burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Altvia Pack 28L Reviews

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • L
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 12 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Altvia Pack 28L

4.4/5
True To Size
November 29, 2022

Fantastic Pack!

This is my favorite technical Patagonia backpack I have had. Minimalist design with a hug-your-body comfortable fit that I am happy does not include an internal frame. Super comfortable for all-day wear with beefy fabric that you don't have to worry about scraping on rocks. Designed so you can stuff it full or keep it mostly empty without losi... Read Moreng any comfort or making it ungainly.

September 19, 2022

Great hiking backpack

Excellent hiking backpack - it carries a lot, has mesh pockets in the front for water bottles and can easily attach hiking poles.

July 13, 2022

Light weight good fit..only downside

Light weight good fit..only downside is my camelback is a bit cumbersome so I may just carry extra water bottle

June 29, 2022

Great bag

I did a lot of research figuring out what I wanted in my first day bag for hiking. Went with a friend on a 7 hour hike and this carried everything we needed! It felt light on my back and it was a great investment

June 24, 2022

Wanted to love...

This pack looked like it checked all the boxes for what I wanted for in a day-plus pack. However, the good design was poorly executed. Of the 7 external pockets only 1 is truly functional. The "fame sheet" is a joke and might as well not be be there and offers no suspension. Since the back panel does not support weight (it crumples when l... Read Moreoaded and you use the waist belt) the shoulder straps sit poorly on your neck because they have no shape. If you don't use pockets and only carry a jacket and lunch on your hikes then this pack is for you!

Response from Patagonia
June 27, 2022

Hi Bryan, thank you for sharing this feedback. This is immensely helpful to other customers, and also to our product designers. We're so sorry this pack didn't meet your needs! Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, and we'll reach out to you about returning it.

April 6, 2022

Light, efficient, stylish, functional

This pack is very spacious and strikes a balance between pockets for organization and space for larger gear and clothes. Even when it is not full, the pack cinches down nicely and fits comfortably. There are lots of straps on the outside for hooking in hiking poles or other gear. My favorite feature is the built in rain cover, genius! My only compl... Read Moreaints are 1) that I wish the small pocket on the inside was positioned differently; as is, it gets in the way of the hose on my hydration pack, making it hard to access the pocket or use it without pinching the hose, 2) a solution for the straps on the exterior sleeve and top lid, they kinda just flap in the wind unless stuffed into the exterior sleeve, 3) the shoulder straps are very breathable and contribute to the pack's lightness, but could stand to be sturdier, something akin to the straps on the Refugio. All in all a great pack, functional, and my go-to for days on the trail.

Response from Patagonia
April 6, 2022

Thanks so much for your thoughtful and detailed feedback on this relatively new line of packs. We appreciate it, Luke!

November 15, 2021

Great pack

Very comfortable and roomy pack. Great for serious hiking or taking to the farmers market. One thing I can't figure out is how a water bladder integrates with the pack- there is a pocket for it inside, but no holes for the tube.

September 2, 2021

Nice bag

Good quality bag, doesnt fit too much but works good.

August 13, 2021

Perfect size, perfect weight

I was looking for a simple, light weight pack that I could use for daily use on the Camino de Santiago, and this pack is it. The Altiva is the perfect balance between size and weight with enough room for all the essentials, while still having the small essentials that make this pack work day after day. The special bonus is the built-in rain cover.

July 22, 2021

Streamlined, Efficient When its Packed

Got this pack since I wanted a more hiking-specific backpack and loved the previous generation of the Ascensionist. There are a lot of similarities between the two packs, including how svelte they are, how simple (in a good way) they are and also how durable they are. I took the Altvia on a 10-day trip through Oregon, lugging daily necessities for ... Read Moretwo adults and a 4-year-old on city days but also on long days in the Mt. Hood Wilderness and along the Oregon coast. Its held up great and been a great companion and honestly a hell of a lot more comfortable than my Refugio. The one little annoyance I had was the lack of compression down the main compartment of the backpack. Or maybe its just how the pocket itself is attached to the backpack body: Since the top brain pocket is pretty massive, if you fill even half of it and dont have the main compartment of the pack filled, the foam sheet begins to bend into your back. If you just toss a puffy or fleece to eat up volume in there, though, its perfect.

June 11, 2021

Super Versatile

I love this pack! It is super versatile where I can take it skinning, use it for work, and everything in between. It fits everything I need and the hip pockets are super helpful. They're not big enough for a phone but they fit my keys, headphones, and a couple masks with no problem.

March 31, 2021

Simple, versatile, and lightweight

This is an excellent all around pack for skiing and hiking. The top lid/closure system takes some getting used to, but is actually quite efficient and expandable. The waist belt is appreciated for skiing and the waist pockets are adequate, if not slightly small.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches