burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Guidewater Sling 15L Reviews

Write Your Review

4.1/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 7 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Guidewater Sling 15L - Waterproof Sling Pack

4.1/5
True To Size
December 27, 2022

The zipper

Hello, I am so frustrated. I am a long time fan of Patagonia. I believe this is my first bad review of anything let along my beloved Patagonia. This sling is a recent gift and I have not even used it because I cannot get past the zipper. It is is beyond stiff. I am having to tug, yank, pull and stretch to get it to zip and unzip. And to ensure it c... Read Moreovers the bottom holes at the end of each zipper to make the item waterproof is even a bigger effort. And worse, I cannot get the zipper to work when the sling is on, I have to take it off. I see in the future, much frustration and even damage to the sling trying to get in and out. And despite all the other attributes, if one cannot get in and out of the sling with this much effort, it is useless. Now my partner says, maybe you have to use it lots to get it to function? Really? So far, despite my efforts there has been no improvement.

Response from Patagonia
January 9, 2023

Hi Mary, thank you for this feedback. We're sorry this waterproof zipper has turned out to be so frustrating! You might have success trying this [Zipper Cleaner + Lubricant](https://www.rei.com/product/152246/gear-aid-zipper-cleaner-lubricant?CAWELAID=120217890006447716&CAGPSPN=pla&CAAGID=100820982696&CATCI=aud-1396942680915:pla-462569364868&cm_mmc=PLA_Google%7C21700000001700551_1522460001%7C92700053307853702%7CTOF%7C71700000062011430&gclid=EAIaIQobChMImLry-Oji-QIVeAutBh0_GwYiEAQYAiABEgJ6HfD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds). If this doesn't help, or if you don't want to go that route, you are welcome to return the sling to us. Please either check out our Returns Page or reach out to our Customer Service Team at (800) 638-6464 or via live chat to start a gift return.

December 10, 2022

Superior quality

This bag is very well made. I have owned several waterproof bags from different companies and this thing is solid. Very robust zipper closure and having pull handles at the top and bottom of the bag is helpful. Great design, not too big, not too small.

April 18, 2022

Watertight simplicity

Perfect for an afternoon on-foot swing mission or the like. Watertight with well-appointed externals: the rod tube straps and net carrier are excellent examples. Fits well over most layers and outerwear. The only reason its not a 5-star: the internal components are a little too sparse. Theres an internal gear pouch thats too small for more than ju... Read Morest really minimal stuff, as in, one or two spoils of tippet and possibly a small fly box. When I have a few more things in there, like a larger fly box, split shot, sinking tip wallet, etc, the rest is at large with all the other things rattling around in my pack- the layer, water bottle, snacks, beer, whatever. So its just not the most optimized work station. This, as I see it, is minor. I fish pretty simply most of the time, and this sling pack isnt pretending to be a vest with 60 pockets. I still recommend it.

April 14, 2022

Exactly what I wanted - perfect for fishing the flats!

This is a well-designed sling, especially for fly fishing. The waterproof zipper has been improved dramatically over previous versions. I removed the interior pouch and lashed it to the outside for easy access to tippett material etc. I will probably modify the pouch with a Velcro patch in order to attach a waterproof fly box for easy access. I rem... Read Moreoved the rod holder straps in order to accommodate the pouch. I have attached my knot tying tool and hemostats/scissors with a lanyard to the shoulder/chest strap. This is completely functional for my saltwater wading and kayaking needs. The pack is roomy without being too bulky. I can easily fit my Patagonia wading jacket, lunch, one water bottle and 1-2 fly boxes inside this pack.

March 26, 2022

Waterproof sling pack

This is a great waterproof sling pack that holds all my essentials on the flats without worrying about getting any gear inside wet from saltwater. Comfortable and hassle free while casting.

February 17, 2022

Almost perfect

This pack is a really good size. Not too big not too small. It can hold everything I need for a day on the river. The sling is built well and rides comfortably. It also has many attachment points for tools and gear. I have the attachable wader workstation on the front which makes getting to essentials you need quickly hassle free. There are 3 thing... Read Mores that would put this pack over the top for me though. An exterior water bottle pocket would be very nice. A self healing zipper would be a great upgrade to eliminate the chance of one of the zipper teeth breaking. Lastly an integrated D ring for hanging a net as not everyone likes carrying a large net or putting the net in the sleeve behind the back.

October 2, 2021

Unbeleivably Awesome Waterproof Sling Pack - The Best

After thoroughly researching fly fishing sling packs and comparing offerings from all of the major upscale brands, I settled on this well designed and beautiful Patagonia pack. As an Architect I instinctively gravitate toward quality products that are well designed: functional, beautiful, and provide lasting value. This bag is incredibly well desig... Read Morened. After receiving it, it was clear that it exceed my high expectations. It is a perfect size, not too big and bulky, yet big enough. I didn't want something that was so large that it would interfere with fly casting. After weighing the pros and cons of a waterproof pack, I just accepted that what ever I chose, sooner or later, it would get wet when I was standing or occassionally falling in a river or stream fly fishing. A waterproof pack is great benefit. The tradeoffs are that waterproof zippers are stiff and take effort to close or open and they come with other characteristics. Patagonia thoughtfully addressed this by providing robust handles at the top and bottom of the pack that you can leverage to pull hard on the zipper. Waterproof packs consistently across all brands provide limited internal compartments. This come with one removable divider with two small pockets. This works fine for me because I just supplement that storage with Ziploc storage bags to store my stuff by category. The pack has 11 total attachment loops on the pack itself plus 12 on the front of the strap which is very helpful for hanging gear with lanyards or retractors. If 23 attachment points doesn't work for you, then you are carrying way too much stuff. Sling bags are uber awesome because they are out of the way on your back until your need access. To access the bag you unclip one secondary strap and pull the bag around to your front. The bag is horizontal and you just unzip the side of it and access your stuff. The bag is ambidextrous and designed for both right handed and left handed users. I cross shopped this with Simms Dry Creek Sling Pack, which is a fine bag. I chose this pack because of the build quality, beautiful appearance, and everything was so well thought out and executed. The Simms bag had ridiculously short shoulder straps that were very limiting. Plus I like Patagonia as an admirable company with great values and its customer support is awesome if something goes wrong with their product, which is rare. In summary, this is a great product that is the finest in its class and incredibly well designed. It exceeded my high expectations. It is a joy to use and is quite beautiful. I highly recommend the Patagonia Guidewater Sling 15L - Waterproof Sling Pack.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches