Back to Product

Patagonia Atom Backpack 18L

Write Your Review

4.43 /5

Filter Reviews

All 35 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Atom Backpack 18L

4.43
True To Size
July 4, 2020

Fits everything I need

I carry this bag daily for work. Typically I carry my wallet, keys, a change of gym clothes (minus shoes,) a few small notebooks, 2 organizer bags, a snack, & an 18 oz Hydroflask. It has kept me from overpacking for a 12-14 hour work day. It has saved my neck & shoulders from carrying a purse thats way too heavy.

June 28, 2020

Perfect everyday bag

I can't say enough good things about this bag! I've been using it daily for just over a year and I love it. It has held up beautifully to all sorts of different uses like work, road trips, international travel, weekend trips and school and it still looks brand new. The features are very straight forward which prevents me from accruing clu... Read Moretter and keeps my items quickly at hand. The two internal organizing pockets are surprisingly capable of holding plenty of gear (i.e battery bank, phone cord, screen cloth, headphones, cash, eye drops, mini multi tool, chap stick, gum, Purell and a travel cologne) all without bulging. the main compartment zips all the way open which was a very thoughtful design for a compact bag. I can typically fit a reusable water bottle (24oz), a couple of books, notepads, pencil bag and a jacket without having to stuff to zip. The laptop compartment is a huge plus. it's way more padded than a typical laptop sleeve and its fairly concealed unless you know that its there which is great for tucking away important things like a passport when security is a factor. The outside stash pocket is a nice bonus feature. I tend not to keep too much in there because it can get bulky pretty quick but its excellent for a snack bar and some hand wipes. Overall I absolutely love the Atom pack. One of those items where you get more than you pay for. It fits comfortably enough to wear all day if you have to and it truly is a minimalist work horse.

June 25, 2020

Perfect pack!

Its small but great for the airport, work, the mountain... anything! My fav pack now!

December 10, 2019

Professional Use

I love this pack for work and I use it instead of a combined purse and tote bag. I am small and I like the narrowness of the fit on my back. I can get my 12” Ipad Pro with its protector case into the laptop sleeve. I can also use the outside pocket for a water bottle, which was not clear from other reviews. The black pack is a wonderful light grey ... Read Moreon the inside which is not what I was told on the chat when I asked the interior color. When I was told that it was black inside, I almost did not order it. However my friend who is familiar with Patagonia packs said that their packs always have a light color inside, so I went ahead and ordered. Yay. Another great feature is that you can completely unzip the main compartment. I find this pack very versatile. I use light weight travel organizer bags inside the pack for the various things I need during the day or night, and so I like the simple interior design and do not miss a bunch of organizer pockets. I can use this in casual to dressy casual settings and the overall look can fit into a professional setting where my black Atom pack does not seem to be noticed at all.

December 8, 2019

Small but holds more than

Small but holds more than it looks.

December 6, 2019

Nice pack

Good weight, nice quality material including zips

November 25, 2019

Perfect bag for work travel

I purchased this bag for a cross-country work trip. I love everything about this bag including it's compact size. My 13" laptop fits perfectly and I had enough room for all the essentials. The only negative for me with this bag is the lack of a water bottle holder. I love the color and fit of this bag. I highly recommend it.

November 22, 2019

Perfect for what I needed it for!

I love this backpack! Its a perfect size for almost anything but long trips and its user friendly. I wish it was more water resistant/proof but besides for that, its a great pack.

October 24, 2019

Daily bag

Wanted this to be able to bring my computer conveniently in a daily bag. Just enough room for my MacBook, charging cords and other essentials--big enough for a few file folders too.

October 23, 2019

Awesome bag

The bag is perfect to fit my laptop, notebook, and my folders in for class along with everything else I need. I am happy with the bag.

October 16, 2019

Exactly what I needed

Atom Pack 18L is exactly what I needed. During the work week also when I go to trips I will carry it instead of a purse. It is a great size and thoughtfully designed compartments. I highly recommend it.

October 13, 2019

Small, Smart Design with Chest Strap

This bag is awesome - I recommend it to all minimalists. Very small and will make you question what you really need. The laptop side sleeve gives easy access to laptop without having to open the main compartment. And if you want to repurpose for a weekend hike, you could put a hydration pouch in the sleeve. There is an opening atop for the wate... Read Morer tube. The front most pouch had a vertical zipper. I like the pouch. But fear it'll be an easy pick pocket target. So don't put anything important in there.

October 2, 2019

Wear and Tear

I recently bought this pack and although it has a nice and slim design, the stitching near my laptop zipper started to become undone after about a week. It is a nice design and can hold quite a lot of items but gets roughed up pretty easily. I had to send it in for a repair which will take a long time to get completed. I should've just asked f... Read Moreor credit back and bought a new pack.

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2019

Hi Curtis! We're sorry to hear that the stitching started coming out so soon. We wanted to thank you for keeping it out of a landfill, and getting more life out of it.

September 14, 2019

Atom Pack

Live this pack! Super durable and the perfect size for day adventures and as my new everyday pack!

September 11, 2019

Working as well as one would expect!

Patagonia (or Pats-Gucci as it is often called in my part of the PNW) is know for durability and quality. My new pack doesn’t disappoint! I went with this super small pack for carrying back and forth to work and as a personal item for flights. Fits my MacBook Pro in the little back pocket like no big deal. Also holds anything else I need to carry f... Read Moreor my 12-14 hour shifts as a surgical/urgent care nurse (minus lunch, that has to be carried separately). It would be nice to have some more organization (pen slots) but after using it for a while I think it’s built the way it was meant to be! I recommend this pack for what it’s made for.... small, quick trips.

September 7, 2019

Just right for extra pocket.

Just right for extra pocket. Phone , wallet, camera.

August 30, 2019

Love this backpack

Perfect size, my laptop was about 1/2 inch too big to fit in the zipped part but it fits perfectly in the big part. My only suggestion would be to add a water bottle holder on the side.

August 29, 2019

Great daypack

This backpack was the perfect size I was looking for. I had bought a cheap sling pack last fall and it was big enough for my tablet and other items but I couldn't shove a jacket in there on days when I might need one. The only thing this pack is missing is a water bottle sleeve on the side but I've purchase a smaller bottle that fits in t... Read Morehe outside vertical pocket. As usual, a great bag that will last forever! I have an original MLC, Burrito Suiter and messenger bag that are over 20 years old and still get used on trips!

August 29, 2019

Great Bag

Really great lightweight bag that's perfect for small essentials. Love the color and the multiple pockets

August 15, 2019

Great Pack!

Love this backpack, especially the side zip pocket for my laptop. I use it for everyday commuting. I wanted something small but capable for my commute to and from work on the crowded train and this hit the spot! My only criticism is that the interior of the main compartment could use an extra storage space or two. There are two small pockets, but i... Read Moref you've got things you don't want bouncing around in there, there's really no way to secure them. I may just sew my own mesh pocket in there for that reason.

August 10, 2019

Near-perfect backpack

This bag is the exact right size. It's light and small enough that you won't get bogged down if you're only carrying a water bottle and a wallet. But it's big and robust enough to carry your 13" laptop, iPad, liter nalgene, sweatshirt, rain jacket, and files. For carrying files, I recommend a semi-hard plastic file folder t... Read Morehat more or less lives in the backpack. This will keep your papers from getting crumpled. My only complaint is that I wish there were a few more organizing pockets and such for pens, keys, chapstick, wallet, etc. Other than that, I love the bag and definitely give it 5 stars.

August 10, 2019

Perfect for work or travel

I bought this to keep my wallet, phone, planner, notebook, chrome book, pens, and books—in short, all I need to do my work—in one safe, small, convenient space with a great warranty. The interior pockets hold the phone and wallet for easy access; the front compartment is a great place for a shell or a collapsible umbrella. Excellent on a plane. I’d... Read More say for hiking this would only be a daypack, but there are lots of adaptable, creative folks out there...

August 10, 2019

Awesome AF

Big enough and small enough for Europeon Vacation

July 10, 2019

Great pack but hurts my shoulders

This is a great bag, I love it for my daily commute and it's the perfect size. However it seems like no matter how little I store in it, my shoulders get so sore I can't wear the bag for more than half an hour. I've used Patagonia packs before and never had this issue so this is a huge flaw for me. Not sure what it is about the shape... Read More or straps, but no matter how I wear it, even if there isn't a lot inside, my shoulders always hurt so much. Other than that, the material and design is excellent as usual. Just upsetting that I can't use this pack like I wanted to.

April 2, 2019

Smaller than it looks

I didn't have a good reference for what 18L would be, but based on the pictures I expected it to be bigger.

December 19, 2018

Nice pack, great size, but one flaw

Have taken this pack on a lot of planes/trips. The padded laptop/electronics pocket is great, internal organizers are nice; the one flaw, and what would be a great addition, is a water bottle sleeve. I like to travel with a 20oz thermos and fill in airports, and have to pack inside this thing, taking up valuable space for long-haul flights. It woul... Read Mored be great if the designers added an elastic sleeved water bottle pocket on one or both of the external sides in the next iteration.

November 21, 2018

Personal Item Size

I originally bought this because it fits a criteria for a personal item (under seat bag) on an airplane and also a small day bag. I was able to put my jacket and my companion’s leather jacket in it when it was warm in San Francisco. Aside from that I’ve started using it for work when I need to move around and don’t want to leave my laptop briefcase... Read More somewhere.

October 19, 2018

Fantastic pack

After a neck injury I could no longer carry a purse with all of the things I needed to carry for work. I didn’t want a larger backpack because I would over pack if I did. I can carry my tablet, life essentials, and a change of clothes if I’m on the road. I’m buying another couple for my husband & brothers.

October 13, 2018

Perfect for city trekking

This pack has comfortable padded straps though I suggest that the straps do not sit on bare skin as they rub slightly. Other than that ,this is my favorite bag. I love the laptop zipper in the back which I often use for my wallet so it is secured and hidden. Inside the key hook and small compartments are just right for keys, my agenda , pens etc an... Read Mored plenty of room for change of clothes, folders , cosmetic bag. Etc

September 26, 2018

Streamlined and durable, but ruins clothes

Like a few other models, the straps on this ruined a hoody of mine to the point where it's all "balled up" near wear the mesh hits my back and shoulders. A shame, since it's a nice pack.

September 14, 2018

College packpacl

Was looking for an ethically made backpack to get me through college. This pack carries my school supplies, breakfast, and laptop with some room to spare. Also, the laptop compartment can fit my 14 inch laptop with just a little extra wiggling

August 9, 2018

Boyswithpacks

Please bring back the Poco Mucho 20L. It was the perfect backpack! This Atom pack, as well as a couple others, were recommended to me by one of your agents as the closest similar but they are really nothing alike. I'm looking for a pack for my rising pre-K child to use this year and for the first couple years of elementary school. We've h... Read Moread a Poco Mucho 20L and it is the perfect size for a child's back... plus it had all of the right features... external water bottle compartments, enough room for a lunch box to fit inside, room for a book and a little school work to come home, and a WHISTLE built into the chest buckle. Before our other Poco Mucho became my oldest child's school backpack, it was our diaper bag/day bag. My hands could hold onto two little boys and I always felt safe knowing I had a whistle at the ready. Now, I feel safe knowing my oldest has a whistle if needed and I don't have to deal with cheesy cartoon characters or an oversized backpack not designed well for a child's body. Please, please consider bringing back this bag or incorporating some of its great qualities into another of your packs approx. 20L packs!

August 13, 2017

Low profile good for air travel, around town edc

This Atom Pack 18L (1098 cubic inches) day pack is very handy. It first caught my eye on the sporting goods store rack because it is all black (no bright trim, no gray rear panel, just all black) and in low sheen, but smooth surface, nylon. I like nylon better than polyester (which most packs are made from, because it is cheaper) because it withsta... Read Morends abrasion better and has greater tear strength with thinner fabrics. I like smooth surface nylon better than "sanded," fake-canvas nylon because it doesn't act as a magnet for cat and dog fur the way sanded Cordura fabrics do. The threads are thick enough to give the surface some texture, but not the ginormous threads used in ballistics-style fabrics were you can really see the huge weave. So, this looks more robust than ultra-light fabrics, but not overbuilt like ballistics fabrics. It may sound like I'm nitpicking, but these designer choices are why the fabric has a good "hand" and looks good. In contrast, there is a manufacturer of "security feature" packs and bags that also uses smooth surface nylon, but their threads are smaller and tighter with a resulting totally different look and feel. The fabric Paty has spec'd here looks robust and modern, not like the cheap nylon and polyester "flight bags" from the 80's. // This pack fits narrow on the back, and is low profile (narrow depth from your back to the front of the pack) so you won't whack fellow passengers when you are disembarking and the aisles are jammed and you can barely turn around. It won't stay low-profile if you jam a fleece to the bottom, but if you fold the fleece to optimally fit out to the bag corners, you'll be good to go. // Unlike many daypacks, this is more rectangular, since it was designed to hold a rectangular, 13" laptop. I confirmed that a 13.3" thin or fat (Thinkpad) laptop will fit, even though Paty only claims 13". A nice feature of the laptop slot is that it is "external" to the main compartment - between the main compartment and the padded back panel. BTW, that padded back panel is really thick, the one area that I think is a little overkill (but may not be, if you stow an iced water bladder here instead). It isn't suspended from the bag bottom, but it IS equally well-padded on the bag's bottom and far edge and along the top edge - the only unpadded edge is the zipper edge. That's 3 out of 4 sides well protected, which is awfully good. The compartment side panel is felt-fuzzy lined, and won't scratch a 12.9" tablet screen, but I think it would be insane to put a tablet that expensive with glass facing towards the main compartment without a screen cover. The foam pad on compartment-side is much less thick than on the back panel. You'd probably be ok if the main compartment just holds a fleece, but anything pokey or hard would me me nervous. // There's no external water bottle slot, which I think is appropriate for this slim and fast design. I like mesh bottle slots both for water bottles and for gloves, neck gaiter, bandana, energy bars, watch cap, you name it. The problem is, most water bottles have slick sides and will slide out of almost every water bottle slot, since the elastic used at the mouth is never enough to retain them. So my personal water carry preference is a Platy "film" bottle in the main compartment inside a zip mouth plastic bag in case of spills. // If you are doing longer hikes away from easy access to water, the laptop slot doubles as water bladder slot. There is an exit porthole at the bag's top; there isn't an internal compartment hook to hold a water bladder in place. // The shoulder straps show a lot of thought and quality. They are straight off a much larger pack, thick foam, recurved, breathable mesh on body side (the back panel is similar breathable mesh). There is a sternum strap, and thankfully no waist strap to dangle, catch on stuff, and generally annoy. I always vote for a sternum strap over a waist strap. I almost always need a sternum strap to keep the straps from sliding back over my shoulders. It's also a theft deterrent. And it can be snapped over an adjoining chair handle to deter grab 'n' runs. This one is removable is you don't like them. There are loops on the front of each strap where you can clip or carabiner something to the front. // The top grab handle is better than most but far from perfect. It is wide and thick enough to not fold over and bite my hand. It is more than just a loop to hold the pack on a sales rack. On the other hand, I wish Paty had attached the ends further apart on the backpack strap mounting area - the opening for my grip isn't as wide as I would like. Thankfully there isn't any plastic or metal tubing on this strap, stuff I hate. Just simple but thicker-than-most-webbing fabric grab handle. // There are two compartments. The first is "outside" on the front panel, a straight vertical zipper that opens up a compartment where you can fold a thin shell. You can also use it for travel papers, but I wouldn't put anything that I couldn't afford to lose here, since pilferage is easy by pulling the one-way sipper, with long fabric pull, down from the top. (The laptop slot is similar design but it's hard to pull out a laptop, easy to pull out a wallet.) // Still, I like the outside quick access pocket. I could see putting a flattish i.v. style water pouch in there, along with a Houdini or similar windbreaker. // The inside compartment is mainly BYOO - bring your own organization - except for an open top flat mesh pocket and a small closed fabric, zipper top flat pocket. The open-top mesh pouch easily holds my 6" phone, even in its drop in case. The zipper pouch easily holds my passport. There are two negatives: there are not drop-in pen slots, and the key-leash clip is inside the open top mesh pocket. I would rather see the key leash clip at the side or top of this panel, not inside the top mesh pocket, since I don't want my keys and phone inside the same pocket. // Other than the two pockets, there are no neat "tricks" in the main compartment - no mesh lined sunglass slot, no pockets for energy bars. // I think in the past Paty has engaged in "office/shool organizer panel overkill," but on this pack they maybe embraced their inner minimalism too much. Please move the key leash out of the phone slot, give us a couple of pen slots, and install some tiny "o" rings at top and sides so we can clip organizer pouches to them, without them simply slipping to the bottom of the pack - we need some accessory pouch attachment points. // All in all, this is one of the best designs I have seen from Paty in a long time. It's on the small side, but I plan on using it as my "personal item" at my seat, with my carry-on luggage stowed overhead. It's also small enough to use as an edc bag locally - a lot of my alternative bags are great in the airplane cabin, but oversized once I hit the ground. // The laptop/very large tablet slot is especially appealing. I seldom carry a laptop or tablet, but when I do, most of my bags don't work well with them. There isn't a well-padded slot to keep them from shifting around, and I don't like the laptop knocking around in the main compartment. This bag is small enough it won't get in the way on most days, but when I need a laptop for a cafe will accept it and protect it well. // In fact the laptop slot on the Atom Pack is so well designed and protective I don't think I will need a zipper sleeve as additional protection on my laptop. // I have to admit that when I saw this on the web page when it was released, I thought it was a joke - too small to carry anything meaningful, and too big for my minor edc stuff. But when I saw it in the store, it changed my mind!

August 9, 2017

At Last

At Last a compact day backpack that looks great,comfortable but have enough room for all day essentials. well built. I use it for caring my 13' laptop,some documents and other everyday carry

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches