Back to Product

Patagonia Chacabuco Backpack 30L

Write Your Review

4.26 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 57 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Chacabuco Backpack 30L

4.26
True To Size
February 23, 2020

Campus backpack

I'm a student at Penn State and the 30l Chacabuco backpack holds everything I need to stay on campus for the day. The water bottle pockets are big enough to hold widemouth nalgenes and the main compartment is big enough to hold around 4 folders, 3 3-subject notebooks and a text book comfortably. The front pocket has a nice sideways internal zi... Read Morepper pocket for pencils, calculators or whatever. The adjustable string on the front also helps to make room for chargers, and whatever else inside the bag. In addition the laptop compartment is well padded.

January 9, 2020

Bad backpack

If you have any real amount of weight inside the bag, you lose circulation to your shoulders because of how thin the shoulder straps are. The laptop pocket has a narrow zipper which makes it difficult to get a laptop in and out. The narrow zipper is also a pattern in the other compartments thus making it difficult to access items. The backpack need... Read Mores more compartments for smaller items, it is designed for looks not useability. Lastly, the roughness of the straps and back scratch clothing and bare shoulders.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Ryan! Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear the Chacabuco Pack did not work out for you! If you'd like to return that item, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We might recommend checking out the [Paxat Pack](https://www.patagonia.com/product/paxat-backpack-32-liters/48046.html?dwvar_48046_color=CACL&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=paxat&lang=en_US&start=1) in the meantime, as the laptop sleeve is more easily accessible and there are many compartments for small item organization.

December 30, 2019

Fantastic!

Fantastic backpack! I bought this for my fiancé and he loved it! It’s very spacious and it can be used for everyday or vacation.

December 28, 2019

Wonderful

Wonderful

December 2, 2019

Great backpack

Great quality and space, also very comfortable to carry. I wish it had a few additional pockets inside for wires and gadgets.

November 23, 2019

Couldn't have asked for a better bag

This bag is perfect. I am a college student and I wanted a bag that could last for the rest of my life. I chose correctly. I was in between this one and the 28L version but the 28L seemed like it wouldn't be able to hold enough of my stuff. I like to have a place to put everything so I don't have to carry around my jacket or my lunch, and... Read More this backpack literally has a perfect spot for everything I put in it. It's so sturdy and I don't have to worry about my papers getting wet when it rains. If I don't want to put a wet rain jacket in the main pocket I can hold it in the elastic part on the outside. The water bottle pockets are the perfect size for my 32 oz Nalgenes and the laptop pouch fits my MacBook Air with some room to spare. I was wary about purchasing this bag because so many comments said that the rough back ruined their clothes. I have had the bag for 3 months and haven't noticed a single shirt ruined so don't pay attention to those reviews. For reference I am a 5'7" female and the 30L fits just right.

November 22, 2019

Great Travel Computer pack.

I bought yhis as a day/travel computer pack. Srrvesyhe finction admirabky. Great as a long weekend pack, with computer & change of clothes. It has surprisingly large capacity, yet still functions well when underpacked. Like the elasticsted lashing... great gor bike helmet. Used it in light rain, stayed dry although the zippers str not waterpro... Read Moreof. And can be an airline catty-on.Even when filly liaded.

November 22, 2019

Best Pack!

Amazing function and quality! Both of my daughters love their new packs

November 19, 2019

Awesome backpack!!

10/10 recommend

October 16, 2019

The little clip piece to

The little clip piece to hold the cording broke off the first night it arrived, The backpack is perfect but that was the only issue I had. If I could get that small plastic piece sent to me to replace it that would make a 5 star review.

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2019

Hi Rick, we apologize for that broken drawstring cinch. Good news though, we can definitely get a new one out you! We'll reach out to you to get that part replaced.

October 12, 2019

Great backpack

I have had the same north face backpack since high school (2008), and I finally replaced it. I really like this new pack and it definitely smells better than my old one.... there is a flat computer pocket, a large pocket, and a medium pocket. It’s a bit bigger than my north face but I can fit everything in this puppy. We’ll see how the color holds ... Read Moreup to my daily wear and tear.

October 11, 2019

School backpack

I have a smaller Patagonia Refugio 28l backpack for travel but it wasn't big enough for few books, binder and a Laptop. I like Patagonia backpacks because of their simple designs with sturdy materials.

October 1, 2019

Love it

Love the backpack, haven't noticed the pilling yet. I did exchange the women's version for this for the extra space. Love the compression straps and water bottle pockets. I only wish there was a secret pocket or somewhere for my phone, but otherwise super happy with it.

September 19, 2019

Love this backpack, but it pills and there's already a little hole

I absolutely love this backpack. I got it for school so that I could have a more sturdy backpack than last year. It's perfect for carrying all my books and the laptop compartment is very useful. However, I am a little disappointed because it pills very badly on clothing. You can almost see the pilling of strap marks on shirts. It also pills a ... Read Morelittle on the back, but not as much. I got this backpack within the last month and there is already a hole in the smallest compartment on a mesh pocket. I am not rough with this backpack so I am not sure why I would get a hole, especially in a pocket that I don't use that much.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

I'm sorry to hear about the hole in your pack. You are more than welcome to give our customer service team a call at 1-800-638-6464 to discuss setting up either a repair or a return for the pack.

September 18, 2019

Durable and Lightweight

I order the Chacabuco 30L backpack in grey and I absolutely love it! I use this backpack daily for college and it has held up well. The pockets are the perfect size for all my belongings (i.e. large textbooks). The backpack overall is very stylish and can be used to hold a wide variety of items.

September 17, 2019

Well made. True to size.

Well made. True to size.

September 17, 2019

Great Backpack

I purchased this backpack for my 7th grader. It is large enough to fit 2-3inch binders along with other books. It has other pockets as well and fits and feels comfortable to wear when he walks home from school.

September 11, 2019

Perfect for everything!

This bag manages to have plenty of space without being heavy. It has compartments to hold school books, water bottle, lunch box, computer and phone, each in a convenient spot. My son absolutely loves his backpack, even though it cost a lot. However, I think/hope it will last.

September 10, 2019

Decent backpack

The bag is spacious with pockets to organize material, light and comfortable to carry. The material, however, is thinner than I was expecting. Will have to see how durable it is over the long term, just used it for a week. A darker color would be my recommendation.

September 7, 2019

It’s perfect for school. I

It’s perfect for school. I can put my binder without any problems. I wish it has more pockets to put in small things. I thought it might be too big for me but it’s not. I am 5’3.

September 1, 2019

I love this backpack

I’m currently a Freshman Commuter in college. It fits everything I need for the day, like my lunch, water bottle, laptop, ipad and notebooks. My only concern is that after using it for 3 days I noticed that my t-shirts started getting ruined almost like the backpack was peeling them. I was wondering if there was a way I could fix this I really love... Read More the backpack and don’t want to get another one.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

Thanks for the feedback and we are glad that the pack is working well for school. As far as your shirts, this can occur due to the abrasion from the straps. Although pilling can be inevitable on cotton/polyester clothing, there are some products on the market to help remove pilling. If you decide you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the pack, please let us know and we can [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact).

August 31, 2019

Awesome Daily Pack

This is a great pack and its very versatile, thanks Patagonia, 10/10ths.

August 25, 2019

Good Daily Pack

Great pack of course but only complaint is it is a bit flimsy - much flimsier than it’s NF counterpart.

August 24, 2019

Chacabuco backpack

Currently using it on safari in Africa, holds all I need for the day, camera, extra clothes , water bottles. My wife is sorry she didn't get one too.

August 23, 2019

Chacabuco Pack 30L

I bought the Chacabuco pack for school and it holds all my supplies and laptop perfectly. On the back it sits comfortably and is easy to adjust if your hiking a good distance. this pack has quickly become my favorite.

August 22, 2019

Works well for weekends

I use this bag for work and leisure. Nice size to take on the plane with laptop, book, snacks, etc... Lots of organization features. Went with black for low profile.

August 22, 2019

Poor Quality

I have been carrying the back pack for exactly 7 days and it already has a hole in it.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that your bag has a hole in it. We build our product to last, so we definitely want to look into getting you a replacement that you can rely on. Please reach out to us and we can [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with this process.

August 22, 2019

Go to daypack

Have had this bag for about 2 years now, bought it at the Denver REI for a trip I was taking and its been my go to daypack ever since, its seen many trails and has been properly patched up with national parks patches, packs everything I need for a daytrip (rainjacket, med kit, tarp, rope, snacks, water pouch, misc things) bag is still going strong ... Read Moreafter 2 years of pretty hefty use

August 20, 2019

School Backpack

I got tired of buying a new school backpack every year as the others wear out right away. I chose Patagonia for one of my sons and he loves it. Loves the color, fit, feel, design. Tall water bottles stay in the side pocket well, plenty of room for lunch bag, books, etc. He is a 5th grader. Seems great so far, we will see how it holds up to the abus... Read Moree of a very active rough and tumble 10 year old.

August 20, 2019

Great bag, but stiff straps

Literally the only issue I have with the pack is that the straps are stiff. The material rubs against your collarbone, jawline and neck, but I’m hoping with time this molds more to my needs and relaxes slightly over time with use. I really love the color and the pocket sizes and great. The water bottle pockets are perfect and flexible to fit any si... Read Moreze container I’m carrying. Really love the bag. Glad I purchased this for my day hikes!

August 19, 2019

My new travel backpack!!

A great item to travel or to hit the trails! With a sturdy build and multiple pockets, I couldn't be happier with my new pack!

August 17, 2019

Patagonia rules!!!

From backpacks to 90l bags to shirts,shorts, and jackets hands down the best merchandise and greatest people I've ever came across!! Please don't change a thing!! Thank you for everything.

August 15, 2019

great pack for day use!

This pack has a slim profile, but is surprisingly roomy and easy to keep things organized. A 15" laptop fits great in the pocket, and there is plenty of room to separate items.

August 13, 2019

Excellent

Love this pack...only wish it had a waist belt

August 11, 2019

So much space!

I got this to use as a personal item on airlines and so far it's been perfect! Lots of space and pockets, holds tons of stuff but still fits under the airplane seat. Love it!

August 11, 2019

Chacabuco Pack

Comfortable and functional! Fits my climbing gear just as easily as my lunch and school supplies.

July 17, 2019

Chacabuco backpack pills clothing

I love this backpack in every way but wanted to warn potential buyers that it has a tendencency to pill the clothing of any shirt that you wear under the backpack. I use the backpack as my commuting bag on public transit to work and it impacted some work shirts. Not a HUGE issue, but maybe the design team can try to make it not so scratchy on the n... Read Moreext iteration

Response from Patagonia
July 18, 2019

We're sorry to hear this has caused pilling on some of your clothing. As your satisfaction is guaranteed, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us and let us know if you have any questions.

July 17, 2019

Great backpack

I am a college student and this backpack is perfect for school and traveling. It can fit plenty of things without being too heavy to carry around for a full day. The internal pockets are very helpful for organization. The outer cord is great for attaching a jacket too. I did not have a problem at all with piling, as some of the reviews said. I woul... Read Mored highly recommend this backpack, it is durable, comfortable, and very practical.

May 9, 2019

Chacabuco Pack

The 30L pack was too large for me (a 5,5’ female). I reordered the 28L pack and was much happier. I would definitely recommend this bag.

May 8, 2019

Perfect Weekender

I used this on a recent weekend flight out of town. It was the perfect size for under the seat, held just enough clothes, and my computer and small camera gear.

May 8, 2019

Chacabuco Pack 30L in oxide red

I bought this pack primarily for my job as member of ski patrol. I needed a lightweight but sturdy bag that had the capacity to hold all my odds and ends, extra clothes, and my lunch! The color is awesome! It looks so cool. Simply put this bag does all that perfectly. I love this pack and look forward to using it as much as I can.

April 17, 2019

Causes premature wear on clothing

I purchased this pack to replace an old messenger bag I had for work. I am happy with the construction of this pack, however, the rough material on the backside has caused my clothes to begin to pill and wear heavily. I would like to keep all my clothes and packs for as long as possible, but I cannot justify continuing to use this pack.

April 2, 2019

Great bag.

i love this pataguccy bag. Colour is very nice and it does everything i need it to do. :)

March 25, 2019

Great Backpack

I go to a military college and I have to have an all-black backpack to be in uniform standards--this backpack is perfect for that. It's easy to distinguish from the incredibly excessive amounts of TNF and tactical backpacks. It's a sleek look and it is very spacious. I am very happy with my purchase and have no issues with it. It's v... Read Moreersatile--big enough to carry my harness and shoes for rock climbing and all my gear when I visit the rock gym, it's the perfect size for a full day of classes, and it is also a good carryon size.

January 15, 2019

Beware—backpack ruins clothes

This is a good backpack, until it began ruining my clothes. As shared in other reviews, the rough material of the backside of this backpack caused irrepreable pill damage to my clothes. This is a clear design flaw, and I recommend that for all buyers of this backpack, that Patagonia will either replace the material on the backside and straps, or pr... Read Moreovide a comparable replacement backpack.

January 1, 2019

Dissappointed

I really love this company, but I am a college student so this was a very expensive purchase for me. I try and purchase sustainable products when I can and I wish I had done more research. I have never been disappointed with something by Patagonia, but this backpack has ruined several pants/skirts/dresses because it rubs up against the fabric and m... Read Moreakes it pill. I found myself having to plan my outfits around my backpack when I went hiking or if I was walking around campus, I couldn't wear leggings without the backpack ruining them. I ended up having to purchase another backpack halfway through the semester because I was so frustrated. I wish I would have listened to the reviews. I love the company but I am not a fan of the backpack. I will continue to buy Patagonia clothing and products and I love what the business stands for!

November 26, 2018

It's really good, but...

I got this backpack as a birthday gift a few months ago, and I have absolutely loved it since. It's versatile, trendy, and it is a nice change from the never-ending stream of T.N.F backpacks that everyone else already has. The only drawback is that the breathable material used along the back side and straps of the backpack has caused major pil... Read Moreling on some of my clothing. T-shirts, sweatshirts, and fleece have had it the worst, including some of my Patagonia gear. The pilling is the worst along the lower back of the garments, as well as the top and front of the shoulders. Disappointingly, many of the articles that have suffered from the pilling have been newer garments, and they have been of both high and low-quality goods. I really love this pack and would advise anybody I know to get one, but not without giving them a fair warning. If you value your clothes, this might not be the pack for you.

November 14, 2018

Disappointed

I spent the extra money to hopefully have my son a backpack last him his high school years. I purchased this in August and its already broken and torn. Very upset that it is torn up already.

November 9, 2018

Clothing Ruined

I bought this backpack for my son to use for school. The size is perfect for all of his books/laptop and he really likes the looks of it. The issue I have is it is ruining his clothes. The lower back part of most of his tshirts and sweatshirts he has been wearing are pilled and he has only been using the backpack for 2 months. I read the reviews be... Read Morefore purchasing it and saw some comments about this but chose to ignore it...wish I hadn't. This is the first time I have been disappointed by anything I have purchased at Patagonia.

October 14, 2018

good student backpack--wish it had the stash pocket for phone

Older version of this bag was better as it had a exterior, fleece stash pocket for the phone and keys, that was easily accessible.

August 5, 2018

Perfect Backpack For Any Need

I bought my Chacabuco from the Vail, CO Patagonia store four years ago, and I haven't had a single regret with the choice I made. The compartmentalization of this bag is genius and serves its purpose. I couldn't recommend a backpack more than this one. I have used this for high school and college schoolwork, and I have never found iss... Read Moreues with needing more space. I can fit two to three binders in this bag as well as a couple of thick textbooks, in addition to my 13" MacBook in the laptop compartment and the multiple pens, pencils, highlighters, post-it notes, calculator, computer and phone chargers, and sunglasses in the smallest pocket. Also, the plastic key hook in the smaller pocket (Patagonia typically includes this in all of their bags that I've encountered) is a perfect solution to my negligence with my car keys. I will often choose this bag for a weekend trip over my 34L duffel bag solely for the reason that I feel this bag can fit more inside of it. I have taken this bag on long day-hikes, to the beach, to the ski hill... basically anywhere and everywhere. Fits well under or in between your feet in a seat of an airplane. I will not recommend any other bag to a friend and I won't be selecting any other bag in the future. The only concern I have for this bag (and this is likely a result of owning this bag for 4+ years and not washing it regularly) is the repellency to water and snow. Trying to walk across campus to class in heavy Utah snow or a downpour has moistened the outside of my bag, but hasn't damaged or gotten any of the contents wet. I'm sure a DWR treatment would solve the problem, but I have yet to experiment, and extreme weather conditions are uncommon, so it's not a real issue. I have seen some reviews that draw attention to ruining clothes, and I can't believe that anyone has issues with that, as I have used mine for years with every type of clothing article and haven't had an issue. I haven't had any severe abrasions to the bag, and I've put it through the wringer, so I expect another 5-10 years of use from my Chacabuco.

July 26, 2018

Really nice backpack

I love the amount of space this backpack has for all my college supplies - running around with laptops and full three-inch binders take a lot of space and there is more than enough in both compartments. My only complaints are that the strap material is a little rough, if I am not wearing a t-shirt the straps rub on my skin and leave marks that last... Read More for a little while.

May 12, 2018

Really great bag

I searched and tried on and read about so many bags. I wanted something durable,good and modern looking,and with plenty of pockets for my everyday life + hiking + travel. This bag is it! So happy I bought this thing.

May 7, 2018

Ruins up your clothes!

I have many Patagonia products so when I needed a new backpack in replacement of my North Face one this was an obvious choice. However,the rough back of this backpack has ruined so many of my clothes. It's fine over a winter coat,but with anything else it makes it pill and frays the fabric of my shirt and pants. Very disappointed with this bac... Read Morekpack!

February 22, 2018

Best Backpack ever

I bought almost 2 years ago,it will be 2 years old this august. It has held up great been through a two years of school (360 days which is two 180 day school years) Which is a lot considering all the lockers it was stuffed into,ground it was threw on,and plenty of crazy adventures. I highly recommend it to anyone. I probably want upgrade until 3-5 ... Read Moreyears from now. Maybe patagonia will give me a new by then lol!

January 23, 2018

Good backpack,fix laptop pocket padding!

Great backpack. Black is stylish. Perfect size for school and backpacking trips if you pack light. Only problem is the laptop compartment is not padded on the bottom. I put my bag down a little too quickly one day and completely shattered my screen! Please fix this flaw so others don't end up like me!!!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches