burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Daily Graphic Hoody - Relaxed Fit

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 36 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Daily Graphic Hoody - Relaxed Fit

4.7/5
True To Size
August 7, 2022

Good, but prefer the 2021 Technical Sunshade Hoodie

I am glad I have bought the Capilene Hoody, but I prefer the Men's Technical Sunshade Hoody from 2021. I was looking for another Technical Sunshade Hoody. It is not offered. I have been told it is being re-designed for Spring 2023. I am looking forward to that. There are four key features of the 2021 Technical Sunshade Hoody that are not inclu... Read Moreded in the Capilene Hoody. They are (1) a chest pocket, (2) thumb loops at the sleeves, (3) a button to secure the front of the hoody near the front of the neck, and, (4) 50 spf instead of 30 spf. I miss all of these four features. I have had skin cancer. I need the sun protection. I still enjoy mountain hiking, walking on the beach and being outside. Sunshade hoodies are important to me and I wear them often. Although I wear the Capilene on a regular rotation, I look forward to a new design of the Spring 2023 Technical Sunshade Hoody. I'll buy them if they restore the missing features.

July 30, 2022

I recently wore the Capilene

I recently wore the Capilene Hoody during a hot and buggy day fishing the Madison River near Ennis, MT. It kept the bugs off, protected my arms, neck, and ears from sunburn, and I was warm but not hot while casting for trout. The 3 big ones got away, but I kept my cool.

July 17, 2022

Hiking Super Shirt

This is now my primary backpacking shirt. It gives me all the SPF coverage I need with the comfort of super soft feel. The hood works well with my baseball style hat.

July 16, 2022

Not Quite as Good as the Tropic Comfort II Hoody

Bring back the Tropic Comfort II Hoody! I miss the thumb loops and the 3-panel hoody that's big enough to fit over a baseball cap when also wearing one. The lack of these two features caused me to ultimately not buy this "streamlined" version.

July 10, 2022

Lightweight and compressible

I love this lightweight and compressible hoodie. I like how the hood flits your head snugly and also folds into the shirt when not in use. It is both cool and warm, and great for a backpack when conditions may change.

July 9, 2022

Glad that Patagonia is making

Glad that Patagonia is making clothing in the 3xl size. Capilene is super comfy.

July 6, 2022

Love the design/color. I like

Love the design/color. I like a loose fit so ordered XL. L would have worked, too. If I was redesigning this I would add a short zipper at the neck for additional ventilation.

July 6, 2022

Would recommend

Fits well and keeps the sun off!

July 3, 2022

Perfect for after a day

Perfect for after a day in the water. I chose to go up a size for comfort, not a fan of clinging clothes.

July 1, 2022

Nice feel light toned graphic

This hoody runs small for me I use it for work when guiding rowing driftboat fishing. I bought a size large in the past and was good with large hood and thumb loops. This graphic hoody seems to be cut down in overall size even though I ordered a size up it has a smaller hood and shorter sleeves and no thumb loops for the extra hand coverage on days... Read More I forget to bring my gloves. Glad to be wearing recycled and lower impact but Im missing the practical features of the older generation of Patagonia sun hoody.

June 30, 2022

Love this shirt!

This is my third color of this shirt. I wear them multiple times a week. Highly recommend!

June 20, 2022

Great Garment!

Sun protection for ocean/river activities; boating/fishing/blue water, more. Cool and provides great coverage. Super quick drying.

June 18, 2022

Nice beach wear

I wore this hoodie for a recent ocean fishing trip. I spent nearly 6 hours in full sun and did not burn. Even better, the material is light and breathable, and although I spent the day in the sun, I was never too hot. I highly recommend this product!

June 13, 2022

Cool, protective and durable

I love this hoodie! It is light weight yet protective from the sun, elements and objects. Great for outdoor activities on the trails or water.

June 7, 2022

Super comfortable

I love these. I own several and I will buy more. They are so comfortable and look great. I wear these when I hike, on the water, in the sun, during yard work or out and about. These are so lightweight they can be tucked away in your bag for when it gets too sunny or just a touch chilly. These are so comfortable my girlfriend steals them and wears t... Read Morehem. Overall these are amazing.

June 7, 2022

very comfortable

I love the weight of this sun protection. It breaths very well, so can be worn on hot humid days without feeling heavy or hot.

June 5, 2022

A very light material

I was surprised by how light the material was. When I saw hoodie, I expected a night medium weight hoodie. I was unfamiliar with the Capilene material, and did not realize how light it was. I love the color and style. Maybe it would be possible to let future purchasers know about how light the material is, compared to other materials.

Response from Patagonia
June 9, 2022

Hi Louis, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so happy to hear that you're enjoying the Capilene Cool Daily Graphic Hoody. When looking for the weight of and item, please refer to the Specs & Features tab below the item's pictures. There you'll find in-depth info on the item and its weight.

May 27, 2022

Super Comfy

Love the feel and fit.

May 23, 2022

Great fit

Looks great, fits better, easy to row and cast in. Love it.

May 21, 2022

Nice beach wear

Purchased to wear on an upcoming beach vacation. Have worn it to do yard work and it is both protectant and comfortable.

May 19, 2022

Needs 3-panel Hood like Tropic Comfort II hoodie, otherwise great material

Patagonia appears to have discontinued the Tropic Comfort II Hoody (which I love dearly) so I decided to purchase this thinking the design team wanted to streamline the sun-hoody lineup. The material is thin, breathable, and cool in high temps; definitely the best/coolest of any sunshirt competitor. The relaxed fit is nice and breezy, I find that c... Read Moreooler in miserable Florida summers than tight fitting "wicking" shirts because evaporative cooling doesn't work as well in humidity as it does in the desert. My biggest gripe is the hood and it really has me bummed out. The Tropic Comfort II Hoody has a large 3-panel hood that fits easily over a hat, while this Capilene Hoody just has smaller hood with a single seam running down the middle. The smaller hood doesn't easily pull over a hat and the body is actively pulled-upward when you do flip it up. They also did away with thumb-holes on this model which isn't a big deal for me. The medium fits great at 5'11 180lbs.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2022

We are so sorry to hear of this design flaw in our Men's Capilene Cool Daily Graphic Hoody. We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some help with your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your extremely helpful feedback.

May 19, 2022

Performance

Bought 2 of these and the havent disappointed! Im spend a ton of time outdoors in the sun and these are cool, fashionable and protect me wherever I am.Patagonia never disappoints! Keep up the great work

May 11, 2022

Super cool

Keeps me cool and protected from the sun on hot days.

May 11, 2022

Perfect Fit

Fits and drapes just right, cool look on my muscular frame.

May 10, 2022

Just right.

I'm in Arizona at about 3,700 feet high and hike in temps ranging from the high 20s to high 70s. I own a couple other comfort hoodies, which I'd describe as a good mid-layer for colder mornings and a great, comfy shirt to wear over a T-shirt for the rest of the day as it warms up. This hoodie incredibly light and is perfect to take me int... Read Moreo the summer. This (May) morning, for example, high 60s, no breeze, full AZ sun. In other words, warm. I was comfortable throughout the hike, including on the hills. I don't believe it is SPF rated, but I like it because it keeps the sun off my arms without adding warmth. I love it. Very glad I bought it after my wife said "You're buying aNOTHER one??"

May 10, 2022

very cool with sun protection

Light comfortable breathable cloth for sun protection

May 9, 2022

Excellent

Durable and comfortable.

May 7, 2022

Soft and Airy

I love this shirt. I ordered more. It has an amazing feel and is incredibly breathable. The fit is spot on. Its fantastic for anything active and now a go-to for those days when I just want to be lazy and comfortable. I cant recommend it enough.

April 28, 2022

Very comfortable

Very comfortable, well designed, and good looking. Effective sun protection. Very pleased with this product.

April 20, 2022

Perfect For Layering

This is a lighter than air garment but very helpful in cooler and misty conditions like walking trails, beaches, or biking. When you need something on top but not a heavy covering, this is perfect.

April 13, 2022

Little large

I have about ten of these from over several years, all in medium, that I ware daily. This time I ordered medium again, but this shirt seem like it is a large. Still fits fine, Ill keep it.

April 5, 2022

Light weight casual comfort and performance

Love the look and how it feels wearing this long sleeve around town, before and after surfing and just going out to dinner. Stylish Patagonia at its best! Nonstop compliments from friends.

April 2, 2022

I'm liking it!

It's been warming up lately and love to put these on for bike rides, walks, surf fishing and lounging around beaches. After wading out in the surf to cast, it got all wet but I was amazed how fast it dried! I'm planning to wear this in the mountains casting flys for German brown! Yahoo!

March 28, 2022

Really great shirt

I use this shirt when I guide and when I travel. It is comfortable and is really well suited for warm and cooler weather. Great shirt.

March 16, 2022

Love my hoody

I love my Patagonia hoody for sun protection. The fabric feels good against my skin and the fit is perfect. It doesn't take up much space and is easy to wash in the sink so it's great for traveling.

March 12, 2022

My favorite

The capilene hoody is my favorite go to shirt. Size up to enjoy it with a relaxed fit

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches