Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt

Write Your Review

4.3 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 27 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt

4.3
True To Size
June 26, 2020

Super lite

I love, love, love this shirt. This is what you want in a shirt whether it's blazing sunshine or a kinda cool night.

June 17, 2020

Cool and keeps the sun off. I bought 2 more.

Comfortable even with long sleeves not too hot. I dont line sunscreen and Im supposed to cover up. This works.

June 17, 2020

Perfect for summer

The material is extremely lightweight and comfortable against the skin. It offers good sun protection without overheating. I prefer the fit of this line vs. the other capilene cool.

April 20, 2020

Great fabric but short sleeves

I first bought the "Capilene Lightweight Baselayer" the year before they discontinued it. It was the best hiking shirt I've ever owned - super lightweight/cool fabric that protects from the sun. The fit was also perfect with slightly longer sleeves to accommodate arm movement without pulling up (along with thumb loops if needed). The... Read More current design has the same great/cool fabric, but the fit changed. I comfortably wore a small size before, but now even the sleeves on the medium are marginally too short (fine when walking, but too short to bike or climb). To make matters worse, the thumb loops also disappeared. Overall, I just really wish Patagonia would revert to the old style, or add the "baselayer" option/fit to the product line. These are easily the best long sleeve cool hiking shirts out there, but I'm sad that I can no longer buy them if I wear out my old one.

February 8, 2020

Very Inconsistent

I've ordered these shirts in the past and was completely satisfied. I recently purchase of 3 and the workmanship is very inconsistent and not comfortable. The fit of the collar is extremely loose and with the rest of the shirt fitting slim it is very uncomfortable to wear. I use these shirts for a variety of circumstances; exercise, hiking and... Read More casual but I am not sure at this point whether to look for alternatives.

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2020

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the shirts you've most recently received. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so it's much appreciated. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 2, 2020

It fits nice, love the

It fits nice, love the material!

December 28, 2019

Excellent! Very light

Excellent! Very light

November 29, 2019

Great product

very comfortable, size was spot on.

November 5, 2019

Great birthday present

My husband is pretty picky about his clothes, especially his athletic wear. He loved it!

October 23, 2019

Walking top

Great shirt for walking.

October 3, 2019

Great for running and field work

I bought these in hopes to have something good for running and for field work as a base layer. It has worked out great! I love the fit, especially the sleeves that are more fitted. great shirt!

September 30, 2019

Long sleeve lightweight capilene

Perfect in 40 to 90 degree weather. Considered baselayer, I wear it as outerwear so bought it in size XXL for a looser fit. I bought two of these initially to fit as baselayer. Loved it so much I bought two more in XXL. Wore it for two weeks in Switzerland and France lasr week. No other top needed!

September 11, 2019

Sweet Spot Achieved!

I've been long searching for a warm-weather shirt, with long sleeves, that will be (1) super light; (2) comfortable on the skin; (3) easy to put on & take off; and (4) doesn't smell. Each product i've tested - including Arcteryx's and other Patagonia products - failed in one (or more) of these categories. Enter the "Coo... Read Morel Lightweight L/S." Bingo. I wore it on my motorcycle (under a protective armor) - a breeze. I ran with it - a joy. I wore it for long hours - no stink. This is the one.The real deal. Kudos Patagonia! Just looking now for more on sale... (good luck with that!).

September 8, 2019

Hawaii perfect!

My husband loves them. Based on descriptions and reviews, as well as our satisfaction from our other Patagonia products, I knew he would. Lightweight great for our hot Maui summer, great for our current visit in Wasington state, and will be perfect for Nor Cal in a few days. They look beautiful on!! Just after I ordered two, he said he needed to ge... Read Moret some other shirts for sun protection (he was removing a heavier weight shirt) I said: "I just ordered you two from Patagonia". We plan to get more, as well as gifts for the other men in our life (our kids). I'll be looking for the female version.

Response from Patagonia
September 19, 2019

We are so glad to hear that this has worked out well. Here is a link to the [women's version](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-long-sleeved-capilene-cool-lightweight-shirt/45695.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_45695_color=COB).

September 3, 2019

Capilene is cool

I love this shirt(.) I wear one daily for work under my scrubs and it is as good on 100 degree days as it is on 32 degree days. Also excellent fly fishing or at the beach for sun protection. I’m 5’10”, 185-size L fits perfectly.

August 29, 2019

Nice lightweight shirt

Nice shirt. Runs a little baggier than I'd expect for a patagonia tech shirt, but not bad. Feels like quality but is very lightweight, great for layering.

August 29, 2019

Excellent recycled shirt

Fit true to size. The threads are pulled on the pocket so it looks a big scrunched.

August 12, 2019

Lightweight sun protection that dumps moisture

I live in a desert climate with 90 to 100 deg summer temps and lots of sun. This shirt is the best sun protection/cooling combo run shirt I own, and now I own several. 6’ 175 size medium for Patagonia shirts like this described by Patagonia as regular fit where I otherwise where a large in the shirts listed as slim fit

August 11, 2019

great sun shirt

Very good sun shirt. I have bought a number of these in different colors. Very cool to wear in high heat and sun. The fabric feels smooth. These are great shirts that i wear all the time, however the fabric is not as durable as the normal capilene daily (which is nearly indestructible). I have ripped the fabric with aggressive use (playing ultimate... Read More), but under normal wear it seems fine. Sizing is great, right in the middle, not tight, not loose. I will buy again.

August 10, 2019

Great fit!

I bought 3 of these shirts. They are extremely lightweight, keep the cool, when it hot, and texturally feel great! I will definitely get more in the future.

August 10, 2019

Didn’t particularly care for the

Didn’t particularly care for the fit or the feel. I have several daily wear short sleeve capilene cool shirts and really like them, by the LS shirt wasn’t the same fit (tighter) and didn’t have the same feel.

Response from Patagonia
August 13, 2019

We're sorry to hear this! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us for a refund and let us know if you have any questions.

August 10, 2019

Thumb straps/holes? Bring ‘em back.

Without the thumb straps/holes, it’s just a shirt with long sleeves that won’t stay put.

May 15, 2019

Poison Oak Slayer

Thank God for this shirt. I was so happy to feel how light and breathable this is. I will most definitely buy a few more to combat the poison oak here in the Bay Area. Even of a 80+ degree day I feel this is going to be a great shirt for tight trail riding.

May 12, 2019

Everything you want, nothing you don’t

Extremely soft and comfortable and lighter weight than the competition. Didn’t notice it at all on 1.5 hour runs. Have yet to test it on longer efforts. It dries faster than anything I’ve ever worn and helps me stay cool as I tend to run pretty warm. Love this shirt! I am 6’0” 175lbs and medium is perfect.

May 8, 2019

Love this shirt!

Looks good, fits good, comfortable Perfect for warm weather wear

May 8, 2019

Delivers as promised.

Ultralight weight shirt with excellent odor control. hiked with the short sleeved version of this last year for 10 days in the Alps with only occasional washings in a sink. It never smelled and always dried before morning.

May 6, 2019

Please bring back the old Capilene 1

I wear Patagonia Capilene t-shirts every day... but it’s the "Capilene 1” that Patagonia used to sell. I tried this new version and immediately returned it. Where an L fit me perfectly in the old shirt, the L now won't stay tucked in (shorter by more than an inch) and the XL is saggy and baggy. The fabric has a creepy feel next to your sk... Read Morein. No thanks. Please bring back the old Capilene 1.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches