Back to Product

Patagonia Ultralight Black Hole® Tote Pack 27L

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 105 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Ultralight Black Hole® Tote Pack 27L

4.5/5
Kinda Large
September 9, 2021

My 'purse'

This is my everyday bag. I use it for hiking, commuting to work (laptop slides right in), and for traveling too. It is the perfect all around bag. Love that it has handles and backpack straps. It is easy to clean and water resistant.

September 3, 2021

Over engineered tote bag

I like the idea of this bag, its exactly what I needed for work. It just falls short on performance. Since the bag is light weight (when it really doesn't need to be) it doesn't hold its shape, and because of the silnylon (or similar) type fabric, it just slides all over the place. When I try to place things in the bag its just a chore. A... Read Moredditionally, I am not able to use it as a backpack. Its just too small. I am a larger guy, so this could be the issue. I wish I would have just got a proper backpack now.

Response from Patagonia
September 13, 2021

Hi Mike, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment that you've experienced with the pack. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 30, 2021

So light and functional

This is one of my favorite Patagonia items I own. It is lightweight, super functional and cute. I use it for shopping, hiking, airplane rides.... so many things. I have gifted this numerous times and all the recipients rave about this bag!

August 27, 2021

Light weight and compact

I havent had a chance to use this product yet but, right out of the package it looks great. Plenty of room for day trips and beyond. Compacts down to nothing and comfortable to strap on.

August 17, 2021

Great tote

Lightweight. Packable. Versatile. The ultimate travel tote

August 16, 2021

Great dual function

I bought this to use as a flight carry on, but am also using it for other things. Love the convertible option from backpack to tote. However, I like to be able to sling backpacks over one shoulder with one strap during short bag shuttles. For some reason, this item does not work well like that. It feels out of balance and/or doesnt want to stay the... Read Morere. Ive never had that issue with other backpacks, even flimsy ones. Not sure the issue yet. Will keep using and trouble shoot. Ill just put the tote handles over my shoulder instead when not using both backpack straps.

August 15, 2021

Love this bag

This bag is so convenient and versatile. Water resistant and lightweight. Love it!

August 8, 2021

Has room for everything you need

Has room for everything you need

August 1, 2021

Very light weight pack/tote

Typical Patagonia style and quality. I just wish it was constructed with the same material as the other Black Hole duffels - heavier, waterproof material. It would also benefit from heavier material to give it more structure when partially filled. The lightweight material does allow it to be stuffed down to a smaller size, but this is not an import... Read Moreant feature to me. I am definitely keeping the bag! Might add another style that is heavier for rougher use.

July 30, 2021

Great Packable Backpack

Purchased this backpack recently as a simple, packable, functional bag to use on outings and daytrips with my family. Its perfect for my needs. I like to organize and it provides ample spots for everything I need to carry. Great job Patagonia!

July 9, 2021

Almost perfect

I just returned from a work trip that I used this backpack every day. And its almost perfect. I wish the tote handles were a few inches longer, its awkward to hold on your shoulder when its on the full side. I also wish it had a crossbody strap- I use a 40L backpack for almost all of my luggage needs and the tote straps were a little short and unco... Read Moremfortable to put over my shoulder while also wearing a pack, a longer crossbody strap would make this the perfect packable convertible bag!

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

We really appreciate this valuable and thoughtful feedback on the sizing, features and function of this bag. You may want to consider our [Ultralight Black Hole Sling](https://www.patagonia.com/product/ultralight-black-hole-sling-backpack-8-liters/49020.html). Thanks for your review, Emily!

July 8, 2021

Versatile, functional bag but not quite 5 star build

This bag is really awesome, packable, tons of storage, rad material and great for toting gear and layers around in my bike basket all summer! The bag itself is a little hard to use when it is emptier because the bottom is wide and does not have cinch straps so it just flops around without a lot of structure as a backpack.

June 30, 2021

Great tote for carrying everyday items.

I've only used the tote twice but it worked out great. We had a small trip to another town this past weekend and my wife had to go to a coffee shop to do some work via her computer. We put both our computers in the tote and it worked out great. I plan to use the tote as a backup carry on if there are any problems with size etc... during flight... Read Mores we plan to take later in the year. I also plan to use it every day for groceries and day to day shopping. It's a great add and a good replacement for a tote that I used (and wore out) after 6 yrs of day to day use.

June 29, 2021

Super practical and cool!

This bag is very practical and can be use for travel and every day. I love the color. I got the yellow one.

June 28, 2021

Best bag ever!

I love this bag! Super lightweight, holds a ton of stuff, and you can carry it as a backpack or a tote. Durability and pockets are also great. What more could you ask for?? :)

June 28, 2021

Versatile perfection

Great for hiking and the grocery store. Perfect catch all for errands or long weekends.

June 26, 2021

Greatest Tote-Pack EVER!

I love this bag, you can wear it like a backpack or carry it Tote style! Its fits a lot of stuff. I love the side stretchy pockets, perfect for my water bottles. One of the inner pockets holds my phone and keys, my tablet fits in another inner pocket thats padded! The Black Hole Tote-Pack is my go-to bag that carries everything!

June 26, 2021

Great Tote

I have been looking/waiting for this (ultralight black hole tote pack 27L my adult life. The everything tote! Good job y'all!!

June 19, 2021

My "Every Day" Bag

This bag is easy to carry and holds everything I need. I tend towards large purses and the ability to wear this as a backpack is a real plus.

June 18, 2021

So many design flaws

I really wanted to like this bag, and was so excited to get it, but I find it barely usable. The 2 water bottle holders are so large that even a 40 oz Hydraflask will fall out if you bend over or swing the bag off of your shoulder, much less a 21 oz one. The tote straps do not tuck or clip in anywhere, so they are easily tangled with the backpack s... Read Moretraps. As well, as noted by others, the weight distribution of the bag when you have something heavy on it pulls the straps up so high that the chest strap is nearly at your neck and the bag feels like it's hanging from your shoulders. So weird and so uncomfortable. Hoping I can return through where I purchased, but am really disappointed and had high hopes for this!

Response from Patagonia
June 23, 2021

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write a product review! We're so sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your Ultralight Black Hole Tote Pack. We have passed your feedback along to our Design Team who are constantly improving and revising our styles. All of our items are covered under our Ironclad Guarantee, so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it at any time.

June 16, 2021

Shoulder strap way too short

We bought 4 of the BlackHole 27L, 2 for us & 2 as gifts- while we love the idea of the bag and it is made well- the shoulder straps are entirely too short and you can barely carry it on your arm. We were hoping to take these to Europe in the winter to the Xmas markets - but no way will these go on our shoulder with a coat on. Would be a perfect... Read More 5 star if the shoulder straps were long enough to be a true tote

May 17, 2021

Lightweight and awesome colors!

I was looking for a new everyday bag and I found it! So lightweight and packs quite a bit. I also love its color. Get it!

May 16, 2021

Great Bag! I

Folds small and holds a great deal of stuff. Also, very durable and not flimsy!

April 29, 2021

Not good for grocery carrying as a backpack

Im 5 8, 170 lbs and I use this bag to walk groceries to and from home. For me, the bag hangs all weight on your shoulders and neck rather than hugging in using your body to hold the weight. Even after I tighten the shoulder straps, the chest strap laddering is so high that it pulls just below my collar bone at its lowest setting and into my neck at... Read More its highest. I think this design works best for light things, like the diapers people are mentioning, but when it comes to using it for heavier grocery backpack style carrying, Id suggest another way. Also, the bag occasionally scrapes the ground for me when I carry it in tote mode, the 27 L is mostly vertically oriented vs. a more wide tote.

Response from Patagonia
April 29, 2021

Hi Cole, we are sorry to hear that this didn't work well for what you'd hope to use it for. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back if you don't want to hang onto it. Thanks!

April 24, 2021

Holds a lot

This backpack really holds a lot and is comfortable to wear. The straps are alittle awkward to get on and the chest strap isn't comfortable even though I did move it down. It's still too high. I just don't use it and it's fine. It washed well.

April 19, 2021

Perfect bike bag

Good tote for my bike basket and I can put it on my back as well.

April 12, 2021

Fantastic Pack

Super packable, light, and comfortable. I use it as a quick stuff sack for day trips around town and I love it.

April 11, 2021

Amazing Bag, get it!

This bag is everything I was looking for. It's light, has lots of space and goes from kid activity to my own outdoor activities with ease. Very well made.

April 8, 2021

Cute, but not durable

I love the look, size, and concept of this bag, but it is just not durable at all. I've only had it for two weeks and it already has a small tear in the bottom, some sort of fabric pull/tuft on the side, and it stains incredibly easily (side note - would love to know the wash instructions for this?? Maybe it's fixable). It rubbed against ... Read Morea plastic bag and some ink came off on it, and I can't get it out. There's also unknown stains where it lies against my back. All I do is wear it to work and around town... I haven't been on a rugged backpacking trip or anything. And I don't really stuff it or put super heavy things in it. So far it is still functional! And I can confirm it's fairly water proof, which impressed me. But I worry that it really won't last me very long at all, and the staining thing is really a bummer. I loved the light blue so much, but I guess there was a reason it was on sale! I would suggest a darker color if you buy it. Also - what on earth are the clips inside the bag for? Not a problem, but they do sometimes get in the way and I've no clue how they would be useful. Might cut them off if I continue using the bag.

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2021

Hi Amy, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the bag ripped after two weeks and that it has stained in a few places. We definitely expect better quality out of our gear so we'd consider this a warranty issue. We've reached out to you directly with further assistance.

March 21, 2021

Perfect for a gym bag

I got this bag because I needed something slim for the gym lockers, which are narrow. I had been stuffing a duffel into the locker and wasn't too keen on keeping that up. This bag fit perfectly, and I love that it's also a backpack so I can easily carry it home while cycling.

March 11, 2021

Very versatile and useful

It's light and has many useful pockets and buckles and zips and scrunchies. Perfect for day to day carrying needs. Considering using also as a diaper bag for anyone with a newborn.

March 9, 2021

Tote Bag

It is great - very light weight, and hold a lot. Folds up small when not using it. Perfect for day hikes.

March 9, 2021

Super functional

This bag is amazing. I love how it has a lot of pockets, & I especially like the stretchy side pockets because they are so deep. I use the strap pouch to store my iPad & notebooks because the padding works well to protect larger electronics.

March 7, 2021

Tote Pack 27 liters

Love this bag. Use it to carry swim stuff to the pool. It holds a lot of gear.

February 26, 2021

Handy spare

Great utility bag for work- love the option to pack it away into its own pocket when not need -so far so good!

February 17, 2021

Great for the beach

We use this all the time, its a great size and packs down so I can take it anywhere.

January 23, 2021

Every day all year

I've been using these for years, every day, as a shopping bag, purse, hiking backpack, on the ski slopes, and back and forth to work. (My friends all do too, now). It's not a fashion bag but it sure is unbeatable for function. They seem light and a little flimsy but never seem to wear out. Keep the pockets as they are, please Patagonia-- ... Read Morethere was a year the front pocket was vertical and I kept losing stuff out of it! The big side pockets are good now too, enough for a medium water bottle or a hat/gloves (or the ubiquitous hand sanitizer and extra mask).

January 7, 2021

Scrapes the ground if you're not tall

I'm well within the standard range of heights for women (5'2"), and am sad to find that this bag doesn't work for my height. If you have anything in the bag, say an apple, it bulges out at the bottom and the bag easily scrapes the ground if you try to hold it like a normal tote. I cut out a piece of cardboard to reinforce the bo... Read Morettom, and it helps but it still scrapes. I'm always conscious of how high I'm holding it above the ground and that makes it a high-maintenence bag. I literally give it to my boyfriend to hold, not because it's too heavy for me, but because he can hold it without needing to crook his elbow. I haven't had this issue with any other totes. They need to take an inch off the bottom and take a bit of a hit to the capacity. The straps are just the right length to where I can wear the bag over my shoulder with a coat on, but couldn't be shortened any more. They should test this out on more women. Otherwise, it would be such a great and handy bag. So sad -- and now I can't return because there's scrapes on the bottom.

Response from Patagonia
February 11, 2021

Hi Emma! Thank you for your review. We're so sorry the tote pack didn't work out. All our items are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee. Please [contact](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) us and we'd be happy to work with you!

January 5, 2021

Almost perfect

I love that this is so lightweight and comfortable as both a tote and backpack. I love that it has two water bottle side pockets, but wish you could cinch them (I actually used string to tighten them so bottles won't fall out). For me, it's a little TOO big I tend to pack it more than I need to, and I use this everyday for basics for me &... Read Moreamp; my toddler and in my opinion the material is NOT actually waterproof, so I need to carry a cover inside in case I get caught in the rain. Patagonia, if you made a 16L version with slightly more resilient material and cinched side pockets, I will sell them for you!

January 2, 2021

was a requested gift

Perfect! not sure she will ever be able to get it back in stuff bag though!

January 1, 2021

My diaper bag

I ordered this bag pack as a diaper bag. (It came very next day!) its well made and very minimal packaging which I adore. One thing I noticed was that I put the backpack, the shoulder straps get extended unintentionally easily and need to adjust every time I wear this. I shoulder strap stay on same length a bit more. Overall, its very stylish and l... Read Moreight, I love carrying this!

December 24, 2020

Needs a crossbody strap

This bag would be perfect if it also had a crossbody removable strap. Please add one.

December 23, 2020

Great, versatile bag

This is my 4th of the same bag because I love it and use them to death. This time, Patagonia gave me return credit for my previous work out one (thanks on behalf of myself and the environment!) so I bought another. This updated version is a bit smaller which I like, and more compressible at the top with the new cinch cord. I love that the tote hand... Read Moreles are long enough to use it as a shoulder bag this is really hard to find on backpack totes. Its waterproof, lightweight and very comfortable. My only complaint is that I wish there was a way to give it more structure so it doesnt collapse when put down. I use a plastic school folder in the back panel pocket to give it some added shape, but I would like if it had more. Overall, a great bag.

December 18, 2020

Light, but strong. Roomy

Bought this lightweight tote to run errands to supermarket and pharmacy. Carry it rolled up in my pocket to the store, and as a backpack on the way home. Extremely convenient.

November 20, 2020

Perfect in all ways but one:)

The backpack is the perfect weight, size and has a bunch of pocket to keep everything you need:) my only frustration is the straps that turn it into a tote do not allow you to where it over your shoulder.

November 14, 2020

Hasnt lasted a year.

I purchased this in February and have used it every single day since it arrived. Its my purse, grocery tote, computer bag, diaper bag, etc. Sort of bummed, there is a hole already in the bottom. Itll be an easy repair and I definitely get my use out of the tote but still surprised it hasnt lasted longer.

September 17, 2020

Love it

My friend has one she has had for years and I gave in and bought one. It is magical. Packs down small and fits so much stuff. Also the ability to just use it as a backpack so i can free up my hands makes it perfect for every situation from the farmers market to busy airports

September 17, 2020

Great little tote

I use tote bags just about every day to haul running/biking clothes, lunch, shoes, etc. to and from work. I wanted something a little more structured and stumbled upon this tote. I really like it so far! I use it more with the backpack straps than the tote straps, so I actually tucked one of the tote straps away where the backpack straps go to get ... Read Moreit out of the way. You have to really stuff it to make it look as full as the product photo, but it's not uncomfortable with just a few things in it. So far I've stuffed several changes of clothes, a pack towel, pair of shoes, toiletries bag, and a few more things all at once, and it fits great. A standard clipboard or 8ishx11ish planner actually slides into the backpack straps pocket perfectly if you want to give yourself a "rigid" frame. It is a little floppy, and if it had just a little more structure (like standing up on its own), it'd be 5 stars for sure. (But it is supposed to be ultralight.) Otherwise, I think it's great!!! I love the red color.

September 12, 2020

Excellent tote

This is a great tote to carry around anything needed. It is used going to and from work, when I am headed to run errands, or out for the night. Durable and dependable tote.

September 10, 2020

My First Patagonia

The tote pack, which I wanted for the sole purpose of carrying groceries home from a nearby store, arrived quickly and safely. Excellent style, color and sturdiness. For my taste, however, there are too many flimsy straps, flaps and strings that I have to continually re-orient or move out of the way to either gain access from the top, close a pouch... Read More's zipper, or close up the tote when groceries are loaded and I am heading home. I just wanted to open the top of the bucket, drop things in and then close it quickly to be on my way. Certainly not a deal breaker though. Maybe you have an in-town grocery-hauling tote and I didn't see it. Otherwise, I'm happy with my first Patagonia.

September 8, 2020

Water Color Class Bag Perfect!

Taking a water Color class and needed a bag with lots of room; pockets; durability and easy to carry, Great color! Will find many uses for it!

September 3, 2020

Well-made.

After six years of almost daily use as a beach bag, it still looks new. The fabric is well-made and strong, and the zipper has held up well. I like how I can tuck the backpack straps back when I want to use it as a sling.

August 16, 2020

Everyday, everywhere bag

This bag is so versatile. I love how you can tuck the backpack straps into the side of the bag when you want to use it as a tote. It has plenty of zippers, pockets, etc. Im going to use this bag for travel and anytime I need to carry some extra items with me

August 14, 2020

Perfect Tote

I absolutely love this bag! Its perfect for everyday use, travel, short hikes, beach/pool. I love that you can put the backpack straps away if you just want to use it as a tote. It has a zipper pocket on the outside and inside. I love this bag!

July 25, 2020

Great for travel and around town.

I purchased this from a local store in Michigan. I LOVE this tote/backpack. (I always use it as a backpack.). I travel with students to Guatemala, and other day packs are just too heavy. (I own two others by other manufacturers and just dont use them because I like this so much better..) This is super light weight, yet the fabric and stitching are ... Read Moresturdy. it holds a lot for airline travel, day trips, and hiking coffee fields or wherever I travel. ! I love the way the two side pockets are large enough for Insulated bottles for beverages. (Sometimes I carry water on one side and tea or coffee on the other.). The elasticized netting holds the bottleS well. Often the pockets on day packs or backpacks are not sufficiently large to hold my 12 ounce containers. . Additionally, (pre-Covid) I have used it around town to carry a lunch, IPad, headphones, books, and other miscellaneous items around town or even to the beach.

June 30, 2020

Serves Its Purpose

I bought this bag to replace an older generic bag that finally blew a seam. We are retired and fish three to four days a week. She uses the bag to load her water, rain jacket, and snack and transport these items from the truck to the boat. She says that the bag is the perfect size for what she uses it for. She has used it for several weeks now and ... Read Moreexpects to get many years of use from the bag.

June 27, 2020

Comfortable to wear

I use this bag for groceries, hiking, atv riding. Love it!

June 26, 2020

Awesome Bag

I now have two of these bags. Its amazing how much I can get in them. I use one as the snack/gear bag for my toddler and the other for work/flying. I totally recommend this bag.

April 18, 2020

Much preferred the 22L Lightweight Travel Tote Backpack (previous version) design

Not quite perfect! I had to return as the shape just did not hold up as well as the previous tote backpack. I do love the new color schemes and the drawstring cord at the top of the bag to cinch. However, the compression straps within at the top of the pack didnt do much for me, and I prefer the compression straps on the outside, next to the the wa... Read Moreter bottle pockets to secure larger water bottles from falling out with a carabiner. The previous version also had a nice hip strap and the side pocket with slots at the bottom where straps could be tucked and stowed without dangling about. I hope the next version will incorporate both designs as I LOVE lightweight bags that transform!

March 5, 2020

Perfect Versatile Bag

At first, I was hesitant on purchasing this bag because of some reviews I saw on the older design about how it breaks easily. I've been using it for months now and have carried the heaviest loads. It's easily one of my favourite bags for on the go, school, work, grocery shopping. It's super light and you can pack it all into a small ... Read Morepouch. Lots of space, great side pockets for water bottles that are high, inner pocket is big and the other pocket fits everything you need for convenience.

January 23, 2020

Great for travel

I love this bag. I used this as my carry-on on a recent trip to Japan. Perfect size to store under the seat. While touring the city, I used the backpack while trekking around the city and used it as a tote to carry my goods. The only thing that would be nice is a trolley strap. Add this and I'd buy another one in a snap.

January 11, 2020

Poorly designed backpack buckles

Appeared to be a great lightweight pack (handles a bit short to function well as an over the shoulder tote and just long enough to threaten grazing the pavement) until my first trip through TSA when the buckle separated, effectively transforming it to a sling pack. Bad timing! Reconnecting the buckle, I realized this is part of the stowaway design.... Read More Future uses required me to be more skillful when adjusting strap length. Once again, I’m at the airport reattaching the buckle for the fourth time. Apparently the straps malfunction easily when the pack is full. I will be returning this item.

January 2, 2020

So clever

This pack is so thoughtfully designed with pockets and places to tuck straps in all the right places. It will work beautifully for a trip to the farmer's market, a shopping trip, a beach picnic or a hike. It tucks into a tidy package to make it handy and lightweight. The only improvement I would suggest is a pocket to tuck the "bag-mode&... Read Morequot; straps into when you are using it in "backpack-mode." Otherwise the straps flap around. Not really a problem, but since it is so well-designed, this seems like an oversight.

January 2, 2020

Great versatile bag!

Lightweight, packable, versatile, cool color (blue)

January 2, 2020

perfect do-it-all bag

perfect do-it-all bag

December 30, 2019

the anything bag

this tote is the most versatile bag out there. i got the peppergrass green color, and have found this to be my everyday bag. it stuffs into its own pocket for packing away. you can use it as a carry-on/personal item for flights, tote/backpack, gym bag, options are endless. it’s ultralight for sure but they didn’t sacrifice quality for weight. i c... Read Morean totally see this lasting years like all Patagonia products. i have currently been using this mostly for ultralight hiking, bike touring, and traveling. pick one up, you can’t go wrong.

December 30, 2019

Great, durable bag

Great, durable bag

December 28, 2019

Good for planes & tourist buses/micro vans

Ideal for window and middle seats. May try to slide away on an aisle seat if the seat has no railing on the aisle side due to the smooth finish fabric with silicon face. Close to the limit as an under seat “personal item” but way below permissible size for overhead. Due to the thin 70d fabric it’s better for careful use than roughhousing, but if yo... Read Moreu use common sense it’s really a useful part of a fast ‘n’ light kit. I can definitely set it up as a go-bag but have to work around the lack of laptop and tablet slots. On the other hand the Patagonia day packs and larger with separate compartments for an old school 15” laptop, or with neat dual purpose slots - laptop plus separate tablet slot on the other side of the panel - don’t have the superb volume to weight ratio of this tote/pack, won’t stuff into a pouch, and cost more.

December 23, 2019

Exceptional item love texture and

Exceptional item love texture and color!

December 9, 2019

not well designed

I was disappointed, having bought much better designed blackhole gear. Biggest problem was that the pack-tote is so designed that you cannot really put the straps under any cover. Bottom line, it is basically just a not very good pack with oversized top handles. Does not work well to use it as tote bag with the pack straps trailing out the side.

December 4, 2019

It’s great versatility

It’s great versatility

December 3, 2019

Patagonia Ultralight Black Hole® Tote Pack 27L

I was disappointed in this backpack. The previous versions were much better in terms of design, size and material. The quality isn’t nearly as good. I’ve had two of these in the past. Would love to see the older version reintroduced.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2019

Hi YB, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the pack. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 3, 2019

Baller Diaper Bag

The wife and I are pregnant. I bought this to use as our diaper bag. We tested it last weekend on a road trip carrying all our food/snack/drinks and wind shells. It was awesome. Happy to have this as our go to diaper bag for our newest family member, especially seeing how I will most likely be the one carrying it.

November 25, 2019

Ultralight Black Hole Tote Pack

The backpack is absolutely perfect for my needs. I love that you can hide the backpack straps inside the bag.

November 24, 2019

Ultralight Back Pack

This replaced an earlier version that I purchased over 10 years ago. Hadn't seen it available on the website until recently, so I'm thrilled to be able to purchase a newer model. Like the fact that it's portable.

November 23, 2019

Black Hole Tote

I love the Black Hole Tote. Finally, my search for the perfect pocket configuration has ended! I also like that the main pocket zips for added security and am impressed that it is as comfortable a backpack as over the shoulder.

November 22, 2019

Love it.

I use it for photo equipment taking wildlife photos. There is a lot of room and extra pockets for anything you might need. It has a chest strap and I wanted that even in a light bag. I barely know I’m wearing it.

November 22, 2019

Great size and quality

I love this bag more than i thought i would. It is the perfect size, not too big or large, and fits my needs

November 19, 2019

Best convertible bag ever

I used this bag for the first time on a recent trip to Egypt. I threw this bag in my suitcase at the last minute and I'm so glad I did!!! The bag is lightweight and is easily convertible. I used it throughout the trip as both a tote bag and a backpack. With one interior zip pocket, one exterior zip pocket and 2 expandable side pockets, it was ... Read Moreeasy to find small items/easy to access items while placing/finding larger items in the bag portion. This is my new "go to" travel bag!!!

November 17, 2019

I use this tote bag

I use this tote bag for work. I can fit my regular size purse and everything else I need for work into it. You can carry it as a tote or backpack. The tote straps are long enough to also carry over your shoulder if it’s not too full. The backpack straps tuck into the side pocket so when not in use they are out of the way.

November 16, 2019

Broke within months

I loved this versatile bag at first. I was able to use it as a day bag but also covert it to a backpack when needed. I had only been using it for a few months when the backpack mechanisms broke and completely fell apart. I am still able to use it as a shoulder bag, but it is definitely not worth the money and I am completely dissatisfied with this ... Read Morepurchase from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

We are so sorry to hear that this bag broke and we'd highly recommend you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us. It sounds like this bag has a warranty defect and we'd be happy to get you a replacement.

November 12, 2019

Versatile, durable and compact.

Versatile, durable and compact.

November 7, 2019

Loved my old one, so glad they finally made again

I’d been waiting.

October 30, 2019

Perfect!

This tote pack checked all the boxes!

October 21, 2019

Light Weight and Lovely

This pack is perfect for everyday travel.

October 17, 2019

Light weight truly lives up to Black Hole name

I recently took this bag with me on my journey to South America to explore the ancient ruins of Cusco and the Rainbow Mountain. It was very comfortable it fit all my daily gear including a rain jacket, extra sweater, hydro flask in the side pockets and still had room for souvenirs I picked up along the way. I also love how the bag converts from a t... Read Moreote to a backpack and I love the color!

October 8, 2019

Love it!

Love the quality, weight and versatility, I can wear it day or night.

October 8, 2019

Great size and function. Almost perfect

Great personal item size, fits enough for a long weekend trip with compression bags. But there’s too much padding between the laptop and the inside, adding needless bulk and the storage zipper won’t close when the backpack straps are in use. Small slots to pass the straps through would allow the zipper to close would be much more elegant. Other tha... Read Moren that, really great bag, really like it in blue.

October 7, 2019

What happened to the hip belt?

We had the previous version of this bag and LOVED it. Unfortunately we lost it, and while we'd replace it in a hearbeat, I see the new version no longer has a hip belt. I realize the hip belt didn't do much to transfer weight to your hips, but it was nice for stabilizing the pack while scrambling around or carrying a load on a longer day ... Read Morehike. It's hard for me to imagine that the lack of hip belt wouldn't eventually be really frustrating. I suppose I could mod it to add one back in?

October 7, 2019

#1 Bag

This is seriously the most versatile, all around, comfortable, fits everything bag! Super happy with this purchase 🙌

October 2, 2019

Fabulous

I love this pack, not your clumsy back pack. chic, lightweight and perfect for the artist/ writer/minimalist in me. Love the color.

October 1, 2019

I love it

It’s a very practical tote/backpack and although I haven’t used it for long, I get the feeling it’s durable and strong. So I hope I get to use this for years to come!

September 24, 2019

Essential

Super functional bag, very well made, light weight, stylish and practical. Holds a ton of stuff which can be organized in multiple sections with easy access. I especially like that it can be used as back pack for light treks or tuck straps in for use as a tote for shopping or travel; even folds up into itself. Definitely a worthwhile purchase.

September 21, 2019

My new favorite bag

I love this bag! Originally I got this to carry our family’s things when we go our for the day but I’ve now stared carrying to work also. It fits my laptop, lunch, book, etc and it’s not heavy!

September 20, 2019

Black hole Tote Pack

Excellent item especially for domestic flights. Very clever design

September 18, 2019

Simple, functional and thoughtfully designed!

Need a tote? Check. Need a lightweight backpack? Done. Will it hold groceries, books, binders, training/crag/peakbag/surf/paddle gear, dog stuff, and waterbottles securely? Gotcha. Waterbottle pockets are tall and securely hold (2) 34 oz wide mouths. No falling out when moving around. When used as a tote, use the zipper, hide the harness (slick des... Read Moreign!). Used as a lightweight pack, deploy the harness and belt, tuck the tote handles inside the main compartment, and pull the drawstring and it holds securely. There's a thin internal framelike piece on the back which adds structure and reduces sag, but this tote-pack doesn't droop or fold in half like others on the market - holds its shape. Our favorite, all-in-one daily tote pack! Dad even loves the neutral color palette. Simply functional design, Patagonia and well thought out.

September 11, 2019

Ultralight Black Hole Tote Pack 27L

Just used this tote for a trip to Mexico. It was lightweight, held a lot more than I expected and versatile. I packed it with my laptop, numerous magazines, snacks and water container. It easily held all items plus some other essentials. The handles and the backpack straps were great options and I used both. My only annoyance was the string for the... Read More tightning strap for the largest pocket, kept getting hooked on random things when ever I was trying to go in and out of that pocket. Other than that, it turned out to be a great product. I would purchase it again!

September 10, 2019

A few problems

I was looking for an under-seat carry on companion for my MLC, and this seemed appropriate. I returned it for three reasons. First, the lightweight material seems too flimsy for a bag this size. I was fighting the bag with one hand while trying to put something in with the other. The bag always seemed to be in the way. Unlike a shopping bag, this ... Read Morewill not stay open while you load it. Second, the grab handles were too short to allow comfortable shoulder carry. If the straps were high enough on my shoulder to stay in place, the bag was pulling into my armpit. Third, I have packable shopping bags that pack smaller, so the stuffability was less of a plus than it was a minus. I would have kept this if 1) it was made of the heavy Black Hole fabric, 2) had D rings to allow cross-body carry, and 3) had a second exterior pocket instead of a stuffsack pocket on the inside. However, what I really would like to have is a bag with the material, design features, and construction of the Black Hole MLC bags, but in an under seat size. 14X16X7 inches would be about 25L and allow abundant packing and carrying options. I am trying to maximize my hands-free carry on volume because I am blind and travel with one hand on my cane and the other holding onto my wife. My Black Hole MLC in backpack mode is a great first step, please keep making great bags and expanding the regular weight Black Hole line!

September 9, 2019

I’m really pleased with this

I’m really pleased with this bag. It’s perfect for hauling my kids’ stuff (mine too!) around the city on foot, bike, or in the stroller. The elastic side pockets are easy to access and I can fit multiple water bottles in each. It is compressible without sacrificing too much comfort when fully loaded. And the tonal color combinations are really good... Read More.

September 1, 2019

Great pack!

This is so nice and light and very comfortable.

August 25, 2019

Fantastic and Versatile pack!

I was so impressed by how much stuff this day pack carries. Loved the zip and cinch closure alongside the TWO side pockets that can fit a water bottle and more. This pack is the best purchase I’ve made in awhile. Was great for hikes, weekend trip away and just daily runs to the store!

August 20, 2019

Bigger than expected

It's a great bag, no doubt, but I wanted it for a purse and it's much bigger (deeper) than I expected.

August 19, 2019

Perfect for light traveling

I love that this is a tote and backpack all in one. So convenient to slide into my carry on luggage and use for shopping and day excursions. Because it stores inside itself, it takes virtually no room in bag.

August 18, 2019

Perfect bag!

This bag is lightweight, durable, packable, holds a TON of stuff and I love the styling. Highly recommend for any mom on the go!

August 16, 2019

Versatile. Great for parents

I have an infant and a 5-year-old and use this to wrangle all the stuff I need for them. I can fit a lot in it, but it doesn't feel oversized and saggy when it's not full. Great versatility in strap configuration. Sometimes I just want the tote handles, sometimes I want a single backpack strap. Just enough useful pockets without getting c... Read Moreomplicated.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches