Back to Product

Patagonia Nine Trails Hiking Backpack 36L

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 18 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Nine Trails Hiking Backpack 36L

4.4/5
True To Size
December 16, 2020

Awesome pack!

Awesome pack, good for hiking or travel. Packed for a few day travel trip, carried everything I needed plus some.

November 7, 2020

All around pack

I initially picked up this pack for backpacking but found that it held my climbing gear very well so now Im just taking it to all my climbing spots and it works really well.

September 14, 2020

Great Medium Size Pack

Got this Pack right before a trip to Glacier National Park. I loaded it up and carried it over 30 miles in three days. Still looks new. I stuffed all my gear and had room left for a day hike. I carried all the food, water, coats, towels on the family hike. 5 people. Sits just like a pack should. The reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is i have not f... Read Moreound perfect pack yet. I want more loops to hang stuff on back. The inside top expands to hold more but is in the way a bit if pack is light. I will be using this pack for all my weekends although. It felt very nice on the back.

September 13, 2020

Great Backpack

You can never go wrong with any Of Patagonia's products.

September 11, 2020

Great fit, sick color!

Just got back from a 2 night hike. This bag is perfect for it. Super light, the top pocket is massive and perfect for storage of the most needed items. The stretchy open pocket fits a ton too. Also its extremely comfortable, and really modular. Fit my hammock, sleeping pad, blanket, jacket, food, jetboil, water reservoir, and clothes all within the... Read More bag. Cannot recommend it enough. The bag just makes me want to go out more.

August 23, 2020

Fatal flaw ruined my clothes!

This backpack is great for a lot of reasons, but I had to return it because the fancy mesh back (that works well to reduce sweat on your back) completely shredded my shirt and my rain jacket. It was the first time I'd ever worn the shirt, and the jacket was in great condition before my first hike with this bag. After ten miles, both will need ... Read Moreto be replaced now. If you decide to take a chance on this bag, try it with some old clothes, first!

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share what happened with your pack. We've reached out privately to address your concerns.

August 12, 2020

It's definitely bigger

Normally I don't write reviews however this bag doesn't have many around. It's bigger than 36l. Which is good. You can make it 36L or really stuff it NOLS style and probably get waayyy more out of it. I'm excited to use this during the rest of the summer then see how much I can cram in it for winter. This could be my only bag. I... Read Moret has everything I would need. Stretchy pockets. A zipper down the side. It's spacious. It does lack trekking/ice axe loops. That's really the only difference I'll have to adjust to. I haven't used it yet(it just came) but I did stuff a fleece jacket in the bottom, two tents(2p and a 3p), and poles. There's still plenty of room. I also stuffed an r3 fleece in the top cover pocket with my navigation bag. Both fit fine. Rain pants and rain jacket fit in the front stretch pocket with at least half of it left over. There are places to shove things everywhere. It's fantastic. If you're looking for something that's simple and does what it's supposed to do. This is probably your pack. The hip pads kind of dig into my hips. I have love handles so that may not happen to everyone. Things may change using it outside. Over all I love it.

July 22, 2020

Amazing Pack

I struggle to find packs that fit. While others have noted it might run big, if you have a larger torso like me, the pack is ideal. Used it for multiple days of hiking around New Zealand including some overnights. It's light weight but supportive. As other's have said, this pack holds way more than expected with it's ability to expan... Read Mored but it can also go lean when not packed full. Also, it makes for a great travel pack if you don't over stuff. While I agree the side pockets are a bit tight, I had no trouble with tall/narrow bottles - and it fits reservoirs great. The design is simple and functional avoiding all the unnecessary widgets so many manufacturers try to sell you on. Amazing pack you should definitely check out for yourself if you're in the market.

June 21, 2020

Great Bag!!

Love this bag! Fits and works great.

June 17, 2020

Great Bag!!

Love this bag! Fits and works great.

March 19, 2020

Just what I needed

I originally bought the Nine Trails W 26L for my first backpacking trip. Just a short two night trip so I figured I wouldnt need anything bigger. Then the 35L went on sale so I decided to just exchange because I would be saving a good amount of money for a much bigger bag, and boy was I happy I did that. The 35L fit so much stuff! I was able to fit... Read More my sleeping bag on the inside of my pack, and it took up about 1/4 of the space, then I filled It up with everything else. I saw complaints about water bottles not fitting in the pockets, but I put My 18 oz yeti in first, then filled my pack and that worked just fine. Was even able to put it back in after taking it out of the pocket while hiking. I used the top pocket part of the bag, to put all my snacks in, and when hiking during the day I detached That part and put it inside of my pack. I loved This bag and give it a 10/10. I also made my fiancé return his pack and buy this one. Its an amazing price when you get it on sale!

August 16, 2019

Larger than Expected

I love the off center zip on the front and the detachable brain for the bag. I would say it’s bigger than I expected, I could probably fit a whole weeks worth of gear versus just wanting a weekend pack.

February 20, 2019

Great Long Day pack

I haven't tried the pack for an overnight yet, but I used it for a full day hiking around the Na Pali coast area in Kauai. It's my first pack with a firm back and I loved it. I'm 5'7, and the S fits great. This is my first firm backed pack and it was really supportive, and I love the waist pockets as well. I wasn't full on ... Read Morepacked, only carrying a 2.5L bladder, jacket, food, first aid kit, and a few camping basics. But I felt the support - massive difference to any other pack I've had as far as casual hiking goes.

January 17, 2019

This pack is a beast

I don't get any neck rub that was mentioned in others reviews and I am a fit build at 5'7" tall with the size S/M. This pack is a little stealth, but it is a monster in disguise. This is for serious packing, the back lining is nice which has a nice separation from you and the bag, and the waist strap hugs you comfortably. Looks like ... Read Morethe back lining can be removed through a zipper, but I won't try for now. Fine ingenuity from years of experience, keep em coming Patagonia.

October 22, 2018

Great Bag

This bag is much larger than 36 liters. I have the small/medium bag, and can fit everything I put in my 68 liter backpacking pack in the Nine Trails pack. It's very comfortable, and can be adjusted in multiple ways. The top pouch can be removed in order to make the bag smaller for lighter days on the trail, and has two draw cords to make even ... Read Moresmaller if necessary. I absolutely love this bag, as it is a great day pack, Ultralight overnight pack, and travel pack. Patagonia has made one of the best all around bags on the market. My only qualm is the sizing. It tends to run big, and if you have a smaller torso, I'd suggest getting a small/medium pack (Bought the larger at first, then sent back for the small/medium).

September 17, 2018

Hard and uncomfortable suspension system

I loved the look of 28L and the quality of the materials. To my eyes it really look perfect and size and materials were top notch. Unfortunately I could not bear the uncomfortable suspension system. Such a design only suits for a casual backpack not anything for this size. It was super uncomfortable for 28l, and i can guarantee it’s even more uncom... Read Morefortable for 36l. Perhaps ok for casual use but for extended use this backpack is literally painful to use. Compared to any modern backpacks with proper suspension system, this isn’t even a suspension system -just a slap of hard plastic board with a very thin cushion. Carrying this to a hike is a joke. Don’t believe me? Pack it up and do a hiking. The pack will survive it, but your back won’t. It really is uncomfortable. What a shame.

September 14, 2018

Awesome Pack !

This is an awesome pack. I used it for multiple days hiking in Japan. I loved the hydration sleeve, the wide opening and long zipper to get things from the main compartment, the side pockets and the stretchy outside pocket. I do wish it had an easier-to-access map pocket to access while wearing the pack. But overall, this was a great pack for carry... Read Moreing my hydration bag, my laptop, a few days supplies and other essentials. Love this pack!

May 16, 2018

I almost loved this pack

I was super psyched to see this pack design'light and streamlined'and couldn't wait to take it out. Most packs seem to be over designed these days - way to many of a lot of stuff that isn't necessary. But this one fit my needs just perfectly. Or so it seemed until I packed it for its first trip. I prefer to use bottles when I an... Read Moreticipate my pack will be full. If I put use a bladder and put it in the bladder pouch inside the pack,its tough to get out when I need to refill it. So I use bottles and put them on the sides of the pack for easy access. But once I put everything into the body of the pack,I couldn't get any size bottle into the side pouches! The problem is that the stretchy outside compartments aren't quite stretchy enough. In fact they didn't even stretch enough to get a very small water bottle in. Even if I had decided to use a bladder inside the pack,I wouldn't be able to fit much in these side pouches with a full pack. They would become fairly useless. I'm super bummed about this! I really wanted this pack to work for me. But I will likely send it back. If the outside compartments were made with more stretchy material,enough to expand to insert items when the pack is full,I'm pretty sure I would have loved this pack!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches