Back to Product

Patagonia Middle Fork Pack 30L

Write Your Review

4.0/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 9 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Middle Fork Pack 30L

4.0/5
True To Size
May 17, 2022

No Frills

This is a very simple bag, there is very little structure or pockets to it. This would be a good a rope bag, with some shoes, and you could hang some hardware on the outside. The straps have minimal padding. It is a big empty void with a draw string. I'm using it as a summer bike gym bag.

January 28, 2022

Beautiful

Maybe one of the best pieces for purpose - the 2 to 3 day backcountry excursion - Patagonia has ever made. If something like this had been around in 1980, I mightve been carrying a whole lot less, a whole lot sooner. The shoulder straps are perfect. In two summer trips in Virginia, it was an almost zero-sweat carry. The waist belt you can remove ... Read Moreand I did; I use a tumpline, which usually is not necessary because you cant put that much weight in this pack nor do you want to. (I used it a lot anyway and that might have done much to minimize the sweat.) The top cinch strap you can also remove and I did, because I dont have enough things in the pack to make it necessary. This is a pack for the person who doesnt just want to go light but also simple. With 15 to 20 pounds I am easily good for three days and probably more. I havent close to maxed out this pack once. A stroke of sheer genius: only one pocket, inside top, which holds my wallet and keys and nothing more. Four super-long daisy chains allow you to attach anything you want to to the outside, but they dont *encourage* you to use them the way pockets do. Ive become convinced that pack pockets are a key source of overpacking (I call it Parkinsons law of pockets). This eliminates that. The enormous spindrift collar is the main reason I find it so hard to max out this pack. But it doesnt flop or sag or otherwise get in the way of efficient use. I put my day stuff, that used to go in the top pocket of my internal frame, in a Cube storage sack that stands on end right on top of the rest of the load. Anything I need during the day is as easy to get to as it ever was with any other pack. Finally, Yvon Chouinard showed us what he didnt like about backpacking. *It was all the stuff.* This elimminates the clutter; you take only what you need and no more. Maybe the only pack Ive ever used with which I cannot find a single flaw. Major kudos for this design.

September 15, 2021

Needs better shoulder straps.

I work as a professional mountain guide. For me the ulitimate back back is a "tube with straps". This pack is absoultely this. Beautifully made. The big problem are the shoulder straps which saw into your shoulders like rope. They are agony after several hours. So no matter how good the sac is its useless if you cant carry it.

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the pack Mark. The straps on this one are meant to mimic a climbing harness. You'll probably prefer our [Altvia Pack 28L](https://www.patagonia.com/product/altvia-pack-28-liters/48910.html) which has the same tube shaped styling but with padded more comfortable shoulder straps.

July 19, 2021

Great Pack

I recently used this pack for a 5 day mostly off-trail backpacking trip in Kings Canyon. Very comfortable at or under around 20 pounds. Much more than that and youd probably want a different pack. Durable moving through trees and scraping it on granite. So light!

June 24, 2021

Basically Awesome Pack

I love the simplicity of this pack. I've climbed El Cap in a day with this pack. It carries a gallon of water, jackets and shoes perfectly. This pack does equally well traveling because its incredibly light and can easily roll up into another pack. Future thought to designers: a 15L version would be great for shorter rock routes. Maybe in th... Read Moree 10-15L size.

March 2, 2021

Simple design with questionable shoulder straps

Love the elegantly simple design but the unpadded shoulder straps, while comfortable, may not be for heavier loads - especially over long distances. Top drawstring closure is very smart but the 2 straps securing/compressing the bag are kind of freakishly long, and could annoy the user. I also wish it were 36L like the Nine Trails pack. Climbers may... Read More like this pack for its simplicity.

February 20, 2021

Good minimalist design with questionable shoulder straps

The good: I like the simple concept of this pack. Good materials and capacity with just enough features. The questionable: Unpadded shoulder straps are made of nice material but no foam which made heavier loads uncomfortable.

November 13, 2020

Lightweight pack with some flaws

I bought this pack for both fastpacking and climbing. Overall a great pack, but I think some improvements could be made. The pack lacks a frame. For minimalist backpacking this makes it difficult to pack in a way that something isnt poking into your back. (Solved with a cut up election sign as a frame). Also lacking good waist strap. Will be ad... Read Moreding in a new waist strap when i find something suitable. Otherwise a great pack for the UL crowd.

October 10, 2020

bada-bing bada-bomb A Great Pack

I bought this pack right when they released and have loved it since. It has now replaced my ascensionist pack and is my go to for any rock climbing trip or quick and light apline adventure. The shoulder straps feel amazing as well!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches