Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Cool Daily Hoody

Write Your Review

4.86 /5

Filter Reviews

All 69 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Cool Daily Hoody

4.86
True To Size
August 2, 2020

Game changer

Wore this on an extremely hot day in the North Cascades on an alpine climb. I was very sweaty but the shirt stayed dry and never clung to me. I'm 5'5", 120lb, bought a small and it fit perfectly with a perfectly loose/relaxed fit.

July 28, 2020

Lightweight & comfy

I bought this for running so that I wouldnt have to spend 15 minutes coating every extremity in sunblock. I am amazed at how lightweight it is while providing protection from the sun. Ive worn it for hiking and biking on very hot days as well. Perfect addition to my summer wardrobe.

July 22, 2020

Very versatile top

I have an XS in the cool daily t-shirt, but couldn't decide on the size for the hoody, so I tried them on standing outside in the hot sun! The XS is a little tight in the underarm area and I decided that might get annoying when out and about in the summer heat, so I went with the S for summer, which is a little wider and looser. For those who ... Read Morewish it had thumb-holes, if you do size up, the sleeve is long enough that it can be almost the same as having thumb-holes.

July 17, 2020

Very cool in hot weather

I have used this shirt hiking up in the mountains at high altitude and down in Boulder and have worn it paddling. It's exactly what I wanted - most shirts make you warmer as your body starts to heat up and the sun is beating down, but this shirt literally makes you cooler. I don't get it, but I love it. The only odd thing is how the hood ... Read Moreseems to fall in the front instead of the back a lot - no biggie, just a noticing. I got the yellow/pineapple color and I love it. I wish the other cooling shirt with the higher neck had better colors and no fish on the back, as I'd love one of those as well.

July 14, 2020

Lightweight Hoody

I really like this hoody! I purposely bought it large (XL) so that I can wear it loosely during the summer. I spend tons of time at the American River in and out of the water and sometimes I get a bit chilled. This is a great pullover to put on to warm back up. I also really like how it wads up small and I can leave it in the bottom of my pack whi... Read Morele hiking up in the Sierras. I know it is there when I might need it during a thunderstorm. I bought it to replace and old stretch capilene top that I lost in Costa Rica a couple of years ago. I still miss the old one, but I am quickly bonding with the new one!

July 13, 2020

Perfection

Perfect shirt to wear out hiking or throw over your suit while sitting out in the sun. The material feels cool against your skin when you want and adds a layer when it cools down at night. It packable and perfect!

July 13, 2020

A light, natural feel on my skin

I bought the daily hoody for beach walks & sun protection. I was so pleased that it has a very natural, almost cotton like, feeling on my skin. Maybe I thought it would feel more like my rash guard that I use body surfing, but its more like a comfy cotton tee shirt, but even lighter. I like it so much that I use it as a more fashionable piece... Read More than a practical item. Nice surprise!

July 13, 2020

So Comfortable and lightweight.

I don't get too hot in this when I want to keep the sun off of my skin. The hood is great and I love the color. I have a long torso for a short person, so I do wish this was a bit longer in the body and sleeves.

July 13, 2020

Exactly what I wanted

Picked this up for a cooling/sun shading shirt for summer. I like this material better than the actual older sun-shirts I have from Patagonia, this really feels cooler and breathes better. I size up in most Patagonia for comfort, normally medium/medium (5'7") top and bottom, went with the large in this and it fits exactly as I wanted it, ... Read Morejust below the tops of my hips and just enough length for my super long arms.

July 13, 2020

Cool Daily Hoody

Hot and muggy here. I need lightweight long sleeved protection from ticks and mosquitoes on my early walks with my dog along the creek. I found the Capilene Cool Daily Hoody perfect. I purchased one and found it to be so comfortable I immediately purchased second!

July 13, 2020

Best workout T-shirt

I purchased several of these T-shirts in different sizes and colors for my daughter, husband and myself. Excellent for casual wear and for working out in Texas heat and humidity. Best shirt!

July 13, 2020

Perfect cool morning gonto

My girls love the lightweight sun protection it offers

July 13, 2020

literally cool protection

I bought this so I dont need to worry about the sun on the back of my neck & ears. It definitely blocks the sun! And the fabric is light and flowy, it doesnt cling anywhere even when my skin is sweaty. I wore this hiking on a warm humid day with occasional sprinkles and it magically stayed dry! Please make this in more colors...

July 12, 2020

Very lightweight

Very comfortable and lightweight. It was great during my last camping and outside in full sun (great at protecting my very pale skin) although remember bugs will easily bite you through it (I forgot for a just a moment in Downeast Maine and paid the price). I really wish the women's version came in Smolder Blue like the men's.

July 11, 2020

literally cool protection

I bought this so I dont need to worry about the sun on the back of my neck & ears. It definitely blocks the sun! And the fabric is light and flowy, it doesnt cling anywhere even when my skin is sweaty. I wore this hiking on a warm humid day with occasional sprinkles and it magically stayed dry! Please make this in more colors...

July 10, 2020

A light, natural feel on my skin

I bought the daily hoody for beach walks & sun protection. I was so pleased that it has a very natural, almost cotton like, feeling on my skin. Maybe I thought it would feel more like my rash guard that I use body surfing, but its more like a comfy cotton tee shirt, but even lighter. I like it so much that I use it as a more fashionable piece... Read More than a practical item. Nice surprise!

July 10, 2020

Perfect cool morning gonto

My girls love the lightweight sun protection it offers

July 10, 2020

Best workout T-shirt

I purchased several of these T-shirts in different sizes and colors for my daughter, husband and myself. Excellent for casual wear and for working out in Texas heat and humidity. Best shirt!

July 10, 2020

Exactly what I wanted

Picked this up for a cooling/sun shading shirt for summer. I like this material better than the actual older sun-shirts I have from Patagonia, this really feels cooler and breathes better. I size up in most Patagonia for comfort, normally medium/medium (5'7") top and bottom, went with the large in this and it fits exactly as I wanted it, ... Read Morejust below the tops of my hips and just enough length for my super long arms.

July 10, 2020

Perfection

Perfect shirt to wear out hiking or throw over your suit while sitting out in the sun. The material feels cool against your skin when you want and adds a layer when it cools down at night. It packable and perfect!

July 10, 2020

Cool Daily Hoody

Hot and muggy here. I need lightweight long sleeved protection from ticks and mosquitoes on my early walks with my dog along the creek. I found the Capilene Cool Daily Hoody perfect. I purchased one and found it to be so comfortable I immediately purchased second!

July 7, 2020

Winner!!

This top is incredibly comfortable. I love it for sun and bug protection on hikes, even in hot weather. It packs down to nothing, and dries quickly. The only thing that would make it better would be thumb holes. I will be going back for more of this collection! I am 5'1"/120 with an athletic build, and the Small fits well.

June 27, 2020

Dont think twice just get this!

I only have this in one color but will buy another one of these. Perfect weight for trail running either alone or over the short sleeved version of this. Silky material and lightweight enough to easily stow in running pack. Would love more color options and would really love a small zip pocket on side seam for lip balm but that wont prevent me from... Read More getting another one. I could wear a small but I wanted slightly bigger to wear over another shirt for early morning mountain temps. Packs really well and cute enough to wear out on town as casual top.

June 26, 2020

Hangs nicely

Comfortable for running in the sun. Light and hangs very nicely, this fabric does not feel clingy. I ordered the gray color, not see through at all. Thumb loops would have been nice, but otherwise I love this shirt.

June 26, 2020

Light layer

I had this in the yellow color and LOVED the weight and look!!! I had a different top in the green and they were both called the same name. Unfortunately NOT the same color. This one is VERY heathered. I wish I knew in advance, so buyer be advised. Still love the style, etc. I am definitely an extra-small but I purposely sized up for a loose fit. 4... Read More foot 10 inches, 93 lbs...

June 26, 2020

Great sun hoody

Super comfortable, soft, lightweight breathable material. I wear this hiking and on cruiser bike rides around the neighborhood. I love not having to put sunblock on and it breathes well, especially when biking. Fits true to size. I'm between a small and medium and sized up to a medium so it would fit loosely rather than snug.

June 25, 2020

Super comfortable

The material is cool and comfortable! The color is so pretty

June 25, 2020

Awesome shirt!

This shirt is my new favorite for mountain biking! It keeps you cool and is perfect for sun protection. Ive worn it on all day rides and it wicks sweat and looks great the whole day. Its great to throw on over your suit at the lake too, when youve had enough sun.

June 25, 2020

Super light!

I love this shirt! It's very lightweight and easy to move in.

June 25, 2020

Great sun protection

This is a very lightweight hooded shirt that I wear on all but the very hottest days. The fabric is very soft and I like the fact that when it gets wet with sweat, it provides an additional cooling effect. I also like the hood which I often wear up under my hat. All in all, a great shirt that provides sun protection but still feels cool. I have eve... Read Morery color!

June 25, 2020

Super comfortable

Best shirt ever!! So soft and lightweight. Great in keeping you cool as well. Use it mostly for hiking and fishing. If you want it loose to go over other clothing would recommend ordering one size up, but it you like form fitting get normal size.

June 24, 2020

Super soft, versatile top

I bought this top to use for a variety of activities -- cool morning runs where I don't need to shed when I warm up; on my SUP when I've had enough sun but want to stay out; a layer piece hiking in the PNW; and a comfy top to wear chilling at home. It's great for all! My only one "beef" is it's a little snug around the... Read More neck. I find myself tugging on it occasionally. But not a deal breaker at all.

June 21, 2020

Super light

I bought this for landscape work, it is great. Light and functional. I will be getting another one.

June 21, 2020

Perfect sun protection with a hood!

Comfortable material. Lightweight and stretchy. The hood makes it perfect sun protection for hiking on sunny days

June 19, 2020

Great sun protection

I love this hoodie. It's lightweight enough to provide comfortable sun protection on hot days while weeding in my garden. I usually wear a L in Patagonia tops and this fits as expected. I like it a little loose to wear over other shirts. Perfect for all sorts of activities!

June 19, 2020

Practical and Comfy

This lightweight shirt is perfect to protect me from the sun while I'm exercising. I can put the hood up for even more sun protection. It's super comfortable too!

June 19, 2020

Super comfy

This shirt is super comfortable and breathable. I use it for hiking and it keeps me cool even if theres no shade.

June 18, 2020

UV protection while keeping you cool

This knocked all others out of contention and instantly became my favorite shirt. I needed one that offered substantial UV protective. This shirt is that and so much more. Its soft, comfortable and surprisingly cool. It's the only UV protective shirt I've found that I can stand to wear during the hot, humid Arkansas summers. More colors p... Read Morelease!

June 17, 2020

Super light

I bought this for landscape work, it is great. Light and functional. I will be getting another one.

June 17, 2020

Perfect sun protection with a hood!

Comfortable material. Lightweight and stretchy. The hood makes it perfect sun protection for hiking on sunny days

June 17, 2020

Perfect for any occasion

Versatile, I never want to take it off, this is my go to for any occasion! Love the fit and feel!

June 17, 2020

Very nice

Fits Great

June 17, 2020

Light and comfortable

Wish the sleeves were longer - other than that, perfect!

June 17, 2020

Cool and comfortable

This top is so light and comfortable. I wear it for hiking and playing tennis. Good sun protection and awesome summer color!

June 11, 2020

wonderful to wear!

I normally run hot, bit didnt break a sweat at all with this on. The cut is generous but not a problem at all because the fabric is super lightweight. I got the grey color and it isnt see through at all. I love having the hood so I dont have to put sunscreen on the back of my neck. More colors please, Id love a navy blue one!

June 7, 2020

perfect

I ordered the small because I wanted it loose and roomy. It runs pretty long, but I just tie it up. The Pineapple color is stunning. The weight is just what I hoped for...light. A perfect top layer for the cooler hours of the day.

May 29, 2020

Best article of clothing I own

This is the best purchase I have made in years. If you could make it in less offensive colors, I would buy it in every color you offer. I just can't justify ordering it in yellow.

May 28, 2020

Great hooded sun shirt

Wonderful for hot days where I want to escape the sun. It is not flattering on my body (solid Medium, 32DD, athletic/curvy-ish build) but the function outweighs the style points here.

May 18, 2020

Fabulous!

Great fit and fabric. Dries quickly. Previous versions of this shirt had itchy seams but this one feels great on my skin. Love the SPF.

May 6, 2020

Lightweight, super soft, breathable sun protection

I originally bought this given the sun protection but find myself wearing it all the time. The Cool Daily fabric is incredibly soft, lightweight and breathable (I also bought the short sleeve). I love that this has a hood it provides great sun protection on the neck as well.

May 3, 2020

Best light layer ever

I've been borrowing my friend's cap cool hoodie for a while now and I figured it was time to invest in my own. Im usually a size M in the real world but Patagonia things seem to fit me in a L because im on the more muscular side. I love this layer because its light and provides some sun protection. The yellow color is perfect, but it does... Read Moren't look heathered online (but it is in person), not a big deal.

April 26, 2020

Soft and light!

I bought this for kitesurfing and everyday wear. So soft and light and perfect to throw on after a session or while out on the water. Great material!

January 29, 2020

Fantastic All-arounder

I ordered one of these initially, concerned it might not hold up well. It arrived and I immediately put it to the test doing a service day in RMNP. It held up, was comfortable, kept me temperature regulated, dried fast (both sweat and from wading through a stream), and did I mention that it was unbelievably comfortable? When I got home, I ordered a... Read Morenother color. I love this shirt for running, hiking, general sun protection (wear your sunscreen also folks), yoga outdoors, and even for dinner when I can't be bothered to change. So far, it's held up wonderfully! I wouldn't take it crack climbing, but just about anything else! Fit wise, I am slim (110, 5'3"), with muscular shoulders and arms from climbing and genetics. It's tighter around the arms for sure, but not uncomfortable.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2020

Hi Margaret, thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a detailed thoughtful review! We're so happy to hear how much you're enjoying your hoody. We hope it sees you on many more adventures!

December 30, 2019

Awesome shirt!!

My husband, daughter, and I all got them and we will definitely be buying more. We used them on a trip to Madagascar with intense sun exposure and they were super wicking, quick drying, and funk resistant. Fantastic shirts!

November 22, 2019

Terrific garment

I have worn and washed this hoody several times over the past month and find that it is very soft and washes (and hangs to dry) beautifully. I need sun protection including for my head, so this piece works perfectly for those requirements. I love that Patagonia's garments are long enough in the sleeve and body length so when active, the shirts... Read More keep your wrists and back-side covered. Waiting for more colors and restock on the website!

October 30, 2019

Essential Piece

I really like this shirt. It's a perfect shirt for my hikes in here in Texas because it gives me protection from the sun and keeps me nice and cool and it is also great in water when I float down rivers. Dries very fast. I do wish I got the one with an image on the front to make it look more fun but I easily throw a graphic tee over it and i&#... Read Morex27;m ready to go.

October 27, 2019

I love how it feels

I love how it feels

October 15, 2019

Perfect think layer hoody

This is a perfect think but warm hoody. Fit is great (I am 5.10 and ordered Small) and hoody was very handy the other day in chilly wind.

October 13, 2019

Nice Sun Hoody

Sun Hoodies are so functional - really essential for those of us out on the rocks or snow all day. This hoody has a very nice feel to it - soft without being clammy. It layers well over my clothes & is easy to get over my head. It goes over my helmet or under it. There is no cinch at the neck; but you don't really need that. My only compla... Read Moreint is that the arm length is a little short on me. There are no thumb holes either; but I don't miss those. I do wish that the arm sleeves were a bit longer though.

September 27, 2019

Really Great!

I bought this thinking I probably would return it but I think I’ll be wearing it year round. It’s a great layering piece. The fit is perfect with just enough stretch to move with you.

September 20, 2019

Great shirt!

Nice and light weight. Great as base layer or over a tank top on a cool morning. Would definitely purchase more!

September 10, 2019

Perfect for backpacking and daily use!

Just back from a multi-day backpack trip with this. It was just perfect- long sleeves protected me from the sun and cool but was not hot at all during climbs, dried super quickly and didn't seem to get dirty at all ...

September 9, 2019

Heavier material than expected

Planned to use as sun protection for mountaineering and backpacking. I ordered online and thought this was going to be a lighter weight & more breathable material like the type used in their super lightweight tees and long sleeves. Nope. Still a gap in Patagonia’s line up where a true lightweight sun hoody should be, similar to the OR Echo Hood... Read Morey.

September 3, 2019

New favorite hiking shirt!

Kept me cool and dry. Wish it was a little thicker to keep mosquitos from biting through. 5'3 115lbs and xs fit perfectly.

September 3, 2019

New women's sun hoody

Got the new hoody this last week and wore it in some late summer 90+ Wyoming heat and high elevation sun. I was happy to finally have a sun hoody that fit like the men's versions have in past years with a looser hood but with a female cut in the body. The fabric is light and comfortable. The only minor issue was that the sleeves on the forearm... Read Mores and wrists are a little snugger than I'd like. The sleeve length is great as is the body length. Otherwise, the sizing and cut seems appropriate. I'm 5'5, 130 lbs, 38 yo, and wear a small.

September 2, 2019

Perfect

Very comfortable, soft. Love it.

August 26, 2019

Finally

I'm thrilled that Patagonia finally made a women's version of this hoody, and in solid colors. It is simple (no drawstrings or thumb holes), fits loosely but close to the body, and it is great for just about everything. It's a little warmer than the crew neck due to high neck/hood, but it's still great for activities in the heat... Read More. I'm a solid small in Patagonia, and this is no exception.

August 15, 2019

Perfect for backpacking!

Light and breathable, friends around me were sweating in teeshirts, I swear this shirt kept me cooler. Might buy in other colors!

July 29, 2019

So good!

I love this shirt! The fabric is so soft and lightweight! I am grateful for the hood to protect my ears and neck (and scalp!) when I don't want to wear a hat. The sun protection is excellent. Fabric definitely helps control odor and moisture in a great way. Can't wait to bring this backpacking - it packs super small and easy, no wrinkles ... Read Moreto be found. Will definitely buy more of these once more colors are available!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches