burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Guidewater Duffel 80L Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 15 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Guidewater Duffel 80L - Waterproof Duffel Bag

4.7/5
True To Size
January 3, 2023

Great drybag

I'm looking forward to getting this bag out on the raft this summer. It is true to size and zippers are all functioning, but I can't vouch for the waterproof function until I get it on the boat.

November 10, 2022

Grand Canyon approved

Used this as a primary gear bag for 20 days in the ditch, went left of bedrock, flipped, and still had dry gear for the evening celebrations. Zipper withstood copious amounts of sand.

October 2, 2022

Terrible Strap Design

I was very optimistic about the purchase of this bag. I had a week long canoeing trip in the BWCA of Minnesota that I was going to be using the bag for. On the first day of the trip I realized the design flaw of this bag. It has velcro to hold the bag handle/shoulder straps onto the duffle bag. While it is a double back velcro, it was still insuffi... Read Morecient to hold the weight of the bag without breaking the velcro hold. I tried everything! With an 80L bag it must have been thought out that there would be a decent amount of weight in the bag. For myself I had about 45 lbs of weight in my bag. This was too much for the velcro straps and it would not hold at each portage as we went from lake to lake. I had to bear hug the bag to get it from lake to lake. Finally I was able to purchase some small gear straps that I could thread through the straps and duffle loops to hold the handles to the bag. It was super frustrating to say the least. The bag it's self was great, durable and 100% waterproof, but if I can't carry the bag then none of that is useful. Because of the terrible strap design I have to give this a 1 star and I would not recommend purchasing this bag if you plan on carrying it anywhere.

Response from Patagonia
October 26, 2022

Hi Jeff! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about your experience with the straps. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 11, 2022

As close to the OG Black Hole bag (potato sack) as I can find.

Having 2 of the old school black hole bags these are the closest I can find. I find the new black hole bags are just as clunky as the North Face Base Camp duffels. The old potato shaped black holes slide through airline checked luggage, cram into tight spaces on rural commuter busses in Peru. Easy to fit all you need for a European ski trip to the ... Read MoreAlps, and weather resistant to toss in the back of the pickup truck for fall camping trip down on the Kenai. This bag looks like it checks all the boxes, just a few added loops and things you can dangle your dangly things off of.

June 13, 2022

easy access

Just took this bag on a weekend long river trip and it met all expectations. I love the duffel bag style compared to the traditional roll top dry bag because I can actually see whats in my bag without digging blindly through it. It is a massive bag. I fit a standard size pillow, sleeping bag, pad, tent, hammock, and plenty of clothes and toiletries... Read More with room to spare. Such a nice bag, hopefully it will last a lifetime.

June 13, 2022

Great River Duffle

For regular river runners, a zippered duffle is such convenience compared to normal dry bags. And, as compared to fold down tops, the duffle can accommodate a partially filled bag. It feels a little extravagant at first, but it's worth it!

June 8, 2022

Super waterproof!

Way versatile bag with one word in mind...WATERPROOF. Got the bag and used it in the snow and out on the water to transport my gear so it stays super dry when I can't. I totally recommend it.

April 29, 2022

Duffel, Guide etc.

Listen, I'm not an expert. It's the best damned bag I've ever owned. I use this and the guidewater backpack to keep my stuff in because they're COOL looking! Dig it, and the surfing is great here too.

April 24, 2022

Very well made

Don't think I'll ever need another duffel or travel bag. I bought 2 and the guidewater backpack as well, even though I live in Arizona, I'll be going to Costa Rica and Hawaii where it rains a lot. Can't wait to get them wet. So much fun and looks cool too. hehehehehehehe

April 12, 2022

One bag

This 80L waterproof bag is ideal for multi day canoeing trips. The zipper is sturdy and will keep your gear dry - make sure to close properly. I easily fit all of my gear including a 2 person tent, sleeping bag, pad, folding chair, all my cooking equipment, misc equipment and clothes into this bag. Shoulder straps are wide and comfortable for carry... Read Moreing the bag backpack style.

March 9, 2022

Good Build Quality

Very impressed by the build quality and it has held up great after my first long camping trip.

March 9, 2022

Simple, Light & Functional Bag for Boating

This bag will keep your stuff dry and allows easier access to gear than a roll top dry bag. It always seems like the item you need in a roll top is all the way at the bottom - so you have to empty everything out to get to it. The zipper and straps are solid. Patagonia did a good job at minimizing design to the core function.

January 17, 2022

Functional, Strong and Burly Bag

Great bag, super strong, very functional and works well for all my gear when I travel for climbing trips and canyon trips.

January 3, 2022

Great Bag

I bought this bag for a recent boat trip. The bag itself is rugged and performed as planned. I would however like to see straps on the sides to be able to cinch the bag tighter making it easier to carry on your back if the bag isn't full.

September 8, 2021

zipper/can't lock

I would like to be able to lock this bag w a padlock or other luggage lock. Even w the one zipper handle - a hole in it and a nearby loop or metal rig where the zipper ends so I could padlock the bag would be helpful, even if it is just a deterrent I feel better when I can do this w a bag so I am hesitant to take on a trip. TY.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches