Back to Product

Patagonia Ultralight Black Hole® Duffel Bag 30L

Write Your Review

4.1 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 10 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Ultralight Black Hole® Duffel Bag 30L

4.1
Kinda Large
June 21, 2020

Great bag for travel/beach/gym

This is actually my fourth Black Hole Duffel in my collection. I got this one to use while traveling as an extra bag. It packs down to about the size of a water bottle, and easily fits in my larger bags. Then if I only need to take a few things with me (i.e. towel and swimwear) I can pop this open and not have a small day bag to use. I have also us... Read Moreed it as a shopping bag when traveling too. Downsides are that the bag isn't made out of the same waterproof material as my larger Black Holes, and the straps are narrow and unpadded. Although that is the tradeoff for making this so light and small, it practically disappears when folded up.

June 19, 2020

Great bag for travel/beach/gym

This is actually my fourth Black Hole Duffel in my collection. I got this one to use while traveling as an extra bag. It packs down to about the size of a water bottle, and easily fits in my larger bags. Then if I only need to take a few things with me (i.e. towel and swimwear) I can pop this open and not have a small day bag to use. I have also us... Read Moreed it as a shopping bag when traveling too. Downsides are that the bag isn't made out of the same waterproof material as my larger Black Holes, and the straps are narrow and unpadded. Although that is the tradeoff for making this so light and small, it practically disappears when folded up.

April 22, 2020

Lightweight but not the same as the old model

We have two 30L duffel bags (prior version) made of the slightly heavier and much sturdier nylon (and more durable in my opinion). (We also have 3 of the 70L versions.) We love the 30L bags as use them every time we travel somewhere. Mostly we pack our kids' stuff in those bags. The bags have very good capacity for their size and we have confi... Read Moredence in they durability. I usually throw them in our our cargo box on top of our skis because they are a perfect fit and don't have to worry they will get torn up or cut by accident (when we go skiing). We also love how the bags fold up after using them. This new black hole 30L model disappointed us on two levels: for some reason it's smaller than the prior model, and the material just doesn't seem as durable as the prior version. I would maybe even go as far as to say that it's not worth the $70 (we actually purchased ours on sale but returned it). I don't have proof of the new model's durability, but if you buy it and compare it to previous model, you will see what I mean. The size was also a big puzzle to us after we received the bag. Yes, I double checked the size. But the new version of the 30L bag was definitely smaller. I hope that Patagonia brings back to old version of this bag!!!

Response from Patagonia
April 22, 2020

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed but glad you were able to return the bags. We've moved all of the Black Hole bags to mostly recycled materials, but they still pass all of our tests for durability as we don't want to sacrifice performance. In addition, we changed our method of measuring the volume, and offered bags in sizes that have been most requested in feedback. That said, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us in detail as it's very helpful to our designers!

April 6, 2020

Not a backpack but still works

Image of this being worn as a backpack is not really a use case for this bag. Straps are too thin for that, and this is a 'stuffable' bag so best use case is stashing this in your actual backpack and busting out for additional unexpected gear when traveling or commuting which is what I use it for. It would benefit hugely from a full shoul... Read Moreder strap, nothing fancy needed and would add versatility. Reinforced bottom is super nice and elevates this slightly from other stashable bags. Classic black hole opening also a major differentiator vs. other bags in this class.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Greg! Thank you for the great product feedback! We have passed this along to our Product Design Team!

December 9, 2019

Great bag but really needs shoulder strap / more sturdy straps

Awesome day bag - deceivingly large and the design is dead on. Crushes down to nothing and I feel you can toss it around and it won't fall apart. Lost two stars bc like other people have mentioned, the straps are flimsy AF and not long enough to get comfortably over one shoulder wo it being super awkward (I"m 5'9"). There'... Read Mores no shoulder strap or points to attach one -I took one of an old bag and tied it through the end handholds but I don't think they are strong enough to withstand the point pressure. You end up wearing it like a backpack but the straps are so narrow it cuts into you or carrying in it in one hand old school but that gets old really fast.

November 28, 2019

Better than ever

The material is super soft and feels like fabric. It’s nicely shaped jacket. It isn’t bulky. It keeps you warm and it’s comfortable. I really like it!

October 31, 2019

Solid gym bag

I bought this to take to the gym and is a great size to hold everything I need. I’ll use this for overnights as well when needed. Can’t go wrong with this bag.

August 12, 2019

Four stars for doing what bags do best: carrying stuff.

I wanted a minimal bag with maximum capacity and that is exactly what this is. Make no mistake, this is a DAY BAG. I would never check this at the airport and probably wouldn't even risk it in the over head compartment if I had fragile items in this duffle like my makeup bag. However, you COULD do all of those things if you didn't care ab... Read Moreout the contents of the duffle... My main use for this duffle is transporting gym clothes and cycling kit to the office every week. I stuff it with a weeks worth of workout apparel and the most action this duffle sees is Monday morning when I carry it from my car to the locker room & then on Friday from the locker room to my car. The only thing that bums me out about this bag are the "shoulder straps". Everything about this bag seems meticulously designed, except for these straps. They seem kind of like an after thought. I imagine that the designer was like "woohoo I'm done!" and then the product manager was like "um... but where are the straps?". I understand that this is an "ultra light" bag, so if the point of this bag was to shave off grams, then they nailed it there for sure. But I believe this could still be accomplished with a bit more thoughtful trim options. The bag has nicely finished grab handles and micro daisy chains & I don't see why this couldn't be done to the "shoulder straps" as well. It appears that it would still easily pack back into its stash pocket with slightly nicer straps. With all of that being said, the straps do what they are designed to do & the bag carries your stuff like a bag should. But with these straps, I personally don't want to carry the bag more than the distance of my car to the locker room.

August 11, 2019

Great duffel

The small and super light packable black hole is a great every day pack for those items I need for an adventure. I bring it on most trips and it’s come in handy a lot.

August 10, 2019

Holds much more than you’d think

I purchased this bag to use for the gym, looking for something that could hold shoes, towel, dopkit and change of clothes - amazingly this super light weight bag manages this easily. The only thing keeping this from 5 stars is the lack of shoulder strap. Had to pull one off an old bag and attach.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches