody

Use it while fishing . Great sun protection. I love it

August 5, 2019

Absolutely Amazing

Female here- I’ve had a men’s small now for awhile and I absolutely adore it! It’s rather baggy on me (I typically wear a W’s XS- so it is technically true to size), but so incredibly comfortable and I basically just want to live in it. It’s super soft and lightweight. Washes easily with no issue. And I haven’t had any issues getting too hot outsi... Read Morede in it, even with as hot as it’s been getting here. I’m also incredibly excited a women’s one has been released!

July 30, 2019

Fantastic piece

Not much to say. It's super comfy even in very hot weather, buttery soft, and WAY better than sunscreen. I've worn it for about 3 days straight without developing any stink (an impressive feat for my sweaty and generally smelly self). FWIW - I'm a 6'2" and a 36 sleeve, and the sleeves on this hoody fit me fine. I wouldn&#... Read Morex27;t hate it if they had another inch on them, but they're more than adequate. Highly recommended.

July 29, 2019

So Light So Comfortable

This hoody is my daily driver at work. It is very comfortable, and unlike my other Capilene shirts, the Capilene Cool doesn't smell after a long day in the office.

June 3, 2019

Fantastic Shirts

I own two of these and could own a closet full. They work as advertised SPF-wise and are cool in warmer climes. As opposed to another review, the material is very soft on the skin, they breathe very well and they move freely when under a shell. Tremendous post-hike/whatever shirt. I’m 6’/190/old athletic and the large is perfect.

May 28, 2019

Great shirt but odor control total fail

The fabric feels soft, non chafing, and comfortable. Great sun protection and good for a wide temperature range of conditions. However the anti stink does not work in my experience, at least if worn for endurance efforts that take multiple hours. You'll still stink. Great shirt overall though and my choice for trail runs.

May 22, 2019

Almost perfect

Nice fit, versatile, soft and comfortable with good sun protection. Thumb loops and a button on the collar to secure the hood would make it perfect. Oh - and please get rid of the scratchy label on the hem.

May 9, 2019

Just what I was looking for

Super light breathable material, with a nice hood. For long days on the bike this is perfect because I’ll forget to reapply sunscreen. Pull up the hood for neck protection. I’m 6’5” 190 and the large fits perfect, just like all the other Patagonia things I’ve got.

May 8, 2019

Versatile hoodie

This hoodie was a great purchase. I’ve worn it running outside, hiking and as a coverup at the beach. It is fitted so size up if you want to layer underneath.

May 8, 2019

Great

This is a great fit for someone who likes a hoody and a little long sleeve action but tends to overheat even in a lightweight sweatshirt. It will also be great at the pool as the afternoon stretches into evening. Looks nice, too. A new favorite.

May 8, 2019

Light Weight yet durable

Though super light weight, this piece has stood up to bushwhacking like a champ. It's a summer staple that can double as a winter base layer- no problem.

May 8, 2019

Cool and comfortable

This shirt is exactly what I was looking to get for the summer. It is super light and the material is very soft so it feels like you aren't wearing anything at all. I have only gotten to wear it a few times on warmer days so far but it has kept me cool while being in the sun each time. I will definitely be purchasing another as I will probably... Read More be wearing these all summer long.

May 8, 2019

Awesome “hoodie”

I love this long sleeve hoodie. Versatile, fits great, and comfortable.

May 8, 2019

Awesome Awesome Awesome

I live in these shirts. The only bad thing I can say about them is the Patagonia tag is on the bottom of the shirt and it is made out of a rough material that can irritate your skin.

May 7, 2019

Excellent lightweight hoody

This hoody is comfortable, lightweight and cool. It fits true to size and is comfortable. I've spent hours in the sun and found that it provided good (though not complete) sun coverage. It is cool in hot temperatures and I have found it versatile for running, yoga, soccer and lounging. It's gotten sweaty several times before needing to be... Read More washed. I liked the first one so much, I've bought all four colors.

April 3, 2019

Great shirt

Very comfortable lightweight shirt. Fits well and looks great.

March 25, 2019

My new favorite

Perfect fit + silky feel + Patagonia tech = my new favorite

March 22, 2019

Nice shirt

Really nice baselayer/shirt. Very light material that catches the breeze well. Billowy but not so much so that it obscures your feet (for climbing). A little concerned with the durability and a little bit bummed there are no thumb loops. I really like the fit of the hood too, assassins-creed-esque but not too baggy that it gets in the way of eyes.

March 13, 2019

He’s obsessed.

My husband just opened the package, put it on, and hasn’t taken it off since. That is huge. He says he wants pants to match. It’s super soft, cut perfectly, and the hood fits great. I think the colors could be better, but he’s really happy and looks great in it.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches