Back to Product

Patagonia Refugio Daypack 26L

Write Your Review

3.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 16 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Refugio Daypack 26L

3.2/5
True To Size
June 26, 2022

Great for vacations

My daughter bought the same bag when we spent a week in Disney World last summer. It was perfect!!! It held everything we needed for our long days: sunscreen, wipes, sunglasses, hats, snacks, etc. The side pockets were big enough for our large stainless steel water bottles and had straps to secure them. I decided I had to have one for any spur of t... Read Morehe trip I might take! Mine had a bit of an upgrade-a padded, removable tablet/laptop sleeve. This is a wonderful bag that will serve me well!

June 9, 2022

Perfect every day back pack

Got this back pack for my bicycle/train commute and as purse substitute for the weekend. Love the outside pocket that zips vertical open down the middle. It makes it easy to grab your wallet, your phone, or mask. Would have liked an interior pocket in the main compartment to hold keys/badges. Between my home, train, and work Ive got 3 sets of keys ... Read Moreand 5 access cards.

June 6, 2022

Perfect bag for work!

I work as a nurse and carry a lot with me on my 12-hr shifts. This bag can comfortably carry my lunch and snacks, water bottle, coffee tumbler, rain jacket, umbrella, iPad, and other essentials that I carry with me on a daily basis. The material is sturdy, well-built, and has good strap padding/insulation. I think it is roomy enough to carry 2-3 da... Read Moreys worth of clothes too if youre looking to travel. I was looking for a bag to replace my old beloved Osprey and this is perfect. I love this bag so much and highly recommend it!

May 16, 2022

Perfect day pack for city or dog walks

Long trail walks with the dogs and you know ~ collapsible dog bowl, water, keys, wallet, hat + room for small purchases, it adds up quickly. This doesnt feel (or look) too big at all. Also a great walking around the city for the afternoon pack! Patagonias packs are simply the comfiest (hands down) with sturdy zippers. Worth the lil bit extr... Read Morea price. Simple design, I got the black Just buy it.

May 11, 2022

Bad Redesign

I owned the old 26 liter design and took a look at the new one in a store. I find it to be a horrible redesign for the following reasons: -No internal organization pockets. -Padded separator at the back of the bag (useful for any flat items) removed in favor of a removable sleeve, which simultaneously reduced useful compartments from 2 down to 1. ... Read More-New side pockets are large but flat; the old design had pockets with a lot of space in them without needing to be stretched, which was incredibly useful for quick access items. -New straps don't get narrow at the bottom like the old design, the straps of which stayed to the side of the chest, out of the way. The old design was quite fantastic. A nice size and shape, with very versatile pockets and compartments. It could have used better internal organization, but that's about all. The redesign does not compare, and I hope to see the old design return in the future.

May 10, 2022

Disappointing pockets

I picked up this backpack from rei today as a replacement for my old nike one. Im a huge fan of the look of front zipper and it was comfortable so I bought it. When I checked out the inside later I found the single interior pocket. Theres pretty much 0 options for small item storage. Going to return.

Response from Patagonia
May 13, 2022

Hey Ryan, thank you for the feedback. The Refugio redesign has a front pocket, a tech caddy pocket along the back, two water bottle pockets on the sides and the main compartment area, so there are a couple options for items that need quick access. With that said, if you're unhappy with the product you're definitely welcome to return it. Maybe something like our [Arbor Lid Pack 28L](https://www.patagonia.com/product/arbor-lid-pack-28-liters/48545.html?dwvar_48545_color=BSAR&cgid=luggage-backpacks) would be more suitable for your needs.

May 6, 2022

Good backpack that could be improved

I was seeking a unicorn backpack, which is a casual hiking 25-28L daypack that has a zippered padded laptop pocket. There only a few backpacks that fit the bill since most backpacks fall into commuter/travel or hiking daypack categories, and either lack a separate zippered laptop pocket (hiking day pack) or are a commuter pack without features usef... Read Moreul in a day hiking pack (no water bottle sleeves, sternum strap). The re-designed Refugio 26L seemed to like it could be exactly what I wanted and on the whole, I think it's a decent pack. Roomier than the 26L volume implies, nicely padded shoulder straps, good construction. I agree with other reviewers that the removable laptop sleeve is too niche a feature, and Patagonia would have been better off just padding the pocket and adding an organization pocket or two in the main compartment. I like the large zippered pocket in the front, but a smaller pocket for storing keys, wallet, cellphone is missing. I also think that the shoulder straps are set a bit too close together. They can rub on the neck. Although lengthening the straps helps to ease the problem, that doesn't help people who have a shorter torso length. Adding an inch of distance between the straps would help. I find this to be a versatile pack that can be a city hauler but also sufficient to carry your things on a causal hike. It's just missing a few things for it to truly be a unicorn.

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2022

Hey Mo, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. You're correct that the way a daypack is designed will be different than something made for technical use. The cool thing about the removable tech caddy and how you'd like to use this bag, is that it allows you to remove your laptop for those days that you want to take the bag on the trail; which gives it some added versatility. The only other pack we can think of that might work for you is our [Black Hole Pack 25L](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-pack-25-liters/49297.html?dwvar_49297_color=APBL&cgid=luggage). It has a padded laptop sleeve that is integrated into the pack, along with smaller organization pockets, a sternum strap and water bottle pockets. Perhaps it could be your unicorn pack, check it out!

May 3, 2022

uncomfortable pack

I found this pack to be uncomfortable to wear. I put just a few items in it and wore it around the house to see how it worked for me. It hurt the muscles between by neck and shoulders. I had to return it.

May 2, 2022

Design changed to make worse

I found this pack in REI to replace my old one, and thought was great, though they didnt have in a decent color. I now discover they had the *old design*, and now can only have the new design, minus all the pockets. Why change the design in such a negative way?

April 30, 2022

A Better Computer Pack

I chose this pack for my work computer pack. The computer sleeve and separate zipper pocket are very nice. The main compartment is huge and the outer zipper compartment expands to hold all my smalls. Straps are comfortable and the construction seems sturdy. Only thing Id like is a smaller compartment for keys, ear buds etc. Over all its very ... Read Moregreat.

April 10, 2022

Terrible redesign

This new version of Refugio 26 L is awful. It used to be designed for women but Patagonia has decided we aren't important. The old version had a strap design that lifted the pack for women's shorter torsos. It was the most comfortable pack I've ever worn. This one is unisex, which always means a male default. And then they also take ... Read Moreaway the organizer pockets! Who thought any of this was a good idea?

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2022

Hey Nancy, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We've removed the gendered language from our Daypack product line this season since people come in a wide array of shapes and sizes, we did not want to exclude folks with shorter torso's if the pack was specified for women. The Refugio 26L will fit most people, but we do also have our [Atom Tote Pack 20L](https://www.patagonia.com/product/atom-tote-pack-20-liters/48125.html?dwvar_48125_color=CNYT&cgid=root) for those with shorter stature. The straps on the Refugio are still adjustable to change how it sits on the body. The tablet and laptop sleeve inside of the pack has been changed to a removeable tech caddy to make it easy to remove when your tech items are not needed. We hope this helps to give some clarity into why we've made these design changes. As always, if you're not happy with the product you're welcome to return it either in store or by sending it back to our warehouse.

March 28, 2022

Needs internal pockets

Nice backpack but there are no internal pockets for holding small things like keys, a wallet or pen. The laptop sleeve is okay but prefer older backpack versions where the sleeve is just an area separated within the pack by a padded sheet. Even when not carrying a laptop, the laptop area is useful for keep notebooks or other flat items separate fro... Read Morem main pack area.

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2022

Thank you for sending this feedback, Andrea. It's very helpful to our product design team in planning future product revisions. Please let our Customer Service Team know if you would like to return or exchange it. Our number is (800) 638-6464.

March 22, 2022

great work travel pack

everything i wanted in a travel pack,labtop sleve water bottle pockets.

March 19, 2022

Disappointed with the update

I had owned this backpack before and it was the greatest backpack Ive had. Then my car was broken into and it was stolen. So I buy it online and pick it up in store without looking at it because everything seemed to be the same and I was leaving to go out of town. Only to get home and realize there is no organization pockets anymore. They have opte... Read Mored to have a removable laptop sleeve that has one pocket and thats it. I am so disappointed in this change and had to return it. Testing out other brands just hasnt compared to my old Refugio. Patagonia, please bring back the original design. This backpack is officially useless now.

Response from Patagonia
March 28, 2022

Thank you for this feedback on the revisions, Kaitlyn. We're sorry they missed the mark for you! This kind of feedback is extremely useful to our product design team. We hope we can get you set up with something that will work much better for you in the future!

March 17, 2022

Lacking internal org

Excellent size for a daypack, but I was hoping to use this for work, and taking out all internal organization except for the laptop sleeve is something I didn't like. I returned this pack for another pack.

March 8, 2022

Overall great but with one recommendation

This backpack checks all the boxes but one. I'm using this pack for international travel and so am looking at it through that lens. Let's start with the good stuff; you can fit a surprising amount in this pack, it's nice looking and should hold up well over time, the water bottle pockets easily swallow my 32 oz. Nalgenes, it has a se... Read Moreparate laptop compartment for easy grabbing at coffee shops and airports, and the front pocket is great to quickly stash snacks or a sweatshirt. The one big change that I'd like to see is adding a smaller quick grab pocket somewhere on this pack. Patagonia decided to go with a removable laptop compartment sleeve that has a small pocket on it for organization. The problem is, it's not that easy to get to when the pack is fully loaded, and, if you don't need the sleeve, you lose the one organizing pocket in the whole pack. I felt like the laptop sleeve was overkill for me but if you don't use it, you lose the only smaller storage pocket for quick grab items like headphones, charging cable, Kindle, etc. You can use the front pocket for that but it's easy to get lost because of the size and lack of organization and it would be real easy for someone to unzip it and grab stuff out without you really knowing it, so I wouldn't feel great about putting anything expensive up there. And so, in summary, I think this pack does a fine job of giving you a lightweight versatile pack that swallows gear and has a lot of practical use but would love to see a smaller organization pocket built into the pack like previous versions.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches