Back to Product

Patagonia Paxat Backpack 32L

Write Your Review

4.19 /5

Filter Reviews

All 54 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Paxat Backpack 32L

4.19
True To Size
June 23, 2020

Excellent pack, but...

The quality of this pack is exactly what you would expect from Patagonia. Keep in mind that this is really a day pack and not full-on backpack. I use the pack two or three times a week for grocery shopping. However, its greatest asset, that it can hold everything, including the kitchen sink, is also its greatest liability. Once you get all that stu... Read Moreff in there, you've got to lug it around, and that's where the problems start. The shoulder straps are fine but there is no waist strap to shift the load to your hips, so that all of the weight is on your shoulders which, at least for me, is too much. I had originally purchased this pack for traveling but I would not use it for that purpose just because of the lack of the waist strap.

June 21, 2020

Effective

This bag effectively housed all the day to day gear I move around with. Previously, I had been using a much higher volume bag that had worn out. This bag is more compact but stores all of the same gear. Side zips could would be easier if the zippers ran the opposite direction, and the bag could use a small pouch on top for sunglasses or other small... Read More quick goods needed for quick access (passport, wallet, etc). It is light weight, easy to move around with, and well proportioned. The mesh compartment is an easy fit for water bottle or dirty clothes. Very effective backpack.

February 21, 2020

The mesh on the back causes serious pilling of clothes

The backpack itself functions great. Ive recently ditched it though, as the mesh back started to pill, and because its a rather rough surface, it caused a lot of my clothes (cotton and wool) to pill. Needless to say, Im pretty bummed to need to replace some pieces that had gotten ruined.

Response from Patagonia
March 27, 2020

Hi Joseph, we're sorry to hear that your pack is causing pilling issues. We'd be happy to return or exchange your pack under our Ironclad Guarantee. Please feel free to begin your warranty return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

February 13, 2020

A few details

Straps are comfortable, material against your back is comfortable. This is marketed as a travel pack and I was intending to use it as such. The number one thing that bothers me is lack of a dedicated water bottle space. The mesh back is ok but I hate the hook system. I use the dump pouch on my hiking packs and prefer shock cord with a barrel lock s... Read Moreo I can choose the tension I want at top, it also makes it easier to access the pouch. The side pockets are too small and I don't want to put my sunglasses in an outside pocket. I like to travel light so this bag is coming with me on the plane and going under the seat in front of me. The outside pocket is going to get kicked and smashed up against metal under the airplane seats. I really like a dedicated lined sunglasses pocket. The laptop sleeve works well because its a clam shell. I wish the rest of the pack was clam shell as well.

December 28, 2019

does not hold water bottles securely

I will preface this by saying that I am a big fan of Patagonia's products, values, and policies, and the Paxat is a great size and has seemed durable. Where things go wrong, however, are the side pockets for water bottles, as I carry 1-2 bottles every day. The zippers only go up partway around an 18-20 oz bottle and inevitably slide down, so n... Read Moreearly every day requires some contortion during a standing-room-only commute to try to zip them back up only to have them slide down again moments later. Whether moving or sitting still, I have had water bottles spontaneously fall out of initially zipped pockets countless times and roll around the ground, picking up whatever germs are on the train/subway/street. The pockets would benefit from a locking zipper or some elastic to help hold water bottles, and I am just waiting for another 32L backpack option (considering the Black Hole) that can hold bottles securely.

Response from Patagonia
January 21, 2020

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the zippered side pockets. Feedback like this is crucial in improving products for future seasons so we'll pass this along to our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 27, 2019

Awesome Laptop Bag

Pockets for the OCD organizer, accommodates ancient 2012 MacBook Pro and spiffy new iPad Pro, and slips under unreasonably tight plane seats. Love this pack!

December 27, 2019

Very nice backpack, the recipient

Very nice backpack, the recipient loved it!!

December 16, 2019

Daily work bag

Well made and multiple cargo areas. Wish the side beverage holders held larger water bottles.

November 22, 2019

functional to the max

this replaced a chabuco pack, and got better. Mainly used for campus life, and holds it all highly organized. includes stuffing workout clothes in the outside pocket and a 15 inch laptop in the back. Taking it skiing next month!

November 17, 2019

Great Investment

Use this bag for my personal item on flights. Can hold an entire weeks worth of items and still have extra room. Highly recommend!

November 12, 2019

Versatile

I’ve used this backpack every single day since purchasing. Perfect for everyday back and fourths including lap top / hard copy file folders / gym clothes / accessories etc AND traveled with it as my carry on and I could t be happier with it.

October 21, 2019

Great Backpack for People who ride motorcycles, and are college students

I ride a motorcycle daily and I love that this backpack sits higher up on your back, and that it is water resistant, the pouch in the front also is a great place to put a large water-bottle and my gloves. This backpack fits my 13 in macbook pro and 12.9 inch ipad pro perfectly and it is very comfortable to wear. I highly recommend this backpack.

October 17, 2019

This backpack is excellent! It's

This backpack is excellent! It's big so fits a lot but all the different pockets help you keep everything organized.

October 17, 2019

Not the best

This backpack is great in size and the pockets are nice. However, ever since i’ve started using this backpack, it has ruined my shirts and leggings by causing pilling to the fabric. Also, the water bottle holders have zippers basically the only size bottle that can actually fit in that pocket are, unfortunately plastic bottles.

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2019

Hi Maya! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. We're truly sorry to hear about your experience with the pack causing your clothing to pill. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We'll reach out to you directly with some more assistance!

October 3, 2019

Good backspace with slight drawback

Overall a good backpack and well constructed. Used primarily as a work backpack but definitely will use on longer hikes that I want to take more stuff on. Only drawback is accessibility of laptop slot - placement behind straps is a little awkward and takes a little bit more time to open and store laptop than other packs I’ve used. I’ve got a 14” la... Read Moreptop that’s not an ultrathin notebook and the laptop doesn’t smoothly slip in and out all the time.

September 30, 2019

Great bag. Prefect day pack.

Great bag. Prefect day pack. Variety of pockets both with and without zippers so items can be prioitized as to need.

September 19, 2019

32L backpack

I got the backpack for school and I have been using this backpack for about 3 weeks. The bag already has a tear in the bottom in the bag.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

Hi Katie! We're sorry to hear about your pack. Feel free to give our customer service team a call at 1-800-638-6464 to set up either a repair or an exchange for your pack.

September 9, 2019

Perfect backpack (NOT)

This backpack could be perfect, but is missing 1 key essential that every backpack should have -- a water bottle holder. I love the size of this pack and all the compartments are perfectly thought out, but how on earth could Patagonia forget a water bottle holder. The Black Hole bag is similar and would have paid the extra money, but not a fan of t... Read Morehe shiny material on the Black Hole bag

Response from Patagonia
September 20, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! The Paxat Pack 32L features two zippered side pockets that expand for water bottle use or extra cord storage. If you are not satisfied with your pack you are always welcome to return for a refund. You can find some more information on how to return you pack [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 8, 2019

Finally, the right size bag.

I use this bag everyday for work. It’s just the right size to carry my lunch bag, pens/pencils, and other daily essentials. I like that the straps can be adjusted so the bag can sit higher or lower on your back depending upon the length of your torso. I also like that it has the chest strap which offers more support so the bag doesn’t pull on your ... Read Moreback. I also like that the back of the bag is heavily padded so you don’t get poked by something you have in it, making it uncomfortable to carry. I haven’t noticed that my shirts are pilling like other reviewers are complaining about. The bag was well worth the investment. I also really appreciated that I could easily return the bag if I didn’t like something about it. I wish I would have known about Patagonia backpacks before purchasing the 2 backpacks prior to this 1. I could have saved myself some money!

September 8, 2019

Makes all your shirts pill

It's a great pack except for the fact it causes all your shirt to start pilling. It has ruined quite a few of my favorite shirt as I wear this back pack every day for work and school.

August 24, 2019

Paxat 32L Waterbottle Carrier

Overall I really like the backpack! The thing is, I have a 32oz HydroFlask and I feel like the side pouches to carry my water bottle, although they do work, could be designed for larger bottles. It’s sometimes hard to secure my bottle as there isn’t much clearance between the bottle and the zipper.

August 22, 2019

Best Backpack Ever

My son loves his new backpack, there are so many compartments for all of his stuff to be nicely organized.

August 21, 2019

Great Pack!

The backpack performs well. Feels very comfortable yet durable. Lots of great pockets to store a variety of items. Easily adjustable. Overall a great product.

August 20, 2019

Back pack holds it all!

my daughter refuses to get a locker- this holds it all! We’ve tried other brands but when she tried this one- it was perfect- not bulky or heavy but perfect for a busy high school senior. Shoulder straps are comfy, plenty of room for textbooks, notebooks and her laptop-

August 16, 2019

Paxat Pack 32L

Very pleased with the pack. Meets the needs for which I purchased.

August 15, 2019

Lots of space

There is plenty of space for just about whatever you need for a weekend trip. Large openings for clean and dirty clothes.

August 11, 2019

Loved it!

I bought this for myself because big sur blue is my absolute favorite color, sadly it was too big so I gave it to my husband & ordered myself one in women’s & dyed it . Fits well with a 1.5 liter hydration pack or smaller. It’s so comfortable on your back you’ll wanna sleep in it.

August 11, 2019

Good but not great

Padding is great for laptop but not for the wearer. Makes it slightly uncomfortable. Great amount of pockets and good size.

August 10, 2019

Not as good as previous 32L

I used to have at Fuego 32L until the zipper broke recently. Missing a bunch of things: the little pocket at the top for keys etc, the open side pockets, the ways the interior pockets were organized, the other outside pocket. I have a harder time organizing my stuff, and am slightly annoyed at it every day. If you brought back the Fuego 32L the way... Read More it was I would buy it in a heartbeat.

August 10, 2019

Love it

Love everything about it except a 32 ounce water bottle will not fit in the side zipper compartments. If those were a bit bigger it would be a perfect bag. Holds everything else for my daily commute. Also used it for day hikes at Glacier and did the job there too. Kept things dry in some nice snow at some higher elevations.

August 10, 2019

Paxat 32 L

I bought the Paxat 32L to replace the previous 32L model. I'm a big fan of Patagonia but The quality of materials & design of my previous daypack is far superior than that of the Paxat. The Paxat feels much flimsier. The quality of the Paxat's zippers, straps, and clips are clearly much cheaper. The design has also taken a hit. The nu... Read Morember and layout of the compartments in the Paxat doesn't compare to the prior model. No sunglass compartment, no place for pens, etc... everything must be dumped together in fewer pockets. Also, the Paxat is MUCH LESS comfortable to to wear and the adjustment straps often slip out of place. The Paxat cuts a lot of corners much to my great disappointment.

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with this revision. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us.

August 10, 2019

If I'm only using 1

If I'm only using 1 strap of the pack over my shoulder, the type of material used for the strap causes it to slide off my shoulder. No matter what type of fabric shirt/ top I'm wearing. I'm left constantly having to adjust the bag. Patagonia should sew something on the underside of the shoulder strap, allowing to grasp the shoulder/s... Read Morehirt better. The quality is fantastic. Zippers are great. Can tell this pack is durable, and will last for years.

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2019

Thanks for your feedback! We've passed it along.

August 10, 2019

Nice Size And Functionality

This pack is great for trips to the office and for day hiking. The laptop compartment is solid yet not at all bulky. The shoulder straps are a bit bare so hauling heavy would likely be uncomfortable. The outer webbing pocket is fantastic for throwing in those last minute items that need to be easily accessible. Overall this pack is well designed.

August 10, 2019

Patagonia paxat 32L

This backpack is amazing Very comfortable For any adventurous occasion

August 10, 2019

thank you

works well, light weight yet durable, lots of space for its size and pockets, was everything i expected

August 10, 2019

Nothing special. No particular utility

Nothing special. No particular utility as daily commuter pack. I have 4 other Patagonia packs for hunting, fishing and travel - this one- yawn...

July 27, 2019

bring back the old

Excellent storage. Excellent flexibility. Great use for me in the classroom and the aircraft. However, the current color scheme leaves me unimpressed. Bring back the mustard colored bag with blue interior- HUGE FAN of that color combo!

July 18, 2019

Great pack! Could be perfect with a minor change.

Great pack. Easy to organize, great size for traveling. I used it all over Thailand! I love the fact that there are two outside pockets near the hip belt that you can put water bottles and it fully zips closed. You can actually get 2 on each side, but it’s a really tight fit. The one thing is that there is an internal tablet sleeve - but it’s too ... Read Moresmall for an iPad to fit! Designers - cut the sleeve just a little bit wider and it would fit perfectly! I have an iPad Pro with the Apple case/keyboard and it’s just a hair to tight. Would be an easy design change and this pack would be perfect! I think the shoulder straps could be cut a little bigger to fit someone 6’4”. They work but they are not a perfect fit for an athletic tall guy.

May 26, 2019

Great Bag

Love this backpack. Can easily pack out for a 4 day trip with it without having to deal with other bags/luggage. Accommodates noise canceling headphones, iPad and Bluetooth keyboard, clothes and toiletries bag, all while fitting underneath the seat in front of you. Great piece of kit for travel.

May 9, 2019

very sturdy

It holds up well! I keep all my essentials in there -- laptop, travel hammock, vitamins, hot sauce, notebook & shoes and backpack on occasion. there are plenty little pockets for everything however! I would like to add that having both sides be a zipper drink holder is a little bit tricky to work around. It isn't a big deal, but they can o... Read Morenly really fit cans and certain bottles. another thing! there are a lot of supporting straps, but it isn't as center balanced (if that makes sense?) as I was looking for. You know how some backpacks you can stuff to the max and it is just so well designed that it hardly feels like there is pressure and weight on your shoulders and back? Yeah, this one doesn't do THAT great of a job of that :( With some adjusting it isn't too bad. I was slightly bummed about it though... Don't over-pack for a long hike, though! AGAIN- this is a very sturdy backpack and I would recommend it to anyone looking for either a casual backpack or a hiking pack. I wear it for hiking, casually and on my bike (pretty much everywhere i go) and it does it's job swimmingly :)

May 8, 2019

Great business bag

Holds a laptop, charger, iPad, and portfolio easily and will organized. Plenty of room for clothes, shoes, and travel needs. Outside pockets are great, and it is well padded. Love the look and very comfortable.

May 8, 2019

Paxat Pack 32L

Awesome, lots of space, cool pockets. Feels comfortable. Durable.

April 10, 2019

Great commuter and light hike bag

I got this bag as a replacement for my Osprey cipher that I have had for 8 years. This is the pack I would grab for any activity when I needed to carry anything too big for pockets. Light hikes, vacation, work travel, motorcycle, snowboarding, etc. The paxat seems like a very suitable and superior replacement. Very well constructed and comfortable ... Read Morewith plenty of pocket options. And plenty of room to stuff jackets, wet clothes, etc. The only issue I have is your laptop being placed right against your back. This will ensure the laptop becomes a torsion plate if you ever put any significant weight in it (like water bottles for the day). There is plenty of padding however, so it will be fine if you are just using it for everyday light items.

March 6, 2019

Perfect Urban Walker Bag

After a lot of comparing and research I honed in on this bag for two main reasons - the larger size (yet light weight) and pocket/section design. Some other specific elements that I like are the lack of waist strap and that the chest one is removable. The handle is reinforced, but not bulky. I like that the main compartment is big. The pocket desig... Read Moren is outstanding. I could not be happier with this bag. I noticed in the reviews something about the back fabric ruining clothes. That's not my experience. The quality is excellent.

November 3, 2018

A great everyday bag for us who walk everywhere.

I've gone through dozens of bags & this one has everything I knew I needed plus a few I didn't know. Main pocket holds enough for a few days plus a design that makes it comfortable on your back. Side pockets actually hold 32oz bottles & the laptop pocket holds & protects both of my 15in machines. I use it everyday & alread... Read Morey had it out in the rain. Kept everything dry. This bag will be with me everywhere I go & is comfortable to carry for miles on urban streets & rual hills.

September 21, 2018

Paxat 32L

My daughter is a junior in college and has been using this back pack for two years. The fabric on the backside rubs against her clothing, causing fabrics to pill. Many of her pants and tops are ruined as a result. She has a friend who has found this to be a problem for her as well. Can you change the fabric on the back side?

September 17, 2018

Good for Work/Travel, but Not a Hiking Pack

I purchased the Paxat specifically for work in all black, though I also have last year's Paxat which I find its features are better suited for hiking. This Men's model is listed as 32L, though I swear it has less capacity than last year's Unisex 32L Paxat, as I cannot fit the same amount of gear inside. There is no longer a waist str... Read Moreap (not needed for work, but good for high output activities), the dedicated water bottle pocket is now gone (replaced with a zippered pseudo water pocket) and the chest straps are flimsy (but removable, which is good for work). The surprising feature is the laptop sleeve: overall it is smaller than last year's Paxat, but it STILL fits my older model MacBook Pro 15in with its protection case...tough to find in a backpack these days, but much appreciated.

September 5, 2018

Nice zipped side pockets

Side pocket fit my KleanKanteen 16 oz coffee cup no prob. I loved the idea of not having my mug rub the airplane floor anymore. 32 oz'er will seat in the side pocket but not very secure and def not zipped up. Laptop sleeve has a buckle to keep your gizmo from sliding out and I believed I could feel it when no laptop was in the bag. I only had... Read More this bag for a few minutes before I decided it wouldn't work for me. I really like a lot about it, especially the zipped side pockets, fabric, color, etc. but it just isn't for me.

August 4, 2018

What happened to the rear sleeve to slip the on and off rolling luggage handles?

I can’t remember if it is this pack or the Refugio, but it used to also have a rear sleeve allowing you to slip the tote on and off rolling luggage handles. That was a GREAT feature which, in my mind, made this the best daypack on the market. Please bring back that feature. I know it exits on much larger bags, but it would be awesome to have it o... Read Moren at least one or two daypack models.

June 25, 2018

Ticks All the Boxes!

I bought this bag for commuting,a task for which it was purpose built. I'm sure it would function as a reasonable daypack for hiking,and probably doesn't have the best pocket configuration for snowsports. It is very well made,and surprisingly LIGHT WEIGHT. I think most folks overlook tear weight when they think about traveling light. I ... Read Moreuse this pack for 2 day work trips and it holds everything I need!

February 2, 2018

Excellent for school,commuting!

I am a daypack junkie and am especially biased towards packs that have a front stash pocket. I mean,why waste that space? This backpack is very simple with separate laptop compartment and a spacious main compartment with pockets on both the walls (one of them with zippers). The smaller organization pocket goes all the way down with a zipper pocket ... Read More(along the whole width),a mesh pocket (2/3 of width) and another pocket (1/3 of width). No fancy pockets with flaps,or pockets for pens,etc. I like this since I keep all my electronics components (chargers,wires,USB drives,mouse,etc.) in a medium black hole cube -- another excellent product from Patagonia. The zippers are smooth with long tags. The shoulder straps and back panel are padded and very comfortable! I wish the carry handle was also padded. The front stash pocket has a locking clip to hold it together. The side pockets have zippers to close them and an inside flap so that the contents do not spill out when you open the zippers. I wish the pockets were a bit longer to fit standard one liter Nalgene bottles -- I can hardly fit my half liter Zojirushi bottle in there. Other than that,absolutely no complaints! I got the blades green color. I wish Patagonia offered the Yurt yellow color for ALL their backpacks!

January 1, 2018

Great Work Bag!

I've been using Timbuk2's laptop messenger bag as a daily work bag for over three years. But I needed more space. I often carried a grocery bag with my messenger bag to carry lunch items,extra clothes,and etc. I loved the professional look of a messenger style laptop bag,but these days,nobody really cares about your bag. It just needs to ... Read Morebe practical. I looked at other backpack style bags from Timbuk2,Chrome,REI,and other sites,and finally found The One. So what makes this bag better than others? The pockets. Most bags have pockets inside that are integrated into the main compartment. So when you fit these pockets with items,you've compromised the main compartment's space. Paxat however,has two exterior pockets that are perfect for my laptop power adapter and a sunglasses case. The laptop pocket itself zips out. There's a separate compartment for smaller items,and a sleeve pocket outside where I throw my gloves,hat,and other items I need to access quickly. This leaves the main compartment free for me to stuff my lunch,fruit,extra clothes,and whatever else I want to stuff in them. I am so happy with this bag,I almost wish that Patagonia doesn't stop making and/or selling them. Love this bag!

September 25, 2017

Excellent Urban/Outback Combo

I've had the Paxat a year now,took it to the Galapagos,Oaxaca and back to Brazil Everything it has promised it has delivered. Highly recommended. Just two quibbles (there are always are,aren't there. Or,I think,should be).... 1. Hand carry strap: Very hard and thin = uncomfortable to carry. To fix,I cut 1/2" plastic tubing in half ... Read Moreand superbondered it around the strap. Perfect. The superbonder has held it well for most of a year now. 2. Color: I LIKE the bright orange color. A good idea in the third world to dissuade thieves. (My last,black daypack was stolen in Nicaragua with MacBook inside). Orange is too visible,easy to spot as they make their getaway. However..... relatively light colors do show the dirt and grime- of which we get PLENTY on the trail,urban or in the bush. Despite the thief scaring advantages of bright Orange (or Yellow,or Red,or...),you'll need to wash you pack much less if a DARK color. Excellent. Love the pack.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches