burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Capilene Cool Daily Graphic Hoody - Relaxed Fit Reviews

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 74 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Daily Graphic Hoody - Relaxed Fit

4.6/5
True To Size
January 18, 2023

Great product as always!

Great product for sunny days at the beach! Is not the first one and neither the last Capilene!

January 8, 2023

This could be the perfect fishing gear

This could be the perfect fly fishing shirt with two modifications. Please, please add a 3/4 zipper for airflow. Of secondary importance would be the inclusion of a small zippered chest pocket (for tippet storage, etc.). This is one of my favorite Patagonia products (and I have many). I love it so much I have gifted it to friends and family. It ha... Read Mores a great fit, it is super soft and dries quickly.

December 31, 2022

Roy Fitz

I love the Roy Fitz logo's and wear them proudly since I'm in the fishing industry. On this sweater I wish the fish logo was a little bigger in front so you could see it better and a little lower in the back so it wasn't covered by the hood when it lays down.

December 27, 2022

Great shirt. Light weight. It

Great shirt. Light weight. It will be a new favorite!

December 19, 2022

Well-designed, Good Material, Comfortable.

I wear this casually. It is quite comfortable, exactly what I wanted. Capilene is a favorite fabric for me. Others have suggested that a 3-part hood design might be better--to remove the center seam. That sounds good to me, although I have not had an issue with the center-seam design.

December 12, 2022

Great shirt

Used this for a sailing trip in Hawaii. Wore it 2 straight days in the heat and salt air and only started to smell walking up day 3.

December 10, 2022

Nice but...

This is a nice product, we wear them snorkeling quite a bit. However, they changed the design recently and no longer have the button on the hood and, more importantly, no longer have the thumb holes on the sleeves....

December 9, 2022

Very nice. Generously sized

Very nice, well made shirt. You can tell the stitching is well done, I don't know anything about stitching, but with these spandex-like stretchy shirts you know how the stitching is the first to go with other brands like Huk or even Columbia PFG. These seem to be double stitched and more able to endure when you stretch out the sleeves or neckl... Read Moreine. Also the amount of fabric is quite generous for the size. I like a more relaxed fit, and don't buy into this "athletic cut" most companies are selling so they can get more yield out of the same bolt of fabric. This is actually an extra large and at 5' 11" inches and 190lbs, I probably could have done a large but the xl is great if I want to throw a tshirt on under it. Very soft too and not scratchy like other "sun shirts". Seems to dry very quickly as well. Very happy with this shirt.

Response from Patagonia
December 13, 2022

We appreciate your valuable feedback on fit, sizing, fabric and performance, Ryan! Please note that we design a wide variety of styles that range from slim to regular to relaxed fit, so we recommend checking the product description. And our Customer Service team is ready to answer any additional questions so don't hesitate to reach out. We're happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

December 6, 2022

Super Comfortable

Im a chubby dude, and the XL relaxed fit was the perfect choice for me. 5ft10in and 220lbs. This hoody is super comfortable. Perfect for lounging, fishing at the beach, hiking. Everything. I love it.

December 2, 2022

Lightweight and comfortable

This thing is very lightweight and breathable. perfect for running in ~60F temps. once youre warmed up its great

December 2, 2022

Great for running on cold days

The sweater is great for running on cold days. It keeps you warm but it's breathable and light. For me (6'0", M) it was the perfect size.

November 30, 2022

Durable, light, and more!

5'10" 175 lbs athletic relaxed fit M is perfect. Wore this for 4 consecutive days of riding thorny, exposed trails on the AZT in Arizona and it was absolutely perfect. Hood when the sun gets high or cold at night. Arms are surprisingly resistant to tears and thorns from cactus while still being light and breathable. Dries quickly. It&#x27... Read More;s a great product. Will buy more.

November 21, 2022

Mike 1 sun 0

Fishing in a hot tropical climate, this shirt did its job! Kept me the sun off me. I'd like a little chest pocket and maybe a snap to snug up the hood would be nice. The fit was good, price was right!

October 10, 2022

Incredibly comfortable

Like all of my Patagonia gear this has now become my go to shirt. I love it.

October 7, 2022

Dedicated to Patagonia

Love the patagonia products (Southern California native) almost as much as I love the ethos of the company, as established by Yvon and confirmed by his family.

October 6, 2022

Must have base layer

This is a must-have base layer. It is light to wear and moves freely across your skin This allows it to pair well with whatever you put on next. For a recent hunting trip in the San Juan mountains, I wore this next to my skin, followed by a short sleeve Capilene, a button-down work shirt, a vest, and a hunting jacket. Perfect for those mid-30s earl... Read Morey mornings that quickly turn into full sun affairs where you break out into a sweat just thinking about climbing that next ridge. It also provides excellent sun protection. It is the comfort provided by the fabric that makes this possible. I love sleeping in the hoody as I never lose the hood in the middle of the night like I do with a ski cap. When I get cold I can always find a cover for my head! Super convenient. I recommend keeping two in your pack as they are an extremely versatile layer that you can wear from the beach to the snow-covered mountain top.

October 2, 2022

Nice base layer

Fall has arrived & this hoodie shirt beneath a flannel layer or sweatshirt works great for the cool mornings & evenings. Flipping up the hood really helps to stay comfy. In the winter I will add a down layer & double hoodie. In the summer, the shirt is light enough to wear & shield from the sun. I also like the fish on the back. 5 f... Read Moret-10in, 145 lbs. I like the baggy relax fit.

September 30, 2022

Less sun protection with new trimed down cut

Like the colors and prints but I use this for work as a guide flyfising. This hoody is cut down much smaller than older style sun hoodies from patagonia like tropic comfort?! This sun hoody does not have thumb loops and runs small so my wrista are exposed when my hands are on the oars even though I ordered a size larger . Also the hood is much smal... Read Moreler leaving the sides of my head/face exposed. Cool graphics but not a practical fit for me and my work. Thank you

Response from Patagonia
October 6, 2022

Hi Robert, thank you for this feedback on the Cap Cool Daily Graphic Hoody. We're sharing it with our product design team. We will be releasing a new UPF-protective hoody called the Tropic Comfort Natural Hoody around the beginning of February, with features you might prefer. In the meantime, you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this shirt.

September 26, 2022

Great shirt for warmer summer hike

Great base layer for cool starting, warm and sunny hike. Very comfortable all day long.

September 24, 2022

Light weight.

Perfect for anything except the middle of winter!

September 24, 2022

Perfect Light long Sleeve

Bought this with the idea of using for kayaking and hiking and end up evolving to my go to light long sleeve shirt, I even use it at work. I usually wear a medium in Patagonia but decide to size down size since the site said its relax fit and that did the trick.

September 24, 2022

Great woods shirt

Great hiking/woods walking shirt. Wore mushroom hunting with temps ranging 65-80 degrees with sun, clouds, smoke changing conditions. Comfortable throughout. Also seemed to be resistant to mosquito penetration. Loved the hood for that purpose, under and over a ball cap. Do wish it had thumb holes as arms a little long and would have helped with the... Read More mosquitos.

September 24, 2022

Good base layer

Bought this for fishing and off road motorcycle riding. The fabric is light weight and wicks / drys fast which works really well for off road riding.

September 24, 2022

Medium with relaxed fit is sized just right for the longer torso.

The best thing about this capiline cool daily hoody is the fit. I am 6 feet, 180 pounds, not much gut, but due to a long torso and short legs medium sizes barely cover my belly button. This medium (relaxed fit) is a bit longer than usual and just the right length. It hangs down to just above the important stuff!

September 20, 2022

I love this shirt. So

I love this shirt. So much so, that I bought a second one. Great for sunny days outdoors.

September 18, 2022

The Perfect Hoodie

Excellent protection from sun and light winds when outdoors. Patagonia knows how to combine performance and comfort to deliver righteous products.

September 18, 2022

Great sun screen shirt, like

Great sun screen shirt, like the hood, Great layering for 3 seasons

September 15, 2022

Great shirt for fishing, whether

Great shirt for fishing, whether wearing a pfd or not. Everyday wear is fantastic too. I own two of these and love them.

September 14, 2022

Love the light weight fabric!

Love the light weight fabric!

September 13, 2022

Got med relaxed fit and

Got med relaxed fit and it seemed to well good through shoulders wo yo much gut

September 11, 2022

Pretty great

The material and the color are awesome. Its great for hot days out in full sun. My only complaint is that the sleeves on this relaxed fit version are longer that the regular fit. I usually have to roll them up.

September 10, 2022

Good but could be better

Purchased this shirt as I wanted to get some more Patagonia gear in my closet, typically I wear XXL PFG Columbia shirts (best fitting and comfort) and North Face shorts (best true to size active wear). I have other Patagonia shirts but I've found sizing to be off and fits similar to North Face tops which is tighter vs Colmbia tops giving more ... Read Morerelaxed and comfortable fit and consistent sizing. So this top I went up to a 3XL for sizing. This top is comfortable, heavier than you typical moisture wicking top but I feel it will do me better on chilly early Fall morning hikes and be more durable longevity wise. It does a good job keeping you cool in full direct summer sun, but isn't as airy feeling which can be good and bad. If you're just sitting in the sun baking, it's a bit warmer. If you're on a boat or in windy conditions it cuts the wind pretty good. I do wish it had thumb holes, the absence of these make it less protective on the hands which if I'm out fishing on the ocean is a nice to have. Also if I'm hiking, it's nice to have less loose clothing when it starts getting wet. In all its a good shirt and comfortable. Just be mindful that it has no thumb holes and material is a bit heavier than your typical tech style shirt.

September 7, 2022

Great for hot days

Perfect layer for hot summer days working on the river. Comfortable, light quick dry fabric with a great fit and feel. So good I bought multiple. This is by far my favorite summer shirt.

August 27, 2022

Lightweight Super Breathable

This is one of very few long sleeve shirts that I can wear during hot summer months. Light weight and super breathable. Perfect as a sun shirt during hot outdoor activities and can double as a lightweight summer evening layering shirt to keep the mosquitoes away!

August 25, 2022

Almost Perfect!

This is a touch heavier than the Daily Graphic T (which is my favorite clothing piece- love it!). The hoody looks to have an extra inner layer to it and is not quite as breathable as the T. Very close, but not the same. Almost- but not quite perfect.

August 24, 2022

Too Long

I have many Patagonia pieces that are mediums. This one ran longer than the others so I returned it. Other than that, the quality is always the best.

August 24, 2022

Great Lightweight Hoody

This is a great lightweight hoody for any outdoor adventures. In the Rocky Mountains this offers a great light layer to keep the sun off my arms/neck.

August 11, 2022

New go to fishing shirt, but...

Love this shirt, great sun protection or light weight layering piece. Only thing missing are thumbholes!

August 7, 2022

Good, but prefer the 2021 Technical Sunshade Hoodie

I am glad I have bought the Capilene Hoody, but I prefer the Men's Technical Sunshade Hoody from 2021. I was looking for another Technical Sunshade Hoody. It is not offered. I have been told it is being re-designed for Spring 2023. I am looking forward to that. There are four key features of the 2021 Technical Sunshade Hoody that are not inclu... Read Moreded in the Capilene Hoody. They are (1) a chest pocket, (2) thumb loops at the sleeves, (3) a button to secure the front of the hoody near the front of the neck, and, (4) 50 spf instead of 30 spf. I miss all of these four features. I have had skin cancer. I need the sun protection. I still enjoy mountain hiking, walking on the beach and being outside. Sunshade hoodies are important to me and I wear them often. Although I wear the Capilene on a regular rotation, I look forward to a new design of the Spring 2023 Technical Sunshade Hoody. I'll buy them if they restore the missing features.

July 30, 2022

I recently wore the Capilene

I recently wore the Capilene Hoody during a hot and buggy day fishing the Madison River near Ennis, MT. It kept the bugs off, protected my arms, neck, and ears from sunburn, and I was warm but not hot while casting for trout. The 3 big ones got away, but I kept my cool.

July 17, 2022

Hiking Super Shirt

This is now my primary backpacking shirt. It gives me all the SPF coverage I need with the comfort of super soft feel. The hood works well with my baseball style hat.

July 16, 2022

Not Quite as Good as the Tropic Comfort II Hoody

Bring back the Tropic Comfort II Hoody! I miss the thumb loops and the 3-panel hoody that's big enough to fit over a baseball cap when also wearing one. The lack of these two features caused me to ultimately not buy this "streamlined" version.

July 10, 2022

Lightweight and compressible

I love this lightweight and compressible hoodie. I like how the hood flits your head snugly and also folds into the shirt when not in use. It is both cool and warm, and great for a backpack when conditions may change.

July 9, 2022

Glad that Patagonia is making

Glad that Patagonia is making clothing in the 3xl size. Capilene is super comfy.

July 6, 2022

Love the design/color. I like

Love the design/color. I like a loose fit so ordered XL. L would have worked, too. If I was redesigning this I would add a short zipper at the neck for additional ventilation.

July 6, 2022

Would recommend

Fits well and keeps the sun off!

July 3, 2022

Perfect for after a day

Perfect for after a day in the water. I chose to go up a size for comfort, not a fan of clinging clothes.

July 1, 2022

Nice feel light toned graphic

This hoody runs small for me I use it for work when guiding rowing driftboat fishing. I bought a size large in the past and was good with large hood and thumb loops. This graphic hoody seems to be cut down in overall size even though I ordered a size up it has a smaller hood and shorter sleeves and no thumb loops for the extra hand coverage on days... Read More I forget to bring my gloves. Glad to be wearing recycled and lower impact but Im missing the practical features of the older generation of Patagonia sun hoody.

June 30, 2022

Love this shirt!

This is my third color of this shirt. I wear them multiple times a week. Highly recommend!

June 20, 2022

Great Garment!

Sun protection for ocean/river activities; boating/fishing/blue water, more. Cool and provides great coverage. Super quick drying.

June 18, 2022

Nice beach wear

I wore this hoodie for a recent ocean fishing trip. I spent nearly 6 hours in full sun and did not burn. Even better, the material is light and breathable, and although I spent the day in the sun, I was never too hot. I highly recommend this product!

June 13, 2022

Cool, protective and durable

I love this hoodie! It is light weight yet protective from the sun, elements and objects. Great for outdoor activities on the trails or water.

June 7, 2022

Super comfortable

I love these. I own several and I will buy more. They are so comfortable and look great. I wear these when I hike, on the water, in the sun, during yard work or out and about. These are so lightweight they can be tucked away in your bag for when it gets too sunny or just a touch chilly. These are so comfortable my girlfriend steals them and wears t... Read Morehem. Overall these are amazing.

June 7, 2022

very comfortable

I love the weight of this sun protection. It breaths very well, so can be worn on hot humid days without feeling heavy or hot.

June 5, 2022

A very light material

I was surprised by how light the material was. When I saw hoodie, I expected a night medium weight hoodie. I was unfamiliar with the Capilene material, and did not realize how light it was. I love the color and style. Maybe it would be possible to let future purchasers know about how light the material is, compared to other materials.

Response from Patagonia
June 9, 2022

Hi Louis, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so happy to hear that you're enjoying the Capilene Cool Daily Graphic Hoody. When looking for the weight of and item, please refer to the Specs & Features tab below the item's pictures. There you'll find in-depth info on the item and its weight.

May 27, 2022

Super Comfy

Love the feel and fit.

May 23, 2022

Great fit

Looks great, fits better, easy to row and cast in. Love it.

May 21, 2022

Nice beach wear

Purchased to wear on an upcoming beach vacation. Have worn it to do yard work and it is both protectant and comfortable.

May 19, 2022

Needs 3-panel Hood like Tropic Comfort II hoodie, otherwise great material

Patagonia appears to have discontinued the Tropic Comfort II Hoody (which I love dearly) so I decided to purchase this thinking the design team wanted to streamline the sun-hoody lineup. The material is thin, breathable, and cool in high temps; definitely the best/coolest of any sunshirt competitor. The relaxed fit is nice and breezy, I find that c... Read Moreooler in miserable Florida summers than tight fitting "wicking" shirts because evaporative cooling doesn't work as well in humidity as it does in the desert. My biggest gripe is the hood and it really has me bummed out. The Tropic Comfort II Hoody has a large 3-panel hood that fits easily over a hat, while this Capilene Hoody just has smaller hood with a single seam running down the middle. The smaller hood doesn't easily pull over a hat and the body is actively pulled-upward when you do flip it up. They also did away with thumb-holes on this model which isn't a big deal for me. The medium fits great at 5'11 180lbs.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2022

We are so sorry to hear of this design flaw in our Men's Capilene Cool Daily Graphic Hoody. We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some help with your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your extremely helpful feedback.

May 19, 2022

Performance

Bought 2 of these and the havent disappointed! Im spend a ton of time outdoors in the sun and these are cool, fashionable and protect me wherever I am.Patagonia never disappoints! Keep up the great work

May 11, 2022

Super cool

Keeps me cool and protected from the sun on hot days.

May 11, 2022

Perfect Fit

Fits and drapes just right, cool look on my muscular frame.

May 10, 2022

Just right.

I'm in Arizona at about 3,700 feet high and hike in temps ranging from the high 20s to high 70s. I own a couple other comfort hoodies, which I'd describe as a good mid-layer for colder mornings and a great, comfy shirt to wear over a T-shirt for the rest of the day as it warms up. This hoodie incredibly light and is perfect to take me int... Read Moreo the summer. This (May) morning, for example, high 60s, no breeze, full AZ sun. In other words, warm. I was comfortable throughout the hike, including on the hills. I don't believe it is SPF rated, but I like it because it keeps the sun off my arms without adding warmth. I love it. Very glad I bought it after my wife said "You're buying aNOTHER one??"

May 10, 2022

very cool with sun protection

Light comfortable breathable cloth for sun protection

May 9, 2022

Excellent

Durable and comfortable.

May 7, 2022

Soft and Airy

I love this shirt. I ordered more. It has an amazing feel and is incredibly breathable. The fit is spot on. Its fantastic for anything active and now a go-to for those days when I just want to be lazy and comfortable. I cant recommend it enough.

April 28, 2022

Very comfortable

Very comfortable, well designed, and good looking. Effective sun protection. Very pleased with this product.

April 20, 2022

Perfect For Layering

This is a lighter than air garment but very helpful in cooler and misty conditions like walking trails, beaches, or biking. When you need something on top but not a heavy covering, this is perfect.

April 13, 2022

Little large

I have about ten of these from over several years, all in medium, that I ware daily. This time I ordered medium again, but this shirt seem like it is a large. Still fits fine, Ill keep it.

April 5, 2022

Light weight casual comfort and performance

Love the look and how it feels wearing this long sleeve around town, before and after surfing and just going out to dinner. Stylish Patagonia at its best! Nonstop compliments from friends.

April 2, 2022

I'm liking it!

It's been warming up lately and love to put these on for bike rides, walks, surf fishing and lounging around beaches. After wading out in the surf to cast, it got all wet but I was amazed how fast it dried! I'm planning to wear this in the mountains casting flys for German brown! Yahoo!

March 28, 2022

Really great shirt

I use this shirt when I guide and when I travel. It is comfortable and is really well suited for warm and cooler weather. Great shirt.

March 16, 2022

Love my hoody

I love my Patagonia hoody for sun protection. The fabric feels good against my skin and the fit is perfect. It doesn't take up much space and is easy to wash in the sink so it's great for traveling.

March 12, 2022

My favorite

The capilene hoody is my favorite go to shirt. Size up to enjoy it with a relaxed fit

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches