Back to Product

Patagonia Atom Sling Bag 8L

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 25 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Atom Sling Bag 8L

4.3/5
True To Size
June 26, 2022

The Best Re-Design

The new re-design of this style blows the old style out of the water. This sling is more navigable on the inside and the front pocket that is on the strap that goes across the chest is big enough to fit my cell phone. The saffron print it so cute! The perfect everyday bag but also well suited for activities such as hiking and skiing.

May 29, 2022

Sling bag

His bag is fantastic but I wish there was a spot to put your water bottle

May 27, 2022

User friendly

I had been cyber-dating this bag for a while before ordering it to replace a very old, small canvas Kavu bag. Likes: pockets are on the same side with easy, smooth working zippers. Pockets are big enough for everything but not so big you have to dig for anything. Fabric is water proof/resistant/repellent (hiking in heavy rain- everything inside sta... Read Moreyed dry). Im ambivalent about the small pouch on the front.

May 23, 2022

Best bag ever

Finally I have found what I have been looking for. This is the perfect cross body bag for everything. I love taking it to the park with my children or on an easy hike. It's very durable and functional. I also find the straps don't dig in or bother me. I would highly recommend. Easily fits a Nalgene bottle, wallet keys sunglasses etc

May 20, 2022

I feel like there's design flaws...

This bag seemed great when i threw it on my shoulder in the store, but as soon as i put a few things in it and did some walking, i noticed just how irritating various points on the pack are. First, the pouch on the cross-body strap should have been made to bulge out BELOW the belt... instead it bulges up on the top side and digs right into my neck/... Read Moreadam's apple. Second, the padded portion of the cross-body strap is also oddly made. In my opinion, it needs about 2 more inches of length. The padded end of the strap that sits between the strap's buckle and my chest CONTSTANTLY dug into my chest and made my skin irritated with any and every move i made. If the padded portion was longer, it would easily make it to my side where it would likely not touch my pectoral/chest. Lastly, i don't know if it's the material or just the strap design, but wearing this bag with any sort of collared jacket or unzipped jacket is a NIGHTMARE. The strap seems to just pull everything up into your neck. I found it near impossible to wear this bag with my Nano Puff. On the good side, the functions of the bag are phenomenal. Love the easy acces buckle in the front, the straps on the back for holding extra gear/jacket, and how perfectly the pockets open when the bag is spun to your frontside. Unfortunately, i did end up utilizing Patagonia's Ironclad Guarantee to return this bag after just a month's use.

Response from Patagonia
May 24, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Kyle. We're so sorry to hear this bag was so uncomfortable! Please let us know if we can be of any help with that return, or in finding something that will work better for you.

May 17, 2022

Atom Sling 8L

bag was the perfect size for my 9 year old nephew but had to return as the zipper would no allow 10inch ipad with protective case to fit in bag. if zipper allowance was just half an inch larger would have been the perfect bag for his daily items 10inch Ipad and phone in strap pocket. he was so disappointed.

May 11, 2022

Perfect size and color

Very happy with the sling bag, nice color and size, love it, super confortable to use, and I was even able to fit a 1 liter water bag, better than the camel bag.

May 1, 2022

Great bag gets better!

I've had 4 or 5 various Atom Slings over the years and loved every one. I used them around town, biking, travel, carrying camera lenses, etc.. With each iteration there were some good and some bad updates. The 2022 Atom Sling seems to have nearly solved them all. The pesky, rarely used and ALWAYS in the way waist strap is finally gone! YES! ... Read More The pouch on the shoulder strap is finally big enough to hold an iPhone 13 Pro, or with a little persuasion, an iPhone Pro Max! GREAT! The main storage compartment will even hold an iPad Pro11" in a case! Fantastic! The main bag now has a top handle! A LONG overdue improvement! My only negative DRAB colors! Cmon Patagonia, bring back FUN colors! This is definitely the best Atom Sling 8L version yet!

April 27, 2022

Great Pack!

Love this day pack! Highly recommend it!

April 20, 2022

My 5th Atom Sling 8L for my collection

I just bought my new sling in Canyon Hike: Saffron, a beautiful print, at The Great Outdoor Store, which is my favorite local Patagonia provider. Patagonia has made a wonderful bag even better: the zippered sleeve in the strap is wider and longer, the front zippered pouch is larger as it goes from the top to the bottom of the bag, then the divider ... Read Morein the larger section of the bag also goes from the top to the bottom of the bag! I wear my sling on my hip/towards the front for security and easy access as I walk a lot outdoors. I have tried many official handbags over the years, but none compare to my Patagonia Atom Sling 8L!

April 1, 2022

Comfy

I love the wide strap. The zippered compartments are so easy to access when wearing.

March 28, 2022

The ultimate EDC sling pack

The Atom 8L is the Goldielocks size for an everyday pack, its not too big or too small, its just right. Ive been using an older version for about 5yrs and really liked it but felt it could be a tad better with some minor tweaks. Well Im not sure how Patagonia read my mind but they did with this updated model. The smaller zipper section is a little ... Read Morebigger, they changed the internal table sleeve into a divider for 2 equal sections, they enlarged the should pocket, and added a handle to the top, and polished everything else. Essentially they made the best EDC sling even better, just cant say enough good things about this quality sling pack.

March 23, 2022

Significant improvements made from previous generation

Just used this at Disney and it was perfect for an all day excursion. The previous generation atom sling was very good. This one gets even better. Patagonia replaced the small loop on the sling strap for a more durable well stitched grab handle on the back. great for hanging a Nalgene with a carabiner. The pocket on the sling strap is now larger an... Read Mored can hold a bigger phone. i dont have a iphone max anything but i have a 11 pro with a 5.8 screen and it could hold that and my ridge wallet comfortably. The smaller compartment in the front has now essentially doubled in size. Before it had a vertical stitching halfway but they removed it and now the compartment stretches across the entire pack. Finally they redesigned the larger compartment and made it more convenient for opening and closing from an angle which you would be doing the majority of the time. I loved using this pack and you will too.

March 21, 2022

Perfect

I love my Patagonia sling bag! Is super comfy and reliable

March 21, 2022

Good bag

I bought this bag for skiing. I was wearing a day hiking backpack to carry water and snacks for my two kids on ski days. But you cant wear backpacks on a lift. Getting my 4 and 6 year old's on a ski lift safely while fighting my backpack was not my idea of fun. So i bought this as a solution. You just whip it around backwards super quick which... Read More keeps the lift operators happy and I can still get my kids on the lift. I have loaded it with two 24oz bike water bottles and snack along with my wallet/keys/phone etc. It's definitely full with all that. The chest pocket fits my Iphone 12 mini with an otterbox defender perfectly or it fits my smaller two-way radio for when my wife stays in the lodge(terrible cell service where we ski). I also use this as my bike commuting bag as well. It holds all the stuff i need without weighting me down. I wouldn't mind a keeper strap that comes under the other arm for more active pursuits though. I have been wearing this on a trail and leaned down to fix something and it comes sliding off. I take the bad with the good though.

March 18, 2022

Weird fit

I couldn't figure out how to wear it comfortably. I really wanted to like it, and I really wanted to travel with it in April. It was just uncomfortable.

March 17, 2022

A Big Improvement on Last Years Model

The 2022 Atom Sling is a big improvement on the 2021 model. The back of the sling, as well as the strap, feature a new, softer fabric that isnt abrasive to clothing, as the old padding was. Also, the hang-loop has been repositioned to make hanging the sling easier. Its a great all-around sling for hiking, skiing or casual wear. Perfect size, stylis... Read Moreh, and rugged. I love it.

March 16, 2022

Durable

My sling bag is made very well, so durable, nicely finished seams.

March 16, 2022

Changed!

Ive been waiting for this one to change. They listened to the feedback and now the strap pocket fits an iPhone 12 Pro no problem. Great bag

March 14, 2022

Fit

I am a larger guy and the phone pocket was just too close to my neck. It was uncomfortable. They could add an under armpit strap, increase length of bag... Both might help bag sit higher up on back. The other Patagonia Atom I owned had the same cellphone pocket, but the padded strap was not wider where the pocket was. Also would have liked beefie... Read Morer straps and no double fabric on front of bag and larger openings for zippered access.

Response from Patagonia
March 22, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Ryan! It's extremely helpful to our product designers in improving our products from one season to the next. We're sorry this one isn't working for you. As you probably know, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you like.

March 9, 2022

Great but different than original

I have a previous Patagonia Atom sling from around 6 years ago. This new one has some great new features like a separation divider piece on the larger compartment. It lacks the belt strap!! The belt strap was KEY for hiking with this on.

February 24, 2022

Perfect for a small day hike or just to run errands!

Love how versatile this bag is! I have used it for a small day hike where I just want to pack a camera, snacks, and a some smaller accessories. I have even been able to fit a thin jacket. I have also been using it as a purse to go to the market or run other errands. I love being able to put it around my shoulder and not worry about it. The straps a... Read Morere adjustable and is a great fit, even around my larger chest.

February 24, 2022

I love my Atom Sling bag!

Absolutely love the sling bag! Fits all my daily essentials, the outside straps allow me to strap a rain jacket or water bottle to it! Highly recommend.

February 19, 2022

Surf cast dream bag

Perfect for surf casting Fits a Plano 7 x 11 hard case for lures and plugs perfectly in the large compartment. Stash some extras in the smaller pocket.

February 2, 2022

Not color correct

I bought the tan Atom Sling 8L and was super excited about it. However, the color was not really even close to tan. The outer color of the bag was fine, but the lighter color in the middle of the bag as a very noticeable pink undertone. I wasn't expecting it. Will buy another, just another color.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches