Back to Product

Patagonia Nine Trails Waist Hiking Backpack 8L

Write Your Review

4.11 /5

Filter Reviews

All 27 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Nine Trails Waist Hiking Backpack 8L

4.11
True To Size
June 26, 2020

Too small

Nice construction, but not at all what I was expecting from an "8L" waist pack. It's virtually the same size and design as an excellent waist pack I already own that's rated as "3L". The side bottle pockets are too small for almost all bottles. The construction is heavy and tight so that what space it does have is diff... Read Moreicult to use and cramped. If I just calculate the size using the provided dimensions I get 6L, but the internal capacity is certainly not even that. Perhaps Patagonia is counting what you can strap to it! If you don't have my capacity expectations then you might like this pack, especially if you want to use the included bladder and don't have to fit hardly anything else in with a full reservoir. There's also only one side pocket, although it does hold a phone easily. Especially for the price, I can't recommend it.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2020

Thanks for your thoughtful and detailed feedback on the features, sizing and fabric of this pack, Michael! We're sorry it was a disappointment. Please note that we'll be happy to help you return any items from your orders, so please reach out to us: help.patagonia.com/s

June 22, 2020

Great Product!!!

I made the switch from a camelbak to the fanny pack and I don't regret it!

June 21, 2020

The Best Hydration Pack I've Ever Owned

I bought this pack specifically for mountain biking, but now I use it for trail running, hiking and I bought one for my wife! I've never liked having weight on my shoulders when I'm cycling or running, and this pack fits it all in- and it adds an additional layer of protection when mtn biking. It fits most of my trail repair kit essential... Read Mores, my phone and plenty of water. The expandable front panel allows you to roll and stuff a large jacket when it starts to warm up, and the open side pockets are great for picking up small pieces of litter along the trail, and you don't even have to stop- just grab it, pack it out and carry on. Highly recommended!

June 21, 2020

Great pack for mid-distance rides

I purchased the Patagonia Nine Trails Waist Hiking Backpack 8L for mid-distance mountain bike rides. I ride a Santa Cruz Hightower, which has only one bottle cage mount. So, short rides I take a bottle on the bike and tools and food in my jersey. Anything longer than an hour and I need more storage, which is where this pack comes in. Its extremely ... Read Morewell made, carries my tools, food and extra water securely. Its comfortable to wear, and is way less hot to wear than a backpack. Its small though (by design) and the external water bottle pockets don't do a good job of holding water bottles on rough terrain, so if you are suiting up for the Wilderness 101 or the Dirty Kanza, its not going to cut it - you still want a backpack for all-day adventures, in my opinion

June 17, 2020

Great pack for mid-distance rides

I purchased the Patagonia Nine Trails Waist Hiking Backpack 8L for mid-distance mountain bike rides. I ride a Santa Cruz Hightower, which has only one bottle cage mount. So, short rides I take a bottle on the bike and tools and food in my jersey. Anything longer than an hour and I need more storage, which is where this pack comes in. Its extremely ... Read Morewell made, carries my tools, food and extra water securely. Its comfortable to wear, and is way less hot to wear than a backpack. Its small though (by design) and the external water bottle pockets don't do a good job of holding water bottles on rough terrain, so if you are suiting up for the Wilderness 101 or the Dirty Kanza, its not going to cut it - you still want a backpack for all-day adventures, in my opinion

June 17, 2020

The Best Hydration Pack I've Ever Owned

I bought this pack specifically for mountain biking, but now I use it for trail running, hiking and I bought one for my wife! I've never liked having weight on my shoulders when I'm cycling or running, and this pack fits it all in- and it adds an additional layer of protection when mtn biking. It fits most of my trail repair kit essential... Read Mores, my phone and plenty of water. The expandable front panel allows you to roll and stuff a large jacket when it starts to warm up, and the open side pockets are great for picking up small pieces of litter along the trail, and you don't even have to stop- just grab it, pack it out and carry on. Highly recommended!

March 4, 2020

Minimalist Adventure Pack

Love this pack. The bladder is cool but I honestly think this thing is better without it. If you take the bladder out the main pocket is huge. That being said the bottle pockets suck at holding bottles. The pockets too shallow to grab the lip on a bike bottle the way a bottle cage does. Patagonia should do a redesign because I feel like the bikers ... Read Morethey're targeting are likely to have those kinds of bottles around. I get around this by attaching a rubber band to the zippers on the front pocket and wrapping them around the bottle valve, with this setup the pack works like a dream.

January 15, 2020

Can hike pain free compared to a backpack.

Due to a bad back and spinal neck problems hiking even 3 miles with a backpack was causing great pain. With this waist pack I can hike 10 miles with no more pain than hiking with no pack. • water bladder holds 1.5 liters, enough for a 10-12 mile hike, with side pouches for water bottles for longer hikes. • water bladder can be filled easily, but c... Read Morearefully without removing from pack. A full bladder is hard to load into pack though due to the compartment’s dimensions so I don’t try to load it in unless it’s less than half full. • the front pouch with compression straps can hold my fleece puffy vest and two shirts easily, with additional zippered pockets for small items. The design is ingenious in that it has zippers on both sides, but a Velcro closure on top so you can over stuff it without busting the zipper. The best feature by far is the comfort level versus a backpack. I could always wear a light backpack if I needed more storage, but a backpack with a full water bladder was putting an end to my hiking. I am so glad I bought this! It’s truly the most significantly helpful hiking product I’ve ever bought.

November 6, 2019

Waist pack

The product was great with one exception. It is a real pain in the butt to refill the water bag. It needs some type of refilling adjustments.

October 29, 2019

Nine Trails waist bag is really nice design

Super compact and light weight. Fits snug and keeps excess weight really well distributed on the body. Didn't really feel the weight moving around.

September 12, 2019

Perfect Mountain Biking Pack

Incredible pack! Holds more than enough water for a couple hour ride and has extra space for 2 water bottles for longer days. If your bike also has a bottle cage then you're good all day and it's not nearly as hot as a backpack. It bounces around a little on jumps but so do backpacks.

September 11, 2019

So far, so good

I've only had the chance to use the pack once on a 27 mile gravel ride. It wasn't fully loaded with water bottles but it did contain snacks, bike repair tools and tube, phone and the bladder was filled with water. I liked the super easy access to the mouth valve. It also didn't hinder use of my jersey pockets. I'm excited for th... Read Moree chances to run it through it's paces this fall.

August 28, 2019

Actually great for hiking

Although I frequently go mountain biking I use the trails waist pack primarily for hiking and it’s great. It fits tight to my body without bouncing and allows me to carry the things that I need on a day hike.

August 26, 2019

Great for biking

Good fit. Better than a backpack so your back can breathe.

August 24, 2019

Wanted to like it but no way

I like everything about this pak . Except the water bottle holders on the sides. If I wanted a pak with water bottle holders I would just buy one for that specific purpose. I thought I would try it and see how it works anyway. Just like I predicted its a PIA to get the bottles out and put back in when the pak is on your waist. You have to take the ... Read Morepak off to get the bottle back in the holders. If the made this pak without bottle holders and just made the main compartment larger this would be perfect. Oh well I will return it and go with the Dakine .

August 20, 2019

Bomber!

I use this for mountain biking and it's a great pack for everything but the uber epic days. Comfy, tough and well thought out. Even has space for a beer!

August 11, 2019

Great Mtn Bike Tool

I got this bag for those rides where I don't want / need much kit and its proving to be perfect for the task. It fits all the kit I need for a full day summer ride, or a 1/2 day ride in colder / wetter weather - this includes an InReach, first aid kits, jacket, trail food and bike tools. Two improvements (to make it five star): Make the hip... Read More zip pocket larger to fit a larger smartphone (i.e. iPhone 7+) and as a larger waisted guy if it was made un two sizes a M / L could spread the loader more widely across my lumber.

August 11, 2019

Nine Trails Waist Pack 8L

I've used this pack on about a dozen rides and for the most part, it works well. My concern is with the Velcro closure on the front compartment. 1) Velcro wears out in my experience faster than a zipper. 2) The Velcro is tough to align when you have all your tools and accessories in the pack making for a sketchy closure. To be fair, I've ... Read Morehad no issues but all my other Patagonia gear lasts a really long time and i'm concerned with this ones longevity. Fit and finish is typical Patagonia perfection other than the Velcro. So far, great little pack for 2-3 hour rides in Pisgah NC.

Response from Patagonia
August 21, 2019

Thanks for your feedback! If it does end up wearing out fast, feel free to send it in for a [repair or return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty.

August 10, 2019

Solid Fanny

This thing rips, holds a boatload of goods and fits awesome. Pro Tip: Don't put things of importance loosely in the fold down flap, lost my keys on the trail like a rookie. Also, get yourself a sweet bottle canister like the bontrager storage bottle and toss it into one of the side pockets for more storage unit action. All in all, best fanny o... Read Moren the market.

July 17, 2019

nine trails waist pack

design flaw, does not have a second set of cinch straps above the waist belt to hold the load securely to your waist or small of the back. When water is in the bladder, the pack is heavy and flops around. the Black Hole fanny pack has the extra straps, why would you not include these on this pack as it carries more weight (water). I waisted money o... Read Moren this. Great idea, poor design. Is not usable for mountain biking.

Response from Patagonia
July 17, 2019

We are so sorry to hear that the pack did not work out for you and we appreciate the feedback. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us, and we will make sure you are taken care of.

July 7, 2019

Pretty darn good

As a convert to waist packs, this is my first one. I’m not disappointed. It stays put , and I actually like the hydration bladder. It does have its limitations, though. I find that to manage the weight properly, it’s best not to carry more than .75-1 liter of water. And I can’t imagine the water bottle holsters being good for a full sized water bo... Read Morettle, but they’re great for stashing a set of gloves, etc, for quick access. That’s the only reason for a four star rating. The water tube wraparound doesn’t bother me, and I’ve never snagged it on anything, even with riding trails that could use to be brushed out. And the Velcro closure is more secure than I expected. Two thumbs up. Full disclosure- I’m a relatively skinny dude, but I do have a bubble booty that likely helps with the security of the fit.

June 24, 2019

Almost perfect... but a big downside

First off, I love almost everything about this bag. It seems well designed and is roomy enough for everything I need to take with me.... That said, the backing on this waist pack is made of a wire-like mesh material which gives it its form to allow for breathing. This backing has snagged and pilled every one of my shirts... I’ve tried using cotton... Read More, polyester, or even a hard nylon. Unfortunately it seems to rip up everything. Needless to say, when I found that most of my shirts were destroyed, I wasn’t happy

Response from Patagonia
June 24, 2019

We're sorry to hear about the pilling this pack has caused on your shirts. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty and let us know if you have any questions.

June 18, 2019

Had to return it...

Pack would be great if you didn’t carry much in it. I needed it to carry water, phone and small tools - but with the Hydropak in it, just kept slipping down off my hips (unless waist strap was insanely tight). I really wanted to like it. Will have to look for a small back pack instead.

May 18, 2019

Get hip, stay hip

The hip pack I snagged at a white elephant last Christmas wasn't quite big enough for longer rides, and the sketchy, plastic webbing had my bear spray sliding all over the place while cutting into my abdomen. So I got the Nine Trails 8L. The Nine Trails 8L can easily carry more than you really need for your ride. The hydration system is easy ... Read Moreto use on the trail, and the cinch system on the tool panel makes it easy to carry the layer you don't actually need to be wearing or kneepads for the down. The bottle pockets are stretchy, and great for holding gloves or stuffing layers like my Airshed or Houdini for quick deployment. The phone and key pockets work well. The parts of the pack that touch your body are soft, comfy, and vent just fine. The webbing belt is wide, the buckle is in the right spot, and the strap holder works great to keep the tail from flapping you to death. Weight is the main concern with this thing: where you put it, and how much. 1.5 liters of fluid, i.e. the full hydration system, is not only a little hard to get into its pocket fully filled (but it can be managed), but when you add levers, a micro pump, a tube, a multitool, a layer, and snacks, the whole kit is plenty heavy to hang off your backside. I've done this on a number of longer rides, so it's possible, but not advised. The bottle pockets are a nice touch, but I can't imagine adding the weight of two bottles to an already full hydration system and it remaining comfortable. For me, 1 liter of water plus the stuff detailed above is about perfect weight wise: it rides well in my lumbar and doesn't sink, nor does it feel like it's being levered off my back or constricting my belly. That does decrease the utility for long rides, but for afterwork or shorter, three hour jaunts, it's right on the money. Paired with a frame bag or bottles on the bike to carry extra water on a longer ride, the Nine Trails 8L makes a perfect place for essentials and layers and, of course, the snacks that are way better than what your buddies brought (but you'll share because you're cool like that). Two other nitpicks on design: some hip packs of this style (Evoc, Osprey) have a diagonal compression strap on the sides to help snug the load up onto your hips. This would be harder to rig with the bottle pockets, but I'm sure Patagonia could sort this out. Also, a cinch cord in the top of the bottle pocket would make it work well for things like bear spray or holding smaller items, but as it stands now, the lack of a closure there makes it less functional. Used for shorter rides, with a little less water than the full capacity, this pack is pretty close to perfect. If you don't overload it, you'll be stoked.

May 8, 2019

best fanny pack for biking

Great fit, doesn't flop around. Good organization for all the bits you need on the trail.

March 5, 2019

Comfortable and stays put

I know this is meant to be a more of an MTB pack, but I decided to purchase for running/hiking to see how it would hold up. I took it out for a 1.5 hr trail run in the rain and it did great. - First of all, it's a waist pack; when positioned properly, it stayed put. - I find all waist packs to trap heat/sweat and this one is no exception. I... Read More am concerned about the durability of the mesh as - The offset buckle was a great idea so that it's not pinching at the stomach. - It definitely repelled the constant, light rain during use. I personally think it's more of a long day / all-day pack as it it pretty big (8L). Can't wait to use it on my next hike and MTB ride! For reference, I am 5'10" F, 160 lb, pear-shaped.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches