Back to Product

Patagonia Black Hole® Gear Tote Bag 61L

Write Your Review

4.9/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 68 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Black Hole® Gear Tote Bag 61L

4.9/5
Kinda Large
September 7, 2021

Perfect big bag for everything!

Ive had this bag for a few months now, and absolutely love it. I purchased it as an on-the-go bag for my pup when I bring her to work, but found it to be slightly too large for this reason. Instead, its turned into our perfect adventure bag! Whether camping or just going a quick day trip, I can throw all the days needs in this bag and trust itll ho... Read Moreld up to whatever I throw at it. And if it gets dirty, the hose is will clean it right up! Side note, I grabbed the smaller 25L tote for my pups bag, and that works perfectly as well. Dont think about it, just but it!

September 6, 2021

Great surf bag

Great surf bag to change in and out of your wetsuit with. Fits everything you could possibly want and is durable enough to stand in.

September 4, 2021

Favorite patagonia purchase this year!

I love this bag! It looked huge online, but I have found that its everything I need for my daily excursions. Whether Im going swimming, hiking, kayaking, or just going to the gym, I use this bag for everything. Just throw in towels, lunches, gear and your set. The bag is extremely well made and lightweight, making it easy to carry. It can support v... Read Morearying weight items with ease and looks great too! I can definitely see myself getting another one of these.

August 30, 2021

Indestructible Tote Bag

First off, this bag is huge! Keep that in mind if you are looking for a mid-sized tote. You can probably fit your medium sized dog in this bag if you wanted to. I use it to carry all my extra camping gear and shoes. I'm impressed with the durability and ease of use. Get one before they sell out!

August 30, 2021

Absolute pick of the liter

I own and use a good number of Patagonia bags in all shapes, sizes and features and THIS Black Hole gear tote is one of the best bags ever madereally. I own several and plan on T least one or two more. Fishing: waders, wading boots, hip pack etc pick it up and go. Golf: much the same. Skiing: clothing, layers. Helmet, goggles etcgrab the bag and go... Read More. GREAT materials and no stinking zipper to give me trouble. Youll LOVE IT! Really!!

August 23, 2021

Expansive

This bag can hold just about anything. It held up to the hard handling of my excursions. I would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a bag that you can throw just about anything into.

August 17, 2021

My everything bag!

This bag is great quality and can fit everything, including the kitchen sink, for storing my running gear or a day at the beach.

August 17, 2021

Love My Black Hole Tote

The Black Hole Tote is handy for all kinds of applications. When I'm riding with a fishing guide it helps keep my stuff together and it makes a great tote to throw in the car or take on the plane to keep things organized. Besides that, it's very well constructed and looks good.

August 11, 2021

Repeat performance

I just bought a third of these...golf gear in one..WHAM grab and go ( shoes, socks, layer or two, balls, etc) all in one pick it up and go bag. Trout fishing: (wading boots, sandals, boat bag, rain jacket pants, supplemental fly boxes, lanyard) Go bag. Summer steelhead ( you get the idea...) Great bag. I read that some think it to large...suggestio... Read Moren: BUY SMALLER

July 21, 2021

Big Tote

These things are super good. I have this big one and a smaller one. Use them all the time when going camping to carry clothes to the van or motor home, very handy. If I take a change of clothes, either bag is what I use. Simple, works really good and the little one is weathering very well with over 2-3 years use. Worth buying.

July 20, 2021

It's BIG and a workhorse!

Wife and I use this thing for carrying anything and lots of it. Groceries, beach supplies, gear, food, whatever. It is big, but not clownishly big if that makes sense. big in a useful way. It's also well built and durable. Was hesitant at first but so glad we got one instead of a cheap throwaway tote.

July 12, 2021

Holds everything the family needs

This bag is incredibly roomy and pretty lightweight, considering its size, and it quickly became our go-to bag for just about everything. We've used it as our main suitcase for car travel; each family member packs a packing cube and we throw them all in the Black Hole. It also became our family's main beach bag, pool bag, and picnic bag. ... Read MoreYou can clip straps across the top to keep everything from spilling out, and the one zip pocket on the side can fit a surprising amount of small items -- phone, handful of masks, hand sanitizer, keys. You can also attach additional stuff to the exterior with carabiners. It's new so can't attest to its durability just yet but it feels indestructible. Highly recommend.

July 2, 2021

best bag EVER!

This is a Huge bag and I'm a Huge fan! This is my 3rd Black Hole tote. I have two of the smaller ones and now this 61L one. these bags are some of the most useful and frequently used everyday items I own. they are strong, look good and can carry anything. I use them for groceries, to carry heavy tools on the job, I recently used them to move m... Read Morey mother.... I can't think of enough good things to say about these bags. I'm all about buying things that will last a lifetime and that I will like just as long. these fit that bill!

July 2, 2021

Blackhole 61L Tote

I use this tote for camping mostly, but also throughout the day when Im at the grocery store, at work, or to carry laundry. Its a multi functional bag that helps me organize my day.

June 28, 2021

Perfect. Groceries all the way to the river!

Easy tote for storing most everything on the way to the river. I use it at least twice a week for groceries and general day to day luging of stuff. Compression straps hold the overflow in, but it's deep, basically you have a lot with you if it's packed full. Easy to lock it down with the side webbing for the no-tip trip! Side zip is great... Read More for flies, wallet and/or phone. 100% recycled. Yep! Happy. :)

June 24, 2021

Its soBig

Bomber tote, literally huge. You can throw everything in there, almost because I bought another one. Fishing, SAR gear, camping, groceries etc.

June 21, 2021

Love the space!!

Really happy with this purchase. I can fit everything I need in it. The one thing I would recommend would be putting a hard bottom that is removable.

June 18, 2021

My new favorite Black Hole bag

This bag is so versatile, and so so big. I use it to store camping gear, as a pool bag, and sometimes groceries. The durability and waterproof-ness means that I never have to worry about where I put it down or what goes inside, and it is incredibly easy to clean when needed. If you're debating about buying this bag, just buy it. You'll wo... Read Morender how you got by without!!

June 15, 2021

They dont name it Black Hole for nothing.

Well made. One can stuff a ton of anything in this baby. Going to Montana.

June 11, 2021

THE BAG THAT KEEPS ON GIVING

The size of this bag, it's waterproof features, bright color, and general sturdiness makes this bag an all-time favorite for swim time: towels, wetsuit, caps, goggles, extra jackets, or bringing food to an event including wine, beer, etc. This wonderful bag NEVER EVER disappoints! And the orange is very fun!!

June 10, 2021

Best bag on the planet

I am shy to admit that I own many of these. I use this for overnights, for the beach, for laundry, for a comfortable haul of just about anything. Bravo!!

May 31, 2021

It's huge

This bag is great. I can fit so much stuff in the bag. Very durable too!

May 28, 2021

BEST GIANT TOTE BACK EVER

this thing carries everything. it's my ski bag, grocery bag, running crap bag, swimming crap bag, bag carrying all my stuff bag. I love it. Also my laundry bag. You will not regret having this bag in your life.

May 27, 2021

True Black Hole

Just like my other Black Hole products, it seems bottomless -- can always stuff one more thing in! Handles are a good length and the straps inside hold items inside well. Great for whatever gear I need to haul.

April 24, 2021

Very functional

️Great quality materials ️Functional design I may well need another

April 11, 2021

Black Hole Tote 61L

I bought the blackhole gear tote 61L and I LOVE it! I use it when camping in my pop up, as it holds a ton of whatever Im hauling. Its great for carrying laundry, groceries, I use it when Im traveling back-and-forth from state to state, as it will hold odd shaped items that wont fit in my suitcase. Its my go to bag!! ️

April 9, 2021

super roomy bag

the bag carries skis boots and all the necessaries for a day on the slopes. I endorse it heartily! The straps across the top are a bonus.

April 8, 2021

Haul it all kind off bag

We love these for our family, we have a few of them now and use them for anything from getting groceries, trips with the kids and even rising out or washing wetsuits. Super durable and will hold as much weight as you can carry.

March 22, 2021

Black Hole Gear Tote

Love these totes they are bomber and so convenient. Kind of a bummer mine arrived with two small holes in the bottom, nothing that a few pieces of duct tape didn't fix.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Hey Justin! We're really sorry to hear about the damages on your Gear Tote. You never should have received it that way! This sounds like a quality control issue. Please [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us so we can get this sorted out.

March 1, 2021

AWESOME BAG...!

This bag is amazing, BUT, the straps could be a bit wider and a bit longer in relation to the size of the bag. It also could have a few interior pockets. Other than that, it is an amazing bag and literally holds everything. I thought I would fill it on a recent trip (with clothing, iPad, boots, etc.) and I had room to spare! I have this and the sma... Read Moreller gear tote and both are excellent purchases. A few tweaks in the design and this would be the only bag I need. I have the black Fitz Roy fish design and it looks great, too!

January 23, 2021

Huge

This bag is awesome. However it is HUGE. A picture with a person holding it, in the ad would have been helpful. Not sure now what I am going to use it for now.... hmmmm.

January 21, 2021

Massive Grocery Bag

Quality does not disappoint here. I also have the 25 liter variant of this bag and both are excellent for car camping trips, hauling gear up to the ski resorts, and trips to the grocery store. If you own and love black hole bags - you will love this too

January 14, 2021

Super tough

Use this for grocery shopping. I put 60 lbs in it sometimes. Grocery clerks are jealous. Saves all those plastic bags.

January 7, 2021

Super Nice

Love it

December 30, 2020

Never knew I needed such a big tote, no looking back now!

This tote is big, big. And I love it. I thought it would live in my car as a place for all the things that roll around to live, but I use it for literally everything now. Can easily fit 6-7 gallon containers of water, which equals like 3 peoples surf stuff and the whole families MTB gear.

December 7, 2020

61L Tote Bag

Great piece of gear Used for all excursions these days, Camping, Fishing and family trips Toss your stuff in and go! Love it...

October 27, 2020

Room for all your gear and then some!

Love this Black Hole tote! The large capacity worked perfectly for organizing (swallowing up) gear in the trunk for a long weekend of hiking/car camping here in the PNW. I do think it would be a bit cumbersome, even as a bigger guy, to haul around as a more daily carry. But as for keeping gear organized on the way to the trails or ski slopes or in ... Read Morea closet, all 61L come in handy.

September 16, 2020

LOVE THIS!!!

I use this to keep my kiddos stuff in, it never leaves the car except to refill it, I know it is large but it can sit in the floor and collect all his stuff its awesome, I want to get a second one for all of my work stuff as well. love this bag so easy to keep clean I keep trying to find another one for every day use the 25 l and can't seem to... Read More find it any where

September 2, 2020

THE bag

This is the best giant bag youll ever own, I use it for everything! Sturdy, GIANT, one pocket so you dont lose ur keys or phone. I can throw all of my gear into this bag in the car, in my house, and it controls the chaos.

August 18, 2020

Super Roomy and Super Useful

This was the perfect "junk" bag to hold all those loose, bulky items you need on a long trip. I used it on a 7,500 mile hiking, camping, road trip. It worked perfectly to hold stuff for meals and other random camp bits like frisbees, dishes, growlers, fuel tanks, etc. Super durable and it only seemed to get better as the trip progressed. ... Read MoreSo glad I bought it, and the smaller size as well. Together they held everything I asked them to.

August 17, 2020

Beautiful Big Bag!

I love tote bags because you can see everything and this one can hold A LOT! I have the smaller gear tote, but this one is great. It's big, and a little heavier than the lightweight black hole gear tote, but it holds more, and I love the little clips to keep in all of the sporting goods gear we have to lug around. I wish there were more colors... Read More!

July 27, 2020

Love it!

So much to love! As with all the black hole bags, the fabric is easy to clean and durable. This tote is awesome because it stands straight up, with a big square opening, and I can throw items in with ease and most importantly I can see everything inside. Handles are good length, I can carry comfortably on my shoulder or by hand. I travel to our cab... Read Morein every weekend and this is my new go-to bag! Fear is my husband will turn this bag into his hip wader/fishing gear bag. Please bring back more colors so I can buy more!

June 21, 2020

The Big Bag

I never thought I would be rating a bag but what a nice surprise this has been. I use this bag primarily for fishing. It is so nice to be able to huck my wet, muddy boots and waders into the bag until I get home, then I hose off my boots, waders, and the bag. It cleans easily and is bomb proof. Thank you!

June 15, 2020

The Big Bag

I never thought I would be rating a bag but what a nice surprise this has been. I use this bag primarily for fishing. It is so nice to be able to huck my wet, muddy boots and waders into the bag until I get home, then I hose off my boots, waders, and the bag. It cleans easily and is bomb proof. Thank you!

June 9, 2020

Best everything tote!!

With a quick shake to get out sand, this goes from my go-to beach bag with kids toys, towels, etc right to my mountain gear bag! Definitely the best bag that I have purchase! It will continue to be my everything bag for years to come. It is quite large, but is not bulky when it is only 1/2 full.

March 14, 2020

Throw everything in it and take off!

Youre not gonna find a better tote for big, awkward items. Got this to carry snorkeling gear for two people, which includes 2 full wetsuits, 2 sets of fins, 2 masks in cases, 2 snorkels and 2 sets of neoprene booties. Everything fits perfectly and to keep it from getting unwieldy, Patagonias included the clip straps that keep the bag closed without... Read More having to jam everything in. Its just like having ratchet straps to secure everything inside. Not much more you could ask for with this! And will last a lifetime. Much better than a gear specific bag that only has one use - this can be used for anything!

March 3, 2020

Best snow sport bag!

This is the best bag-bar none-for carrying your ski/snowboard gear to the mountain in the back of your car or suv - and then wherever you need to go-ski or snowboard boots can go on the bottom with no ice melt or mud getting in the car and you can fit your helmet, goggles, ski pants and jacket and other gear and still carry it easily!

December 31, 2019

Farmers market favorite bag

Farmers market favorite bag

December 27, 2019

Perfect.

I got this to carry our family bike gear which is often muddy. It fits lots of helmets and shoes and can easily be cleaned.

December 14, 2019

“The” bag

This bag does it all. I take it on road trips and on the boat. It packs laundry, clothes, picnic lunches, beach outings, groceries and everything, then folds away to nothing. You will need more than one.

December 9, 2019

If you’re considering it....DO IT

this bag is amazing, my girlfriend and I named ours Lizzie. It’s down for any adventure and won’t disappoint. Build quality and look are what you’d expect from Patagonia. Very compact when empty and a weekends worth of gear can be put into it no problem. Buy this bag.

December 9, 2019

Excellence.

Excellence.

December 2, 2019

Good, but Needs 2 Improvements

Great bag but I’d like to see a zipper added to close it for use in crowded cities and more zippered pockets on the inside.

November 30, 2019

Practical for hauling stuff around.

Practical for hauling stuff around.

November 25, 2019

perfect

Gear bag and tote and pure shopping bag

November 25, 2019

Best large bag!

Held 4 blankets, 3 coats, and lots of small items. Plus, waterproof! Great bag for carrying lots of things!

November 22, 2019

Huge!

Love this tote. It's huge and can carry a ton. Used it for two pairs of ski boots and clothes, food and beverages for a day on the boat... you name it. Awesome bag and cool looking.

November 2, 2019

The carry ALL gear bag!

This bag is awesome. Big enough for a crew's worth of bike helmets or pfd's. The straps across the top to keep things contained and tuck easily out of the way. The handles are stout and easy to carry.

October 29, 2019

Room enough to stand in it!

So much room and love that I can change in/out of my waders or wet suit. Exactly what I was looking for!

October 23, 2019

gear tote

best bag i have ever purchased. I wish it had a zip top closure however. Very good for going to the beach, going on a road trip etc.

October 19, 2019

Perfect Fishing Bag

I've been using this tote to haul waders and boots around rivers. So far it is the perfect size, you can step in and out, straps to cinch it all down, great fishing piece. Very versatile

October 7, 2019

Perfect bag for weekend roadtrips or car camping

This bag works perfectly for the reason that I purchased it: loading up the gear I would need for a weekend climbing/camping getaway. The fact that it stands upright means that you can leave it open in your living room and just toss gear, clothes, food, etc. into it as cross items off of your packing list. It large enough that it just eats up gear.... Read More The adjustable straps keeps things secure for when you walk the bag to car. The fact that it stands up also makes it easy to find what you need without having to take the bag out of the car (or trunk). The only thing that I would add is an internal zippered mess pocket on a side wall to hold magazines, but otherwise this is exactly what I was looking for.

September 19, 2019

Big Sturdy Tote

As advertised, large, well-built tote that can handle anything you throw into it. Not one you would take to the grocery store, however. Pretty heavy duty sized.

September 8, 2019

The Ultimate

Handy to put stuff in and get stuff from. No pointless zipping and unzipping and compartments just chuck everything in. Put smaller bags in it if you need sub-organization. Any trip not on a plane I will use this, and still bring it folded up because it’s so light and use it once I get there (the new bigger size just came out but I’ve been wanting ... Read Morethe bigger one since using the small one for a while now). Very durable and water resistant. Stands up open on its own. Oh and it’s 100% recycled. Patagonia is several steps above the rest.

September 6, 2019

"Fantastic bag"

I have 6 of the smaller bags, and use them all the time for so many things. I got one of the 61L bags because in this case, bigger is better, I have put firewood in it as well as tons of towels. I took one to my local hot springs and it work great to change in. This is a must have for parents, campers and anyone that likes to be outside doing stuff... Read More. I will end with saying that, when you purchase this bag or anything else from PATAGONIA, you are making a difference for all humans on this planet. I am not a paid Patagonia rep, however I love the planet I share with with everyone else, we can all make difference.

September 5, 2019

Great Big gear tote

I have been using the 25 L tote for the last year as a quick gear bag, this larger tote is handy for organizing longer trips with more gear. Love the fact that it is made with recycled materials!

August 22, 2019

great, multipurpose bag

We love this bag! Great size, as its super large, but the lightweight material and flexible shape give it a feel of not being super large. We've had it a couple weeks - it appears to be great quality to last a long time.

August 20, 2019

Wader bucket

The perfect bucket for dropping in all my wet stuff from the river. Big and love the inside straps to hold it together.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches