Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt

Write Your Review

4.75 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 80 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt

4.75
True To Size
July 10, 2020

Best lightweight shirt

This is the perfect lightweight shirt for being active in the heat. Super light and dries quick. Handy little loop to hang it to dry, perfectly packable as it takes up no room. I will be wearing this all summer!

July 9, 2020

Best Warm/Hot Weather Workout Shirt

This shirt is light, easy wearing, and performs very well in hot, muggy conditions. Fit is close, but not snug and allows excellent breathability. My favorite all around base layer!

July 9, 2020

TShirt

Great T-Shirt, very comfy. I am normally a large but in most of Patagonia shirts I am a medium. Im 5'10" 170 42 chest.

July 9, 2020

Super light, comfortable, odor free

My favorite running / hiking shirt. Super lightweight, looks great, and doesn't smell even after 2x running and 2x mountain biking.

June 27, 2020

Great fit, Better wicking

Somehow this shirt doesnt seem to cling even when I get very sweaty. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a very lightweight shirt, but I wouldnt want to walk through briars with it.

June 25, 2020

Lightweight

Feels like you are not wearing anything

June 21, 2020

Great shirt

This has become my go to shirt for hiking in warmer weather. Keeps me dry and comfortable on the uphills and is a perfect base layer when a sweatshirt is needed. Fit is true- I prefer a bit looser t-shirt, and always go one size up (59 160 and wear a size large).

June 21, 2020

Great hot weather running shirt

Love this shirt! It's extremely lightweight which is perfect for the horribly humid DC summers. Feels light and cool which is great for long runs and hikes. I'm 5'11''/175 lbs and ordered a small originally because that's the size I wear for Patagonia cotton t-shirts but had to return it for a medium which fits perfect... Read More. Highly recommend.

June 21, 2020

lightweight, wicking, great colors

Patagonia has really outdone themselves with their new line of baselayers. I've worn (and sweated) in these multiple days and not smelled for the worse. Cut is athletic, but slightly slim, but I like my clothing to fit that way...nothing to snag and with enough elasticity to provide range of motion

June 19, 2020

Great shirt

This has become my go to shirt for hiking in warmer weather. Keeps me dry and comfortable on the uphills and is a perfect base layer when a sweatshirt is needed. Fit is true- I prefer a bit looser t-shirt, and always go one size up (59 160 and wear a size large).

June 19, 2020

Hawaii t-shirt

This shirt is perfect for warm Hawaii days.

June 17, 2020

Great hot weather running shirt

Love this shirt! It's extremely lightweight which is perfect for the horribly humid DC summers. Feels light and cool which is great for long runs and hikes. I'm 5'11''/175 lbs and ordered a small originally because that's the size I wear for Patagonia cotton t-shirts but had to return it for a medium which fits perfect... Read More. Highly recommend.

June 17, 2020

Super Comfortable

Awesome shirt, fits great, very light, extremely breathable. Love it, it's one of my favorites.

June 17, 2020

Staying cool on the trail

My new go to summer trail shirt - never thought a t-shirt would turn into technical gear - well done Patagonia.

June 17, 2020

Super Light

This is such an easy decision. Folks this shirt is super light, no weird seams to cause chafing, it dries out faster than any other shirt I've tried, and there is a loop to hang it up to dry before tossing it in your dirty laundry.

June 17, 2020

lightweight, wicking, great colors

Patagonia has really outdone themselves with their new line of baselayers. I've worn (and sweated) in these multiple days and not smelled for the worse. Cut is athletic, but slightly slim, but I like my clothing to fit that way...nothing to snag and with enough elasticity to provide range of motion

June 17, 2020

Like nothing on at all

I have now 3 of these in different colors, perfect for me when Im riding trails on my bike, theyre so light you wont notice youre wearing it. Im between a size medium and large in Patagonia tops so I look for slim fitting garments in a large size and they usually work out at least the athletic type tops. This is my go to for shredding single tracks... Read More!

June 15, 2020

Cool & light weight

I use this for whitewater kayaking, as a base layer, to wick away moisture, for a comfortable feel. In summer, it`s my only layer! It`s comfortable & dries super fast, once I`m off the river!

May 28, 2020

Lightest shirt ever

This is the most lightweight shirt Ive ever worn. Breathes extremely well and dries quickly- makes running tolerable in the oppressive Texas heat. Try one out, you wont regret it.

May 28, 2020

Ideal shirt for high output

I love the cool lightweight material. It wicks quickly, blocks the sun, doesn't chafe and doesn't stink even after a few sessions. I have a long sleeve version I've worn on some warm 50k races to help block the sun and it works great as well. The fit is true to size for me and the cut is form fitting. In my younger days I adventured ... Read Morea lot around the world, this shirt would have been ideal. Haven't had any early wear issues yet, seems surprisingly strong. I dig it. If it wasn't synthetic I would wear it under my wildland fire gear.

May 15, 2020

Almost Perfect. Durability is a problem.

I bought two of these about a month ago, and they were the perfect shirts. The fit is great, the feel is excellent, and they never smell like my other shirts after an active day. Unfortunately, I have only worn one of them twice (and washed it once without putting it in the drier) and it is already pilling pretty majorly. It's a bummer I will ... Read Morehave to return this after so short a time. This would have been my go to active-wear if the durability was better.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

We are so sorry to hear about the pilling that is making this otherwise perfect shirt, a pain. Unfortunately, pilling with knit garments can be inevitable as it is the nature of those fibers. You can try one of the many methods there are to remove pilling, or, you are welcome to send the shirt back to us if you're unsatisfied and would like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 13, 2020

Worth every penny

This piece filled a gap with a tech t shirt that I didn't even know that was there. This short has the perfect balance of stretch and cut to make it feel featherlight and like you have nothing on. It breathes extremely well and offers a surprising amount of protection and durability. With a number of other shirts in the closet including other ... Read MorePatagonia, this is always the one i reach for first. If the rest of the HEK is anything like this piece I cant wait to try them all.

May 6, 2020

Great shirt - love it for mtn biking

I wish that made this shirt in a mtn bike cut thats a little longer in the back. Also wished came in a white color for those hot desert rides.

May 4, 2020

Capilene Cool light weight shirt

This shirt is awesome. Super light weight as advertised and great for warm weather. It does run slim fit so I usually wear a medium and will be trying both a medium and a large. If you don't like too tight of a shirt definitely size up. Great shirt though. Will be buying more.

March 2, 2020

Excellent shirt

I wear these shirts daily as an undershirt with a long sleeve shirt over the top on cooler days or by itself on warm days. Perfect moisture wicking and lightweight feel. Please bring back the white color.

February 14, 2020

All season T

Super light and pretty much no smell. I'm 5'11' and 205 lbs and don't like tight fit in anything. I usually avoid Slim Fit but the XL is just right for me. It's the perfect layer under a zip-T on a cold day and for a hot day on a mountain bike. I have two now and don't anticipate ever wearing them out.

February 11, 2020

Best T shirt ever

Im enjoying using these shirts as my for hiking in the summer, and for layering in the winter. I also them for travel because they are so light. They save a lot of weight in my luggage.

December 28, 2019

Can’t get wrinkles/creases out

The shirts are real nice lightweight shirts which is what I wanted, however they have creases in them from being folded and packaged and you can not get them out. I’ve tried ironing, hanging wet to dry, and nothing seems to work. It looks like you’re wearing a wrinkled unwashed shirt.

December 19, 2019

A great gym shirt.

This is a great gym shirt. It keeps me cool and dry. It also doesn’t smell like other shirts after a while.

December 18, 2019

Excellent product--I have 3 of

Excellent product--I have 3 of them. Cool, light, and functional.

December 15, 2019

Very nice workout shirt

Overall, this is a very nice workout tee; however, I am 6'1" and wear a large and wouldn't mind if the larges were an inch longer, particularly because the shirt is so light that it tends to ride up my torso. Speaking of weight, the shirt is very, very light. It hardly feels like you're wearing anything at all!

December 3, 2019

Don’t fit like the old ones

Horrible fit the neck is very loose on all the shirts. Believe after 22 years of wearing these shirts I will be finding a new company.

December 2, 2019

There really is a difference

The lighter weight of this shirt truly is noticeable on hot weather trail runs or during a fitness class. It was a staple for me this summer when the temps were in the 90's during a run or during an intense exercise class. The shirt basically gets out of the way when you're doing a vigorous activity and moisture seems to disappear rather ... Read Morethan absorb into the material.

November 19, 2019

Great Shirt!

Comfortable, and great outdoors in the Florida heat.

November 17, 2019

Favorite workout shirt!

This was my 5th capilene cool shirt purchase and I can't recommend them enough! They fit perfectly and feel amazing. I wear the lightweight shirt for lifting, running, and pretty much everyday casual wear.

November 5, 2019

Excellent

Great shirts. Buy a couple every year and they've held up very well. Surprising for how light they are. Fit me well and haven't noticed any oder issues. Breath well.

November 4, 2019

Cool and comfortable

These shirts are amazingly comfortable to wear. 5hey dry very quickly and hold no odor. Best t shirts I’ve owned

October 23, 2019

Great shirt!

Love this shirt, great slim fit, extremely light weight, perfect length (6’4” 190 lbs)

October 14, 2019

Super light weight, perfect for being active

I bought two of them: the feather grey version is extremely soft and light weight. The tasmanian teal has a different fabric that doesn't feel as soft when you touch it but feels even lighter - if that is possible - when I'm active. I love them both and where them to hiking all the time

October 9, 2019

Excellent

As usual fantastic quality and colour. Living in the tropics it is great in any conditions and then as an undergarment in colder places

October 3, 2019

Capilene Cool

I am on round two ordering these Capilene lightweight shirts. I now have one in every color available in my size. I live in Texas and we specialize in hot and summers that last 6 for months. These shirts do an amazing job of wicking sweat and almost act like air conditioning to the skin if there is any breeze at all. Hiking in Greece this summer th... Read Moreese shirts were my go to and easy to wash and wear. They also make a great first layer for early fall hiking or hunting. Very pleased.

September 27, 2019

The best light weight t-shirts

The best light weight t-shirts ever! I like them so much I bought 5 shirts. So light you almost don't know you are wearing the shirt. Great alone for the hot FL sun or for layering when we venture North. Like the actual stitching in the seams instead of the adhesive tape used on prior models which came apart after a few uses. But Patagonia che... Read Moreerfully replaced the old with the new. Great service for what is now a great product. Outstanding example of customer service.

September 23, 2019

Awesome shirt but fragile

So I really love this shirt. It's so light and fits really well and I love the material. The only thing is it starts falling apart almost immediately after purchasing. I haven't even washed it and it's pilling and unraveling. The same thing is happening in two out of the three that I bought. Such a shame. Luckily I bought them on sal... Read Moree because if I paid $45 bucks each I would be livid.

September 22, 2019

Super light

I haven’t get to wear this shirt yet but tried it on and it feels super light. Can’t wait to wear it! I have other Capilene shirts and they are awesome

September 21, 2019

Good Gosh That Cools You Down

I live in the south, where temperatures and humidity run high. I tend not to run with shirts on because of house much sweat they collect, but sometimes I need the sun protection. This shirt is incredible. I can tell the wicking technology is playing in its own league with this shirt, and I kid you not, I have moments where I actually get chills on ... Read Morehot days because of how it enables evaporation cooling to work. Also, I'm pleasantly surprised there's no snags or pulls anywhere on the shirt, so it's durable too. Unbelievable shirt and will absolutely buy more.

September 19, 2019

Just right

I'm 5'10" and about 165lbs and the medium fits just right. I'm using it for an undershirt, but may use it for a hiking shirt by itself. Might order more in the future.

September 16, 2019

Great Shirt and fabric, but a little tight

Shirt, fabric and color are great and I think it was a good deal, but for an XL it is a little tight. I liked it enough that I am not sending it back, instead someone is going to get a pretty sweet Christmas present.

September 16, 2019

Great shirt!

Super light weight & excellent fit this shirt is awesome.

September 16, 2019

Like butterfly wings - and just as fragile

These shirts are, as advertised, VERY light. I took them out for the first time on a backpacking trip. During that trip, I think I rested my back against a rock at some point - now the back of the shirt is coming apart (pills / tears in a few places). Disappointing. Perhaps that's inevitable with any lightweight shirt? If so, I guess I just sh... Read Moreouldn't have bought a product like this; the light weight isn't worth only being able to wear them a few times, or having to avoid touching anything with my torso while wearing them.

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2019

We're sorry to hear this happened! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your shirt back to us under warranty if you are unsatisfied with its performance.

September 14, 2019

Multiuse.

This shirt works perfectly for travel, hiking and cycling. The cut and fit is just right. It washes and dries easily and does not appear to hold odors. I like the green, gray. Blue color too.

September 14, 2019

Fantastic Running Shirt

This shirt by leaps and bounds is the best running shirt I have ever owned. It is the best solution for hot/humid conditions, and a base layer under an outer layer in cold conditions.

September 13, 2019

I bought 1 size larger.

I bought 1 size larger. Happy I did. Very comfortable.

September 10, 2019

Nice shirt not for running

I gambled worse than Lt. Drebin ordering out when purchasing this shirt. It felt light in REI so I picked it up, put it back down, eventually purchasing it. You see, I have doubts that any recent shirt by any manufacturer is going to work in South Texas. This shirt clung to my back by mile 4-uncomfortable, unbreathable, not sure what all the hype i... Read Mores about. Yes, it’s a nice shirt just not a performance shirt. I can only hope that my 3 yo collection of NB D2D can hold up while I keep searching.

September 9, 2019

Great hiking/ workout shirt

I wear this shirt to the gym regularly and have taken it on strenuous hikes and love how breathable and comfortable it is. When I wear my cotton T-shirts, my sweat pools on the back during intense exercise but doesn’t with this shirt. One thing to note is that this shirt feels relatively thin. That is a benefit in that it is light weight but I wor... Read Morery it could puncture easily. I wouldn’t recommend it hiking through poorly maintained trails where branches sticking into the trail might poke holes into the shirt

September 8, 2019

Shorts sizing

I tried on 32s and 34s at a local store. 32 was a touch too small and 34 was a tad too big so I purchased 2 pairs of size 33 in different colors. The black pair fits perfectly but the clay colored shorts fits like a 34. Same short, just different color and definitely bigger in the waist. Found it odd.

September 6, 2019

Great shirt

Very light weight and very comfortable. Perfect on a hot day or as a base layer if it’s cooler. I’m definitely going to buy more.

September 5, 2019

Great baselayer

Lightweight, good fit, wicks wonderfully. Will be getting more of these.

September 5, 2019

Amazing, lightweight, cool

Wear this shirt everywhere - to work, climbing, running, hiking. It's unbelievably light and breathable, and still stylish and comfy to wear casually. It dries so quickly I can handwash it at home or on the trail, wring it out and hang it up to dry, and then have a perfectly comfily dry shirt to wear within an hour or so. Highly recommend as a... Read Moren all-around tee.

September 5, 2019

Awesome weight and fit -

Awesome weight and fit - great shirt

September 5, 2019

Love it

Great fitting, super light-weight shirt! While it is light weight it also manages to not look like it. It wicks sweat and dries faster better than any other shirt I’ve owned. I boiling the these for the JMT because of their light weight, and odor resistance. Extremely pleased.

September 3, 2019

Great summer shirt

I love this shirt. Light and airy. Forget I have it on at times.

September 2, 2019

Capilene Cool Lightweight

Pros: lightweight, breathability, dries fast Cons: can snag, durability This is my favorite running shirt in the heat. I use the long sleeve version as an underneath layer in the winter.

September 2, 2019

Great for Travel...

Travel or the gym. Doesn't seem to get as stinky as other technical Tees even after a hard workout or hours on the plane. Super light and drys quickly after a wash in the sink. The colors are great and look just a little sharper than an average t-shirt. I'm ordering more.

August 31, 2019

Fits great. Extremely light weight.

Fits great. Extremely light weight.

August 29, 2019

cool lightweight capilene T

I've been wearing capilene T's as my base for decades now, but this is my first new purchase in a while. Love this T! Comfortable, good sun block, doesn't pick up body odor. Now if you could make me a union suit out of the same stuff I'd be all set for drysuit and ski season!

August 29, 2019

New go to workout shirt

Bought this at one of their stores. Instantly became one of my favorite shirts for the gym, climbing, and running. Super breathable, fits like a glove and very flattering. 6'2" 185 with broad shoulders and large fit great! Bought a couple more when they went on sale, I'll eventually own all the colors lol.

August 25, 2019

Great workout and daily wear shirt!

My capilene shirt is great for hot days and hard workouts--thanks Patagonia for making high quality products at fair prices!

August 19, 2019

Great shirt

I'm a huge fan of these shirts. I have two of them and will likely get more. Shirt performs well in all conditions, from humid Midwest summer heat to dry arid mountain air.

August 15, 2019

Capilene shirt

Great for running. Almost like no shirt at all.

August 15, 2019

CAPILENE cool lightweight shirt

I bought it to climb Mount Elbrus and it was perfect. Nos I use it eveyday for any kind of activity.

August 15, 2019

Great, versatile shirt

The shirt is light, fits well (close to the skin but not too tight), wicks moisture well, and doesn’t smell too bad. It’s my go to for trail runs and climbing and as a base layer for big adventures in the mountains.

August 15, 2019

Gossamer

These t’s are sensational. Incredibly light almost weight less. In the hot muggy conditions I guide in they are heroic. Worn under a dress shirt for forays to DC in the heat of summer they keep me comfortable even when I am losing my cool… ;-)

August 15, 2019

Capilene Cool

I was looking for the lightest, coolest layer for hot summer runs. This shirt fits the bill well, and cools nicely particularly after you start to sweat.

August 12, 2019

Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt,

Great shirt for hot temps., would like one for temps. 10-15 degrees cooler, long sleeve. Shows sweat stains, not a big deal, we sweat. My go to clothes are always in my adventure bag, that is one of them. I have a capilene midweight from the late 80's, that is in my adventure bag also.

June 27, 2019

Amazing lightweight, comfortable shirt great for running or hanging out

I love this shirt so much that I bought it in another color (the gray and red). It is incredibly soft, lightweight and just feels great on. Not tight fitting but slim and not baggy. I use it for running or just a comfy shirt I want to wear on a hot day. Very happy with this! I wear a Large in this and am 6-2, 175 lbs.

June 24, 2019

Excellent!

Super comfortable for synthetic tshirt, breathable, light and compressible. Fabric looks durable, not thin. Fit bit closer to regular, not tight, not loose, length in size S good for 1,7 m height.

May 11, 2019

Best Houdini yet

The new Houdini Air is by far the best yet! I own 4 now and this one has a great feel against the skin vs the standard Houdini. A little more breathable but she’s enough wind (and rain) to be a universal always in my pack item. 5 stars.

May 8, 2019

Great lightweight baselayer for practically anything

I have worn this baselayer all day snorkeling to climbing to many miles running and is the right weight, breathability, and UPF protection for all those activities and more. Practically what a technical shirt should be.

March 30, 2019

Lightweight and comfortable

I bought this solely for backpacking. The size small weighed up at 62 grams (2.2oz). Switching this shirt out with my under armor sleeveless shirt saved about 2 oz in my pack weight. I normally wear size medium cloths but with Patagonia the size small always fits perfectly, this shirt is no different. Its feels very soft and comfortable next to ski... Read Moren. Not restrictive at all. Its still march so I havent put it through its paces yet (just some around the house use), but I'm very happy with the product thus far. As long as it holds up to the stress of a couple months on the trail I'll call it a perfect travel shirt.

March 20, 2019

Best Lightweight Capilene yet!

One month into wearing: Sizing - size Large - I'm 5'11", 175lbs, 42 chest, 34 waist and the fit is dialed for me. Chest fits perfect, sleeves have a nice cut, body is contoured but not hugging too close. The fit would work well layering and is also loose enough to wear on it's own and look stylish as casual wear. The new trea... Read Moretment with miDori is a game changer as far as feel and comfort are concerned. It's the most "natural" feeling synthetic base layer I've worn and I own a lot of gear. There's a softness to the fabric face and skin side that's more cotton like which translates to a feeling of breathability that's incredible. If this treatment lasts the life of the garment and drying time and durability are consistent with previous generations, this is a big leap forward for a synthetic base layer.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches