Back to Product

Patagonia Ultralight Black Hole® Pack 20L

Write Your Review

4.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 26 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Ultralight Black Hole® Pack 20L

4.2/5
True To Size
July 9, 2021

great lightweight day pack

This 20L pack was exactly what I was looking for. It's a great size because while it can hold 20L of volume, it also can be made more compact just by hooking the top flap closed further down the central strap. I often fill it only 1/3 or 1/2 way and I never feel like my stuff is clunking around or that the pack doesn't fit me well at the ... Read Morelower capacity. The two water bottle pockets, interior pocket, and top flap pocket are just the right number to hold snacks, keys, wallet, phone, water bottles, utility knife, etc. and the big pocket is perfect to hold my and my tall-ish partner's extra layers/beach towels. I find the structure of the back and the straps to be pretty good for my body and use of the backpack and love that it is light, small profile if I want it to be, and flexible. I'm looking forward to years of taking it everywhere.

June 21, 2021

Great day pack for hike

Great super lightweight day pack that I can use on day hikes. You can stuff quite a bit inside, adjust the size and it feels like I'm not wearing a pack. But here's the hitch! I bought it so that I would not hand carry 2 water bottles - one for my dog and one for me. I was hoping that since the mesh pockets were deep that the bottles woul... Read Mored stay inside. It is not the case. If you just bend over a bit, the bottles just fall out. So, I have to find a way to strap both bottles in place. Otherwise, I love the pack and will use it for airline travel. Love the simplicity and the two zipped pockets. Patagonia, if you have a solution in making sure the bottles don't fly out, please let me know.

May 9, 2021

Perfect little lite pack!

Perfect size and lightweight with two deep mesh pockets that can hold tall water bottles. Shoulder straps are comfy and forget I have on sometimes :)

May 3, 2021

Nice, light pack for day hikes

This is the kind of pack Ive been searching for awhile. Its a great light weight pack that fits lots of stuff very well. It is also nice it packs down so its easy to pack for trips.

January 14, 2021

ultra light black hole

I use this pack for bouldering. I can fit two pairs of shoes, a chalk bag, sweater, speaker, snacks, keys, phone and even my camera is this hole. I find that the draw tie outlast zippers. It also holds my water bottles with nice big mesh pockets on the side. Love it!!

December 13, 2020

Good overall, but not designed for adults

Its light, packable, and seems durable. But the shoulder straps and chest strap are designed for children. There is no possibility of moving the chest strap to a position in which it is usable. I have to think that no one involved in the design actually field tested it.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2021

Hello Chad, thanks so much for your review! Please note that the shoulder straps are adjustable so you can change their length. The chest strap is also adjustable and it can be moved up and down the shoulder straps for a better fit.

September 17, 2020

Amazing but small

Im gonna do that thing where you say I never write reviews but... and i never do, but this product is great, its very good for travel as it folds into itself into a tiny bag. However, it is a lot smaller than expected but fits everything i need into it. Just be sure to read how big it is in the description:)

August 10, 2020

Great concept

Id been looking for a minimal backpack for a long time that would work as a daypack while backpacking, fishing, and hiking. I thought Id found it with this pack, but after a year of use Ive realized this pack has a few drawbacks that I cant get past: 1) the shoulder straps are very close together. So much so that they are uncomfortable after a coup... Read Morele miles with a days worth of hiking or fishing gear. Im 6 and 180 for reference. 2) the sternum strap cant be positioned low enough on the straps to make it useful. The buckles are almost to my shoulders regardless of how tight the pack is, again causing discomfort after a short distance. 3) most importantly, I can not get my water bottles to stay in the side pockets. Theyve flown out multiple times as Ive bent over to unhook a fish or look below me, which has lead to some tedious river/canyon rescues. Ive resorted to using a carabiner to hold them in place, but this is an added step when trying to get water. It also doesnt seem to matter whether the pack is full or not, which I initially thought would help. Overall, its a well intentioned pack that would probably work great for less technical applications and smaller shouldered folks. I love the packability and simple design, just needs some tweaks in my opinion.

April 3, 2020

No water bladder sleeve???

REALLY disappointed there is no sleeve for a water reservoir. I needed an ultralight, ultracompact day pack to take along for day hikes when I go backpacking or traveling. This fit the bill (I thought) with weight and features (side pockets, daisy chains, padded back and straps - YAY!) I didn't realize that it did not have a water bladder slee... Read Moreve...isn't that standard in ALL packs? Even the crappy Walmart backpacks have them. The weight that a sleeve would add is so minuscule. REALLY disappointed. This was going to be my go-to day hiking bag.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Jill! We're sorry to hear you're disappointed. Please note that this lightweight pack was designed with simplicity in mind and therefore it was not meant to have a hydration sleeve. Sorry for the confusion! Please feel free to return your pack if you were looking to do so, but haven't already.

December 31, 2019

We love Patagonia and your

We love Patagonia and your products. This backpack happen to be too small. We are sending it back and getting your slightly larger one. We would recommend Patagonia and the products every time.

December 28, 2019

Perfect size

Perfect size

December 12, 2019

An apparent success

A comfortable pack for short hikes and city adventures. After the better part of a week wandering the streets of London, I'll give it five stars. Great space in the bulk compartment along with strategically positioned two zippered stash compartments. Further adventures will demonstrate endurance but i have consistently found Patagonia's p... Read Moreroducts hold up to my unrelenting use. Five stars until futher notice.

December 11, 2019

So far so good

I bought the pack to use as a diaper bag, and so far (son was born Dec. 4) it's been great for packing a small electric breast pump, changing pad (complete with diapers, supplies, etc. folded inside) and our feeding chart—not much else. I'll try to update the as he grows.

November 30, 2019

Awesome!

Awesome!

November 22, 2019

Black Hole Pack 20L Ultralight

Weight and foldaway compact size is great for traveling and organization of items for trips abroad or domestic.

November 6, 2019

Travel Bag

Great bag to stuff into a suitcase and use for day trips while traveling. I have used it for hiking, running, and exploring cities. It sits a little higher than I am used to, but every time I use it I like it more

November 6, 2019

Love it !

I was searching for a compact light backpack to fit inside the water bottle pouch of my 26L Patagonia backpack as I was planning to travel with only one backpack. This was exactly what I needed, basic ‘black hole’ bag with 2 zipper pockets. There is one pocket inside for safe keeping of wallet, keys, etc. The second one is on the top of the backpa... Read Moreck. I used it for pens some spare change and some headphones (too small for an iPhone, but I wouldn’t put it in there anyways). The backpack is spacious enough for day hike, exploring a city or just throwing in a towel and snacks and heading to the beach. Patagonia always puts a generous amount of space for water bottles. My 32oz can fit easily but it does make it weighted on that side . Also if you bend down for something (And your back is arching forward) your water bottle WILL fall out. It doesn’t have much shape to it but that’s what makes it fit into itself when you want to store it away. If I really want some type of shape I’ll place the jacket I have at the bottom of it so I have a ‘base’ Easy simple yet a nice pack.

October 28, 2019

Great travel backpack

This is a wonderful item to take traveling. it packs up in a small compartment and can be used for day hikes or general load hauling.

October 21, 2019

Very Lightweight

Using for travel. Replacing heavier Patagonia pack I used as my carry on. Took on a trip to Japan in September. So lightweight. I actually didn't use a purse at all. This pack carried everything I needed. Love the inside and outside top zipped areas. Passport, and important items were kept safely inside.

October 11, 2019

Causes lower back pain

Firstly, I am a very athletic person with no lower back issues. I have been wearing this backpack for about a month now. Unfortunately it is very poorly designed. The way the low back part joins with the base and the straps causes the bottom part to push into the body with a curve, making your lower back push forward. This happens whether you wear ... Read Morethe pack high or low, and regardless of how you pack the items in it (I’ve moved things around trying different strategies). When the lower back region curves forward, it strains the muscles there and creates lower back issues. Unfortunately this has not been designed well. Hopefully Patagonia can replace the backpack with a similar item that does not harm the wearer. I gave it one star for its handy pockets and another for its lightweight quality. However the lightweight nature also causes it to have a very flimsy shape.

Response from Patagonia
October 24, 2019

Hi Nicolas, please send that pack back to us, especially if it's causing lower back pain. The last thing we would want is to have you keep a product that you're not able to use and causes discomfort. We'll reach out to you to get that item back into us.

September 26, 2019

Ultralight black hole review

The perfect pack to wear in front if carrying a backpack. Upper flap has easy access to ID, side pockets give easy access to water bottle. Has loops for a waist belt if using as a main backpack. The pack is perfect for someone 5' 6" or shorter with the chest strap. For someone close to 6' the shoulder straps are a tad short, and the ... Read Morechest strap is too high. But perfect if you're not using the chest strap.

September 12, 2019

Sized like a child's backpack

The shoulder straps/pads/sternum strap design is sized for a child, not an adult. Fairly useless as is, sending back.

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 11, 2019

👍

This backpack is as close to perfect as it can get for day hikes. Love it

September 2, 2019

Absolutely Love this Backpack

I bought this to use for college just to carry a few notebooks and also to bring on camping trips. It's super light and easily packable and can carry all my books.

August 21, 2019

Smaller than expected

The fit is very strange. By the time you the pack to fit the buckles for the shoulder straps are hitting your shoulders. And the sternum strap is all but useless. The only way I got a somewhat comfortable fir was to get the pack to ride very high on the back by cinching down the shoulder straps. Would not recommend this pack.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2019

I am sorry to hear about the fit of the pack. If the pack isn't working out for you, you can start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

August 9, 2019

One design flaw

Overall great bag for shoving in the suitcase for trips and for jaunting around town. It's a perfect size with just the right feature set, plus I've been waiting for the drawstring top loader version. One design flaw....the connection points within the top pocket/lid for the drawstring cord are situated such that the top pocket gets squee... Read Morezed down to a practically unusable size when pulled closed. Don't put a sandwich in there!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches