Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Chacabuco Backpack 28L

Write Your Review

3.94 /5

Filter Reviews

All 36 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Chacabuco Backpack 28L

3.94
True To Size
September 7, 2020

Perfect Pockets

I'm a bit of a backpack nerd and was in a bit of a need for a nice new one for college, and this was just the thing! LOTS of pockets, good laptop sleeve, and super for hauling everything you could possibly need. Oh, and the colors aren't bad either :-)

July 13, 2020

Best backpack

I bought this backpack to carry my tackle box and other fishing gear. I also use it when Im going day hiking. It is one of the best backpacks Ive owned! It has a lot of room in both the front and middle pockets. The back sleeve I dont use much but still a great feature to have. The smaller organization pockets in the front pocket are great! Enough ... Read Morelittle pockets to organize all of your smaller items. Its really comfortable even when I have a lot weight in it. Im 51 and it sits really comfortably on my back. The straps are comfortable as well. I read some reviews that straps were too short but they are perfect to me! All in all its a great product. Im buying my partner one of these. She really liked it when she saw mine.

July 9, 2020

Best backpack

I bought this backpack to carry my tackle box and other fishing gear. I also use it when Im going day hiking. It is one of the best backpacks Ive owned! It has a lot of room in both the front and middle pockets. The back sleeve I dont use much but still a great feature to have. The smaller organization pockets in the front pocket are great! Enough ... Read Morelittle pockets to organize all of your smaller items. Its really comfortable even when I have a lot weight in it. Im 51 and it sits really comfortably on my back. The straps are comfortable as well. I read some reviews that straps were too short but they are perfect to me! All in all its a great product. Im buying my partner one of these. She really liked it when she saw mine.

June 7, 2020

Super cute! Just too small :(

I love everything about this backpack except for the size. I purchased this to use for school and it is way smaller than I anticipated, I plan on returning it. However, I love the colors and everything else about it. For a backpack for school, I would recommend at least 30L!

May 26, 2020

Just right

Fits my MacBook and my books and even my iPad. I also used it to go to the beach and traveling For three months. Its been great to me. Its gone through sand, rain, waterfalls, drink spills, wet clothes, fruit. It still looks new. Its not too big for me and not too small.

February 25, 2020

Love it!

I've been looking at this backpack for a while and I'm so happy I've finally purchased it! I love the size and design of the backpack! However, after reading some of the reviews there are some things I agree with. For example: The backpack is a lot smaller than the Refugio 28 L even though both should be the same size liters wise (It... Read More doesn't really bother me since I use it for school.) Along with the chest strap which rides way too high to clasp (I still don't use but agree with other reviews) and I wish that it had a smaller front storage pocket for a phone and keys rather than just a larger more general compartment for smaller to medium sized items. Overall, I'm really happy with this backpack and it's been one of the best purchases ever!

December 21, 2019

Love this bag!

It has adjustable chest clips! When I first got it the straps were way too high so I moved them down and now it fits perfect. Spacious and so much room for everything in this pack. Laptop AND iPad sleeves.

December 10, 2019

Lots of space hidden inside!

I purchased this backpack to use as a diaper bag that I can transition to a hiking and travel backpack in the future. The bag itself is not very big, but it has a lot of space inside. The fit is great for me (5'3", 140 lbs.), though I imagine it might feel different to someone taller or larger. It fits everything I need for a day out with... Read More a baby and 4-year-old. The quality is very good, as I expect from Patagonia. Two suggestions for the future: I wish the front compartment zipped open entirely -- the space at the bottom can be difficult to reach when the bag is full. And I miss having a waist belt!

December 9, 2019

Good size but unfortunate material

I use this backpack for work and it fits everything I need without looking bulky, but I realized after awhile that whatever material is used on the backing had been pilling my clothes to an absurd degree, even a standard zip up hoodie. I've resorted to wearing it only if I'm wearing my rain jacket, parka or other nylon type material. I&#x... Read More27;ve had to find an alternative bag to carry my work stuff during the warmer months. Pretty unfortunate because otherwise it's a great everyday type backpack. Hopefully they have other backpacks with a different backing material.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2019

Hi Amy, we're so sorry to hear that this is happening with you Chacabuco. Per our Ironclad Guarantee, if for any reason our gear doesn't perform to your standards, you're more than welcome to return or exchange it. You can begin that process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return.

November 28, 2019

Love it

I used to have the 27 L jester and my organic chemistry book broke the zipper after two years because it wasn’t y’all enough to handle the strain. This backpack is tall enough and carries the weight well

November 19, 2019

Best backpack ever

This is the most functional good looking day pack I’ve had. Equally comfortable toodling a load of books and art supplies around town as it is a picnic and waterbottles on the trail. I love the elastic to toss a sweater or fleece under. All Around Terrific!

October 8, 2019

I love my new backpack.

I love my new backpack. I use it to carry my heavy law school books.

September 21, 2019

Perfect

Holds everything, sits right on my back, perfect for my commute

September 15, 2019

thin & small

I had been using Patagonia backpack for years. all of them were real nice fitting and quality. This chacabuca 28L is smaller than my violeta 25L. The material is very thin, you can see the light from inside. very disappointed. returned.

September 7, 2019

On the small side

This is a good, well made product, but when ordering online realize that 28L is not a large capacity. My teen daughter bought this for school. She’s already put the backpack aside as too small for daily needs.

September 4, 2019

Perfect for university!

I actually bought my Chacabuco off another site in the super cute discontinued vjosa green color (on sale for $68 too!) but I wanted to review it here. I think this bag is great! I use it for university. I love how there are three separate pockets for organization and that my laptop has its own pocket. I previously had the older version of TNF Bore... Read Morealis and it barely fit anything (and was so heavy!), plus it was so hard to have my laptop and books in the same pocket. This bag is super lightweight but very durable. I attend UGA and in Athens we walk everywhere, which in this Georgia heat means I'm sweating every day, but this bag is very breathable. I will say I agree with other reviews stating how short the straps are, (I'm a 5'5 woman for reference) but it's not a huge issue for me since I don't wear my bag low on my torso. I also haven't experienced the back material ruining my clothing.

August 29, 2019

Nice and roomy, plenty of

Nice and roomy, plenty of pocket space and expands to fit more stuff. Feels kind of small for someone my height, definitely still usable though.

August 20, 2019

Too small

I really loved my book bag but too small for school but also just the right size

August 20, 2019

Great backpack!

Love my new backpack. Fits nicely and is comfortable. It can hold a lot of stuff and keeps it organized!

August 13, 2019

Great backpack for high school!

I love this backpack. It fits me well (everyone has a different standard for how their backpack fits, but its perfect for me). It's small enough to take with me from class to class, fits all my supplies (minus textbooks because all of my books are online), and my Macbook perfectly. It would probably fit a slightly bigger computer but it defini... Read Moretely wouldn't fit all. 10/10 for my needs.

August 10, 2019

Backpack

I’m 5’3 and 116 lbs and this backpack is perfect for me! It fits perfectly but its small. It’s a nice bag for daily uses

June 7, 2019

how can it be a daypack without a waist belt?

I love Patagonia products mostly, but am disappointed that there is yet to be a daypack type bag that carries a laptop and also has a waist belt (hip belt) -- I can use the Chacabuco for the airplane, but it's not useful to hike. Why not one bag that can be a travel/commuter pack & a real daypack? It's not that hard to add a stabilizi... Read Moreng hip/waist belt. I have an older version of this bag so maybe the new one opens wider for the laptop, but the older one is hard to get the Mac in an out, especially at TSA.

May 24, 2019

Fit is super weird

The 28L volume of the backpack itself is great. It's on the smaller side but fits just enough. Definitely will not fit a 15" laptop but 13" and tablets are just fine. My issue with this backpack is the strange dimension of the straps, I definitely agree with the previous reviewer that it's like a child's backpack. I'm ... Read Moreabout 5'5, which I believe is an average woman's height and the straps are made so that you HAVE to wear the backpack tight up on the top of your back, forget loosening the straps to wear it a little lower. The location of the chest strap makes no sense to me because unless you're wearing the backpack all the way up your back, the chest strap buckles closer to your neck than your chest. If you're 5'2 or less, this might fit you better. I was debating between the Patagonia Chacabuco and the North Face Borealis, but now I wish I got the North Face :(

Response from Patagonia
June 11, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the fit of this backpack. Please note that you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

May 8, 2019

Perfect Pack

I bought this for travel and for hiking. Perfect day pack. The pockets are big enough for my hydroflask which i love!

December 14, 2018

Chacabuco disappointed

I ordered this backpack to use for collage, and also have the option to use it for travel and day hikes. I was so disappointed when it showed up. It is so small! It barely fits all my books comfortably. Im 5'8 and I felt like I had a childs backpack on. I will defiantly be returning it for either a Mens backpack or a different style all togeth... Read Moreer. If you want a backpack for day hikes this would be great, but if you are a collage student do not purchase this backpack.

December 3, 2018

Good for my commute and travel

This backpack is great for my 1 mile walk to work. The laptop/bladder pouch is a great feature. Love the outside pockets and inner organization. It can feel a little small if I am bringing a big lunch and workout clothes I still manage to fit everything I need.

December 2, 2018

Short lady loves the fit of this pack.

I bought this item awhile ago for traveling with a laptop. I am retired, 69 years old, 5'0" tall, with um a chest. Patagonia, please do not listen to the ladies who are angry that this pack is "too small". They knew the size when they bought it. I love the cut of the straps on this bag around my shoulders and chest. Yep, it does... Read More not fit me like your model in the photo. It's longer on me. Duh. Yeah I have to pack lighter because it is "small". It's annoying to have the laptop compartment when you are using it for a day pack. I don't take my laptop with me when out shopping/sightseeing for the day. I need a daypack to carry layers, water, chargers and hotspots, like that. I wish Patagonia would make and market a women's fit daypack. With a removable waist strap. I would buy it and own both bags happily.

November 25, 2018

Great size, but...

Overall, this backpack is great! I'm pretty petite (5'1") and the length of this backpack is perfect for my short torso. The laptop compartment perfectly fits my surface tablet plus a small stack of papers. The only issue I have come across is what happens to the middle compartment of the backpack when I have a large (think nalgene) ... Read Morewater bottle on the outside. It pushes into the middle compartment, making it difficult to fit a standard 1-inch binder in it. I have to angle the binder and squish other items into the compartment. I have resorted to using two smaller water bottles instead of the one large one, which has solved the issue! The third compartment has great smaller storage areas with mesh/zippers, which is good for keys, chapstick, my phone, etc. I'm happy with this purchase!

November 13, 2018

DO NOT BUY

I bought this bag as a new backpack for grad school. I am now 3 months in and have found that this bag can barely hold anything (my laptop and one textbook plus some pens and a water bottle is IT), the straps dig in, and the back has ripped up or pilled all of my clothing. I was so excited and believed Patagonia to be a great brand, after this I ju... Read Morest wish I could get a refund.

October 6, 2018

Great Pack for Students

I’m very satisfied with the Chacabuco backpack, I’ve found it perfect as a school, work, or day bag. I ordered the Arrow Red, and the combination of red and blue looks professional and vibrant — I’d highly recommend! The zippers are much better quality and are more durable than any other backpack I’ve ever had, as is the water bottle holder, as oth... Read Moreer reviews have mentioned. The backpack is just aesthetically beautiful and every aspect I’ve used thus far has been high-quality and durable. In terms of volume, I’d appreciate another 2 liters (found in the men’s/unisex version), because what is included is only just enough for me to fit everything I need — three or four 1-inch binders, a laptop, a full front pocket, and one or two water bottles. That said, the fact that it’s 28 liters makes it perfect for a daily bag. For example, I’ve used it to carry a single book, a pencil case, calculator and other smaller items, and it has not felt as though I’m carrying an empty suitcase on my back as my last 30 L pack did. The laptop compartment is well designed; it’s very well padded and its placement makes the pack comfortable to carry while also organizing the bag in a very practical manner. The front pocket opens halfway (which I much prefer, opening the entire way usually results in everything in that pocket falling out), and has three smaller compartments. Although having a small pocket on the outside of the bag for easy access would be great, I’ve found these smaller pockets to be just as good and easy to reach. There is also a padded tablet sleeve in the main compartment that I use to store items like earphones or snacks that I like having on hand. My only real complaint is the lack of a waist or hip strap on the backpack. As someone who bikes regularly, having a waist strap to decrease the weight put on my neck and shoulders would make a huge difference. I have found that I can knot what is left of the shoulder straps around my waist if necessary, but it is definitely not as effective. Overall, I’d highly recommend this backpack to any college student who needs a good amount of space and travels often, but if you are someone who needs space for more than what I described above, I’d go with the 30 L version of the pack.

September 16, 2018

Perfect backpack for college student

I am extremely satisfied with my recent purchase of Patagonia’s Chacabuco backpack. It perfectly fits my needs as a busy college student that lives off campus, with everyday needs of carrying around a laptop, textbooks, and necessities to get me through the day until making it back to my apartment in the evening. The top three requirements I consid... Read Moreered when choosing a backpack for my senior year were durability, compartments, and material. My last backpack ended up tearing at the straps after a year of use, only had two main compartments, and was not waterproof. I told myself that for my next backpack, I would be willing to spend more money to make sure I would have a backpack to last me throughout the years and offer all the specifics I was looking for. Before, I had been more concerned with style and color at a lower price. When I came across this Patagonia backpack at one of their stores in San Francisco on a family vacation, Patagonia had not been a destination for a backpack as I thought that it was out of my price range. However, Patagonia’s brand has a great reputation for durability and quality, and as soon as I picked up the backpack I instantly saw that it was what I had been looking for that I had yet to find in any other brand’s backpack. In this specific backpack model, there is a separate laptop compartment, a main compartment, and a smaller pocket with a variety of zippers and mesh compartments for smaller items that won’t get lost in a large compartment. There are also side pockets for water bottles and other items. I am particularly pleased by the quality and comfort of this backpack. Even when I have heavy textbooks and a heavy laptop, the straps still make my load feel light. When I get rained on, I can be assured that my laptop will be safe and all my notes will stay dry. I can be assured that the zippers will not break or the material will not rip regardless of the weight inside the backpack. Would highly recommend this product to any college student that walks long distances to and from class and is looking for the same criteria as I did when searching for a backpack.

August 9, 2018

Birch white and grey

Why don’t you have the birch white and grey it’s very stylish but I can’t find it anywhere. You need to restock it please!

August 5, 2018

Too short (the bag, not me)

So I have to say the straps felt amazing, comfy and snug in all the right places, but this bag is way too short to fit all my gear (the laptop sleeve wouldn’t even zip shut with my 15â€� laptop in it). I exchanged it for the unisex/men’s version and gained the additional space I needed. I don’t understand why Patagonia had to make the womenâ€... Read More™s bag so much smaller (2.5â€� in height, and 1â€� in depth). Hey designers...a lot of women carry more gear than men. I’m happy with the larger version just wish it had women’s specific straps.

May 7, 2018

15in. laptop didn't fit

While I liked the pack,I had to return it to the outlet I purchased it from because my laptop didn't fit. I have an 15 inch HP ZBook,but the laptop opening would not accommodate my machine. While I don't agree that "most" 15 inch laptops can fit in this pack,I think it would work with an ultra low profile laptop such as a Chrome... Read Morebook or an MacBook,though.

September 25, 2017

This pack was meant for me!!

I got this in the buffalo green/magenta because I wanted something different and it is hard for me to find packs that fit me comfortably. This pack is just the right size for me (I'm 5'3"). I can carry my iPad in its case,charger cords,a book,odds and ends case and have room for my fleece or yoga gear. The front pockets hold keys,iPh... Read Moreone and my work badge. I agree with the other reviewer that having a handy pocket for my phone that was easily accessible with the pack ON would be ideal,but in a pinch I can put it in one of the water bottle pockets. Which brings me to mention that these are really nice WB pockets--they stretch to eaily hold a Hydroflask thermos on one side and my KK water bottle on the other. This is the nicest daypack I've ever had.

September 19, 2017

Great College Backpack

I purchased this backpack for college and it works perfectly. I love that it has a separate pocket just for my laptop so that it is protected. The only thing I wished it had was a front or top pocket just for keys,sunglasses,or phone like the refugio.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches