Back to Product

Patagonia Planing Tote Bag 32L

Write Your Review

4.1/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 35 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Planing Tote Bag 32L

4.1/5
True To Size
September 7, 2021

Very useful!

Gave each kid one when they went off to college to haul stuff. Would be 5 stars if there were a zipper closure and a second internal, slightly bigger pocket.

September 3, 2021

No close tote

The size and durability are great, just didn't realize the bag didn't close!!

Response from Patagonia
September 14, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Planning Tote, we are sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. Please know that you are more then welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not work out for you.

September 2, 2021

Perfect Beach Bag

Perfect for a day at the beach. Enough space for a towel, change of clothes, food, and water bottles. Outside mesh pocket is great for wet gear. Highly recommend.

September 1, 2021

Best grab-n-go bag out there!

The planning tote is a quiver killer for beach days, quick trips to the grocery store, and for stuffing the extras that wont go easily into my black hole duffel on a weekend trip. Ive used it nearly every day since I bought it. The cherry on top is the multi-use straps which provide great versatile carry options. As with almost every Patagonia prod... Read Moreuct, but probably more than you expect, this one is a must have!

August 23, 2021

Great Beach Bag

Roomy, lightweight. Clever handle -> strap arrangement makes for flexible carrying. It would be a nice improvement to see a zippered flap closure inside the bag, since the strap/handles dont allow a flap closure.

August 20, 2021

Back to the Drawing Board for this one!

Nice material, like the waterproofness of the design but the handles and straps!!! Having the straps cross the opening makes it difficult to load and unload the bag, as well as trying to carry it over the should just doesn't work as typical tote bags. As for the shoulder straps; not enough material for decent use and the bag flops open at the ... Read Moretop rather than having any means of securing it closed. Nice looking bag but functionally poor..

Response from Patagonia
August 20, 2021

Hey Mark, thanks for leaving us a review on the Planing Tote Bag. We're sorry to hear that you were not a fan of a couple of the features, and have passed your thoughts along to the design team. Feel free to send the bag back to us if you're still feeling unsatisfied. The most similar alternative option would be our [Black Hole Tote 25L](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-tote-bag-25-liters/49031.html?dwvar_49031_color=ABB&cgid=luggage-messenger-bags).

August 16, 2021

Very functional

Bought for pool/beach trips. Super functional, good color, and love that its made sustainably.

August 2, 2021

Good idea, but could be better

So far I like the tote. I've used it a handful of times now and have found a few things that could work better. I like that the straps can be used as backpack straps to cinch the bag closed. They work OK for that. Sometimes the cinch strap section is a bit difficult to loosen if it's fully tightened but these straps feel awkward as a tote... Read More strap. I think if it was a single strap that went though those points then it could be a single loop and work better for a shoulder tote. The other thing that could be improved would be the front cinch. Mine doesn't really cinch and if you have anything bulky in that pocket it just hangs open. Maybe changing this to a snap or zipper and adding a gusset for extra space would work better. It works great for wet and dry separation and although the zipper pocket is small I can at-least fit two cellphones in there to keep them from getting lost in the bag.

July 19, 2021

It really is the perfect tote

After years of using reusable grocery bags that eventually ripped open on the dock or at the beach, I bought one Planing Tote Bag, and was so impressed I quickly purchased two more. It really is the perfect tote for towels, wetsuit accessories, dive weights and gear, and all sorts of odds and ends whether we're headed to surf breaks or out o... Read Moren the boat fishing or sailing. The ability to use the straps as a functional backpack is great when carrying a surfboard or fishing rods, as is the cinch mesh outer pocket for wet gear, boat keys or other quick access items. I especially like that this tote is plenty sturdy and durable, but also compresses down out of the way when needed, unlike some other high-end tote bags. Highly reccomended for any and all water related activities, or just trips to the local grocery or farmers market.

July 12, 2021

Dope!!

Great bag to carry essentials to the beach. Flexible design allows for it to be carried by hand or worn like a backpack - love it!!

June 28, 2021

Versatile, surprisingly roomy

This bag is an excellent beach tote! The only thing that I can think of that would improve it is perhaps a wider or stiffer base so that it would stand up on its own when being loaded. Otherwise, this is an excellent tote for throwing beach stuff into including toddler toys. The straps switch between tote and backpack super fast so you can use your... Read More hands to direct your baby raccoon children towards the beach and out of the parking lot.

May 24, 2021

Great for the pool and beach, after adjusting the drawcord!

All the previous reviews pretty much sums up this bag but I just wanted to make some suggestions that made this planning bag work for me. I cinched the outer mesh pocket very tight and locked it into place with a knot. I had to fight with the drawstring real hard to get the tote to be pretty much a bucket bag instead and now it lays on my shoulder ... Read Morejust fine and when I convert it to a backpack nothing falls out of the mesh pocket. I use it primarily for hauling items from the pool and the beach. This bag is ingenious in separating the wet stuff from the dry. Gone are the days I wrap my wet stuff in tiny plastic bags. At the end of the day nothing in the bag reeks of dampness. That was the main reason for my purchase and it has definitely met it. The inside mesh compartment is great and can certainly be bigger to fit more items. I hope to see Patagonia come out with a new and improved version of this bag in the future!

May 17, 2021

Notice shoulder straps

Bought because it looked like it could be used as a shoulder bag or backpack and the wet dry areas so this was to be my new beach bag, but the straps dont really work for a shoulder bag so I will not use it much.

May 8, 2021

Workhorse Beach Bag

These bags are amazing. I use mine pretty much daily. It fits a pair of swim fins, towel, handplane and surf mat, plus some sunscreen and water. When loaded, it sits perfectly in the front basket of my beach cruiser. I really like the dimensions, of this bag... specifically the height. It's a bit taller than the traditional Black Hole totes an... Read Mored fits all my gear perfectly. The optional straps for use as a backpack are a bonus. I will say that with the carry handles being oriented differently than the Black Hole totes and most traditional totes has taken some getting use to. The exterior/separate wet pouch is great for wet trunks or rash guard on your way home. Another nifty feature is the key/phone zippered pouch inside the main compartment. All in all, I would definitely recommend this bag to anyone going to and from the beach regularly or someone who need a solid tote to carry wet/dry gear.

May 4, 2021

Large Tote but Strange Straps

Definitely a large bag, as you can see from the measurements. But, I really like the color and outer pocket. As other reviews mention, the straps are a little weird so that it can transform into a backpack, so it doesn't work quite as well as a normal tote. That being said, I still think this is a great bag and would definitely use it for beac... Read Moreh/lake trips and shorter hikes.

March 28, 2021

Lots of space

I love this bag. It's roomy, durable and I use it for so many outings.

March 28, 2021

Not the quality I expected.

The design is super cute, but the material wasn't what I was expecting for the price. It was more plastic-y and stiff than I thought it'd be. The straps for the backpack function were really flimsy and too short to wear comfortably. And the tote handles were sewn opposite to how you'd want to sling the bag on your shoulder with the s... Read Morehape of the bag. I was disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2021

Hi Adrienne, we are sorry the Planing Tote Bag didn't work out for you. This Tote was designed to hold wet gear (towel, bathing suit, etc.) - making it great for beach days. The material is a tough recycled polyester with a TPU-film laminate for wet-gear organization so that stiffness you're describing is what makes it functional. We totally hear your feedback about the shoulder straps and we've passed your feedback to our Design Team. You may want to consider trying out the [Ultralight Black Hole Tote Pack](https://www.patagonia.com/product/ultralight-black-hole-tote-pack-27-liters/48809.html?dwvar_48809_color=SKA&cgid=root), which is made from with lightweight 100% recycled nylon ripstop, is weather resistant and highly packable. It is more comfortably carried as a tote and backpack, whereas the Planing Tote wasn't intended as an all-day carrying tote bag. Check it out!

February 13, 2021

Planning tote

Great carry bag bought for my plein air painting set up

September 30, 2020

Not Practical - just get a tote and a reusable plastic bag for your wet items

I had high hopes for this beach bag as I am always carting around wet and sandy gear; but the idea of this bag is way better than the actual execution. The handles are on opposite sides of a regular tote and that is so that you can wear it as a backpack. Because of this, it is useless as a tote. It's like a tote that you cannot carry because t... Read Morehe straps are totally awkward. The compartments do not close as a tote, so unless you have so much gear that it overflows out of the bag, your bag will just be flopping wipe open.. both compartments. It is impractical for small or only a little bit of gear. When wearing as a backpack, the straps adjust to close the compartments, but it's not easy, nor convenient to retrieve the things you need or to adjust the straps. AND then you got super long straps trailing after you in the wind because they don't stay in their nifty little hideaway. It is a wonky backpack at best. I wish I would not have bought this item. It really fails in all of its neat ideas... at least in my book. I've only had it two months and I'm so frustrated by it that I'm actually considering donating it.

September 24, 2020

Versatile Bag For Errands Or The Beach

Wow! I bought this cool bag because I thought it could be carried by the handles and over the shoulder but I had no idea it had adjustable length pack straps!!! I thought the handle loops were fixed and you just sort of wriggle into it for backpack carry. Its hard to see in the pictures but the top of the has strap loops like belt loops and the str... Read Moreaps cinch the top together when you backpack carry it. Also the straps are adjustable length. The wet and dry sections of the bag are totally practical. My bag has cream colored mesh, I would recommend you get a bag with dark mesh because the first time you slip some muddy flip flops in the area the mesh will get dirty. Overall I am very pleased with this bag. Many uses for sure!

September 24, 2020

Pros and cons

The things I like: 1) Waterproof (Intend to use it to haul things to the pool in winter where it will sit by the edge of the pool while we swim since the locker rooms are currently closed). 2) Size and Colors (bought three, one for each family member) 3) Outside mesh pocket (nice for fins, googles, etc) Things to be improved: 1) The handles! What... Read More the heck. Hard to carry on a shoulder, very hard to reach in and out of bag (those handles cross over the opening of the bag, the opposite direction from most totes). May be a fatal flaw. If I could find a waterproof alternative I'd return them. Debating trying to reattach the handles with my trust sewing machine.... 2) The lack of a zipper, flap or other way to keep rain out. What good is waterproof if it's open to the elements? 3) The inside pocket is way too small. So, worth it? I think so, but I'll look for alternatives before a decision is made to keep or return. I urge Patagonia to modify this product as it really fits a niche market nicely (almost).

March 3, 2020

love the bag!

It worked great as a beach bag on my trip to Hawaii. After daily use it is filthy however. I got the lighter color stripe. Wondering if I can wash it in the washing machine?

December 20, 2019

Kinda the perfect carry-all

I got this early in the summer, and I used it for swimming and short hikes. It's a tardis-bag, tons of room but when it closes up and sits on your back, it doesn't flop around or seem that big. Then I discovered it makes a great shopping bag, so now it goes with me to the mall or festivals. Now it's winter, and it's great for to... Read Moreting big projects to my knitting group, or hauling my books around. I'm so glad I bought this, I feel like I'll be using it forever! I got the Pelican color, and it's worn great over the last six months.

November 22, 2019

Planing Tote 32L is awesome!

This tote looks small but holds a ton of stuff! Love it. It is sturdy, feels smaller sized but holds lots of stuff and is nice looking. Only downfall is I wish it had a better closure mechanism as it is perfect size for a carryon bag but when you lay it sideways on security belt your stuff will fall out. Other than that, it is an awesome bag and I ... Read Moreplan on giving it to my nieces and daughters for xmas!

September 3, 2019

I love this bag

I commute daily to work on my bike (5 mi each way) often it rains. this bag keeps everything perfectly dry! I wish it had a zipper. it tends to keep things pretty dry regardless but a zipper is always good for any bag just to keep things feeling safely inside. Its a huge bag, can carry tons of stuff but still feel appropriately backapck/tote sized.... Read More I love the strap function too.

August 12, 2019

Great Beach Bag

This bag is awesome for a day at the beach or on the boat. I can fit two towels, my two-year-old's gear, changes of clothes, sunscreen, etc. no problem. I love the backpack feature and that it closes up the main compartment when used this way. The mesh pocket keeps our few wet things from soaking the dry stuff. I have no problem carrying this ... Read Morebag on my shoulder despite the orientation of the handles. We used to carry two backpacks to the beach, now just this bag. It seems very durable and I think it'll last a lifetime. Great product Patagonia!

August 12, 2019

Good-looking, high-volume tote

I love the capacity, subdued camo color, sturdiness, and overall function of this bag. The mesh side compartment is handy for smaller items you want to be able to spot and pull out quickly, and the toggle to tighten up the opening is helpful. My only reason, really, for giving it 4/5 stars is that it would be nice to have the option of closing th... Read Moree main compartment with either a zipper, toggle tighten, or even snap. Other than that, great bag!

August 12, 2019

Great Concept & Material!

This bag is great. Well made, great concept, and good material. The only thing I would like to add is a button or snap buckle at the top of main compartment to keep the bag closed more securely.

August 11, 2019

Very handy!

Is a good size and very practical to use it as a side bag or backpack. As a backpack is not good to load it with heavy stuffs, the strips hurts the sholders a little bit because they are thin. If you have a torso little bit shorter than usual, the leight of the strips might be little bit long even all they way pull. Other than that is a great bag :... Read More)

August 10, 2019

Lots of room and storage for wet clothing

My wife’s love it, uses it for taking our kids to the pool and lake

July 18, 2019

Can’t sling it over your shoulder!

This bag was gonna be perfect for all my road trip snacks and miscellany ... but the handles - really? What tote bag these days doesn’t have handles to put over your shoulder? These handles/straps are only oriented to be carried like (I guess) a true “tote.” I dunno, If I am going to fill up 32L of stuff, I want to be able to carry it on my shoulde... Read Morer and not just in my hand. The bag would be so good otherwise!

Response from Patagonia
July 22, 2019

Thanks so much for the feedback on this. We totally see where you are coming from and appreciate the comments about those handles. If you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that bag, please feel free to do so. For [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with this, reach out to our team!

July 9, 2019

Good bag

This was a little larger than I expected, my own fault. Measure it out on the ground before ordering to be sure the size feels right. • good quality, sturdy like all Patagonia products • looks nice • very roomy Not really a problem but I wish the inside zippered pocket was larger. Since the bag is so open it’d be nice to have an interior pouc... Read Moreh for keys, wallet, phone, headphones etc. This pocket can’t hold all of the above. I may just sew a zippered pouch of my own in. Overall a good versatile bag. If I have any problems or unseen benefits I’ll update

July 8, 2019

Almost perfect

This might be the ultimate beach bag. The straps work perfectly as a normal tote or as a backpack - with a nice bonus that in backpack mode it cinches the main compartment closed, allowing you to over-stuff it - and it holds enough to get the essentials for my family of 4 to the beach and back (swimwear, change of clothes for the kids, a couple tow... Read Moreels and other odds and ends). My only nit is that I wish the inside storage compartment was sized larger to hold 2 wallets and phones (me and my wife).

March 24, 2019

Revamp It.

Nope not there yet ! I don't want camo colors to go to work in. This would be better in a liquid resistant material. I want to carry my coffee tumbler in it like all the other millions of go to work daily people. Cup holders, water resistant, bright colors like the duffle bags are. Everyone drinks coffee, or something on their commute think of... Read More us in the daily work world. More of us than the outdoors type, Lol!

March 23, 2019

Perfect go to bag!

Once agan Patagonia didn’t disappoint. This bag is perfect for any water activities. Smartest idea putting a mesh outside for wet stuff. This bag can hold a lot of things plus the coolest part is it can be use as a backpack as well. Thank you Patagonia.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches