burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Travel Rod Roll - Fly Rod Bag

Write Your Review

3.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S/M
  • L/XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 9 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Travel Rod Roll - Fly Rod Bag

3.8/5
True To Size
July 31, 2022

Frustrating Design

I bought this case for a trip. Tired of having rod cases rolling around in my truck. While it did help organize my rods, I found it difficult to use. Rolls up on itself when trying to get rods out/in, and rods are hard to slide into the elastic straps. I returned it after the trip for a refund. Cool idea. Poor useability.

Response from Patagonia
August 3, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Ron. We're so sorry this bag didn't work for you! We're glad you got it returned, and we will share these notes with our product team.

July 10, 2022

Much lighter than alternatives

I am going on a trip with a strict luggage weight limit on a chartered flight, and I am super happy to have found this new Travel Rod Roll. I saved 3 ½ lb in weight between the new Rod Roll vs the rod case I was planning to use. I am not sure what kind of test Patagonia conducted with this product, so while it looks sturdy, I am not quite ready to ... Read Moreput this rod tube into my soft checked luggage. So I sewed two quick side release buckets onto the straps which allow me to snap on a shoulder strap when necessary and make it much easier to use it as a carry-on item on a flight.

May 2, 2022

Great idea - Needs refinement

I read the reviews before I bought the Rod Roll so I had made a pretty informed decision before slapping down the credit card. In theory I feel this is an awesome product. In application it needs a little refinement. After speaking with customer service about the exact dimensions I went with the large since I have rods between 8 and 10.6. Before us... Read Moreing mine I added a series of tie downs between the factory elastic loops. I realize a lot of people (me included) feel that its silly for a consumer to HAVE to modify gear right out of the box. However there is no perfect gear solution and everyone who sets high demands on their equipment will eventually make some minor modification so it fit their needs a little better. Using a hole punch and a piece of scrap wood I punched two holes for each rod as close to the center of the factory attachment points as possible. Then using some 5mm bungee cord i created simple tie down points so using an overhand knot Im able to secure the rods almost perfectly. I transported my rods in socks to help keep everything organized. The rigid black hole fabric is more than adequate to protect your rods from most reasonable impacts. Obviously not as much as some solid tubes but I had confidence my rods were protected. All in all it has great potential if you're willing and able to take an hour and fabricate a solution.

Response from Patagonia
May 11, 2022

Hi Adam! Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We truly appreciate this feedback as it's how we improve products for future seasons. We'll share this with our design crew.

March 15, 2022

Great rod carrier

Roll fly rod carrier is a good deal. Carries multiple fly rods safely and the large size easily holds my 116 switch rod.

February 9, 2022

size is strange

The sizing is way off. the daisy chain on the large is almost too far apart for 9' rods and will not fit shorter than 9' rods at all. The S is 2" too small for a 10' rod. Some minor changes would make it much more versatile. It almost seems like the designer didn't have many fishing rods and just guessed on the size. The de... Read Morescription is missing this key information: The L is 44" wide and the elastic daisy chain is 27" wide, making it a little too big for 9' rods (9' rods fit, but swim). The S is 30.5 wide that would work for 9' rods, but not for a 10' that is 31.5". Bottom line is I paid Patagonia (shipping) for the pleasure of finding out the specifications that should have been clearly spelled out in the description. I am a bit disappointed since this is a very narrow use product and the information is really vague. I guess, it is my bad, I should have asked more questions.

Response from Patagonia
February 10, 2022

We appreciate this detailed feedback on our sizing, and lack of information needed on our website. We've alerted our product design and web teams and reached out to you privately to take care of your return. Thanks for the review, Greg!

December 15, 2021

Cool case

Case is cool. I love how light it is. Can be a little sneaky to store rods but all in all good case.

October 30, 2021

Super convenient

This is something I didnt even know I needed! Instead of carrying four (4) tubes, (2 each for wife and myself, we carry one. Its only slightly larger than one tube. Construction seems bomb proof too.

September 4, 2021

Re-purposed scrap

I use the L/XL Rod Roll and have 6 Trout Speys tucked away in it. The roll takes up very little space compared to individual cases, it's very easy to keep in my rig. I wish the elastic would have either a Velcro closure or snaps to make rod removal easier.

September 1, 2021

Travel fly rod holder

This travel fly rod holder is a great piece of equipment. It is sturdy and able to carry up to four fly rods. Immediately out of the box you have to roll it and shape it, which is not a huge problem. Once its in its form, it is bulletproof.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches