Back to Product

Patagonia Nine Trails Hiking Backpack 36L

Write Your Review

4.5 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 10 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Nine Trails Hiking Backpack 36L

4.5
True To Size
June 21, 2020

Great Bag!!

Love this bag! Fits and works great.

June 17, 2020

Great Bag!!

Love this bag! Fits and works great.

March 19, 2020

Just what I needed

I originally bought the Nine Trails W 26L for my first backpacking trip. Just a short two night trip so I figured I wouldnt need anything bigger. Then the 35L went on sale so I decided to just exchange because I would be saving a good amount of money for a much bigger bag, and boy was I happy I did that. The 35L fit so much stuff! I was able to fit... Read More my sleeping bag on the inside of my pack, and it took up about 1/4 of the space, then I filled It up with everything else. I saw complaints about water bottles not fitting in the pockets, but I put My 18 oz yeti in first, then filled my pack and that worked just fine. Was even able to put it back in after taking it out of the pocket while hiking. I used the top pocket part of the bag, to put all my snacks in, and when hiking during the day I detached That part and put it inside of my pack. I loved This bag and give it a 10/10. I also made my fiancé return his pack and buy this one. Its an amazing price when you get it on sale!

August 16, 2019

Larger than Expected

I love the off center zip on the front and the detachable brain for the bag. I would say it’s bigger than I expected, I could probably fit a whole weeks worth of gear versus just wanting a weekend pack.

February 20, 2019

Great Long Day pack

I haven't tried the pack for an overnight yet, but I used it for a full day hiking around the Na Pali coast area in Kauai. It's my first pack with a firm back and I loved it. I'm 5'7, and the S fits great. This is my first firm backed pack and it was really supportive, and I love the waist pockets as well. I wasn't full on ... Read Morepacked, only carrying a 2.5L bladder, jacket, food, first aid kit, and a few camping basics. But I felt the support - massive difference to any other pack I've had as far as casual hiking goes.

January 17, 2019

This pack is a beast

I don't get any neck rub that was mentioned in others reviews and I am a fit build at 5'7" tall with the size S/M. This pack is a little stealth, but it is a monster in disguise. This is for serious packing, the back lining is nice which has a nice separation from you and the bag, and the waist strap hugs you comfortably. Looks like ... Read Morethe back lining can be removed through a zipper, but I won't try for now. Fine ingenuity from years of experience, keep em coming Patagonia.

October 22, 2018

Great Bag

This bag is much larger than 36 liters. I have the small/medium bag, and can fit everything I put in my 68 liter backpacking pack in the Nine Trails pack. It's very comfortable, and can be adjusted in multiple ways. The top pouch can be removed in order to make the bag smaller for lighter days on the trail, and has two draw cords to make even ... Read Moresmaller if necessary. I absolutely love this bag, as it is a great day pack, Ultralight overnight pack, and travel pack. Patagonia has made one of the best all around bags on the market. My only qualm is the sizing. It tends to run big, and if you have a smaller torso, I'd suggest getting a small/medium pack (Bought the larger at first, then sent back for the small/medium).

September 17, 2018

Hard and uncomfortable suspension system

I loved the look of 28L and the quality of the materials. To my eyes it really look perfect and size and materials were top notch. Unfortunately I could not bear the uncomfortable suspension system. Such a design only suits for a casual backpack not anything for this size. It was super uncomfortable for 28l, and i can guarantee it’s even more uncom... Read Morefortable for 36l. Perhaps ok for casual use but for extended use this backpack is literally painful to use. Compared to any modern backpacks with proper suspension system, this isn’t even a suspension system -just a slap of hard plastic board with a very thin cushion. Carrying this to a hike is a joke. Don’t believe me? Pack it up and do a hiking. The pack will survive it, but your back won’t. It really is uncomfortable. What a shame.

September 14, 2018

Awesome Pack !

This is an awesome pack. I used it for multiple days hiking in Japan. I loved the hydration sleeve, the wide opening and long zipper to get things from the main compartment, the side pockets and the stretchy outside pocket. I do wish it had an easier-to-access map pocket to access while wearing the pack. But overall, this was a great pack for carry... Read Moreing my hydration bag, my laptop, a few days supplies and other essentials. Love this pack!

May 16, 2018

I almost loved this pack

I was super psyched to see this pack design'light and streamlined'and couldn't wait to take it out. Most packs seem to be over designed these days - way to many of a lot of stuff that isn't necessary. But this one fit my needs just perfectly. Or so it seemed until I packed it for its first trip. I prefer to use bottles when I an... Read Moreticipate my pack will be full. If I put use a bladder and put it in the bladder pouch inside the pack,its tough to get out when I need to refill it. So I use bottles and put them on the sides of the pack for easy access. But once I put everything into the body of the pack,I couldn't get any size bottle into the side pouches! The problem is that the stretchy outside compartments aren't quite stretchy enough. In fact they didn't even stretch enough to get a very small water bottle in. Even if I had decided to use a bladder inside the pack,I wouldn't be able to fit much in these side pouches with a full pack. They would become fairly useless. I'm super bummed about this! I really wanted this pack to work for me. But I will likely send it back. If the outside compartments were made with more stretchy material,enough to expand to insert items when the pack is full,I'm pretty sure I would have loved this pack!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches