burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Refugio Daypack 30L Reviews

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 27 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Refugio Daypack 30L

4.5/5
True To Size
January 21, 2023

Light weight & Spacious

I intentionally researched lightweight backpacks for work. Because of a hybrid work arrangement, I often have my laptop and files, so I need room. II really like the Refugio 30L. I looked at the smaller size but it was too small for my needs. The laptop pouch with pockets is nicely padded and the top latch keeps it securely in place. The material i... Read Mores durable. They have slightly redesigned it. I would suggest to the designers adding back the key ring holder. I also think there should be more zippered pockets inside (for wallets, other smaller items), so they are not rolling loose in the bottom of the bag (There is one smaller outer zippered pouch, but for security, an inside zippered pocket or two would be a nice addition. This is definitely water resistant. I got caught in the rain and was very happy to see everything was dry when I got home. As I have come to expect from Patagonia, the quality is there. I am happy with this purchase.

January 17, 2023

Great buy

Great bag bought on sale at a reasonable price but the manner in which it was shipped almost ruined it. Great back pack for my Ipad.

January 8, 2023

Versatile laptop backpack that does the job

Ive purchased as my laptop backpack which I ended up taking with me on a 2 week long trip. I usually put my bigger travel pack on my back and this one hangs in the front. The laptop sleeve that comes with this is the best part tmo. Since it fits your laptop and charger and some other wires. I then took the pack on a bouldering trip and left the ... Read Morelaptop sleeve at home and used the backpack as my daypack for bouldering days so it was out there in the dirt and on rocks. The pack held up well from what I saw. The only caveat could be that the main storage area is too large and not broke into multiple sections which I dont mind. But if you need multiple zippers and smaller compartments this is prlly not the one and you should go with the smaller size that has more compartments.

January 4, 2023

Great and spacious!

Incredible upgrade from the Yerba. Great pockets.

January 2, 2023

Perfect for everyday/school

Bought this backpack for my son for Christmas, he chose it. It Is a perfect fit and is exactly what he needs for college. Has a place for a laptop and plenty of space for folders, gym clothes, etc..

January 2, 2023

Perfect for work.

Perfect for work.

December 30, 2022

Purchased for my daughter who

Purchased for my daughter who loves it! Lots of room for computer and books, stylish, comfortable

December 19, 2022

Great backpack

I use the backpack daily. Its not rugged use, but iitsalways full and getting thrown around. The backpack is durable and comfortable. Definitely my favorite backpack in recent memory.

December 13, 2022

I just love it!

This backpack is great. Plenty of space, three compartments, and and extra pocket able to move out. The colors are bright. The fabric resists water, and it holds bottles. Best purchase! I know it will last long time.

December 6, 2022

Daily backpack

I saw it at the Patagonia store. The biggest in its kind but what made me buy it its the sleeve. Since I taught at the university the size is enough perfect to bring all what I need to my work.

December 2, 2022

it's a good backpack

my only issue is they used velcro on the inside to secure the removable computer sleeve, if they had used something like a plastic clip it'd be perfect and wouldn't accidentally catch on the sleeve's loop.

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2022

Hello Nikolas, thank you for providing us with this feedback. We'll share your thoughts on the tech sleeve with our product team. If you find that it's not working out, you're welcome to begin a return on [this page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 28, 2022

Best Backpack Ever

I love this backpack. It's great quality and sturdy. Fits a ton of gear and the laptop protector is amazing to go from the trails or gym straight to work.

November 15, 2022

This back pack is very

This back pack is very well organized and has a comfortable fit for my daily commute on my bike.

October 27, 2022

Tiny

This was way to small im 6,1 and I met my back half way

Response from Patagonia
November 1, 2022

Hi Luis, thank you for submitting this review. We're sorry to hear this pack didn't fit you they way you needed it to. Please let us know if we can help you find an alternative.

October 18, 2022

Nice backpack, not the look of the product photos

The product photos of the bright blue and yellow pack are not accurate, as it is a muted blue and it's not yellow, but a cream color. The bag itself is nice and I like the sleeve for the laptop.

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2022

Hey Rob, thank you for the feedback. We'll notify our Web Team of the issues regarding the display of the Anacapa Blue colorway. If you'd like to exchange out for a different color, you can begin that process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 6, 2022

Perfect size!

I admit, I was skeptical but I love this pack. It's perfect for carrying my computer (it comes with an awesome sleeve) and a decent size lunch pack along with a 20oz thermos when I use it for work. It's big enough that I can add a jacket and my iPad mini if I need to.

October 3, 2022

Still great!

This pack replaced an earlier version that had a tear along the zipper. Thank you, Patagonia, for your wonderful guarantee. We long for the former pack's bright green on darker green coloring, but the navy blue is classic and works well for our high schooler. At first, we missed the pencil holder/zippered organizer in the front pocket, but the... Read Moren a Patagonia staffer shared how the bag was redesigned with a removable laptop sleeve which has those handy compartments. You can't go wrong with this bag for school!

September 25, 2022

The only bag you need

I was in the market for a new commuter+ backpack and came across this one. Best purchase ever. As a city-slicker who relies on public transit and a bicycle, this pack could not be any better. It expands a decent amount to carry 20+ pounds of groceries or enough clothing for a weekend trip by plane. The bungies on the back are a lovely detail. I&#x2... Read More7;ve strapped down everything from hiking boots to climbing shoes to fresh zucchini to baking pans with absolutely no issues. Great for when you need to carry a larger, oddly shaped item or for when you just have a full pack. Definitely runs a little big!

September 23, 2022

Great School Backpack for our middle schooler

We have tried ALL the backpacks out there. This is the only one that can tackle the amount of binders and books our daughter brings to school. We love it so much both of our kids now have the backpack.

September 6, 2022

Not water resistant

This backpack is almost perfect. Unfortunately it is not water resistant at all. I mean wet contents after a 10 minute walk on moderate rain. Maybe perfect if you live in Lisbon or California.

August 10, 2022

Quality Design and Materials

This pack relieves me of my backpack troubles of the past. For example, the reinforced bottle pocket (strong material and wide) straps are helpful. Not to mention the pull tie and other tough straps that handle every occasion. I am completely satisfied. Thanks Patagonia!

August 3, 2022

Good not great

Let me preface this review by saying that I dont believe the perfect backpack exists. Saw this one hanging in a Patagonia store in Telluride, then spent the next week going to various REIs trying to find a better one (unsuccessfully). Eventually ordered it- I have the rosehip and to its credit, I do think its very pretty. My chief complains: webbin... Read Moreg on the front seems useless (though not as useless as the absurd vertical pocket on the smaller version of this bag), not enough internal pouches, not enough external pockets, chest strap is unnecessary. I would like to fuse this bag with the osprey to create the ideal hiking bag/ school bag blend. I do like the removable laptop pouch, side ratchet straps, and overall look to this thing. Havent actually used it for its intended purpose yet (college), but it seems like itll function fine. Not perfect by a long shot, and Im perplexed by what person, or specific use, this thing was created for.

July 20, 2022

Terrible Redesign

I have owned the last two Patagonia Refugio 28L designs since 2015. I purchase this new model 26L and 30L Refugio and ended up returning them both the next day. I quickly stocked up on two older models found on EBAY to last the 4 or so years that this design will be offered until they redesign once again. The pack has no organizational pockets and ... Read Moreinstead comes with a organizational sleeve which was not functional for daily use. The new designs literally have a SQUARE feel on your back making the older models conform feel much more ergonomically fitting for everyday use. The last design offered a 28L MENS and 26L WOMENS which me and my wife both love. Now the 30L is too large for my liking and looks like the old Chacabuco model and the 26L is too small for me but looks closer to the last Refugio model appearance with the front zipper down the middle vertically. PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLDER DESIGN and just rename these two different packs something else.

Response from Patagonia
July 22, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear we missed the mark on this redesign with you. We always hope our redesigns take us forward with the changes made but this can be difficult for those who prefer the older models. We are glad to hear you were able to find some older used Refugios to get you through the next few years. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. If you have any questions about your returns, please be sure to reach out to us [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). Thank you so much for your feedback.

July 13, 2022

Great backpack, disappointed with zipper

I bought this backpack only about a month ago. I really thought I was going to love it & had very high hopes. However, after using it just a few times, the main pockets zipper got very difficult to open and close. Its because the material around the zipper is pilling. It takes a few minutes of hard pulling to get the zipper open. After spending... Read More so much money, I am very disappointed. Its a beautiful, big, spacious backpack, and I wish I could use it for years in the future, but Im not sure how much longer Ill be able to get the zipper open and closed.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2022

We're so sorry to hear that this pack has been a disappointment. Your purchase is absolutely covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). We'll reach out to you privately to assist with a return.

July 12, 2022

Backpack

Excellent backpack for travel. It needs an internal and secure pocket, away from easy access. The handle on top should be a different color so it is easier to find and grab. Why no whistle on the front clip?

May 16, 2022

It's Durable went thru the desert.

Good Stuff People and can take a beating.

April 14, 2022

Great for school

Very spacious and holds everything I need in it. It does sometimes have an awkward shape and sits a bit weird when wearing. Otherwise a great product!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches