Back to Product

Patagonia Ultralight Black Hole® Tote Pack 27L

Write Your Review

4.55 /5

Filter Reviews

All 51 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Ultralight Black Hole® Tote Pack 27L

4.55
Kinda Large
July 25, 2020

Great for travel and around town.

I purchased this from a local store in Michigan. I LOVE this tote/backpack. (I always use it as a backpack.). I travel with students to Guatemala, and other day packs are just too heavy. (I own two others by other manufacturers and just dont use them because I like this so much better..) This is super light weight, yet the fabric and stitching are ... Read Moresturdy. it holds a lot for airline travel, day trips, and hiking coffee fields or wherever I travel. ! I love the way the two side pockets are large enough for Insulated bottles for beverages. (Sometimes I carry water on one side and tea or coffee on the other.). The elasticized netting holds the bottleS well. Often the pockets on day packs or backpacks are not sufficiently large to hold my 12 ounce containers. . Additionally, (pre-Covid) I have used it around town to carry a lunch, IPad, headphones, books, and other miscellaneous items around town or even to the beach.

June 30, 2020

Serves Its Purpose

I bought this bag to replace an older generic bag that finally blew a seam. We are retired and fish three to four days a week. She uses the bag to load her water, rain jacket, and snack and transport these items from the truck to the boat. She says that the bag is the perfect size for what she uses it for. She has used it for several weeks now and ... Read Moreexpects to get many years of use from the bag.

June 27, 2020

Comfortable to wear

I use this bag for groceries, hiking, atv riding. Love it!

June 26, 2020

Awesome Bag

I now have two of these bags. Its amazing how much I can get in them. I use one as the snack/gear bag for my toddler and the other for work/flying. I totally recommend this bag.

April 18, 2020

Much preferred the 22L Lightweight Travel Tote Backpack (previous version) design

Not quite perfect! I had to return as the shape just did not hold up as well as the previous tote backpack. I do love the new color schemes and the drawstring cord at the top of the bag to cinch. However, the compression straps within at the top of the pack didnt do much for me, and I prefer the compression straps on the outside, next to the the wa... Read Moreter bottle pockets to secure larger water bottles from falling out with a carabiner. The previous version also had a nice hip strap and the side pocket with slots at the bottom where straps could be tucked and stowed without dangling about. I hope the next version will incorporate both designs as I LOVE lightweight bags that transform!

March 5, 2020

Perfect Versatile Bag

At first, I was hesitant on purchasing this bag because of some reviews I saw on the older design about how it breaks easily. I've been using it for months now and have carried the heaviest loads. It's easily one of my favourite bags for on the go, school, work, grocery shopping. It's super light and you can pack it all into a small ... Read Morepouch. Lots of space, great side pockets for water bottles that are high, inner pocket is big and the other pocket fits everything you need for convenience.

January 23, 2020

Great for travel

I love this bag. I used this as my carry-on on a recent trip to Japan. Perfect size to store under the seat. While touring the city, I used the backpack while trekking around the city and used it as a tote to carry my goods. The only thing that would be nice is a trolley strap. Add this and I'd buy another one in a snap.

January 11, 2020

Poorly designed backpack buckles

Appeared to be a great lightweight pack (handles a bit short to function well as an over the shoulder tote and just long enough to threaten grazing the pavement) until my first trip through TSA when the buckle separated, effectively transforming it to a sling pack. Bad timing! Reconnecting the buckle, I realized this is part of the stowaway design.... Read More Future uses required me to be more skillful when adjusting strap length. Once again, I’m at the airport reattaching the buckle for the fourth time. Apparently the straps malfunction easily when the pack is full. I will be returning this item.

January 2, 2020

perfect do-it-all bag

perfect do-it-all bag

January 2, 2020

So clever

This pack is so thoughtfully designed with pockets and places to tuck straps in all the right places. It will work beautifully for a trip to the farmer's market, a shopping trip, a beach picnic or a hike. It tucks into a tidy package to make it handy and lightweight. The only improvement I would suggest is a pocket to tuck the "bag-mode&... Read Morequot; straps into when you are using it in "backpack-mode." Otherwise the straps flap around. Not really a problem, but since it is so well-designed, this seems like an oversight.

January 2, 2020

Great versatile bag!

Lightweight, packable, versatile, cool color (blue)

December 30, 2019

Great, durable bag

Great, durable bag

December 30, 2019

the anything bag

this tote is the most versatile bag out there. i got the peppergrass green color, and have found this to be my everyday bag. it stuffs into its own pocket for packing away. you can use it as a carry-on/personal item for flights, tote/backpack, gym bag, options are endless. it’s ultralight for sure but they didn’t sacrifice quality for weight. i c... Read Morean totally see this lasting years like all Patagonia products. i have currently been using this mostly for ultralight hiking, bike touring, and traveling. pick one up, you can’t go wrong.

December 28, 2019

Good for planes & tourist buses/micro vans

Ideal for window and middle seats. May try to slide away on an aisle seat if the seat has no railing on the aisle side due to the smooth finish fabric with silicon face. Close to the limit as an under seat “personal item” but way below permissible size for overhead. Due to the thin 70d fabric it’s better for careful use than roughhousing, but if yo... Read Moreu use common sense it’s really a useful part of a fast ‘n’ light kit. I can definitely set it up as a go-bag but have to work around the lack of laptop and tablet slots. On the other hand the Patagonia day packs and larger with separate compartments for an old school 15” laptop, or with neat dual purpose slots - laptop plus separate tablet slot on the other side of the panel - don’t have the superb volume to weight ratio of this tote/pack, won’t stuff into a pouch, and cost more.

December 23, 2019

Exceptional item love texture and

Exceptional item love texture and color!

December 9, 2019

not well designed

I was disappointed, having bought much better designed blackhole gear. Biggest problem was that the pack-tote is so designed that you cannot really put the straps under any cover. Bottom line, it is basically just a not very good pack with oversized top handles. Does not work well to use it as tote bag with the pack straps trailing out the side.

December 4, 2019

It’s great versatility

It’s great versatility

December 3, 2019

Patagonia Ultralight Black Hole® Tote Pack 27L

I was disappointed in this backpack. The previous versions were much better in terms of design, size and material. The quality isn’t nearly as good. I’ve had two of these in the past. Would love to see the older version reintroduced.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2019

Hi YB, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the pack. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 3, 2019

Baller Diaper Bag

The wife and I are pregnant. I bought this to use as our diaper bag. We tested it last weekend on a road trip carrying all our food/snack/drinks and wind shells. It was awesome. Happy to have this as our go to diaper bag for our newest family member, especially seeing how I will most likely be the one carrying it.

November 25, 2019

Ultralight Black Hole Tote Pack

The backpack is absolutely perfect for my needs. I love that you can hide the backpack straps inside the bag.

November 24, 2019

Ultralight Back Pack

This replaced an earlier version that I purchased over 10 years ago. Hadn't seen it available on the website until recently, so I'm thrilled to be able to purchase a newer model. Like the fact that it's portable.

November 23, 2019

Black Hole Tote

I love the Black Hole Tote. Finally, my search for the perfect pocket configuration has ended! I also like that the main pocket zips for added security and am impressed that it is as comfortable a backpack as over the shoulder.

November 22, 2019

Love it.

I use it for photo equipment taking wildlife photos. There is a lot of room and extra pockets for anything you might need. It has a chest strap and I wanted that even in a light bag. I barely know I’m wearing it.

November 22, 2019

Great size and quality

I love this bag more than i thought i would. It is the perfect size, not too big or large, and fits my needs

November 19, 2019

Best convertible bag ever

I used this bag for the first time on a recent trip to Egypt. I threw this bag in my suitcase at the last minute and I'm so glad I did!!! The bag is lightweight and is easily convertible. I used it throughout the trip as both a tote bag and a backpack. With one interior zip pocket, one exterior zip pocket and 2 expandable side pockets, it was ... Read Moreeasy to find small items/easy to access items while placing/finding larger items in the bag portion. This is my new "go to" travel bag!!!

November 17, 2019

I use this tote bag

I use this tote bag for work. I can fit my regular size purse and everything else I need for work into it. You can carry it as a tote or backpack. The tote straps are long enough to also carry over your shoulder if it’s not too full. The backpack straps tuck into the side pocket so when not in use they are out of the way.

November 16, 2019

Broke within months

I loved this versatile bag at first. I was able to use it as a day bag but also covert it to a backpack when needed. I had only been using it for a few months when the backpack mechanisms broke and completely fell apart. I am still able to use it as a shoulder bag, but it is definitely not worth the money and I am completely dissatisfied with this ... Read Morepurchase from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

We are so sorry to hear that this bag broke and we'd highly recommend you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us. It sounds like this bag has a warranty defect and we'd be happy to get you a replacement.

November 12, 2019

Versatile, durable and compact.

Versatile, durable and compact.

November 7, 2019

Loved my old one, so glad they finally made again

I’d been waiting.

October 30, 2019

Perfect!

This tote pack checked all the boxes!

October 21, 2019

Light Weight and Lovely

This pack is perfect for everyday travel.

October 17, 2019

Light weight truly lives up to Black Hole name

I recently took this bag with me on my journey to South America to explore the ancient ruins of Cusco and the Rainbow Mountain. It was very comfortable it fit all my daily gear including a rain jacket, extra sweater, hydro flask in the side pockets and still had room for souvenirs I picked up along the way. I also love how the bag converts from a t... Read Moreote to a backpack and I love the color!

October 8, 2019

Great size and function. Almost perfect

Great personal item size, fits enough for a long weekend trip with compression bags. But there’s too much padding between the laptop and the inside, adding needless bulk and the storage zipper won’t close when the backpack straps are in use. Small slots to pass the straps through would allow the zipper to close would be much more elegant. Other tha... Read Moren that, really great bag, really like it in blue.

October 8, 2019

Love it!

Love the quality, weight and versatility, I can wear it day or night.

October 7, 2019

What happened to the hip belt?

We had the previous version of this bag and LOVED it. Unfortunately we lost it, and while we'd replace it in a hearbeat, I see the new version no longer has a hip belt. I realize the hip belt didn't do much to transfer weight to your hips, but it was nice for stabilizing the pack while scrambling around or carrying a load on a longer day ... Read Morehike. It's hard for me to imagine that the lack of hip belt wouldn't eventually be really frustrating. I suppose I could mod it to add one back in?

October 7, 2019

#1 Bag

This is seriously the most versatile, all around, comfortable, fits everything bag! Super happy with this purchase 🙌

October 2, 2019

Fabulous

I love this pack, not your clumsy back pack. chic, lightweight and perfect for the artist/ writer/minimalist in me. Love the color.

October 1, 2019

I love it

It’s a very practical tote/backpack and although I haven’t used it for long, I get the feeling it’s durable and strong. So I hope I get to use this for years to come!

September 24, 2019

Essential

Super functional bag, very well made, light weight, stylish and practical. Holds a ton of stuff which can be organized in multiple sections with easy access. I especially like that it can be used as back pack for light treks or tuck straps in for use as a tote for shopping or travel; even folds up into itself. Definitely a worthwhile purchase.

September 21, 2019

My new favorite bag

I love this bag! Originally I got this to carry our family’s things when we go our for the day but I’ve now stared carrying to work also. It fits my laptop, lunch, book, etc and it’s not heavy!

September 20, 2019

Black hole Tote Pack

Excellent item especially for domestic flights. Very clever design

September 18, 2019

Simple, functional and thoughtfully designed!

Need a tote? Check. Need a lightweight backpack? Done. Will it hold groceries, books, binders, training/crag/peakbag/surf/paddle gear, dog stuff, and waterbottles securely? Gotcha. Waterbottle pockets are tall and securely hold (2) 34 oz wide mouths. No falling out when moving around. When used as a tote, use the zipper, hide the harness (slick des... Read Moreign!). Used as a lightweight pack, deploy the harness and belt, tuck the tote handles inside the main compartment, and pull the drawstring and it holds securely. There's a thin internal framelike piece on the back which adds structure and reduces sag, but this tote-pack doesn't droop or fold in half like others on the market - holds its shape. Our favorite, all-in-one daily tote pack! Dad even loves the neutral color palette. Simply functional design, Patagonia and well thought out.

September 11, 2019

Ultralight Black Hole Tote Pack 27L

Just used this tote for a trip to Mexico. It was lightweight, held a lot more than I expected and versatile. I packed it with my laptop, numerous magazines, snacks and water container. It easily held all items plus some other essentials. The handles and the backpack straps were great options and I used both. My only annoyance was the string for the... Read More tightning strap for the largest pocket, kept getting hooked on random things when ever I was trying to go in and out of that pocket. Other than that, it turned out to be a great product. I would purchase it again!

September 10, 2019

A few problems

I was looking for an under-seat carry on companion for my MLC, and this seemed appropriate. I returned it for three reasons. First, the lightweight material seems too flimsy for a bag this size. I was fighting the bag with one hand while trying to put something in with the other. The bag always seemed to be in the way. Unlike a shopping bag, this ... Read Morewill not stay open while you load it. Second, the grab handles were too short to allow comfortable shoulder carry. If the straps were high enough on my shoulder to stay in place, the bag was pulling into my armpit. Third, I have packable shopping bags that pack smaller, so the stuffability was less of a plus than it was a minus. I would have kept this if 1) it was made of the heavy Black Hole fabric, 2) had D rings to allow cross-body carry, and 3) had a second exterior pocket instead of a stuffsack pocket on the inside. However, what I really would like to have is a bag with the material, design features, and construction of the Black Hole MLC bags, but in an under seat size. 14X16X7 inches would be about 25L and allow abundant packing and carrying options. I am trying to maximize my hands-free carry on volume because I am blind and travel with one hand on my cane and the other holding onto my wife. My Black Hole MLC in backpack mode is a great first step, please keep making great bags and expanding the regular weight Black Hole line!

September 9, 2019

I’m really pleased with this

I’m really pleased with this bag. It’s perfect for hauling my kids’ stuff (mine too!) around the city on foot, bike, or in the stroller. The elastic side pockets are easy to access and I can fit multiple water bottles in each. It is compressible without sacrificing too much comfort when fully loaded. And the tonal color combinations are really good... Read More.

September 1, 2019

Great pack!

This is so nice and light and very comfortable.

August 25, 2019

Fantastic and Versatile pack!

I was so impressed by how much stuff this day pack carries. Loved the zip and cinch closure alongside the TWO side pockets that can fit a water bottle and more. This pack is the best purchase I’ve made in awhile. Was great for hikes, weekend trip away and just daily runs to the store!

August 20, 2019

Bigger than expected

It's a great bag, no doubt, but I wanted it for a purse and it's much bigger (deeper) than I expected.

August 19, 2019

Perfect for light traveling

I love that this is a tote and backpack all in one. So convenient to slide into my carry on luggage and use for shopping and day excursions. Because it stores inside itself, it takes virtually no room in bag.

August 18, 2019

Perfect bag!

This bag is lightweight, durable, packable, holds a TON of stuff and I love the styling. Highly recommend for any mom on the go!

August 16, 2019

Versatile. Great for parents

I have an infant and a 5-year-old and use this to wrangle all the stuff I need for them. I can fit a lot in it, but it doesn't feel oversized and saggy when it's not full. Great versatility in strap configuration. Sometimes I just want the tote handles, sometimes I want a single backpack strap. Just enough useful pockets without getting c... Read Moreomplicated.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches