Back to Product

Patagonia Ascensionist Alpine Climbing Pack 55L

Write Your Review

3.9/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S/M
  • L/XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 8 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Ascensionist Alpine Climbing Pack 55L

3.9/5
True To Size
April 10, 2022

Performed well on the CO Trail!

I brought this pack on the CO trail last year for over 250 miles of thru hiking. Overall the pack performed well, despite it not being a dedicated thru hiking pack. The weight is actually comparable to some of the marketed 'ultra light' packs out there. I really like the streamlined design which makes checking this bag at the airport a no... Read Moren-issue. It performed relatively well in the rain, however the material did eventually soak through - I recommend getting a pack cover if you plan on rain (though this is true for most packs). One item that could be improved is more external storage, though I realize this is a climbing pack - some streamlined side zips or a pocket would be nice. However, given the large number of straps and attachment points i was able to modify the pack and add a water bottle holder etc. The pack rides well on my frame, I'm 5' 8" 150lbs and the small / medium fit fine with a good weight distribution between the hips and shoulders. The blue color is also nice and makes it easy for people to identify you on trail. Overall I am pleased with this purchase; I am planning on taking this pack back on the CT this year to finish the trail.

April 6, 2022

Great pack

I'm very happy with this purchase. The back support inside the bag can be taken out, a feature I really like as I don't always have a need for it. The Ascensionist Pack is extremely versatile, allows you to carry a plethora of items, is durable, comfortable, and looks awesome. I highly recommend, my only squabble; I wish it had come in bl... Read Moreack, but the red is doable. Patagonia keep doing what you do!

January 16, 2022

very packable, light weight. only wore it in the garage so far.

Out of the box looks great, we will see how buckles work with gloves. off to Canada Rockies for the winter. Will send info .

December 19, 2021

failed to strengthen the shoulder strap with backpack

After 6-day cross-country and 5-day hiking, the interlock between left shoulder strap and backpack was literally broken. Average load is around 14-15 kg. No solution to tackle the issue at this moment...

September 23, 2021

Not actually an alpine climbing pack

I got this pack for ice climbing, mountaineering and winter missions primarily, and I was quite stoked about some of the features it offers like the ''slimming it down'' and its big volume that allows for big missions. Unfortunately I have to report that this pack did not hold up to a classic alpine mission in the Bugaboos. I d... Read Moreon't know where the people that designed this pack alpine climb, but when going up for a week with gear and food split between a crew, a pack will weight approx. 40lbs. On this instance one of the Ascenscionist straps actually tore at the seams because of the weight. This is fairly dissapointing because other packs in our crew held up to the weight. Other things that are very poorly designed on this pack: (1) when removing the brain and back panel to transform it into a multi-pitch pack, this bag is super burly, like a ball on your back without any structure at all. Very annoying for climbing with. (2) why on earth would there not be a side zip here? if someone is actually going to use this for a long approach or a multi pitch it might be conceivable that access to layers and food and water will be needed. Without a side zip and any other side pockets (which would be totally fine if there was a side zip), layering and un-layering means ALWAYS taking the brain off, undoing the top and reaching in a dark tunnel of chaos instead of unzipping one thing quickly. Finally I have to say that this pack has very strange straps that will make your shoulders sore, and this was true for me and my partner that used the pack for a day. There was potential here, but overall it's a disappointing product.

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2021

Hi Alexandra. Thank you so much for your detailed feedback on this pack and why it didn't work for you. You're welcome to return it. Thank you.

August 29, 2021

Untethered Big Boy Style

This pack is a perfect big guy pack. Carry everything I need plus all the stuff my 3rd grade daughter doesnt want to haul! Plus I can cinch it down for lighter carrying with comfort. Mahalo Patagonia gang

June 29, 2021

Good but didn't last long

I loved this backpack and had it for around a year until it started to breakdown. Used it for rock, ice, some ski mountaineering, backpacking, and some a bit of other random activities. Both straps have broken and are now hanging by only a quarter of the stitching they had. The bag was awesome until this though, but I wouldn't try to load it t... Read Moreoo much until they improve the straps. Day ice climb? Sure. Overnight with tent, skis, ice rack, rock rack, and a 70m rope? Use a different bag.

Response from Patagonia
July 6, 2021

We're sorry to hear about the lack of durability on this one. We appreciate the feedback and highly encourage you to connect with your local [Patagonia-owned store](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/). Taking your pack there to discuss the usage and what is going on with it, and they can evaluate it. Your pack is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee, so please don't hesitate to reach out. We'll be happy to help!

March 23, 2021

My new favorite bag

Perfect size. Amazing storage flexibility. Light. Secure. Will be using this for any multi day trips, climbing, hiking, camping, skiing.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches