Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Nine Trails Hiking Backpack 26L

Write Your Review

4.33 /5

Filter Reviews

All 21 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Nine Trails Hiking Backpack 26L

4.33
True To Size
September 17, 2020

Excited to use

Bought for hiking. Have used once. Very evenly distributed carry.

September 16, 2020

Great fit

I usually carry a daypack, but this has much better support.

September 16, 2020

Near perfect daypack for carrying the 10 essentials!

If you ar serious about day hiking with the 10 essentials, which means a real first aid kit, you are going to need the 26L to accommodate lunch, some extra clothes and food, and plenty of water for a day outside. Love the opening on this bag, the color, and the fit and finish. Th only two things I wish they'd improve: 1. Slightly larger/stretc... Read Morehier side pockets for Nalgene water bottles; 2. Provide a hydration tube clip on BOTH sides (I'm left handed and prefer it on the left, but can't because no clip). You won't be disappointed in this bag overall though.

September 12, 2020

Superb quality

Best pack Ive ever owned. Material is durable and lightweight. I have the orange and its absolutely stunning. My back feels nothing so the support is great! Im 56 120 LBS and ordered the smaller version. I recommend it. My son researched packs for me and pointed to this one. I also would tell all readers to purchase this also!

August 31, 2020

Great all-around backpack

I bought the S/M at the beginning of the year (I'm 4'11" and 98lbs). Its first outing was on a 4-day trip to Hawaii for a wedding. I kept things minimal and only used the backpack as my luggage, and it was fantastic. It's been a great casual backpack for my trips to the climbing gym, as well to the crag. It's been especiall... Read Morey useful for super-light (under 10lbs) backpacking this summer. The size restricts you from packing more than you need, and the lack of bells and whistles like more pockets and straps allows for simple packing and unpacking. I took out the reinforced plastic backing, so it'll be kind of crumpled if you only have lumpy objects inside. Haven't had any problems. Simple design, great materials, highly recommend.

June 30, 2020

Solid Construction

I've used this pack for the last year where I need to hike off trail in brushy, steep, mountainous terrain and it has held up to the abuse! It is very comfortable fully and minimally packed. I need to hike quickly and I barely know I'm wearing it. It carries enough water, layers and field gear for a full day. Removing one star because it ... Read Moreis near impossible to close the waist belt pocket zippers while wearing it (I lost my bug spray that way) and the space between the top of the shoulder is very narrow but it works fine with my torso. Highly recommend this pack!

June 19, 2020

Shoulder Knots

I can honestly say I do like this pack a lot. It is organized perfectly, fits well, and I can store a days worth of gear plus my small Pomeranian into my bag lol! The zipper does NOT fall when the bag is open, which is super important when carrying a dog. The angle of the top of the bag, the zipper placement itself, and the top/side pack buckle all... Read More contribute to this. Overall - great design. My complaints have more to do with how comfortable it is. Carrying 10lbs, the bag rests easily. But as soon as I have 15lbs+, my shoulders ache severely after a few hours of hiking. I have been left with knots half the size of tennis balls on my delts after only a ten mile hike. I adjusted the straps to put most weight on my hips, but I'm still left with soreness. I believe the issue comes from the close placement of the shoulder straps at the very top of the bag (I could be wrong). So, I don't know. I want to keep the bag because it has exceeded my expectations when it comes to organization (with the surprise bonus of being able to carry my dog!!). I like the bag more than I don't. But I do not like the fact that I am left with gigantic shoulder knots after carrying only 15 pounds - it doesn't seem like the best hiking or backpacking bag to me.

October 26, 2019

sizing off

I wish there was a medium size, because the large is too large and the small is too small. It also is weirdly flat

Response from Patagonia
November 13, 2019

We're sorry to hear the fit of this pack didn't work out for you. If you were looking to return this but haven't already, just [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us so we can facilitate that process for you. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

October 22, 2019

Pretty good so far.

People are right about the straps being narrow, but with a full load, which is what I usually have, they lay well on my shoulders. That being said, come summer time when I don't have a thick jacket on, I may be complaining about chafing. Hip pockets are a little small and hard to close. Outer pocket may have permanently stretched out after stu... Read Moreffing some shoes in it. I'm still happy with her despite all that. We've gone on 10 mile city hikes without issue.

September 9, 2019

Nice Pack

I bought this pack for a international trip with the intention of packing as minimal as possible. This pack fit the bill because it had the pockets on the waist belt and could double as a daypack. I read that the straps are close and rub on some people's neck, but I haven't had this problem. I'm 5'2, petite frame. I haven't... Read More left for my trip yet, but the pack seems very sturdy. I love the smoky purple color, too!

August 12, 2019

Great travel and day pack

I've used the backpack for a few weekend trips and day hiking trips. Lots of room for everything I need and I really love the color. It's also really comfortable to wear and a good carryon (not bulky or awkward to fit in overhead bins). I haven't used it for more than an afternoon hike but it has been great for that!

August 7, 2019

Great Day Pack

I used this pack for 7 days while day hiking for a total of ~50 miles in rain and wind. The fit is great and the stowage is plenty and versatile. I was packing snacks, a rain shell, a couple base layers, camera, water, and miscellaneous small objects with no trouble. The outer stretchy pocket allows for quick stowage of objects without having to fu... Read Moress with your pack. The two side pockets hold most water bottles and have straps that you can strap in larger objects with. Holds up well in light rain but needs a cover for heavy rain. No complaints with this bag! I'm 5'4", 125lbs, small chest and bought a S/M.

March 6, 2019

Awesome bag!

Not sure if the widended the straps on the current version of this bag, but it is super comfy! I am 5'10", 145lbs and this bag is great. I purchased the l/xl version. My chest isnt the biggest out there, but i'd say average. Love the stash pock in the front and removable torso strap. Wonderful bag from a wonderful company.

October 20, 2018

Love it!

So comfy and easy to use, two side pockets are deep enough to carry water bottles.

September 17, 2018

Great pack to replace an old one

This pack has so many great features. I purchased it to upgrade an older Patagonia day pack because I wanted hip straps for more technical climbs. The hip straps are padded and comfortable and have pockets for my large cell phone and chapstick. The curve of the back is nice and doesn't sit directly on my back, keeping me dry even with several ... Read Morelayers on. The front stuff sack is nice for transitioning in and out of various layers throughout the day. Unlike other reviewers, I did not find the straps to be too close together or rub any differently than other packs I've owned. My only cautions are that the side pockets for water bottles, etc. are difficult to reach when moving as they sit behind the hip straps and even at 26L, the pack fills up quickly with just a 3L water reservoir, snacks and extra clothes (more so than my older pack that is the same size). Overall, I've done about 10 hikes with it in the past few weeks of varying length and technicality, and I would highly recommend.

July 25, 2018

Add ons

I loved how the pack felt on my back. Light and secure. Fit right on my hips taking the weight off the shoulders. Some feed back... add a couple of more pockets inside for organizing smaller items. There should be a compartment for a rain fly at the bottom of the pack and the top outside pocket should extend into the top of the pack for smaller ite... Read Morems/snacks to easily grab. The chest strap could be a little longer to pull tighter for a smaller breast size. And loop zipper pulls for an easier grip. Also the zippers on the hip pockets are difficult to close, especially while moving. With these small changes the 9 trails pack will be superior!

June 15, 2018

Comfy!

I bought this about 3 weeks ago and did my entire half dome hike in it! The trail is about 14 miles round trip (9-12 hours long). The description says the straps are narrow so I don't think this backpack deserves the 1star rating for the feature. That was actually one of my favorite things about this back pack thought because it stayed on my s... Read Morehoulders really well and I didn't have to keep adjusting it. I would suggest you not get it ,or try it on atleast ,if you have big traps.

April 19, 2018

Perfect size

I love this backpack. The outside pockets are all stretchy so I can cram a lot of gear in there and then it's roomy enough for anything else I might need on a day hike. Love the color too! I don't have any issues with the straps personally.

April 9, 2018

Straps are narrowly spaced at neck

After doing a bit of research,I tried on this pack in store and found the straps to be too close together at the top and thus rubbing against my neck. I tried on both sizes in the women's specific design and even the unisex to find the same problem. Everything else about the pack is spectacular,but unfortunately comfort is key! I hope to see a... Read Moren updated design with this in mind.

April 2, 2018

Great fit for a not so tiny woman!

I have only had this pack about two weeks,so will update based on durability later,but am impressed so far. I am 5' 3" and weigh 180 with large hips,wide shoulders and a very heavy bust so was concerned that my height/weight ratio and shape meant I would not find a great pack,but I am comfy and content with this L/XL bag even when it is s... Read Moretuffed full of 3 kiddos' (and my own) essentials! We are in Texas,so our family activities are incredibly diverse- we have stuffed it full of layers,hats and pinecones then swimsuits,towels and seashells within a week. It performed great and feels good even when heavy in the morning when all water bottles are full. I have been happy with the ability to remove sap and sand and with the ability to fit "just one more" snack or precious stuffed animal into the big pocket. My only complaint is the dreadful lack of places to hook a carabiner for muddy shoes,wet towels or an extra layer... Overall I am excited with how well it fits and the ease and comfort of being active while hauling the family gear.

March 15, 2018

Painfully Narrow Shoulder Straps Chafe Neck

Gorgeous backpack with exactly the features and details I wanted,especially the waist straps. Unfortunately,the shoulder straps are so close together it instantly made my neck muscles cramp up and the skin chafe. Ugh. I couldn't get it off fast enough and that was just trying it on after opening the box. Sending back. Too bad. For reference,I ... Read Moream 5'6",140 lbs,and ordered the S/M based on the fact that's what the 5''9" model was wearing. The M/L would have been better for my torso,though I don't know if the shoulder straps are any farther apart. I'm sorry that the item description didn't have any description of the differences between the sizes.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches